Back to 1Password page
1Password free download for Mac

1Password Reviews

03 June 2021

Powerful password manager; integrates with Web browsers and more.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Judy Hopkins
Judy Hopkins
May 28 2021
7.8.4
3.0
May 28 2021
3.0
Version: 7.8.4
Very useful. I've always been having serious problems with forgetting the passwords to my emails, accounts and so on. After I discovered 1Password, all the problems vanished and it is so terrific to have a tool that memorize complex stuff for you !
AlexReyes
AlexReyes
May 26 2021
7.8.3
5.0
May 26 2021
5.0
Version: 7.8.3
I've tried them all, and 1Password has always been the best password manager out there. It's integration into the Mac system is excellent, and the browser add-on's work perfectly. I'Il never use another password manager. Keep up the great work!
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
May 18 2021
7.8.2
1.0
May 18 2021
1.0
Version: 7.8.2
v7.8.3 is now out! It changed 'Trash' into 'Archive' and made some further tweaks.
Aargl
Aargl
May 14 2021
7.8.2
0.0
May 14 2021
0.0
Version: 7.8.2
Yes, 1P is great but 36 bucks a year... who in their right mind would pay that when there are free alternatives?
kauf.chris
kauf.chris
May 13 2021
7.8.1
1.0
May 13 2021
1.0
Version: 7.8.1
Subscription model not acceptable for me as a former royal costumer. I'm in the process of completely removing junk software like this from my workflow.
jaranhaban
jaranhaban
May 12 2021
7.8.1
4.0
May 12 2021
4.0
Version: 7.8.1
for someone who forgets their passwords all the time - great app!
orbannatalie
orbannatalie
May 7 2021
7.8.1
5.0
May 7 2021
5.0
Version: 7.8.1
Great app. You know, I forget all passwords, and now I know I will be in safe.
Sissy_Princess
Sissy_Princess
Mar 31 2021
7.8
2.0
Mar 31 2021
2.0
Version: 7.8
I was a huge fan of 1Password and bought individual and family licenses multiple times over many years, syncing through the free Dropbox tier. But I will not tie myself to syncing my passwords through Agile Bits' servers and paying a monthly fee for what amounts to about 6MB of cloud storage. If the 1Password subscription service is so appealing, why make it the only option? Imagine if Ford told all of its loyal customers "we will no longer sell you cars; you can only lease cars from us, and if we go out of business, your car stops working. But our leases are so wonderful..." Agile Bits, I've read numerous replies you've posted to others. I understand your business model and rationale, but it doesn't work for me. Best of luck going forward.
Bluelemon9
Bluelemon9
Mar 5 2021
7.7
5.0
Mar 5 2021
5.0
Version: 7.7
I have been using 1password for a number of years and have been quite happy it. Being able to have a family subscription was a clincher for me. I also like that I can see the history of my passwords and that 1password tells me about compromised sites, weak passwords, unsecured websites and other goodies.
msdeepa6201
msdeepa6201
Feb 16 2021
7.7
0.0
Feb 16 2021
0.0
Version: 7.7
vallee-blanche
vallee-blanche
Dec 17 2020
7.7
2.0
Dec 17 2020
2.0
Version: 7.7
Do not get the allure of this. Keychain access and Chrome work totally fine for me.
cade1
cade1
Nov 29 2020
7.7
3.0
Nov 29 2020
3.0
Version: 7.7
used to love it. got too expensive. however they just sent out a free 10 month trial for online family app. worth trying imho. for thanksgiving 2020/Black Friday gift.
Walt Dittrich
Walt Dittrich
Oct 21 2020
7.6
5.0
Oct 21 2020
5.0
Version: 7.6
I've been using 1Password for many years now, having switched from RoboForm. I love how it syncs between your Mac, iPhone, iPad, and even Windows computers all seamlessly. Save passwords, credit cards, and more. It easily pops up when needed to save information or fill in the blanks on websites you ask it to. Other features include checking your passwords to see if they're "strong enough", duplicate passwords, and even tells you if a website you've used has been "hacked" or compromised, so you can choose to change your password. The company has terrific customer service, answering questions quickly. The app is updated regularly, keeping up with the existing operating systems, security fixes, etc. It does what it's supposed to do, easily, quickly, and without fuss. Absolutely perfect!
chawya22
chawya22
Sep 27 2020
7.6
0.0
Sep 27 2020
0.0
Version: 7.6
I just downloaded Microsoft Edge but can't use 1Password with my standalone license. To activate the 1Password extension requires a 1Password account but I don't have one. Any suggestions?
Zarquon
Zarquon
Sep 20 2020
7.6
5.0
Sep 20 2020
5.0
Version: 7.6
An amazing piece of software that's essential for every Mac. They keep improving it and fixing issues that arise, and the company is as trustworthy as they come. I'm a little sad that they've moved to a subscription model; I liked the standalone model better. But they've done a lot to make it worth the price.
hmfwic47
hmfwic47
Sep 1 2020
7.6
0.0
Sep 1 2020
0.0
Version: 7.6
Received from 1Password today: 1Password will begin collecting state and local sales tax starting September 14, 2020. Invoices issued before this date will not be affected.
AlexReyes
AlexReyes
Jun 28 2020
7.5
5.0
Jun 28 2020
5.0
Version: 7.5
I have paid for two years and it feels good, don’t remember all kinds of passwords anymore
Jturnerspfld
Jturnerspfld
May 23 2020
7.5
4.0
May 23 2020
4.0
Version: 7.5
I have been using 1Password for many years and am generally quite happy with it. I have not taken the time to learn to use all of its features and it definitely has some quirks one has to be aware of (not necessarily the fault of 1Password). For example, some sites take you to a different site to change your password, so the password is saved to that site rather than the one you thought you were on. Sure beats scribbled notes someone else could come across, and can hold practically any information you want password protected. Unfortunately, they are moving toward subscription licenses (which I can understand from a business sense) but I refuse to go there. Single licenses are still available.
johnny-decrawhezgmail-com6558
May 19 2020
0.0
Version: 7.5
As I wrote earlier I am stuck ! I cry for step by step help , but nothing comes ! Johnny
johnny-decrawhezgmail-com6558
May 18 2020
0.0
Version: 7.5
The old version is frozen. I paid for a new possibility of using the app, but I can or know not how to do ! Help me step by step PLEASE Johnny
Sell.com
Sell.com
May 17 2020
7.5
2.0
May 17 2020
2.0
Version: 7.5
I've been using 1PW for TEN years now. There have been some major hiccups along the way, but in general, it's been worth the trouble. There are several reasons I've stuck with Agile including: security, speed, and usability. Running v6 made me smile when I would hear about hacks related to Dashlane and Lastpass... I was fine with my local LAN sync over WiFi. Very secure! Over time, as my entirely family started using 1PW, the concept of shared groups of credentials started to look appealing. Fast forward to the Safari 13 release along with Agile's refusal to update 1PW v6 to be compatible, and we were finally pushed to upgrade to v7. (Admittedly, Apple forced a new/different/improved security model on Agile.) To be fair, many of the bad reviews for 1PW now center on the subscription model. But as a developer, I don't have a problem paying reasonable annual fees for a critical piece of software. And 1PW is something I use every day. While we've gained sharing functionality with teams and family in v7, we've lost more. SPEED 1PW 7 now takes between 1 to 3 SECONDS to pull up it's credentials page when you login to a website. What's the big deal with 2 seconds? Compared to 1PW 6 this about 10x slower, and creates real usability issues for frequent users. I'm completely accustomed to invoking 1PW6 and typing immediately to narrow a search... this is no longer possible, and there are many double/triple triggers of 1PW7 b/c it's easy to forget how slow it operates. (This on a 2013 12-core MacPro with 64GB of RAM and 4000 passwords... so NOT a computer or config issue.) You can find reports of slowness all the way back to 2018 for v7, with little or no resolution from the Support Forum (this will come up again below). CONSISTENCY With 1PW6, most web-based logins would be filled in properly. With 1PW7 there's a new issue: focus is frequently NOT on the form elements of a page, so your selected ID/PW does NOT get filled in. I'm guessing this is a "feature" of the new app/browser-plugin model. But the end result is purpose-defeating: randomly, on different browsers and different webpages, selecting the default login from 1PW when invoked, then hitting return... does NOTHING. No fields filled in... just nothing. You re-invoke 1PW, wait 2 seconds (b/c it's slow), may be good, may be nothing. You must mouse to the ID field, click to guarantee focus, then invoke 1PW7. This defeats the usability of this app. Support This is a perhaps a "little thing", but it addresses a bigger issue. 6+ years ago, and mulitple times, I created bug reports AND posted to the support forums, pointing out one simple improvement (or bug, depending on your perspective): 1PW does NOT use the full URL to select the most appropriate password entry. For many users, this is not a big deal: they only have one GMail login, and one Marriott login. But for developers, web designers, and anyone in a corporate environment, this is a much bigger deal. Example of three URLs: abc.com/1 1 abc.com/22 abc.com/33 You have multiple IDs... why wouldn't 1PW auto-select (or rank at the top) the one that matches the CLOSEST? Same thing for sub-domains: www.abc.com dev1.abc.com dev2.abc.com This happens ALL THE TIME in corporate and development environments and it would be TRIVIAL to code an appropriate algorithm to select the MOST appropriate login based on the URL you are visiting. Picky? Perhaps. But if the ONE THING you do in life is auto-fill passwords, shouldn't this work well? And, if someone (and multiple others) have pointed this out to you for SIX YEARS, don't you think this could have been fixed? My guess: it points to similar oversights in other areas of support and bug fixing. So: what are we left with? Bitwarden perhaps. At least it is open-source and you can fix things yourself. Or, perhaps other commercial apps that have decent security. I'm hopeful Agile does the right thing and responds to its user base.
ShotBlocker
ShotBlocker
May 12 2020
7.5
5.0
May 12 2020
5.0
Version: 7.5
Long story short: I hated v7 when it first came out, I hated subscriptions. Now, after several months, I like v7 and I've learned to accept subscriptions. Not my preference but -- OK. One neato feature of v7 is the ability to easily SHARE LOGINS (or actually anything) between 4 family members. So everyone has access to, say, the Netflix account and you don't have to copy it to 3 other places every time you make a change. Or you can share a credit card. I don't know if other password managers have this feature -- would be interesting to find out -- but it makes things so much easier and works well. If you hate subscriptions, I get it. And if you're happier after moving to another password manager, I'm happy for you! Maybe think about writing it up. Would be great to see a good head-to-head review of 1Password v. a competitor here on MacUpdate. (Or anywhere.) I'd hope such a review would include SUPPORT. There's actually a bit of a learning curve using the 1Password support forums but the staff are helpful, knowledgeable, sometimes even fun. Eventually you figure out how to get the help you need. Best, -SB
Dalecan
Dalecan
May 11 2020
7.5
1.0
May 11 2020
1.0
Version: 7.5
I have been using it for years accross several devices and it causes more frustration and problems. I am ready to look for a substitute. There support isn't anything that works for me either.
JacAbu
JacAbu
May 8 2020
7.5
2.0
May 8 2020
2.0
Version: 7.5
I have used 1Password for years and have supported the transition to subscription but it has become very inconsistent app and more hassle than it is worth. Very disappointed in Agile. The subscription will expire soon and so will my use of this product. Several other folks in our group have also removed their support of ZERO PASSWORD.
Pcbogert
Pcbogert
May 7 2020
7.4.3
0.0
May 7 2020
0.0
Version: 7.4.3
Just a note that the version number in the listening is wrong. It is a up to 7.5
ernieb41
ernieb41
Apr 21 2020
7.4.3
0.0
Apr 21 2020
0.0
Version: 7.4.3
I have used 1 password since it started with excellent results. Now however my 1 password 6 account stopped working on my new mac. It is IMPOSSIBLE to rectify the situation. My lifetime license is now useless and no one is helping me. I have to resort to my iPhone or old computers to do anything-what in the world happened?
That-Kid-From-Omaha
That-Kid-From-Omaha
Apr 19 2020
7.4.3
5.0
Apr 19 2020
5.0
Version: 7.4.3
Very happy customer for years… love this phenomenal service, works across all our family’s devices (even Chromebooks and Kindle Fires), lets parents manage kids' passwords, team is very responsive to bugs/feedback, and integrates well into iOS apps. Their subscription rates are beyond reasonable for the level of protection and integrations they provide. Could not recommend more… this is THE one app I install first on any device.
Mark-7faf4d14
Mark-7faf4d14
Apr 18 2020
7.4.3
0.0
Apr 18 2020
0.0
Version: 7.4.3
I like it for years
sanchower
sanchower
Apr 8 2020
7.4.3
1.0
Apr 8 2020
1.0
Version: 7.4.3
Subscription kills this app, there are many free alternatives
Awado
Awado
Mar 31 2020
7.4.3
1.0
Mar 31 2020
1.0
Version: 7.4.3
I've been a paying user since V.2 on alle Apple platforms. Their subscription model scared me away and I begun to look for other password managers. As 1PW now offers a paid license again, I gave it a shot in the current version. But it's frustrating that it's no big difference to the previous version, but with a very annoying "feature", where all tags get expanded when 1PW starts. I have to scroll through several hundreds of password entries. Other features like a useful PDF export of selected entries or useful URI schemes are still missing. I don't know, what I've paid for.
LuxLogica
LuxLogica
Mar 23 2020
7.4.3
5.0
Mar 23 2020
5.0
Version: 7.4.3
Paid for a family subscription, and am very happy. Integrates nicely with browsers, also has iOS apps, keeps all info synchronised across all. Allows for shared password vaults, makes using 2FA super easy on all sites, and keeps prompting you to develop safer online habits (e.g., don't reuse passwords, makes it easy to use more complex passwords confidently, keeps track of latest data breaches and warns us if used passwords have been compromised).
Laurent-Grisel
Laurent-Grisel
Mar 20 2020
7.4.3
5.0
Mar 20 2020
5.0
Version: 7.4.3
Application indispensable simple et fonctionnel
juvor
juvor
Mar 17 2020
7.4.3
5.0
Mar 17 2020
5.0
Version: 7.4.3
1password is a very pleasant experience in every way. Integrates great with all brwosers on my mac and on my iOS devices. Fast, reliable and makes me feel secure enough to trust it with most of my passwords.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Mar 3 2020
7.4.3
1.0
Mar 3 2020
1.0
Version: 7.4.3
I have to vent, yet again, what a HORRIBLE organization Agile has become. The convolutions of lunacy I run into with them is brain fryingly frustrating. - - I bought as part of a bundle a year of 1Password Families. Then I tried to set it up and found road block after road block with Catch 22 loops in their website process, misleading and outright wrong verbiage, 'Help' that offered only further frustration inspired by the sheer chaos of their website. Their Level 1 support was friendly but just a loopy as the Agile website. I reached the level of IRATE and requested, pleaded for someone who could get me going with this software, which I now regret buying. It's one of the most lunatic customer experiences I have ever had. LOOK ELSEWHERE. Agile's marketing division is ABYSMAL. That's a shame, because I've enjoyed the non-subscription version for years. Sick and sad.
Kitmos
Kitmos
Feb 27 2020
7.4.3
5.0
Feb 27 2020
5.0
Version: 7.4.3
I have been using this since the beginning. At least 3-4 times a day. One of the few subscriptions that I think are worth it.
Veðrfölnir
Veðrfölnir
Feb 27 2020
7.4.3
5.0
Feb 27 2020
5.0
Version: 7.4.3
1Password is hands down the best password manager I have ever come across. People who have issues with 1Password must have issues with most other things in life as well.
JacAbu
JacAbu
Feb 21 2020
7.4.2
2.0
Feb 21 2020
2.0
Version: 7.4.2
Very disappointed - the program assumes control of your Mac (with the permission of Apple, of course). I agree that the quality has diminished significantly and it appears as if their standard solutions at their help centers is "Uninstall, Reinstall".
Frodo-life
Frodo-life
Feb 20 2020
7.4.2
1.0
Feb 20 2020
1.0
Version: 7.4.2
made the mistake to update to 1PW 7 now can't open my fault application just hangs and needs to be force quit. While not perfect (search never worked properly) 1PW6 at least worked and did not leave me stranded without an application. Wast of money
aaronneilwood
aaronneilwood
Feb 11 2020
7.4.2
2.0
Feb 11 2020
2.0
Version: 7.4.2
I have found that the quality of 1password has decreased over time. I was exceptionally happy with 1password 6. The new family features in 1password 7 are promising, and I don't mind subscriptions when they come with continuous improvement. But 1password may be one of the most frustrating apps I use on a regular basis. The setup workflows for adding new family members and logging in across multiple apps is poorly implemented—abounding in dead ends, inadequate help documentation, and user flows that simply don't seem to have been thought through. Basic features like autofill in a browser has recently broken and seems to work randomly. A day doesn't go by where I experience some obnoxious behavior. The apps no longer save be time. I hope this improves.
vogtpk
vogtpk
Feb 8 2020
7.4.2
1.0
Feb 8 2020
1.0
Version: 7.4.2
In my hands, v7 is not an improvement over v6. First on, when I open the application, I expect to see the last-used category. v7 gives you the whole collection, and it takes two clicks to get where you want to be. But where v7 really fails is handling mail orders on the web. It cannot deal with different shipping and mailing addresses, and the Safari extension is particularly useless in this function as well ad in others. Say you would like to log into a website for which all information is in your vault and ask the Safari extension to auto-login. Forget it, it usually does not work. Rather, you may even get a reminder that your password is too weak. I really do not need an application to educate me about passwords. When you are finally ready (after several circuitous procedures) to put in your credit card, the Safari extension cannot do it. The extension cannot transit from login to credit cards and if you search "credit cards" at that point in the extension, such a file cannot be found. Come on! At the end, you have to go back to the full application, and even there it will take several copy-pastes that will get you where you need to be, no autofill. I find version 7 frustrating and dysfunctional in core activities.
daveu
daveu
Jan 27 2020
7.4.1
5.0
Jan 27 2020
5.0
Version: 7.4.1
I don't get all the flack and bad reviews. This have been such an amazing tool for my entire family and part of my life for a long time now. It has grown and evolved, and I trust the developer. When it went subscription, I was annoyed because I generally hate subscriptions. But they kept a non-subscription option. Then, I looked closer at how much I used it, and how important it was to me, and how valuable it would be to add my family and share things, and suddenly, the subscription cost seemed beyond reasonable and better than the frequent upgrading cycles. I am all in—with no regrets.
Agrothey
Agrothey
Jan 20 2020
7.4.1
1.0
Jan 20 2020
1.0
Version: 7.4.1
I loved 1PW6 - and I actually bought 1PW7 and paid for a year. Since I forgot my password to access my 1PW6 data, I asked the programmers for help to transition my data to the new software, and their advice was useless. Utter failure! I stuck with 1PW6 until it did not work anymore (Catalina). Now I rely on other solutions. This was bad!
Jbjoret
Jbjoret
Jan 17 2020
7.4.1
5.0
Jan 17 2020
5.0
Version: 7.4.1
I do not understand the bad reviews at all. This software has been the most valuable one I have been using in years. I even decided to pay subscription for the whole family, not only to support the team to continue developing this great application, but also because it is worth it. $2,99/month is not cheap but the support is the best I have ever had (response within 15 mins on a Sunday !!!). Users might disagree with the subscription price model (check the prices for Photoshop), but that is no reason for giving a bad review on the product.
Big77
Big77
Jan 13 2020
7.4.1
2.0
Jan 13 2020
2.0
Version: 7.4.1
Increasingly frustrated with 1Password 7 but it's lots of little things. Like waiting for years and still not being close to feature parity between desktop and mobile versions (e.g. how hard can it be to add "sort by date modified" in the mobile version? -- people have been asking for years!). Or how I never can tell for sure which entry will be highlighted when I go to a site with several entires in 1Password. (In 1PW 6 I actually added stars in front of my most used entires so they'd always be on top. Now in 1PW 7 they are at the bottom.) Or how the view keeps changing -- I adjust column width and it changes back after a while. And in spite of having everything like update-checks and rich icons turned off it STILL tries to contact various agilebits and 1password locations repeatedly. 1PW 6 was great. In my opinion 1PW 7 is a big step backwards. Looks like some features were actually removed (e.g. used to have much finer control over password rules on generated passwords) and family licenses are no longer available. And like others, I agree: the day the stand-alone license is no longer offered is the day I stop using 1Password. There are fine alternatives now.
BlackMacX
BlackMacX
Jan 2 2020
7.4.1
4.0
Jan 2 2020
4.0
Version: 7.4.1
I have been a long, long user of 1Password and initially resisted the subscription model; but I finally decided that, if you want good software and want to encourage a company to both become stable and create a solid platform for users to buy into, the subscription model makes sense. I purchased the family subscription and having two adults and a child old enough to understand the how and why's software like 1P is needed, it is a bargain. The app did have its issues early on in v7 and this is why I held off moving, in part. But now that I have, I enjoy the ease with creating shared vaults and knowing that it is backed up to the cloud is reassuring. I do understand that 1P v7 has some issues with filling in passwords at times; but have found most to either be issues not of their making (ergo, the site one tries to log into has updated/changed things on their end) or are quickly fixed. If you want to use 1P, do so, if you don't, that's fine too. That said, if you want good, secure software, you can either purchase the 1Password app via the subscription model, or as they do have, the single license version as well. It was never taken away (though it was hard to find). Just my two cents and thoughts.
pasetta
pasetta
Jan 2 2020
7.4.1
0.0
Jan 2 2020
0.0
Version: 7.4.1
1password6 worked great. 1password7 has had consistent problems filling in passwords. Tech support told me that I needed to redo all my backups and remove the 1password app from all backups. No backups are on local drives. Why is 1password searching my NAS to do its job? Very disappointed in Tech Support. So according to tech support I need to exclude the app and redo all my backups. No thanks. Version 7 sucks.
Pirx
Pirx
Dec 22 2019
7.4.1
1.0
Dec 22 2019
1.0
Version: 7.4.1
Good software, job well done. I don't experience the Safari issue, because I hardly ever use Safari. The subscription model since 1Password v. 7 is unacceptable. I own a computer, I don't rent it. Why should that be any different for software licenses? There are a number of alternative products, that actually automate the import of data from 1Password. Migration is possible. Same goes for Microsoft and Adobe. I use alternatives, whenever the subscription model is being applied.
Greguar
Greguar
Dec 18 2019
7.4.1
1.0
Dec 18 2019
1.0
Version: 7.4.1
RIP ˇˇˇˇˇˇˇˇ
trickyboy
trickyboy
Dec 1 2019
7.4.1
5.0
Dec 1 2019
5.0
Version: 7.4.1
I upgraded from my many-years v6 license to v7 This app is probably the first app I install when I get a new Mac (not often, hahah). I HATE the subscription way. So thanks to Agile to keep a lifetime license. As others said, there are alternatives to 1Password, starting with the Apple Keychain which is perfectly integrated to Apple products ( and we use only those, anyway). If Agile stops to propose the standalone version, I will quit the ship.
incrzr
incrzr
Nov 28 2019
7.4.1
1.0
Nov 28 2019
1.0
Version: 7.4.1
50$ to make it work with Safari 13? No thanks