Back to 1Password page
1Password free download for Mac

1Password Reviews

7.4.1
15 November 2019

Powerful password manager; integrates with Web browsers and more.

Ozron
03 June 2018

Most helpful

Dave, why aren’t you clear about the fact you’re only selling single user licenses for v7! We’ve supported you for a very long time with a family license, but as this option is no longer being offered, and the cost is now too high, so we’re sticking with v6 which works perfectly well. When it stops working with macOS we will switch. And we are also appalled by your very heavy handed marketing push which is BS. Sorry but it simply doesn’t add up for what you’re charging now.
Like (34)
Version 7.0.3

Read 1734 1Password User Reviews

Rate this app:

ShotBlocker
18 November 2019
This rating is for how 1Password v7.4.1 FUNCTIONS. It is NOT a rating about the pricing policies. OK, folks. A year ago (see my post of 10/25/18) I had a MISERABLE EXPERIENCE upgrading to v7. I HATED it. A little over a year later, I've done it again. I was forced to by the changes in Safari 13. Long story short, 1Password functions SUPERBLY. It works REALLY WELL. 5 stars well. Is there a LEARNING CURVE coming from v6.8.9? Yes. Is it worth it? I was for me. I looked at Bitwarden, but Bitwarden IS NOT going to support Safari going forward, so that was a WASTE OF TIME. And, if it was JUST ME, I could *maybe* invest the time looking for an alternative -- but my family members DON'T HAVE THE TIME to learn a brand new password manager, no matter how "easy" or "intuitive" it is. And at roughly $5/month for four of us -- for the functionality we get in return, not the least of which is the SEAMLESS SYNCING through many devices, that's a DAMN GOOD DEAL. And I can open 1Password on my iPhone with a TOUCH OF MY FINGER. There is still (still!) a silly, i.e., STUPID, glitch where the v7 updater hangs because it can't knock 1Password mini out of RAM. I had to use Activity Monitor to do the job. Does the average user know how to do that? I hope so. And the update process still leaves that BIZARRE v6 .zip file in your Applications folder, with no explanation. The documentation is still SKETCHY at best -- neither of these two issues are mentioned. You have to get used to "Vaults," in a way you didn't with v6. Your primary vault, paradoxically, is the "Private Vault." (At least in the Families Subscription I use.) What ends up being named the "Primary" vault -- and this is really weird and confusing at first -- is your old v6 vault, and eventually it gets deleted. Also, your v6 "attachments" become "Documents." This is also kind of weird. The parent login of a "document" can click on the document to see it, but once that's done YOU CAN'T GET BACK FROM THE DOCUMENT TO THE PARENT, unless you EXPLICITLY CREATE a "link." This is one of the things I *hated* a year ago -- it's really inexcusable that it hasn't been made automatic -- but OK, I have learned to live with this TOTALLY UNNECESSARY PAIN IN THE NECK. Aside from that the program itself is working REALLY WELL. As with most things Mac, once you get used to the interface, it becomes second nature and, actually, a PLEASURE. (Never thought I'd say that! But 'tis true.) For those of you turned off by subscriptions, I get it. I'd prefer not to have them either, but that's the way the industry is going. Free software, shareware, sorry to say, is going if not gone. Software today is like any other commodity -- buy, lease, rent -- like cars, or life insurance or anything else. It's up to every individual to decide if the price of a given piece of software (which often can be RIDICULOUSLY DIFFICULT to determine these days) is worth it, same as you would a car, house, sweater, computer, or anything else out there on the OPEN MARKET. And by the way, software companies and developers are no more different -- OR "GREEDY" -- than anyone else who offers their wares, skills, or talent on the open market at a given price. They want the best return for the value they provide, just like the buyer wants the best return for the money they spend. This includes me. And you. (Unless you like being paid less than you're worth.) Count your blessings -- you don't like what one company is offering, you have the opportunity to consider and buy another. Capitalism is truly great. Best of all, you can do this with password managers -- as I have. God bless. -SB
Like
Version 7.4.1
caseyriddell
18 November 2019
wish I could give it zero stars after V.6... Version 7 has made the software useless and ruined my database to allow v.6 on other devices
Like (1)
Version 7.4.1
Madmacmad
15 November 2019
rip off company
happy we have enough alternatives...
but they make clever marketing to melt the people...
often people pay instead of little work to switch...
that's the building block of the company...
once you are using it... you will not switch so easy...
well happy that there are lot better alternatives with same features or more...
Like (2)
Version 7.4.1
1 answer(s)
ShotBlocker
ShotBlocker
19 November 2019
Dear Madmacmad: re: "rip off company" You are of course referring here to Apple, right? The company whose clever marketing melts the people into paying $1,299 for a MacBook Pro, when with a "little work" they could switch to a $599 PC. Right? Apple, the company that's now making it virtually impossible to upgrade the computers it sells, and charges $200 to upgrade RAM from a paltry 8GB to 16GB? No one accuses Tim Cook of being "greedy," but the nice Canadians at 1Password are practically being accused of predatory pricing? What, a family subscription for a whopping $4.99 a month is "too expensive," but your $1,199 non-upgradable MacBook Air is not? Please. No one is forcing you to buy the product. And it's easy to claim there are a "lot better alternatives with same features or more," but much harder to ACTUALLY REVIEW THEM and write them up. -SB
Like
Version 7.4.1
Maylbu
13 November 2019
I no longer use it. I don't need it. Safari has built in capabilities for password management almost as good. It got bloated and expensive, too much for my personal use
Like (3)
Version 7.4
awgrin
11 November 2019
After all these years I have owned this product and thought highly of the company I am now very disappointed with this new subscription deal. It's a raw deal.
Like (5)
Version 7.4
Zarquon
10 November 2019
1Password is the best password manager there is, in my opinion. It is user-friendly, super-secure, and wholly trustworthy. One star deducted for going to a subscription model and hiking the price of the standalone version.
Like
Version 7.4
1 answer(s)
Madmacmad
Madmacmad
15 November 2019
did you check out the other that on market? 1P sucks...
Like (1)
Version 7.4.1
ocean442
06 November 2019
A great password manager!
Like
Version 7.3.2
2 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
13 November 2019
Thanks so much for your review, ocean442! If you have any feedback on how we can improve 1Password in the future, please feel free to reach out!
Like
Version 7.4
Madmacmad
Madmacmad
15 November 2019
there are much better and cheaper on market... open your eyes ...
Like (1)
Version 7.4.1
Laurent-Grisel
01 November 2019
An Indispensable app, which works very well.
Like
Version 7.3.2
2 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
13 November 2019
Thanks for your kind words, Laurent-Grisel! We really appreciate your support!
Like
Version 7.4
Madmacmad
Madmacmad
15 November 2019
others too... this is way too expensive... they suck!
Like (1)
Version 7.4.1
reflectivist
30 October 2019
Nothing but a big hassle. Money-grubbing corporate leeches over-complicated this and really F**CKED up loyal users of the past decade. And like ADO*E try to lock everyone into subscriptions, ruining a previously good product. Now you have remember if you have an account with them, a subscription or paid once, whether you got it from the app store or downloaded. For some reason after updating it won't take my old password. And I don't remember if they made it so the password of the old one works or not, so I'm locked out. I have no idea what's going on. All I know was I upgraded for several versions through 6 and had no problem. Now they have a rope-a-dope useless support scenario for an over-complicate fiasco and it no longer works for me and I'm screwed. HEY WHY DON'T YOU JUST INNOVATE A NEW PRODUCT rather than over-engineer and f'up your old thing because that's the only way you know how to make money?
Like (6)
Version 7.3.2
2 answer(s)
JohnnyFave
JohnnyFave
31 October 2019
Agreed. 1Password has crashed-and-burned. Reminds me of the old days when arrogant QuarkExpress (who OWNED the page layout software market) did the same to their business model / customer base with their overpriced schemes. So many did the unthinkable - they switched to PageMaker / Indesign. NEVER to go back. 1Password pulled a Quark.
Like (3)
Version 7.3.2
brian_ag
brian_ag
13 November 2019
Hi there, reflectivist! First off, I'm very sorry to hear that you had all of these troubles with 1Password. If you're up for it, I'd love for the opportunity to troubleshoot the sign-in issues that you mentioned. For starters, have you already taken a look at this knowledge base article?: https://support.1password.com/forgot-master-password/#if-you-think-you-remember-your-master-password
Like
Version 7.4
Macmuser
29 October 2019
One of the Mac's must-have applications. It works well, across all my Apple devices that need passwords. It has a very low annual cost for the ease of use and the money is used by the team to make 1Password even better. Absolutely nothing to complain about. I run the betas and seldom have a glitch but know I can get almost immediate support if I need it. Anyone who complains about the annual fee can just f…err… push off and find something else as good and easy to use as 1P.
Like
Version 7.3.2
3 answer(s)
reflectivist
reflectivist
30 October 2019
YEAH THERE IS A BETTER PRODUCT: 1PASSWORD6
Like (7)
Version 7.3.2
brian_ag
brian_ag
13 November 2019
Thanks so much for your kind review and support, Macmuser! I'm so glad to hear that you're loving 1Password!
Like
Version 7.4
Madmacmad
Madmacmad
15 November 2019
how can i dislike a review that is not true?
Like
Version 7.4.1
Rumplestiltskin
26 October 2019
Let's see...$36 or so per yer and it works on all my Macs, PCs, Android devices including my phone so I have my passwords secure yet available everywhere. Yep, definitely worth it. I recommend 1Password to all my clients, as well.
Like (1)
Version 7.3.2
3 answer(s)
reflectivist
reflectivist
30 October 2019
Every f'ing corporation now sees the way to get recurring revenue to lock everyone into a subscription and that stuff adds up, so people wind up having to pony up ALL those subscriptions like their lives depend on it and it's nothing but indentured servitude. Those companies should be ashamed and people should have the right to own their stuff. More socialism for the rich capitalism for everyone else.
Like (2)
Version 7.3.2
brian_ag
brian_ag
13 November 2019
Thanks so much for your review, Rumplestiltskin! I'm so glad to hear that you're enjoying your account! If you have any questions, I'm here to help!
Like
Version 7.4
Madmacmad
Madmacmad
15 November 2019
subscription and people who do SUCK... and is not to be supported ... glad there are way better alternatives...!
Like
Version 7.4.1
Tim27
23 October 2019
Not sure why this app is getting all the bad reviews. It’s a little pricey, but $37 per year is not that much for what this app/service offers. It costs less than Dashlane and it works better than LastPass. And for all the users saying there is no family option, there is. Click on the Personal & Family tab on their pricing page. A discount for long time customers would be nice, but it’s still a great app.
Like (2)
Version 7.3.2
3 answer(s)
reflectivist
reflectivist
30 October 2019
It's not only pricey but they've created a maze on their site with options so you don't know which way is up or down when things get weird now, and it use to be straightforward and just work. Now I'm locked out and had ZERO problems up until 1PASSWORD7
Like (2)
Version 7.3.2
reflectivist
reflectivist
30 October 2019
It's getting bad reviews because the 'improvements' between 6 and 7 is they basically decided to trap endusers into their corporate-for-profit gravy train and sap them of money on a continual basis rather than give them a product they could own and not be on the hook forever for. That's the only real innovation there, to trap people into giving them more money all the time.
Like (2)
Version 7.3.2
brian_ag
brian_ag
13 November 2019
Thanks so much for your kind words, Tim27! I'm glad to hear that you're enjoying 1Password! If you have any questions or feedback, please feel free to let me know!
Like
Version 7.4
Jokyo
22 October 2019
I have also been using 1Password since it started. They were very generous in those days offering free licenses to give to friends. I even suggested feature that would improve it, they were implemented. It grew into a very worthy software. Then the developer got greedy. I am stuck using version 6 as I hate the subscription model. If it stops working I will move to Enpass. The thing is, 1Password is US3~5 per month and it is a one trick pony. It saves passwords. Microsoft Office is a million trick pony and only charges US 7. I just don't get it. I guess the developers are just getting fat and love taking money from people.
Like (4)
Version 7.3.2
1 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
13 November 2019
Hi Jokyo! First off, thanks for sharing your feedback with us—we really appreciate it! We do believe that our subscription product is the best way to use 1Password, as it includes automatic syncing and backups, access to the latest versions of all of the 1Password apps, and exclusive features like Travel Mode: https://support.1password.com/explore/membership/ But if you'd prefer to use a license, no problem. Thanks to feedback from users like you, we still sell licenses for 1Password 7 for those that would rather use the app this way.
Like
Version 7.4
11Kerben
22 October 2019
A long time ago it was good, but now without family license and this rubbish subscription model like adobe, look for other programs.
Like (7)
Version 7.3.2
1 answer(s)
reflectivist
reflectivist
30 October 2019
I can't stand it. Just make it like 1PASSWORD6, make it work in the browsers and leave us alone, and if we want to upgrade because they offer something worth it in the future we can decide based on the quality, not entrapment. APPLE: PLEASE HELP US BY OBVIATING THE NEED FOR 1PASSWORD!
Like (2)
Version 7.3.2
pe-macupdate
21 October 2019
This used to be a really good tool. There were two major problems for me: The subscription model they introduced a while ago, and (worse) the fact that they don't want to support local synchronisation. There's still WLAN sync between Mac and iDevice, but that's it - if you want to do more, you need to use some cloud service. I prefer WebDAV, and - opposed to what they stated in their support forum - it works flawlessly. Just not with 1Password, but with a competitor of theirs. So while I wish them well for their future developments, I will no longer be part of it because in my opinion passwords on a server you don't control are a really, really bad idea, however well they might be encrypted.
Like (5)
Version 7.3.2
Gainestown
20 October 2019
Used to be a great app, shame that one has to sign up for a subscription model since 7. xx got introduced.
Like (7)
Version 7.3.2
hillwallaby
18 October 2019
Zero star rating. Subscriptions suck. Full stop.
Like (6)
Version 7.3.2
1 answer(s)
reflectivist
reflectivist
30 October 2019
And somehow I wound up with 1PASSWORD7, can't log in with my 1PASSWORD6 password of many years and don't know why... if it's my fault, theirs, if they changed the password requirements, so I'm locked out and hosed. Waste of time and money, and you read the support page, and basically the bottom line is: out of luck, sucker!
Like (1)
Version 7.3.2
mgoings
18 October 2019
This really sucks! I have been happily using 1Password since v1 and have been enthusiastically recommending it to all my friends and family. Now this! All of these years of loyalty and now they want me to fork over more money This is nothing short of extortion, plain and simple because they know how much work it will be to start over with a different app. 1Password's new business model leaves all of us long-time users out in the cold. At the very least they should acknowledge us by giving us a break on the subscription... No stars! Don't Buy This App!
Like (5)
Version 7.3.2
Frodo-life
14 October 2019
using 1Password since version one but now switched to Enpass as I don't like the subscription model, there is also no family licence anymore and 1PW6 stopped now working on Safari without an update in regards to the browser plug in.
Like (5)
Version 7.3.2
1 answer(s)
Tim27
Tim27
20 October 2019
There is a family license. Go to the Pricing page, then click on the Personal & Family tab. The page seems to default to the Team & Business tab.
Like
Version 7.3.2
Michael-Vilain
09 October 2019
I'm really pissed that the company decided to pivot and switch to a cloud based subscription model. I work behind a secure firewalled environment which means I can't use their product any more. I strenuously object to become an income stream. I kept V6 because it still used local files and won't touch V7. Ever. But V6 on Safari is now unsupported. I can't use their mini app in the menu to retrieve passwords because it says "Add Safari Extension" which is only supported in V7. I echo the other comments here about their switch to the subscription model. When V6 stops working, I'll dump this product. I'm not to the point of buying a Voodoo doll of Dave and a bunch of pins. But I'm close.
Like (7)
Version 7.3.2
4 answer(s)
macindigo
macindigo
11 October 2019
The 1Password 6 browser extension can be installed under Mojave. Download the extension from https://app-updates.agilebits.com/product_history/OPX4#v4070490 and then go here for instructions on installing it under Mojave: https://georgegarside.com/blog/macos/install-any-safari-extension-macos-mojave/
Like (1)
Version 7.3.2
Ulyssesric
Ulyssesric
14 October 2019
@macindigo: You've totally got it wrong. It's not the problem of Catalina or Mojave but Safari 13; since v13 Safari no longer supports all old .safariextz format extensions. Safari 13 is an automatic update item even in Mojave. So even you stay in Mojave, you'll still have no access to 1P6 extensions, unless you want to put yourself in risk of cyber attacks and disable all the auto system updates.
Like (1)
Version 7.3.2
macindigo
macindigo
15 October 2019
@Ulyssesric: The way that Safari extensions work has not changed. What has changed is the way that Safari extensions are distributed and installed. 1Password extensions for browsers other than Safari are not affected by this. Most advanced users do not have auto system updates enabled for anything. That is where the greatest risk of increased cyber attacks exists; in the unproven code of new "features" that are installed automatically. If you're using Safari 13 then you can no longer use this method because Apple has removed Extension Builder from Safari's Develop menu. The Develop menu is meant for technically proficient users.
Like (1)
Version 7.3.2
Ulyssesric
Ulyssesric
14 November 2019
@macindigo The old .safariextz format is deprecated in Safari 12 and completely obsoleted in Safari 13.0.0. Developers needs to change the way they **DEPLOY** their extensions and now it must be registered as standalone app. Apple had warned this since WWDC 2018 and they were warning users since Mojave. AgileBits can choose to prolong the lifespan of 1Password 6 and you don't need a full techno-team and 6 months to do this. In fact they are obliged to do so because V7 was just newly released at that time and a lot of users were still PAYING for 1Password 6. They simply ignored the promised customer support and choose to embrace their rascal ransom business model, dumping their customers into darkness. That's the whole point.
Like
Version 7.4
Tomjwright
09 October 2019
The latest version of this app (7.3.2) does not fully work with Catalina and the latest version of Safari (13.0.2). The icon for the 1Password extension appears in the toolbar of Safari, but clicking on the icon has no effect at all. Therefore, it is impossible to AutoFill logins (except by using copy and paste). When the problem is reported to AgileBits, they send a computer-generated email stating that the problem can be solved by upgrading 1Password from version 6 to version 7. Obviously, they do not even read the details of the problem report. This was once a well supported app, but the developer is now interested only in increasing income, not providing a quality product.
Like (1)
Version 7.3.2
1 answer(s)
Tomjwright
Tomjwright
10 October 2019
I am the original poster, reporting that, as of 10/10/19, the problem of using 1PW v.7.3.2 with Catalina and Safari 13.0.2. seems to have been solved. I have not heard from AgileBits, but 1PW now works in Safari.
Like
Version 7.3.2
marcklein
06 October 2019
I’ve read many of the comments here and have more questions than comments. I’ve used 1Password since the day Steve Jobs recommended it. I bought a license back then. I just upgraded my wife’s MacBook to Mojave and realize that I need to upgrade 1Password to version 7x. I don’t object to paying Agile for all their work in producing what has been an excellent program, but I’m unsure if I should buy a license or a subscription (is that the same as a membership?). Our needs are simple. We now have the same version 6x on my MacBook and my wife’s MacBook (plus iPhones and iPads) and we use two vaults — one for her logins and one for mine. I have access to her vault and she has access to mine so we can make changes to any logins we both use. Will a license allow us to do that with two vaults? If so, how long does the license last when new versions of 1Password are introduced? Based on everything I’ve read here I am very confused about licenses, memberships, subscriptions, etc.
Like (1)
Version 7.3.2
2 answer(s)
ShotBlocker
ShotBlocker
11 October 2019
Dear Marcklein, I'm a v7 user (more on that in a future review) and will try to answer as best I can. I am a new subscriber/Member ('Membership' and 'subscription' are virtually synonymous as far as I can tell; and I had to upgrade from v6.8.9 because my wife lost 1Password on Safari when v13 came out). What you appear to want to do is what I do with my wife in our "family subscription": I have a "Private" vault that syncs with the 1Password cloud. It has all my logins etc. So does my wife with her stuff in her 'Private' vault.. But we can share a vault: items in the Shared Vault are visible to both of us and either of us can add to or modify the items it contains. But only I can see the items in my 'Private' vault, and the same goes for her and her 'Private' vault. Plus we both run 1Password on our iPhones. I can also add 3 other people so, for $4.99/month, this is a good deal. Now, 1Password offers "standalone licenses" if you jump through hoops and surrender your firstborn child. Is there a licensed equivalent to a "Family Subscription"? I simply don't know and rather doubt it. The Subscription has little or nothing to do with which version of 1Password you use. If you're a subsriber and they go from v7 to v8, you presumably just download v8 and keep on going. Strictly speaking, with a subscription the app -- including updates and upgrades -- is included in your membership/subscription. (In this limited sense, the client software on your Mac or iPhone are "free" -- free that is, when you pay for your subscription. If you have a license, you presumably have to pay an upgrade fee for a new license when a new version is released. Hope this helps. -SB
Like
Version 7.3.2
ShotBlocker
ShotBlocker
11 October 2019
P.S. Over the past several weeks, I see that MacUpdate has a "new look.' I suppose I'll get used to it -- it was a bit jarring at first -- but leaving reviews and comments on the primitive line editor is a miserable experience. You can't format -- no paragraphs allowed. Just a wall of text mode.
Like (1)
Version 7.3.2
MarcelT
04 October 2019
I have liked the 1Password from the very beginning but refuse(d) to go for their subscription plan. Bad idea for this type of software. I now use Enpass across all devices and I am pretty happy with it. Decent alternative, almost free and easy to import data from 1Password. Petty, I liked it...
Like (4)
Version 7.3.2
1 answer(s)
JohnnyFave
JohnnyFave
04 October 2019
I deep-sixed 1Password with their gun-to-head ridiculous price gouging subscription service (especially for Canadians). One only has to read all the negative reviews on the Mac App Store to confirm they truly missed the mark and self-sabotaged their loyal customer base. Enpass does the job and they’re enjoying the rapid growth due to the exodus of ex-1Password customers.
Like (3)
Version 7.3.2
r-owen
27 September 2019
1Password 7 works fine for me and the update was painless except for an initial period when I thought I was in evaluation mode but Safari auto-fill didn't work at all. Turns out it had gotten into a read only mode, instead. Once I bought the licenses everything was fine. Wifi sync and folder sync both work fine and I'm very glad to have those features as I don't want to keep my password vault in the cloud. I wish they charged less for subscriptions. I am happy to support developers, but feel $5/month is far too much for a family license, especially as I am not using their cloud service. I chose to buy 2 standalone licenses instead.
Like (1)
Version 7.3.2
D9
24 September 2019
"Forcing you to upgrade"? Not close...all your choice! I get people are mad about the subscription, I'm no fan, but welcome to business. How do you think a company the size of Agile can continue to develop, expand, and support 1Password with a single purchase you made in 2014? Pick your poison...Great software obsolete in 2 years vs subscription supported development. It's everywhere...Office, Adobe Creative, iOS apps...pay or stay in 2014. Otherwise, this is an excellent software solution for password security and sensitive information storage that's tightly integrated into macOS, iOS, and now iPadOS.
Like (2)
Version 7.3.2
2 answer(s)
Ulyssesric
Ulyssesric
25 September 2019
You've no idea what you're talking about. Yeah AgileBITE bestows you with two options: pay for the ransom, or leave you homestead you built in the past decade. If you don't pay, your data will be read-only and no new record can be added. If you don't upgrade, you won't have access to your data in Safari 13. Easy choice, right ? For the past 11 years AgileBITE kept upgrading 1Password every 20 to 30 months and their upgrades were not free. We used to have the freedom of choice but not this time; because Safari had been migrating to new extension API since 2018 and AgileBITE just dumped all supports for their old version since and their message is crystal clear: you either upgrade to 1Password 7 or you lost all the web extension in Safari. If AgileBITE still took their old business model of outright purchase I won't complain a word, but forcing you to upgrade on the excuse of new Safari API while moving to subscription mode at the same time are 100% kidnapping for ransom.
Like (4)
Version 7.3.2
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
25 September 2019
Passive much D9? Roll over and get bizz-abused. Bad idea. This makes you an abuse enabler. - - Add to that your misrepresentation of the core abuse issues. No one here whined about paying for a new version past 2014, did they. You can't be bothered to even read our comments.
Like (1)
Version 7.3.2
forthenext60seconds
24 September 2019
F*** 1Password. Subscription models are BS, and so is AB and 1P now. I will be going with another solution after realizing you only have a subscription based model. The software stinks, much like where you can stick it!!! So many other options, why would you think people would waste their time with money grubbing losers who don't want to release a product, but instead want to gouge the users! So long 1P! See ya in the funny papers, which I will login to with my new password solution!
Like (3)
Version 7.3.2
Hanstyo
22 September 2019
Luckily I just finally dumped 1Password before upgrading to Safari 13. After over 10 years, as one of the early enthusiastic users, I finally had enough. Since 1Password mini appeared (a long time ago) each uprade presented problems and caused much lost time. Always the same buggy upgrades for more money. The workarounds on their website are repetitive and never worked. And for less effort more greed. No thanks, I'm moving on and got rid off 1PW in all my office. There is much better stuff around - I chose Dashlane, and I couldn't be happier.
Like (4)
Version 7.3.2
1 answer(s)
Ulyssesric
Ulyssesric
25 September 2019
While AbileBITE pissed me off and I gave them the finger, I've to speak for them on this matter. 1Password mini is the only way for a browser extension to access external resources. Before Safari 12 the browser extensions used to be a piece of 3rd party code injected into the browser code base, much like the old NSAPI plugin but the runtime environment are sandboxed. In the beginning there isn't much restrictions to these extensions but soon the security crisis emerges. Rogue or malicious browser extensions can easily hijack your browser and peeping your private data, and this situation is getting more severe since 2017. We had at least 8 serious malicious extension breakout incidents on Chrome and FireFox ecosystem in 2019 alone. So since Safari 10 Apple had straighten the restrictions of extension runtime sandbox and they can no longer access to external resources anymore. The only way left is inter-process communication using WebSocket. So a resident helper application is necessary. Basically not just 1Password but all extensions that need to access local files all had similar approaches, though some are just made their whole main application a dock-less app with only menubar items, such as Enpass.
Like
Version 7.3.2
Derekcurrie
21 September 2019
I got caught by Safari 13, aka Apple's ongoing blundering that results in dead beloved extensions, including 1Password. So, I'm supposed to fall into the pit of 1Password's disturbing and pointless subscription model in order to obtain the Safari 1 compatible extension? Not Gonna Do It! SOLUTION: I reinstalled macOS 10.14.6 using the combo installer I keep handy. That was the only way to kill off Safari 13 and to get back fave extension functionality, including 1Password's extension. UNLESS 1Password stops forcing their expensive and pointless subscription model, they are Dead-To-Me. IASSOTS. I'm researching alternatives already.
Like (1)
Version 7.3.2
1 answer(s)
Fariborz
Fariborz
23 September 2019
It came as a shock to me as well although I was expecting it for a long time. Well, life goes on the same with or without 1Password.
Like (2)
Version 7.3.2
Vagabundo
21 September 2019
I just updated to Safari 13.0. Now, like Rickzeman mentions below, the 1Password extension has been disabled. In order to bring back that functionality, AgileBits is now forcing you into 1P 7. But you know what Dave, you are not getting my money this way. What a piece of trash you have made of your company.
Like (2)
Version 7.3.2
Rickzeman
19 September 2019
WARNING! If you install Safari 13 and you use 1Password 6 Safari will permanently disable it! AgileBits, in their now-typical "We're going to drag you kicking it and screaming into subscribing to 1Password 7, or making you defect to something else" modus operandi only makes a compatible extension available with 1P7.
Like (4)
Version 7.3.2
1 answer(s)
Harry Flashman
Harry Flashman
20 September 2019
I got caught out on this earlier today. I've tried 1Password 7 and it seems like a massive step backwards. Not impressed at all.
Like (2)
Version 7.3.2
Jnsbow
03 September 2019
This version (7) installed on my Mac, asked me to chose a "NEW" master password which I did - then scrambled everything and now won't go find my drop box backup of the old password database and does not recognize my "new" master password.
Like (2)
Version 7.3.2
1 answer(s)
Viktor MacUpdate
Viktor MacUpdate
03 September 2019
I would suggest referring to 1Password support page - https://support.1password.com or try to contact the developer using their Contact form: https://support.1password.com/contact-us
Like (1)
Version 7.3.2
Ulyssesric
03 September 2019
Update to 1Password 7 (Mac App Store version) since the Safari Extension complaining about incompatibility with older version, and all my saved data are **READ-ONLY** now. I can on long edit existed records or add new records from the mini agent nor the desktop app, unless I sign up to their service. The help message claimed that you can buy license if you download non-MAS version from their website, so I did. And I searched every corner on their website and in the app and found nothing. So AgileBits is now forcing their user to pay the annual $36 subscription fee, otherwise you can't have the full feature. And the features of existed old application is also disabled, under the excuse of Safari API update, while it is clearly their responsibility to keep updating their less than two years old product. AgileBits just dumped their lifetime paid users. I'm dumping 1Password after 10 years and moving to another password manager. It may take me hours but it's worth it.
Like (4)
Version 7.3.2
ginger-lindsey
02 August 2019
Fantastic app! I use it daily as both my main browser and my password repository.
Like
Version 7.3.1
Now that they’ve gone the scumbag route of a subscription model, I’m dumping 1Password after 7 years. AgileBits is now an onerous, ulcerous blight on society.
Like (6)
Version 7.3.1
agute
06 July 2019
Excellent in function and use and always kept upto date
Like
Version 7.3.1
mzulgis
04 July 2019
Still patiently waiting to see if Agile has decided to listen to it's loyal customer base who DON'T WANT THE SUBSCRIPTION MODEL. Looks like I'm in for a long wait and tbh my patience is now a little frayed at the edges. Version 7 as is being "offered" is not wanted by current users as is being made perfectly clear by the comments here, so please don't put your popup windows offering this undesirable software on my Mac. Thank you.
Like (7)
Version 7.3
2 answer(s)
Bytes
Bytes
04 July 2019
Another one that DOESN'T WANT THE SUBSCRIPTION MODEL! Shove the popup AgileBits
Like (5)
vyvc-1
vyvc-1
12 July 2019
For what it's worth, iOS version 7.3.3 no longer allows creation of local vaults forcing users further into the subscription model. Time to switch to an open source solution like Bitwarden, KeePassXC or the new Firefox Lockwise solution, the latter obviously not cross-browser. But why would you be using Googles invasive Chrome to begin with.
Like (1)
Jturnerspfld
15 June 2019
I don't see how I could operate without 1Password. Unfortunately, they keep adding new features for power users which complicate things for those of us who are not computer nerds.
Like
Version 7.3
stephengriffith
05 June 2019
Too Much Money
Like (11)
Version 7.3
clqdr
01 June 2019
Mozilla has released Firefox Lockwise as extension: https://lockwise.firefox.com/ This will make for an exciting competition. So with that, Bitwarden and KeePassXC there are several open source based alternatives available. AgileBits makes great software, but their marketing moves in the recent 2-3 years have put me off and I am switching. Hiding their single purchase option and pushing subscription is something I do not like and will not play with. The fact that iOS since v12 allows 3rd Party password managers to seamlessly integrate does also help moving away from 1p
Like (5)
Version 7.3
Dualist
16 May 2019
So, it took me about a half an hour to figure out what I had to do to upgrade to v.7, because it really is not at all obvious if you want a stand alone license. Furthermore, v.7 does nothing to ease the upgrade on your iOS devices, and they will all take reconfiguration to use the new database that is created and stored in a different place. Shouldn't iP do that for you? Where's the incentive to upgrade when it just becomes a giant hassle? I declined to install it based on the potential nightmare lurking in the background. 6 works so I'll stay with that for now. There is no compelling reason to upgrade.
Like (5)
Version 7.2.6
2 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
24 May 2019
Hi, @Dualist

My apologies for the delay in getting back to you, and I'm sorry to hear about the issues that you've been having with upgrading to 1Password 7.

When installing 1Password 7 on your Mac or PC, the app should automatically import your items from previous versions of the app, so I'd like to get some more info on the "reconfiguration process" that you mentioned so I can investigate what's going on.

You mentioned that you're sticking with 1Password 6 for now, so please feel free to get back to me if you'd like to upgrade to 1Password 7 so I can make sure that the upgrade goes as smoothly as possible.

Thanks!
Like
Dualist
Dualist
24 May 2019
From the 1P website (Caps for emphasis are mine): "When you open 1Password 7 the first time, it will convert older vaults to the newer OPVault format. Converting the vault will make a copy of it in a new location, and YOU'LL NEED TO CONFIGURE YOUR OTHER DEVICES TO SYNC WITH THE NEW VAULT."
That is what I was referring to, and why I can't be bothered upgrading.
Like (5)
pcmccarty
13 April 2019
For the past several versions, when checking for updates the bar loads very slowly many times and then says it times out. I have to quit the application and cross my fingers it will load properly when it reboots. I've reached out to MacUpdate support and they repeatedly give me a number of keyboard commands upon loading. None work beyond the first scan. I'm running macOS Mojave 10.14.4 on a 2018 Macbook pro. When it works, it's great. When it doesn't I wonder why I pay for this. Any tips would help -- but like any abusive relationship, I'm still here for some reason.
Like (4)
Version 7.2.5
2 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
19 April 2019
Hi there, @pcmccarty!

I'm really sorry to hear about the slow load times. Just to clarify, are you experiencing these slow load times in the 1Password app or in the MacUpdate Desktop app?

I look forward to hearing back from you!
Like (1)
pcmccarty
pcmccarty
19 April 2019
Desktop.
Like
Mark-Feldman
04 April 2019
Great app! I've used it for years on on both MacOS and iOS devices. It works flawlessly.
Like (1)
Version 7.2.5
1 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
07 April 2019
Hi there, @Mark-Feldman!

Thank you so much for your kind words and long-term support! If you have any questions, feel free to reach out!
Like (1)
Fractalhorizon
06 March 2019
Was the best, but greed took over. Owned every 1Password version since 2.0, multiple copies, and recommended it to everyone. Since 1Password's 7 no option subscription only model, I was tempted to subscribe - I mean, it worked great until now, but having no control over their cloud storage bothered me. In the meantime, my 1Password 6 stoped syncing via DropBox. Contacted customer support. Got a reply from a spambot telling me how great 1Password 7 is and how I should upgrade. For 3 weeks, deafening silence. Contacted again. Again, deafening silence. Zero customer service. Thank you AgileBits for making up my mind. I am moving away from 1Password.
Like (11)
Version 7.2.5
3 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
24 March 2019
Hi there, @Fractalhorizon!

I want to first thank you first for the years of support! That's incredible that you've been using 1Password since version 2, and we really appreciate it!

I hate to hear that you didn't get a response from us, so I'd love for the opportunity to look into this for you. Would you be willing to send me your ticket mask (it should look similar to [#ABC-12345-678]) so I can get some eyes on your request?

In the meantime, I'd also like to mention that we still *do* offer the ability to purchase standalone licenses if that's your jam. They can currently be purchased at a discount for $49.99 (down from $64.99) after launching the app for the first time.

I look forward to being able to help you further!
Like (1)
Fractalhorizon
Fractalhorizon
26 March 2019
Brian, that is not at all apparent from either your front page or your pricing page - there is not a single mention of ability to purchase a license outright on either one of those pages.. Also, there does not seem to be any way to purchase a family license, only a single one.

The ticket got finally replied to, but a week after I wiped the machine in question and reinstalled everything on it.
Like (10)
brian_ag
brian_ag
27 March 2019
Hi @Fractalhorizon,

You're right in that we don't advertise licenses on our website, as we encourage the use of accounts over licenses. For this same reason, we don't sell differentiated family licenses from single ones (as we offer Family accounts as an alternative), but you can use a standalone license on multiple devices.

I'm glad to hear that you got a reply to your ticket — Were you able to get everything set up after you wiped your machine?
Like
cig0
03 March 2019
Since they switched to the new business model, I switched to Bitwarden and couldn't be any happier so far.
Like (9)
Version 7.2.5
1 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
23 March 2019
I'm sorry to hear about that, @cig0, but I'm still glad that you're staying safe online, even if it isn't with 1Password. Please feel free to reach out if you'd like to give 1Password another shot in the future!
Like
Fishboy
23 February 2019
A brief review of some popular Password Managers from the Washington Post: https://www.washingtonpost.com/technology/2019/02/19/password-managers-have-security-flaw-you-should-still-use-one/?noredirect=on&utm_term=.199d2a963dd6
Like (4)
Version 7.2.5
1 answer(s)
ShotBlocker
ShotBlocker
24 February 2019

Shout out to Fishboy and Dennis-Ionov for posting excellent articles.

The gist of these articles is that, even after locking 1Password (or other password manager -- they tested four others) on your computer, passwords that you've used (including your Master Password) remain in RAM as clear text (i.e., unencrypted).

So a bad guy with access to your computer could conceivably find them, just as the researchers did.

PLEASE NOTE (and this is especially important for this site): the research was done ONLY ON WINDOWS.

From the initial Post article: "The researchers studied only Windows apps, but say it may affect Apple Macs and mobile operating systems, too."

Channeling our inner tech Hamlet: "To may or not to may." Therefore we await, perhaps in vain, for a proof-of-concept test on our Macs and iPhones.

May I suggest that everyone read not only the "Post" article but the comments as well (as with all comment sections, many are not helpful, but a decent number are) to give some more perspective on the subject.

Specifically, with respect to this review page for 1Password, Jeffrey Goldberg of 1Password, posting as 'JPGoldberg' and including his title "Chief Defender Against the Dark Arts" (*see below) left some germane comments.

Mr. Goldberg says that he and 1Password are well aware of the issue and that "any plausible cure may be worse than the disease. Fixing the particular problem introduces new security risks..."

Again, he does not comment on whether he is referring specifically to Windows, or to all versions of 1Password on whatever platform it runs on. But they're evidently not going to address the issue further at 1Password.

On balance (and given my overall irritation with the arrogance of 1Password the company, I hate to admit this) I think Mr. Goldberg has a point. Read his comments, and those of the other participants, and judge for yourself.

My take:

The issue at hand (if I'm reading the articles correctly) is that when you lock your password manager, all your passwords stored in RAM should be overwritten, or otherwise rendered unreadable.

But honestly, if someone has physical access to your computer (or mobile phone, whatever) and can scan RAM, or has hacked into it from without (and no need to read RAM -- a simple keylogger will do) the game's lost for you anyway.

To use a very technical term: you're TOAST.

If they've hacked in, they can likely access your passwords in RAM when the password manager is open and in use. ASLR (Google it) may save you, but you're more than likely toast.

So how to avoid becoming toast?

Somebody needs to write a book entitled, "How to Use Apple Products Without Becoming Toast: A Step-By-Step Primer for the Compleat Idiot." Until then maybe start here:

<https://objective-see.com/about.html>

* P.S. Good Lord do I hate those cutsy-pie job titles that are obligatory at 1Password. Worth a rant in and of themselves, especially given the company's insufferable arrogance. Picking up on something Derek Currie wrote a few days ago, 1Password people are either the most arrogant nice people I've ever encountered, or the nicest most arrogant people. Not sure which and it doesn't matter -- those job titles are nails on a chalkboard. Is it the water in Canada?)
Like (3)
Dennis-Ionov
23 February 2019
just don't expect it to be secure https://www.securityevaluators.com/casestudies/password-manager-hacking/
Like (5)
Version 7.2.4
3 answer(s)
Fishboy
Fishboy
23 February 2019
Well that was an Interesting read, so allegedly 1Password 4 is more secure than the latest version (Windows) ?
https://blog.securityevaluators.com/recovering-the-master-password-from-a-locked-password-manager-1password-4-5d32cd569907
Like (3)
brian_ag
brian_ag
22 March 2019
Hi there!

Our team has posted about this article (along with others), so feel free to read through our replies here: https://discussions.agilebits.com/discussion/comment/493033/#Comment_493033

Thanks, and feel free to let me know if you have any other concerns!
Like
Bremen
Bremen
16 May 2019
Great Call, Dennis - just encountered deplorable degradation when I installed 1Password on both Macs.
Like (1)
mguillau
12 February 2019
I can accept the idea of a subscription, but I consider 1Password as a "small" (albeit very useful) utility, $36/year is far too much money! Reasonable pricing for such a service should be for me around $1/month, $10-12/year. Never more! In the meanwhile, I'm glad to use the previous version (6.8.9); the day this version of 1PW wouldn't work on my Mac any more, I would do my best to find an alternative utility!
Like (10)
Version 7.2.4
5 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
22 March 2019
Hi there, @mguillau!

I'm sorry to hear that you won't be looking to upgrade to an account (https://support.1password.com/explore/membership/), but I would like to clarify that we *do* offer standalone licenses if an account isn't for you. They're currently being sold at a discount at $49.99 (down from $64.99), and can be purchased after launching 1Password 7 for the first time.

Please feel free to reach out with any other questions, and thanks for sharing your thoughts with us!
Like
mguillau
mguillau
22 March 2019
Thanks a lot for the information!
Unfortunately, again, I don't find the information on your web site: in the "Buy" tab, you only mention monthly subscriptions.
Feel free to send the corresponding link!
Like (2)
brian_ag
brian_ag
24 March 2019
Hi there @mguillau!

Sorry for the troubles here! Licenses can only be purchased from *within* the 1Password apps, and cannot be bought directly from our website.

When launching 1Password 7 for the first time, you should see an option to use a license instead of an account. For example, on 1Password 7 for Mac, you can click on the "Need a license? We have those too." option to proceed with your license purchase.

Feel free to reach out if you have any other questions about 1Password!
Like
mguillau
mguillau
24 March 2019
So, if I understand it well, I download 1Password7, then I decide (or not) to choose a standalone license. As a holder of 1Password6, do I have a discount (= upgrade) or is it "full price" anyway?
Like (1)
brian_ag
brian_ag
24 March 2019
Yep! When you download and launch 1Password 7, you'll be given the options to sign up/into an account, or to purchase a standalone license.

We don't have a specific upgrade discount, but licenses are discounted down to $49.99 (normally $64.99) for everyone to celebrate the launch of the new version.
Like (1)
Derekcurrie
05 February 2019
NO, you don't have to pay for 1Password's subscription service. So if you don't want it, don't pay for it. Why AgileBits HIDES this fact from buyers is beyond my personal comprehension. It's BAD MARKETING, IMHO. Reading through the comments below this one, it's obvious that this nefarious obfuscation is as sensible as cutting your own throat, or so I see it. I've been back and forth with them about it and they, very nicely, don't care. BEWARE and Be Wise.
Like (5)
Version 7.2.4
djchadderton
21 January 2019
Far too expensive for me to move up from v6 without, as far as I can see, a huge amount of benefit. Although I had to actually install it and go through the in-app buying process to even find out how much it would be, so keen are they to get you to get us onto the subscription model.
Like (8)
Version 7.2.4
1 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
22 March 2019
Hey there, @djchadderton!

I'm sorry to hear that you won't be upgrading to 1Password 7. You mentioned that you already found the price for standalone licenses, but for others who may be reading, the price is currently discounted at $49.99 (down from $64.99).

You're right in that we do encourage users to use accounts over licenses, as we've found that they're the best way to use 1Password. When considering the additional features that they provide, along with the added security benefits, 1Password.com accounts are the better choice for most users: https://support.1password.com/explore/membership/

Please let me know if you have any other questions, and have a great rest of your day!
Like
Maclover1-1
05 January 2019
This company makes it really hard to just function with a regular license these days, they "funnel" you into getting an account and membership by making it very opaque as to how to register your product as a standalone as you could a couple of versions ago still. I just experienced a major computer crash and pretty much had to rebuild my Mac for the past two days, grueling (could not rely on Time Machine due to some excessive corruptions). Now I need to access certain SN's etc... and am "locked out" of my 1password" and they have tons of complex explanations as to how to go about things on their site.. instead of having a simple mail I could get back to with my license in it to enter and get on with my life. Every time I upgraded it just was done automatically.. and now that I need access to it on my own I have no clue what to do. They make is fairly clear on their website that if you do have a subscription then things are easier.. They actually even have this: "Legacy license files are no longer available for download. If you previously downloaded your license file, you can search your Mac for it and apply it to 1Password." "If you have more than one Mac, try searching for your license file on each Mac." Yeah jus search your Mac.. morons. Well I tried, I used several search tools, to no avail. Not cool. It really feels like it's done on purpose to drive people to subscribe. In a day and age were we talk about "accessibility".. making it so complicated to just access something extremely central like our SN' etc.. is really really not cool. I was actually temporarily saved by Apple's Keychain and iCloud during this crash.. and NOT by 1Password.. how backwards is that. Now I need to really study the competition to see if there is a good and honest and wholesome alternative. Once I get the settled and have access to my database again I'll transfer to another app. It0 ll b gruesome, I'll take me days and days... but I don't want to support this company.
Like (8)
Version 7.2.4