Back to 1Password page
1Password free download for Mac

1Password Reviews

7.4.3
28 February 2020

Powerful password manager; integrates with Web browsers and more.

daveulrich
27 January 2020

Most helpful

I don't get all the flack and bad reviews. This have been such an amazing tool for my entire family and part of my life for a long time now. It has grown and evolved, and I trust the developer. When it went subscription, I was annoyed because I generally hate subscriptions. But they kept a non-subscription option. Then, I looked closer at how much I used it, and how important it was to me, and how valuable it would be to add my family and share things, and suddenly, the subscription cost seemed beyond reasonable and better than the frequent upgrading cycles. I am all in—with no regrets.
Like (1)
Version 7.4.1

Read 1755 1Password User Reviews

Rate this app:

LuxLogica
23 March 2020
Paid for a family subscription, and am very happy. Integrates nicely with browsers, also has iOS apps, keeps all info synchronised across all. Allows for shared password vaults, makes using 2FA super easy on all sites, and keeps prompting you to develop safer online habits (e.g., don't reuse passwords, makes it easy to use more complex passwords confidently, keeps track of latest data breaches and warns us if used passwords have been compromised).
Like
Version 7.4.3
Laurent-Grisel
20 March 2020
Application indispensable simple et fonctionnel
Like
Version 7.4.3
juvor
17 March 2020
1password is a very pleasant experience in every way. Integrates great with all brwosers on my mac and on my iOS devices. Fast, reliable and makes me feel secure enough to trust it with most of my passwords.
Like
Version 7.4.3
2 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
18 March 2020
Hi there, juvor! Thanks so much for your kind review! I'm so glad to hear that you're enjoying 1Password! :)
Like
Version 7.4.3
brian_ag
brian_ag
18 March 2020
Hi there, juvor! Thanks so much for your kind review! I'm so glad to hear that you're enjoying 1Password, and we'll be here to help if you have any questions! :)
Like
Version 7.4.3
Derekcurrie
03 March 2020
I have to vent, yet again, what a HORRIBLE organization Agile has become. The convolutions of lunacy I run into with them is brain fryingly frustrating. - - I bought as part of a bundle a year of 1Password Families. Then I tried to set it up and found road block after road block with Catch 22 loops in their website process, misleading and outright wrong verbiage, 'Help' that offered only further frustration inspired by the sheer chaos of their website. Their Level 1 support was friendly but just a loopy as the Agile website. I reached the level of IRATE and requested, pleaded for someone who could get me going with this software, which I now regret buying. It's one of the most lunatic customer experiences I have ever had. LOOK ELSEWHERE. Agile's marketing division is ABYSMAL. That's a shame, because I've enjoyed the non-subscription version for years. Sick and sad.
Like (2)
Version 7.4.3
2 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
03 March 2020
Hi there! I’m so sorry to hear that you had this experience with our team, Derekcurrie. We pride ourselves on having top-tier support, so I’ll make sure to investigate what happened with our support team. I hope we can win you back in the future, but greatly appreciate your years of support in the meantime!
Like (1)
Version 7.4.3
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
09 March 2020
Thank you brian_ag. Your staff is consistently friendly, which is always appreciated. I am willing to voluntarily help your marketing folks understand the detriment they currently are to Agile as well as provide and contribute to solutions. If they are willing, they can contact me using my full name, as used here as my ID, via iCloud email. If you have questions or would like to know more about me, please write. I wish you best wishes and very much enjoy your software, after overcoming your poor marketing.
Like (2)
Version 7.4.3
Kitmos
27 February 2020
I have been using this since the beginning. At least 3-4 times a day. One of the few subscriptions that I think are worth it.
Like
Version 7.4.3
1 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
03 March 2020
Thanks so much for your kind words and long-time support, Kitmos! Much appreciated! :)
Like
Version 7.4.3
Veðrfölnir
27 February 2020
1Password is hands down the best password manager I have ever come across. People who have issues with 1Password must have issues with most other things in life as well.
Like
Version 7.4.3
1 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
03 March 2020
Thanks for your review, Veðrfölnir! If you have any questions or run into any issues, we’ll be here to help!
Like
Version 7.4.3
Bremen
21 February 2020
Very disappointed - the program assumes control of your Mac (with the permission of Apple, of course). I agree that the quality has diminished significantly and it appears as if their standard solutions at their help centers is "Uninstall, Reinstall".
Like (1)
Version 7.4.2
3 answer(s)
Veðrfölnir
Veðrfölnir
27 February 2020
How the hell is it assuming control of your Mac? And Apple is not giving 1Password any permission, if anyone is giving it permission it is you.
Like (1)
Version 7.4.3
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
27 February 2020
It has to be able to fill in password fields.
Like
Version 7.4.3
brian_ag
brian_ag
03 March 2020
Hey there, Bremen! We require some permissions from macOS to be able to autofill your logins, but I’d be happy to connect you with our security team if you’d like to chat with them about this! Just send an email to support@1password.com and we’ll make sure to get you in touch with the right folks. In regards to our help center, would you be able to clarify any articles that you think could use some updates? Our documentation team is always looking to improve our knowledgebase, so your feedback would really help us here! Thanks in advance!
Like
Version 7.4.3
Frodo-life
20 February 2020
made the mistake to update to 1PW 7 now can't open my fault application just hangs and needs to be force quit. While not perfect (search never worked properly) 1PW6 at least worked and did not leave me stranded without an application. Wast of money
Like (2)
Version 7.4.2
1 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
03 March 2020
Hi, Frodo-life! I'm very sorry that 1Password is freezing up for you, and that you're having some trouble with searching. Would you be able to send a diagnostics report to support@1password.com so we can look into getting these issues fixed for you? You can generate a diagnostics report by following these steps: https://support.1password.com/diagnostics/ — Thank you in advance!
Like
Version 7.4.3
aaronneilwood
11 February 2020
I have found that the quality of 1password has decreased over time. I was exceptionally happy with 1password 6. The new family features in 1password 7 are promising, and I don't mind subscriptions when they come with continuous improvement. But 1password may be one of the most frustrating apps I use on a regular basis. The setup workflows for adding new family members and logging in across multiple apps is poorly implemented—abounding in dead ends, inadequate help documentation, and user flows that simply don't seem to have been thought through. Basic features like autofill in a browser has recently broken and seems to work randomly. A day doesn't go by where I experience some obnoxious behavior. The apps no longer save be time. I hope this improves.
Like (1)
Version 7.4.2
1 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
03 March 2020
Hi there, aaronneilwood! I’m really sorry to hear that 1Password 7 isn’t working for you so far. You mentioned that you found the processes of adding new family members and signing into new devices to be frustrating, which the team would be happy to look into. Would you be able to clarify what part of these processes you had troubles with? Feel free to send an email to support@1password.com with your thoughts and we’ll make sure to investigate. We’ll also be happy to help with the autofill issues that you mentioned.
Like
Version 7.4.3
vogtpk
08 February 2020
In my hands, v7 is not an improvement over v6. First on, when I open the application, I expect to see the last-used category. v7 gives you the whole collection, and it takes two clicks to get where you want to be. But where v7 really fails is handling mail orders on the web. It cannot deal with different shipping and mailing addresses, and the Safari extension is particularly useless in this function as well ad in others. Say you would like to log into a website for which all information is in your vault and ask the Safari extension to auto-login. Forget it, it usually does not work. Rather, you may even get a reminder that your password is too weak. I really do not need an application to educate me about passwords. When you are finally ready (after several circuitous procedures) to put in your credit card, the Safari extension cannot do it. The extension cannot transit from login to credit cards and if you search "credit cards" at that point in the extension, such a file cannot be found. Come on! At the end, you have to go back to the full application, and even there it will take several copy-pastes that will get you where you need to be, no autofill. I find version 7 frustrating and dysfunctional in core activities.
Like (1)
Version 7.4.2
1 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
09 February 2020
Hi there, vogtpk! I'm sorry to hear that you're not a fan of 1Passwword 7, but very much appreciate your feedback. I'll make sure to pass it along to the rest of the team. The issues that you mentioned with the extension are things that we definitely want to look into. Would you be able to send us an email (https://support.1password.com/contact/) letting us know the specific websites that aren't playing nicely with the extension? That way our extensions team can take a look and get those resolved for you. They'll also be able to help you troubleshoot some of the other issues that you mentioned as well. Thanks so much in advance!
Like
Version 7.4.2
daveulrich
27 January 2020
I don't get all the flack and bad reviews. This have been such an amazing tool for my entire family and part of my life for a long time now. It has grown and evolved, and I trust the developer. When it went subscription, I was annoyed because I generally hate subscriptions. But they kept a non-subscription option. Then, I looked closer at how much I used it, and how important it was to me, and how valuable it would be to add my family and share things, and suddenly, the subscription cost seemed beyond reasonable and better than the frequent upgrading cycles. I am all in—with no regrets.
Like (1)
Version 7.4.1
2 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
29 January 2020
I'm so glad to hear that you and your family are enjoying 1Password, daveulrich! Thanks very much for your kind review, and if you have any questions or feedback, please feel free to reach out!
Like
Version 7.4.1
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
27 February 2020
Can you find the non subscription option on their website? I sure can't. I've been using 1Password for years now, but I'm not interested in renting an app that I paid for.
Like
Version 7.4.3
Agrothey
20 January 2020
I loved 1PW6 - and I actually bought 1PW7 and paid for a year. Since I forgot my password to access my 1PW6 data, I asked the programmers for help to transition my data to the new software, and their advice was useless. Utter failure! I stuck with 1PW6 until it did not work anymore (Catalina). Now I rely on other solutions. This was bad!
Like (1)
Version 7.4.1
1 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
24 January 2020
First off, I’m very sorry to hear about your experience, Agrothey. Because of how 1Password is designed, your Master Password is never transmitted or stored on our servers. Although this helps to keep your data safe and sound (https://1password.com/security/), it also means that your 1Password data can’t be accessed without it. You mentioned that you already contacted our support team about this but weren’t happy with the conversation. Providing the best possible support to our users is something that we hold dear to our hearts, so I want to make sure that I look into what happened. Would you be able to share your ticket mask/ID from your conversation with our support team with me so I can investigate?
Like (1)
Version 7.4.1
Jbjoret
17 January 2020
I do not understand the bad reviews at all. This software has been the most valuable one I have been using in years. I even decided to pay subscription for the whole family, not only to support the team to continue developing this great application, but also because it is worth it. $2,99/month is not cheap but the support is the best I have ever had (response within 15 mins on a Sunday !!!). Users might disagree with the subscription price model (check the prices for Photoshop), but that is no reason for giving a bad review on the product.
Like (1)
Version 7.4.1
1 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
24 January 2020
Thanks so much for your kind words, Jbjoret! I’ll make sure to high-five our support team for you! :)
Like (1)
Version 7.4.1
Big77
13 January 2020
Increasingly frustrated with 1Password 7 but it's lots of little things. Like waiting for years and still not being close to feature parity between desktop and mobile versions (e.g. how hard can it be to add "sort by date modified" in the mobile version? -- people have been asking for years!). Or how I never can tell for sure which entry will be highlighted when I go to a site with several entires in 1Password. (In 1PW 6 I actually added stars in front of my most used entires so they'd always be on top. Now in 1PW 7 they are at the bottom.) Or how the view keeps changing -- I adjust column width and it changes back after a while. And in spite of having everything like update-checks and rich icons turned off it STILL tries to contact various agilebits and 1password locations repeatedly. 1PW 6 was great. In my opinion 1PW 7 is a big step backwards. Looks like some features were actually removed (e.g. used to have much finer control over password rules on generated passwords) and family licenses are no longer available. And like others, I agree: the day the stand-alone license is no longer offered is the day I stop using 1Password. There are fine alternatives now.
Like (3)
Version 7.4.1
1 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
24 January 2020
Hi there, Big77! Thanks so much for sharing your detailed feedback with us! I’m sorry to hear that you found 1Password 7 to be frustrating, but I’ve gone ahead shared your thoughts with the rest of the team. Hopefully we’ll win you back in the future, but we greatly appreciate you giving 1Password a shot!
Like (1)
Version 7.4.1
BlackMacX
02 January 2020
I have been a long, long user of 1Password and initially resisted the subscription model; but I finally decided that, if you want good software and want to encourage a company to both become stable and create a solid platform for users to buy into, the subscription model makes sense. I purchased the family subscription and having two adults and a child old enough to understand the how and why's software like 1P is needed, it is a bargain. The app did have its issues early on in v7 and this is why I held off moving, in part. But now that I have, I enjoy the ease with creating shared vaults and knowing that it is backed up to the cloud is reassuring. I do understand that 1P v7 has some issues with filling in passwords at times; but have found most to either be issues not of their making (ergo, the site one tries to log into has updated/changed things on their end) or are quickly fixed. If you want to use 1P, do so, if you don't, that's fine too. That said, if you want good, secure software, you can either purchase the 1Password app via the subscription model, or as they do have, the single license version as well. It was never taken away (though it was hard to find). Just my two cents and thoughts.
Like (1)
Version 7.4.1
1 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
24 January 2020
Thanks so much for your kind review, BlackMacX! I’m thrilled to hear that you’re liking 1Password 7! :) If you have any questions or any other feedback, please feel free to reach out!
Like (1)
Version 7.4.1
pasetta
02 January 2020
1password6 worked great. 1password7 has had consistent problems filling in passwords. Tech support told me that I needed to redo all my backups and remove the 1password app from all backups. No backups are on local drives. Why is 1password searching my NAS to do its job? Very disappointed in Tech Support. So according to tech support I need to exclude the app and redo all my backups. No thanks. Version 7 sucks.
Like (2)
Version 7.4.1
1 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
24 January 2020
Hi there, Pasetta! First off, I'm very sorry to hear that you had this experience with our support team. We pride ourselves on providing top-notch support, so I want to make sure to investigate what happened here. Would you be able to share your ticket mask/ID with me so I can take a look?
Like (1)
Version 7.4.1
Pirx
22 December 2019
Good software, job well done. I don't experience the Safari issue, because I hardly ever use Safari. The subscription model since 1Password v. 7 is unacceptable. I own a computer, I don't rent it. Why should that be any different for software licenses? There are a number of alternative products, that actually automate the import of data from 1Password. Migration is possible. Same goes for Microsoft and Adobe. I use alternatives, whenever the subscription model is being applied.
Like (1)
Version 7.4.1
1 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
24 January 2020
Hey there, Pirx! First off, thanks so much for sharing your thoughts with us — we really appreciate it! I understand that you don’t like subscriptions, so allow me to provide some background on our decision to implement them. Before we created 1Password.com accounts, our users were forced to use a third-party syncing service to sync their data between their devices. Due to the technical limitations of using a third-party solution for syncing data, we weren’t able to implement many of the features that we wanted to implement. We also weren’t able to troubleshoot syncing issues as well as we wanted to, given that many of these issues lied outside of our control. Because of all of this, we wanted to create a service that allowed us to provide a better experience to our users, so 1Password.com accounts were born. Since we introduced 1Password.com accounts, we’ve been able to implement great features like Travel Mode, which allows our users to keep their data safe and sound when traveling over international borders, 1Password X, which is our new browser extension that runs solely in your browser and allows Chrome OS and Linux users to use 1Password, and we’ve also introduced accounts for Families and Businesses, which allow our users to simply and securely share items and vaults with each other. All of these features, and more, rely on the infrastructure of 1Password.com accounts, and wouldn’t have been possible to implement using third-party syncing solutions. As great as these new features are, they also come with recurring costs for us. We’re in this for the long-run, and we want to make sure that we’ll be around to keep your data safe and secure for as long as possible. Therefore, we decided that it would be best to charge a fair subscription fee for 1Password.com accounts. This one fee provides you with access to the latest versions of all of the 1Password apps, along with the nifty account-only features that I mentioned earlier. This fee also ensures that we’ll be able to continue to develop and improve 1Password every day for many years to come. I’m hoping that this cleared up our reasoning for you, but please feel free to reach out if there’s anything that we can help you with! Hopefully we’ll win you back in the future, but thanks for giving 1Password a shot! :)
Like (1)
Version 7.4.1
Greguar
18 December 2019
RIP ˇˇˇˇˇˇˇˇ
Like
Version 7.4.1
trickyboy
01 December 2019
I upgraded from my many-years v6 license to v7 This app is probably the first app I install when I get a new Mac (not often, hahah). I HATE the subscription way. So thanks to Agile to keep a lifetime license. As others said, there are alternatives to 1Password, starting with the Apple Keychain which is perfectly integrated to Apple products ( and we use only those, anyway). If Agile stops to propose the standalone version, I will quit the ship.
Like (1)
Version 7.4.1
1 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
04 December 2019
Thanks so much for your kind words and feedback, trickyboy! I'm so glad that 1Password is the first app that you install on your computer — it's quite the honor to hear that! If you have any other questions or feedback, I'm here to help!
Like (1)
Version 7.4.1
incrzr
28 November 2019
50$ to make it work with Safari 13? No thanks
Like (1)
Version 7.4.1
1 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
04 December 2019
Hi there, incrzr! 1Password 7 is all set to be used with Safari 13, but due to changes with how Safari handles extensions, it is no longer compatible with 1Password 6. Our VP of Engineering for our client apps published a nifty blog post describing the situation — Feel free to check it out here: https://blog.1password.com/safari-13-is-awesome-upgrade-from-1password-6/ If you'd like to upgrade to 1Password 7 to continue to use 1Password with Safari 13, feel free to check out your upgrade options on our knowledge base: https://support.1password.com/upgrade-mac/ If you have any questions about 1Password or the upgrade, please feel free to reach out!
Like (1)
Version 7.4.1
W-g
24 November 2019
I have used 1Password for years. Right now I use version 7 and I have several computers (Mac and Windows) plus iPhone and iPad all sharing the same databases. With Catalina, I had to abandon CiphSafe (which is so simple) as it is 32bit. It was a simple matter to create a separate vault for that data (csv export) which I can refer back to as needed. I don't really like subscriptions but tell that to Adobe and MS. I think it is really useful.
Like (1)
Version 7.4.1
1 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
04 December 2019
Thanks for your kind review, W-g! We really appreciate your long-term support! If you have any questions or feedback, please feel free to get in touch!
Like (1)
Version 7.4.1
ShotBlocker
18 November 2019
This rating is for how 1Password v7.4.1 FUNCTIONS. It is NOT a rating about the pricing policies. OK, folks. A year ago (see my post of 10/25/18) I had a MISERABLE EXPERIENCE upgrading to v7. I HATED it. A little over a year later, I've done it again. I was forced to by the changes in Safari 13. Long story short, 1Password functions SUPERBLY. It works REALLY WELL. 5 stars well. Is there a LEARNING CURVE coming from v6.8.9? Yes. Is it worth it? I was for me. I looked at Bitwarden, but Bitwarden IS NOT going to support Safari going forward, so that was a WASTE OF TIME. And, if it was JUST ME, I could *maybe* invest the time looking for an alternative -- but my family members DON'T HAVE THE TIME to learn a brand new password manager, no matter how "easy" or "intuitive" it is. And at roughly $5/month for four of us -- for the functionality we get in return, not the least of which is the SEAMLESS SYNCING through many devices, that's a DAMN GOOD DEAL. And I can open 1Password on my iPhone with a TOUCH OF MY FINGER. There is still (still!) a silly, i.e., STUPID, glitch where the v7 updater hangs because it can't knock 1Password mini out of RAM. I had to use Activity Monitor to do the job. Does the average user know how to do that? I hope so. And the update process still leaves that BIZARRE v6 .zip file in your Applications folder, with no explanation. The documentation is still SKETCHY at best -- neither of these two issues are mentioned. You have to get used to "Vaults," in a way you didn't with v6. Your primary vault, paradoxically, is the "Private Vault." (At least in the Families Subscription I use.) What ends up being named the "Primary" vault -- and this is really weird and confusing at first -- is your old v6 vault, and eventually it gets deleted. Also, your v6 "attachments" become "Documents." This is also kind of weird. The parent login of a "document" can click on the document to see it, but once that's done YOU CAN'T GET BACK FROM THE DOCUMENT TO THE PARENT, unless you EXPLICITLY CREATE a "link." This is one of the things I *hated* a year ago -- it's really inexcusable that it hasn't been made automatic -- but OK, I have learned to live with this TOTALLY UNNECESSARY PAIN IN THE NECK. Aside from that the program itself is working REALLY WELL. As with most things Mac, once you get used to the interface, it becomes second nature and, actually, a PLEASURE. (Never thought I'd say that! But 'tis true.) For those of you turned off by subscriptions, I get it. I'd prefer not to have them either, but that's the way the industry is going. Free software, shareware, sorry to say, is going if not gone. Software today is like any other commodity -- buy, lease, rent -- like cars, or life insurance or anything else. It's up to every individual to decide if the price of a given piece of software (which often can be RIDICULOUSLY DIFFICULT to determine these days) is worth it, same as you would a car, house, sweater, computer, or anything else out there on the OPEN MARKET. And by the way, software companies and developers are no more different -- OR "GREEDY" -- than anyone else who offers their wares, skills, or talent on the open market at a given price. They want the best return for the value they provide, just like the buyer wants the best return for the money they spend. This includes me. And you. (Unless you like being paid less than you're worth.) Count your blessings -- you don't like what one company is offering, you have the opportunity to consider and buy another. Capitalism is truly great. Best of all, you can do this with password managers -- as I have. God bless. -SB
Like
Version 7.4.1
1 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
04 December 2019
First off, thanks so much for your extensive review, ShotBlocker! I'm also so glad to hear that you're enjoying 1Password 7, and greatly appreciate you sharing your feedback with us! I've gone ahead and forwarded your thoughts on how we can improve to the rest of the team. If you run into any issues in the future, please feel free to reach out—we're here to help!
Like
Version 7.4.1
caseyriddell
18 November 2019
wish I could give it zero stars after V.6... Version 7 has made the software useless and ruined my database to allow v.6 on other devices
Like (2)
Version 7.4.1
2 answer(s)
Agrothey
Agrothey
02 December 2019
I agree, the same happened for me. Interesting that this is not being discussed more.
Like
Version 7.4.1
brian_ag
brian_ag
04 December 2019
I'm so sorry to hear that you had this experience, caseyriddell. We'd love for the chance to help you troubleshoot this, if you're up for it. Please feel free to write in to us using this link: https://support.1password.com/contact/ and we'll get back to you as soon as possible.
Like
Version 7.4.1
Madmacmad
15 November 2019
rip off company
happy we have enough alternatives...
but they make clever marketing to melt the people...
often people pay instead of little work to switch...
that's the building block of the company...
once you are using it... you will not switch so easy...
well happy that there are lot better alternatives with same features or more...
Like (3)
Version 7.4.1
2 answer(s)
ShotBlocker
ShotBlocker
19 November 2019
Dear Madmacmad: re: "rip off company" You are of course referring here to Apple, right? The company whose clever marketing melts the people into paying $1,299 for a MacBook Pro, when with a "little work" they could switch to a $599 PC. Right? Apple, the company that's now making it virtually impossible to upgrade the computers it sells, and charges $200 to upgrade RAM from a paltry 8GB to 16GB? No one accuses Tim Cook of being "greedy," but the nice Canadians at 1Password are practically being accused of predatory pricing? What, a family subscription for a whopping $4.99 a month is "too expensive," but your $1,199 non-upgradable MacBook Air is not? Please. No one is forcing you to buy the product. And it's easy to claim there are a "lot better alternatives with same features or more," but much harder to ACTUALLY REVIEW THEM and write them up. -SB
Like (1)
Version 7.4.1
Agrothey
Agrothey
02 December 2019
I agree, and I feel very sorry about it. I DO NOT like subscription models once you have bought a software. I am willing to pay for meaningful upgrades, but not for a subscription which does not allow me to choose!
Like
Version 7.4.1
Maylbu
13 November 2019
I no longer use it. I don't need it. Safari has built in capabilities for password management almost as good. It got bloated and expensive, too much for my personal use
Like (3)
Version 7.4
1 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
04 December 2019
I'm sorry to hear that you're no longer using 1Password, Maylbu. If there's anything that we can do to win you back, please feel free to let me know—we're here to help!
Like
Version 7.4.1
awgrin
11 November 2019
After all these years I have owned this product and thought highly of the company I am now very disappointed with this new subscription deal. It's a raw deal.
Like (6)
Version 7.4
1 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
03 December 2019
Thanks for sharing your feedback with us, awgrin. We offer licenses for 1Password 7 for those that are interested, but we still do recommend using a 1Password.com account instead (https://support.1password.com/explore/membership/). If you have any other questions or feedback, please feel free to reach out!
Like
Version 7.4.1
Zarquon
10 November 2019
1Password is the best password manager there is, in my opinion. It is user-friendly, super-secure, and wholly trustworthy. One star deducted for going to a subscription model and hiking the price of the standalone version.
Like
Version 7.4
2 answer(s)
Madmacmad
Madmacmad
15 November 2019
did you check out the other that on market? 1P sucks...
Like (1)
Version 7.4.1
brian_ag
brian_ag
03 December 2019
Thanks so much for your kind words, Zarquon—we really appreciate them! We do highly recommend using a 1Password.com account, but we still do offer licenses for 1Password 7 for those who would rather use the app that way. As always, we appreciate your feedback and I'll make sure to share your thoughts with the rest of the team.
Like
Version 7.4.1
ocean442
06 November 2019
A great password manager!
Like
Version 7.3.2
2 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
13 November 2019
Thanks so much for your review, ocean442! If you have any feedback on how we can improve 1Password in the future, please feel free to reach out!
Like
Version 7.4
Madmacmad
Madmacmad
15 November 2019
there are much better and cheaper on market... open your eyes ...
Like (1)
Version 7.4.1
Laurent-Grisel
01 November 2019
An Indispensable app, which works very well.
Like
Version 7.3.2
2 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
13 November 2019
Thanks for your kind words, Laurent-Grisel! We really appreciate your support!
Like
Version 7.4
Madmacmad
Madmacmad
15 November 2019
others too... this is way too expensive... they suck!
Like (1)
Version 7.4.1
reflectivist
30 October 2019
Nothing but a big hassle. Money-grubbing corporate leeches over-complicated this and really F**CKED up loyal users of the past decade. And like ADO*E try to lock everyone into subscriptions, ruining a previously good product. Now you have remember if you have an account with them, a subscription or paid once, whether you got it from the app store or downloaded. For some reason after updating it won't take my old password. And I don't remember if they made it so the password of the old one works or not, so I'm locked out. I have no idea what's going on. All I know was I upgraded for several versions through 6 and had no problem. Now they have a rope-a-dope useless support scenario for an over-complicate fiasco and it no longer works for me and I'm screwed. HEY WHY DON'T YOU JUST INNOVATE A NEW PRODUCT rather than over-engineer and f'up your old thing because that's the only way you know how to make money?
Like (7)
Version 7.3.2
2 answer(s)
JohnnyFave
JohnnyFave
31 October 2019
Agreed. 1Password has crashed-and-burned. Reminds me of the old days when arrogant QuarkExpress (who OWNED the page layout software market) did the same to their business model / customer base with their overpriced schemes. So many did the unthinkable - they switched to PageMaker / Indesign. NEVER to go back. 1Password pulled a Quark.
Like (4)
Version 7.3.2
brian_ag
brian_ag
13 November 2019
Hi there, reflectivist! First off, I'm very sorry to hear that you had all of these troubles with 1Password. If you're up for it, I'd love for the opportunity to troubleshoot the sign-in issues that you mentioned. For starters, have you already taken a look at this knowledge base article?: https://support.1password.com/forgot-master-password/#if-you-think-you-remember-your-master-password
Like
Version 7.4
Macmuser
29 October 2019
One of the Mac's must-have applications. It works well, across all my Apple devices that need passwords. It has a very low annual cost for the ease of use and the money is used by the team to make 1Password even better. Absolutely nothing to complain about. I run the betas and seldom have a glitch but know I can get almost immediate support if I need it. Anyone who complains about the annual fee can just f…err… push off and find something else as good and easy to use as 1P.
Like
Version 7.3.2
3 answer(s)
reflectivist
reflectivist
30 October 2019
YEAH THERE IS A BETTER PRODUCT: 1PASSWORD6
Like (8)
Version 7.3.2
brian_ag
brian_ag
13 November 2019
Thanks so much for your kind review and support, Macmuser! I'm so glad to hear that you're loving 1Password!
Like
Version 7.4
Madmacmad
Madmacmad
15 November 2019
how can i dislike a review that is not true?
Like
Version 7.4.1
Rumplestiltskin
26 October 2019
Let's see...$36 or so per yer and it works on all my Macs, PCs, Android devices including my phone so I have my passwords secure yet available everywhere. Yep, definitely worth it. I recommend 1Password to all my clients, as well.
Like (1)
Version 7.3.2
3 answer(s)
reflectivist
reflectivist
30 October 2019
Every f'ing corporation now sees the way to get recurring revenue to lock everyone into a subscription and that stuff adds up, so people wind up having to pony up ALL those subscriptions like their lives depend on it and it's nothing but indentured servitude. Those companies should be ashamed and people should have the right to own their stuff. More socialism for the rich capitalism for everyone else.
Like (3)
Version 7.3.2
brian_ag
brian_ag
13 November 2019
Thanks so much for your review, Rumplestiltskin! I'm so glad to hear that you're enjoying your account! If you have any questions, I'm here to help!
Like
Version 7.4
Madmacmad
Madmacmad
15 November 2019
subscription and people who do SUCK... and is not to be supported ... glad there are way better alternatives...!
Like
Version 7.4.1
Tim27
23 October 2019
Not sure why this app is getting all the bad reviews. It’s a little pricey, but $37 per year is not that much for what this app/service offers. It costs less than Dashlane and it works better than LastPass. And for all the users saying there is no family option, there is. Click on the Personal & Family tab on their pricing page. A discount for long time customers would be nice, but it’s still a great app.
Like (2)
Version 7.3.2
3 answer(s)
reflectivist
reflectivist
30 October 2019
It's not only pricey but they've created a maze on their site with options so you don't know which way is up or down when things get weird now, and it use to be straightforward and just work. Now I'm locked out and had ZERO problems up until 1PASSWORD7
Like (2)
Version 7.3.2
reflectivist
reflectivist
30 October 2019
It's getting bad reviews because the 'improvements' between 6 and 7 is they basically decided to trap endusers into their corporate-for-profit gravy train and sap them of money on a continual basis rather than give them a product they could own and not be on the hook forever for. That's the only real innovation there, to trap people into giving them more money all the time.
Like (4)
Version 7.3.2
brian_ag
brian_ag
13 November 2019
Thanks so much for your kind words, Tim27! I'm glad to hear that you're enjoying 1Password! If you have any questions or feedback, please feel free to let me know!
Like
Version 7.4
Jokyo
22 October 2019
I have also been using 1Password since it started. They were very generous in those days offering free licenses to give to friends. I even suggested feature that would improve it, they were implemented. It grew into a very worthy software. Then the developer got greedy. I am stuck using version 6 as I hate the subscription model. If it stops working I will move to Enpass. The thing is, 1Password is US3~5 per month and it is a one trick pony. It saves passwords. Microsoft Office is a million trick pony and only charges US 7. I just don't get it. I guess the developers are just getting fat and love taking money from people.
Like (4)
Version 7.3.2
1 answer(s)
brian_ag
brian_ag
13 November 2019
Hi Jokyo! First off, thanks for sharing your feedback with us—we really appreciate it! We do believe that our subscription product is the best way to use 1Password, as it includes automatic syncing and backups, access to the latest versions of all of the 1Password apps, and exclusive features like Travel Mode: https://support.1password.com/explore/membership/ But if you'd prefer to use a license, no problem. Thanks to feedback from users like you, we still sell licenses for 1Password 7 for those that would rather use the app this way.
Like
Version 7.4
11Kerben
22 October 2019
A long time ago it was good, but now without family license and this rubbish subscription model like adobe, look for other programs.
Like (7)
Version 7.3.2
1 answer(s)
reflectivist
reflectivist
30 October 2019
I can't stand it. Just make it like 1PASSWORD6, make it work in the browsers and leave us alone, and if we want to upgrade because they offer something worth it in the future we can decide based on the quality, not entrapment. APPLE: PLEASE HELP US BY OBVIATING THE NEED FOR 1PASSWORD!
Like (2)
Version 7.3.2
pe-macupdate
21 October 2019
This used to be a really good tool. There were two major problems for me: The subscription model they introduced a while ago, and (worse) the fact that they don't want to support local synchronisation. There's still WLAN sync between Mac and iDevice, but that's it - if you want to do more, you need to use some cloud service. I prefer WebDAV, and - opposed to what they stated in their support forum - it works flawlessly. Just not with 1Password, but with a competitor of theirs. So while I wish them well for their future developments, I will no longer be part of it because in my opinion passwords on a server you don't control are a really, really bad idea, however well they might be encrypted.
Like (5)
Version 7.3.2
Gainestown
20 October 2019
Used to be a great app, shame that one has to sign up for a subscription model since 7. xx got introduced.
Like (7)
Version 7.3.2
hillwallaby
18 October 2019
Zero star rating. Subscriptions suck. Full stop.
Like (6)
Version 7.3.2
1 answer(s)
reflectivist
reflectivist
30 October 2019
And somehow I wound up with 1PASSWORD7, can't log in with my 1PASSWORD6 password of many years and don't know why... if it's my fault, theirs, if they changed the password requirements, so I'm locked out and hosed. Waste of time and money, and you read the support page, and basically the bottom line is: out of luck, sucker!
Like (1)
Version 7.3.2
mgoings
18 October 2019
This really sucks! I have been happily using 1Password since v1 and have been enthusiastically recommending it to all my friends and family. Now this! All of these years of loyalty and now they want me to fork over more money This is nothing short of extortion, plain and simple because they know how much work it will be to start over with a different app. 1Password's new business model leaves all of us long-time users out in the cold. At the very least they should acknowledge us by giving us a break on the subscription... No stars! Don't Buy This App!
Like (5)
Version 7.3.2
Frodo-life
14 October 2019
using 1Password since version one but now switched to Enpass as I don't like the subscription model, there is also no family licence anymore and 1PW6 stopped now working on Safari without an update in regards to the browser plug in.
Like (5)
Version 7.3.2
1 answer(s)
Tim27
Tim27
20 October 2019
There is a family license. Go to the Pricing page, then click on the Personal & Family tab. The page seems to default to the Team & Business tab.
Like
Version 7.3.2
Michael-Vilain
09 October 2019
I'm really pissed that the company decided to pivot and switch to a cloud based subscription model. I work behind a secure firewalled environment which means I can't use their product any more. I strenuously object to become an income stream. I kept V6 because it still used local files and won't touch V7. Ever. But V6 on Safari is now unsupported. I can't use their mini app in the menu to retrieve passwords because it says "Add Safari Extension" which is only supported in V7. I echo the other comments here about their switch to the subscription model. When V6 stops working, I'll dump this product. I'm not to the point of buying a Voodoo doll of Dave and a bunch of pins. But I'm close.
Like (7)
Version 7.3.2
4 answer(s)
macindigo
macindigo
11 October 2019
The 1Password 6 browser extension can be installed under Mojave. Download the extension from https://app-updates.agilebits.com/product_history/OPX4#v4070490 and then go here for instructions on installing it under Mojave: https://georgegarside.com/blog/macos/install-any-safari-extension-macos-mojave/
Like (1)
Version 7.3.2
Ulyssesric
Ulyssesric
14 October 2019
@macindigo: You've totally got it wrong. It's not the problem of Catalina or Mojave but Safari 13; since v13 Safari no longer supports all old .safariextz format extensions. Safari 13 is an automatic update item even in Mojave. So even you stay in Mojave, you'll still have no access to 1P6 extensions, unless you want to put yourself in risk of cyber attacks and disable all the auto system updates.
Like (1)
Version 7.3.2
macindigo
macindigo
15 October 2019
@Ulyssesric: The way that Safari extensions work has not changed. What has changed is the way that Safari extensions are distributed and installed. 1Password extensions for browsers other than Safari are not affected by this. Most advanced users do not have auto system updates enabled for anything. That is where the greatest risk of increased cyber attacks exists; in the unproven code of new "features" that are installed automatically. If you're using Safari 13 then you can no longer use this method because Apple has removed Extension Builder from Safari's Develop menu. The Develop menu is meant for technically proficient users.
Like (1)
Version 7.3.2
Ulyssesric
Ulyssesric
14 November 2019
@macindigo The old .safariextz format is deprecated in Safari 12 and completely obsoleted in Safari 13.0.0. Developers needs to change the way they **DEPLOY** their extensions and now it must be registered as standalone app. Apple had warned this since WWDC 2018 and they were warning users since Mojave. AgileBits can choose to prolong the lifespan of 1Password 6 and you don't need a full techno-team and 6 months to do this. In fact they are obliged to do so because V7 was just newly released at that time and a lot of users were still PAYING for 1Password 6. They simply ignored the promised customer support and choose to embrace their rascal ransom business model, dumping their customers into darkness. That's the whole point.
Like
Version 7.4
Tomjwright
09 October 2019
The latest version of this app (7.3.2) does not fully work with Catalina and the latest version of Safari (13.0.2). The icon for the 1Password extension appears in the toolbar of Safari, but clicking on the icon has no effect at all. Therefore, it is impossible to AutoFill logins (except by using copy and paste). When the problem is reported to AgileBits, they send a computer-generated email stating that the problem can be solved by upgrading 1Password from version 6 to version 7. Obviously, they do not even read the details of the problem report. This was once a well supported app, but the developer is now interested only in increasing income, not providing a quality product.
Like (1)
Version 7.3.2
1 answer(s)
Tomjwright
Tomjwright
10 October 2019
I am the original poster, reporting that, as of 10/10/19, the problem of using 1PW v.7.3.2 with Catalina and Safari 13.0.2. seems to have been solved. I have not heard from AgileBits, but 1PW now works in Safari.
Like
Version 7.3.2
marcklein
06 October 2019
I’ve read many of the comments here and have more questions than comments. I’ve used 1Password since the day Steve Jobs recommended it. I bought a license back then. I just upgraded my wife’s MacBook to Mojave and realize that I need to upgrade 1Password to version 7x. I don’t object to paying Agile for all their work in producing what has been an excellent program, but I’m unsure if I should buy a license or a subscription (is that the same as a membership?). Our needs are simple. We now have the same version 6x on my MacBook and my wife’s MacBook (plus iPhones and iPads) and we use two vaults — one for her logins and one for mine. I have access to her vault and she has access to mine so we can make changes to any logins we both use. Will a license allow us to do that with two vaults? If so, how long does the license last when new versions of 1Password are introduced? Based on everything I’ve read here I am very confused about licenses, memberships, subscriptions, etc.
Like (1)
Version 7.3.2
2 answer(s)
ShotBlocker
ShotBlocker
11 October 2019
Dear Marcklein, I'm a v7 user (more on that in a future review) and will try to answer as best I can. I am a new subscriber/Member ('Membership' and 'subscription' are virtually synonymous as far as I can tell; and I had to upgrade from v6.8.9 because my wife lost 1Password on Safari when v13 came out). What you appear to want to do is what I do with my wife in our "family subscription": I have a "Private" vault that syncs with the 1Password cloud. It has all my logins etc. So does my wife with her stuff in her 'Private' vault.. But we can share a vault: items in the Shared Vault are visible to both of us and either of us can add to or modify the items it contains. But only I can see the items in my 'Private' vault, and the same goes for her and her 'Private' vault. Plus we both run 1Password on our iPhones. I can also add 3 other people so, for $4.99/month, this is a good deal. Now, 1Password offers "standalone licenses" if you jump through hoops and surrender your firstborn child. Is there a licensed equivalent to a "Family Subscription"? I simply don't know and rather doubt it. The Subscription has little or nothing to do with which version of 1Password you use. If you're a subsriber and they go from v7 to v8, you presumably just download v8 and keep on going. Strictly speaking, with a subscription the app -- including updates and upgrades -- is included in your membership/subscription. (In this limited sense, the client software on your Mac or iPhone are "free" -- free that is, when you pay for your subscription. If you have a license, you presumably have to pay an upgrade fee for a new license when a new version is released. Hope this helps. -SB
Like
Version 7.3.2
ShotBlocker
ShotBlocker
11 October 2019
P.S. Over the past several weeks, I see that MacUpdate has a "new look.' I suppose I'll get used to it -- it was a bit jarring at first -- but leaving reviews and comments on the primitive line editor is a miserable experience. You can't format -- no paragraphs allowed. Just a wall of text mode.
Like (1)
Version 7.3.2
MarcelT
04 October 2019
I have liked the 1Password from the very beginning but refuse(d) to go for their subscription plan. Bad idea for this type of software. I now use Enpass across all devices and I am pretty happy with it. Decent alternative, almost free and easy to import data from 1Password. Petty, I liked it...
Like (4)
Version 7.3.2
1 answer(s)
JohnnyFave
JohnnyFave
04 October 2019
I deep-sixed 1Password with their gun-to-head ridiculous price gouging subscription service (especially for Canadians). One only has to read all the negative reviews on the Mac App Store to confirm they truly missed the mark and self-sabotaged their loyal customer base. Enpass does the job and they’re enjoying the rapid growth due to the exodus of ex-1Password customers.
Like (3)
Version 7.3.2
r-owen
27 September 2019
1Password 7 works fine for me and the update was painless except for an initial period when I thought I was in evaluation mode but Safari auto-fill didn't work at all. Turns out it had gotten into a read only mode, instead. Once I bought the licenses everything was fine. Wifi sync and folder sync both work fine and I'm very glad to have those features as I don't want to keep my password vault in the cloud. I wish they charged less for subscriptions. I am happy to support developers, but feel $5/month is far too much for a family license, especially as I am not using their cloud service. I chose to buy 2 standalone licenses instead.
Like (1)
Version 7.3.2
D9
24 September 2019
"Forcing you to upgrade"? Not close...all your choice! I get people are mad about the subscription, I'm no fan, but welcome to business. How do you think a company the size of Agile can continue to develop, expand, and support 1Password with a single purchase you made in 2014? Pick your poison...Great software obsolete in 2 years vs subscription supported development. It's everywhere...Office, Adobe Creative, iOS apps...pay or stay in 2014. Otherwise, this is an excellent software solution for password security and sensitive information storage that's tightly integrated into macOS, iOS, and now iPadOS.
Like (2)
Version 7.3.2
2 answer(s)
Ulyssesric
Ulyssesric
25 September 2019
You've no idea what you're talking about. Yeah AgileBITE bestows you with two options: pay for the ransom, or leave you homestead you built in the past decade. If you don't pay, your data will be read-only and no new record can be added. If you don't upgrade, you won't have access to your data in Safari 13. Easy choice, right ? For the past 11 years AgileBITE kept upgrading 1Password every 20 to 30 months and their upgrades were not free. We used to have the freedom of choice but not this time; because Safari had been migrating to new extension API since 2018 and AgileBITE just dumped all supports for their old version since and their message is crystal clear: you either upgrade to 1Password 7 or you lost all the web extension in Safari. If AgileBITE still took their old business model of outright purchase I won't complain a word, but forcing you to upgrade on the excuse of new Safari API while moving to subscription mode at the same time are 100% kidnapping for ransom.
Like (4)
Version 7.3.2
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
25 September 2019
Passive much D9? Roll over and get bizz-abused. Bad idea. This makes you an abuse enabler. - - Add to that your misrepresentation of the core abuse issues. No one here whined about paying for a new version past 2014, did they. You can't be bothered to even read our comments.
Like (1)
Version 7.3.2
forthenext60seconds
24 September 2019
F*** 1Password. Subscription models are BS, and so is AB and 1P now. I will be going with another solution after realizing you only have a subscription based model. The software stinks, much like where you can stick it!!! So many other options, why would you think people would waste their time with money grubbing losers who don't want to release a product, but instead want to gouge the users! So long 1P! See ya in the funny papers, which I will login to with my new password solution!
Like (3)
Version 7.3.2
Hanstyo
22 September 2019
Luckily I just finally dumped 1Password before upgrading to Safari 13. After over 10 years, as one of the early enthusiastic users, I finally had enough. Since 1Password mini appeared (a long time ago) each uprade presented problems and caused much lost time. Always the same buggy upgrades for more money. The workarounds on their website are repetitive and never worked. And for less effort more greed. No thanks, I'm moving on and got rid off 1PW in all my office. There is much better stuff around - I chose Dashlane, and I couldn't be happier.
Like (4)
Version 7.3.2
1 answer(s)
Ulyssesric
Ulyssesric
25 September 2019
While AbileBITE pissed me off and I gave them the finger, I've to speak for them on this matter. 1Password mini is the only way for a browser extension to access external resources. Before Safari 12 the browser extensions used to be a piece of 3rd party code injected into the browser code base, much like the old NSAPI plugin but the runtime environment are sandboxed. In the beginning there isn't much restrictions to these extensions but soon the security crisis emerges. Rogue or malicious browser extensions can easily hijack your browser and peeping your private data, and this situation is getting more severe since 2017. We had at least 8 serious malicious extension breakout incidents on Chrome and FireFox ecosystem in 2019 alone. So since Safari 10 Apple had straighten the restrictions of extension runtime sandbox and they can no longer access to external resources anymore. The only way left is inter-process communication using WebSocket. So a resident helper application is necessary. Basically not just 1Password but all extensions that need to access local files all had similar approaches, though some are just made their whole main application a dock-less app with only menubar items, such as Enpass.
Like
Version 7.3.2
Derekcurrie
21 September 2019
I got caught by Safari 13, aka Apple's ongoing blundering that results in dead beloved extensions, including 1Password. So, I'm supposed to fall into the pit of 1Password's disturbing and pointless subscription model in order to obtain the Safari 1 compatible extension? Not Gonna Do It! SOLUTION: I reinstalled macOS 10.14.6 using the combo installer I keep handy. That was the only way to kill off Safari 13 and to get back fave extension functionality, including 1Password's extension. UNLESS 1Password stops forcing their expensive and pointless subscription model, they are Dead-To-Me. IASSOTS. I'm researching alternatives already.
Like (1)
Version 7.3.2
1 answer(s)
Fariborz
Fariborz
23 September 2019
It came as a shock to me as well although I was expecting it for a long time. Well, life goes on the same with or without 1Password.
Like (2)
Version 7.3.2
Vagabundo
21 September 2019
I just updated to Safari 13.0. Now, like Rickzeman mentions below, the 1Password extension has been disabled. In order to bring back that functionality, AgileBits is now forcing you into 1P 7. But you know what Dave, you are not getting my money this way. What a piece of trash you have made of your company.
Like (2)
Version 7.3.2