Back to Webnote page
Webnote free download for Mac

Webnote Reviews

2.0.0b44
26 September 2012

Powerful yet easy bookmarking (beta).

Bob-T
17 March 2009

Most helpful

To update my post below about WebNoteHappy, Luis, author of WebNoteHappy, returned to his website in February and has already issued an update to his excellent Bookmark utility. He now calls it WebNote. Like the poster below, I use this program frequently, and, am glad he is back and working on a new update (beyond 1.3.3). Bob T
Like (4)
Version 1.3.3

Read 18 Webnote User Reviews

Rate this app:

bumper314
30 December 2014
I wish the preview was a reasonable size and supported QuickLook.
Like
Version 2.0.0b44
Xenophile
11 July 2014
Too bad this abandoned, because it looks to be exactly what I need.
Like
Version 2.0.0b44
6 answer(s)
Jim-Kessler
Jim-Kessler
14 July 2014
It's not abandoned. I use it every day with OS X 10.9.4 and it works fine. The download links work, too. 26,000 bookmarks (with many tags) and counting. I should note that syncing with Delicious hasn't been important to me, so I can't vouch for that part of it..
Like (1)
Xenophile
Xenophile
14 July 2014
Thanks, I'll give it a try.
Like
Xenophile
Xenophile
14 July 2014
Gave it a try: imported 7227 Safari bookmarks no problem, right into a flat list of bookmarks! It doesn't preserve the folder hierarchy, lol. Like I'm going to tag over 7000 unorganized bookmarks. FAIL. I swear every bookmark manager I've tried is made for people with less than 100 bookmarks.
Like
Jim-Kessler
Jim-Kessler
14 July 2014
Xenophile - I think you're looking for something in WebNote's windows that aren't there. You won't find folders - or nested folders - as in a browser's bookmarks manager. However, you will find tags imported from th browser that correspond to the folders (and nested folders). For example let's say that, in Safari, I have a bookmark for MacUpdate inside a folder called Updates, and Updates is also in a folder called Mac. If, in WebNote, I select File > Import from Safari. I'll then find an entry in WebNote for MacUpdate. At the bottom of the WebNote window, I'll see two tags - one for Mac, and another for Updates. I understand that your 7227 bookmarks don't appear the way you're used to in Safari (or another internet browser). But they do have organization to them by virtual of the tags that are assigned.
Like
Jim-Kessler
Jim-Kessler
14 July 2014
Sorry for the preceding typos: th: the virtual: virtue
Like
Xenophile
Xenophile
25 July 2014
@Kessler: yes, I know all about tags. I access my Safari bookmarks via hierarchical menus from the bookmarks bar, similar to 99% of all Safari users. Tags are fine as a secondary tool for finding bookmarks in a different way, but they are not a convenient primary tool to access when using Safari.

The auto-tagging adds tags dependent on the folder structure, which is a nice touch but hardly adequate for migrating entirely to tag-based management. Again, I'm not going to sit at my computer to tag my 7000+ bookmarks - not even if Webnote pays ME $25.
Like
Chris-Walken
10 February 2010
Update please? I wasn't able to import all of my bookmarks into the beta, and the last release is buggy in Snow Leopard.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.0b44
3 answer(s)
sjk
sjk
09 April 2011
Now over a year without any updates or news from the developer.
Like
Chris-Walken
Chris-Walken
09 April 2011
Gave up on it a while ago. I'm using the Firefox delicious add-on, it works well as long as Yahoo doesn't completely ruin delicious.
Like
sjk
sjk
10 April 2011
I might give it up, too. Haven't used it much on Snow Leopard anyway, though don't recall noticing any bugs when I did.
Like
Kaz219
24 October 2009
disk image failed to mount: "codec overrun"
Like
Version 2.0.0b43
2 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
24 October 2009
Just now downloaded the .dmg at my location on the Pacific coast of Mexico and the image mounted with no issue on a MBP C2D/Safari Version 4.0.3 (5531.9), OS X 10.5.8. Try clearing your browser cache and/or redownload or try another browser.
Like
Version 2.0.0b43
Kaz219
Kaz219
24 October 2009
strange, the problem is only with firefox (3.5.3)... Thanks for the tipp!
Like (1)
Version 2.0.0b43
Bob-T
17 March 2009
To update my post below about WebNoteHappy, Luis, author of WebNoteHappy, returned to his website in February and has already issued an update to his excellent Bookmark utility. He now calls it WebNote. Like the poster below, I use this program frequently, and, am glad he is back and working on a new update (beyond 1.3.3). Bob T
Like (4)
Version 1.3.3
Jim-Kessler
16 March 2009
I've used this product for over two years, and it's open on my computer about 98% of the time. One click on the bookmarklet in Safari or Firefox's bookmarks bar sends the URL and the page title to your WebnoteHappy file as a webnote, and you can instantly assign searchable keywords to the note. Press another keystroke, and the bookmark is sent to your delicious account. Double-clicking a webnote opens it in your default browser. I only wish I could easily copy _both_ the URL and web page title from the WNH webnote to, for example, a Mail window. (Only the URL copies with drag and drop.) In addition, copying (or dragging) more than one webnote and web page title at a time would be great, too. Control-clicking on a webnote to choose the browser would make this application perfect. (I've not asked the developer for these features - yet. The family license (for only 20% more than the single-copy license) makes it an even better buy.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.3
Bob-T
10 December 2008
I have used WebnoteHappy for about a year. Luis, the author of this program was very responsive until the last few months. His last post on his Blog at his website was in July, 2008. I was able to contact him in September for support. In November, he did not answer an Email. Does anyone know what has happened to Luis? His program is very useful to me. I hope he has not gone on to better things?
Like
Version 1.3.2
1 answer(s)
Happyapps
Happyapps
19 February 2009
Bob, Sorry if I missed an email. Could you please re-send? In addition, a beta is available upon request. Send an email to feedback@happyapps.com to try it out. Please stay tuned for a new version. Sorry this one has taken a while to be released. Thanks, Luis Happy Apps
Like (2)
Version 1.3.2
Taipan2008
25 November 2008
Great software. now I can easily recall my favourites (I have more than 2500) and find what I am looking for. Recommended
Like
Version 1.3.2
Joi
21 April 2008
Woops!!! It Integrated with del.icio.us my bad.. disregard my previous comment
Like
Version 1.3.2
Joi
21 April 2008
Why not just use del.icio.us? It's free and maintains all your bookmarks online. http://del.icio.us/
Like
Version 1.3.2
Rcn
30 December 2007
Doesn't seem to yet support Firefox 3. Freezes when trying to import from it.
Like
Version 1.3.1
Chris-Walken
03 December 2007
I'm not that familiar with its competitors - I wasn't impressed with URL Manager Pro on first glance. This app is pretty sweet though. I was using delicious, but I don't need to share bookmarks, so hopefully this will be a replacement. Importantly, you could always export back to delicious in case the developer abandons the app (which is perhaps why I'm a bit hesitant to fork over $25, you never know) There are ways it could be improved - tag cloud or something similar to browse tags, and ability to edit multiple entries are at the top of my list. But some nicely executed features are the search filters, hot key for easy entry, and smart folders.
Like
Version 1.3.1
1 answer(s)
Devon-Strang
Devon-Strang
08 December 2009
Ability to edit (i.e. tag) multiple bookmarks at once would be pretty useful.
Like
Version 2.0.0b43
Luhmann
02 December 2007
A year later and this software still gives a spinning wheel when adding a new bookmark...
Like
Version 1.3.1
Luhmann
03 August 2006
This is a nice program. I liked it so much I bought a family license. There really isn't anything you can do here that you can't do online with del.icio.us for free - especially if you have the del.icio.us plugin for Firefox as I do. However, it is still worth buying to have this information stored locally. Unless you have a really fast connection having a local cache of your del.icio.us data makes using it MUCH faster. Now that there is Firefox integration I bought it. Some issues/suggestions: 1. Too expensive. Should be about 30% less. 2. While it takes up almost no processor power most of the time, when it is communicating with the web it becomes unresponsive. There shouldn't be any spinning wheels on an iBook G4 just because something is downloading. 3. It doesn't handle duplicates. When I use the firefox del.icio.us plugin it pulls existing data so I can simply add new tags or notes to an existing tag. Webnote Happy creates duplicates. This needs to be fixed. 4. The Firefox del.icio.us plugin has some other advantages over webnote happy: (a) it lists my "network", (b) it suggests tags based on how other users have tagged an item, and (c) if I've already selected text in Firefox that is pulled into the note field automatically. So I get less functionality for a lot more money, but I still paid for it because it is faster than using the Firefox plugin... and I want to support this product in the hopes that it will continue to improve.
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Luhmann
Luhmann
03 August 2006
The duplication error seems to have gone away. I'd also like to report that the developer was very quick to reply to my comments and is working to address some of these issues.
Like
Version 1.2
sjk
26 May 2006
I've been using WH Lite and just installed WH 1.0.1 to evaluate. All webnotes from WHL imported fine but I quickly noticed that the Tag Browser doesn't update properly when adding/deleting tags. Same symptoms with a clean install on another system. Not sure if this is new problem with 1.0.1 since I'd never used 1.0.
Like
Version 1.0.1
1 answer(s)
Happyapps
Happyapps
31 May 2006
I'm working with SJK now to diagnose and resolve this. Please send future support issues to feedback@happyapps.com for the fastest response. Thanks, - Luis
Like
Version 1.0.1
Henry-Yeh
20 May 2006
WebnoteHappy is the best bookmark manager that I have found on Mac OS X. It's very similar to the Windows program Powermarks. It's also much more stable, and has a better UI than the competing SiteTagger application. WebnoteHappy allows someone with thousands of bookmarks, like myself, to organize and tag bookmarks much like del.icio.us, but with the added power of Smart Folders.
Like
Version 1.0
dkm
20 May 2006
WebnoteHappy is THE bookmark manager, it has the flexibility of tags in a simple yet smart interface, its intergration with del.icio.us is just delicious! The software is just great, its like having del.icio.us offline with more features!
Like
Version 1.0
Fredb7
18 May 2006
Finally a decent bookmark manager, with tags, excellent search, smart folders and a nice UI. + the developer is very friendly and responsive. Bookmarks are quite important in my workflow. Being able to tag them, search them efficiently, put them on delicious to be able to get them from everywhere, etc. with a nice UI is quite important for me. I already had thousands of bookmarks and had an hard time organizing them. And now, with rss, delicious etc. the number is increasing rapidly. Thanks to WNH I can handle them!
Like
Version 1.0