Back to Call Recorder for Skype page
Call Recorder for Skype free download for Mac

Call Recorder for Skype Reviews

3.0.4
06 November 2019

Record Skype audio and video calls.

Derision
12 October 2017

Most helpful

Call Recorder for Skype is one of the utilities I use the most, at least once or twice a month. Call Recorder makes recording things like podcasts simple: I can record three or four people at once, each with their own 720p video streams, and then edit them however I'd like later. You can also record just the audio. There are tons of options for quality and frame rate so even with a slower Mac, you can get a good quality recording. Sound quality is as good as you can get from Skype (local audio always sounds better than the audio you're receiving, assuming you have a good mic, I presume because of Skype's compression). While $30 might be a bit much for someone who would only use this occasionally, for me it has payed for itself multiple times over. I also have to give it to Ecamm for support. I purchased this all the way back in 2013, and have never had to pay for an update. Rarely have I had an issue that caused it not to work, or caused Skype to crash, and the Ecamm team is always quick with updates and fixes. TL;DR: If you need to record Skype calls, and record them with excellent quality and options, you won't find a better or more flexible suite of software tools to do so than this.
Like (2)
Version 2.6.4

Read 15 Call Recorder for Skype User Reviews

Rate this app:

cinam
06 November 2019
Лучшее приложения для записи разговоров и видео в Скайпе. Разработчики отзывчивые и быстро реагируют на возникающие проблемы. Удачи в дальнейшей разработке!
Like
Version 3.0.4
Derision
12 October 2017
Call Recorder for Skype is one of the utilities I use the most, at least once or twice a month. Call Recorder makes recording things like podcasts simple: I can record three or four people at once, each with their own 720p video streams, and then edit them however I'd like later. You can also record just the audio. There are tons of options for quality and frame rate so even with a slower Mac, you can get a good quality recording. Sound quality is as good as you can get from Skype (local audio always sounds better than the audio you're receiving, assuming you have a good mic, I presume because of Skype's compression). While $30 might be a bit much for someone who would only use this occasionally, for me it has payed for itself multiple times over. I also have to give it to Ecamm for support. I purchased this all the way back in 2013, and have never had to pay for an update. Rarely have I had an issue that caused it not to work, or caused Skype to crash, and the Ecamm team is always quick with updates and fixes. TL;DR: If you need to record Skype calls, and record them with excellent quality and options, you won't find a better or more flexible suite of software tools to do so than this.
Like (2)
Version 2.6.4
bell-juliet
20 December 2016
For recording your web or video conferencing calls, you may use tools like on premise R-HUB web video conferencing servers. It records both screen and voice.
Like
Version 2.6.1
bowlerboy-jmb
03 June 2015
Other than price, why would anyone want to get a screen capturing device that can only record the audio and video from one application? Other applications, like ScreenFlow and SnapZ Pro might cost a bit more, but their power to record audio and video from ANY application that appears on your screen makes them a far superior choice that a one-trick pony like this, despite its cheaper price. Like always, you get what you pay for. Even Voila can do the job, but I don't recommend it because I don't like the idea of their creating one single database to contain all content. I like my captures to be separate files. Putting all your content in one ever-growing file is a design flaw, in my humble opinion. Too risky; too hard to back up to DVD when it gets too big.
Like
Version 2.5.16
1 answer(s)
Mysticalos
Mysticalos
22 July 2015
I own screen flow, but i still prefer this for skype calls because it's just much better.

It'll strip my image or audio out of calls if i want
It auto discards short calls. It auto records long calls i care about
No thinking or doing, it just works.
Like
ylluminate
30 October 2014
What a fantastic and indispensable utility. On this last Skype update we obviously are faced with a perpetual crash. The trick to fix it is to update Call Recorder, but to do so you need to use the following URL to manually download it from the link that was original sent to you upon purchase. It should be a URL similar to: http://www.ecamm.com/cgi-bin/custcent?KTTXXX_username_domain_tld I suspect that the KTTXXX (XXX being three numerals) changes from user to user and then the other part is just your email address that you used to make the purchase.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.12
1 answer(s)
Mysticalos
Mysticalos
31 October 2014
If only they weren't running on a dial up connection and timing out all requests :\
Like
tjekov37
22 June 2014
Who used Skype. ?!!!!!! WE have Viber :-) " Piezo" App recorded all sound in mp3 from any other app not from Skype only !!!! This prise -$29.95 is BRUTAL !!!!
Like
Version 2.5.9
1 answer(s)
SinRio@terra
SinRio@terra
17 July 2014
Viber now only work on computers and phones with soft installation. It don't work like independen mechanism like Skype desktop phone and conference devices. Piezo - only record audio from all app, but not video... :) So... Prise - NORMAL !!!
Like (1)
Turquoise
16 October 2013
It records in many formats and works great! What else is there to say?
Like
Version 2.5
1 answer(s)
Turquoise
Turquoise
16 October 2013
That being said, I would love to see an additional button on the Recording Control Panel to quickly switch between basically two default settings specified in the preferences, one for audio and one for video, with a very noticable icon for each to prevent mistakes. I often call landline phones abroad and it's a pain to have to constantly go to the preferences to change the settings, only to forget and end up next time recording audio only a video conversation with a friend.
Like (3)
ylluminate
24 October 2012
Is version 6 supported?
Like
Version 2.3.25
1 answer(s)
Nomad11
Nomad11
04 July 2013
yes, works perfectly
Like (1)
Jazzyguy
19 October 2012
Excellent App.
Like (2)
Version 2.3.25
sjk
24 October 2011
Modification History: 10/24/11 - v2.3.17: Adds compatibility with Skype 5.4 Beta. Other fixes and enhancements.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.17
M-Rick
23 December 2009
Makes heavy usage of CPU when using Skype if installed, even if recording is off.
Like (3)
Version 2.3.8
Dana-Sutton
23 September 2009
I hope this thing issues periodic beeps when recording Skype calls. Isn't it against the law to record phone calls without informing the other person that you're doing it?
Like (1)
Version 2.3.8
1 answer(s)
Penguirl
Penguirl
06 March 2010
The legality of recording calls varies from state to state. Here in CO, only one person has to consent to the call being recorded, it's assumed that the person recording the call consents.
Like (7)
Version 2.3.8
Edmund-Jacobsen
16 November 2006
I love this little app. It has made my work as a journalist much easier, as I conduct many phonecalls with Skype. Now it has become a no-brainer to record calls from Skype. One of the best pieces of software I've ever bought.
Like (5)
Version 1.0.5
Roberts2424
04 October 2006
Gizmo Project, VOIP software...downloadable from Macupdate...has a built-in record function. Quality is better than Skype in personal testing.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.5
Nicecaman
17 May 2006
Good idé. Handy. Caution to the users though: Recording a conversation can be illegal, so check before using it, if you are unsure.
Like
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
Xboxdruggie
Xboxdruggie
15 August 2006
How can recording a conversation that I personally am partaking in be illegal? Where would I locate more info on this task?
Like
Version 1.0.4
bowlerboy-jmb
bowlerboy-jmb
20 April 2012
Recording someone else without their permission can be considered an invasion of privacy, hence, some states, but not all, have sided with those who feel invaded in passing their anti-recording laws. The states which do allow recording without legal ramifications when only one party of the conversation agrees to be recorded are appropriately called "one-party" states. The recorder does not even have to notify the other party that she is being recorded, although businesses will routinely do so out of courtesy and to cover their ass, just in case some ignorant trouble-maker gets offended and uppity. A Google search of telephone recording laws will reveal all. It's not that hard to locate more info. Setting up a phone recording system is also not that difficult. It can be done with a simple tape recorder connected to your handset with a Radio Shack converter on the hardware side, associated with good Mac recording software. Programs like Sound Studio, Audio Hijack, maybe Audacity, and any number of inexpensive, one-trick ponies designed to capture "any" sound that comes into your Mac is all your need. You could even go higher end and use a dongle to capture the sound and process it well-designed logs. Maybe even this software could do a good job. That you have to find out. You do not really need to depend on Skype to capture the audio, although it's always nice to have several options to choose from.
Like (1)