Back to Stellar Data Recovery page
Stellar Data Recovery free download for Mac

Stellar Data Recovery Reviews

9.0.0.5
04 November 2019

Recover data from damaged, deleted, or corrupted volumes.

marionclukey
30 May 2018

Most helpful

I upgraded to High Sierra sometime back, but had to downgrade to Sierra. Eventually, I ended up with loosing the data after downgrading Mac. I came across Stellar Mac Data Recovery software and it recovered the lost files. It did with ease.
Like (1)
Version 8.0.0.2

Read 39 Stellar Data Recovery User Reviews

Rate this app:

marionclukey
30 May 2018
I upgraded to High Sierra sometime back, but had to downgrade to Sierra. Eventually, I ended up with loosing the data after downgrading Mac. I came across Stellar Mac Data Recovery software and it recovered the lost files. It did with ease.
Like (1)
Version 8.0.0.2
kristysmith016
17 January 2018
The recent version of Stellar Phoenix Mac Data Recovery is impressive. I purchased this software to recover data from my hard drive (which I formatted by mistake). The demo version showed all my files which I wanted badly. It took time while scanning the drive but satisfied with the results as the software completed the task of recovering files.​​
Like
Version 8.0
williamfletcherme
24 April 2017
Its very useful and I like it.
Like
Version 7.0
john-lewis504
03 February 2016
Stellar Phoenix recovered latest backup from my troubled 1TB Toshiba Time Machine hard drive. Perhaps this is the only software that recovers files from the Time Machine drive systematically. Are there others tool that can recover Time Machine?
Like
Version 7.0
randall-hedges
17 June 2015
Not only did this software not work but the support team at Stellar wanted to argue with me about it and refused to refund me. Do not download this software. Data Rescue 4 worked for me
Like (1)
Version 7.0
hawkinsa566
11 March 2015
A comparison site recommended a different product, which I bought. It crashed twice, after 4 hours each time. Stellar Phoenix Mac Data Recovery ran perfectly, recovering 149GB of missing data.
Like (1)
Version 6.0
carteredward84
10 February 2015
Of the data recovery programs I tried, Stellar Phoenix Mac Data Recovery was the only one that actually showed the original file name in the preview window. That's important.
Like (1)
Version 6.0
1 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
16 June 2015
Disk Drill is good at that too.
Two weeks ago I had an external HD that was unrecognized when I plugged it in and no utility would repair it to a functioning state.

DD recovered all the data, over 150 GB, and every item had its correct name. And it's fast!
I started another recovery app and quit after about 20 minutes because it was barely making progress, plus the filenames were obliterated.
Like (1)
zeiglerjason4
10 February 2015
Your Data Recovery program worked like a charm on my Mac. It was worth every dollar!!!
Like (1)
Version 6.0
carteredward84
10 February 2015
Of the data recovery programs I tried, Stellar Phoenix Mac Data Recovery was the only one that actually showed the original file name in the preview window. That's important.
Like (1)
Version 6.0
Doomedplanet
27 January 2015
I have been long waiting for some software that can retrieve files from my couple of damned flash drives. These drives didn’t mount on my Mac. Though I downloaded Stellar Phoenix software I preferred to image my drives rather than launching straight forward scan. One by one both of them were Imaged, I got to say, time taken for imaging each drive was more than what I expected. Nonetheless, the scan begin to process and files got arranged in some hierarchy. This happened with my both flash drives and I successfully extracted files from it. Upon examining recovered files I found most of them in stable conditions, though few jpg and Adobe CS files couldn’t be launched. Overall, I am pretty happy with how things worked for me.
Like (1)
Version 6.0
hopmeontonio
26 December 2014
I tried Stellar Phoenix and Disk Drill to recover files on my Mac Mini hard drive. During the run, I found Stellar Phoenix as more robust and quick. It scanned 500 GB drive and recovered deleted video files. All of them are running good in QT player. Though, Stellar Phoenix is slightly ($10) costly than the Disk Drill home version. I am happy it worked for me.
Like (1)
Version 6.0
kadon-logan
30 September 2014
It helped me in recovering the lost Mac files and third party applications which was hard for me to recollect from my corrupted hard drive and saved me from a big trouble.
Like (1)
Version 6.0
Donald-Kepler
20 August 2014
Trying to resize Mac partition but unfortunately formatted my Mac HDD and lost my data. Got my data back upto 2 TB easily with this software.
Like (1)
Version 6.0
Donald-Allen
28 July 2014
Yesterday week, I was trying to create a new partition, but formatted my Mac drive volume accidentally and was seeking the solution for getting my important data back but all in vain. After lot more had work, I came to know about Stellar Phoenix Mac data Recovery software. Earlier I was worried about using this software first time but all done very well with in few clicks. I got my memorable pics and important files back again. Thanks
Like (1)
Version 6.0
Scott-r
22 December 2013
Absolutely awful. I'd originally run ProSoft's Data Rescue 3 to rescue a volume on which a few hundred thousand photos and videos had inexplicably simply disappeared; after (perhaps unrealistically) being disappointed at how disorganized the recovery was, I bought SP Mac Data Recovery under the misapprehension that it did a better job recovering original file names. That much was my mistake. The utility ran for literally a couple of MONTHS, 24/7, to recover data. And when it was done, the JPEG recovery was somewhat worse than DR 3 and with no better file name info, but the video recovery... not a single video was playable. NOT ONE. I re-ran Data Rescue 3, limiting it to video recovery; it ran for a much, much shorter period and it seems that at least 90% of the videos are in excellent shape, with another 5% or more at least mostly playable. I contacted Stellar Phoenix, but they were no help at all; it was like calling Three Stooges Tech Support Co.
Like (2)
Version 6.0
KeithF6520
17 December 2013
This software does not work as represented. The filter and search tabs do not work. When you demand a refund the company refuses. Save your time and money and use the Seagate recovery software that actually does work.
Like (1)
Version 6.0
ElCriptado
12 May 2013
Recupera bene, ma si comporta meglio con winzozz che con mac. E' un po' instabile. Una volta mi si è bloccata in mezzo, tuttavia è la migliore per mac che recupera in fat 32. Poi con HFS c'è una bella lotta con disk drill e data rescue. I risultati sono maggiori con stellar phoenix.
Like
Version 5.0.0.8
nanbsas7640
09 May 2013
So far the best to recover, in my case, from a formatted HFS+ (MAC) disk. Failed in big .psb files, not all of them, and some .psd. At least you have the original directories and names of the files, not as other apps that you just get a list of files with name sequences, and if you are recovering a 1TB disk formatted, having such list of files that have no names or original directories location is a mess!! Some bugs as if you continue working and left behind the program when you are recovering the files and bring on front, the process windows became blank and you do not know if still recovering but you still have the option to stop it by locating the pointer on the red button area but blank window will remain till you close the app, being on top. Another slow recovery process is that when the app finds that a file is unrecoverable then stops the copy and you have to start again from that point instead of create a folder within the directory containing those files. Sorry, not easy to explain but over all THE BEST!!!
Like
Version 5.0.0.8
Trondah
20 July 2012
The catalog btree on one of my HFS fileystems got wrecked, resulting in a unrecoverable situation by normal means. As I had very important files on that filesystem (a few years worth of photos) I desperately tried both DiskWarrior, Data Rescue and Techtool among a few. None of them could get me back my files. Enter Mac Data Recovery. Never heard about it, found some mentions after searching the fsck output on google. Saw the poor reviews on MU but decided to give it a go anyways. Boy am I happy I did! This program presented me with a list of the files with original filenames and let me restore them quickly! The deep recovery option was impressively fast. I never had to contact support, so I can't really comment on that. However, I think it's unfair to rate the program half a star when you didn't even try it like the guy below. Customer support isn't one of the criteria, it would be better to write as a comment, no?
Like
Version 5.0.0.6
rafdesign
21 March 2012
Read previous comment.
Like (1)
Version 5.0
1 answer(s)
rafdesign
rafdesign
12 June 2012
Hi everyone, a few weeks ago I've got the good news: Citibank was able to refund me 100% from Stellar Phoenix. It took me some papers to fill, some phone calls. A few hours in the end. But at least it proves me something: I was right and Stellar Phoenix had to return the money. I hope this will help others to consider using their "software". Please consider other alternatives, they are great companies out there who are responsible and honest.
Like (1)
rafdesign
13 March 2012
After reading the other reviews, I found myself in a similar situation... Last Wednesday one of my hard drive in my HP Mediasmart was refusing access to its content. I took the hard drive and put it in my macpro. I downloaded the demo 5.0 and run it overnight. The following morning when I woke up it says that it was able to find files. So I ordered the software. I received an email immediately after my online purchase...Except they sent me an email with a serial for the version 4.1. Which didn't work! I decided to call as their website says 24 hours from Monday to Friday. An answering message said that it was closed for holidays! At this point I wondered if the company was legit, or some scam company like Mackeeper. Afraid to lose all my precious family photos, I tried another software (NFTS -3G) which basically mounted the hard drive on my desktop, and immediately I could see all my files. The next Friday I received an apology email from the company with a new serial number. I looked online and found their 30-days policy. I thought I would be able to get a refund since I wasn't able to use their software and the correct serial. On Friday I was able to call a customer service which told me to simply email and ask for a RMA #. I have sent several emails and I had to wait 4 days for an answer. Their answer was telling me that they would easily refund me, but before that I will need to talk to their customer service. After another call, they said to email... which I explained I already did. I could see myself in a loop between emails and phone calls. I end up calling my bank to escalate this as a fraud. With the supervisor of the bank and me over the phone, we spoke for over 50 minutes... They basically won't listen and refuse and send me to a loop. They basically will not assume their 30-days policy. So now the claim is escalating within my bank. In short... their customer service is awful. They don't honor their 30-days return policy, and keep playing with email and phone calls. Here is a copy of their email: "I would like to inform you that refund is not an issue for us, our prime motive is to help you in any way.So I request you to kindly co-operate with us and take our technical support assistance. If they could not resolve your issue in that case I will refund the full amount. Software is not meant for only one time recovery, it carries a lifetime license which would certainly help you in future along with that we provide unlimited technical support to all our valued customers. Hoping for your kind co-operation. Thanks, Vinita Chauhan Stellar Information Systems Limited" In the end, I can't believe their practice. They failed to provide a service for such an emergency situation. I couldn't use their software and serial number. I didn't want to lose my honeymoon, wedding, son birth pictures. :( So yes I am spending over 25 minutes to write a negative review, because they manage to not only disappoint me but to upset me too. THis is not the way to do business, Stellar Phoenix. As for my future backups, I decided to buy a Synology NAS with Raid 5, and I will add an online backup as well, I learn my lesson.
Like (2)
Version 4.1
3 answer(s)
Stellarinfo
Stellarinfo
20 March 2012
As per the review you have posted, We checked our records and discovered that you faced the inconvenience as you received the key for version 4.1 instead of 5.0. When you have contacted us, we were not available due to a holiday which was clearly mentioned on our website and our voice communication. You have submitted a support ticket which was responded in 12 hours and a new key was provided to you. The new key successfully worked and the software got activated. You have submitted a refund request after this mentioning that you are unhappy with customer service. I would like to inform you that we definitely honor refund requests which are falling under our refund policy( Refund policy is available to all our customers on our website) However in your case , the product was successfully activated in our promised 24 business hours of response time. We request you to understand that the software comes with a lifetime license and with free lifetime support. In case you require any technical assistance our technical support team will be more than happy to assist you. Thanks SupportManager
Like
rafdesign
rafdesign
20 March 2012
Unfortunately your answer is omitting a few points. -I just notice that your 30-days policy online was changed with the last few days! That was quick. I saved a PDF on my computer of the old one. You are not honoring your refund policy like it was stated. -Your website didn't mention any holidays. I only learnt about it once the troubles started and I tried to call the 24 hours phone number. There was a message telling about the holidays. Your website mentions a US phone number as well as international numbers, it wasn't a holiday day in the US. I did knew that the US number was in India where the holidays was happening. -You are distorting the real story: I didn't use your software because I decide to use another software (NTSF-3G) to resolve my urgent query. All I needed was to mount a NTSF drive on my Mac and I was able to read my files. I think you are very dishonest, distorting the true and not ashamed to keep going. Your answer makes me look like all I wanted was to abuse your software and then immediately ask for a refund. I spend thousand of dollars for my business of design and animation. The reason I am answering to this is because I don't want other customers to fall for your company. The money is not the problem. But to have receive such poorly customer service and to be treated like this is unacceptable and upsetting. Maybe you'll learn maybe one day to deal with US customers: all you had to do was to refund after all the 45 minutes I tried to explain what really happened when I was on the phone with my bank refund department. I have escalated the situation with my bank and we'll see what happens.
Like (2)
Gregorgy
Gregorgy
20 March 2012
Hi rafdesign. Interesting that Mackeeper is suddenly advertised on this page and its own MU page is littered with false reviews. I see that you have had a terrible experience with SPMDR as have others below. While it is heartening to see Stellar respond here, these things do serve as a warning for others for whom $99 is a lot of money (we ain't all Americans). I have to wonder why anyone would buy anything without checking MU reviews first. Thank you for saving others the anguish though...
Like (1)
Rusto
27 January 2012
Tried a bunch of other apps along with this one (all in Demo mode) but this one got the most files off a FAT32 LaCie drive that failed, so I bought it. Had to be careful to navigate all the cryptically named folders in the results window to be sure I was recovering what I needed and not useless dreck. Pricey? Maybe a bit, but $99 to get 3 years worth of photos back without having to load dozens of DVD backups was worth it.
Like (1)
Version 4.1
8string
21 January 2012
I purchased this to recover some MXF files on a drive. I twice tried to scan the drive (a 2TB) drive, and it failed by crashing both times at about the 80% point. After the second crash, I contacted their support, which just gave me the run around. Finally after about three days, I bought their competitor, and it worked fine. Scanned the drive no problem. I asked Stellar for my money back, which they refused to do saying that 'only by finding a bug would they refund my money." Bottom line, this product does not work as advertised, their tech support is a joke, they will not refund money when the product does not work as advertised, and I would warn anyone away from buying this product. In short, these folks appear to be rip offs. Being in India I assume they are outside of any laws to recover funds in Europe or North America. Go try the competition.
Like
Version 4.1
Doc8
10 November 2011
Bought and used this software (vers 4.0) to recover a drive in 2009- worked fine- then they updated it to vers 4.1 this year and my former version (4.0) will NO LONGER accept my serial number! I don't need the upgrade so why is the older version no longer working??? So then I tried to upgrade- no response from the seller- in retrospect I wished I had gone with a different software package from the get go in 2009. (PS We need a new category called Tech Support so I could give them zero stars...)
Like (1)
Version 4.1
2 answer(s)
Stellarinfo
Stellarinfo
30 November 2011
Hi Doc8 Thanks for your post to aware us about your issue. We Apologize for the inconvenience you face while upgrading our software. Please note that the upgradation from Stellar Phoenix Mac v4.0 to v4.1 is absolutely FREE.I would like to request you if you can provide us your email-id or name similar as when you purchase our product by PM.I assure you that your issue will be resolved within no time. Stellar Support
Like (1)
Doc8
Doc8
02 December 2011
About 2 weeks after this comment I was contacted by tech support who worked with me to rectify this situation. I am not sure why my original password was invalid but they eventually provided me with a new password which successfully activated the newer version of this software and I am now able to successfully recover accidentally trashed files. Thanks for renewing my faith in your product!
Like (1)
Chonh
15 December 2010
$99 ??!!Is it worth so much money? There are so many similar software with the same functions,such as Nice to Recover Data for Mac ,which is more compact(2.5 M) and much cheaper($69.95 )! http://www.92recover.com
Like
Version 4.0
Evaluator
09 October 2010
WARNING!!! READ BEFORE YOU BUY!!! We paid an inflated fee of $99 for this software (of course the Windows version costs much less than the Mac version) to recover a single folder, that contained hundreds of enclosed folders and maybe 15,000 Microsoft files. The software recovered about 10,000 Microsoft files, along with tens of thousands of useless "other" files. The main problem is that this software puts a numerical label on each file, it cannot recover folders or enclosing folders, and the creation dates for each file is not recovered. We are left with 10,000 files that must be opened one at a time. If you trash a file, you must EACH TIME enter your system password when taking it to the trash can. With most files, when you close them, you are prompted to do a change save, regardless of what you do (or do not do) to the file. All of this takes valuable time. We have calculated that it will take many months to restore these files. Given that only 5% of these files have any real value to our business, we estimate the real cost per file saved to be about $1. This means the complete restoration of this file, assuming it is all there (who knows?) might be as high as $10,000. That is a lot of money to get back some deleted software. Also, do not be fooled by the 30 day money back guarantee. These bozos are not giving your money back no matter what you say. Once you pay for the license, your money is gone. Forget about a refund. Did we get some files restored? Yes, many. Can we now afford to go through each file to determine its value? No, we cannot. The restored files as basically useless. This application takes a pile of garbage and turns it into a sorted pile of garbage. If that is what you need, spend your $99. If you need an efficient application that gets you back on track, look elsewhere.
Like (1)
Version 4.0
2 answer(s)
Stellarinfo
Stellarinfo
13 October 2010
Hi DTHDUNN you try to recover your deleted files and gets a lot of useless files,this is due to the fact that either you have selected all file signatures while as you should select only the desired file signature.The software puts a numerical value only when the name field of the file is completely damaged. The software finds file(s) on signature basis and need some name to identify the file. So the software places the numerical value. The numerical value is basically the Sector Number on which file is actually placed. If you want to get more assistance please feel free to contact Stellar Support.
Like
Version 4.0
Evaluator
Evaluator
23 October 2010
Here is an update on our situation. We "recovered" close to 15,000 Microsoft files. Each day we try to examine a few hundred. When we find something of possible value, we move it to a group of folders we created to help with the sorting. In those folders can be many variations of the same file, so when we are through with the raw file sort, we then have to examine each file in each folder to determine which version is the one we want to keep. Then that was is named an refiled. The rest are trashed. As I said before, this process will take months. I expect to be done by early 2011. This application is not worth $19, let alone $99. After I complained about the manufacturer's product and their lousy support, they bombarded me with emails, so I had to block them. Using this application to recover files is like using a hatchet to give a hair cut. AVOID!!!!
Like
Version 4.0
Thinking-Differently
11 August 2010
This Comment is in response to KENNYBAKER's most recent comment. I am glad that you have added the ability to recover Sparse Bundle files up to 4KB. However, I hope that is a typo, as I can't imagine a Sparse Bundle that small being remotely useful. So, I'm hoping you really meant MB, GB or TB. Given that a TimeCapsule uses Sparse Bundles, such support could be useful if the limit were 4TB or larger. The other issue, is just who is KENNYBAKER? Your Aug 11, response makes it look very much like you may work for or are affiliated with Stellar Phoenix. However, by clicking on your user name, I see that there is a review from someone using the same account and giving the product 5 stars. MacUpdate has a policy that discourages developers from reviewing their own, or their competitors products. The quote is as follows, "Note: Developers, please don't unethically post star rating reviews to your own products or you will be added to a public Developer Blacklist." I suggest that you turn yourself in. Apologize, ask for mercy, request that they pull the prior review, and agree not to do it again. Frankly, I do think highly of your product as I hope my review reflects. While it certainly doesn't work all of the time, when it does work, it is pretty amazing. With continued development, you will have a very useful product there. It was already good enough that I spent my hard earned $$$ to buy it. And if you do still want me to look at the new product after this posting, I will be happy to do so.
Like
Version 4.0
1 answer(s)
Stellarinfo
Stellarinfo
12 August 2010
Hi Paul.. Thanks for your interest in our product As for KENNYBAKER is concerned he is our survey member and once he provide his friend our software.Kenny's friend used his Macupdate account to write a short review when he got his files back..I apologize for the inconvenience on behalf of Kenny. We are very happy about your interest in our product and would like to provide a free license key for reviewing our Version 4.1 Thanks Syed
Like
Version 4.0
I indicated in my prior post, that I would provide an update for the benefit of others. After working with them for a few days, tech support turned out to be a mixed bag. I think they tried to help me, but nothing they suggested actually resolved the problem. However, I was able to solve the problem on my own. There were three sparse bundle disk images, created by disk utility, that contained important files that had not yet been backed up. There were also four additional sparse bundle disk images that had been backed up. While all seven of these appeared to have been restored, none of them would open. From my observations of working sparse bundle disk images, a normal sparse bundle disk image is really a folder, not a file. (you can peak inside by right-clicking, or control clicking on it.) Inside of it is another folder named "bands" which contains the files that get combined to make the actual disk image, when you open this. Remember when modems were slow, and we segmented disk images? Well think of the band files as something like disk image segments. There is also a zero-size file named token, which aside from the obvious suggestions of it's name, I have no idea how it is used. And there is an Info.plist and an Info.bckup. In all of the examples that I looked at Info.bckup and info.plist were identical. It appears that the information in this file is important enough that Apple wanted there to be a backup. In all of the seven sparse bundle disk images restored by Stellar Phoenix Data Recovery, the tolken, info.plist and info.bckup files were missing. I created a new sparse bundle disk image having the same characteristics, and I copied the files that were missing into the recovered sparse bundle disk images. After doing that, they would open. I'm not sure that it was necessary, but to feel extra good, I repaired them. (with Disk Utility and Disk Warrior) Since the info.plist file contains information about the maximum size, and band-size, I'm not sure if just any would have worked. But I had created all of them the same way and remembered so I could create an empty one having the same properties. At this point, my assumption was that Stellar Phoenix Data recovery simply filtered out plists and files of zero length. After all, it had successfully recovered many gigabytes of other files. And they had the right names, and were in the right folders. In an effort to test that theory, I took an external firewire drive, zeroed it and made a small partition. I then put data on it, including some sparse bundle disk images. Lastly, I used disk utility to do a simple erase. However, this time Stellar Phoenix recovered almost nothing. And I have not a clue why. So, my take is that sometimes this program will do an amazing job of recovery. It will recover files with the right names and in the right folders which is far superior to what most other utilities will do. But in other cases, you may hit a dry well. If Stellar can improve the consistency of success, and make a few things clearer, they may have a winner. I'd say it is still worth giving it a try though, as the other recovery products tend to give you a set of generic folders with files named picture1.jpg, picture2.jpg…etc. having lost all of the original meta data.
Like
Version 4.0
1 answer(s)
Kennybaker
Kennybaker
11 August 2010
Hi Paul.. Thanks for your time in reviewing Stellar Phoenix Mac as Stellar has resolved the Sparse Bundle Image issue in its new version Stellar Phoenix Macintosh Data Recovery v4.1 The Quick Recovery option now supports recovery of files up to 4KB in Sparse Bundle Image,if you like to review our latest version i would arrange a free license key for you to test our latest version. Please provide us your Email ID if you are interested in reviewing our v4.1 version.
Like
Version 4.0
I've had much better success with this than some are reporting. My version was 4.0.1.0. The partition had been erased by accident. The machine was running Snow Leopard. A couple of other utilities were tried first. They were able to recover files by type, but without their name or file hierarchy. So it would be a bit of a mess to sort through. I tried the trial. It appeared to find everything with their names in their original file hierarchy. So I paid the money and did the restore. So far everything that I have tried has opened fine, with one exception. I had a couple of sparcebundle disk images there. They appeared to be recovered fine. But would not open. A right click even shows me the contents with the bands, etc. It appears nicely restored, but obviously something is missing. All in all, it was still impressed. But, the bad news is that these sparcebundles contained the only important thing that wasn't otherwise backed up. I've dropped an email to Stellar. I will report about their responsiveness.
Like
Version 4.0
Lutelover
04 July 2010
I will echo several comments here about Stellar Phoenix hanging. I purchased it to recover photos from a second internal drive in my Mac PowerPC G5 running OS 10.4.11. I attempted to recover three times, each time booting from the program disc on the Mac. Especially considering the cost, I am disappointed. From the posts here, it sounds as though tech support is useless. I purchased it based on reviews and the recommendations from Mac magazines. I hope the company can make some changes that will permit this software to work at some point. Until then, it is a good reminder to me to be careful about what I choose to purchase. Happily, this is one of the less than a handful of bad Mac programs I've had since 1989. In conclusion, I cannot say it better than another person who shared their experience here: purchase at your own risk!
Like
Version 4.0
Simonm
03 June 2010
Epic fail. After letting the scanner run overnight and saving the scan results, there is no way I can find to reload those results after I've quit the application. What a joke. This looks like a very poorly written and buggy piece of Mac software. I'm now trying Data Rescue, which looks much better.
Like
Version 4.0
iNyar
22 March 2010
I just used Stellar Phoenix to retrieve 1.8 GB of pictures and movies from a (virus) corrupted memory card that Mac OS X wasn't even capable to mount. It just worked perfectly : every single media file was identified and recovered perfectly. It's just impressive, since all the others programs I tried weren't capable of recovering anything, or just a few pictures. Try it, it's worth it.
Like
Version 4.0
Marco114
29 April 2009
This product is darn ugly. It works ok, but I prefer other products that do a better job.
Like (1)
Version 3.5
Frieddylan
11 August 2008
I tried the latest release and its pretty darn stable under Mac OS X 10.5.4. Tried it with a few hard drives and was able to see lots of things I thought were long gone. Give it another try now- whatever the changes were they added to the stability. Still an 'ugly' app though.
Like
Version 2.3.0.4
1 answer(s)
Frieddylan
Frieddylan
20 October 2008
The new version looks better and is just as stable. I like this application but don't want to see it dumbed down just because of the GUI. I suppose it all depends on the user base you're targeting though.
Like
Version 3.0
Mal-Brittain
03 May 2008
Use this at your own risk to your sanity and well being. Crashes continually, normally after you have wasted 6 hours of your time and /or reaches around 3.774gb of data you can not save your initial scans so you have to go through the procedure of re-scanning your drive for another 3 hours. Did not find a single file that was able to be restored. Mac Data Rescue II took 6 hours of deep scanning found every file of the lost 131gb i had lost Stellar 000gb. More important the tech support asks you to fill in endless forms to help them help you, which in 13 days of dealing with over the phone too India they did not offer a single bit of help. AND THEY DO NOT HONOR THIER 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Do not use this product Use DATA MAC RESCUE II you'll thank me for it.
Like (2)
Version 2.2
1 answer(s)
Nigel2112
Nigel2112
24 October 2008
I tried the demo too, it wouldn't see the CF card so I called their 'tech help'. The Indian chap asked me to email screen shots of the software and Disk Utility so they could see that DU could see the card but their recovery software could not. I did so, and that was the last I heard from them. Gee, thanks for the help! So. I also tried CardRaider. Half the trouble and a fraction of the price. Steer clear of this less than stellar rubbish if I were you.
Like (1)
Version 3.0
Sbordsenius
13 December 2007
My 500 GB disk with about 450GB of video just dissappeared, and I chose this application to help me out. Diskwarrior does not work under 10.5, but Stellar Phoenix does. And you can download and activate it online . After 10 minutes with the demo version I bought the full version. The GUI is a bit different from most mac apps, but the application itself performed miracles. The disk that Apples Disk Tool gave up on has been saved, and for a reasonable price as well. The version is 2.1, on Mac OS 10.5 / intel. A very good solution for those of us that think backup is for other people..
Like
Version 2.1
Crvernon
09 July 2007
Apparently this software does not work with 10.4. I launched the program and told it to do a quickscan of a disk. That was the last thing it did, until I forced quit on it, 5 minutes later.
Like
Version 1.0
hced
08 May 2007
Crashes upon launch. Unable to evaluate. (Mac OS X 10.4.9, Powermac PPC dual 2.5 Ghz, 1.5 GB RAM, repaired permissions, etc.)
Like
Version 1.0
misjase
15 December 2006
It is not entirely fair to call this a review, since I have not tried the sharp/paid version, only the demo. But I would still like to comment on how very promising I found the demo compared to any program I have tried before, in that it did seem to accurately locate drives and their hierarchical contents, otherwise almost entirely lost to the world. Partition maps were correctly identified as well, when even the second most promising utility out there did only locate the first of three partitions. The huge drawback with this demo is, in my opinion, that it does only allow one to view its (impressive, admittedly) way of locating everything (at least as far as I recall it), i.e. no actual recovery permitted. This is unfortunate since it has happened to me before that apparent files actually points at entirely different contents on damaged drives. So, dare I pay for the licence at the risk of ending up with software able to recover, say, an apparent image file in fact pointing as some (part of) a sound file or something else...? Being desperate (and welthy) enough, I just might... I would easily give it the highest rating had I the chance to ascertain its ability to actually recover files as well as it locates their (again, apparent!) whereabouts. Giving it five stars for its locating wizardry seems inappropriate, at least given my questioning as to the restriction of the demo. A demo allowing for at least a certain amount of recovery would be fair, it would seem.
Like
Version 1.0