Back to NameChanger page
NameChanger free download for Mac

NameChanger Reviews

3.4.3
10 October 2019

Rename files in batches.

Just-Annutha-Dewd
05 October 2018

Most helpful

This is a great renaming app made even greater by the price (free!). The one feature it's missing that keeps it from being a full 5-star rating for me is an "undo" feature. I sometimes have to batch rename files temporarily to run another tool that processes based on the filename, then undo that renaming scheme once done. I have another renaming app in use that can do this, but I otherwise prefer the UI of NameChanger. and would love to be rid of that other one.
Like (1)
Version 3.4.1

Read 48 NameChanger User Reviews

Rate this app:

pavelp9821
22 October 2019
sometimes buggy on 10.13-10.14, but does its job most of the time
Like
Version 3.4.3
Wunderhorn
24 July 2019
Changing to title case does not work correctly. For example all those spellings for "of the" etc. still remain capitalized which is incorrect.
Like
Version 3.4.2
Just-Annutha-Dewd
05 October 2018
This is a great renaming app made even greater by the price (free!). The one feature it's missing that keeps it from being a full 5-star rating for me is an "undo" feature. I sometimes have to batch rename files temporarily to run another tool that processes based on the filename, then undo that renaming scheme once done. I have another renaming app in use that can do this, but I otherwise prefer the UI of NameChanger. and would love to be rid of that other one.
Like (1)
Version 3.4.1
nancy-scheitler
13 October 2017
I am a digital scrapbooker and have thousands of files I organize and sometimes reorganize to get the most user friendly arrangement of these files. NameChanger has been invaluable for doing this. What could take days and/or an in-depth knowledge of some other method, takes a very short period of time. The only feature I would like to see added is "undo the last change".
Like
Version 3.3.0
crew-jason
09 July 2017
Amazing! Its free and has great functionality.
Like
Version 3.3.0
ababba15
10 January 2017
Cool app
Like
Version 3.2.1
garazeytin
24 January 2016
TOday, I wanted to rename my photos and it is renamed as a document.... HOw can I take it back! It is urgent please?
Like
Version 3.1.0
2 answer(s)
ababba15
ababba15
10 January 2017
No sense to put low rating if you have askew hands. It is a good useful tool.
Like (2)
crew-jason
crew-jason
09 July 2017
You may need to go back and add the extension that your photos had originally (most likely .jpeg). This can be done easily with the "Append" option... then if you want to avoid that in the future you can always go into options and click the box labeled "Hide extensions by default"
Like
Grendel27
06 January 2016
It has been a great program for me until today after I upgraded to 3.1.0 from 3.0.2 in OSX 10.9.5. After that, every time I launch the program, there is a dialog box saying "Renames.sqlite couldn't be opened." I can still rename files, but every time any operation is finished, the same message will appear. Worse of all, all the saved Renaming operations are all gone. I managed to find the 3.0.2 version in the trash folder, but trashing the new version and putting the old one back does NOT help. The app crashes every time when I try to launch it. I hope someone can help but I will try to contact the developer as well.
Like
Version 3.1.0
2 answer(s)
donna-4
donna-4
12 January 2016
I had the same problem. Here's how to fix it.
If you backed up your system with Time Machine, you simply need to find renames.sqlite and overwrite the new one that is there.

Close NameChanger
In Finder, navigate to: Users/<yourname>/library/application support/NameChanger
Open Time Machine, and that folder will open as well. Find an earlier backup.
Restore Renames.sqlite and overwrite the one that is there.
Exit Time Machine, Open NameChanger
You'll see your past history showing your saved Renaming Operations too.
Like
Grendel27
Grendel27
17 January 2016
Thanks so much donna_4 for the helpful info. I contacted the developer and he responded quickly as well, his fix is very similar to yours:

1) Quit NameChanger if it’s running.
2) Navigate to NameChanger’s support folder: It’s located at /Users/<YOUR_USERNAME>/Library/Application Support/NameChanger. If you don’t see Library listed in Finder, click the “Go” menu, then hold down the Option key and Library will appear mid-way down the list, clicking it will bring you to your Library folder)
3) Delete Renames.sqlite, Renames.sqlite-shm and Renames.sqlite-wal
4) There should be a number of old backup files (e.g. RenamesSQL_2015-12-17_17-23-54.backup). Try to find the latest one from before the date you updated to 3.1.0. Duplicate that backup file and rename it “Renames.sqlite” without the quotes.
4) Launch NameChanger 3.1.0

I just want to publicly thank the developer for being so responsive and I hope he continues to update and refine this very useful app.
Like
stevess
24 September 2015
Very useful utility at an incredible price.
Like
Version 3.0.0
streblov
17 August 2015
Simple and powerful app for renaming files. I found a bug in v 2.3.3 and contacted the developer. He replied within 5 hours with a download link for the 3.0 beta where the bug has been fixed. PERFECT :-)
Like
Version 2.3.3
Sensei-Russ
04 June 2015
Says what it does and does what it says. Great app!
Like
Version 2.3.3
porg
26 February 2015
+ Native Mac App (no bad port) + Simple but very clear UI + A lot of space for the file table with the 2 columns original name and rename preview -- When you run your batch the strings/formulas in "Original Text" and "Rename Text" are cleared! Bad interaction design! Often you want to repeat the same temporary find/replace task on another batch or only slightly alter it on the same or another file batch. Very bad if it just disappears! That should be for the user to decide. After the batch ran, the focus shall be to the recently focused input field (find or replace field) with the cursor at the recent position. Then one can easily add/remove more characters, or use "CMD-A" and BACKSPACE to clear, the fields should also have a "clear input" icon (X) at the right of the input field. ~ You can save (CMD-S) and manage presets as so called "Renames" in the main menu. ~ File suffixes are not treated differently: a double click in the filename select the filename including the suffix. The default OS X behavior is to select the whole filename without the dot and the suffix, if you want the full name you use CMD-A or CMD-SHIFT-RightArrow. But there is the option to hide the suffix. Thus you either focus on renaming the file with or without suffix. The option to show the suffix (to affirm the filetype to you in a mixed type list) but to not rename it is not possible. Showing the file icons would improve this feature lack. - NameChanger does not check whether an added file is already in the batch list, simply adds it as another instance. ~ Keyboard access: - TAB order: TAB cycles from "Original Text" to "Rename Text", fine so far, but then not into the table area, but into the less important toolbar, from there back to "Original Text", the table area is completely omitted from keyboard input. Shortcuts if focus in table area: + Enter selects the entire string, another enter takes the changes, ESC drops the changes. Standard compliant! - No shortcut to remove a file entry from the batch list (Backspace, CMD-Backspace, not even the Windows-esque DEL works) - No multi step renaming. But I would not expect that from a free app. With presets you can quickly run complicated consecutive replacements.
Like
Version 2.3.3
Ward
01 January 2015
I've been relying on NameChanger since 2008, and I'm pleased to find it's working fine on Yosemite (10.10.1). I'm deducting half a star from my rating because the developer's website shows no change since its Mavericks update.
Like
Version 2.3.3
Deesto
27 February 2014
Fast, easy, and free! Does the job, no bloat.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.3
1 answer(s)
fedya
fedya
06 August 2015
I found BatchRenameFiles Tool to be useful for quite sometime. But this is great. Thanks
Like
BorisL6898
20 January 2014
Quickly did its primary job. And its it free without Ads. Very easy to use. Not suitable perhaps for complex tasks such as files renaming by EXIF and photo data.
Like
Version 2.3.3
Eric•Woehler
03 January 2014
App hung when I dragged a folder of 600 image files onto it. Forced quit, restart and tried 100 image files. Another hang. Deleted app, still looking for alternative.
Like
Version 2.3.3
1 answer(s)
Simon-Browne
Simon-Browne
23 October 2014
Try setting the procedure to the default - "Replace First Occurrence with... " before loading the files. Once the files are loaded, then change the procedure to what you want to do. I have found once I do this, I can rename 100's of files. I'm using 2.3.3 - the same version you have / had.
Like
graafisk
18 August 2013
Perfect! Does exactly what you'd hope for, easy to understand and use. So nice that you can right-click and rearrange the top icons. Amazing bit of kit, this!
Like (1)
Version 2.3.3
Octavius-Corn
16 July 2013
Thanks for this app. Does it support regular expressions in the replacement text? I would like to preserve some of the original content in the file names, and it varies from file to file, so being able to use regular expressions in the outputted names would be useful (such as %1, %2, etc.), but it doesn't seem to work. I'm not tremendously familiar with regular expressions, so perhaps I'm doing it incorrectly…
Like
Version 2.3.3
sivaprasad-com
25 March 2013
Fantastic App,its just did what i want....thanks to all the team, and thanks again to keeping it as freewae
Like (1)
Version 2.3.3
Isaacmartin
30 January 2013
Fast, reliable, and free!
Like (1)
Version 2.3.3
Salamurai
05 January 2013
Great program, with a lot of options. However, version 2.3.2. on my PPC sometimes crashes on open. I did find that drag-n-drop of files results in a random order, only an issue if you are going to do a sequential renumber. They can be easily rearranged or use the "Add" button to keep them straight. Aside, the developer says the app is for Intel/PPC and 10.6 or later; OS 10.6 is Intel only so version 2.3.3 will not work on PPC (I verified this by trying it).
Like (1)
Version 2.3.3
G-N-R-S-U
07 August 2012
i think Bulk Rename Utility is the best free batch renaming utility indeed! appnee.com/bulk-rename-utility/
Like
Version 2.3.3
1 answer(s)
Jedik
Jedik
10 September 2012
A Windoze-only app... Yea, sure...
Like (1)
Je-Ne-Connais-Pas
08 March 2012
Absolute what I needed when rearranging and updating my myriad(s) of photos. Thanks.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.2
Eridani
25 December 2011
I don't know how many time it saved my life!!! Hehe nah, well actually some... Anw, it really have almost any naming mode you can imagine, very stable, has nice features and it just works!. Still, the interface can be improved to get an extra "ease of use" feeling.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.2
Mikael-B
11 October 2011
I also miss Capitalization of words, btu for basic renaming it shines.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.2
Kobalt
29 July 2011
Love it for it's ease of use and nice price! This may be a one-trick pony, but it's a great trick!
Like (3)
Version 2.3.1
Aetnaria
27 July 2011
Excellent application. Had a need the other day to remove x-many #s from the front of several handfuls of files amid a folder of hundreds. Sorted in Finder to stick the numbered files up top. Selected those, dragged onto the application. Tweaked the manipulation until the preview showed what I wanted. Let it run: perfect result.
Like (2)
Version 2.3
darrel-2
26 July 2011
The only features I find lacking are the ability to manipulate case (upper/lower case, InterCaps, Capitalize Words) and that you should be able to make minor edits to items in the preview/target name list on the right. I often find myself having to set up one or more additional searches to deal with just a few stray characters. In all other respects this is one fine renaming program.
Like (1)
Version 2.3
Stainless-Steel
09 February 2011
As of Feb 2011, it works great and renamed all of the files needed. It's free and considering it hasn't been updated in nearly a year and a half, it's a reflection of the programmer quality. THANKS for the app and it is FREE!!!
Like
Version 2.2.2
Easer
09 November 2010
For my simple needs, this program is simply the easiest, best I've found. I know there are a number of such programs out there that probably do a very fine job; but I've often found the interfaces somewhat perplexing. (It's probably me, not them, that is the source of that problem.) At any rate, I love this program and cannot recommend it enough.
Like (2)
Version 2.2.2
Bumbleb
06 July 2010
What a blessing this app is. I needed to rename a photoshoot as a sequence, with zeroes likethis 001, 002, 003 etc, as otherwise my image gallery online will mess up the sequence like; 1, 10, 11, etc. Nice work! Thanks!!!
Like (2)
Version 2.2.2
Maboroshi
01 March 2010
I use this almost daily with digital photo rolls. The speed is excellent, and the ability to instantly see what the resulting change will be as you type is very useful. Like I said I use this almost daily, which is why I wish the settings I set under options would be saved in the preferences. Its a little bothersome to have to constantly redo my settings each time I launch the application. Having the last used replace method selected by default would be an awesome addition as well. Otherwise a great app!
Like (1)
Version 2.2.2
Mcusr
13 January 2010
Wonderful little thing! Could I request a feature to print or copy to clipboard a list of contents/file names.
Like
Version 2.2.2
Rubaiyat
10 August 2009
Be nice if it could change the case of names or append a series of numbers using Services or such like.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.1
Djadamjay
31 December 2008
This is an awesome free utility. i use this to rename file names too long to see on my Philips DivX player which has a 14 character limitation. Its especially great for trimming the length of already lengthy file names. its quick and easy. thanks to the dev!
Like
Version 2.2.1
Spartan
22 December 2008
Great little tool. Easy to use, reliable and free. Thank you.
Like
Version 2.2.1
Jobby
17 December 2008
Looks good, but really could do with support for regular expressions.
Like
Version 2.2.1
Kobalt
30 September 2008
Still love this app! One more request, though. Instead of hiding the 'Check all' and other funtions under the 'Options' toolbar button, can we have them as draggable items to add or delete from the toolbar direct? That'll save having to open the separate 'Options' menu to select these very handy functions, making the use of NameChanger even more enjoyable. Five stars - and if and when my suggestion has been incorporated, you'll get six. :)
Like (3)
Version 2.2
Ncianca
25 November 2007
Incredibly useful and functional utility. I've added it to my Finder's toolbar for quick access.
Like (1)
Version 2.0
Phaleron
25 November 2007
I gave this version a low rating for the simple reason that utilities (even free ones) should not be developed for the very latest OS at the expense of previous ones, even when updates are mandatory, for compatibility reasons.
Like (2)
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Mrrsoftware
Mrrsoftware
25 November 2007
I decided to go Leopard only in the interest of bettering the usefulness of my software. Without Leopard there is no Image Browser, and that was what I felt was the key feature to this release. Please note all previous releases are still listed on my website, those without Leopard are welcome to keep using version 1.3.
Like (4)
Version 2.0
Kobalt
15 November 2007
Love this little app! I tried several others, but they're all more cumbersome. Five stars from me! One small feature request, if I may: can we have a button to clear all listed filenames in one fell swoop? That'd save having to select them all and then to hit the '-' button.
Like (1)
Version 1.3
Philip-Wing
10 November 2007
Excellent utility. Lets me work around GraphicConverter not understanding the m4v (AppleTV) extension. Feature request: (Unexpected behavior, though) When you add a folder, it should do *something* to it, rather than just dim the Rename button.
Like
Version 1.3
Tsuki
14 October 2007
This is great and fast. I liked to use R-Name but NameChanger is my fav now. Maybe you can add these options in a future update : - add/remove characters from start/end or before extension - change characters to lowercases/uppercases/capitalized words - add/replace/remove extension Thx for this free jewel!
Like
Version 1.3
Groblesr
11 August 2007
Awesome. Very straight forward UI and superbly fast. Best renaming app I've tried so far, and that includes non-free ones.
Like
Version 1.3
Makai
20 November 2006
It's real' fast!! A couple of options would even increase workflow speed: - allow to deactivate the result dialog, at least if there haven't ben any errors; would saf OKing all the time - allow t automatically unchec items after they have been renamed Plus: (Allow to) Keep the rename text string after rename operation, to be 'recycled' for the next operation TNX!
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Makai
Makai
21 November 2006
I forgot: A keyboard shortcut to start Rename action would be very helpful.
Like
Version 1.2
Kobalt
07 November 2006
simple and effective without the bloat of some of the others - does what i want it to do
Like
Version 1.2
Anad
07 November 2006
This is a truly great app. I use it all the time. Thanks.
Like
Version 1.2
Pgscuser
02 May 2006
Finally! A sensible, easy to use bulk-name-changing application. Great job, looking forward to future updates.
Like
Version 1.0