Back to Lightspeed OnSite page
Lightspeed OnSite free download for Mac

Lightspeed OnSite Reviews

2015 1.0
22 October 2014

Multi-user point-of-sale system.

Jasonvance
18 November 2009

Most helpful

I've been using Lightspeed software for about two years in two locations. My opinion? Lightspeed is a good piece of software, when it works. While they advertise the fact that you can do multiple location installation, their implementation is poor. Their support is great if you don't mind being extorted, year after year. Be prepared to pay a new extortion fee 3-6 month's after installation, as it doesn't even come with a years support when you purchase systems from them. Secondly, their licensing arrangement with OpenBase is BS. I've spent more than $2,000 in IT Costs, having to keep begging Xsilva to fix a known problem with Mac OS X 10.5.8. The OpenBase license keeps getting corrupted and then I have to beg them to "Release" My license before I can open for the day. Having to beg them to release my license every couple weeks is a frustrating exercise of fruition. They should learn to NOT treat their customers like criminals. So in a nutshell, if you don't mind paying your share of support extortion fees, reinstalling OpenBase every two weeks to get the software to work and don't mind endlessly waiting for their "Award Winning" support then purchase the software.
Like (6)
Version 2.8.8

Read 19 Lightspeed OnSite User Reviews

Rate this app:

Kbeat
30 December 2010
LightSpeed isn't perfect, but if you've spent anytime using or researching POS systems, you'll quickly realize none of them are perfect. There are things I'd like to see improved, and Xsilva is working regularly to do so, but as it stands it's by far the best solution on the Mac, and a major player on any system. We just launched our new web store, which was built on LightSpeed. We're very pleased with how it turned out and so far it's operating very well. http://www.restoration.com/
Like (2)
Version 3.3.3
1 answer(s)
Isellbikes
Isellbikes
29 July 2011
I agree - there are additional features that I would want in a POS, but LightSpeed works well for us.
Like (1)
Ricardo-Palacios
15 November 2010
I am starting a retail business, could you please recommend me a POS software, thanks
Like (1)
Version 3.3
1 answer(s)
Majdi-Jaddo
Majdi-Jaddo
03 December 2010
I am using this lightspeed application and it's really a great piece of work. It has everything I need in a POS system.
Like (1)
Macdahustla
29 August 2010
I have an IT salesguy in at the moment wanting to sell me this and I must admit I am pretty impressed, however, if there is no integration with address book (which isnt end of the world as I dont use address book at moment on my mac) how good it it in terms of the CRM part of it? Will the emails from prospects automatically be recorded on a prospects profile within Lightspeed, can I then easily convert said prospect to customer, can the info contained in lightspeed be used easily for mailing lists etc...?
Like (2)
Version 3.1.1
hyperionracing
03 August 2010
Ha ha, yeah I ran PIMS. Hello FileMaker & Great Plains flash back. There is no way you know both LightSpeed and PIMS to backup your claims. Please talk about what you really know and don't make up BS. I have been using POS on Macs for over 25 years, what you are saying is absolute BS. "A few hundred products", are you for real? I run LightSpeed for two of my companies and each run well above 7k of inventory. Are you sure you are not speaking of CheckOut (which is a great light POS system). I am not going to bash PIMS, in hopes that they develop another great product like similar to LightSpeed. There needs to be more out there for Mac. Xsilva is well on track and has huge multi-store function. ExecUltron, if you follow any of these threads, please consider the idea of getting out of the ugly executed UI you have and lose the FileMaker Database. Hello SQL..... Tractor... wait until you try getting your accounting pack into your accountant. Options for accounting is a must, not some conformed built in system. I push a button and LS moves my all the book keeping details into my AccountEdge, my accountant logs into my server once every two months and I am done, saving my alot on my accounting and book keeping alone. To people posting on these threads, please speak about things you actually have some knowledge on!! Stop the bashing of developers, and maybe take a look at all the POS systems out there (PC versions too). You will see most features sets are the same and learn that retail businesses around the world operate on the same principles.
Like
Version 3.1.1
3 answer(s)
sjk
sjk
11 August 2010
>and maybe take a look at all the POS systems out there (PC versions too). Any recommendations where to look? I haven't been able to find any OS X-based POS software that looks like a reasonable candidate for replacing Windows-based Restaurant Pro Express (PC America) for a friend's small "countertop sales cafe" business. Many web search results lead to outdated and defunct information/products. And I'm only finding PC/Windows-centric "POS Providers". Even if LightSpeed could be used for this purpose the differences from RPE might be too drastic and challenging (e.g. staff retraining).
Like
Version 3.1.1
hyperionracing
hyperionracing
11 August 2010
http://www.sixthsensepos.com/Cafe.html SJK LightSpeed will not work for restaurants. I am not familiar with restaurant POS softwares on PC, but I did spend alot of time searching for one for a deli and restaurant which is a side by side business. What I ended up using was Six Sense POS / Cafe. They iPad app as been quite useful. I have to say at first I was not impress with the company and the UI of the software, but it works very well, has tables and if you are familiar with restaurant POS, you should get along with this quite well. It has been in use for at this location for about 4 months now. As far as an inventory POS system, I still stand as a great fan of LightSpeed. I hope this helps you on your search.
Like (1)
Version 3.1.1
sjk
sjk
11 August 2010
Thanks for the feedback. I'll give Cafe a closer look than when I first noticed it a few months ago.
Like
Version 3.1.1
Trevor-Mead-Robins
05 June 2010
I have to agree that the inability to link DIRECTLY with AddressBook is a pain. You can't Sync directly or even drag an card directly from Address Book. At the very least, I'd like to be able to drag a contact from Address Book directly to LightSpeed. With every upgrade to LightSpeed, the link to Daylight seems to break. I have not moved to Daylight for this reason. While it may be more powerful, I do not want to make the POS more complicated or add any more dominoes. Overall I am very happy with LightSpeed, but will wait until most of the bugs in version 3.0 have been sorted out and for MarketCircle to catch up before upgrading from version 2.9.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.10
Jasonvance
18 November 2009
I've been using Lightspeed software for about two years in two locations. My opinion? Lightspeed is a good piece of software, when it works. While they advertise the fact that you can do multiple location installation, their implementation is poor. Their support is great if you don't mind being extorted, year after year. Be prepared to pay a new extortion fee 3-6 month's after installation, as it doesn't even come with a years support when you purchase systems from them. Secondly, their licensing arrangement with OpenBase is BS. I've spent more than $2,000 in IT Costs, having to keep begging Xsilva to fix a known problem with Mac OS X 10.5.8. The OpenBase license keeps getting corrupted and then I have to beg them to "Release" My license before I can open for the day. Having to beg them to release my license every couple weeks is a frustrating exercise of fruition. They should learn to NOT treat their customers like criminals. So in a nutshell, if you don't mind paying your share of support extortion fees, reinstalling OpenBase every two weeks to get the software to work and don't mind endlessly waiting for their "Award Winning" support then purchase the software.
Like (6)
Version 2.8.8
4 answer(s)
JasonE
JasonE
30 March 2010
OpenBase has been a disaster for years. Bloated, temperamental, poorly supported and poorly implemented in almost every programs I have seen it in. About the only good thing about OpenBase is that it is easy to integrate - that is all.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.1
Kbeat
Kbeat
07 April 2010
They've heard you and with Version 3, which was finally released last week, they've implemented an all new server architecture based on PretegeSQL. OpenBase is no longer used by LightSpeed.
Like (4)
Version 3.0.2
Heavyduty4000
Heavyduty4000
05 October 2010
OpenBase had it's day back in OS X Server 1.2 when Apple bundled it. Fortunately it's pretty easy to migrate away from unless you were dumb enough to use their stored procedures
Like
Version 3.2.3
Kbeat
Kbeat
05 October 2010
Let me also add that while version 3 has had it's fair share of bugs, not surprising since it introduced an entirely new architecture, the support response times have improved dramatically. I typically get responses to my email requests within 1/2 hour, and can get someone on the phone quickly. This is in stark contrast to the last days of 2.9 when you could literally wait a full day or two for a response.
Like
Version 3.2.3
Isellbikes
13 November 2009
I have to say that I love the software. It works fabulously well on so many different spectrums. We create purchase orders and special orders, have a retail station which runs on the POS screen, do serials and repairs on two other stations, and the software offers me all of the reporting I need as a business owner. The software makes inventory management easy, and we just got through our 3rd inventory count without any problems. This was a nightmare in our previous system, and LightSpeed really showed its muscle. Training is really easy, and my staff (especially new staff) love using the program. I moved to LightSpeed from an overly expensive PC solution, and I couldn't be happier with the decision.
Like (2)
Version 2.8.8
hyperionracing
01 August 2009
I have used LightSpeed for three years now. I have a lot of experience with POS systems on Mac and PC and was freed by LightSpeed. I spend little time training new sales members, which means more time for me and more money. If you have used POS systems you will be happy with LightSpeed. I would not recommend it for food related businesses however! It is better designed for retail. I am a Daylite user as well and I have to thank both Xsilva and Marketcircle for the LightSpeed/Daylite connector. What a huge time saver for me! Of course like all software, there are some things I would like added or changed that would make my use better, but over the few years I constantly see additions that please me. These people really aim to make this the best POS system out there! I am grateful for the listening to the users input on the part of Xsilva... thank you guys! Looking at some of the posting on here, I recommend that you first do your research and take time to understand the software you think you will want to use and how it will work with you business. If you don't understand computers and software very well, hire or consult with someone who has experience. With my first retail business, I never thought about the Point of Sales system I was going to use until the last minute of opening. This added stress and pressured me to not look into what I was getting. As a result I ended up with a very expensive solution that charged me renewal fees every year. One of the best things about LightSpeed for me is the low cost of ownership and ease of use for a POS system. I look forward to the new LightSpeed 3.0
Like (2)
Version 2.8.7
Chma
19 June 2009
Lightspeed was a disaster for our retail business. I've never met a point of sale program that was so difficult to use and so easy to make mistakes with. My true review would be thousands of words long to list all of the problems we had with this program. The short version: It is far to easy for people to make mistakes simply ringing up sales. Ringing up customers takes twice as long as other programs - many mouse clicks needed, no shortcut key for quantity (this was a huge time killer for us as customers buy a lot of little items at a time, with different quantities for each), I was surprised to have no way to hold receipts, no place to enter a coupon to discount the whole sale (must discount a specific item which affects your margins in reports, so we had to create a product called coupon and charge a negative quantity for it). Even the payment screen takes so many unnecessary steps - click here, select that, swipe card, move cursor to button to tell it to process the card, click process, click OK to acknowledge swipe was successful, then click print, then tell it how many copies, then click print again, etc. Streamline this process please! It's so easy to mis-swipe a credit card and then print out a complete receipt, giving you the illusion that someone has paid, but looking at the bottom it says paid zero. It's very easy to swipe a card twice for the same transaction - no warning given that you've already charged a customer for this sale. Very difficult to refund a customer back to their credit card. Even watched the tutorial while the poor customer stood there and was no help with our problem. If you scan a UPC that's not in the system it doesn't warn you, it just puts nothing on the receipt, so when ringing up multiple items it's super easy to miss an item. If you click save before going to payment screen, the system removes all the items on that receipt from inventory (instead of removing them when sale is complete). If a customer changes their mind on an item before paying it is a very difficult process to put the item back into inventory and very easy for inventory numbers to be inaccurate. They need to make payment screens much more streamlined and help us to make sure it's not so easy for employees to make mistakes when ringing people up. We lost a lot of money in inventory sent out the door. We spent hours renaming all of our 3000 or so inventory items to make them searchable in the invoice screen (invoice screen only searches for product description, so had to add the manufacturer, color size, etc to every product description in case it had to be searched for when ringing up.) Ordering process was also a nightmare - We do loads of ordering every day from over 300 vendors, 5 or 6 of which are big distributors that we order from - each carry up to 600 items that we have to choose from. I have to be able to see what's available from each and choose from that list - the only way to do that is to open products, view the ones where my distributor is the supplier, then drag items into an open PO. Very difficult to fit both of these windows onto the same screen, so lots of switching back and forth.Very very easy to make mistakes (carefully dragging an item down frequently resulted in the wrong item showing up! The one I dragged wasn't the one that made it onto the order, so have to drag, click on the PO window to make sure the right item made it on, then mouse click the quantity to change it, go back to the product screen, etc. With my old 6 year old software it took us about 45 minutes to order from one of those distributors. With lightspeed it was an hour and a half. With my new Quickbooks point of sale program, I can pull up a screen that has an empty row next to my inventory numbers for that distributor, I type in the quantities using my down arrow and my quantitiy shortcut key, and click enter at the end, which populates a PO with everything I chose. Ordering now takes me about 15 minutes. Receiving a PO is overly complicated as well, with too many clicks and saves, no place to put very simple things like freight charges, or discounts from a supplier (again we had to create new products called freight and supplier discounts, and then the system is fussy about the fact that they have no product codes or suppliers for freight, which caused us to set up a new vendors for it, etc. Am I the only retailer that has to pay freight for a delivery?) Changing a price as you receive an item doesn't update the costs for that product, so separate cost adjustments have to be made for each item, etc. Time wasters. Learning lightspeed is very difficult process. It's surprisingly non-intuitive, especially for a MAC product. The tutorials are very incomplete, support takes 24 hours to get back to you, and the solutions they suggest invariably cause new problems. It's a frustrating, time wasting, bloated piece of software that seems like no one ever tried to use it in a retail situation before putting it on the market. It can do so many things, but for a retail situation where we essentially just need a program to help us keep track of inventory, ring up and keep track of customers easily, and order and receive products quickly. We did almost 1000 sales items in the first few weeks, and still we felt like it was getting no easier. I think Lightspeed has a lot of work to do to make this program fit what you think a Mac program should be - easy to use, easy to learn. This is neither, and it costs a bundle.
Like
Version 2.8.6
3 answer(s)
Morpho
Morpho
31 July 2009
Wow
Like (1)
Version 2.8.7
Morpho
Morpho
31 July 2009
CHMA, I have to ask, are you sure you were using LightSpeed? All of the things you have listed in your review are complete opposite to the reality of LightSpeed. I have been using LightSpeed for over a year now and it has done nothing but save me time and troubles. If one has experience with any Point of Sales software, you will see LightSpeed to be a GREAT product. CHMA, have you had much experience using computers, POS, Mac or running a business for that matter. I have to question this due to your posting. It just doesn't make sense. Did you hire a certified LightSpeed reseller? It just sounds like you really have a learning curve issue with either computers or software and jumped in with no skills. Sorry I am not trying to bash you, as you did Xsilva (who as been great for me), but I am trying to figure out where you got the negative experience from as I just don't see truth to what you are stating. I have a couple of friends using LightSpeed (which is why I started using it), and they too rave about how it is better than anything out there we have used. PC or Mac. I have used quite a few different POS systems. The cost, IT time and frustration was huge. LightSpeed has cleared that up for me by and long shot. All software has development and issues throughout time. Even Apple with it's OS has issues from time to time, but they take care of the issues in a timely matter, just as Xsilva has done for issues that happen with operating system changes and such. Support? Again, who have you been dealing with. The other POS systems I used, I was left alone to figure things out and became quite the tech myself with this stuff, but with Xsilva, I have not experienced that at all. Their support is quite good I thought. Really I just can't believe that this posting is real. Sounds more like you just don't know what you are doing with anything computer or POS related. Sorry not trying to be mean, just really taken back by your posting. Good luck with business!
Like (3)
Version 2.8.7
Tractor-Sales
Tractor-Sales
02 August 2010
I agree... Lightspeed is simply not a commercial product, and never has been. It's very pretty, but has no real substance. It should run solely on an iPOD and has no business in business. They don't take into account that some businesses have more than a few hundred products and more than a couple of sales per day. How can you have a P.O.S. and Inventory system without built-in accounting? Accounting data needs to move both ways, from the backroom to the front! Exporting to QuickBooks is not accounting... The only commercial app for Mac that does P.O.S., Inventory, Accounting, etc. is PIMS by Executron. We've used it for over 12 years now, and it exceeds our needs. We have complicated retail sales, we do servicing and repair work, WEB sales, maintenance agreements, and rentals. PIMS does all this for us. It even does automated built-in accounting for us. My wife was always the first one to work and the last one to leave. She did our accounting. Now she can process all of our sales, repair deposits, A/R, A/P, etc. in just a few hours a day. Our local Apple dealer had Lightspeed, but changed to PIMS. They're much happier. I told them about PIMS. They can even send their Service Repair Orders to Apple automatically (GXS?). I wish I could do that with Caterpillar! Executron said they could do a plug-in for me to allow that, and I might take them up on it. Try PIMS!
Like
Version 3.1.1
Albertp
17 April 2009
anyone should be warned before purchasing this xsilva webstore program. the program itself is on the expensive side but this is not the issue. it is the hours and hours of IT and programming that is incurred to get this program to work. the customer service is TERRIBLE!! you will be paying an hourly rate (my IT person is $125 an hour to sit and wait for HOURS ..and many times not get a call back until the next day. your issues never get resolved but customer service is unreliable and you spend THOUSANDS of dollars and not get anywhere. THIS IS A RECESSION. i have found xsilva to be unreliable, unaccountable. you do not want to spending money today or really ever on such a product. there are only 2 customer service technicians to help 200 customers and each call is approximately an hour. this is not an user friendly product and is marketed as such. i have had a XSILVA TRAINED IT PERSON AND A COMPUTER PROGRAMMER WHO CANNOT FIGURE THIS OUT. your $125 an hour IT person who has been trained by xsilva needs to contact xsilva to solve the issues. please whoever is thinking of purchasing this product BEWARE.
Like (1)
Version 2.8.3
2 answer(s)
hyperionracing
hyperionracing
01 August 2009
You should get a new IT guy as this was quite straight forward. It was very easy to skin and setup for my three companies. Tech support was not needed as the instructions were enough for me, but when I have called Xsilva, the first time I got right through, the second a call back within the hour. Oh and really it would be a web developer you should be dealing with for "WEB SITES", don't you think? I am so annoyed by people who write slander about things when they have no idea of the things they speak of. Blaming a good product for you issues rather than on an unskilled "IT guy" most likely your pal who can browse the internet and get email all by himself is just silly. Learn to handle email before you become a PHP expert!
Like (2)
Version 2.8.7
hyperionracing
hyperionracing
01 August 2009
I should mention, my first e-commerce site cost $25,000 and works like a dream, still to this day. my e-commerce sites build on Xsilva's web store cost me all of $3,000 to $4,000 including setup and skinning and work like a dream. Is $25,000 vers $4,000 really a hard decision? The Xsilva trained IT guy is your guy not mine! What kind of IT guy has to sit on the phone for help. Did he call AppleCare to get help setting up your Mac as well?
Like (2)
Version 2.8.7
Matthew-mathis
29 October 2008
I do think Lightspeed is good software, but it is not working out well for my company. I do not have a storefront, but Lightspeed looked like it would handle quoting and invoicing with ease. I am only listing the things that this software does not do and items that have frustrated me. All of the following comments are complaints on a piece of software that is OK at many of the things I need it for. It could be better though, and here is why: Contacts: I truly do not understand why software that costs $10 dollars can integrate directly with the Apple Address Book and why Lightspeed does not. I have to drag vCards into Lightspeed to add a customer. Any info changed in Address Book or Lightspeed does not sync. I was told that this program included a CRM. It absolutely does not! I can log my calls. THATS IT!! How is that a CRM? It does not track email, do email campaigns, link contacts to businesses or each other or track sales progress. Timesheets: Just an idea, but why not make time-sheets usable to people out in the field? If this product is to be marketed to sales and installers there needs to be a way for employees to log in and start/stop their time. One more reason for me to use yet another program. Invoicing: What I really like is that you can attach pictures to each product for a better looking quote. The problem is that every other aspect of the quote is a pain. I am unable to make comments where I need to. There is no way to customize the look beyond changing your logo. Using Quotewerks and Microsoft Money I was able to make a line bold. This comes in really handy when I need to break the estimate into sections such as different rooms. Accounting: Lightspeed does not track expenses in any way. It is a pain to use two different pieces of software to manage quoting/invoicing and accounting. I feel for the price that it should be included. Other: The software itself can be quite a pain where most other software companies get it right. I cant stand not being able to add vendors/classes/colors on the fly while in an estimate. I have to close out everything that I am doing, then edit these items under the setup menu. Mobile Interface: Not usable for me since I can only view a few items and cant make any changes. How about a true app for the app store that does much more?
Like (1)
Version 2.7.1
SawtoothRising
18 September 2008
if the lightspeed website is offline and an admin logs in the application crashes, not sure if this is fixed in the latest version but it's proving to be quite annoying in 2.6.1
Like
Version 2.6.2
scotteg
01 May 2007
LightSpeed is an excellent solution with a solid track record and forward plan LightSpeed 2.0 extends its lead in POS/inventory management software with new features and enhancements including a much improved back-end interface. Not that the pre-2.x interface was bad, but that's exactly the point I want to make. *There is no perfect software.* I feel what defines the relative value of an application can be broken down into 4 simple concepts: 1. Functionality 2. Interface 3. Developer 4. Tech support Functionally, LightSpeed is highly-capable, well-organized, and stable. The interface is very handsome and Mac-like. These are justifiable reasons for downloading the free demo to try it for yourself as an A-B comparison with whatever other titles you are evaluating. That said, I can tell you from experience (I am a software consultant and have been working closely with Xsilva for over a year, and we also use LightSpeed to run our business), the people at Xsilva shine. They are genuinely interested in understanding and meeting the customer's needs (e.g., they host an active public blog), their tech support possesses a wonderful combination of expertise, patience, and courteousness, and the company's work ethic is epitomized by Dax Dasilva, the president and developer of LightSpeed. In *every* application, there is room for improvement and addition of new features. The key questions to ask are: 1. Does the application offer solid functionality that I can use effectively today to run my business? 2. Does the company behind the application have a plan and commitment to continually develop the application? In my experience, the answer to both questions of LightSpeed and Xsilva is, yes.
Like (2)
Version 2.0a
macgeekvt
02 January 2007
I researched Point of Sale solutions for the Mac for more than 5 years. Lightspeed is most certainly priced competitively. Its not the least expensive, but its far from the most expensive. I'd say you get what you pay for, but Lightspeed breaks that barrier by giving you far more than you pay for when compared to the alternatives. My business implemented Lightspeed 6 months ago and our workflow has been improved tremendously. The developer is very responsive and quickly resolves any issues. Given the complexity of the product, the ease of use and power is amazing!
Like (2)
Version 1.3.6
Flying-Ace
08 November 2006
Hah, I WANT to have my own business just so I can use this gorgeous piece of software!!
Like (1)
Version 1.3.5
Dustin Templeton
23 September 2006
I work for an Apple Specialist that has been trying differnt business management and point of sale systems for years. We've gone through multiple FileMaker systems, etc. Finally with LightSpeed, we have a real system for the Mac. The developers are amazing when it comes to supporting and listening to your requests. This system gets better every day. We started looking into it about 1 year ago. It wasn't quite where we needed it to be at that time, but they listened. They've implemented our reqeuested features and then some. We have about 20 users hitting the db every day, and it works great! I expect only great things to come from this company.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.2
Supredry
17 August 2006
We are a Mac retailer and service shop that has been running LightSpeed since 2005 and have found the software to be feature-rich, fast and reliable for our office of six (2 sales, 3 techs, 1 admin). The software is also developing rapidly which means we are continually gaining new functionality as our business grows. We are big fans of the quoting and invoicing tools and rely on its SRO and GSX features in our service department....other features we love and need: Ingram Micro lookup (what a time saver!!!) as well as reporting functions, just to name a few. We use a Star Micronics TSP143U printer, and a voyager bar code scanner at our cash and it runs like a charm. Our experience with Xsilva has also been outstanding, anytime that we have questions regarding the software or questions about setting up up, they have responded quickly. Overall we are very satisfied with the product, it is definitely moving forward at a pace well beyond expectation, and is maturing as it should.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.2
Ynot
13 August 2006
It may be beautiful, but its price makes it almost unaffordable by anyone other than a large business. My guess is that the price is due to OpenBase's outrageous pricing. $700 for a basic license puts it out of reach of anyone.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.2
3 answer(s)
Daxd
Daxd
14 August 2006
Thanks for your comments. LightSpeed is priced very competitively against Mac and PC-based Point of Sale apps of its class, often coming in hundreds or thousands of dollars less for a single user license. It also goes far beyond the capabilities of those systems - it can automate all aspects of a small business, not just the front cash: http://www.xsilva.com/features.php LightSpeed is an OS X-only SQL-based POS app that gives small businesses a great reason to install beautiful Mac hardware in their retail stores and offices. Our customers and resellers see real value in their LightSpeed workflows, and they range in size from one-person operations to 25-user Mac dealerships. We understand the software may not be for everyone but encourage you to explore its capabilities if you are a small business owner looking for a solid Mac-based business tool. Xsilva offers free 'Intro to LightSpeed' webinars every week, do sign up if you are interested in seeing a guided tour of LightSpeed :). http://www.xsilva.com/webinars.php Best Regards, Dax Dasilva CEO, Xsilva Systems
Like (1)
Version 1.2.2
Plainjane
Plainjane
29 September 2006
The cost of Xsilva's Lightspeed is MORE than competitive - it is the best out there for comparable Mac based POS systems. I have been researching this for over two years and the closest estimate that I have received for a comparable system is $3800. I'll have to buy a new intel based mac to run this software but will still come out about $1000 ahead!
Like (1)
Version 1.2.2
Kbeat
Kbeat
10 October 2008
Do you run/own a small business? Have you actually priced these systems? The price for LightSpeed is incredibly competitive. It's quite common for such systems for small to medium sized businesses to run $50,000 and up.
Like (1)
Version 2.7.1
Aname
05 May 2006
Wow... Amazing gorgeousness galore... THIS is what Mac programs should look like.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.4