Back to CleanApp page
CleanApp free download for Mac

CleanApp Reviews

5.1.3
13 July 2017

Application deinstaller and archiver.

Bruseth
08 November 2008

Most helpful

Time after time, version after version I had hoped that they would fix the problems with the ‘CleanApp Daemon' - but it hasn't happened. That's what's finally prompted me to write this somewhat negative review. Sorry. If you hear a lot of disk activity, your machine slows down, it takes longer for programs to launch, just go to ‘Activity Monitor' and you will see that the ‘CleanApp Daemon' is way up there, taxing the heck out of your machine. It (the ‘CleanApp Daemon') either finally needs to be fixed, or taken out of the program If it can't be fixed. If it is taken out of the program, then this program will really be just the same as the rest of the similar programs out there, including the free ones. I waited and waited to write this review. I didn't want to write a bad review, and really hoped they would fix the problem. But seeing that it's still not fixed, I figured that it is only fair to alert other, potential users of the problem with this app.
Like (12)
Version 3.0

Read 250 CleanApp User Reviews

Rate this app:

artie505
11 July 2019
Long story short, CleanApp does not even find everything that a Find Any File search would find. My full critique of CleanApp, including screenshot documentation of its failures can be found at <https://www.finetunedmac.com/forums/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=52039#Post52039Easy Find Leftovers | Networking | FineTunedMac>
Like (1)
Version 5.1.3
3 answer(s)
artie505
artie505
11 July 2019
Correcting that URL: <https://www.finetunedmac.com/forums/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=52039#Post52039>
Like (1)
artie505
artie505
12 July 2019
And for those who aren't interested in following the link...

CleanApp debunked...

Admittedly skeptical about its claims, I d/l'ed the CleanApp demo, OK'd all the options, and examined Excel, which, of my apps, is the one most likely to have planted files all over my SSD, and indeed, CleanApp found many items that were presented - deceptively, as I ultimately learned - as being of seemingly indeterminate origin.

My immediate take was that CleanApp actually is somehow capable of finding files "hidden in places you wouldn't expect them to be," but I quickly discovered that the paths to many of them included "Excel," so Spotlight, Find Any File, et. al. would have found them handily. (The paths that didn't include "Excel" were Microsoft/Office, not specifically Excel, related.)

But in keeping with my mission, I hit delete, emptied the trash, ran a Find Any File search for "Excel," and found that CleanApp had NOT completely deleted it.

And likewise, it failed to find all the components of my other apps.

CONCLUSION: Assuming that my results are representative, which seems like a fair assumption, CleanApp DOES NOT DO THE APP REMOVAL JOB IT PURPORTS TO DO, AND IN THAT RESPECT IT'S AN UNMITIGATED FRAUD!

And the ultimate irony is that after following Synium Software's instructions for uninstalling the demo, Find Any File found more than 100 remaining items, which seems kind of spiteful.
Like (1)
artie505
artie505
16 July 2019
And for the skeptics... Take a look in /private/var/folders/gm/55g5mmjw8xsb8_008k8jsxjh0000gn/C and /private/var/folders/gm/55g5mmjw8xsb8_008k8jsxjh0000gn/T

and you'll see a history of maybe every app that CleanApp has ever removed.
Like (1)
alfadental
01 June 2019
very good
Like
Version 5.1.3
Megavolt17
23 December 2017
After updating to High Sierra it no longer worked. I tried the latest version and same problem. I removed it using AppDelete, then used EasyFInd to look for anything that may be related and missed. I then reinstalled the latest version and it now works perfectly again. This is the app that removes software most completely. That it why I keep going back to it. It can use the community to assist in finding additional files to remove (optional). It can remove orphans and incompatible software. It can remove language files. It can trim old software that still has unneeded data forks. It can find duplicates. But it removes more files missed by other uninstallers so I am glad that I got it working again.
Like
Version 5.1.3
mark-brady1
29 March 2017
unable to open it on macos sierra
Like
Version 5.1.2
Mac27intel
22 February 2017
Just installed Sierra and CleanApp is behaving in a rather strange way....! It displays ALL the relative information as follows: _CLEAN_UP_PANE_WELCOME_LABEL_. wondering if this is a strange bug that needs some fixing at their end? MacMan, Feb. 22/2017
Like
Version 5.1.2
ElCriptado
23 October 2016
The sad truth is that in order to safely remove the 99% you have to have all three software, iTrash, AppDelete, and CleanApp. CleanApp is based on its Registry demon, but the other two applications by algorithms executed very well without any registry daemon. The algorithmic part of CleanApp however much to be desired. This means that the three applications can coexist perfectly without conflicts. Sometimes the results are the same for all, sometimes CleanApp is better, but sometimes it's best iTrash and / or AppDelete. When a file escapes the algorithms can be hoped that the registry CleanApp do his fucking job (that's why the 99% to 100% of seats). Every so often happens but you can be sure that always happens. In reality, only a few days ago I downloaded the new 5.1.2, but I have not seen any change in the situation. The register is the same as 5.0.x. Take all three applications, and then you can really have a good level of removing files.
Like (4)
Version 5.1.2
1 answer(s)
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
12 July 2017
Another useful application is FSMonitor; lots of cleanup applications don't support files added into e.g. /private/var/root/ … FSMonitor has that covered; you can run FSMonitor when you first install/launch a new application, and then you'll know if it puts files into some "unusual" places.
Like (2)
verprop
28 September 2016
omg. The 5.11 version actually seems to correct the spinning beachball and also I noticed that CleanApp isn't jumping around to different application selections and is for once sticking to the one I'm trying to uninstall. This is a good thing as lately I was dreading the time it took just to uninstall an application and having to endure watching the app choices jump around like a ball in a roulette wheel.
Like
Version 5.1.1
1 answer(s)
verprop
verprop
17 December 2016
Nevermind. It's still painfully slow. Why does this installed Application list have to pop up and make me wait for it to scan and process data on all my Applications when all I want to do is quicky pick only one app to uninstall?
Its pretty ridiculous.
Like
MichaelHaeusler
27 September 2016
This is half a star for the v5.1.1 updater, yes, the *updater*, not the update. On 10.11.6 the in-app updating process stopped CleanApp, listed as "not responding" in Activity Monitor, and it brought the whole system to a grinding halt, while still showing that it was "updating", and I had to "please wait". After approx. 20 minutes I force quit the scheiße and relaunched, and my oh my, it said v5.1.1. This software is such a bloated piece of manure that it can't even UPDATE ITSELF correctly! Too bad that the core functinality is the best on the market, so I actually need to use it. But please please please, dear developers, make this a real software again. You probably don't know how much actual pain and despair you're causing your customers.
Like (2)
Version 5.1.1
BobUN
30 April 2016
Excellent désinstallateur. Malheureusement a perdu au passage l'archivage car Apple ne l'autorisait plus, trop de risques de réintroduire des fichiers incompatibles. Mais il fait son job très correctement et je n'ai jamais eu de soucis.
Like
Version 5.1
Eveningclouds
19 November 2015
Very slow on my Yosemite, with bizarre scrolling behavior (insists on jumping to the top while I try to scroll down; that is, will not pause in the middle of the file list). Often unresponsive (frozen? thinking? not paying attention?). Where do all the discarded files go, in case I make a mistake? There are free/less expensive programs that are a lot quicker (although other reviewers here claim that CleanApp does a better job). For me, it's not the price, though, but the maddening slowness and quirkiness of performance.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.2
4 answer(s)
Zx81
Zx81
17 February 2016
Hi, I suspect it only "insists on jumping to the top while (you) try to scroll down" because it has not finished scanning the HD for apps.
Like
Zx81
Zx81
17 February 2016
"(insists on jumping to the top while I try to scroll down)" : this is just when it is still scanning the HD for apps ; this behaviour stops when the list of apps is complete.
Like
Eveningclouds
Eveningclouds
17 February 2016
Zx81, thanks for the reply. Not every program behaves like this, and it would otherwise be OK but it takes forever to finish scanning and provides no feedback while it is 'thinking,,' so the user experience is a bit unsettling. You think it's done, but it's not so you're constantly being bumped to the top of the queue.
Like (1)
Kobalt
Kobalt
27 September 2016
Regarding all the discarded files, have a read of this:

http://www.syniumsoftware.com/support-article/i-accidentally-deleted-an-application-with-cleanapp-now-how-do-i-get-it-back-again?identifier=CAP5

It's not super helpful, because who would know where the files all came from originally, but at least you now know where the discarded files end up.
Like
MichaelHaeusler
11 November 2015
Four cautious stars for the updated version 5.0.2. The initial version 5 release was an offense, not deserving a release to paying customers at all. The new GUI was laggy, full of glitches and bugs, not only on El Capitan, but already on Yosemite; the app felt "bloated", i.e. it was slow—and I mean really super-slow!—, and it crashed quite often. Still, though, it did its job, and that job it's doing with bravura: as uninstallers go—and I've tested a few—CleanApp is BY FAR the BEST solution you can imagine. I just wish that there would be a better solution for uninstalling preference panes and other helpers that are not "real applications" per se. Anyway, first quick glance: the v5.0.2 GUI is still the same effects-laden GUI, which we don't really need, but it seems faster, snappier, with no bugs or crashes yet on El Capitan. Hope it stays that way.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.2
DOCa-Cola
28 September 2015
I already reviewed CleanApp a while back where i praised it's functionality. It still has probably the best engine to find and remove ALL files that an application has created. However CleanApp went steadily downhill after version 3. Version 4 was still good, occasional slowdowns and crashes. Version 5 was a take on a more modern GUI. That attempt failed. It is slow, it is full of bugs and it is actually counterintuitive to use. To the developers: Overhaul the GUI once again. Use less effects, make more use of standard controls. All you did was adding bloat with version 4 and especially 5. Go back concentrating on your core feature: uninstalling applications. Move other features like finding double files, empty folder, old files etc to a separate application and offer it for free to existing CleanApp buyers. CleanApp is bloatware starting with version 4. The magic "clean your mac" button is the best indicator for that. Remove it as well. You have to start over in order to win back customers! I'd really love to see CleanApp back being the best uninstall app for mac!
Like (5)
Version 5.0.1
1 answer(s)
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
11 November 2015
First glance with version 5.0.2: it's actually gotten better. But what you say still applies: it's still (also) a fairly annoying piece of effectsware… a typical OS X new-world application. Without that, but instead with standard controls, and with some code-tweaking (especially regarding computation of infos for the installed-applications-list) it would be a lean, fast and sexy app. At the moment it's an ugly work-horse, but at least it's a work-horse, which will get the job done.
Like (1)
BobUN
05 September 2015
Trouve de nombreux fichiers et possible de participer à la communauté qui signale d'autres fragments. En plus en français.
Like
Version 5.0.1
Radus
14 June 2015
good idea, ... but it is way better to use tinkertool system in combination with uninstallpkg
Like
Version 5.0.1
Radus
14 June 2015
good idea, ... but it is way better to use tinkertool system in combination with uninstallpkg
Like
Version 5.0.1
TomJ2166
01 May 2015
Useless. Crashes and freezes on my 10.8.5 system. Regret to buy update and went back to the old 3.4 version, which works fine to remove the 5.01 version.
Like
Version 5.0.1
Rochade
31 March 2015
I also have to give this app a low rating now as the main really top feature has gone: archiving files for reinstallation. I have to look somewhere else now.
Like
Version 5.0
polocanada
30 March 2015
Same opinion as OTs. Used to be great. Now it would be an understatement if I describe the application as a mess. Looking for replacement.
Like
Version 5.0
1 answer(s)
polocanada
polocanada
02 May 2015
OK. So now I am confident I wasn't just dreaming or becoming an official troll of Macupdate. This application can now be called a trainwreck. Looking at their website they show the old interface, so I was thinking the version 5 has the old interface again (happy face). But after installing it it's completely redesigned. The developer has simplified things, but not sure if everybody would like it, I have to mostly look what's under the tree structure, because I wouldn't simply blindly uninstall things. However, that's not the point. I had to uninstall it. It uses so much CPU, even when idling. Why does the author calculate size of each and every application showing in the left panel list? That creates enormous CPU load. But the CPU load doesn't end there, it continues to be above 80% every time the UI of the app is opened. The Daemon runs just fine, but it also consumes more resources than the daemon in older versions. I had to uninstall and go back to v 3.4.10 on Mavericks which still seems work fine.
Like
Sodium
28 March 2015
It has it's problems but still IMHO one of the cleanest [sic]
Like
Version 5.0
jack2001
12 January 2015
applicazione decisamente mediocre.
itrash e appdelete fanno molto meglio ad un prezzo molto più contenuto
Like
Version 5.0.0 Beta 5
ElCriptado
28 December 2014
I do not like the current version because to do a reset of some applications , you must restart the computer , as with previous versions it was not necessary . Using cleamymac of Yosemite is not necessary even with that. Moreover, contrary to what someone said earlier, archiving also worked on version 4 . I can not understand why they eliminated the archiving , since it was the only thing to make a real difference with the other software . I am sorry to criticize negatively this software , I hope they change my opinion in the future.
Like
Version 5.0.0 Beta 5
1 answer(s)
Kobalt
Kobalt
27 March 2015
We get it, you do not like the current version. Probably would've been enough to post that just once, though.
Like (1)
ElCriptado
28 December 2014
I do not like the current version because to do a reset of some applications , you must restart the computer , as with previous versions it was not necessary . Using cleamymac of Yosemite is not necessary even with that. Moreover, contrary to what someone said earlier, archiving also worked on version 4 . I can not understand why they eliminated the archiving , since it was the only thing to make a real difference with the other software . I am sorry to criticize negatively this software , I hope they change my opinion in the future.
Like
Version 5.0.0 Beta 5
ElCriptado
28 December 2014
I do not like the current version because to do a reset of some applications , you must restart the computer , as with previous versions it was not necessary . Using cleamymac of Yosemite is not necessary even with that. Moreover, contrary to what someone said earlier, archiving also worked on version 4 . I can not understand why they eliminated the storage , since it was the only thing to make a real difference with the other software . I am sorry to criticize negatively this software , I hope they change my opinion in the future.
Like
Version 5.0.0 Beta 5
Mikebenda
21 December 2014
I was also having the problem that CleanApp didn't launch when I dragged an Application to the trash. With this update that problem has been fixed. Although it's not perfect and can be a bit confusing at times, I prefer the new look and interface.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.0 Beta 5
1 answer(s)
WordWeaver
WordWeaver
27 December 2014
Well, Tobias wrote to me on December 11, 2014 and informed me that the problem with CleanApp not launching when an app is trashed would be fixed in beta 5. However, I just sent the Growl app to the trash -- being as i am lightening my system load a bit -- and CleanApp beta 5 still did not launch. So I guess YMMV. I ended up using the free EasyFind to find and manually delete all Growl-related files and folders.

Personally, I have had the feeling for some time now that CleanApp is starting to fall through the cracks. Sad, being as I purchased it some time ago.
Like
Macclaus
20 December 2014
Other apps are much better
Like
Version 5.0.0 Beta 5
WordWeaver
31 October 2014
I realize that version 5 is still in beta, but this version has some serious issues, such as the following: 1. For at least the past two betas, CleanApp 5 is not being launched when an app is sent to the trash, even though the "Open CleanApp" option is selected in its preferences on the "Logging" pane. 2. Being as CleanApp is not launching when an app is trashed, just now I launched it manually, selected an app from the programs list, and then deleted all of the associated files and folders. At that point, CleanApp crashed. 3. What is the purpose of the CleanApp prefs pane, being as the same preferences are available via CleanApp's preferences under the "CleanApp" menu? 4. I installed the CleanApp prefs pane. When you open the pane in the System Preferences app, on the bottom it says "Click the lock to make changes." Uh-oh. Guess what? There is no lock to be found on that pane. 5. In my view, an app's preference files -- plist files -- should be selected by default for deletion, being as they are clearly associated with the app. However, for some odd reason, this is not the case with all of them. In some cases, they are listed under "Further Files/Preference Files", which requires additional clicking and folder opening, which consumes time. I like this app, and I have used it for four years now. However, in my opinion, this beta is clearly not ready yet for public distribution. I hope that the developer is able to address these issues soon. Thanks!
Like (1)
Version 5.0.0 Beta 4
1 answer(s)
WordWeaver
WordWeaver
04 December 2014
I just sent an email to Synium regarding the fact that CleanApp no longer launches when an app is sent to the trash. Let's hope that they can offer a solution to this problem soon.
Like (1)
richHolod
25 October 2014
"Application deinstaller and archiver" Where's the "archiver" description and function?
Like
Version 5.0.0 Beta 4
Megavolt17
25 October 2014
Finds more pieces of programs you are uninstalling than anything else I've tried. Ability to see if other people generally delete a file that may or may not be safe to remove with uninstalled program is a nice feature. My only gripe is that it's become more eye candy, but also a bit harder to navigate than prior versions.
Like (2)
Version 5.0.0 Beta 4
Pusfarm
22 October 2014
I just tried v.5 beta 3 because v.3 no longer appears to be working properly in Yosemite (deleting an app no longer opens CleanApp so I'm not sure if the logging service is working, and the support site is no help). I wasn't prompted, but I added the host app and daemon to Accessibility. Also checked the box in Lingon to keep the service running no matter what. Neither appeared to do anything. Slow and frustrating so far. When deleting an app, I would think that you'd want to include preference files - I certainly do. This version considers them "Further Files" and doesn't show them by default. So you open that folder and have to open yet another folder to check the ones you want to delete. Every time. No preference to always show them. v.3 had a top checkbox toggle that would select/deselect all files and at times I found it better to check all boxes then uncheck the files to keep (unrelated, shared, etc.). This version has no such option which means we have to open the two folders and check all the boxes every time we delete something. Not good. Maintenance scripts are checked to run by default. Uncheck them, go to another screen, then back to Maintenance and they're all checked again. $4.99 to upgrade is very reasonable, but not with a beta that works like this (I typically don't buy beta at all).
Like (2)
Version 5.0.0 Beta 3
Lounge-Deluxe
15 October 2014
Version 5 beta looks good, but will there be a system performance hit due to its logging service?
Like
Version 5.0.0 Beta 3
F451
07 September 2014
I purchased a license to version 4 upon readings all the glowing reviews of version 3—I never used version 4 as it was utterly abysmal. However, I actually like version 5 quite a bit and have found it useful (it nailed some older files I thought I had deleted in the past). I'll go against the tide here and even show my support for the new interface; for me, the controls and layouts are intuitive. This is still a beta, but I will happily keep using it as well as the other apps I have in this category as no one app always finds or fixes everything. BTW, it read my v4 license and indicated, through the grayed out menu selection, that is registered. It's too early for me to give it a star rating, but they are off to a great start.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.0 Beta 1
1 answer(s)
Kitmos
Kitmos
13 October 2014
I agree. I like the new interface much better. Here's hoping!
Like (1)
Masterminter
06 September 2014
Not a review yet. Sadly this beta is awful. Terrible slow working and crashed two times when scanning. atm iTrash is my main tool for removing apps.
Like
Version 5.0.0 Beta 1
astechman
05 September 2014
This update looks very promising and is definitely worth a try, my interest in this app has been revived. Based on a quick look, I would give it 4.5 stars
Like (1)
Version 5.0.0 Beta 1
ElCriptado
04 September 2014
Non è più possibile archiviare i file.
Like
Version 5.0.0 Beta 1
1 answer(s)
Gregm
Gregm
05 September 2014
Versione 3 x era quello ultimo di archiviare Disinstalla
Version 3x was the last one to archive uninstalls
Like
Mikebenda
04 September 2014
I've tried the beta and it works fine for me. I might be in the minority but I've had no problems and I like the new interface which will look great with Yosemite. I'll admit that this app is sometimes not as intuitive as I'd like it to be, but it is a Beta version after all. I love the new App Data removal feature! CleanApp found a lot of old files related to applications I had deleted. I would like to see the option to list exactly what files are included in Further Files and which files are included in Temporary and Log files. Better said, whenever I have the option to delete files, I want the option to see exactly what I'm choosing to delete. I find the Maintenance and More sections helpful and am glad they are included. You don't have to use them if you don't want to. It seems much, much faster than version 4.
Like
Version 5.0.0 Beta 1
June8
04 September 2014
In the Clean Up section, it shows Files to remove safely and count of files and the total size. But how do I know which files to be deleted? I cannot see them. Come on Synium, with every new version, this application is going down and down.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.0 Beta 1
gryphonent
04 September 2014
This new version 5 is just horrible. The entire layout and user interface… what where they thinking? CleanApp 4 already was a let-down from version 3 and now this miscarriage. It looks like Synium Software wants to position CleanApp along CleanMyMac and other apps that focus on cleaning out old files and logs. Thing is, that this is not where CleanApp originated. By its very name its purpose was to find files related to installed programs. An uninstaller. And version 3 was the best of its kind. With version 4 Synium started its path downhill implementing maintenance scripts (no, really?) and other gimmicks that nobody needed. Instead they should have focused on improving the uninstaller part. But alas, they didn’t. Clean App 5 is a mess. It doesn’t know what it wants to be and has completely lost focus of its core use.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.0 Beta 1
1 answer(s)
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
04 September 2014
I'm wondering if they lost their development team from version 3. I mistakenly upgraded to version 4 which was a disaster. I'll give this beta look since they at least aren't gouging the version 4 users for an upgrade fee, but I'm pretty sure I won't be switching from AppDelete, which IMHO is the best basic uninstaller on the Mac currently.
Like
Christel1987
04 September 2014
Not a surprise to me. A new year a new CleanApp overhaul. 4.0 was a disaster and still is. You might think they learn from this failure and put something new and exiting for 5.0 I fiddled with it for 1 hour and I am more disappointing then ever before. What were the devs thinking creating the new user interface and workflow? A maze is so much easier to get through. I did not upgrade to 4.0 and skip this version too.
Like
Version 5.0.0 Beta 1
Matteodefelice
04 September 2014
I'm trying the beta version and, surprisingly, I don't know how this app is supposed to work. The 'clean up' tab has a fancy vacuum cleaner picture with no buttons or actions... I suggest the authors to provide a quick tutorial to guide the user to the most relevant actions...
Like
Version 5.0.0 Beta 1
5 answer(s)
Christel1987
Christel1987
04 September 2014
The new interface is aweful and unusable. A good userinterface does not need a manual.
Like
Synium
Synium
04 September 2014
The button to start the cleanup is just below the vacuum cleaner
Like (1)
Matteodefelice
Matteodefelice
05 September 2014
I can't see any button...
https://www.dropbox.com/s/sxxipcj5g5h5qb1/Screenshot%202014-09-05%2009.24.02.png?dl=0
Like
Synium
Synium
05 September 2014
I meant the blue text below the vacuum cleaner!
Like (1)
Matteodefelice
Matteodefelice
05 September 2014
Ah ok, that's not a button and it does *not* invite the user to click it! Come on!
Like (2)
Gregm
04 September 2014
MUD -- please separate the beta from the stable this time. The "it's broken" v4 beta reviews buried the perfectly fine stable v3 product info "way back when". Most of that should have been beta tester feedback to the developer
Like
Version 5.0.0 Beta 1
DOCa-Cola
15 July 2014
Besides the slight bloat version 4.0 has received, it is probably still the best uninstall software around. This is because it tracks files created by an application. To my knowledge, no other uninstall utility does that. What i'd recommend for version 5.0 is that they remove the stuff that is unrelated to uninstalling application. To not anger happy 4.0 customers they could just move functionality in a separate free utility. But i guess it would work to just drop unnecessary features all together, since there are a multitude of utilities that do these tasks better. Let CleanApp go back to it's core feature - uninstalling applications - and forget about the other stuff. ... Still, in my eyes the best uninstall application around.
Like (2)
Version 4.0.8
Gregm
05 July 2014
Too much "stuff", less real action. I really missed the simplicity of version 3x and the ability to archive an uninstall --- can't find it in version 4. The developer did provide this "remove 4" thing that doesn't mess with an existing version 3 installation ---- you'd never figure it out for yourself. http://tinyurl.com/nj4a4pt
Like
Version 4.0.8
Markoh
18 March 2014
I used AppDelete to get rid of CleanApp. Best move ever.
Like (5)
Version 4.0.8
Djefis
16 March 2014
I have always used CleanApp, but this version is too heavy. Too many resources are required for its use.
Like (2)
Version 4.0.8
GeogProf
21 January 2014
This was once the best app in its class, but now it’s a hot mess of disparate functions that are already offered for free in other OS 10.6.8 utilities. The extra capabilities are not well organized, and they seem to have been added just to make up for CleanApp’s poor performance at finding files associated with those the user wants to uninstall. In any case, these additional functions could not have been very difficult to add to this program because they’re all already part of the OS and thus constitute no creative value added, but rather they introduce unneeded UI confusion and complexity. Fundamentally, the additional functions just don’t belong in this kind of utility, in my opinion. As I do every time it’s updated in the misguided hope that it might some day recapture its former glory, I just tested CleanApp against the latest versions of iTrash and AppCleaner, and it failed to find the associated files of 8 of the 9 apps I tried. Though the Clean Community was turned on and functioning normally, it aided the basic algorithm by a factor of exactly zero — that is, it had no effect. Conversely, iTrash found the expected related files for 8 of the 9 tested apps without using its ‘Expert’ mode, and it was 9 for 9 with ‘Expert’ mode turned on, even though it also found many superfluous files. AppCleaner found nothing but the target apps themselves. CleaApp and iTrash were tested with their respective system logging features turned off (AppCleaner doesn’t have one) because it makes absolutely no sense to me to have such a feature running all the time and slowing down the system (no matter what the dev and others may say, the more daemons and other such things that are running slows down system responsiveness — unequivocally). Since iTrash is only $8 and CleanApp is $15, to me the winner of this exercise was clear. It makes no difference to me that AppCleaner is free, since it failed utterly to do its job in all the tests.
Like (7)
Version 4.0.7
1 answer(s)
Sigil
Sigil
20 March 2014
Helpful!
Like
Big Johnson
06 January 2014
Why would anyone pay 15 bucks for an uninstaller?! That's an outrageous price for what it does (and judging by the 2.5 star rating, it doesn't do well). AppCleaner is absolutely FREE and highly rated (and works fairly well), and AppTrap is also FREE and well-rated. This appears to be the most expensive and also the lowest rated of all the uninstallers still being maintained, so why even consider it? If you really MUST spend money to convince yourself you're getting better software, then buy AppDelete (works very well) or iTrash for nearly half the price, and use the leftover cash to buy a 6-pack of beer or a couple gallons of gas.
Like (3)
Version 4.0.7
5 answer(s)
Alexander-Friedrich
Alexander-Friedrich
06 March 2014
Did you actually test the software?
Like (1)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
13 March 2014
Nope - that's why my message is posted as a comment, not a review. I'm simply trying to point people to better (and cheaper) options.
Like
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
25 August 2014
CleanApp 3 was much better than AppCleaner. AppCleaner would just find similar named files, and most of the time it was wrong. CleanApp actually found files and folder associated with the app. But I hate to say that version 4 doesn't work very well.

Why use an uninstaller? Ti get those buts not easier found, such as preferences and support files/folders. Sure, you can do that manually, but this was much faster. As soon as you trashed an app, it would pop up and give yo the option of deleting other files.

Like
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
25 August 2014
Also, I can't get a 6 pack of beer and a couple of gallons of gas for $15. Not sure what kind of beer you drink, or gas prices in your area. ;)
Like
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
25 August 2014
The important conjunction here is OR. I said "buy a 6-pack of beer or a couple gallons of gas." I didn't say buy gas AND beer. Buying AppDelete for $7.99 leaves $7.01 for gas OR beer.

I KNOW why to use an uninstaller, that's why I use them. Lots of apps plant stuff in invisible root level folders like /private/var/folders.

AppDelete finds 11 items for 1Password, so dragging the app to the trash would leave 10 items cluttering up my system.
Like
Schwity
19 December 2013
Hi. I'm using CleanApp since version 3.x. Of course in the beginning of version 4, its new interface and a lot of other changes, I was confused, too. But through all the updates I have never had a strong problem, also with the optional protocol service you could activate to run as an background process. With version 4.0.7 think the Synium Softwar has reached a level and a very useful application: stable, fast, reliable. Up to now I can't find any problem.
Like (3)
Version 4.0.7
1 answer(s)
Hal2007
Hal2007
20 December 2013
Slowly improving over previous versions. Still, it's EXTREMELY SLOW. Especially if you once compare it to the free AppCleaner, which is blazing fast, and finds the same.
Like
baxsur
13 December 2013
This is the first version 4 that will launch without crashing. Now that i see what this app is all about and its features...i think it's great!
Like (2)
Version 4.0.6
Lutz-077
03 December 2013
Ich habe die Version 4.05 deinstallieren ,üssen, da die App meine 16 GB RAM vollgemüllt hat. Darauf hin musste ich deb Rechner manuell neu starten, da das System zu keiner Reaktion fähig war. Die Meldung ging am 11. September an den Programmierer. Heute nach fast Drei Monaten hat der Geschäftsführer von Synium indirekt die Unfähigkeit der Programmierer bestätigt, in dem er an´wies mir mein Geld zu überweisen. Eine eigenständige Reaktion war innerhalb dieser Zeit nicht drin. Es wurde nur reagiert statt, agiert. Eine Lösung des Problems wurde meiner Meinung nach nicht einmal versucht. Wie soll man den Inhalt der Mail: "Bedingt durch Krankheit und die Konzeption der nächst größeren CleanApp Version war es mir zeitlich noch nicht möglich mit der Arbeit am nächsten Update bzw. der Testversion zu beginnen. Ich werde voraussichtlich im Laufe dieser Woche damit starten und mich - wie versprochen - bei Ihnen melden sobald ich eine erste testbare Version vorliegen habe." sonst auch auslegen. Eine weiter Hinweis auf fehlende Kompetenz; "Ich hatte schlussendlich das Problem reproduzieren - wenn auch noch nicht lösen - können. Verursacht wird das Problem, durch eine sehr starke Auslastung der Festplatte (und das kann bei Programmen wie Wavelab, Final Cut usw. durchaus mal passieren). Diese Daten landen unweigerlich in CleanApp's Hintergrundprozess, welcher ab einem gewissen Zeitpunkt die Daten nicht mehr verarbeiten kann, anfängt Daten auf Ihrer Festplatte auszulagern und schlussendlich Ihr System lahmlegt. " Am 21. November kam dann der größte Hammer: "wir arbeiten nach wie vor an dem Problem. Unser Entwickler ist intensiv bemüht, eine Lösung zu finden. Bitte haben Sie Verständnis, dass manche Probleme nicht innerhalb von Stunden behoben werden können. Wir sind hier ein sehr kleines team - aber wirr geben unser Bestes." Diese Aussage nach mehr als zwei Monaten ist die Krönung der Frechheit und Inkompetenz.
Like (2)
Version 4.0.5
1 answer(s)
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
12 December 2013
For the benefit of others, I am providing my guess at a translation of the above (which I got mainly from Google Translate). I must warn you, I don't speak any German, yet I did my best to modify several instances where I found Google Translate's translation to be confusing: "I uninstalled the version 4.05 because the app littered my 16 GB of RAM. Thereafter, I had to manually restart the computer, since the system was capable of no reaction. I sent a message on 11 September to the programmer. Today, after almost three months, the managing director of Synium has indirectly confirmed the inability of the programmer, in which he advised me to get a refund. In my opinion, no solution of the problem was even tried. Here is part of the content of their email to me: "Due to problems and the design of the next larger version CleanApp is not yet possible to begin work on an update or trial version - I'll probably start later this week and, as promised - I'll get back to you. On 21 November then came the biggest hammer: " We are still working on the problem, our developers are pursuing an intense effort to find a solution. Please understand that some problems can not be resolved within hours. We are only a very small team - struggling, but we are doing our best." This statement, which came to me after more than two months, is the culmination of insolence and incompetence."
Like (2)
weinhous
24 November 2013
My rating are based on both how CleanApp.app 4.0.5 functions and on the quality of support. The program freezes every time I try to quit and I have to use Mavericks' "Force Quit" The program never seems to finish cataloging applications, even though I let it run for 16 hours. Synium support has not been responsive/helpful. Hope they can get their act together and return CleanApp back to its highly-regarded status.
Like (2)
Version 4.0.5