Back to BackupList+ page
BackupList+ free download for Mac

BackupList+ Reviews

8.8.0
06 February 2019

File copy and backup application.

ylluminate
15 May 2011

Most helpful

I really want to like this application. The developer has the right idea and I think it's potentially the best backup option for Mac OS X, however it desperately needs to support ssh differential transfers / backups. If it could just allow a clear setup vs feeding it an advanced command line, it would be gold. Further, being able to interpret the backup state of this ssh transfer visually would be a plus. It can be done, but would require a little extra setup on probably an additional interface tab. Rob, can we have this added?
Like (4)
Version 7.2.5

Read 51 BackupList+ User Reviews

Rate this app:

flavito81
31 December 2018
I just want to congratulate the developer of this great app. I've tried a few backup apps before backuplist+ and this is definitely the best so far. It's so easy to use and it does exactly what I need, scheduled backup of whatever folders I want. Thanks a lot Mr. Rob DuToit!
Like (1)
Version 8.7.2
raphael-10
22 October 2018
Excellent program and excellent support. I had more questions than problems, but Rob took the time to answer all my questions and help me streamline the program for my needs. I've been using BackupList+ for years backing up my video and audio collections without ever a problem or delay in spite of numerous MacOS system upgrades. Outstanding program. Outstanding developer.
Like (1)
Version 8.6.1
Lightning
29 August 2018
I am using BackupList+ on a 2015 iMac running HighSierra. In my opinion BackupList+ is almost as feature filled as Carbon Copy Cloner and with more features than SuperDuper. If in doubt give it a try. Also, Rob (the developer) just gave me great help for problems I have been having with backing up using the other 2 programs. I am now using BackupList+ since I like its looks, features and operation. I clone nightly to different destination drives and backup my documents folder dailey in the morning.
Like (1)
Version 8.6.1
Stainless-Steel
02 July 2018
Between BackupList+ being able to do a Mirror/Clone of the entire HD for Local storage and then we have Arq as our "Hourly" backup for each machine, we are 100% covered for something serious. First, the local drives are backed up bi-weekly, they are stored under lock/key in a fire proof safe, this way we have all of the updates. With Arq backing up hourly, and we get 1tb per person on MS Office, we have their entire user folder backed up, so once we recover with a local HD we can download the latest data back to a new machine. There is one catch... You have to quit Arq Agent to get BackupList+ to perform the Clone/Mirror backup. So while minor, it a puts us in a situation that we know that we are covered and it's not costing us an arm and a leg! I recommend making a small donation to the dev for this lovely app!
Like (1)
Version 8.6.1
johnnylv89
12 February 2018
Nice utility, more flexible than time machine in my opinion
Like
Version 8.6.1
Max-G
20 January 2018
Questions: Does BackupList+ make bootable clones? And does it make 'smart updates' like SuperDuper? Thus, only adjusting the recently changed files, while leaving the rest untouched?
Like
Version 8.6
2 answer(s)
Rob Dutoit Frames
Rob Dutoit Frames
11 February 2018
Yes it makes bootable clones and updates. You should contact me with questions as I don't use this forum to answer users.
Like (3)
Max-G
Max-G
11 February 2018
Good to read your reply. Two remarks:
1. It was a question for the community here, not (only) for you.
2. Maybe you should reconsider your standpoint in this respect, as public questions and answers in a community are far more useful than individual ones done by email. Especially when they concern the very basics of a program.
Like (2)
lazk
24 September 2017
I'm impressed with simplicity of this application. Does everything what the "big" guns do, including syncing. I'll surely donate.
Like (1)
Version 8.5.7
Hal-Itosis
19 April 2017
version 8.5.6 fails /usr/bin/codesign -vvv -HI-
Like
Version 8.5.6
2 answer(s)
Hal-Itosis
Hal-Itosis
25 April 2017
version 8.5.7 fails /usr/bin/codesign -vvv
Like
Rob Dutoit Frames
Rob Dutoit Frames
25 April 2017
Yes that has been fixed in version 8.5.7!

Rob DuToit
Like (1)
George6
31 January 2017
I really like it, its light weight but you can do all the stuff (backup non- and incremental, sync, etc). Sadly after doing 2 backups it hangs now on my system when i start a backup. There seems to be a bug somewhere.
Version 8.5.5 on Sierra 10.12.3
Like
Version 8.5.5
1 answer(s)
Rob Dutoit Frames
Rob Dutoit Frames
25 April 2017
You should email me with the details as there is almost always a reason for this and backupList+ can be adjusted to work with many situations.

Thanks, Rob DuToit
Like (1)
Michael-Vilain
11 September 2016
8.5.4 is currently broken on my MacOS 10.8.5 system. rsync doesn't work showing "root helper not installed"; Tried rebooting but it still doesn't work; I went back to 8.4 which is stable and the interface is better for me.
Like
Version 8.5.4
1 answer(s)
Rob Dutoit Frames
Rob Dutoit Frames
17 October 2016
Hi Michael,

I will check this out again. I haven't tested the latest version on OS 8.5 but it was working fine when I released 8.5.4. Will do some back tracking.

On another note you really should contact me about these issues as this is not the venue for bug reporting and I can probably easily fix your problem.

Rob D
Like (1)
Mcjf
23 February 2016
This is a truly great piece of software. It's donationware. Like me you will probably donate to give a small reward for what you got.
I admit I use other software (SuperDuper and CCC) for making backup clones (I bought them before I found BackupList+).
To me Backuplist+ is a very versatile tool for backing up different folders (different sources) to a backup target, directly attached or via network. It just works, it's been very reliable (uses rsync). Even though you have many options to tailor fit it to your needs the GUI is not cluttered and simple enough to get anyone started.
And the developer is a nice guy who will help you out if you need it.

So while I can't comment on the cloning part, I would highly recommend giving BackupList+ a try. You may find (like me) that you have all you need (and more).
Like
Version 8.5.3
bhivepro1
26 December 2015
This layout is so simple it's possibly idiot proof. My question is if i stop a backup before it's finished will it resume when I start it up again?
Like
Version 8.5.3
2 answer(s)
Mcjf
Mcjf
23 February 2016
From my experience: I think so.
Like
Rob Dutoit Frames
Rob Dutoit Frames
17 October 2016
Hi,
yes backupList+ only copies the changed files so it will scan and resume where it left off.

Rob D
Like (1)
amaloney
01 November 2015
Why has backuplist+ been discontinued?
Like
Version 8.5.1
1 answer(s)
amaloney
amaloney
01 November 2015
Rob Dutoit has just informed me that backuplist+ has NOT been discontinued.

BTW, I am using version 8.5.2
Like
jonoave
18 July 2015
Hi, I was using backupList+ on my previous Macbook running Mountain Lion (10.8.5) and it was fine. Then the harddisk died and I got a new Macbook running Yosemite (10.10.3). I tried to install backupList+ but it doesn't work. When I clicked on the .dmg file, and it opens up fine. But then the "copy to applications" window show the Applications folder as a white paper (not a blue folder) and I cannot copy drag the backupList+ icon to it (it shows a white circle with a slash). Please help, I want to restore the backup in this new Mac.
Like
Version 8.5.1
1 answer(s)
Rob-Dutoit-Frames
Rob-Dutoit-Frames
15 November 2015
This was fixed though let me know if it is still a problem. You can of course drag the icon out of the dmg window manually.
Like (1)
Stonetownmike
02 April 2015
Backuplist+ remains my go-to app for regular backups, including cloning my startup disk at least once a week. Great support. And the new version -- a major overhaul -- is even better. Well worth a donation.
Like
Version 8.5.1
Michael-Vilain
08 March 2015
8.5 removes the confusing "menubar mode". I could live with that *but* all my backups hang. It's totally useless to me now. Going back to 8.4
Like
Version 8.5
1 answer(s)
Rob-Dutoit-Frames
Rob-Dutoit-Frames
15 November 2015
You should contact me as this is not expected behavior and may have been fixed for you by an update.
Like (1)
Xenophile
21 June 2014
Great free backup app! The feature set is robust compared to other synchronization apps, even many paid apps. I use BackupList+ to manually run backup sets from the menubar after working in Lightroom or making changes to my iTunes or Calibre libraries. Simple and easy, and the menubar icon serves not only as a shortcut but as a reminder to backup. The GUI could use some work, but a few minutes in BackupList+ Help clarifies everything. Yes, this FREE app has detailed documentation via Apple's Help viewer! Also consider that GUIs for backup apps are notoriously difficult to create, given the difficulty of prioritizing what are all equally critical options. I don't believe I've tried any backup apps costing less than $40 with GUIs that are intuitive. Good GUIs require a lot of time, and if the developer isn't getting paid for that time, expect only a "good enough" GUI. That said, BackupList+'s GUI is superior to plenty of paid backup apps (looking at you, Sync Folders Pro). I've used ChronoSync, and it lacks BackupList+'s handy menubar icon. Once backup sets are created, it's the menu bar icon that is the focus of user interaction, and its menu provides shortcuts to all backup sets (and many other options and functions). Very cool! I have not used the scheduled backups feature, so I cannot comment on its stability, but BackupList+ has been rock solid for my usage pattern.
Like (1)
Version 8.4
rtheone
23 May 2014
The number of backup folders just accumulates over time. It should be limited to the number specified in the "Incremental backups" field. Otherwise, what's that field doing? If I specify 3 incremental backups, I expect the number of backup folders to be exactly ≤ 3, not an ever increasing number of items. I think I have nearly 100 folders generated by backuplist+ now. Manually deleting them is not an option to me, especially not since the backups are incremental (no chance of knowing what folders are safe to delete).
Like
Version 8.4
Zeitkind
28 March 2014
Nice one to do a simple one-time backup. But unreliable if running as a cron job. Crashed many time on 10.9.2 filling up the backupdrive with several incomplete backups. Need to control itself better in case of a crash and complete backups or delete incomplete backup.
Like (1)
Version 8.4
rtheone
15 February 2014
Folder explosion! I have the setting "Dated folder" turned on, and "Incremental backups" set to 3, but for some reason backupList+ generates backup folders ending in a large 6 digit number — not 1,2,3 as claimed in the app documentation. Ex: "backup(2014_02_15_111215)" Also, it doesn't clean up older backup folders but just keeps generating an ever increasing list of them.
Like
Version 8.4
4 answer(s)
rtheone
rtheone
15 February 2014
Nor does it reuse previous folder names.
Like
Rob-Dutoit-Frames
Rob-Dutoit-Frames
15 November 2015
All fixed with the update. Those "numbers" BTW are the date when the backup occurred which is very useful for reference, more so than 1,2,3 etc...
Like
rtheone
rtheone
16 November 2015
@Rob So, how do I specify that I want a historic trail of exactly 3 backup versions stored, and that I want them generated incrementally?
Like
Rob-Dutoit-Frames
Rob-Dutoit-Frames
16 November 2015
If there were problems with the old backup incremental series you should delete them and start over. Just use the same settings for incremental backups and set the limit to three (select "greater then ... 3" then it should show each complete snapshot going back three dates. Please contact me directly through the backupList+ Help menu if there are still issues. Some people have conflicts on their system which don't allow the deletion of the past folders and certain backup devices like NAS won't work at all with incremental backups.
Like
Tsehov
03 April 2013
Excellent backup software. It does everything you need to backup your system and files. Definitely worth of donating.
Like (2)
Version 8.2.1
2 answer(s)
ammma
ammma
01 June 2013
Can it backup bootable disk image?
Like
Fishscale
Fishscale
05 October 2013
BackupList+ can do it all, consult the Help pdf and you will find answers to your search query but since I have no idea how your making your bootable image, or if the image already exists and you need to make it bootable etc... you can probably find a quick fix with "File -> Make Cloned Volume Bootable" menu-item.
Like
swefred
03 March 2013
How do I copy files and folders inside a folder? I want to copy everything inside /Users/user/folder1 to /Volumes/share/backup/ Right now folder1 is copied to backup. It works if I mark everything inside folder 1 but this is not a solution sins the content will change. Do I have to rename folder1 to backup to get it to work? and set the bakup folder to /Volumes/share ?
Like
Version 8.1
1 answer(s)
Rob-Dutoit-Frames
Rob-Dutoit-Frames
15 November 2015
You can actually remove the slash at end of the source path and it will do just that. Otherwise copying contents becomes confusing if there are multiple source directories. Which files belong to which directory then?
Like
swefred
03 March 2013
Can I bacup directy to a nfs share, I.E: 192.168.1.2:/share instead of a mounted share: /Volumes/share ? The share might not always be mounted but if it exist a direct path will work.
Like
Version 8.1
Stonetownmike
10 June 2012
I've been doing my weekly backup with BackupList+ for years. The developer is lightning fast with support. It's a great app -- well worth a donation.
Like (2)
Version 8.1
Moocan
19 February 2012
I have this error message on 10.6.7: "You can't open the application backuplist+.app because it may be damaged or incomplete" I have downloaded twice time and same thing each time.
Like
Version 8.0.9
2 answer(s)
Rob Dutoit Frames
Rob Dutoit Frames
26 April 2012
This was fixed. It seems to affect only a few people and I only heard about this recently. You should contact me if there is still a problem
Like (2)
Moocan
Moocan
04 July 2012
I apologize for my late answer. Many thanks Rob for fixing it. BackupList+ is launching well now. Kind Regards
Like (1)
Thomas1977
06 January 2012
Works but I would like to see a more modern GUI. Now it is ugly as hell.
Like (1)
Version 8.0.9
1 answer(s)
Rob Dutoit Frames
Rob Dutoit Frames
06 January 2012
My time is limited so I prefer to focus on the great functionality rsync provides and less on cosmetics. I have been working on a more intuitive GUI with the help of some good advisers who offer helpful comments. If you have something helpful to say then I gratefully will consider it. Yours, Rob DuToit
Like (7)
sjk
06 January 2012
Why is 8.0.9 available here while the download link on the developer's site is still for 8.0.7?
Like
Version 8.0.9
2 answer(s)
Rob Dutoit Frames
Rob Dutoit Frames
06 January 2012
Sorry about that - I had uploaded the wrong version and fixed it promptly once I found the error.
Like (1)
sjk
sjk
07 January 2012
Thanks for the quick feedback and fix, Rob. MU has announced versions newer than what's on your site for awhile, which is why I was questioning it.
Like
Diogo-Cocharro
07 November 2011
Hello! Imagine that i have a folder containing folders and files since 2009, but i want to exclude all files and folders with creation date before 2011, can I do that?
Like
Version 7.2.8
1 answer(s)
Rob Dutoit Frames
Rob Dutoit Frames
06 January 2012
Hi, That's not possible at present but you could add a before script that scans for those dates and writes the excludes to the exclude file. But that would be rather tedious. Sorry. Rob
Like
marbell
04 November 2011
Probably one of the best free backup solutions on Mac.
Like (2)
Version 7.2.8
Stonetownmike
02 October 2011
I'm using version 8.0.5, which is recommended for Snow Leopard. It's a great little program that I use every week to back up my essential files. When I had a problem, the developer replied to my email within hours -- on a Saturday evening, no less. (I guess neither of us has a real life.)
Like (1)
Version 7.2.7
Christian-Bauer
07 July 2011
Since Upgrading to 8.0.2 there is no progress bar displayed properly. However it copies the files fast and reliably.
Like
Version 8.0.2
1 answer(s)
Robdut
Robdut
21 August 2011
You may have the option to copy in background enabled in preferences. If not this should been fixed in 8.0.4. Be sure to email me about any issues so I can fix them! Rob DuToit
Like
ImCr
20 May 2011
Keeps forgetting my lists, when opening the applications they're gone! Also a report would be nice, it failed once and I didn't know.
Like (1)
Version 7.2.5
1 answer(s)
Robdut
Robdut
20 August 2011
I have had no reports of anything like this. i assume you mean it is not retaining it's settings? If you reported this to me I could know if there actually is a bug there and fix it. If you read the logs there is information on errors, also a separate debug error log. The new version has notifications of prolems and I am working on more detailed info reports. Rob DuToit
Like (1)
ylluminate
15 May 2011
I really want to like this application. The developer has the right idea and I think it's potentially the best backup option for Mac OS X, however it desperately needs to support ssh differential transfers / backups. If it could just allow a clear setup vs feeding it an advanced command line, it would be gold. Further, being able to interpret the backup state of this ssh transfer visually would be a plus. It can be done, but would require a little extra setup on probably an additional interface tab. Rob, can we have this added?
Like (4)
Version 7.2.5
2 answer(s)
Robdut
Robdut
20 August 2011
I am currently working on this for the new beta version of backupList+. I have a prototype in place but need more testing as it involves users setting up rsync on the remote along with other files. Not a problem really but it must be packaged for those with no experience with Terminal. Rob
Like (1)
ylluminate
ylluminate
06 September 2011
Thanks Rob. In my case I always have rsync installed remotely. Perhaps at least initially provide the facility to do this with a checkmark about simply confirming that the user has indeed installed rsync at the other end in order to help each user to understand their responsibility before usage. There are so many scenarios and OS version to which this may be connecting that I think perhaps this may be the only viable option.
Like (1)
Robk
29 December 2010
Carbon Copy Cloner also syncs files/folders between two drives. It also uses rsync but it uses a newer version of rsync - version 3.0.7. I do hopeBackuplist+ gets updated soon with a newer version of rsync.
Like (1)
Version 7.2.3
1 answer(s)
Robdut
Robdut
06 February 2011
For this application you will see no difference in the 3.07 from 3.06 rsync. Nevertheless, version 7.2.4 and the new beta version both have the latest rsync builds. The developer, Rob DuToit
Like (4)
Brian30
19 October 2010
I don't know if anyone else has had this issue or not but here it is. I am running MacOS 10.5.8 on a MacBook (Non Pro). My MacBook's hard drive is 160 gigabytes. I downloaded the program. I opened it and did everything right for setting up my backup I wanted to do. Backing up my entire computer's hard drive. I had set it so that it would make my external USB 2.0 hard drive (1 terabyte in size) bootable. After copying my hard drive to the Source File list, I clicked on "Backup". After about 6 1/2 hours later, the backup finished. Not sure why it took that long but that's another problem. After my backup was complete, I ejected my external hard drive and restarted my computer. My external drive mounted but was NOT visible on the desktop. It was nowhere to be found. The only way I knew it mounted was by opening Disk Utility. I could see the drive in there but NOT on my desktop. After looking around online, I found a program that makes invisible files, visible. I was then able to see my external drive along with everything else that was invisible. I then launched that program a second time and my external drive became invisible again. I then decided to re-format my external drive. After doing so, my external drive became visible, permanently. Does anyone have any clue as to what would cause this?? Please help!!
Like
Version 7.2.3
1 answer(s)
Markus-Winter
Markus-Winter
18 November 2010
You can set the finder preferences to show or not show harddisks and/or external harddisks. My guess is that on the external harddisk that was set to not show it - so when you bootet from the external it was not shown on the desktop. But it was there - otherwise you wouldn't have been able to boot.
Like
Version 7.2.3
Ruben-T-F-
11 October 2010
And BTW, I commented a little improvement/bug to the developer by mail, and he answered with a patched version in 10 minutes!!!!
Like (1)
Version 7.2.3
Ruben-T-F-
10 October 2010
I think this is a huge piece of software. Nice, usefull and fast. Rsync backups are a very good way to have a mirror backup of your files, and with this wrapper there's no excuse for everyone to use em. I give it 6 STARS! PD: donate, it worths it.
Like (1)
Version 7.2.3
Psifi
16 February 2010
Backuplist+ is a great backup app. In my opinion, it's better than TimeMachine. It may not have Apple's elegant back-in-time motif, but it backs up and excludes folders and files that TM couldn't do. The best thing about Backuplist+ is the tech support. I had a couple of niggling issues, and the developer responded in a matter of hours - including producing two updates that specifically fixed my problems. That says it all!
Like (2)
Version 7.0.1
Aikwaar
26 December 2009
Does this 'Exclude list' work like it should? I have 'Documents' folder in my Source files and '/Documents/Microsoft User Data' in my 'Exclude list', but still the 'Microsoft User Data' folder will be included into created backup .zip file
Like (2)
Version 7.0.1
1 answer(s)
Robdut
Robdut
05 January 2010
The exclude list does not work with the zip option, because the zip option does not use rsync to copy files. Sorry... The Developer, Rob DuToit
Like (3)
Version 7.0.1
Kmekking
19 October 2009
Backuplist+ 6.2 works great under Leopard. Becomes unreliable under Snow Leopard. Als the possibility to have more than 9 incremental backups would be nice. Post a commentAlert Admin
Like (1)
Version 6.2
1 answer(s)
Robdut
Robdut
05 January 2010
This has all been fixed in the latest release for Snow leopard. Rob DuToit
Like (2)
Version 7.0.1
Gteil
11 April 2009
I have just downloaded the upgrade for backuplist+ on my poxerbookG4 panther OS10.3.9 but the software, which was remarkably working until now, dragged it into the application folder, but it doesn't open anymore. Is it any thing I should have done before trying to launch it? Thanks for your help, G.
Like
Version 6.2
1 answer(s)
Robdut
Robdut
12 June 2009
Backuplist+ no longer runs on Panther (OS 10.3.9) but there is a special version that still does on my website.
Like
Version 6.2
Tice
22 February 2009
I couldn't figure out how to save or export a set. But after a new system installation I have to remember all files and folders. Is this missing or is there an option for that?
Like
Version 6.2
Rv69
28 June 2008
great app but it won't let me back up files off my external usb drive... the destination folders are created correctly but remain empty. too bad.
Like
Version 6.0
Egn
04 January 2008
I had to stop using this software. It is a bandwidth hog. Not much use that way. Did not find an option to limit upload speed. The idea and concept are great but if it's going to suck the life out of my connection I can't use it.
Like
Version 5.2
1 answer(s)
Rob Dutoit Frames
Rob Dutoit Frames
25 September 2011
I don't think you noticed that there is a preference checkbox to slow down rsync. Rsync is powerful so most people run backups with it when they are not doing cpu intensive work. So you can slow it down and it takes longer. That's the trade off.
Like
Yuletide
12 March 2007
Great! Does everything it says it will and seamlessly!
Like
Version 4.0
Jonedwards
07 February 2007
This has great promise. It could be the king of the free back-up apps. But it's not. The first session went very well, as scheduled, everything copied, etc. The next time, it refused to run. It says "scanning" with a timer next to it and a progress bar that doesn't move. After two hours scanning, I tried to cancel. It said "canceling backup session," but the timer kept going and it never canceled. So I had to force quit. I deleted the contents of the folder that I was backing up to and it ran fine again. But then the next time it hung in exactly the same way. As if it can deal with backing up to the same place twice...
Like
Version 3.9
5 answer(s)
Robdut
Robdut
16 February 2007
I havn't heard of update backups not working like this. They work fine for me and the field testers. It would be really helpful if users repsond to me about such an issue so I can fix the problem if there is one. Sometimes it's the program and sometimes the local environment. Thanks, Rob Dutoit
Like
Version 3.9
Nickisaac
Nickisaac
20 March 2007
I too have experienced the indefinite hang problem. Backuplist says it's scanning: I have waited up to an hour before forcing quit. The problem occurs when backing up to a network drive. I've not tried all the copy method, but the problem occured with applescript, cp and rsync. I can report excellent performance when backing up to an HFS-formatted external hard drive.
Like
Version 4.0
Nytewurk
Nytewurk
05 June 2007
I've not experienced this problem w/ this app but have with other applications. I came to find that the problem was related to corrupt data being synced across file systems. The app had no way of dealing with the problem so it would freeze. I ran a file integrity check on the backup data and then removed the bad data. Then it worked fine.
Like
Version 4.0
Jonedwards
Jonedwards
09 September 2007
Okay, so I came back to backuplist after a hiatus induced by the issues I listed in my previous post. New computer, new version of backuplist, time to try again! The good news is that it did back up my files. The bad news is that I'm here in the same position as last time. Backing up to a remote volume leaves me in a "scanning..." progress bar with a timer that now reads 7 hours and 11 minutes, half of which has elapsed since I pushed the cancel button. Force quit. Try again. Same thing. What gives?
Like
Version 4.0
Robdut
Robdut
09 September 2007
As I said before, you would help us all by contacting me, the developer of backuplist, about these issues so i can resolve them. There have been a few cases of backuplist not quitting after a session which have mostly been resolved. Since these are isolated I need detailed information to fix them. Thanks, Rob DuToit
Like
Version 4.0
Mjukr
01 November 2006
Excellent! This is exactly what I was looking for. Apps like Retrospect are overly complex for simple backup needs. Backuplist+ allows for simple creation of backup sets, and even has options for Incremental Backups. Thanks for writing this application. I heartily recommend it to all my fellow Mac users!
Like
Version 3.7.2
Skidogallard
01 October 2006
This is such a great backup utility. I really like the fact that you can resotre files without the program. Still, one thing that I would love to see in an updated versoin would be the abilty to backup the files as a .dmg, so it doesn't need to unpack to view the files. Otherwise, I love the speed of the backups, and the ease of use.
Like
Version 3.5
Anders-kohler
07 June 2006
I looked for an easy backup-utility who let me chose the backup for a dvd or an Ext-drive and automaticly backed up only what has change since last backup and was easy to set from start. i tried over 10 different ones, and no one satisfied me until BACKUPLIST ! ! Who is to good to be true ! ! If anyone looks for a safe and an easy one ? Stop search, here it is ! Trust me ! /Kohler
Like
Version 3.2
Someonenew
28 April 2006
This is a rather impressive utility. It looks small, it is small, but it does a lot, and it does it very well. What really impressed me is how simple everthing is presented. It actually has the same functionality as Intego's backup, but is cheaper, and much easier to understand. I also like the backups it makes: no proprietary formats, just copies or universaly accessible compression. To have sets is also an obvious, but often overlooked feature. I have just a few things on my wishlist: 1. This one would make life easier: To be able to choose folders from other users to backup, requiring an administrator password ofcourse. If I choose another users' folder now, I get an error message. 2. This is a minor one: The compression formet is .gz, which is nothing bad, but I prefer .dmg's, because they can be read without unpacking them. They can also be encrypted, which may be a nice extra feature :) 3. This is a difficult one, but if implemented is great: Incremental backups with hardlinks to yesterday's backup. To explain what this is would require a long story, so I just give you this address. For unix geeks only!: http://www.mikerubel.org/computers/rsync_snapshots/#Incremental The effect is that you have a full backup everyday, but it only requires the diskspace of an incremental backup. Most of the functionality needed is already present in this app, because you need a rotating system and rsync, that's all. I implemented this in my own backupscripts at home, and if the developer can implement this in his great little interface, I would donate and kneel in front of him.
Like
Version 3.1