Back to mp3 DJ page
mp3 DJ free download for Mac

mp3 DJ Reviews

2.2.5
06 June 2017

Sequence audio files from various sources (was Capriccio).

Qubex
24 April 2007

Most helpful

Weak. I don't really get why there's a market for an expensive replacement to free iTunes, which incidentally orders of magnitude superior in every respect to this. It's ugly, lacking features, and barely operable. Seriously... what's it for? I'm really confused.
Like (8)
Version 1.4.5

Read 28 mp3 DJ User Reviews

Rate this app:

Dolphinboy2u
08 July 2016
Boy, these guys sure know how to hijack a comments page,...
Like
Version 2.1.9
Jazzyguy
10 June 2009
It's ALL about MONEY! And who KNOWS where the MONEY is going? RASPUTIN was a Monk too!
Like (4)
Version 1.5.9
3 answer(s)
Haleakalari
Haleakalari
10 June 2009
rasputin wasn't such a bad guy. you don't seem to understand that "god" is just a concept. ascetics, "mystics" and even some clergy-folk, they KNOW this, as for most other people out there, they think "god" is some sort of sentient entity. it's really just another way of saying "there is an ever-present, ongoing, intricate pattern of creation, destruction and reconstitution which provides basic sustenance for all. we are all bound together by, subject to, and part of, a greater whole. we all end up in the same place. feeding the earth, feeding the cattle. thus in a sense, entering a state of entropic merging with this whole." out of the void, comes life and death. there are a hundred different ways to say it. unfortunately (or fortunately, depending on how you look at it), it is part of the human condition to take sides, to form groups and irrational explanations for things we don't understand. the downside of this, is a perpetual state of conflict and disagreement, the upside is, it prevents humanity *as a whole* from becoming homogenized automatons... if you can see past the veil, that is. i also love that macupdate can become a forum for just about any topic. everything is about money... yes. because we live in a world where everything is about money. religious organizations and orders (mostly just those which proselytize) must function as business entities, to an extent, in order to survive. it's the same with music, visual art, written art, food production etc... you may not like it and i definitely hate it, but it doesn't seem that this will change any time soon. /rant
Like (3)
Version 1.5.9
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
10 June 2009
A VERY intelligent comment and I must say that I agree with you except for Rasputin who was a very bad influence on the monarchy in Russia and was not known for his clerical attributes but for his own desire for ultimate power.But I must say you are correct in your "rant" which shows your character as being a good person.
Like (2)
Version 1.5.9
Haleakalari
Haleakalari
10 June 2009
thanks. most people who think things through, are pretty much on the same page, we just tend to get caught up in debating the finer details and lose sight of the "big picture"... it's kind of funny :]
Like (1)
Version 1.5.9
Haleakalari
03 May 2009
the folks behind this application are benedectine monks living in freaking bangladesh! so what if you do not like the software, they are just trying to raise money for their monastery. also, apparently they are quite involved with inter-religious dialogue, which is a good thing and something this world needs more of. i mean although i do not use the software and am not christian myself, i think people should take it a little easier on these peaceful ascetics. besides, they offer freeware applications as well, and when was the last time you met a coding monk?
Like (3)
Version 1.5.6
6 answer(s)
Holypoly
Holypoly
03 May 2009
You do believe in Santa too?
Like (3)
Version 1.5.6
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
03 May 2009
Namyo Ho Ringay Keeo!
Like
Version 1.5.6
Haleakalari
Haleakalari
03 May 2009
@holypoly you're a moron. i specifically said i'm NOT a christian. furthermore, how is believing in the good nature behind a group of monks that engage in inter-religious dialog and community service, akin to believing in something as puerile and irrational as santa? check your freaking head.
Like (2)
Version 1.5.6
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
03 May 2009
Totally irrational . You may not be a Christian but you definitely qualify as a member of the Moron family.On SECOND thought maybe you are one of the Monks. In that case maybe you ought to stick to jams and jellies.
Like (2)
Version 1.5.6
Haleakalari
Haleakalari
04 May 2009
yes. supporting the notions of mutual respect between different cultures and religious groups is moronic and sure, finding the idea of a benedictine monk, in bangladesh, pumping out and compiling code to be oddly uplifting is totally irrational. you got me.
Like (3)
Version 1.5.6
Slob
Slob
06 June 2009
@ HALEAKALARI This site is supposed to be about software. Good luck with their religious causes, really, I mean it. But their software looks and acts like junk, imo, and that's a loser for us & them.
Like (3)
Version 1.5.8
Poetfreak
15 April 2009
This is intended to be a lightweight alternative for iTunes. All of the reviers talking about how this does not compare to iTunes, duh! It was not meant to, and iTunes is a big clunky resource hog. It does take less memory and CPU, but the interface is kind of ugly, the features limited and although it is advertised as shareware it is in fact a time limited demo. I appreciate the effort, I sent them money, then erased this anyway. Cog and SoundApp ReBorn are both better, and free. I am still wishing XMMS worked natively and well in OS X... Oh, well.
Like (3)
Version 1.5.5
Bobby-Delgato
22 October 2008
Made for social/religious causes Wrong place for bashing
Like (6)
Version 1.5.2
1 answer(s)
Alamak
Alamak
25 November 2008
In my humble opinion, "religious causes" do not justify poor and ugly application design ... though they may at least help to pray for a better one! :o)
Like (7)
Version 1.5.3
Alamak
18 October 2008
Very ugly and completely superfluous.
Like (4)
Version 1.5.2
Naoh
06 January 2008
Just a quick mention that the version 1.5 that was linked here is a PowerPC version. It would seem the developer has just spotted this, and has pulled the file from the server. Hopefully he'll put a Universal Binary version up there soon.
Like (3)
Version 1.5
Xypher
06 January 2008
Believe me, there are worse apps out there!
Like (2)
Version 1.5
Xypher
06 January 2008
After visiting the Webpage I realised they're making apps for Religious causes and not for profit, so I think they should be supported. In my opinion the comments are not very fair especially when you consider that the developer is a Monk.
Like (6)
Version 1.5
2 answer(s)
Jslmg
Jslmg
26 January 2008
Good point, Xypher! Obviously, the developer is not doing this so he/she can offer the next great innovation in audio for the Mac. The purpose is far different from that, and that purpose may actually be an innovation in itself.
Like (3)
Version 1.5.1
Xypher
Xypher
26 January 2008
Yes, I agree with you.
Like (3)
Version 1.5.1
Jan-rybar
02 July 2007
VLC does the same thing and it's free.
Like (4)
Version 1.4.6
Guile
01 July 2007
Really poor app! I can't understand why it has been made for... BTW someone should mail the author about a program called "itunes", done by an obscur company called "Apple". Everyone should visit the author's homepage, there are bunch of useless programs like this one, always shareware...
Like (4)
Version 1.4.6
Qubex
24 April 2007
Weak. I don't really get why there's a market for an expensive replacement to free iTunes, which incidentally orders of magnitude superior in every respect to this. It's ugly, lacking features, and barely operable. Seriously... what's it for? I'm really confused.
Like (8)
Version 1.4.5
and the award for "most pointless creation of a commercial app which offers less features than the corresponding free app" goes to...
Like (4)
Version 1.4.5
Cwaffle
24 April 2007
I'm all for supporting third party developers, but this program is a joke. Why would I want to spend 10 dollars on a program that is buggy, looks terrible, and has very few features. I mean if it was at least comparable to iTunes, I might consider buying it for 5 dollars. This developer needs to at least make it free until it can stand up to iTunes.
Like (2)
Version 1.4.5
Zws
12 February 2007
Let check out what's new: Version 1.4.4: Some .mp3 files wouldnt show the Artist tag: fixed. And you get that for $10?
Like
Version 1.4.4
Rj2
11 February 2007
There zip (archive) file is corrupted and will not expand. So until this is corrected, you can't open the zip file.
Like
Version 1.4.4
Aaronsadowsky
11 February 2007
why is this even here/available...
Like
Version 1.4.4
Zws
11 February 2007
What is this supposed to be, Foobar for the mac? This like amateur night with RealBasic. Get this outta here! Anyone who pays ten dollars for this must be clinically mad.
Like
Version 1.4.4
Ezrabbit
01 January 2007
I'm sorry, but iTunes makes the idea of charging for a 3rd party mp3 player absolutely ridiculous. Anyone who thinks that it's reasonable to make a shareware mp3 player for Mac OSX needs to be slapped with a fish.
Like
Version 1.4.1
Toner
28 September 2006
I installed this and tried it out. I found it useful to install on a headless mac because it will auto-play and auto-eject (audio CD and data CD/DVD with quicktime files). iTunes cannot auto-eject. Also, where iTunes is bloated, this is simple. It doesn't replace iTunes, but I find it useful.
Like
Version 1.3.4
Slob
21 August 2006
"Lists all songs and plays them one after the other. (Shareware)" - hmmm.. you mean like iTunes but without the extras? Wow! where's my credit card?Gorgeous icon too. Next please..
Like (1)
Version 1.3.1
St00pid-M0nk3y
26 July 2006
Oh yeah... and "in such case (common for those still using old PCs which do not support iTunes and the like) you may be forced to select and playback only a song at a time." Um...this program supports OS 10.3 and higher. Where would you be in a situation where a computer couldn't use iTunes that's running OS 10.3? My Bondi Blue iMac 233MHz was running OS X and ran iTunes fine. If something couldn't support OS X anyway you wouldn't be able to run iTunes. And this program is only supported by OS 10.3 and later. That logic makes no sense.
Like
Version 1.2.6
2 answer(s)
macroxx-ultra
macroxx-ultra
02 August 2006
Maybe "old PCs" means old computers running DOS and Windos and not old iMacs.
Like
Version 1.2.8
Ferruccio-Busoni
Ferruccio-Busoni
29 August 2006
There is also a version for Classic and Windows. But, seriously, why bother with a version for Panther....
Like
Version 1.3.1
St00pid-M0nk3y
26 July 2006
Wow...has a lot less features than iTunes AND it costs money. No thanks.
Like
Version 1.2.6
Nexialys
04 July 2006
fun for a programming project at school to be able to duplicate iTunes most popular features (play music) but it is useless... don't see why it becomes a shareware when iTunes is free and bugless...
Like
Version 1.2.2
Darth-Brooks
27 June 2006
Thank you for pointing out, WHOCARES742, the freeware-to-shareware switcheroo. And yet mp3Player 1.2.1 is still listed here at MacUpdate as "License: FREE". What's up, AsramSoftware? Listen carefully and you can hear mp3Player 1.2.1 hitting the trash.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Whocares742
27 June 2006
Looks like this has gone from freeware v1.1.1 to shareware v1.2.1 ($7).
Like
Version 1.2.1
Darth-Brooks
22 April 2006
Most flagrant bug is that the Equalizer keeps reappearing whenever a new album is dropped on the well. The Equalizer doubles... DOUBLES... CPU usage. Also, it would be nice to be able to re-size the main window horizontally to accomodate long song and album names.
Like
Version 1.0.9
Darth-Brooks
19 April 2006
Nice, does what it's supposed to, FREE, but... uses a lot of CPU.
Like
Version 1.0.9