Back to HoudahSpot page
HoudahSpot free download for Mac

HoudahSpot Reviews6.1.1

19 April 2021

Advanced file-search tool.

How would you rate HoudahSpot?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Hldwizard
Hldwizard
Feb 13 2021
6.0.4
5.0
Feb 13 2021
5.0
Version: 6.0.4
Convenient and relatively fast searching made easy.
xcoxco
xcoxco
Jan 10 2021
6.0.1
4.0
Jan 10 2021
4.0
Version: 6.0.1
Great app. Well worth buying ...
Frodo-life
Frodo-life
Dec 11 2020
6.0
2.0
Dec 11 2020
2.0
Version: 6.0
supported app for many years, but not much new in recent updates with a quite steep $29 upgrade price I stick to version 5x
Funjoy
Funjoy
Dec 10 2020
6.0
5.0
Dec 10 2020
5.0
Version: 6.0
Just upgraded to v.6. All sorts of nice features, like being able to get around Apple's blocking of mail search, tag clouds, Recent Searches and more. Definitely worth the $19 upgrade price.
bobembry
bobembry
Jun 11 2020
5.1.2
5.0
Jun 11 2020
5.0
Version: 5.1.2
Very useful !!! ★★★★★ Give it a try
DRNash
DRNash
May 16 2020
5.1.1
0.0
May 16 2020
0.0
Version: 5.1.1
Link is still to vesrion 5.1 - MacUpdate, you can't just tack the current version number on to the end of the previous version and expect it to be the new version (the file available from MacUpdate is "HoudahSpot_latest_5.1.1.zip", but decompesses to give the 5.1 version from 14 April) - this is happending far too often these days - MacUpdate you need to invest in some quality control.
Svenster
Svenster
Sep 25 2019
5.0.9
5.0
Sep 25 2019
5.0
Version: 5.0.9
Another reason not to use Apple Mail. HoudahSpot is much more efficient at what it can do than Apple Mail is or ever has. Perhaps Mail might be able to search its own database in Catalina. Now that would be useful and a first for Mail.
Macbookpro
Macbookpro
Jul 5 2019
5.0.6
5.0
Jul 5 2019
5.0
Version: 5.0.6
This is the app to go to first when you are looking for that hard to find file that you know is on the hard drive somewhere. It is an essential tool that saves a ton of searching time. Do watch the tutorial created by ScreenCastsOnline as suggested on the Houdah Spot tips and tricks page.
Biox
Biox
Apr 19 2019
5.0.2
3.0
Apr 19 2019
3.0
Version: 5.0.2
Two stars removed because file listings are messed up and getting this right is fundamental. For example: file attributes shown for a file may be wrong and actually be the attributes of another file in the same folder that's next in lexicographical sort order; or a file may be shown as being a folder when it's just an ordinary file. I love the speed at which it produces errors though! ;-)
Pik80
Pik80
Apr 6 2019
5.0
5.0
Apr 6 2019
5.0
Version: 5.0
Version five is another fantastic major update like like version four. FINALLY includes the Adobe Bridge "compact mode" which is by far the best feature from that program. I suggested they incorporate that feature into the program nearly a decade ago because it was such a good idea for being able to drop files into programs particularly layout software. Now that some people are leaving Adobe these days that feature becomes all the more important. Lets hope that same feature makes it's way into the developer's other search tool "Tembo" as well. Other notable features are dark mode and the ability to now add tags in the right column. Version four didn't let you add tags as easily.
Ean
Ean
Apr 5 2019
5.0
4.5
Apr 5 2019
4.5
Version: 5.0
Version 5 as a solid upgrade. Overall the app is faster and I've only begun to scratch the surface of the new features. For example I haven't tried the DefaultFolder integration but a looking forward to it. The only thing that bothers me at this point is the new finder extension is not just a button, but a button that opens a menu with a single item in it. This is dumb. It should go back to just being a button unless there are some choices to be made.
Fariborz
Fariborz
Apr 4 2019
5.0
5.0
Apr 4 2019
5.0
Version: 5.0
There isn’t a single folder, file, word, etc that can go unnoticed once you install and use HoudahSpot. It quickly scans all your emails, documents for that tiny part of whatever you remember of that forgotten document hidden somewhere on your computer. It has saved me long hours of search for whatever name that has come to my mind. Amazing to put it mildly. Fariborz AMIRSHAHI - Verona (Italy)
dwp-1
dwp-1
Apr 4 2019
5.0
5.0
Apr 4 2019
5.0
Version: 5.0
I've lost track on how many years that I have been using HoudaSpot but I couldn't do without it. It has found files for me that would have possibly taken me days or weeks to locate manually. Ask it and if it is there, HoudaSpot **Will** find it. Best searching app I have ever used.
The_Blinded
The_Blinded
Oct 8 2018
4.3.9
5.0
Oct 8 2018
5.0
Version: 4.3.9
Wonderful... It has all features and options that someone would want from a search app! Very simple for a simple research, powerful options for advanced researches.
Tedg
Tedg
Sep 22 2018
4.3.8
5.0
Sep 22 2018
5.0
Version: 4.3.8
Use this several times a day. Wouldn't want to be without it.
Ubucraig
Ubucraig
Sep 13 2018
4.3.7
5.0
Sep 13 2018
5.0
Version: 4.3.7
There hasn't been a search app this effective on Mac since Norton FastFind.
Ckueny
Ckueny
Sep 11 2018
4.3.7
5.0
Sep 11 2018
5.0
Version: 4.3.7
I haven't even gotten around to trying most of the company's suggestions for the app's effective use which I think will be helpful, but just the occasional search have made HoudahSpot very worthwhile. I immediately found files that I though were lost but were just too hard to find in the haystack of the Finder's default search. Someone commented that the interface was a bit unappealing at first glance, but try it anyway. An app for finding files might sound like a solution in search of a problem, but it is not; it has saved me time every time that I've used it.
xflyhorse
xflyhorse
Jul 2 2018
4.3.7
5.0
Jul 2 2018
5.0
Version: 4.3.7
HoudahSpot is an excellent application - its the most useful I own. It has saved me much time locating needed information, particularly when I'm in a hurry.
LeMerlot
LeMerlot
Apr 17 2018
4.3.6
5.0
Apr 17 2018
5.0
Version: 4.3.6
Without question one of my most beloved and used apps – great developers who are caring. Highly recommended for professional Mac users.
jack2001
jack2001
Apr 17 2018
4.3.6
1.0
Apr 17 2018
1.0
Version: 4.3.6
terribile e costa pure tanto
bobembry
bobembry
Dec 17 2017
4.3.4
5.0
Dec 17 2017
5.0
Version: 4.3.4
Very helpful in finding and then tagging files scattered across multiple folders
Morlo
Morlo
Sep 18 2017
4.3.1
2.5
Sep 18 2017
2.5
Version: 4.3.1
if it doesnt find un-spotlighted files, then it is just a prettier finder window. same kind of searches you can do in the finder.. the only feature i see handy is that you can save searches and sync them with other devices.. other than that it is just a glorified finder window.
Funjoy
Funjoy
Aug 3 2017
4.3
5.0
Aug 3 2017
5.0
Version: 4.3
For anything more than a file-name search I automatically bring up HoudahSpot. I have tens of thousands of text files archived and the ability to do detailed searches of phrases within date ranges becomes invaluable. If you just want a souped-up Spotlight look at their less expensive, prettier app Tembo. But if you need to perform sophisticated searches on (and in) your files you really need this app.
Potatoes
Potatoes
Jul 1 2017
4.3
5.0
Jul 1 2017
5.0
Version: 4.3
HoudahSpot has completely taken over any type of search for files on my computer. I don't use finder, spotlight, launchbar, or any other alternative. It's HoudahSpot all the way. Simply because it is so fast and so reliable. It actually finds the files I want to find. It is often faster for me to search in HS than to drill down to the file by other means. The interface is so-so. Not the most intuitive interface for newcomers, but one eventually will learn to use it. I wish the developer would hire a designer so HS could become even more awesome. The app is well-maintained and the developer is responsive. Highly recommended.
David-Stevens
David-Stevens
May 31 2017
4.2.10
5.0
May 31 2017
5.0
Version: 4.2.10
I've used quite a few different search apps over the years, and Houdahspot is now far and away my favourite. It does the job very well, is fast and flexible, and it's also a pleasure to use.
Gilby101mu
Gilby101mu
Apr 15 2017
4.2.10
5.0
Apr 15 2017
5.0
Version: 4.2.10
I am a hoarder of documents (and things in real life), but how to find them again? HS is the solution. Now it is always open on my Mac and use it many times a day. I am now rediscovering all sorts of stuff I collected years ago.
dwp-1
dwp-1
Oct 12 2016
4.2.5
5.0
Oct 12 2016
5.0
Version: 4.2.5
I have to agree with the two previous posts in that HS is fast and VERY customizable. It's capabilities for search put the Finder to shame.
fearmore
fearmore
Aug 15 2016
4.2.3
5.0
Aug 15 2016
5.0
Version: 4.2.3
This is the most-used app on my Macbook Pro. It is fantastically useful. I have a fair number of files, and searching via the Finder seems so primitive, frustrating, and slow compared to HoudahSpot. It is easy to use from the start, and as you discover its power, it is extremely powerful. General example 1: I download my bank account and credit card statements each month. I've set up a HoudahSpot one-click search that searches for any dollar amount I enter. Bam, I can instantaneously nail any payment FAST. Example 2: I download a lot of PDFs. I can search NON-PDF files instantaneously to filter out info I didn't create myself (including mail, Things do-list items, text notes, etc.) It's just so damned fast. I have separate one-click searches for JPG, JPEG, or PNG extensions; for Tagged files; for Folder names only; for App Aliases only (try doing *that* with Finder!); for recent emails; for a set of selected folders I know might contain Tax info. I absolutely love this software. I appreciate the fairly regular updates, and am constantly finding new ways to use it. I am in no way connected to the developers, but I wish them all the best for one of the best values on my laptop. Thanks, guys.
Mikenesmith
Mikenesmith
Dec 5 2015
4.1.2
5.0
Dec 5 2015
5.0
Version: 4.1.2
Well worth the cost - a smarter, better, faster way to find files. Finder works for easy things - Houdah Spot does the heavy lifting.
Prof-T
Prof-T
Sep 16 2015
4.0.10
5.0
Sep 16 2015
5.0
Version: 4.0.10
Had to post a review because of the value of the app. I've used Find Any File for many years as my "go to" file finder, as well as Spotlight, LaunchBar, Alfred, et al. I had not devoted much time to HS for two reasons: (1) the name (which I thought was weird (but certainly not a good reason not to try the app)); and (2) the GUI complexity. However, when I spent the time to learn how to use the app, which really wasn't an overwhelming amount, I found its power to be unparalleled. Simply put, it finds everything, and it does so remarkably quickly. I find its ability to dig into email message particularly valuable. I like to ability to easily see the file paths and to "look" into the files and actually see the text, figures, etc. Secondary and tertiary selection criteria allow rapid parsing of results. In short, it's worth the $.
LeMerlot
LeMerlot
Sep 6 2015
4.0.10
5.0
Sep 6 2015
5.0
Version: 4.0.10
For me a true killer app since years – helped me so often finding long missed info fast and easy… Thanks very much to the developers, who update HoudahSpot on a regular basis.
hwgray
hwgray
Aug 26 2015
4.0.10
0.0
Aug 26 2015
0.0
Version: 4.0.10
This update, v4.0.10, crashes on launch in OS X v10.11 El Capitan prev.7. That's most uncool, Houdah Software! No previous version has done that, even v4.0.9 in v10.11 El Capitan prev.7.
Macbookpro
Macbookpro
Mar 1 2015
4.0.3
5.0
Mar 1 2015
5.0
Version: 4.0.3
The latest update for version 3.x can be found here. http://www.houdah.com/houdahSpot/index_assets/HoudahSpot3.9.10.zip
ben-stamp
ben-stamp
Feb 28 2015
4.0.3
0.0
Feb 28 2015
0.0
Version: 4.0.3
What does this do more compared to the finder search options? Could not find one
MacDev
MacDev
Feb 25 2015
4.0.2
3.0
Feb 25 2015
3.0
Version: 4.0.2
HS 4 is a very nice upgrade and the support from the company is quick and helpful.

However, HS, even in version 4 cannot find hidden files on the Mac. Thus, if you're a web developer and need to find a file that starts with a dot ("."), you'll need another search tool as well.

HS does everything so well, it's hard to believe this invisible file search functionality is not there. Maybe in version 5?

For me, I could have stayed with version 3 since I still need to use two search tools...yet, HS 4 has some very nice UI upgrades that still make it worth it.

Recommended.
Pik80
Pik80
Feb 24 2015
4.0.2
5.0
Feb 24 2015
5.0
Version: 4.0.2
Hooray! You can now drag select! (Click on a file and move the mouse up or down.)
Jytx
Jytx
Feb 23 2015
4.0.1
5.0
Feb 23 2015
5.0
Version: 4.0.1
Version 4 is great. you can look at the content of the files directly with quicklook view in a large window, I find it more efficient that version 3. Spotlight is a great indexation tool, this is a great search tool for it.
Kaidoh
Kaidoh
Feb 14 2015
4.0.1
5.0
Feb 14 2015
5.0
Version: 4.0.1
Great new version. This is Spotlight done right. You can built complex searches in an easy way without having to remember spotlights arcane KMDItem spells. It makes searching the abysses of my file system a joy. Snippets, Tabs, the quick search bar, the side bar - all of the new features are useful additions implemented the right way. And unlike Spotlight (which, by the way, seems to connect to the internet in the background quite too often) HoudahSpot gives you nice tools to actually do something with the results of your search (view tag, rename, move). And to all that cheap skates on this list who rate the program with one star just because they think they know something about update pricing - you can't repeat the old argument often enough: developers have to pay bills too. Houdah Software is not known for throwing out paid updates every few months to milk its user base. On the contrary, the developer is active, very responsive and devoted to his software. It is tested and ready when released. For me it is an easy calculation. Paying a reasonable amount every few years for a tool, that makes using my computer so much easier is a no brainer. Your milage may very and if that calculation doesn't work out for you there is a simple solution: do not buy it - and stop wailing to the internet. (and to make this absolutely clear: I'm not affiliated with the company in any way - just a satisfied user)
Kp-gores
Kp-gores
Feb 14 2015
4.0.1
1.0
Feb 14 2015
1.0
Version: 4.0.1
so you want me to pay 75% of the price if upgrading from version 3, BUT there is no way to import saved searches or templates from the older version?! Am I missing sth?
Drdul
Drdul
Feb 10 2015
4.0
4.5
Feb 10 2015
4.5
Version: 4.0
It would have been nice to know that version 4 is a paid upgrade, like in the "what's new" description, for example, or on the dev's website (maybe it's there, but I looked and didn't see anything). So I installed version 4.0, launched it and discovered that an upgrade is CAD $21.95.
Pik80
Pik80
Feb 10 2015
4.0
5.0
Feb 10 2015
5.0
Version: 4.0
Nice update! File preview plane, snippets, templates in the sidebar, etc. It would be nice if it was easier to drag templates and smart search to the dock like you can with the Finder's Smart Folders.
baxsur
baxsur
Feb 10 2015
4.0
5.0
Feb 10 2015
5.0
Version: 4.0
Big feature improvements.
Gary30
Gary30
Jun 30 2014
3.8.7
4.0
Jun 30 2014
4.0
Version: 3.8.7
This is a far superior front end for Spotlight. It gives easy access to Spotlight features which Spotlight itself makes difficult to use. However," live by the sword, die by the sword." If a file is not listed in Spotlight then it will not be found by HoudaSpot. You can force Spotlight to index a particular folder and its subfolders using the Terminal. Here is the command to force it so index a user's Mail folder: mdimport /Users/[yourusername]/Library/Mail This also works with root level folders. However, strangely, Spotlight will sometimes index a folder and fail to find a file that you know is there and which has no unusual permissions or other characteristics. Two search utilities that are independent of Spotlight are EasyFind which will search for file contents and Find Any File which will not do so (but which will find package contents like EasyFind) and has several criteria for searching files. Finally, HoudaSpot is often available with the major Mac bundle offers. That is good because $24 is a lot to spend on such a utility--for me anyway.
Mtcobra
Mtcobra
Mar 9 2014
3.8.5
0.0
Mar 9 2014
0.0
Version: 3.8.5
When I check the internal “Check for Updates” function on my Houdahspot, it reports that I am up-to-date with the latest version, 3.8.4. Either I'm up to date, or I'm not. I’ll wait until the app tells me to update, because my copy is registered, and I don't want to risk over-writing that with a direct download. Am I missing something? mTC
Applestuff1729
Applestuff1729
Mar 9 2014
3.8.5
5.0
Mar 9 2014
5.0
Version: 3.8.5
This is a fantastic app for debugging/modifying large code bases. It will search inside files while restricting the search to certain file names or extensions or many other options. It can rapidly reduce 50,000 search results down to the 10 most relevant in a large code base.
Bento de Espinosa
Bento de Espinosa
Feb 20 2014
3.8.4
5.0
Feb 20 2014
5.0
Version: 3.8.4
I use it a lot and it works very well!
Drdul
Drdul
Feb 16 2014
3.8.4
4.5
Feb 16 2014
4.5
Version: 3.8.4
This is a far better way to use Spotlight than OS X's built-in search functionality, especially if you take the time to create custom search templates within HoudahSpot. I particularly like HS's support for both Mavericks and OpenMeta tags, and the ability to filter results to see files where the tags don't match. I was having problems with unwanted tags periodically reappearing in my system, and using HS I traced it down to a bunch of OpenMeta tags created long ago by some forgotten application. I'm taking off half a star because HS does not provide a way to disable the tagging tray when HS isn't running. It's either on all the time, or not on at all. I find the tagging tray useful, but only when I'm using HS. The rest of the time, I don't want it hanging around getting in the way (it pops up at unwanted times, even if I haven't pressed one of the modifier keys that I have set to control it).
Mextex
Mextex
Feb 1 2014
3.8.3
0.0
Feb 1 2014
0.0
Version: 3.8.3
Version 3.8.3 update on Mavericksmakes HoudahSpot now displaying Finder label colors as dots. AAAH. Come on. This is a bug, not a feature. Please add this to the preferences. I would like to keep the old way of displaying the label colors.
xgman
xgman
Jan 30 2014
3.8.3
2.0
Jan 30 2014
2.0
Version: 3.8.3
Bad marks due to showing spots like in finder. Preferred the labels.
Dalexand
Dalexand
Nov 21 2013
3.8.1
5.0
Nov 21 2013
5.0
Version: 3.8.1
I have many 10s of thousands of DNA sequences on my computer. So, when I come across a partial sequence (generally given to me by a student) I need to be able to find partial strings in microsoft word documents. HoudahSpot can do this. It has become an essential tool for my research. Partial string search capabilities of version 3.8.1 seem to be much improved compared to previous versions. (Previously I had to run a HoudahSpot search while rebuilding the Spotlight index.) I would also like to add my thanks to the developer for keeping HoudahSpot available for 10.6.8. (I give HoudahSpot a value of 5 stars, but the the star thing won't go past 4.5)