Back to MacPorts page
MacPorts free download for Mac

MacPorts Reviews

2.6.2
21 October 2019

Install open-source software on Darwin OSes (was DarwinPorts).

SickTeddyBear
05 February 2013

Most helpful

Over the years, MacPorts has evolved from being just a "nice to have" tool for command line geeks, and is now a critical part of the infrastructure of OS X. Apple, because of their fear of version 3 of the General Public License (GPL), has completely abandoned updating many of the open source components in OS X. This has affected the BSD userland the most. In some cases, they've tried replacing established tools with their own, but mostly, programs have simply been allowed to languish with no updates past those that were released under the GPLv2. That's where package managers like MacPorts come in, to keep your system from becoming a decrepit and obsolete pile of trash, due to Apple's neglect. This is a key example of why the *nix brethren and sistren among us need to maintain things ourselves, because Apple has once again thrown us under the bus.
Like (4)
Version 2.1.2

Read 26 MacPorts User Reviews

Rate this app:

MichaelHaeusler
03 October 2018
I'm mainly a homebrewer, but for the occasional other package, I need MacPorts, and I like it a lot. Though the weird thing is that the latest update 2.5.4 doesn't support Xcode 10 on High Sierra; to use MacPorts 2.5.4 with Xcode 10, you need to be on Mojave.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.4
ylluminate
25 May 2018
After years of using and then now struggling with Homebrew, I've finally come home with MacPorts. Markedly better, more offerings that cater to user needs and wants (much more so than just being developer-centric like 'Brew). Our team has even started contributing to MacPorts and are finding development really nice with TCL and the dev community's also less hostile.
Like (1)
Version 2.4.4
2 answer(s)
cig0
cig0
06 July 2018
I'm curious, what kind of issues you have ran into with Homebrew lately?
Like
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
03 October 2018
Homebrew has gotten pretty great. I mainly brew, but use both Homebrew & MacPorts, with no issues so far, even though `brew doctor` and `port diagnose` always print warnings regarding the other package manager.
Like
Nealnt
25 May 2018
Version 2.4.4 el capitan gets stuck at verifying. Any ideas?
Like
Version 2.4.4
wintermute
19 August 2015
Anyone get Pallet to work with MacPorts on OS X v. 10.10.5? I keep getting an error about MacPorts_Framework. I'm a newbie to MacPorts and don't understand how to solve the issue when reading through the user wiki. Somebody posted a bunch of diff patches for download that are supposed to address the problem. How are these applied? It looks like this problem with Pallet has been around for over a year... that is pretty sad considering that adding a GUI (which Pallet does) is likely the first thing a newbie (like me) would do to make managing and viewing packages easier.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.3
1 answer(s)
anonymous-deer-2515
anonymous-deer-2515
29 December 2015
You may wish to consider using JPortsUI (free/Java-based) or PortAuthority (paid) as a MacPorts GUI at this time.

The published Pallet 1.1 port file is for subversion revision 86,930 from 2011.11.06
--> https://trac.macports.org/browser/trunk/dports/sysutils/Pallet/Portfile

On 2015.12.13 (subversion revision 143494) updates from the 2015 Google Summer of Code (GSoC) for Pallete where checked into the repository. However ... these recent changes have not yet be propagated to the portfile.
--> https://svn.macports.org/repository/macports/contrib/Pallet

So, at this time, one needs to build Pallete from the SVN repository (not trivial) or use an alternative.
Like
Jazzyguy
18 October 2014
@wordWeaver Update: "Thanks to help form Ryan Schmidt, I was finally able to install MacPorts 2.3.1 on my Yosemite 10.10 Public Beta 1 iMac, running Xcode 6 beta 5. The problem was that I had to set the path to the Xcode beta app in the Terminal, and also install a brand new installation of MacPorts using the source tarball. In other words, if you are also running the Yosemite beta or DP, you cannot use the MacPorts 2.3.1 DMG file, or the "sudo port -v selfupdate" command in the Terminal. You must install a fresh copy of MacPorts under Yosemite using the source tarball. It will then also allow you to update your ports as well. Hope this helps someone." Please Help. How do I get The Developer Tools BETA edition you mentioned in your comment? How do i get the SDK? I am sort of a novice.Ionly want to install Pan on my copy of Yosemite and maybe Kstars if I am successful.
Like
Version 2.3.2
6 answer(s)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
18 October 2014
ALSO....how doI get the Tarball you referred to?
Like
WordWeaver
WordWeaver
19 October 2014
@Jazzguy: You might try here. Scroll to the bottom of the page for the latest version:

https://distfiles.macports.org/MacPorts/
Like
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
19 October 2014
Thank You WordWeaver I will attempt to install on my external drive which is 500GB but where do I get the Developer Tools. Italics like I need 6.2 the Developer Tools 6.1 is available. Do I need 6.2?
Like
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
19 October 2014
The correction speller got me. The sentence should read It looks like I need Developer Tools 6.2.
Like
WordWeaver
WordWeaver
19 October 2014
@Jazzguy: I am sorry, but I don't understand your comment. The latest version of the Developer Tools -- a.k.a. Xcode -- is 6.0.1. There is no 6.1 or 6.2 yet.

Xcode is free. You can obtain it here:

https://developer.apple.com/xcode/downloads/

Please notice that the page says that 6.1 will be available shortly in the App Store, but not yet, so you can only download 6.0.1.

You can also downloaded the latest version of the Command Line Tools for Xcode on this page:

https://developer.apple.com/downloads/index.action?=command%20line%20tools

You should bookmark both of those pages for future reference, because you will need them.
Like
WordWeaver
WordWeaver
19 October 2014
You can also type the following the following in the Terminal in order to install the Command Line Tools:

xcode-select --install

If you already have them installed, it will direct you to Software Update instead, which is now incorporated into the App Store app.
Like
WordWeaver
09 August 2014
Would I be correct to assume that the Yosemite public beta has broken MacPorts? I just typed "sudo port -v selfupdate" in the Terminal and the resulting error I got is as follows: Error: Current platform "darwin 14" does not match expected platform "darwin 13" Error: If you upgraded your OS, please follow the migration instructions: https://trac.macports.org/wiki/Migration OS platform mismatch while executing "mportinit ui_options global_options global_variations" Error: /opt/local/bin/port: Failed to initialize MacPorts, OS platform mismatch I guess I am off to that migration URL to see what is going on with MacPorts.
Like
Version 2.3.1
5 answer(s)
WordWeaver
WordWeaver
09 August 2014
For those of you who are interested, it appears that MacPorts will not install or update on a machine running Yosemite Public Beta 1, Xcode 6 beta 5 and the latest version of the Command Line Tools.

I tried following the migration instructions on the aforementioned page, and in spite of that, whether I use the MacPorts DMG package, or command line, MacPorts will not allow me to install it or uninstall it, because apparently it is not yet compatible with darwin 14.
Like
RyanDesign
RyanDesign
09 August 2014
It works fine. Feel free to email me privately (ryandesign at macports dot org) if you're having trouble, since we're not supposed to discuss the beta publicly.
Like
WordWeaver
WordWeaver
09 August 2014
Thank you RydanDesign. I am typing up an email for you at this very moment. I'll send it off shortly.
Like
WordWeaver
WordWeaver
10 August 2014
Update: Thanks to help form Ryan Schmidt, I was finally able to install MacPorts 2.3.1 on my Yosemite 10.10 Public Beta 1 iMac, running Xcode 6 beta 5.

The problem was that I had to set the path to the Xcode beta app in the Terminal, and also install a brand new installation of MacPorts using the source tarball.

In other words, if you are also running the Yosemite beta or DP, you cannot use the MacPorts 2.3.1 DMG file, or the "sudo port -v selfupdate" command in the Terminal.

You must install a fresh copy of MacPorts under Yosemite using the source tarball. It will then also allow you to update your ports as well.

Hope this helps someone.
Like
umaromc
umaromc
30 August 2014
I just figured this roadblock out when trying to use MacPorts to install the latest version of GIMP and I eventually ran across this closed support ticket; https://trac.macports.org/ticket/44107 with the response noting we'd have to "roll our own" I assume until Yosemite is finalized and they can finalize an installer.
Like
amaloney
26 July 2013
When I try to install Pallet, I get a failure. The following message appears. What am I doing wrong? ============ ---> Building webkit-gtk Error: org.macports.build for port webkit-gtk returned: command execution failed Please see the log file for port webkit-gtk for details: /opt/local/var/macports/logs/_opt_local_var_macports_sources_rsync.macports.org_release_ports_www_webkit-gtk/webkit-gtk/main.log Error: Unable to upgrade port: 1 Error rebuilding webkit-gtk while executing "error "Error rebuilding $portname"" (procedure "revupgrade_scanandrebuild" line 382) invoked from within "revupgrade_scanandrebuild broken_port_counts $opts" (procedure "macports::revupgrade" line 5) invoked from within "macports::revupgrade $opts" (procedure "action_revupgrade" line 2) invoked from within "action_revupgrade $action $portlist $opts" (procedure "action_target" line 96) invoked from within "$action_proc $action $portlist [array get global_options]" (procedure "process_cmd" line 93) invoked from within "process_cmd $remaining_args" invoked from within "if { [llength $remaining_args] > 0 } { # If there are remaining arguments, process those as a command set exit_status [process_cmd $remaining..." (file "/opt/local/bin/port" line 4857)
Like
Version 2.2.0
Derekcurrie
24 July 2013
Pallet: A quick note to point out that if you would like to use a GUI for MacPorts v2.x, use Pallet. It is available here: https://trac.macports.org/wiki/MacPortsGUI Do NOT bother with Porticus or PortAuthority. They no longer work properly with MacPorts v2. GUIs for MacPorts have never been perfect, but Pallet is a reasonably easy way to learn about available ports. As for installing ports, I've found using the CLI to be easier to use. And I hate CLI commands! I ended up writing the commands then dragging them out of Terminal as clippings. Whenever I need to use the commands I just drop them on Terminal, finish the commands as required, and let Terminal do the work.
Like (2)
Version 2.2.0
1 answer(s)
Codebykevin
Codebykevin
25 July 2013
How does PortAuthority no longer work?
Like (2)
SickTeddyBear
05 February 2013
Over the years, MacPorts has evolved from being just a "nice to have" tool for command line geeks, and is now a critical part of the infrastructure of OS X. Apple, because of their fear of version 3 of the General Public License (GPL), has completely abandoned updating many of the open source components in OS X. This has affected the BSD userland the most. In some cases, they've tried replacing established tools with their own, but mostly, programs have simply been allowed to languish with no updates past those that were released under the GPLv2. That's where package managers like MacPorts come in, to keep your system from becoming a decrepit and obsolete pile of trash, due to Apple's neglect. This is a key example of why the *nix brethren and sistren among us need to maintain things ourselves, because Apple has once again thrown us under the bus.
Like (4)
Version 2.1.2
6 answer(s)
Essadee
Essadee
05 February 2013
I'd like to know what you think the GPL has to do with BSD userland, since by definition BSD code falls under the BSD license which is actually free.
Like (4)
sjk
sjk
05 February 2013
A system doesn't necessarily become "a decrepit and obsolete pile of trash" because of lack of updates. Plenty of people are satisfied with "if it ain't broke don't fix it" usage, even when updates are available. But I agree with the intention of your comment for whoever and whatever it applies to. :) OS X still includes lots of stuff covered by the GPL, as the Licenses column on this page will attest to: Mac OS X 10.8.2 - Source http://www.opensource.apple.com/release/mac-os-x-1082/ But that all refers to the GPL 2 license; I don't know if OS X includes anything covered by GPL 3.
Like (3)
Essadee
Essadee
05 February 2013
When there is a BSD alternative, Apple ships the BSD version. e.g. curl instead of wget. This is more political and cultural than due to some plot to throw people that don't know better under a bus. Look who the Director of Engineering of Unix Technologies is. (Hint: it isn't Richard Stallman)
Like (3)
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
05 February 2013
@Essadee I used the term "BSD userland" generically. It's obvious that OS X is a mixed userland of BSD, GPL, and other licensed components. The point is that many well-known and respected *nix apps, like rsync, are no longer being updated by Apple, and those that care about command line tools need to be aware of that.
Like (2)
Essadee
Essadee
05 February 2013
License precludes Apple from updating it.
Like (1)
Ryde
Ryde
14 February 2013
What is so different and dangerous about GPL v3 versus v2 that Apple should be vary of it? [ I am not a licensing expert but somewhat familiar with GPL v2 and BSD licenses. Your statements about v3 (which I don't know yet) got me interested, so I'd appreciate if you could elaborate a bit. ]
Like (2)
Jazzyguy
27 July 2012
The best software available to get apps like kstars, which is a great astronomy app as well as other open source apps. It is a great addition to OSX.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.2
Mdognrdog
27 July 2012
Don't construe the following as a knock on MacPorts; it isn't. MacPorts is one of a few different ports repositories for Mac OS X. It's pretty much the closest one to an "official" repository, I think. Having noted that, I had difficulty getting my MacPorts repository to the point where I could effortlessly type "port install package_name" and expect the program to Just Do It. My main need for the various ported programs and libraries was to assist in doing Ruby development, so I went with Homebrew (which does not appear to be available through MacUpdate). Homebrew does the same basic thing as MacPorts, coded entirely in Ruby. I really don't know whether the selection of Homebrew ports is as extensive as the selection of MacPorts. I do know that it's very easy for me to install and manage ports and their dependencies. So: a port repository on your OS X machine is a Good Thing. If MacPorts works great for you, excellent! If it doesn't, there are others, including (maybe limited to) the aforementioned Homebrew, and Fink.
Like
Version 2.1.2
1 answer(s)
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
27 July 2012
There are others that work on OS X, including NetBSD's Pkgsrc and Gentoo's Portage.
Like
SickTeddyBear
27 July 2012
The download link is for Lion. There are different installers for Snow Leopard and Mountain Lion: https://distfiles.macports.org/MacPorts/MacPorts-2.1.2-10.8-MountainLion.pkg https://distfiles.macports.org/MacPorts/MacPorts-2.1.2-10.6-SnowLeopard.pkg
Like (1)
Version 2.1.2
mymon
15 May 2012
For those who already have older version and want to upgrade 1) port -d selfupdate 2) port upgrade outdated 3) port install mc (use with sudo)
Like (3)
Version 2.1
6 answer(s)
Cunamara
Cunamara
16 May 2012
Has MC been fixed to deal with the Mac fs?
Like
mymon
mymon
16 May 2012
All seems fine so far
Like
Jweisbin
Jweisbin
16 May 2012
I think you mean port -v self update
Like
mymon
mymon
16 May 2012
no I meant "port-d selfupdate" does same thing as -v but shows you more details ;)
Like (1)
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
27 July 2012
@mymon What does installing Midnight Commander have to to with upgrading MacPorts?
Like
mymon
mymon
02 April 2013
hmm I must have copied it by mistake u r right - it has nothing to do with port upgrade
Like
SickTeddyBear
08 May 2011
Am I the only person here who was unaware that there is an official MacPorts GUI called Pallet? Take a look: https://trac.macports.org/wiki/MacPortsGUI
Like (2)
Version 1.9.2
4 answer(s)
sjk
sjk
22 July 2011
Do you know if Pallet supports MacPorts 2.0.0? Porticus 1.8.1 doesn't.
Like (1)
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
22 July 2011
Don't know. Do "port info pallet" and email the maintainer and ask.
Like
Tubo
Tubo
29 July 2011
No, it does not support MacPorts 2.0 - same situation with Porticus...
Like (1)
Eridani
Eridani
06 December 2011
As of now Pallet does support MacPorts 2.0.3 And yah, I didn't know of Pallet either.
Like (2)
UnconventionalT
04 December 2010
This is an amazing piece of software, virtually any piece of free open-source software is available to you with this tool, including Gimp, Tesseract OCR, and even Wine.
Like (1)
Version 1.9.2
Yildi
20 June 2010
I was needing Inkscape with the textext plugin. I have installed Fink but I was having building problems. I have then tested MacPorts 1.9.1 and launched sudo port install inkscape. After a long delay Inkscape has been built with all the dependencies (there are a lot of them) and Voilà ! It worked without a hitch. Inkscape gives some warnings during the launch but it seem to work and the launch is quick. I am using OSX 10.6.4. Now I can begin to explore other OS softwares. Thanks to the MAcPorts team, very nice job!
Like (2)
Version 1.9.1
SickTeddyBear
10 June 2010
MacPorts works GREAT for me. No problems at all. I currently use it with a 10.5.8 PPC system, and will continue using it when I upgrade to a 10.6.x Intel. MacPorts is also a lifesaver. As a simple example, I just used it to compile the latest bug-fix release of the VideoLAN media player (VLC 1.0.6), which is currently only available in source form. Without MacPorts, I would need to download and compile by hand, and who knows what would have happened. As it is, I just typed "sudo port install vlc", and MacPorts handled the rest, compiling not only VLC, but all the dependencies, and it used the right variants so that I ended up with a clickable program in my /Applications/MacPorts directory as well. Sweet. Although I use MacPorts as my primary package manager, I also use Fink, and if you configure things correctly, they can easily co-exist on the same system and not get in each other's way. All you have to do is make sure that the path to MacPorts' directories come before Fink. You do that like this in your .profile or .bash_profile: test -r /sw/bin/init.sh && . /sw/bin/init.sh export PATH="/opt/local/bin:/opt/local/sbin:${PATH}" export MANPATH="/opt/local/share/man:${MANPATH}" export INFOPATH="/opt/local/share/info:${INFOPATH}"
Like (1)
Version 1.9
Borlox
10 June 2010
As a counterpoint to the last two comments, MacPorts almost always works well if it's correctly installed. Apart from Xcode, there are no external dependencies. Once in a while a port fails to build, and then you have to take a particpatory, problem-solving approach -- this is open-source software. I've found that most problems can be resolved by looking up bug reports, reading the mailing list, or posting a query myself. MacPorts is not a point-and-click kind of thing. You have to be comfortable with UNIX or willing to learn.
Like (3)
Version 1.9
Macsweep
08 January 2010
90% of everything I have tried to install, related to the X Windowing System, fails to install. I have Apple's development tools installed, too. The errors are usually "error code (1)" or "error code (0)" or " 'some-piece' failed to compile" no reason given. I get these whether I install using a GUI or the Terminal. No mention of what these codes mean. The other issue is, although it lists dependencies, it gives no clue as to where to get these or, in many cases, to which of these dependencies come with an application available through Macports.
Like (2)
Version 1.8.2
Albion
05 September 2009
Nothing builds with 1.8 under Snow Leopard. Not gimp, not emacs, most of their dependencies fail. Tried uninstalling and reinstalling using instructions given on the web site. Still no luck. A varying handful of important ports are always broken at any given time, but 1.8 achieves new milestones in port breakage.
Like (3)
Version 1.8
1 answer(s)
Trondah
Trondah
29 September 2009
A lot of ports are indeed broken in Snow Leopard, but this cannot be blamed on MacPorts. A lot of changes has been made under the hood in Snow Leopard, and a lot of GNU software needs to be patched or updated in order to build under this environment.
Like (4)
Version 1.8.1
Vitalenzo
28 August 2009
When I try to download the MacPorts 1.8 package for Snow Leopard I get the following error: Forbidden You don't have permission to access /MacPorts/MacPorts-1.8.0-10.6-SnowLeopard.dmg on this server.
Like
Version 1.8
Jazzyguy
14 December 2008
The most important application and the most necessary on the Mac. Without this it would be impossible to get the free games, and innovative stuff like "Figlet" and kStars which BTW beats all shareware and freeware astronomy apps available including Stellarium and other apps. It was great that it is now NATIVELY ported to 10.5 and runs great!
Like (3)
Version 1.7.0
Albion
14 December 2008
At long last, the clisp port is fixed! And all of my other 200+ ports are building correctly. Nice.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.0
Fonik
09 August 2008
Simply put, if port didn't exist I would not own a Mac.
Like (1)
Version 1.6
Gaoshan
27 December 2006
The package manager formerly known as DarwinPorts is the best thing out there for easy installation, compiling and management of all sorts of unix based stuff. Super app! Better than Fink, in my opinion, as it seems to have more up to date packages, in general.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.2
Eliashc
26 December 2006
Probably the best package manager there is.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.1