Back to SkyORB Lite page
SkyORB Lite free download for Mac

SkyORB Lite Reviews

2019.12.2
17 December 2019

3D planetarium featuring star-gazing and epheremis.

rocknrik2016
30 September 2014

Most helpful

says "FREE" in the software list but as you can see on this page it's actually $2.99
Like (1)
Version 4.9.4

Read 20 SkyORB Lite User Reviews

Rate this app:

rocknrik2016
30 September 2014
says "FREE" in the software list but as you can see on this page it's actually $2.99
Like (1)
Version 4.9.4
Beto-Boton
20 July 2014
epheremis ? You mean ephemeris?
Like
Version 4.9.1
1 answer(s)
lurkingremlin
lurkingremlin
30 September 2014
Right - that should read "ephemeris".
Like
Rogueb
06 December 2013
Major problems, such as outright crashes, failure to display "local view." "Old" search results, which display data about a star or planet etc., persist on display even after application is restarted, obscuring the star field. Zodiac signs creating same obstructive "haze." I have communicated this to developers and was assured those problems would be resolved in November release. However, the newest (paid version) has exactly the same problems, and is more unstable. Too bad, this was a promising application from an Astronomy entertainment point of view. This review holds for both the iPhone version of the application, as well as, the desktop / laptop variants. iPhone4 iOS 7.0.4 iMac 2013 running 10.9 MacBook Pro 2009 OS 10.9 All devices deemed by the developers to be compatible with latest Skyorb release.
Like (1)
Version 4.6.1
Vagator
22 December 2012
Thanks for the link Negritude-as you say the application is certainly free.
Like
Version 4.2.7
Jazzyguy
22 December 2012
Thank You Negritude for the tip! SkyOrb Free is a great app!
Like (1)
Version 4.2.7
SickTeddyBear
16 July 2012
There is now a free lite version of the app: http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/skyorb-3d-lite/id514168679?mt=12
Like
Version 4.1.1
Michaelthegeek
17 November 2011
Great App!!
Like
Version 4.0.7
Fairytale
31 January 2011
@ Harristype - Oh really? Well, if this is the case, maybe you can provide an official downloadlink for this "free" app?
Like (1)
Version 3.0.0
1 answer(s)
Tim27
Tim27
16 March 2011
The app is not free. It's $2.99. And apparently you have bowed to the Apple-god, because you are on MacUpdate, so obviously you are using a Mac. Otherwise, why would you be here? Unless you are trolling.
Like (4)
Fairytale
31 January 2011
Sadly another free Software that nobody can download unless you bow and pray to the Apple-god. It's a very bad idea to force the users through this policy to search and download from filesharingsites. :-(
Like (3)
Version 3.0.0
2 answer(s)
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
31 January 2011
Nobody is forcing anyone to resort to software piracy.
Like (4)
Big-Mac-XXL
Big-Mac-XXL
07 April 2011
Since SkyORB is now commercial it is understandable they use the AppStore. But all free software that goes AppStore-only is dead for me. I don't want to use Apples closed system and I want no install over the internet without getting an installer file for backup and re-distribution purposes among my fellow students.
Like (3)
Alamak
25 May 2010
Tastes are different. To me, this interface is HORRIBLE (ever heared of the Apple Human Interface Guidelines?) and the application completely useless for me as a hobby astronomer.
Like (4)
Version 2.0.5
Jazzyguy
23 February 2010
Negritude: Thanks for the PPC version for 10.5!!! Now for the review. This app is great! It is easy to use and the GUI is great! Great Freeware!
Like (3)
Version 2.0.2
Jonsi
11 January 2010
How do you configure this babe?????
Like (1)
Version 2.0.0
Thus-spake-z
10 January 2010
For OS 6 only; doesn't seem to be available for OS 5. What a bummer!
Like (1)
Version 2.0.0
1 answer(s)
Thus-spake-z
Thus-spake-z
10 January 2010
Should read 10.6 and 10.5 above.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.0
Marthi
07 September 2008
Very kind developer! On two occasions, he corrected his app during less than a day. Recommended!
Like (1)
Version 1.8.2
nostrodumbass
27 February 2008
Just checked the realtech-VR forum. A post there says, "SkyORB 08 has been released (1.8.0). Note: It has been only tested for MacOSX 10.5 Intel and Windows XP and Vista (Geforce 8 on both)." So, I guess, it's not intended for OS 10.4. Nor PPC Macs either, perhaps?
Like
Version 1.8
4 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
27 February 2008
It is a Universal Binary.
Like
Version 1.8
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
27 February 2008
Forgot to mention that it works on my MacBookPro C2D, running OS X 10.4.11
Like
Version 1.8
nostrodumbass
nostrodumbass
27 February 2008
realtech-VR just informed me that they're fixing a SkyORB 1.8 issue that's particular only to PowerPCs running OS 10.4x, and a fix will come shortly.
Like
Version 1.8
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
27 February 2008
Thanks for that info, very kind of you to post.
Like
Version 1.8
nostrodumbass
27 February 2008
Looks intriguing but crashes when trying to launch, here, every time. Crash log says, "EXC_BAD_ACCESS" "KERN_INVALID_ADDRESS"
Like
Version 1.8
Rampancy
02 April 2007
Same as William Schaff. No go on an MBP C2D, 10.4.9.
Like
Version 1.6.7
Javierhz
24 March 2007
The problem seems to be graphic card related. It doesn't work with Intel GMA 950. I've tested on different machines and found it works fine when not using an Intel graphic card.
Like
Version 1.6.6
William-S
21 March 2007
screenshots look cool App wouldn't launch intel osx 10.4.9, developer kit, x11, etc v3xshader load failed
Like
Version 1.6.6
Andys
05 September 2006
I installed it with no problems and was very impressed with the quality of graphics, the speed of the software and the amount of available information. I will probably only be using 1% of the data provided by this software at any given time, but I can definately recommend it for depth of information, layout and overall "wow" factor. Great graphics. MacBook Pro, 1GB RAM, 10.4.7
Like
Version 1.6