Back to Parallels Desktop page
Parallels Desktop free download for Mac

Parallels Desktop Reviews

14.1.3
22 March 2019

Run Windows apps without rebooting.

Haliomaster
19 October 2013

Most helpful

I use PD for about 3 years now and I like it. But what I dislike is the update policy. Mostly about 2 or 3 free minor updates in a year. And one very expensive ones a year to keep up. I still use DP 7 which is working for me. Just for being greedy : 1 star
Like (44)
Version 9.0.23136

Read 701 Parallels Desktop User Reviews

Rate this app:

ocean442
06 November 2019
An indispensible app to everyone who needs to run several operating system!
Like
Version 14.1.3
MarcoCarugati7711
17 July 2019
bought when the version 8 was released and now i can't use the code to activate the sw.
Like
Version 14.1.3
Naoh
21 March 2019
Parallels 14.1.3 is available.
Like
Version 14.1.2
Derekcurrie
07 February 2019
A comment of annoyance: If you check out the release notes for WINE v4.0 you'll find:
"What's new in Wine 4.0. . . . Initial support for Direct3D 12 is implemented. Direct3D 12 support requires the vkd3d library, and a Vulkan-capable graphics card."

Meanwhile, we've been making requests to Parallels, VMWare and Oracle for YEARS to implement DirectX 11 and 12 capability, with no likelihood of it ever happening. And yet, the WINE project figured out how to do it. Explain that to me. ?
Like (2)
Version 14.1.1
stevend
04 January 2019
Strange to list 14.1.0 as a new update, because it is an update from months ago!
Like (1)
Version 14.1.0
Mcr
20 December 2018
Guys, The following article sheds light on why Virtualization systems have not been able to solve the Direct X 11 and higher problem. https://www.parallels.com/blogs/directx-and-parallels-desktop-13/ Now Apple has made no secret that it is deprecating support for OpenGL, that Metal is the future. But Metal would seem NOT to have the necessary APIs or mapping to solve the problem either, as Metal 1.0 has been around since 2014 and Metal 2.0 since mid-2017, plenty of time for Fusion, Parallels, etc, to figure out Direct X 11+ support, ASSUMING Metal 2.0 was capable of solving the issues. So, it would seem Metal 2.0 is still lacking something. I'm not a graphics expert, but my understanding is that Vulkan is possibly the answer to a lot of these cross platform graphics support issues. Metal and DX sitting on top of Vulkan would provide a bridge, across multiple OS platforms; the graphics version of the 'write once, run anywhere' idea.
Like
Version 14.0.1
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
15 October 2018
If you're wondering, Parallels Desktop 13.3.2 works fine in Mojave. You don't need to pay for an upgrade at this time if you don't want to. Both Parallels and VMWare Fusion are constantly bugging us for an upgrade even when the current version works OK.
Like
Version 14.0.1
11 answer(s)
Macinman
Macinman
17 October 2018
I can't speak for Parallels Desktop, but, depending on the version of Fusion, and the new release of macOS / OS X, there were compatibility issues. The other thing to consider is, have you tried installing Mojave as a guest in both previous versions of the software (PD , Fusion?), that's usually where the new version makes a difference. Official support for the latest version of macOS.. I know people have been able to continue using the previous version in such cases, but it's not true for everyone.. With that said, I've upgraded to Fusion 11, mainly for the latest features, but more importantly bug fixes and security patches.
Like
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
17 October 2018
You're probably right. I haven't tried installing Mojave as a guest OS in Parallels—or Fusion, which I've also used from time to time. I'm running Mojave on an external drive as a test platform. One complication I can think of is that the Mojave installer reformats a hard drive or SSD in APSF format, without asking permission first. Inside Parallels or Fusion you would have fewer options to revert to HFS+. APSF doesn't work well on an HDD. So, for testing purposes, I cloned it to another partition in HFS+ format on an external drive. I'm not sure how you would manage that in a VM.
Like
Macinman
Macinman
17 October 2018
I haven't had any issues with my Fusion Drive being converted to APFS as of Mojave upgrade.. High Sierra also formats a VM's drive to APFS. There again, haven't noticed any issues. FYI, my Plex Media is on an external 6TB drive connected by USB 3, and Have been running it as APFS since High Sierra, no problems at all. Granted, it's not running an operating system from that drive, but still adding media and playing back media has been flawless, and the drive is still in good standing without any filesystem corruption.

Just some thoughts.
Like
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
18 October 2018
Professional testing shows that APFS degrades performance on mechanical hard drives and SSDs: https://www.macobserver.com/analysis/apfs-performance-lags-hfs/. That doesn't mean it won't work, but that it doesn't work as well. As this article demonstrates, APFS is slower on an SSD than on an SSD formatted as HFS+. That said, APSF offers many improvements over HFS+ and is clearly the future for Apple. Security is one of those improvements, but performance is not. And APFS is not yet compatible with Fusion Drives, like those on many new iMacs, not to mention my late 2013 iMac. If you spend the extra money for an iMac with an SSD, you're golden—in more ways then one. ;-)
Like
Macinman
Macinman
18 October 2018
The Fusion drive incompatibility was only applicable for High Sierra. Mojave has changed that. My Fusion in my late 2015 iMac was HFS+ until I upgraded to Mojave. Mojave converted it to APFS upon install. Has been working since release day of Mojave without issues.
Like
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
18 October 2018
I called Apple tech support on this one. I was told that APSF was not compatible with Fusion Drives. During the beta program a Fusion Drive could support APFS, but the release version has removed that capability. In my reading on the subject I found that some people could get it to work on a FD, but most had nothing but trouble.
Like
Macinman
Macinman
18 October 2018
Did apple support reference Mojave? This was the case for High Sierra. Craig, even confirmed at WWDC that APFS was working on Fusion drives in Mojave. It is possible The support documentation being referenced was still from High Sierra, and not updated yet. Apple is a large company.

You are correct about the beta and it being removed on the final release, but that was High Sierra. I have talked to people who keep up with Apple and the person said that Mojave requires that it's install be on APFS to work at all. I will double checking the information provided, but I think you are going by outdated information here.
Like
Macinman
Macinman
18 October 2018
Here are some articles regarding Mojave, and Fusion drives, and APFS:
https://eclecticlight.co/2018/06/04/apfs-will-finally-be-supported-on-fusion-drives-in-macos-10-14-mojave/
https://www.imore.com/macos-mojave-faq
Like
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
18 October 2018
That leaves me wondering whose information is out-of-date. Because I cloned the APSF install of Mojave to an HFS+ partition and it works just fine. Nor can all the reports of APSF not working on Fusion drives be wrong. I grant I may have confused the status of APSF on High Sierra and Mojave, but Apple has done nothing to clarify the situation. The tech support person I talked with this morning took some time to research the issue so he wasn't just talking off the top of his head. Though he said he hadn't heard the question before, if that adds any clarity.

As for those articles about Mojave, they say that APFS will be supported on Fusion Drives, not that it is. Apple is well known for changing their mind at the last minute. I could find nothing current on the question on the web, or on Apple's web site, which is why I called tech support. So out-of-date information may be all there is. Few of us know any Apple insiders to consult, by the way. No disrespect intended, but secondhand information isn't much to go on. So, caveat emptor. If it works for you, then great. I'm not willing to go there yet.

As for installing Mojave in Parallels (of Fusion), a clean install wouldn't tell me much. My test platform uses a clone of my main system and my internal drive doesn't have room for a VM that large—which is why I use an external drive for testing purposes.
Like
Macinman
Macinman
18 October 2018
I agree with what you are saying, and as far as PD and Fusion, that's a different issue. I just wanted to close this conversation in saying, that according to Google search, there was no direct information to be found on the subject, that's what I was going for. As far as the iMoore article, there are people who work there, who also do MacBreaWeekly which is a TwitTV show which is a reputable source, so that was the best source I was able to find in the circumstances. As far as Apple insiders, I'm not a paying developer, but I did do the public beta program for Mojave. Anyway, for now what I offered the best I could to help. Hopefully official documentation will show up soon, just for clarification. Have a great day / evening!
Like
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
19 October 2018
@ Macinman: in a roundabout way, then, we arrived at more or less the same place. Since it works on your Fusion Drive, Mojave may be compatible; however, Apple has had nothing definitive to say on the subject. I also searched for an answer and came up with nothing current. Which leads me to suspect your successful install of Mojave was fortuitous rather than indicative. I also tested the Mojave beta with dubious results. The APSF version was a slug on my HDD partition. On an HFS+ partition it worked somewhat better. The release version is better still but there are certain software incompatibilities holding me back. Frankly I've been cautious about macOS upgrades since OS X 10.10 Yosemite. It was a mess and I never did get it to work on my iMac. I had to go directly from Mavericks to El Capitan, which was fine. Sierra works OK too. But I have software issues with High Sierra as well, so I'm sticking with 10.12.6 for the time being.
Like
Derekcurrie
15 October 2018
Parallels Desktop v14.0.1 is now available. It is compatible with macOS 10.14 Mojave and adds several new features.
Like
Version 13.3.2
mzbe
26 August 2018
[this review is for version 14]: switching back to Parallels 14 after moving to Fusion 8, 10 post Parallels 12.
This version is a big winner (vs. Fusion, including the current 2018 Tech preview). Coherence integration is so much superior to the shaky Fusion Unity view, it's not even funny. The entire experience is a lot smoother (on 2018 i9 MBP with 32GB RAM), more responsive, and has more integration options.
Network performance to local/Mac host folders is 100x faster, no delays (unlike Fusion).
Massive thumbs up for Parallels.
Only downside: More expensive for the Pro version on the annual subscription, and doesn't cover two machines like Fusion (but worth it).
Like (1)
Version 13.3.2
Radus
25 June 2018
13.3.2 is a rather important update. It implements 64bit parallels tools for OSX guest, improving the performance of osx guests.
Like
Version 13.3.2
Gmot R
05 January 2018
Nice upgrade. I’ve been using their stuff since Parallels Desktop for mac 6
Like
Version 13.2.0
mamunguia2011
04 January 2018
When I bought my iMac back at the end of 2015, I bought the Parallels version of it. It slowed down my computer to the degree that everything crashed despite adjusting settings to make it fast. I quit using Parallels and decided to use my mac functionality of Bootcamp. I wish also that I could get a refund for my money. I'm tired of believing companies that software sometimes it works and sometimes it does not.
Like (1)
Version 13.2.0
orhon
29 November 2017
This is probably one of the easiest VM applications to use. Sadly, their pricing is absolutely terrible and greedy. If they don't take care of their pricing, they will probably lose in the long run. For now, I paid for this.
Like
Version 13.2.0
Jimw
26 October 2017
After a frustrating experience with VMWare after paying for and spending the best part of a weekend trying to get their their latest version upgrade installed on my MacPro Desktop, only to find out after installation it is incompatible with my processor, I emailed Parallels presages questions. That was 3 weeks ago and never got a reply. I switched from Parallels years ago due to poor support and customer service. Based on this experience that has not changed! So I will continue using Fusion until I get my new MacPro Desktop next year and then try Virtual Box. If I am not going to get decent support from either company, why should I pay for their software when open source is available?
Like (5)
Version 13.1.1
Derekcurrie
26 October 2017
MU has a wrong, DEAD link for downloading Parallels 13.1.1:
http://www.jdoqocy.com/click-[blahblahblah]

Use this real instead:
https://download.parallels.com/desktop/v13/13.1.1-43120/ParallelsDesktop-13.1.1-43120.dmg

NOTES: I did research on the now DEAD http://www.jdoqocy.com website and discovered that it was a nuisance marketing website that forwarded victims to another nuisance marketing site formerly called Commission Junction (Junk-tion IMHO) now called Conversant. RipoffReport.com users have repeatedly reported this company as "an elaborate scam ripoff con!" Why MU has a link to them, I cannot imagine.

IOW: FIX THIS PLEASE MU!
Like (1)
Version 13.1.1
Aw21
10 October 2017
With the 13.1 update all my Windows 10 VMs stall (hang) on boot and the Parallels application in the Application folder is invisible. Unusable. I had to revert to Parallels 13.0.1.
Like (1)
Version 13.1.0
1 answer(s)
Aw21
Aw21
21 October 2017
Both problems have been fixed in Parallels 13.1.1 (43120).
Like (1)
Agf-
10 October 2017
? no more mouse and keyboard input in Mac OS 10.8 VM after update to 13.1 Very funny, Parallels. That costs little, happy stars ;-)
Like (2)
Version 13.1.0
Richard-Hallas
10 October 2017
An absolutely superb product on every level, with years of polish behind it. Best in class, and significantly better than its competitors in my experience.
Like
Version 13.1.0
mark-bischoff
06 October 2017
Parallels does no longer support Apple Bootcamp (since Parallels 13) sorry without that function this Software is nearly worthless to me!!!!
Like (3)
Version 13.0.1
1 answer(s)
mark-bischoff
mark-bischoff
06 October 2017
on there Website they talk about supporting Bootcamp but in fact there is no option for bootcamp and this problem is well documented without any solution. Parallels Support ask users to disable Disable System Integrity Protection (SIP) - sorry this is really dangerous to do!!! DONT DO IT!!!

https://forum.parallels.com/threads/bootcamp-in-parallels-13.341582/
Like (3)
CruzinCooler
14 September 2017
Not a hugh fan. Very slow on a 2015 32 gb ram i7 iMac. Was expecting better performance.
Like (1)
Version 13.0.1
cig0
01 September 2017
Parallels Desktop 13 Greedy Edition out! Go get your uss rammed!
Like (5)
Version 13.0.0
Sylanel
24 August 2017
I have purchased Parallels Desktop 12.x on June 22, 2017. I contacted Parallels Customer support yesterday after having received an email announcing the availability of version 13. Since I had just purchased, I thought they would help me out to get version 13 with paying the full price again. I was WRONG to trust them. They said that only people who've purchased on August 1st and later will get upgraded free of charge. The rest of their customers must pay again no matter what. Word of advice, buy VMware. They have been there forever. Parallels are just a greedy bunch who don't care about loyal customers even if you've been purchasing their software since their early years. Once again, stay far from Parallels!
Like (18)
Version 13.0.0
2 answer(s)
Richard-Hallas
Richard-Hallas
10 October 2017
Whilst I have complete sympathy with your position and don't condone such an inflexible approach to upgrades from Parallels, at the same time, just saying "buy VMware instead" isn't the right answer. VMware has *NOT* been there "forever". In fact, Parallels was the first on the Mac platform by several years, and it shows in the quality of the products. I've used both a lot, across their history, and VMware is consistently FAR BEHIND Parallels in terms of both features and performance. I know that not everyone agrees with this assessment, but in my own experience, comparing Parallels Desktop with VMware Fusion, Parallels has consistently been the best, time and time again. One might have certain minor quibbles with individual versions etc., but Parallels is quite simply by far the better product in my personal experience. Also, on the occasions when I've found a bug and needed tech support because of it, the Parallels people have always been really helpful (i.e. they've worked with me in detail to find the issue and have fixed the bug). So that's my experience, for what it's worth: unusually positive on all levels (enough for me to want to write this in response to your comment).
Like (1)
Sir1963
Sir1963
26 October 2017
Since they changed the licensing model for Universities we have dropped Parallels and are now Using Microsoft Remote Desktop to access centralized services for Windows software and use Virtual box for Linux VMs. Last licence we bought was version 9 and I personally had bought every version from 1-10 but have found alternative software so I no longer need a VM. And with the shift to VMWares vdi we are getting huge performance gains and a lot of flexibility that are impossible with Parallels
Like (3)
Derekcurrie
22 August 2017
Parallels 13 was released today. Information @ http://www.parallels.com/upgradepd13
Like
Version 12.2.1
dabcca
15 August 2017
Parallels V13 should be out any day soon.....
Like (1)
Version 12.2.1
GorgeousGeorge
16 May 2017
Love Parallels a must for any Mac power user or professional who uses different apps in their day some of which are only available for Windows. Let's face it there are some apps on Windows with no Mac equivalent. Parallels let's me run those special Windows apps I need without having to go to another computer or reboot my Mac into Windows. It's so convenient and powerful and saves me a ton of time and allows me to use all the tools I need.
Like (2)
Version 12.2.0
Derekcurrie
09 May 2017
FYI for version 11 users. Parallels just updated to v11.2.3. It is a compatibility fix for running the latest Windows 10 update on macOS 10.12.x.
Like (2)
Version 12.2.0
1 answer(s)
Alvin-H
Alvin-H
13 May 2017
@Derekcurrie:
thank you for information, i'm interested to your comment: paralles can installed in two macs, it's legal? because as long as know it's mac base license not user base.

http://kb.parallels.com/en/112971

they said:
In order to use Parallels Desktop for Mac on several Mac machines, you need to purchase the corresponding number of licenses. Just like paralles support told me.

if there any upgrade policy i would like to know, if i can use it on my 2 macs i think i will try paralles again.

Thank you
Like
ylluminate
18 April 2017
Breaks my heart, but 12.x is less problematic than VMware 8.5.x has been. Having said that, I've had to completely uninstall and reinstall Parallels after the 10.12.4 update for some reason due to an odd startup delay issue, but overall it has been a lot more functional overall with some of the bugs that seem to be creeping into VMware after the enormous layoff...
Like
Version 12.2.0
1 answer(s)
Mcr
Mcr
19 July 2017
Ooopss, I meant 'Parallels at some point may pop up a warning', not VMware!
Like
Alvin-H
10 March 2017
If you feel enought paying 80$US every year to paralles (to 1 mac, i have 2 macs) you can try other option: cost looks like same 80$US but it's not yearly fee, and it's not per mac, you can use on multiple mac. Or can try free one virtualbox or Veertu desktop (free too) but no Mac OS guest yet
Like (1)
Version 12.1.3
4 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
09 May 2017
The version upgrade fee is $50, not $80. Also, I run Parallels on two home Macs with one license. So huh?
Like
Alvin-H
Alvin-H
13 May 2017
@Derekcurrie:
yes, $50 for upgrade sorry for mistake, but are you sure it's legal to run paralles on two macs? because paralles support told me, i have to buy 2 license if i want to do that, it's mac base license not user base, if you use on two mac you
need to buy 2 license

http://kb.parallels.com/en/112971

Note: In order to use Parallels Desktop for Mac on several Mac machines, you need to purchase the corresponding number of licenses. If you would like to move Parallels Desktop from one computer to another, you do not need to buy a new key, simply uninstall the software from the Mac it is currently installed on before installing on a new one.
Like
Mcr
Mcr
19 July 2017
As a past user of Parallels, I can confirm that the EULA is one license per physical Mac. I say "confirmed" because I have had multiple IT depts at multiple clients confirm that, to ensure compliance. You may use the same key on multiple macs, but VMware at some point may (and has done so in the past) pop up a warning that the key has been used to activate on another machine.

Users are allowed to MOVE/TRANSFER the license to another machine, in which case user is asked to uninstall on current mac, install on new mac, and use the same key. I'm not the software police, do what your conscience tells you or as you please, just stating the policy for those readers who work in environments where licensing is taken very seriously, like corporate enterprise.

Vmware Fusion EULA allows THREE physical Macs per license....just say'in.

And this week in July, 30% off sale this week of July 17, 2017, on Fusion, Workstation Windows and Workstation Linux, regular and Pro, direct from Vmware. https://www.vmware.com/products/fusion.html https://www.vmware.com/products/workstation.html
No I"m not a shill, just a smart consumer, who is not tied to any brand. It's about value for your dollar. Technically, both products are excellent and pretty much on par for 90% of users for what they need, so yes, price does factor, especially when there is little to separate technicallly.
Like (1)
Alvin-H
Alvin-H
29 July 2017
@Mcr:

thank you for confirmation, it's helpful, yes the price is biggest reason to choose VMware, i'm not tied to any developer, just feel parallels price is to high and many people think they can use in multiple mac, i'm affraid many people violate EULA without they knowing it.

as for VMware i thing not limited to 3 Macs:

VMware Fusion for personal use:
You may install and use VMware Fusion for personal, non-commercial use on any Apple-branded products running Mac OS X ("Mac Computer") that you own or control.

VMware Fusion for commercial use:
If you are a commercial enterprise or educational institution, you may install and use the Software on a number of Apple-branded products running Mac OS X ("Mac Computer") that you own or control equal to the number of licenses purchased. Installing and using the Software on multiple Mac Computers with a single license is prohibited even if the computers are not running the Software concurrently.

because i'm personal use only not for commercial .

Hope this will help
Like
Aw21
29 January 2017
Running the "Reclaim Disk Space" action on all my Windows VMs (Windows 10, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP) corrupted their disks. When trying to launch the VMs some of them start with "Preparing Automatic Repair" and other just present a black screen. Trying to repair the disks was not successful. I had to restore the VMs from backups. Using the "Reclaim Disk Space" action on macOS or linux VMs seems to work fine. I'm using Parallels Desktop 12 Version for Mac Pro Edition (Version 12.1.2 (41525)) on a MacBook Pro (late 2016) running macOS Sierra 10.12.2 (16C67). This looks like a fatal bug to me as it results in data loss. I've posted this on the Parallels forum but got not response.
Like (2)
Version 12.0.2
ylluminate
27 January 2017
12.1.3 (41532) is out: http://kb.parallels.com/en/123948 This update for Parallels Desktop 12 for Mac 12.1.3 (41532) for Parallels Desktop Standard and Pro Edition addresses overall stability and performance issues, and includes the following fixes and improvements: • Resolves an issue with request to enter Mac administrator password on every Parallels Desktop start. • Resolves an issue with Problem ID 15380 on Parallels Desktop start. • Resolves and issue with mouse not working on external display after it has been reconnected • Resolves an issue with Parallels Desktop crashes when trying to print to PDF
Like (1)
Version 12.0.2
ylluminate
28 December 2016
Any reason we're not seeing current updates here anymore?
Like (2)
Version 12.0.2
Macpenguin
24 November 2016
!!!! PARALLELS USERS : CAUTION !!!! DO NOT UPGRADE TO VERSION 12.1 IF YOU HAVE A "NON RECURRING" VERSION (that is not Pro version and not Business Edition). IF YOU UPGRADE YOU WILL ONLY BE ABLE TO ASSIGN 8GB OF RAM TO YOUR VM's !!!! IF YOU UPGRADE YOU WILL ONLY BE ABLE TO ALLOCATE 4CORES TO YOUR VM !!!! This is simply the most outrageous update EVER ! They already showed their greed when MacOsX 10.11 came out, claiming that Parallels 10 would not be compatible... when it was perfectly. So they scared people urging them to upgrade when there was ABSOLUTELY no need to do so ! But this is simply going much to far... and this is a simple way to tell : "Give me 80€ each year". I will NOT do that... I would urge people to try the competitors... One is even FREE !
Like (4)
Version 12.0.2
Macbookpro
13 November 2016
Version 12.1.0 is out... Info about it is here http://kb.parallels.com/en/123948
Like (2)
Version 12.0.2
ErvinsStrauhmanis
15 September 2016
I have Parallels Desktop Pro 12, which was won in a prize draw. I thought that I'd be getting a standard non-Pro version, and I was disappointed that I got a professional version instead. Why would I be frustrated in getting a more advanced edition, you might ask, it is because the app will stop to function within a year, as I discovered when I registered serial number on Parallels website. I want to upgrade apps at a pace of my own choosing and as such, I will not even install the app, as to not to get locked out when the time is up. Technically it is a great peace of software, it's a pity that stance on customers blows it all away, for me at least.
Like (3)
Version 12.0.0
pettifogger0712
26 August 2016
I've used Parallels since Version 6 and it has always worked pretty well for me BUT the yearly upgrade price of $49 is becoming pretty onerous. I now wait until it is bundled with a few other apps or offered as a special on MU before buying it. Not sure if I'll be upgrading to v12, however, as v11 in conjunction with Windows 10 is working well on my mid-2011 iMac :-)
Like (1)
Version 12.0.0
OhEssex
26 August 2016
When I see Parallels appear in the daily MacUpdate listings it shows as 3.5 stars. When I click on it in the listings I go to the Parallels page, where it shows at the top as half a star. If I scroll down past the ads to where the comments/reviews start I now see that the overall rating is 4 stars. Can we have a little more consistency here. What do the 3 different star ratings mean? I went back through all the comments/reviews for about 4 years and even 3.5 stars looks very generous indeed. I know that for many years now Parallels have been hosing their customers and I think the reviews that imply a rating over lifetime need to culled down to something like maybe 3 years. Just because every man and his dog thought Parallels was awesome back when it first came out and there wasn't really anything like it at the time bears no reflection at all on what seasoned users think of it today (after how they've been treated by Parallels).
Like (2)
Version 12.0.0
Derekcurrie
26 August 2016
No DirectX 10 support in sight. Same old 'wait and see' response from Parallels when asked about this now ancient holdup. Can't play modern 3D games. *Discontented* :-( :-P
Like (1)
Version 12.0.0
MacSpanner
26 August 2016
Caution!!! I'm a long time user and tried going to 12 but had to quickly revert to 11. I'm sure it will get resolved in a while but at the moment v12 is unusably buggy in many ways. Go read the Parallels forums and you'll get an idea. Fiver starts when it's good but right now... not usable for V12
Like
Version 12.0.0
1 answer(s)
Parallels Support
Parallels Support
09 November 2016
Hello,
Parallels Support is available 24x7 and we'll be happy to help you with the upgrade process and make sure everything works perfectly. Please get in touch with us at http://www.parallels.com/products/desktop/support/

Thanks,
Parallels Team
Like
niceexpatguy
30 July 2016
BUYER BEWARE. As at 7/30/16, there is a big problem with Windows 10 activation recognizing the Virtual Machine if you're switching from using BootCamp to Parallels, and Parallels 11 blows away your Windows license in both Parallels AND on BootCamp if you try to point Parallels at Win 10 on BootCamp. If you're running Win 8.1 on BootCamp, installing Parallels 11 will kill the Win 8.1 license in Parallels, but it leaves it OK on BootCamp, so if you're dead with Win 10 in Parallels you can downgrade back to 8.1 in BootCamp and your license will still be there. I've been told by Parallels support today that they're working on a workaround, but be sure they've fixed it before you kill your Win 10 license. They said "We apologize for the inconvenience, but this issue is caused by Windows 10 activation policies: the activation key is bounded to the hardware and as the virtual machine emulates hardware it differs from the real one reasonably enough. You're not the only one facing this issue and our Development team already works upon a workaround for this issue, but you should understand that it is a Windows licensing issue, not the Parallels one." Er, not really. It's a Parallels issue because they claim you can run Windows in their Virtual Machine, and now you can't! Personally, I'm leaving them completely after it took me 48 hours of support calls before they 'fessed up that that they knew they had a problem. I'll try something else.
Like (3)
Version 11.2.0
Rikyman
12 July 2016
I was a parallels suporter, but the new licencing is no go, it's not an upgrade but a big downgrade, there are better less ripping user software, I have moved do VMWare, after this.

By the price of this software you can buy an infocus kangaroo and have a Windows machine allways with you.
Like (2)
Version 11.2.0
Toosit
05 July 2016
Version 11 is a rip off because it's basically version 10 minus version 11's pro features. Why on earth would I buy a downgraded version or pay an annual subscription to get same old features!? I will be using my old version 10 which is great!
Like (3)
Version 11.2.0
ben-stamp
20 May 2016
I am still using v8 with OSX10.11.5 and working fine. As long it does, I will not update for sure. The license scheme is just plain -How to ripping off people every year-.
Like (4)
Version 11.2.0
Akwarner
10 May 2016
Version 11.2.0 is out
Like
Version 11.1.3
Sperling
31 March 2016
It's expensive crap. No apology for language - that's 100% truth. I've nothing to apologize for. Parallels is expensive crap. Every OSX they're releasing SW, which differs only in one parameter: "allowed-version-osx". No way Parallels there is replacement and I am happily using it!
If you'd provide your piece of SW for reasonable price - I'd maybe consider. But you f* with me once I nought in past & you're simply pricey - for NO additional value - maybe some poor other users need to use your solution, but if they'd try to search a bit - you're gonna die by hunger!
That half star as rating is more than generous. And yes, you're too greedy.
Like (10)
Version 11.1.3
3 answer(s)
alex-rizhsky
alex-rizhsky
03 May 2017
Hi Sperling:) Actually there is another alternative to parallels, that I can higly recommend: www.parallel-desktop.com?EZE They provide remote Windows desktop accessible from cloud. The price is €8 per month, and you can subscribe whenever you need to use it and cancel the subscription if you know you're not gonna use it next month. There is a free trial available.
Like
Walksonair
Walksonair
07 July 2017
What is the replacement name that you are happy with?
Like
cig0
cig0
01 September 2017
Well stated @sperling, those - and more - were the reasons that lead me to choose VMware's solution. As you say, f* greedy thieves.
Like
iamdavid
31 March 2016
So when I criticized MacUpdate for this update to Parallels being f ive weeks late in being posted here they deleted my post within a coupe of hours. Says a lot about them... Wonder how soon this will be removed...
Like (3)
Version 11.1.3
1 answer(s)
Jlock
Jlock
01 April 2016
The comment was removed by accident. There was a user who was going around and leaving spam comments. I apologize for the removal of your comment.

You're correct though, the update for the app was late. It has since been updated and I apologize for any confusion that may have caused.
Like (6)
Mastcell
31 March 2016
I got an email from MacUpdate that goes like this:

......We've partnered with MacUpdate Community favorite Parallels to offer you 2 exclusive discounts:
Parallels Desktop 11 for only $59.99 - 25% off the normal price of $79.99......

Parallels Desktop 11 is ideal for home and student use, and of course, this PERPETUAL license of Parallels allows you to run Windows and Mac applications side by side......

What is the meaning of the word 'Perpetual'. Does this means there is no need to fork out for future upgrades ever? Or is this a misprint?
Like (1)
Version 11.1.2
3 answer(s)
anonymous-heron-1581
anonymous-heron-1581
31 March 2016
"Perpetual" means that your license for Parallels Desktop 11 never expires. It's not a "subscription" that requires renewal as, for instance, is the case with Parallels Access. It does not mean that you will receive all future updates for free.
Like (3)
Jlock
Jlock
31 March 2016
Hi Mastcell,

Perpetual means that it is a normal licensed version of the app. The upside to this is that you do not have to pay a subscription. However, you will not receive upgrades for the app in the future.

if you wanted something more in terms of a subscription version of the app, you can check that out here: http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/56644/parallels-desktop-for-mac-pro-edition
Like (2)
Mastcell
Mastcell
31 March 2016
Thank you for answering the 'Perpetual' question. I think using this word is rather misleading. That is just a normal licence. 'Perpetual' means to me never needing to pay to upgrade EVER! I already paid hundreds for each and every version of PD since Version 3, I rather switch over to VM Fusion for their less restrictive licence, e.g., the ability to install on three computers.
Like (2)
Donmontalvo
24 March 2016
11.1.3 (32521) has been out a while now, might want to bookmark: http://kb.parallels.com/en/123410
Like
Version 11.1.2
Derekcurrie
20 January 2016
The current version is 11.1.2 (not 11.1.1 as listed today).

I've had minimal problems with Parallels 11 for my purposes. It is an improvement over v10 IMHO.

DirectX Problem:
I continue to be dismayed that NO virtualization system, including Parallels, VMWare and VirtualBox, supports anything beyond DirectX v10. Note that WINE is no better. That knocks them all out as able to play the most recent 3D games. And no, the problem is NOT (necessarily) the GPU hardware of the Mac. The problem is bothering to code the translators to allow use of the GPU hardware on the Mac. I consider this a dead end issue. Sad.
Like (1)
Version 11.1.1
Pablo2k
05 December 2015
I finally had enough with Parallels version 11. I´m one of those who didn´t read the licensing terms good enough. I thought Great, I can activate and deactivate some Parallels with my Parallels account (As Microsoft beautifully do it with Office 365). But you are forced to BOTH log in to the account AND enter a serial number (Oh why?) AND you are only allowed to have ONE installation?? If something fails you have to call them to reset you install counter one ONE!! In addition Parallels 11 fails to update Windows 10 when there is a new release. It freezes my computer and I have to force KILL my mac and reboot. Then it rolls back the failed Win 10 installation. So today I used the cross grade offer from a competitor, even if it has slightly lower 3D performance it is allowed to have it installed on my iMac, Mac Pro and Mac Book in addition to it being more stable. Version 10 of Parallels was beautiful, so I´m a little sad to say goodbye. But I cannot support these practices. So goodbye Parallels, hope to see you again when you clean up your business practices and fix your instability.
Like (3)
Version 11.0.2
Mikael-B
01 December 2015
I decided to abandon Parallels now after being told I should be able use the PD11 trial side by side with my older PD8 installation. At no point during installation am I Informed that the PD11 Trial will delete my older installation, but that is of course the end result. The sales support were nice and helpful, but I got enough of such schemes. I don't fully understand the crticism of the yearly fees as that is optional. Cross-grading to Fusion is my next step.
Like (3)
Version 11.0.2