Back to Create Booklet page
Create Booklet free download for Mac

Create Booklet Reviews

18 January 2021

Export documents as a PDF booklet.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
anonymous-impala-4811
anonymous-impala-4811
Dec 9 2019
2.1.3
5.0
Dec 9 2019
5.0
Version: 2.1.3
Gold standard user-friendly functionality. Imposes booklets easily into many formats including 4-up and 8-up with optional fine-tuning of specs. From any Print dialog, PDF Print Service opens the document in CB2. Using presets, one-click Print does all. Reported snags are likely more in the details of page design than in CB2 which is clear throughout. Many just-right features. Developer Christoph gives prompt complete support.
chris-400
chris-400
Feb 1 2019
2.1.3
5.0
Feb 1 2019
5.0
Version: 2.1.3
This is one of my most useful apps. And, when I had difficulty getting started, Christoph went out of his way to help me be successful. Thank you, Christoph!
Drmanik
Drmanik
Sep 27 2018
2.1.2
5.0
Sep 27 2018
5.0
Version: 2.1.2
I bought Create booklet in Dec 2017 Order Number/ Invoice: #2680559 Transaction: JTDSZFOJ0NCIYQ0F95BUHYRQKCY. It is a great App. Unfortunately my home got flooded Last month & I lost my laptop in addition to all my other possessions And Equipment. I would like to know is there away to upgrade to Create booklet 2 without paying the full price on App Store.
Dr-Sparks
Dr-Sparks
Mar 3 2018
2.0.2
0.0
Mar 3 2018
0.0
Version: 2.0.2
I bought version 1.3.11 via MacUpdate on July 24, 2017. And now the only option for upgrade to version 2 is to pay full price of $20 in the App Store? Why isn't there an upgrade discount? Too many companies hurt their costumers this way, nowadays!
knif
knif
Feb 28 2018
1.3.11
5.0
Feb 28 2018
5.0
Version: 1.3.11
Best Booklet App out there. And they just released a new version, Create Booklet 2. I print booklets like once a month, but I am happy that I have this app. Make my life so much easier.
gogrango-travel
gogrango-travel
Jan 1 2018
1.3.8
5.0
Jan 1 2018
5.0
Version: 1.3.8
REVIEW I have been using this software program for six months to make booklets on my Mac. Create Booklet Program is easy to use and does exactly what I want. It converts an A4 PDF into A5 booklet. Support:The support has been outstanding. Prompt:. When I first bought the program I needed support. Support was provided overnight and I was up and away. Comprehensive: The support solved my problems and the explanations were clear and concise. Ongoing : Six months later when I had trouble due to a computer update, support was available again even over the holidays. Create Booklet is a 5 star program. ✭✭✭✭✭ JanEB, Australia
zaria74
zaria74
Nov 28 2017
1.3.8
4.0
Nov 28 2017
4.0
Version: 1.3.8
Quickly and easily converted 12 pages into a neat booklet. I had to learn to lay out pages on US Letter and adjust the margins to fill the pages well. I am printing on an office printer with a preset booklet maker, flipping on short-edge every page, so no problems. Great for my needs since Microsoft removed the Publishing Layout from MS Word for Macs. Thank you to the teacher who posted the video that led me to this App. BUT, the directions for printing two-sided manually didn't work. The draft copy I made at home had second set of pages in reverse order so everything was mixed up when folded into a booklet. I can figure out what to do but chose to print draft copy one-sided as usual.
drroffe
drroffe
Oct 14 2017
1.3.8
1.0
Oct 14 2017
1.0
Version: 1.3.8
Wasted my money. Will not print entire booklet. Not enough guidance and no one to talk with. Loaded fairly easily and seemed as if it would work, but will only print the first 24 pages of a 96 page document.
drroffe
drroffe
Oct 12 2017
1.3.8
1.0
Oct 12 2017
1.0
Version: 1.3.8
Sorry folks for this post as I am sure someone has already posted and received an answer. Just installed booklet and when I upload MS Word document booklet only prints 24 of the 96 pages. Additionally, it print pages 2, 4, 6 etc and pages 96, 94, 92 on the back. I do not see buttons/switches to correct. Otherwise it seems to work ok. I was using OS El Capitan and now I have upgraded to Sierra. Thanks for any help.
fmoranab
fmoranab
Sep 9 2017
1.3.8
2.5
Sep 9 2017
2.5
Version: 1.3.8
The applications works fine. My only complaint is that it is not possible to import files in different format than PDF. For example open the possibility to import word documents
Ssj152
Ssj152
Aug 8 2017
1.3.8
4.0
Aug 8 2017
4.0
Version: 1.3.8
Nice App, very attractive, controls well placed. Could REALLY benefit (Would give 5*'s) from a "how to do it manual", otherwise the new user is going to be stuck with several hours of experimentation to learn how to get the pages to come out right with THEIR printer with regards to duplexing, etc. Nevertheless, the program is powerful and smooth. It handles margins and orientation with ease. I am really impressed with the power available to me on a 2007 iMac and a with this discounted ($10.00) App!
heatherlgates
heatherlgates
Aug 8 2017
1.3.8
5.0
Aug 8 2017
5.0
Version: 1.3.8
exactly what i needed
marc-78
marc-78
Aug 7 2017
1.3.8
5.0
Aug 7 2017
5.0
Version: 1.3.8
Purchased this very elegant and simple-to-use app. Loaded some PDF docs I had made recently. Formatted and printed just dandy. Sent a few docs out of Pages directly to Create Booklet and all printed well. No complaints. Easy. Elegant and prints on my HP 8600 in duplex mode using short side binding....Perfecto!!
bruce27
bruce27
Aug 2 2017
1.3.8
3.0
Aug 2 2017
3.0
Version: 1.3.8
a booklet of 5 pages creates in the preview:
page 1 right side (o.k)
page 2 leftside (o.k.) and page 3 right-side (but empty and unnumbered)
page 4 left side empty (unnumbered) and page 3 (right-side o.k.)
page 4 and 5 (numbered en o.k.)

so, there is something wrong. I uploaded the doc. twice with the same results.
Testing by printing: all things were wrong and upside down. To find out the right settings seem te be a big puzzle with many try and errors. (canon m6150)
not happy with this...
any solutions? Thanks!
bruce27
bruce27
Aug 2 2017
1.3.8
3.0
Aug 2 2017
3.0
Version: 1.3.8
I started with the trial version:
rather difficult to start with... (to much tolk tolk tolk.. I need "how to do's".
but at the end I got the file into the app and it seems to be a good app. but three Q;
1. how to remove a blanc page in the left colum
2. how to get a picture or extra text on a page? do you have to replace it from zero?
3. how to remove to much blank pages?
I hope answers that I shall buy this app.
aglessi
aglessi
Jul 28 2017
1.3.8
5.0
Jul 28 2017
5.0
Version: 1.3.8
Easy to understand and use. Perfect output. Bought when it was on offer therefore a true bargain!
Ezmeets
Ezmeets
Jul 27 2017
1.3.8
5.0
Jul 27 2017
5.0
Version: 1.3.8
Excellent. Required experimenting to determine printer preset so all pages print right side up. CB gives guidance to do that. In my printer settings, I then created a printer setup for subsequent booklet printing. Suggest experimenting with printer scaling to enlarge printed text to fill up as much of the page as possible. For my printer, that was about 105%. This will change depending on whether or not page numbers are printed. I use a long-armed stapler for binding.
Martin-Van-Gelder
Martin-Van-Gelder
May 14 2017
1.3.8
4.0
May 14 2017
4.0
Version: 1.3.8
Very good presentation to read
twelvetimesover
twelvetimesover
Jan 13 2017
1.3.8
4.5
Jan 13 2017
4.5
Version: 1.3.8
I just purchased CB and love the app. Finally, something easy to use that does the trick for printing a booklet. I would like to point out something that may be a bug: I am printing (from Pages) directly to PDF to Create Booklet, and all works well. From the open app, I have set the default font and layout for my booklets. One setting refuses to stick, however, and that is the font of the page numbers in Create Booklet. The page number font keeps reverting and I have to adjust it manually each time I print a booklet. I hope this is clearly stated, and am happy to provide more detail if asked.
vienna-vnn
vienna-vnn
Dec 1 2016
1.3.8
5.0
Dec 1 2016
5.0
Version: 1.3.8
like Shari6083 it flipped the back sides upside down when printed out :( so the second round i made sure that it was gonna be right and did some research and choose LANDSCAPE + SHORT-SIDED BINDING. worked out pretty well in the end.
Shari6083
Shari6083
Jan 4 2015
1.2
2.0
Jan 4 2015
2.0
Version: 1.2
I have been able to create a booklet but when I print 2-sided printing, it prints the back side of the page upside down. I'm not sure how to correct this except to print it on single sheets and then photo copy it correctly. It just seems like I shouldn't have to do that. Thanks. (It gets a 5-star rating if I can flip the back side of the page.)
rodneydcunningham
rodneydcunningham
Nov 5 2014
1.2
5.0
Nov 5 2014
5.0
Version: 1.2
Hi. I downloaded this software. I'm having trouble, but I'm sure that it's my fault. I have a document that is 6 pages. Unfortunately, it's creating a blank page. Any ideas on how to fix this?
attapunanivat
attapunanivat
Sep 9 2014
1.2
0.0
Sep 9 2014
0.0
Version: 1.2
Is there a way to uninstall the program - it's very good but I've found an alternative program and can't seem to un install it
RosetteF7804
RosetteF7804
Aug 1 2014
1.2
0.5
Aug 1 2014
0.5
Version: 1.2
Its so hard to get it workin!!!!! how th hell do u
SamGoody
SamGoody
Jul 27 2014
1.2
5.0
Jul 27 2014
5.0
Version: 1.2
Simple & does the job. To make changes (eg. RTL [Hebrew/Arabic] setup, page size, etc.), you must first move the workflow from root to your user account: From /Library/Services/Create Booklet.workflow To ~/Library/Services/Create Booklet.workflow To keep the original and add a second menu item with your changes (eg. "Create Booklet" & "Create RTL Booklet"), open the original and make your changes. When you press file->save, Automator offers to save as a duplicate, which it saves in ~/ The reason the script stores itself in /Library instead of ~/Library is so that the booklet will be for all users, but it can confuse users that do not understand the restrictions on editing that Apple imposes.
JessicaR9327
JessicaR9327
Jun 9 2014
1.2
0.0
Jun 9 2014
0.0
Version: 1.2
Unfortunately, this app has messed up my ability to print anything! I have Mac OS 10.7.5 and a Brother HL-5240 printer. After installing the app, the addition of "Create Booklet" was added to my print box (in the drop-down PDF tab), but I couldn't use it because my printer wouldn't work. Then I tried to print a plain file from another program and it wouldn't work either. Sending a print command makes the printer get a constant red light and a blinking yellow light. I turned the printer off to erase the command and tried to make a print from another computer —no problem there. That's how I know my computer communication to the printer has been disrupted by this app. Any workout on this?
SergiiT8985
SergiiT8985
May 22 2014
1.2
5.0
May 22 2014
5.0
Version: 1.2
Yep, works great under Mavericks 10.9.3.
Mac-R-Us
Mac-R-Us
Jan 30 2014
1.2
5.0
Jan 30 2014
5.0
Version: 1.2
Still works like a charm under Mavericks (OS X 10.9).
KelvinW7572
KelvinW7572
Oct 27 2013
1.2
5.0
Oct 27 2013
5.0
Version: 1.2
Amazing application that has really saved me time and loads of wasted paper/ink. Can't thank the developer enough for this create little app!
AlenaSolenne2003
AlenaSolenne2003
Apr 28 2013
1.2
5.0
Apr 28 2013
5.0
Version: 1.2
This program worked BEAUTIFULLY. I highly recommend it. It does exactly what it's supposed to do.
MacShep
MacShep
Apr 15 2013
1.2
3.5
Apr 15 2013
3.5
Version: 1.2
I am relieved to find this booklet feature. However, it reduces font size. How can I enlarge the font size or keep it the same size as in my original?
Jdgicker
Jdgicker
Mar 3 2013
1.2
3.0
Mar 3 2013
3.0
Version: 1.2
The ding-dong link is dead! Link: http://thekeptpromise.com/Packages/CreateBooklet_1.2.dmg Message: "The requested URL /Packages/CreateBooklet_1.2.dmg was not found on this server." Link that works: http://thekeptpromise.com/Packages/CreateBooklet.dmg
Elphias
Elphias
Oct 26 2012
1.2
4.5
Oct 26 2012
4.5
Version: 1.2
Excellent! Simple, beautiful and works flawlessly! I created this account only so that I could write a review for this application.
mr-mac
mr-mac
Jul 21 2012
1.2
5.0
Jul 21 2012
5.0
Version: 1.2
Very useful add-on. Thank you!
mitchump
mitchump
Jun 18 2012
1.1
5.0
Jun 18 2012
5.0
Version: 1.1
Does exactly what it says it does. Fantastic little bit of freeware.
Kripton
Kripton
Mar 11 2012
1.1
5.0
Mar 11 2012
5.0
Version: 1.1
I used this to create a booklet pdf from a file that I had. It worked as expected.
ams28
ams28
Feb 17 2012
1.1
2.5
Feb 17 2012
2.5
Version: 1.1
When switching the format to print right-to-left booklets, I had a hard time finding how in Automator. When I did, I found that I didn't have permission to edit the workflow. I found out how to edit it, and the booklet didn't even come out properly. The left-to-right format is fine.
ams28
ams28
Feb 17 2012
1.1
2.5
Feb 17 2012
2.5
Version: 1.1
How do you remove this program and all folders/files it may have installed? Thank you.
Megamix
Megamix
Feb 8 2012
1.1
4.5
Feb 8 2012
4.5
Version: 1.1
saw, installed, used and printed in 5 minutes - now that is good, really good - Thanks to the developer for his time and generosity
Megamix
Megamix
Feb 8 2012
1.1
4.5
Feb 8 2012
4.5
Version: 1.1
my wife asked me to create a booklet from a pdf - I saw Macupdate - saw the review, installed the software, used it for the first time and it did the job perfectly - all that for no cost - The guy deserves a medal!
Grumpy-Cat
Grumpy-Cat
Dec 27 2011
1.1
5.0
Dec 27 2011
5.0
Version: 1.1
Simple and helpful, version 1.1 works perfectly with Lion. (Tested on OS X 10.7.2)
mz-berlin59
mz-berlin59
Oct 30 2011
1.1
5.0
Oct 30 2011
5.0
Version: 1.1
Does exactly what it should - and solves the problem of the missing booklet feature for Mac users. Thanks so much!
Nielsr
Nielsr
Jul 14 2011
1.1
5.0
Jul 14 2011
5.0
Version: 1.1
Simple yet perfect solution to print booklets on any duplex printer!
anonymous-heron-1403
anonymous-heron-1403
Jun 25 2011
1.1
0.0
Jun 25 2011
0.0
Version: 1.1
Hi. I've got a problem with the booklet-creator. I have a 30 pages magazine which I want to print like a booklet. Page number 1 is the front-page. Then it's 28 other pages and then the back-page. It means that the page 1 and 30 should be on the converted-page 1. But it's not. First I've got a blank to the left, and then the front-page to the right. Page to has got a blank to the right, but the correct page on the left hand side. On page 3, the back-page (which should be placed in the blank area on page 1) is placed to the left, and to the right I've got the page which should have been on the left side of page 2. 30 divided on 2 should not be 16 pages... Is there a way to fix this?
Im4Givinn
Im4Givinn
Mar 10 2011
1.1
5.0
Mar 10 2011
5.0
Version: 1.1
Oh my gosh! I had just about given up hope of finding a way to make a booklet in Snow Leopard. Then I downloaded this wonderful little application and, Voila! It worked fast and perfectly. Thank you so much. The only thing I need to do is increase the font size in my original because when it's shrunk to half-size it's too small.
Chuckbo
Chuckbo
Apr 12 2010
1.1
0.0
Apr 12 2010
0.0
Version: 1.1
The version that this downloads (as of April 2010) only supports Tiger & Leopard, not Snow Leopard. Maybe the file wasn't updated on the download server.
Kiwiiano
Kiwiiano
Mar 25 2010
1.1
0.0
Mar 25 2010
0.0
Version: 1.1
I had problems with the booklet printing as expected in my Canon MP630 (duplex) except that alternate pages were reversed. I finally tracked it down to the setting for Stapling side (Duplex Printing & Margin menu). Everything came right when it was set to Short-side stapling (Top). My guess is that in the gymnastics of flipping the pages over to rearrange the order, the apparent staple margin shifted from A4 to A5 has to twist, as it were. My thanks to the developer. ;^)
cr8tive1
cr8tive1
Aug 28 2009
1.1
4.0
Aug 28 2009
4.0
Version: 1.1
Wonderful software I've been using for quite some time without any problems. I've saved quite a bit of paper printing software manuals (Apple and others), plus other documents I really did not require to be on single sheets or "full sized." The ability to print a booklet on legal-sized paper, combined with a bit of zooming, is very handy for tired eyes. A highly recommended piece of software, should your needs warrant.
Virgoss
Virgoss
Apr 8 2008
1.0.1
0.0
Apr 8 2008
0.0
Version: 1.0.1
There is also a free online service for making PDF booklets.
Nomi
Nomi
Dec 29 2007
1.0.1
0.0
Dec 29 2007
0.0
Version: 1.0.1
This sounds like a great app. But I can't get it to print a booklet from a PDF file. Is this app only supposed to be used for word processing files, not PDFs? (I usually want to print PDFs in booklet form.) My settings in the print panel have been: • Printer: Epson CX3200 • PDF menu: "Create Booklet" . Subset: "Odd Pages Only"/"Even Pages (manual duplex) • "All" and "Collated" are activated. When I hit print I get a dialogue box saying I can't save in print mode but have to go to the Save menu. When I continue, the printer starts to print full-size pages. Also, the Preview box never appears prior to printing. Thanks for your help.