Back to Create Booklet page
Create Booklet free download for Mac

Create Booklet Reviews2.2.2

23 April 2020

Export documents as a PDF booklet.

5
anonymous-impala-4811
09 December 2019
Version: 2.1.3

Most helpful

Gold standard user-friendly functionality. Imposes booklets easily into many formats including 4-up and 8-up with optional fine-tuning of specs. From any Print dialog, PDF Print Service opens the document in CB2. Using presets, one-click Print does all. Reported snags are likely more in the details of page design than in CB2 which is clear throughout. Many just-right features. Developer Christoph gives prompt complete support.
(1)

How would you rate Create Booklet app?

Read 56 Create Booklet User Reviews

5
anonymous-impala-4811
09 December 2019
Version: 2.1.3
Gold standard user-friendly functionality. Imposes booklets easily into many formats including 4-up and 8-up with optional fine-tuning of specs. From any Print dialog, PDF Print Service opens the document in CB2. Using presets, one-click Print does all. Reported snags are likely more in the details of page design than in CB2 which is clear throughout. Many just-right features. Developer Christoph gives prompt complete support.
(1)
5
chris-400
01 February 2019
Version: 2.1.3
This is one of my most useful apps. And, when I had difficulty getting started, Christoph went out of his way to help me be successful. Thank you, Christoph!
(0)
5
Drmanik
27 September 2018
Version: 2.1.2
I bought Create booklet in Dec 2017 Order Number/ Invoice: #2680559 Transaction: JTDSZFOJ0NCIYQ0F95BUHYRQKCY. It is a great App. Unfortunately my home got flooded Last month & I lost my laptop in addition to all my other possessions And Equipment. I would like to know is there away to upgrade to Create booklet 2 without paying the full price on App Store.
(0)
Dr-Sparks
03 March 2018
Version: 2.0.2
I bought version 1.3.11 via MacUpdate on July 24, 2017. And now the only option for upgrade to version 2 is to pay full price of $20 in the App Store? Why isn't there an upgrade discount? Too many companies hurt their costumers this way, nowadays!
(2)
Show comments (3)
5
knif
28 February 2018
Version: 1.3.11
Best Booklet App out there. And they just released a new version, Create Booklet 2. I print booklets like once a month, but I am happy that I have this app. Make my life so much easier.
(2)
5
gogrango-travel
01 January 2018
Version: 1.3.8
REVIEW I have been using this software program for six months to make booklets on my Mac. Create Booklet Program is easy to use and does exactly what I want. It converts an A4 PDF into A5 booklet. Support:The support has been outstanding. Prompt:. When I first bought the program I needed support. Support was provided overnight and I was up and away. Comprehensive: The support solved my problems and the explanations were clear and concise. Ongoing : Six months later when I had trouble due to a computer update, support was available again even over the holidays. Create Booklet is a 5 star program. ✭✭✭✭✭ JanEB, Australia
(3)
4
zaria74
28 November 2017
Version: 1.3.8
Quickly and easily converted 12 pages into a neat booklet. I had to learn to lay out pages on US Letter and adjust the margins to fill the pages well. I am printing on an office printer with a preset booklet maker, flipping on short-edge every page, so no problems. Great for my needs since Microsoft removed the Publishing Layout from MS Word for Macs. Thank you to the teacher who posted the video that led me to this App. BUT, the directions for printing two-sided manually didn't work. The draft copy I made at home had second set of pages in reverse order so everything was mixed up when folded into a booklet. I can figure out what to do but chose to print draft copy one-sided as usual.
(0)
Show comment (1)
1
drroffe
14 October 2017
Version: 1.3.8
Wasted my money. Will not print entire booklet. Not enough guidance and no one to talk with. Loaded fairly easily and seemed as if it would work, but will only print the first 24 pages of a 96 page document.
(0)
Show comment (1)
drroffe
12 October 2017
Version: 1.3.8
Sorry folks for this post as I am sure someone has already posted and received an answer. Just installed booklet and when I upload MS Word document booklet only prints 24 of the 96 pages. Additionally, it print pages 2, 4, 6 etc and pages 96, 94, 92 on the back. I do not see buttons/switches to correct. Otherwise it seems to work ok. I was using OS El Capitan and now I have upgraded to Sierra. Thanks for any help.
(0)
2.5
fmoranab
09 September 2017
Version: 1.3.8
The applications works fine. My only complaint is that it is not possible to import files in different format than PDF. For example open the possibility to import word documents
(0)
Show comment (1)
4
Ssj152
08 August 2017
Version: 1.3.8
Nice App, very attractive, controls well placed. Could REALLY benefit (Would give 5*'s) from a "how to do it manual", otherwise the new user is going to be stuck with several hours of experimentation to learn how to get the pages to come out right with THEIR printer with regards to duplexing, etc. Nevertheless, the program is powerful and smooth. It handles margins and orientation with ease. I am really impressed with the power available to me on a 2007 iMac and a with this discounted ($10.00) App!
(1)
5
heatherlgates
08 August 2017
Version: 1.3.8
exactly what i needed
(2)
5
marc-78
07 August 2017
Version: 1.3.8
Purchased this very elegant and simple-to-use app. Loaded some PDF docs I had made recently. Formatted and printed just dandy. Sent a few docs out of Pages directly to Create Booklet and all printed well. No complaints. Easy. Elegant and prints on my HP 8600 in duplex mode using short side binding....Perfecto!!
(3)
bruce27
02 August 2017
Version: 1.3.8
a booklet of 5 pages creates in the preview:
page 1 right side (o.k)
page 2 leftside (o.k.) and page 3 right-side (but empty and unnumbered)
page 4 left side empty (unnumbered) and page 3 (right-side o.k.)
page 4 and 5 (numbered en o.k.)

so, there is something wrong. I uploaded the doc. twice with the same results.
Testing by printing: all things were wrong and upside down. To find out the right settings seem te be a big puzzle with many try and errors. (canon m6150)
not happy with this...
any solutions? Thanks!
(0)
3
bruce27
02 August 2017
Version: 1.3.8
I started with the trial version:
rather difficult to start with... (to much tolk tolk tolk.. I need "how to do's".
but at the end I got the file into the app and it seems to be a good app. but three Q;
1. how to remove a blanc page in the left colum
2. how to get a picture or extra text on a page? do you have to replace it from zero?
3. how to remove to much blank pages?
I hope answers that I shall buy this app.
(0)
5
aglessi
28 July 2017
Version: 1.3.8
Easy to understand and use. Perfect output. Bought when it was on offer therefore a true bargain!
(0)
5
Ezmeets
27 July 2017
Version: 1.3.8
Excellent. Required experimenting to determine printer preset so all pages print right side up. CB gives guidance to do that. In my printer settings, I then created a printer setup for subsequent booklet printing. Suggest experimenting with printer scaling to enlarge printed text to fill up as much of the page as possible. For my printer, that was about 105%. This will change depending on whether or not page numbers are printed. I use a long-armed stapler for binding.
(0)
4
Martin-Van-Gelder
14 May 2017
Version: 1.3.8
Very good presentation to read
(0)
4.5
twelvetimesover
13 January 2017
Version: 1.3.8
I just purchased CB and love the app. Finally, something easy to use that does the trick for printing a booklet. I would like to point out something that may be a bug: I am printing (from Pages) directly to PDF to Create Booklet, and all works well. From the open app, I have set the default font and layout for my booklets. One setting refuses to stick, however, and that is the font of the page numbers in Create Booklet. The page number font keeps reverting and I have to adjust it manually each time I print a booklet. I hope this is clearly stated, and am happy to provide more detail if asked.
(0)
5
vienna-vnn
01 December 2016
Version: 1.3.8
like Shari6083 it flipped the back sides upside down when printed out :( so the second round i made sure that it was gonna be right and did some research and choose LANDSCAPE + SHORT-SIDED BINDING. worked out pretty well in the end.
(0)
2
Shari6083
04 January 2015
Version: 1.2
I have been able to create a booklet but when I print 2-sided printing, it prints the back side of the page upside down. I'm not sure how to correct this except to print it on single sheets and then photo copy it correctly. It just seems like I shouldn't have to do that. Thanks. (It gets a 5-star rating if I can flip the back side of the page.)
(1)
Show comments (4)
5
rodneydcunningham
05 November 2014
Version: 1.2
Hi. I downloaded this software. I'm having trouble, but I'm sure that it's my fault. I have a document that is 6 pages. Unfortunately, it's creating a blank page. Any ideas on how to fix this?
(0)
Show comment (1)
attapunanivat
09 September 2014
Version: 1.2
Is there a way to uninstall the program - it's very good but I've found an alternative program and can't seem to un install it
(0)
0.5
RosetteF7804
01 August 2014
Version: 1.2
Its so hard to get it workin!!!!! how th hell do u
(0)
Show comment (1)
5
SamGoody
27 July 2014
Version: 1.2
Simple & does the job. To make changes (eg. RTL [Hebrew/Arabic] setup, page size, etc.), you must first move the workflow from root to your user account: From /Library/Services/Create Booklet.workflow To ~/Library/Services/Create Booklet.workflow To keep the original and add a second menu item with your changes (eg. "Create Booklet" & "Create RTL Booklet"), open the original and make your changes. When you press file->save, Automator offers to save as a duplicate, which it saves in ~/ The reason the script stores itself in /Library instead of ~/Library is so that the booklet will be for all users, but it can confuse users that do not understand the restrictions on editing that Apple imposes.
(0)
JessicaR9327
09 June 2014
Version: 1.2
Unfortunately, this app has messed up my ability to print anything! I have Mac OS 10.7.5 and a Brother HL-5240 printer. After installing the app, the addition of "Create Booklet" was added to my print box (in the drop-down PDF tab), but I couldn't use it because my printer wouldn't work. Then I tried to print a plain file from another program and it wouldn't work either. Sending a print command makes the printer get a constant red light and a blinking yellow light. I turned the printer off to erase the command and tried to make a print from another computer —no problem there. That's how I know my computer communication to the printer has been disrupted by this app. Any workout on this?
(0)
Show comment (1)
5
SergiiT8985
22 May 2014
Version: 1.2
Yep, works great under Mavericks 10.9.3.
(0)
5
Mac-R-Us
30 January 2014
Version: 1.2
Still works like a charm under Mavericks (OS X 10.9).
(2)
5
KelvinW7572
27 October 2013
Version: 1.2
Amazing application that has really saved me time and loads of wasted paper/ink. Can't thank the developer enough for this create little app!
(2)
5
AlenaSolenne2003
28 April 2013
Version: 1.2
This program worked BEAUTIFULLY. I highly recommend it. It does exactly what it's supposed to do.
(2)
3.5
MacShep
15 April 2013
Version: 1.2
I am relieved to find this booklet feature. However, it reduces font size. How can I enlarge the font size or keep it the same size as in my original?
(0)
Show comment (1)
3
Jdgicker
03 March 2013
Version: 1.2
The ding-dong link is dead! Link: http://thekeptpromise.com/Packages/CreateBooklet_1.2.dmg Message: "The requested URL /Packages/CreateBooklet_1.2.dmg was not found on this server." Link that works: http://thekeptpromise.com/Packages/CreateBooklet.dmg
(1)
Show comment (1)
4.5
Elphias
26 October 2012
Version: 1.2
Excellent! Simple, beautiful and works flawlessly! I created this account only so that I could write a review for this application.
(2)
5
mr-mac
21 July 2012
Version: 1.2
Very useful add-on. Thank you!
(0)
5
mitchump
18 June 2012
Version: 1.1
Does exactly what it says it does. Fantastic little bit of freeware.
(2)
5
Kripton
11 March 2012
Version: 1.1
I used this to create a booklet pdf from a file that I had. It worked as expected.
(1)
2.5
ams28
17 February 2012
Version: 1.1
When switching the format to print right-to-left booklets, I had a hard time finding how in Automator. When I did, I found that I didn't have permission to edit the workflow. I found out how to edit it, and the booklet didn't even come out properly. The left-to-right format is fine.
(0)
ams28
17 February 2012
Version: 1.1
How do you remove this program and all folders/files it may have installed? Thank you.
(0)
4.5
Megamix
08 February 2012
Version: 1.1
saw, installed, used and printed in 5 minutes - now that is good, really good - Thanks to the developer for his time and generosity
(1)
Show comment (1)
5
Megamix
08 February 2012
Version: 1.1
my wife asked me to create a booklet from a pdf - I saw Macupdate - saw the review, installed the software, used it for the first time and it did the job perfectly - all that for no cost - The guy deserves a medal!
(1)
5
Grumpy-Cat
27 December 2011
Version: 1.1
Simple and helpful, version 1.1 works perfectly with Lion. (Tested on OS X 10.7.2)
(0)
5
mz-berlin59
30 October 2011
Version: 1.1
Does exactly what it should - and solves the problem of the missing booklet feature for Mac users. Thanks so much!
(0)
5
Nielsr
14 July 2011
Version: 1.1
Simple yet perfect solution to print booklets on any duplex printer!
(0)
anonymous-heron-1403
25 June 2011
Version: 1.1
Hi. I've got a problem with the booklet-creator. I have a 30 pages magazine which I want to print like a booklet. Page number 1 is the front-page. Then it's 28 other pages and then the back-page. It means that the page 1 and 30 should be on the converted-page 1. But it's not. First I've got a blank to the left, and then the front-page to the right. Page to has got a blank to the right, but the correct page on the left hand side. On page 3, the back-page (which should be placed in the blank area on page 1) is placed to the left, and to the right I've got the page which should have been on the left side of page 2. 30 divided on 2 should not be 16 pages... Is there a way to fix this?
(0)
5
Im4Givinn
10 March 2011
Version: 1.1
Oh my gosh! I had just about given up hope of finding a way to make a booklet in Snow Leopard. Then I downloaded this wonderful little application and, Voila! It worked fast and perfectly. Thank you so much. The only thing I need to do is increase the font size in my original because when it's shrunk to half-size it's too small.
(0)
Chuckbo
12 April 2010
Version: 1.1
The version that this downloads (as of April 2010) only supports Tiger & Leopard, not Snow Leopard. Maybe the file wasn't updated on the download server.
(0)
Kiwiiano
25 March 2010
Version: 1.1
I had problems with the booklet printing as expected in my Canon MP630 (duplex) except that alternate pages were reversed. I finally tracked it down to the setting for Stapling side (Duplex Printing & Margin menu). Everything came right when it was set to Short-side stapling (Top). My guess is that in the gymnastics of flipping the pages over to rearrange the order, the apparent staple margin shifted from A4 to A5 has to twist, as it were. My thanks to the developer. ;^)
(0)
4
cr8tive1
28 August 2009
Version: 1.1
Wonderful software I've been using for quite some time without any problems. I've saved quite a bit of paper printing software manuals (Apple and others), plus other documents I really did not require to be on single sheets or "full sized." The ability to print a booklet on legal-sized paper, combined with a bit of zooming, is very handy for tired eyes. A highly recommended piece of software, should your needs warrant.
(0)
Nomi
29 December 2007
Version: 1.0.1
This sounds like a great app. But I can't get it to print a booklet from a PDF file. Is this app only supposed to be used for word processing files, not PDFs? (I usually want to print PDFs in booklet form.) My settings in the print panel have been: • Printer: Epson CX3200 • PDF menu: "Create Booklet" . Subset: "Odd Pages Only"/"Even Pages (manual duplex) • "All" and "Collated" are activated. When I hit print I get a dialogue box saying I can't save in print mode but have to go to the Save menu. When I continue, the printer starts to print full-size pages. Also, the Preview box never appears prior to printing. Thanks for your help.
(0)
Guntis
24 December 2007
Version: 1.0.1
I can't create and print out A4 PDF booklets from A5 pages from Pages 3.0.1. I open empty page, set page size to A5, type text, about 7-8 pages. Then press Print > PDF... > Create Booklet. A4 format PDF document is created and open in Preview application, 4 pages, on each page side there are two original A5 pages. To print booklet, I check that page is A4 format (it is), press Print from File menu, in Paper Handling options I set "Scale to fit paper size: Borderless A4". So it should print page to fit A4 page. Then I press Print button. But in the printout text is much smaller than A4, it is almost like A5! There is no way to get full page A4 format output. If I do the same steps from Mellel text editor, then PDF document which is created from Mellel's A5 document is printed on the whole A4 page. Somehow Pages generates PDF booklet with some wrong settings, which prevent correct printing on the whole page, even if "Scale to fit paper size: Borderless A4" option is checked. I have MacBook Pro 17" 2.33GHz, Mac OS X 10.4.11, HP deskjet 5850 inkjet printer with original Tiger's driver. I use Create Booklet PDF Service 1.0.1 to create PDF booklets. (http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/21068/)
(0)