Back to iShowU page
iShowU free download for Mac

iShowU Reviews

1.94.5
27 April 2016

Capture anything on your screen as a movie.

Green-Guy
05 November 2010

Most helpful

Great. Tested some other tools but this one works nice for me.
Like (11)
Version 1.81

Read 38 iShowU User Reviews

Rate this app:

cris-ilustra
17 July 2018
I really don't recommend it. I bought iShowU for recording classes that I paid for and watch them later. Then I found several of them were not properly recorded, some of them were mute, others had the image frozen from a certain point, for no reason. I contacted the developer, nobody had no idea why this happens. Lost tons of time with this software.
Like
Version 1.94.5
Adewo
19 July 2012
Works well, the presets of window help me save much time on screenshot setting.
Like (2)
Version 1.92.1
EudoraBryant
10 July 2012
Easy to use. I will keep using this app.
Like (1)
Version 1.92.1
Thefinaleofseem
19 May 2011
Bug-riddled, non-functional CRAP. Upgraded to this version. Error message at startup, but it still starts up. Close preferences window? Crash with no error message. Tell it to record? Crash with no error message. What utter junk.
Like
Version 1.90
magilla
29 January 2011
Terrific program at a terrific price I know next to nothing about video and managed to do successful screenshots to upload to YouTube immediately. I was able to just click on the YouTube configuration, choose H.264 compression and got successful video screenshots on my first try. There is very reasonably priced pro version but this no fuss version is exactly what I wanted for casual, occasional use.
Like
Version 1.86
Green-Guy
05 November 2010
Great. Tested some other tools but this one works nice for me.
Like (11)
Version 1.81
Watson76421
10 December 2009
Easy to use, creates compact files, and just works fine. I did several video tutorials for clients, and the results were excellent. Considering the price, this is a bargain!
Like (2)
Version 1.76b
Xtralean
08 October 2009
iShowU is a great little app. I used it for our screencast tutorials for one of our products a few years back. I did a quick tutorial for a new product the other day on a MacBook with OS X 10.6 and iShowU was just fabulous again. Will be doing a series of tutorials again. Currently using iShowU version 1.75 Hagen Kaye XtraLean Software
Like (3)
Version 1.76b
Superman-S
23 September 2009
effective and the price is reasonable
Like
Version 1.75b
Pjm
07 August 2009
More than 100% CPU usage is not such a tough trick if you have two CPU's... (and, depending on how you calculate even if you just have multiple cores on a single chip).
Like (1)
Version 1.73
Dom21
26 June 2008
Performs flawlessly for me on an Intel 24" iMac, OSX 4.11.
Like (2)
Version 1.67
Pixeljunkey
23 June 2008
Nice product but BIG system resource hog... on dual core Macbook pros, a 24 fps capture with audio uses over 100% CPU and causes the fans to spin up constantly.
Like (1)
Version 1.66
Xplicit
15 April 2008
Every 2 to 3 days a new update, what's that all about?
Like (1)
Version 1.64
2 answer(s)
Pjm
Pjm
16 April 2008
Can you really not guess? (a) it's not "every few days" (b) you don't have to update: the world will not explode (c) plenty of users would prefer to have fixes released promptly (d) all of the above. Make your choice...
Like (3)
Version 1.64
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
07 August 2009
Nice trick! How do I get my Mac to use over 100% of cpu?
Like
Version 1.73
Nickel
13 April 2008
iShowU is an excellent application. It's great for recording anything on your screen easily and efficiently.
Like (2)
Version 1.62
Lainsnavi
29 March 2008
Garbled video in 1.61! Yargh, back to 1.6. I'd make more of a fuss, but anything after 1.55 is a test version. Mac OS X 10.5.2 Intel Mac mini 1.66GHz Core Duo 2GB DDR2 SDRAM GMA 950 with 64MB of shared memory
Like
Version 1.61
Iamdorian
29 February 2008
More capture .. for the buck. Although things like the marquee are not as slick as it's chief competitors', this is a great app for a good price. Way to go!
Like
Version 1.58
Gamer9er
05 February 2008
Fixes o Fixed a memory leak that could cause a crash after 10+ hours of recording. o Fixed incorrect audio (left/right) balance when "Record system audio" is enabled. Changes o Reworked all presets. Most now use Apple Animation (generally better for performance), added a preset for WoW that uses Apple Intermediate (if available) or Apple Animation with a slightly reduced frame rate if AIC isn't present. Presets are now included for iMovie HD, iMovie and YouTube / Blip.TV. If the FCP uncompressed codecs are present, then presets are created for these as well. Note: The new presets will only appear for new users. If you want you can reset your existing presets (see the Edit menu), but this will erase your existing presets. o Sorting for descriptors is now case insensitive (generally makes more sense). o Default microphone and system audio volumes are now 100%.
Like
Version 1.55
1 answer(s)
Dom21
Dom21
05 February 2008
Thanks for the update info!
Like
Version 1.55
After a lot of testing around with this app, I love it! It does need a couple more features, but v2 is coming up.
Like
Version 1.54
Leif-Heflin
02 January 2008
I'm trying to record my keynote because the built-in recording feature doesn't record my transitions but this uses 150% CPU according to activity monitor, and that's on Intermediate Codec (supposedly the least CPU intensive). I've tried everything else on the list and they all run at over 100% so my keynote lags. I'm using an intel imac (1.83 ghz) btw.
Like
Version 1.54
Dom21
24 December 2007
Nice, but confusing... what are you supposed to Press when you want to keep a resized screen? The symbol it tells you to Press doesn't correspond to anything on a Mac keyboard!
Like
Version 1.53
5 answer(s)
anonymous-elephant-2404
anonymous-elephant-2404
08 January 2008
That symbol is the return or enter key.
Like
Version 1.54
Dom21
Dom21
09 January 2008
You're right. Thank you. But tell me, how is one supposed to know that? And why in the world couldn't they use a known keyboard symbol.
Like
Version 1.54
anonymous-elephant-2404
anonymous-elephant-2404
09 January 2008
It is a known symbol. I will ask the dev if he can change this though!
Like
Version 1.54
Dom21
Dom21
09 January 2008
Either that or simply use the word "Enter" or "Return" in place of an obscure (at least to this Macuser of ten years!) symbol. Thanks again.
Like
Version 1.54
@timi
@timi
08 February 2008
10 years and you never picked up on the Return symbol? Though I understand your position, it took me two and a half years to pick up on the Option symbol.
Like
Version 1.56
Hendo
24 November 2007
This is nice, but I still prefer Jing http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/25619/jing
Like
Version 1.53
Biturbo27t
23 October 2007
I'm surprised to see that this has such a high rating when it doesn't include an option to indicate mouse clicks visually and audibly. Screencast looks intriguing and is on the right path though with some of this functionality. Good to have some competition in this type of utility which I feel is pretty scarce.
Like
Version 1.47
Rocko
09 September 2007
I don't know I like the price and the options but the demo runs slow on my old Quicksilver and sometimes crashes. I think you really need the minimum in the manual I think it was 1.6ghz. I think its better than Snapzpro feature and price wise. I had snapz first version and it was buggy, the newest demo just crashes from the get go. I'm looking at the older MacCapture because the demo hasn't crashed at all and is still cheaper than snapz.
Like
Version 1.45
I've been messing around with this, and it has some really great features. I've never actually made a full recording, yet. When I actually make a video with it, I'll make a full review. But for now, I'd definitely recommend it!
Like
Version 1.44
Jemjd
03 July 2007
sorry, didn't see the review vs. comment, so here are the stars.
Like
Version 1.41
Jemjd
03 July 2007
Great Software. I am incredibly impressed with Neil, the developer. I purchased the program and needed some specialty info, and he not only ichatted with me about the software to help me with settings, but made software tweaks for the new version based on some issues I had. The fixes were made almost immediately, and I have never experienced this kind of customer service from a developer. I would recommend it to anyone. I tried MacCapture and SnapzPro at the same time, and iShowU is the clear winner. Jeremy
Like
Version 1.41
Easer
29 June 2007
Okay, that activation process has been undone. The program is now back to a regular serial number registration, with PayPal. I write to defend the program's developer and the program. He's been very responsive not only to the registration concerns that were raised but also to the program's continuing development. He replies promptly to e-mails and, in my experience, is dedicated to customers and a quality product. I'll take iShowU over Snapz Pro any day. Beyond the obvious price difference, the customer service is superior. And iShowU works very well. Read the reviews that were written prior to the recent (and short-lived) registration concerns. People chose this far more quickly than they did Snapz Pro. This program has some very good features. If you just discovered it, please read the more recent reviews in their proper context. This program is very much worth checking out.
Like
Version 1.41
Ced
14 June 2007
Beware of new activation process introduced in version 1.35. This is linked to the serial number of your computer. I have hundreds of apps. Imagine the pain if all of them would have such system when upgrading your hardware. Also the application could not be to be registered if the shinywhitebox web site would be unavailable. There is no insurance that the web site would still exist in 1 or 2 years. This activation process makes your investment extremely risky. Otherwise, this is a great app with great functionnalities.
Like
Version 1.35
3 answer(s)
Olipower
Olipower
15 June 2007
I agree. What a lame way to go by the developer. Why oh why... Piracy? Well, he has a popular app, so I assume he also has a proper cashflow from loyal customers (like me)... Hmm, then I'd say greed is the answer. But why suffer usability for greed?
Like
Version 1.37
Marsviolet
Marsviolet
28 June 2007
Great app, but I won't pay for software that requires activation. Please reconsider.
Like
Version 1.41
@timi
@timi
22 August 2007
Oli, if you want greed, look toward Ambrosia for their 80 dollar version.
Like
Version 1.44
mac-34
24 May 2007
great utility. replaced the snapz pro x. suggestion: when editing recording area, ability to use keyboard arrows (for accuracy/precision) would be awesome. ty
Like
Version 1.34b6
Xiaopangzi
17 May 2007
I haven't been able to mount the disk images for b5 or b6, and I've used both the built-in BOMArchiveHelper.app and StuffIt Expander to try to decode/decompress the iShowU_1.34bx.dmg.bz2 archives each time without any success. It would help if the developer simply uploaded the noncompressed DMG file for downloading and would ensure that the image is actually mountable.
Like
Version 1.34b6
dmu
21 March 2007
Nearly perfect! I've spent as much on programs that I ended up disappointed with or never really use. Not here. When I went looking for something like this, back in the day, the speed was terrible, framerates not good, and usabiity awkward... I was hoping that these days there was finally something out there (Universal Binary) that worked as quickly, easily, and well as this -- but expected it to cost a fortune. This was so exactly perfect I couldn't be more pleased. HAPPY.
Like
Version 1.34b1
Christian6
26 July 2006
With this new update (1.14b) the app works smoothly on my Intel iMac, too, with blazing speed and good fps numbers in the final movies. Great work! Christian
Like
Version 1.14b
Christian6
30 May 2006
Whenever I record a movie (1024x768 dimensions) and play the result back in Quicktime, the maximum frame rate I get is 5fps. Of course, I set the maximum frame rate 5 to 30 in iShowU... I used the Animation codec. What must I do to get a decent frame rate of at least (!) 15 fps? If iShowU can't do this, it is no serious competition for SnapZ Pro. Kind regards, Christian
Like
Version 1.10
2 answer(s)
neil-13
neil-13
26 July 2006
Setup the capture size to be a multiple of 32 (see the Preferences) - and then Edit the capture area, to make sure that the current size is snapped to a multiple of 32. Intel machines have issues when this option is not set. Also, don't use H264 directly, since on Intel this is inefficient. It appears that it's not optimized on this platform yet.
Like
Version 1.14b
Christian6
Christian6
26 July 2006
Hey, that's great. It works perfectly now. My complaint has been addressed to my complete satisfaction. Great app! I'll do some thorough testing and probably buy afterwards. Take care, Christian
Like
Version 1.14b
Dmetzcher
16 May 2006
Not bad for something that's still in beta. I'm glad that SnapzPro has some competition for a change. I'd like to see the issue with the mouse halo corrected in the next release, as this is the only thing stopping me from using this software in the real world right now. I'd also like to see the app be able to capture audio from the Mac, rather than from the microphone (an option to capture one or the other, or both, would be best). So far, this is a nice application will vast possibilities. I'd love to see it get better, and take some of the market away from SnapzPro. It wouldn't take much to do so, and price will be a big part of it, so I hope that the final version will not sell for more than $20. That would be the most I'd be willing to pay for video screen capture software.
Like
Version 1.9
ochyming
16 May 2006
FAST
Like
Version 1.9
Mac0852
15 May 2006
This is by far the best recording program I have ever used! It has plenty of options and chioces and runs smoothly.
Like
Version 1.8
Iamdorian
10 May 2006
Very smooth little app. I know it's only a FREE Beta (thanks, by the way) but perhaps now is the time to add some finishing touches? We need an audio option to record from streamed a source, so that this can compete with "...ZPro" for recording streams. This is a glaring ommision at this time. If you added this today, and started selling this, you could. As for pricing. "...ZPro" has nice options, and has been pretty solid for some time (on most machines) but currently this product is not Universal. Why reward such sluggishness? Also, (and read carefully) "...ZPro" is simply over-priced by perhaps 3X.. Advice: DO NOT FOLOW THEIR EXAMPLE! My suggestion is to ask $15.00 for this and you'd sell it hand-over-fist...not to mention good karma! Any price over $20.00 and you're market share will plummet. Perhaps non-HD for $15.00 and a Pro HD version for $25.00 or something. Just don;t get greedy. Many small deveopers get this way. Prove yourself and your product to us first. After all, why would I pay such a high price to to see you dissapear and not spport your prodeuct in a year? This is a serious issue. Many of us Mac-heads have been burnt before. Think carefully. Isn't the sale of 100,000 units at $20.00 (within 2 months) better than selling 5,000 unins for $80.00 (over the next year)? [do the math] That's about what the difference will be. Good luck
Like
Version 1.1g
Shadownight
18 April 2006
A very nice application for a beta. Congratulations to the developer. Honestly, I'm using it now because it's free, but I probably won't pay for it when it comes out. But it's constantly improving, and it's free for now, so give it a go. A very useful application.
Like
Version 1.1e