Back to Hyperspace page
Hyperspace free download for Mac

Hyperspace Reviews

2.1.0
09 September 2013

Screensaver displays a trip through a wormhole.

Fancy-Nancy
06 July 2010

Most helpful

Version 2 works great with 10.6.4 Nice job and thank you for this nice screensaver.
Like (2)
Version 2.0

Read 18 Hyperspace User Reviews

Rate this app:

Enk3
27 August 2016
Now hosted on GitHub: https://github.com/nickzman/hyperspace/releases
Like
Version 2.1.0
Dracos5732
09 January 2016
Running into an install issue. Download the .dmg file open it up, click continue, and then it says it needs to connect to the internet... I just downloaded from the internet... Running El Capitan OS. Not sure if I'm doing something wrong, however it might need to be recompiled. Really want to try this screen saver. It looks awesome!
Like
Version 2.1.0
OSX-FTW!
14 February 2015
Oh my, yes! Thanks so much for this!
Like
Version 2.1.0
Eric•Woehler
09 September 2013
Great screensaver! Very reminiscent of the excellent Fluid screensaver (http://www.concepthouse.com/products/Fluid/) which was pre-Intel. Fluid was always my favourite screensaver with its various pre-set packages and ability to customise flows, colours and misc other seettings. Hyperspace is excellent and dev should be congratulated for delivering an amazing effort for free.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.0
Sheadixon
09 September 2013
Seriously hypnotic and beautiful - wonderful, thank you!
Like (1)
Version 2.1.0
KurtLove
11 December 2011
Seriously I would have paid money for this....but thank you for the free gift.....no one can walk by my computer without commenting on this screen saver....LOVE IT!
Like (2)
Version 2.0.1
WordWeaver
29 November 2011
I have always enjoyed these kinds of space-themed screensavers. Some of them have been poorly executed with rough jagged edges, jumpy transitions, low quality spacecraft, etc., while others rise above the crowd. Hyperspace is definitely up there with the very best of them. The smooth transitions and anti-aliasing are perfect, and I don't recall having seen a watery, rippling effect so well done in previous screensavers. I am not really a regular screensaver user, but if I was, Hyperspace would be at or very near the top of the list . . . and it's free! You can't beat that! Kudos to the developer!
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
Myka
28 November 2011
This screensaver is frigging COOL. Tiny dots of stars rushing toward you, and then this cool (yes, I'm aware I've just used this adjective) warping effect takes over your screen... My favorite sci-fi screensavers are Hyperspace by this developer (thanks for making it free, Nick!), and a couple more by the developer (-ers?) Multithemes, also free - X-Galaxy and X-Vortex (they feature great nebulas! I wanted to type 'frigging cool nebulas', but hey...).
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
alas!
28 November 2011
Very effective imagery to focus into while playing appropriate music and enjoying your favorite mind enhancing substance. Not quite of the level of sophistication and complexity as the incredible 'Electric Sheep', also free, but quite nice nevertheless. Works just fine with my OS 10.6.8.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
Fancy-Nancy
06 July 2010
Version 2 works great with 10.6.4 Nice job and thank you for this nice screensaver.
Like (2)
Version 2.0
Mjk
28 January 2010
I absolutely love this screensaver. Unfortunately, it has not worked ever since I upgraded to Snow Leopard. While going through my screen savers (and trashing a lot that still haven't been updated), I discovered the system preferences said Hyperspace wasn't compatible. So I looked here, grabbed the current version and it still says it is incompatible. I am on a MacBook Unibody with Snow Leopard and all the updates.
Like (1)
Version 1.2
Steven-Goodheart
28 August 2009
Thanks for upgrading this fantastic screensaver for Snow Leopard! This is one of my top-five favorite screen savers on my machine, and is endlessly fascinating to watch. This one definitely belongs in the abstract/geometric screen saver hall of fame, along with Euphoria, Flux, and Helios!
Like (1)
Version 1.2
Jjsea
14 July 2008
Very nice screensaver... develops radically on my 24" display. I've used G Force for a year or so and it's always good to have an alternative. Thanks for the good work!
Like
Version 1.1.3
Bambu
14 July 2008
Now it just needs a bullet-time spinning Tardis in-between each segment of the wormhole. (( smile )) Beautiful work.
Like
Version 1.1.3
Madmacmad
14 March 2006
...many thx Nick for your Porting efforts.... ;-) works really fine on my G5 and my MacBook Pro ! It's Universal Binary so it works on booth !!!! well it's one of my favorites...i use it also on my PC....
Like
Version 1.1.2
Sixtyk
01 March 2006
I'm a little confused... I installed this on my 12 inch iBook (1.33 GHz/512 MB RAM) and it runs great... it looks good... smooth animation... I installed it on my G5 tower (1.8 GHz/1 GB RAM/PCI-X) and it struggles to hit 5 fps... very jerky...almost stop-motion appearance... I would think the G5 would outperform the lower-end laptop...
Like
Version 1.1
Rbrtpntn
27 February 2006
Looks nice but crashes on exit (ppc).
Like
Version 1.1
Raymman
27 February 2006
One of my prefered screensaver ever!! 'Sliding" between the stars is really neat... Many thanks to Terence M. Welsh, Stéphane Sudre and Jason Sonnenschein (and others?) for their great work! See here for their other excellent free screen savers : http://s.sudre.free.fr/Software/WBSoftware.html raymond
Like
Version 1.1