Back to Q emulator page
Q emulator free download for Mac

Q emulator Reviews

0.9.0a89
23 August 2007

Feature-packed Cocoa port of QEMU.

Roylsaintp
27 August 2008

Most helpful

this Q is not working for me at all, am running a G5. can anyone suggest another platform to run win software on a mac seamlessly download without fees.
Like (2)
Version 0.9.0a89

Read 16 Q emulator User Reviews

Rate this app:

appleyngo
17 September 2015
Very convenient and useful
Like
Version 0.9.0a89
michaeld1933
14 April 2015
This program does not work period! Maybe for others but not on my G5 2.5 gigahertz, It needs a lot of work!! I don't know why the programmers do not address this?
Like
Version 0.9.0a89
tahitibub
26 May 2013
There is a new website for this software : http://www.kju-app.org/ Latest revision is Q-0.9.1d118
Like (1)
Version 0.9.0a89
Mr-D-
06 July 2012
I cannot get a successful install of XP running on my G5 with this software. If I could find a place to get VPC 2007 I would. Program has crapped out on me at ALL stages of the XP install process - its not XP that hangs either. I have to force quit the app then restart the machine, because the window the VM is running in never goes away after a force quit. I have a G5 and for various reasons it would benefit me to have a copy of XP running (or vista or win7) on this box, but I cant get it to run with any kind of stability at all. I don't care how slow it is, just need it to work. Very disappointed. I have a Wintel box so please don't flame me about that. I like the PPC machines... call me a dinosaur if you will. Took me YEARS to upgrade past the 68k series macs.
Like
Version 0.9.0a89
1 answer(s)
michaeld1933
michaeld1933
14 April 2015
Hey I hear you! I am in the same situation with my G5 quad core 2.5 megahertz
I actually can not get anything to work with Q at all!! So frustrating, I am at the end of my rope and have given up. So i understand. :(
Like
Dalahast
26 May 2010
Is this ever going to be updated?
Like (1)
Version 0.9.0a89
2 answer(s)
Springheelmac
Springheelmac
28 May 2010
Go to the developer's site via the link above. They have version 0.9.1 something there. For some reason they aren't updating on MacUpdate.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.0a89
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
14 October 2010
0.9.0 is the latest release version, while 0.9.1 is a nightly, so they haven't updated the listing for a reason.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.0a89
Haloce-002
28 May 2009
Works very well especially running linux. Very safe to use as well.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.0a89
Antoniohuanchaco
07 February 2009
five stars
Like (1)
Version 0.9.0a89
Antoniohuanchaco
07 February 2009
Works Fine with my macbook intel...good job!
Like (1)
Version 0.9.0a89
1 answer(s)
Antoniohuanchaco
Antoniohuanchaco
07 February 2009
Version Q-0.9.1d118
Like (1)
Version 0.9.0a89
Roylsaintp
27 August 2008
this Q is not working for me at all, am running a G5. can anyone suggest another platform to run win software on a mac seamlessly download without fees.
Like (2)
Version 0.9.0a89
Threedee912
23 August 2007
Very slow on my G4, but that's to be expected. Successfully installed Win2000 and Ubuntu.
Like
Version 0.8.1a35
1 answer(s)
sonogirl
sonogirl
07 February 2012
Hi I have a G4 PPC and I downloaded this. Now my question is how do I get Windows installed? Can I just download it from a site or do I need CD?
Like (1)
New-User
17 July 2006
Surprisingly, VirtualPC 5 on a 1GHz G4 iBook noticably outperforms Q on a 2Ghz iMac G5 , both running a fresh instal of Windows 98 I didn't do any benchmarking. I'm going purely based on how fast it feels. Performance problems aside, it does exactly what it says. It does it easier than the other free PC emulation software, and hey it's free! I'd like to see performance optimizations for the Intel emulation on PowerPCs but the Qemu team is probably focusing on getting intel virtualization working now. A great overall product, it shows a lot of promise!
Like (1)
Version 0.8.1a35
Domino88
22 April 2006
I have installed WinXP SP2 and I can't seems to get the wireless working on Windows. Any suggestion? Have I done anything wrong? I have set my router to DHCP, it works on my PowerBook.
Like
Version 0.8.0a949
Macusr
29 March 2006
While I was waiting to get VPC, I used Q. It's easy to set up, but it was slow. It was good for an emulation, but I wouldn't recommend this for everyday work use. Maybe just for that .doc file or a small DOS game. Maybe on the G5s and Intels it runs better, but on my G4, VPC is much faster.
Like
Version 0.8.0d537
2 answer(s)
umaromc
umaromc
10 April 2006
For the .doc files I'd recommend the OS X-native NeoOffice.
Like
Version 0.8.0a949
Jslmg
Jslmg
11 April 2006
Actually, no emulator of any kind is needed on a Mac for .doc files. Yes, NeoOffice, clunky and resource-hungry as it is, is one option. AppleWorks works just fine, and is fast too. It saves any document you can later open in MS Word should you so desire. If you're using Mac, why not just use what's already there? Test it out...It's a lot of more cross-platform than you might think, and no emulator needed.
Like (1)
Version 0.8.0a949
Kraized
29 March 2006
What do I need to get this run from an XPSP2 CD? I can't seem to get it too boot.
Like
Version 0.8.0d537
Lectrick
03 March 2006
Works almost as fast as VPC, except free. Supports most of the same features as VPC. The universal binary version supposedly runs way faster than VPC on Intel hardware... I suggest you all keep an eye on this project!
Like
Version 0.8.0d537
Zc456
25 February 2006
A free OS emulator...?! o_o; My wildness dreams have come true. There is hope! XD
Like
Version 0.8.0d537
2 answer(s)
Bastibense
Bastibense
11 April 2006
Furry fandom? :D
Like
Version 0.8.0a949
Jslmg
Jslmg
11 April 2006
Keep in mind that this one is not the only "free" x86 emulator available for Mac. There's Bochs--which requires a little Unix knowledge--and QemuX, another attempt at giving Qemu a nice interface, but one that remains pretty buggy. Hopefully, Q emulator will be more successful than these.
Like
Version 0.8.0a949