Back to Aurora page
Aurora free download for Mac

Aurora Reviews

5.0.3
20 November 2013

iTunes alarm clock; wakes your Mac and plays music.

Hal0thane
07 February 2008

Most helpful

I've been using Aurora for quite some time as my one and only alarm clock. It functions perfectly and I've been completely satisfied with it. When the new version (4.0) came out a few days ago, I didn't even notice that it had changed from freeware to shareware/demo. (It certainly wasn't listed in the "What's New" section!) As I said, I think Aurora is a great app, and it's worth paying for. The snooze feature and multiple alarms to perform essentially any task I wish through scripting is fantastic. But in the whole time I've been using it, I've never "shopped around" for a better one. Now that it's $22.00, well, I'm going to have to reevaluate my options before I decide to buy. The price tag just may have lost a potentially very happy customer for Aurora -- not that I mind paying for it, but that I think $15 or less would be a more appropriate price -- especially considering its long history as freeware.
Like (4)
Version 4.0

Read 50 Aurora User Reviews

Rate this app:

Lumac52
24 December 2014
This product was developed by Metakine up to version 4.3, then bought by One Periodic who released version 5. As of this posting, you can still download version version 4.3 here: https://www.metakine.com/files/Aurora%20v4.3.0.zip
Like
Version 5.0.3
Aetnaria
14 July 2014
Aurora used to be solid for me. Eventually I opted to upgrade from version 4 to 5 when the countdown timer duration seemed to slow to between 1/2 to 1/3 of actual speed whenever the alarm window that popped up was in the background (i.e., an alarm set to play music would start on time but last 25 minutes instead of 10 before finally stopping). Now version 5 and the latest OS (10.9.4) has resulted in a mismatch between when the menubar item thinks an alarm should start and when the alarms window actually attempts to start it - this happens whenever you try to edit an alarm already in place, and results in a ton of console log spam. This desync seems fixable by quitting both halves of the application (the dock/window part and the menubar part) and reopening them. I reported this bug to the developer a week ago, yet have heard no response at all to date.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.3
cirrus-cirrus
04 January 2014
Tread Very Carefully I got this in a MacUpdate Bundle & installed it on my Mountain Lion MacPro. I tried to turn it off & removed it from startup items, but it kept re-installing the startup item. After my removal attempt, via AppDelete, my MacPro began freezing every morning at startup, requiring a daily forced restart - very tiresome. As soon as I removed all remnants, including those hiding in Library/Group Containers, the daily freezes stopped. I'll find another alarm clock.
Like (2)
Version 5.0.3
PaoloR6061
20 December 2013
I have lots of problems with Aurora, since I got Mavericks: it works once or twice a week! Status in Menubar sometimes disappears, apparently at random, and I need to reboot my Mac to see it again in the MenuBar (other procedures useless) (in the Preferences of Aurora “Enable Alarms when Aurora isn’t running” and “Show status in the menubar” are always selected). If I don’t reboot, Aurora doesn’t start. By the way: In Mac Preferences > Users and Groups > Login Items, Aurora disappears. Sometimes, Aurora wakes the Mac, starts, but doesn't play music. I tried to delete Preferences and all other files and re-install Aurora but nothing changed. Thank you for help! Paolo MacBook 5,1, late 2008, OX 10.9
Like
Version 5.0.3
PaoloR6061
12 December 2013
I have lots of problems with Aurora, since I got Mavericks: it works once or twice a week! Status in Menubar sometimes disappears, apparently at random, and I need to reboot my Mac to see it again in the MenuBar (other procedures useless) (in the Preferences of Aurora “Enable Alarms when Aurora isn’t running” and “Show status in the menubar” are always selected). If I don’t reboot, Aurora doesn’t start. By the way: In Mac Preferences > Users and Groups > Login Items, Aurora disappears. Sometimes, Aurora wakes the Mac, starts, but doesn't play music. I tried to delete Preferences and all other files and re-install Aurora but nothing changed. Thank you Paolo MacBook 5,1, late 2008, OX 10.9
Like (1)
Version 5.0.3
1 answer(s)
Frankp
Frankp
21 December 2013
Also having a problem getting the current version to work consistently when it's turned on. It also has the very annoying habit of restarting itself every time I restart my laptop (which I do a lot because of travel).
Like (1)
RemekTek
07 October 2013
I got this in a Bundle. Can't think why anyone would want to buy it if you had a Smartphone or iPad/Tablet. But there you are. Somebody must do, - try the free eval version first.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.1
Mactheny
02 September 2013
Version 5.0: Menubar status isn’t displayed in German version. Please bug fix.
Like
Version 5.0
Hunter-e59bf642
28 March 2013
Works really well. Can't think of any missing features.
Like (2)
Version 4.3
Ochre
23 November 2012
Worked fine with EyeTV, but since my USB tuner broke (or EyeTV - there's a program heading for the dustbin of application history) I've discovered it apparently doesn't work with iTunes playlists containing radio streams or videos. Pretty glaring omissions, especially when you consider how few people use EyeTV on their Macs. If they increased Aurora's compatibility with playlists and third-party software (MplayerX, VLC, Radium etc.) maybe it'd be worth owning. Yes, you can use scripts, but that's a whole new bag of hurt…
Like
Version 4.3
exit-success
15 March 2012
because it's Free xD
Like
Version 4.3
Jeff-Nailen
10 December 2011
Aurora is an excellent alarm clock that plays your favorite iTunes music every morning. I tried all the top alarm clocks for the Mac on both MacUpdate and the App Store, even paying for some on the App Store for which free trials are not available. What struck me the most about Aurora, and the reason I bought it and use it, is that it is dedicated to reliability and stability which is exactly what is needed in an alarm clock when you depend on it to wake you up pleasantly every morning. Well worth the price. Don't be fooled by other options with zillions of hard to use features or really low prices and lack of reliability. Aurora is the one to trust.
Like (1)
Version 4.3
jhismith
14 March 2011
I bought Aurora to load EyeTV in the mornings. It has worked all of about 3 times. Sometimes it claims not to find the channels (but as soon as you quit the program EyeTV loads fine). Sometimes it just fails to open EyeTV. The unreliability of the application makes it utterly useless as an alarm! P.S. Running Snow Leopard (up-to-date) as well as most up-to-date versions of EyeTV and Aurora. 'Alway open Live TV window at Startup' checked in EyeTV preferences.
Like (2)
Version 4.1.3
1 answer(s)
Ochre
Ochre
14 March 2012
I'm not saying that Aurora isn't at fault; all I'm saying is that, IME, EyeTV could be the one to blame here. At the moment it is-and for some time has been-the flakiest application on any of my Macs (three): frequent beach-balling; sudden drops in reception (often when browsing the Web :-S); won't find an attached USB tuner when opening on Login; SBOD when streaming from a shared library on the LAN; etc. If EyeTV is the only application that Aurora seems unwilling to work correctly with, I do encourage you to lay at least part of the blame at the feet of Elgato, not Metakine. NB: I don't work for Metakine or even own a copy of Aurora, I just have a lot of bad experience with EyeTV :(
Like
Tischer-s
05 February 2011
I bought Aurora yesterday and immidiately fall in love with it:) The app is simply stunning, nice simple interface, starts the mac to the right time, works smoothly and looks very nice! In my opinion it is much better then awaken the opponents app! Thanks for the nice developing :)
Like (2)
Version 4.1.2
wilo
05 February 2011
I think Aurora is a fine app, simple to use and essential. Staff of Metakine is very kind and always ready to resolve troubles.
Like (1)
Version 4.1.2
Mactheny
22 November 2010
Aurora still doesn't work with the new (silver) Apple Remote. Hope Metakine improve soon after... .
Like (1)
Version 4.1.0
1 answer(s)
Abrasif
Abrasif
13 December 2010
Aurora 4.1.1 addresses the problem.
Like (2)
Mlbkxbx
26 October 2010
It keeps adding this "aurora wakeup helper.app" to my "login items", which is causing aurora to start on login (not hidden mind you), which is infuriating. This stuff should be configurable IMHO. When i need aurora to be active, i would like to start it myself, thankyou very much.
Like (1)
Version 4.1.0
Jayce
09 September 2009
Aurora 4.0.10 works just fine with Snow Leopard too.
Like (2)
Version 4.0.11
Jcat
13 August 2008
I got this by accident as part of a MacBundle containing two other apps I needed, but I have used it thankfully every morning since. I have an odd schedule; Aurora lets me set a different wake-up time for each day, and a separate playlist so that before my eyes open I know what day this is. Marvelous! It doesn't help my computer run better nor my workflow lessen, but it certainly improves my mood! No alarms, no depressing news, no extra-loud radio ads--just music of my choice.
Like (3)
Version 4.0.10
Britonius
27 February 2008
Aurora is nice as far as alarm clocks go, but Awaken I believe has a nicer interface and better functionality and is much cheaper at $12.95. Aurora does have Awaken beat at present with its' EyeTV integration, otherwise they are comparable in functionality. Awaken also just announced that it's 4.1 release will allow us to choose whether you want to let iTunes play the music or Awaken. Both have benefits. Plus it will allow video playback within the alarm window. Plus I get quicker response from Awaken's devs. Check it out and compare to decide which app is best for your need. Here is a link to the blog talking about new features coming in Awaken 4.1 - http://embraceware.com/blog/2008/02/24/awaken-41-look-ma-no-itunes-and-look-at-the-moving-pictures/#comment-2314
Like (3)
Version 4.0.8
2 answer(s)
Abalem-^-^
Abalem-^-^
10 July 2009
And who exactly are you working for btw ?
Like (3)
Version 4.0.10
Britonius
Britonius
10 July 2009
I work for a major Electric Utility company, was just giving a review of both products as I used and compared both to determine which I liked better. Trying to be nice and helpful. I hope it helps.
Like (4)
Version 4.0.10
Gaoshan
16 February 2008
This app was good when it was free. Since it now costs it has to face off against other for-pay applications like it. Given that, Awaken is about half the price and better (better looking, easier to set up, cheaper, etc.).
Like
Version 4.0.5
2 answer(s)
schmelding
schmelding
19 February 2008
Yeah, I have to agree with you. I used to be a solid Aurora user, but Awaken has better features for less.
Like
Version 4.0.6
Meego
Meego
19 February 2008
Last free Aurora version (3.3.5) available at: http://s3.amazonaws.com/metaquark/Aurora-3.3.5.zip You can't get a better deal. It still beats Awaken, Alarm Clock and all others. The right balance between ease-of-use and features.
Like
Version 4.0.6
Hal0thane
07 February 2008
I've been using Aurora for quite some time as my one and only alarm clock. It functions perfectly and I've been completely satisfied with it. When the new version (4.0) came out a few days ago, I didn't even notice that it had changed from freeware to shareware/demo. (It certainly wasn't listed in the "What's New" section!) As I said, I think Aurora is a great app, and it's worth paying for. The snooze feature and multiple alarms to perform essentially any task I wish through scripting is fantastic. But in the whole time I've been using it, I've never "shopped around" for a better one. Now that it's $22.00, well, I'm going to have to reevaluate my options before I decide to buy. The price tag just may have lost a potentially very happy customer for Aurora -- not that I mind paying for it, but that I think $15 or less would be a more appropriate price -- especially considering its long history as freeware.
Like (4)
Version 4.0
1 answer(s)
Hal0thane
Hal0thane
29 October 2009
Followup to my original review: I did indeed purchase Aurora for the asking price of $22. The new 4.x was awkward, slow, and didn't want to respond to my choices. At times I had to wait over three minutes (or longer) from the time I hit the 'new alarm' button until I could select the alarm playlist. I contacted the developer for assistance with the issue -- I was using Aurora as my only alarm clock. The developer's official answer was that I had too much music in iTunes, and that Aurora would bog down like that until I removed some music. A year and a half later, the developer has released only one update since then (for Snow Leopard compatibility), and it still does not address this issue.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.11
Bumbleb
06 February 2008
A good application. I've used it a few times when it was free. The new pricing seems a bit on the high side.
Like (1)
Version 4.0
3 answer(s)
Shatfield
Shatfield
06 February 2008
The US Dollar's exchange rate is why this software is so "expensive"... the developer is charging only 15 EUR... which is $22! At the rate the US economy is tanking, in a year you'll have to sell your car in order to buy it.
Like (2)
Version 4.0
Bumbleb
Bumbleb
06 February 2008
I know what the currencies are. Who are you to judge from what I'm writing that I don't? It as a comment on the pricing. Nothing else.
Like
Version 4.0
Roy-Van-Der-Woning
Roy-Van-Der-Woning
06 February 2008
Testy much? In what way did the other reviewer "judge" you?
Like (1)
Version 4.0
Roro01
06 February 2008
WHY PAY? Alarm Clock is the best alarm clock application and it is free. The only problem - it is not compatible with Leopard, yet.
Like
Version 4.0
Balthamos
04 September 2007
Great application; works how I want it to. And if you want to use this application, but still have your computer lock when it sleeps, then I suggest using a utility like Utility Lock. Works quite well in conjunction with Aurora. Keep up the good work dev! Would like to see the standard OS X lock from sleep supported (jiggler, perhaps?).
Like (1)
Version 3.3.4
Jb4
01 July 2007
Help. Since the iTunes update, the last two days, I've woken up to the "Westminster Chimes" blaring at full volume, Can't take much more. ;>)
Like
Version 3.3.3
Hodiebud
03 June 2007
this program is amazing... it does just what it says it does... i wish more programs were like this!
Like
Version 3.3.3
Nontroppo
11 May 2007
Excellent user interface and the perfect blend of necessary features. I've had no reliability issues. I send my Macbook (10.4.9) to sleep (Aurora can play you songs for a set time before sleeping) and it always wakes up at the right time.
Like
Version 3.3.2
Jb4
27 April 2007
Thanks to the developer. Great piece of software. I use it daily. Always works. I love the "random" alarm option and the variety of choices of wake-up music which can be set with each different alarm. Only feature missing? I'd love to be able to set the wake up music to an individual album in my library, instead of a folder at the top level. Mon: Joanie Mitchel- "Blue." Tues: Ray Charles- "Greatest Hits." That type of thing.
Like
Version 3.3.1
1 answer(s)
Jb4
Jb4
28 April 2007
Yes, I know I can do it that way, but it would be easier to allow another level of settings down to the albums, no? Anyway, thanks for the reply and the great application
Like
Version 3.3.1
Noborders
03 April 2007
Aurora has never been abled to start playback from itunes and i don't use airtunes and never put my powerbook to sleep. Running OS X 10.4.9. And while it uses the fallback player to start playback, very often nothing will play making it totally unreliable as an alarm.
Like
Version 3.2.3
Fuulcss
01 April 2007
I have a question. Does Aurora work well when the LCD lid is closed? (MacBook)
Like
Version 3.2.3
Scatterbraine
15 March 2007
This is getting frustrating. I'm just looking for a reliable alarm clock to wake me with mp3 music... Problems I've had with Aurora: Computer started up, iTunes started up, plays wrong playlist Computer started up, iTunes hung, Aurora's built-in player started and started playing, but no sound came out of my speakers (yes, sound was turned on) Computer started up, iTunes started up, doesn't start playing I always have to set my clock next to Aurora, so that if it doesn't work I wont miss school...
Like
Version 3.2.3
Codimmons
29 January 2007
Great App! This is the best alram/snooze app for iTunes by far.
Like
Version 3.2.2
Jb4
02 January 2007
After several updates, it is the best of the lot. It works, every time, it is flexible enough to allow me my idiosyncratic sleeping patterns and allows me to wake to whatever music I choose. One feature I'd like, if you ever get around to it, would be to go one level deeper into my music and allow me to choose individual albums. Thanks for a great and (everyday) useful app.
Like
Version 3.2.2
153957photography
07 December 2006
Indeed, first check everything and make it work for you. I can understand why the dev didnt want Wake from Sleep enaled by default, you might not want it to wake it from sleep when not there.. well lets just say that is why such functions exist, so you have the choice to enable or disable them. And thank you Jonas for implementing my requests. I tested the program last night (and this morning). It just worked! very nice! Thanks!
Like
Version 3.1
Attentionwandered
04 December 2006
the first thing MOST people do is go into the preferences and set everything to what they need. his options make sense to his preference, maybe not yours. that does not make this a bad application. i PREFER it over alarm clock 2, they are about the same as good as eachother. and the itunes alarm hasnt failed me once it has even needed the backup, those complaints were from a whillle ago.
Like
Version 3.1
Dnbradshaw
30 November 2006
I've been using Alarm Clock 2 for the past 5 months without a single problem. Not even 1. But Aurora looked pretty cool, so I decided I'd try it for a few nights. Here's what happened: When I first opened the application, I created a test alarm, and authorized it to wake my computer from sleep. I put my computer to sleep to test it, and it worked fine. So I quickly created another alarm for the morning and went to bed. It didn't wake me up because I forgot to check the "Wake from sleep" option on the new alarm. Admittedly my fault, but here's a question: Why in the world is this NOT on by default, if I've already authorized? Seriously! In Alarm Clock 2, you authorize once, and forget about it. It doesn't annoy you by making you check a "wake from sleep" option for every alarm. Since that was my first night with the app, I thought I'd give it another chance. So I set an alarm for the following morning, and made sure to enable the wake from sleep option. And when the alarm went off in the morning, can you guess what happened? It didn't wake me up again! This time I find out that, by default, Aurora is set to only change the iTunes volume. Not my system volume, which must have been down pretty low before I went to bed. I suppose you could consider this my fault, as this is an option in the preferences. But here's another question: Why is this NOT on by default? Jonas, do you even think about the people who use your application? Are you trying to set them up for failure? Why are you making it so easy to screw up when using your application? Speaking of designing for failure: When users select a playlist, they have to enable the "repeat" option. (It's off by default) If the playlist is short, this is a big problem. Once again: Why is this NOT on by default? I consider all of the above proof that Aurora worries more about features than it does about waking people up. I've never had to think about any of the above problems when I used Alarm Clock 2. There is no repeat playlist option, because it does it automatically for me, no questions asked. There is no wake from sleep option for every alarm, because it does it for me automatically, no questions asked. Starting to see a pattern? And speaking of stability: Aurora depends on iTunes to play it's music. I can see from previous feedback that the developer had so many problems with this that he was forced to implement a backup. He thinks this is safe. I assure you it's not. Because Aurora can't control which speakers iTunes will play to. So if you're like me, and you have an airport express, you MUST check your iTunes setup before you go to sleep each night, or you might not wake up. Once again, are we designing for failure here? Also, I don't have an eyeTV. But is it really safe to depend on it to wake you up in the morning. Even for an important meeting? So to wrap up this review, I would say the following: Aurora is a great application. However, you need to consider the fact that it's trying to be an alarm clock. If you're looking for features over stability, and you don't mind needing a backup alarm every now and then, Aurora is a good choice. However, if you want a rock solid alarm clock that won't require a backup alarm, then you're looking for Alarm Clock 2.
Like
Version 3.0
anonymous-heron-1307
20 November 2006
Uncompressing the .bz2 archive gives a corrupt .dmg...
Like
Version 3.0b
1 answer(s)
Jonas-Witt
Jonas-Witt
21 November 2006
Does re-downloading the .dmg file help?
Like
Version 3.0b
153957photography
20 November 2006
Looks nice, I will test it tomorrow. this might be the first app to replace my somewhat outdated (but still functional!!) "MP3 Alarm Clock"
Like
Version 3.0b
Trebor
14 November 2006
It used to be my perfect ap - it did exactly what I wanted - start up computer, start itunes and fade in music from lo volume gradually increasing to louder volume to help combat my morning wooziness. Now, sadly it just starts up the computer - it does not start itunes playing (so I dont get woken up!!!). I guess this has something to do with the new updates to iTunes. Beyond that it has always had issues if you selected "random" play of the play-list. It is so close to being my perfect alarm clock. Here's hoping an update is in the pipe-line that will actually make it play iTunes again!
Like
Version 2.3.2
Iamaswissguy
15 October 2006
Is there a way to set different alarm times for different days? For example: I have a 9:00AM day for school on Mondays, but Tuesdays-Fridays I have a regular 8:00AM day. It would be great if this feature was implemented. I love it otherwise.
Like
Version 2.3.2
1 answer(s)
Iamaswissguy
Iamaswissguy
15 October 2006
Never mind, I found out how to make multiple alarms. This software is seriously 10/10. I absolutely love it. Thanks so very much for making freeware,.
Like
Version 2.3.2
Attentionwandered
15 June 2006
(followup to previous post) I really come to prefer aurora. the interface is much nicer and doesnt take up menubar space (im thankful for turning that option off) it doesnt need its faisafe player if you put your computer to sleep with itunes running. i preffer "Pause" to put me to sleep, because it lets me do other things to turn it off, more function like that and this would be perfect. thanks
Like
Version 2.3
The-X
30 May 2006
This app looks great! I've been looking for something like this for a long time. Great name, simple but great features. I can't wait to try this out!
Like
Version 2.1
Coldfusion1970
27 May 2006
I double click on the DMG and it mounts fine, but i get "One or more items have special permissions and cant be copied. Do you want to skip them?" as a error message. Is the download corrupt? I'm using a Intel iMac with 10.4.6.
Like
Version 2.1
2 answer(s)
Jonas-Witt
Jonas-Witt
28 May 2006
Sorry, I've fixed that. Please also make sure that you don't run Aurora from within the disk image, but copy it to your hard disk first.
Like
Version 2.1
Coldfusion1970
Coldfusion1970
28 May 2006
Thanks for the quick response. I will give it another try.
Like
Version 2.1
I use Alarm Clock 2 but it rarely actually plays itunes and i muchhhhhhh prefer aurora's layout. the new version promises alot, and ill test it but i have one question what is this "wake from "deep sleep"" my 2 years with macs i have never seen that option. it seems like just a gimmick to me. thanks for free software, and ill test it.
Like
Version 2.0
2 answer(s)
Yummydodd
Yummydodd
26 May 2006
attentionwandered - somehow i doubt you've been using alarm clock 2. i say this because of your quote: "...but it rarely actually plays itunes" first of all, alarm clock 2 doesn't play music through iTunes. just by reading the comments for aurora, we all know this to be a good thing. in fact, the developer of aurora had so many problems, he had to go in and make a failsafe for when iTunes doesn't play! second, me and all my mac friends use alarm clock 2 and we've never (not once) had a problem with it over the course of about a month now. so if you're actually being honest, then i'll bet you'll also have problems with the "failsafe" in aurora, since it uses the same technique as alarm clock 2.
Like
Version 2.0
Jonas-Witt
Jonas-Witt
26 May 2006
With "deep sleep" I mean the state where your Mac is off. To learn how to use that feature, read http://metaquark.de/content/software/aurora/howto/index.html#preferences - basically, you'll need to enable auto-login for your user and have Aurora in your login items. yummyDodd is right when he says that playback through iTunes is not 100% reliable (when you use AirTunes, for example), and that's why I included the fallback player in version 2.0 - this gives you all of iTunes' features (other alarm clocks don't support AirTunes, for example), but 100% reliability.
Like
Version 2.0
Mahutanna
30 April 2006
The first night I tried this app it woke up my mac right on time and started playing itunes, gently fading the volume for me. I was pretty happy but still really tired so I set it to snooze for 15 minutes and immediately fell back asleep. My mac went to sleep 10 minutes later. About 90 minutes later I woke up because my phone was ringing. Needless to say I wasn't very happy anymore. I read the previous comment, and can see that others have had problems with aurora as well. From the suggestion, I also tried alarm clock 2 and it worked flawlessly. (and it's free) Goodbye aurora.
Like
Version 1.4.2
1 answer(s)
Jonas-Witt
Jonas-Witt
02 May 2006
Mahutanna, I'm sorry for the trouble Aurora caused you. Since version 1.4 Aurora should make sure your Mac will wake up before continuing to play music after snoozing. However, as setting a wake up time requires admin privileges, this won't work if you haven't authorized Aurora's helper tool. Since you say it woke you up correctly the first time, I presume you did authorize... Could you please check if this problem is reproducible? Jonas
Like
Version 1.4.2
Yummydodd
29 April 2006
i downloaded this app a while back. it worked fine for a while, then one day it didn't wake me up because iTunes was set to play to my speakers outside on the patio. lesson learned: check iTunes speakers before bed. then several days later it didn't wake me up again. this time i had aurora set to play a playlist with only a couple songs in it. the playlist ended before it woke me up. lesson learned: make sure repeat is turned on for playlist, or use big playlist. a week later, another problem. didn't wake because the system volume was down so low. changed aurora to control the system volume. and guess what happened days later. had problems because the iTunes volume was down too low! lesson learned: don't rely on aurora! besides, what's the point of having an alarm clock with a repeating alarm if you still have to spend a few minutes every night double checking all the iTunes settings. i may as well be setting a normal alarm during that time. i tried out a few other software alarm clocks and they had similar problems controlling iTunes. then i read a comment about Alarm Clock 2, tried it out, and haven't had a single problem in the last 2 weeks of using it! plus i can use my apple remote to hit snooze! check it out here: http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/20597
Like
Version 1.4.2
3 answer(s)
Jonas-Witt
Jonas-Witt
02 May 2006
Yummydodd, Aurora 1.5 (which I hope to release this week) will include among other things the ability to set both volumes and to set playlist repeat. As for having your music played through AirTunes: I thought of it as a feature, not a bug... How should Aurora know which speakers you want to use? You'll have to set that up yourself, I guess. Jonas
Like
Version 1.4.2
Yummydodd
Yummydodd
26 May 2006
Jonas, i suppose you could be right. playing through airtunes could be a feature. but i shouldn't have to go into iTunes every night to double check my settings! why not offer an option in aurora so that i may set which speakers to play for an alarm???
Like
Version 2.0
Jonas-Witt
Jonas-Witt
26 May 2006
yummyDodd, I don't see any possibility to control which speakers are selected in iTunes. Apple forgot to make this Applescriptable and since iTunes isn't Cocoa based, I can't simulate clicking the popup button either. I'd very much like to include such an option in Aurora, but at the moment I can't - sorry.
Like
Version 2.0
David-abramowitz
04 April 2006
Very nice app - the one problem I have is that when my Mac wakes from sleep, it requires a password (for security reasons, so I can lock the screen when I step away from my desk). When the alarm time comes up (when I'm on the road), the music starts, and the login screen appears, but after a few moments, by default the Mac will go back to sleep, so the music stops.
Like
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
Jonas-Witt
Jonas-Witt
04 April 2006
This problem occurred to several people and is fixed in 1.4. Aurora will now ask you if you want turn off the wakeup password for the time Aurora is running.
Like
Version 1.4
Aname
06 March 2006
This is partly a comment or thought about Michael Pipolo's question. If you're not using the newest (Tiger) system, you might be interested the following. If you are using Tiger, though, the application I'm mentioning below might be able to work for you anyway. There once were one, sole application that could manage to actually wake up a computer from DEEP sleep, i.e. not normal sleep, but the sleep it has when the computer is 'shut off' completely. I have never since, seen any other app that can handle this arcane wake up, and I honestly don't have a clue how the developer of that app did it. Sadly, he stopped developing the app and it is probably belonging to the past (Panther and older OSX). Its name is iBeeZz (http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/10589).
Like
Version 1.1.1
1 answer(s)
Jonas-Witt
Jonas-Witt
06 March 2006
It would be no problem to implement that functionality, although you'd then need to setup autologin and put Aurora in your Startup Items in order to listen to music after bootup. When I add a Menu Bar Agent to Aurora (which will be intended to run all the time), I will add this.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Ivan-P
25 February 2006
I have only one question about this app.... Will it wake a sleeping iBook with its lid closed and play iTunes? I have tried other alarms, and they only seem to wake the desktop Macs or laptops with open lids.
Like
Version 1.1
4 answer(s)
Jonas-Witt
Jonas-Witt
26 February 2006
Aurora successfully wakes my Powerbook, even if the lid is closed (even without external speakers attached, but this is quite useless anyway). You seem to need to set a few options for this, however. Make sure you do all the following: 1) Energy Saver Preferences Pane -> Options -> Enable both Wake Options (modem + Ethernet) 2) Keyboard & Mouse Pref Pane -> Bluetooth -> Enable Allow BT to wake this Computer I encounter different problems if I disable any of these, although I don't really see why. Aurora doesn't use the modem, Ethernet or Bluetooth. :-/
Like
Version 1.1
Ivan-P
Ivan-P
27 February 2006
I enabled all the waking options you mentioned, and it does wake my iBook (lid closed) from sleep at the specified time. It even plays iTunes for exactly 4 seconds before playback ceases and the iBook goes back to sleep. I got nearly the same behavior from every other alarm clock application I've tried, sans the 4 second iTunes playback. In other words, this is the only alarm clock I have used (and I have tried quite a few) that was able to make iTunes play AT ALL before the machine went back to sleep. All the others would wake the iBook for... at the most, 5 seconds. However, I am not sure if 4 seconds is enough to wake up to. This is most likely not as related to Aurora itself as it is to the iBook's insurmountable sleep control. Thanks for the response though. If you have any further ideas, please let me know.
Like
Version 1.1
Jaydeefunk
Jaydeefunk
28 February 2006
I have the same Problem but I think it is related to me having to input a password to wake my ibook. So When the alarm is meant to go off, it starts playing and displays the Password dialog. If I don't input my password then it goes back to sleep ... is there anyway to fix this ??
Like
Version 1.1
Alexiusca
Alexiusca
05 March 2006
Just want to back that up -- the closed-lid is powerbook only... guess that's what we pay the big bucks for. :)
Like
Version 1.1.1
Satellio
24 February 2006
Alarm Clock _is_ a "whole application", and resides in the Applications folder. Simply its icon doesn't appear in the Dock (so as not to clutter it), but in the menu bar. You can quit Alarm Clock by selecting "Quit" in the pop-down menu that appears when you click on its icon. Aurora has a nice name and a good looking interface, and I like that you can just type in the alarm date and time figures. It works pretty well. Alarm Clock is better in the "interacting-with-iTunes" department (e.g.: the Easy Wake feature is better than it is in Aurora; you can select just the song you want instead of a whole playlist; ...), and its "concept of use" is also easier and quicker to grasp, imho.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Jonas-Witt
Jonas-Witt
25 February 2006
I'm glad you like Aurora. I am already working on an additional menu bar item for Aurora. This way one wouldn't need to run Aurora all the time in order to set off alarms. Concerning playing single songs: The easiest way to do that is to create a custom playlist in iTunes and select this playlist in Aurora. I think that being able to select single songs from Aurora would add unnecessary complexity to this slim application.
Like
Version 1.1