Back to Yojimbo page
Yojimbo free download for Mac

Yojimbo Reviews

4.1.3
18 October 2019

Data organizer.

Nick-Collingridge
11 February 2018

Most helpful

I use Yojimbo and as far as it goes find it excellent. It never crashes, and the syncing to the iPad version works well. However it is rather limited. Three things in particular that are shortcomings that limit my use of it are as follows:
1. There are templates for passwords and serial numbers, but not for credit cards, and I can't see that there is any way of adding templates for anything like this that you might want to store in the app.
2. Although you can encrypt text notes and images, you don't seem to be able to encrypt any items using templates (the encrypt option in the contextual menu is greyed out). This is a pretty significant shortcoming.
3. Finally, the absence of an iPhone app is frustrating, and furthermore you can only apparently sync to one iPad. If you want to add another iPad for syncing you have to delete the existing one.
These limitations are a shame because otherwise this is a decent product. I live in hope that a v5 will come along which fixes these shortcomings.
Like (1)
Version 4.1.1

Read 109 Yojimbo User Reviews

Rate this app:

Nick-Collingridge
11 February 2018
I use Yojimbo and as far as it goes find it excellent. It never crashes, and the syncing to the iPad version works well. However it is rather limited. Three things in particular that are shortcomings that limit my use of it are as follows:
1. There are templates for passwords and serial numbers, but not for credit cards, and I can't see that there is any way of adding templates for anything like this that you might want to store in the app.
2. Although you can encrypt text notes and images, you don't seem to be able to encrypt any items using templates (the encrypt option in the contextual menu is greyed out). This is a pretty significant shortcoming.
3. Finally, the absence of an iPhone app is frustrating, and furthermore you can only apparently sync to one iPad. If you want to add another iPad for syncing you have to delete the existing one.
These limitations are a shame because otherwise this is a decent product. I live in hope that a v5 will come along which fixes these shortcomings.
Like (1)
Version 4.1.1
chikega
20 October 2014
It works as described.
Like
Version 4.0.3
Alexiusca
22 May 2014
Can't believe they still sell this. Not sure what on earth people think makes this worth $30 bucks considering the free and paid alternatives which are far better and developed far more actively and empathetically.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.3
Rickdees
10 November 2013
I wrote a glowing review of this product recently but I have to update my rating. I just installed Lil Snitch. There should be another category for rating of developer integrity. Here's a list of the servers Yojimbo is talking to: accounts.l.google.com analytics.twitter.com www.facebook.com apis.google.com accounts.google.com s2.googleusercontent.com twitter.com s-static.ak.facebook.com www.googlecommerce.com There's no option to turn it off and no notification they are SELLING your data without permission. Despicable.
Like (5)
Version 4.0.1
3 answer(s)
Shiny22
Shiny22
14 November 2013
With respect, how do you know that they are selling anything? And if they are selling my data, what data exactly of all the data on my machine? Maybe there's another reason?
Like (1)
Blloyd
Blloyd
14 November 2013
Have you ever captured any web archives in Yojimbo? If so, if those sites have cookies, then whenever you view them in Yojimbo, Yojimbo is going to call out to those sites, as it is displaying the web archives. This is what web archives DO. This is one of the big problems with Little Snitch: 99% of people don't know enough about how computers and the web works to properly interpret its output. And I suspect you are casting blame for all the wrong reasons here.
Like (20)
Rickdees
Rickdees
03 September 2015
Blloyd,

Yes, you are correct. I was capturing websites in Yojimbo. BareBones is not the boogey man I made them out to be. My apologies.

Like (3)
Rickdees
30 September 2013
Would I prefer a better/updated UI? Sure. Would I prefer they use DropBox instead of (whatever). Absolutely. HOWEVER. This software works as advertised. I've got it syncing on three different computers and it's flawless. I just bought Yojimbo for iPad - again syncing is flawless. When this first came out I tried it for about two days, read the other reviews and decided it was time to switch. I bought Together and liked the UI, liked that I didn't have to pay for syncing, etc. After 2 weeks were up, I never could get it to pick my iCloud database for my laptop. Then I started seeing red entries - meaning it couldn't find the file. I gave up on Together after seeing half of my 1200+ entries show up missing. I switched back to Yojimbo and like I said earlier - flawless syncing. At the end of the day, I want something I can rely on and Yojimbo is the best choice for me.
Like (4)
Version 4.0
1 answer(s)
Gary30
Gary30
03 October 2013
We all very much like "Free" but run, don't walk, from any product that offers its own free sync service. Unless the company is large and can offer other fee-services on those sync servers, then the sync service will kill them financially. NotifyMe and others were dragged under by this; Together looks like a candidate for big problems if they can't get their service to pay for itself. So the fee service used by Yojimbo makes sense. I don't happen to need syncing for Yojimbo so I just use Yojimbo 3 and a remote access software app/service should I need to have a look at something. I just wish Yojimbo would get a fresh UI update and maybe a little more support for media file types. Otherwise version 4 is not a compelling update for me.
Like (2)
Cocoanut
29 August 2013
Honestly, it's as if they actually don't WANT users. BBEdit is a fine application but Yojimbo is an utter fiasco of blunders and customer care. It could be a great application with a different, more adept developer.
Like (6)
Version 4.0
flash1296gmailcom8977
20 August 2013
I bought Yojimbo3 and have found it to be quite good, BUT having to pay for it while there are free alternatives including the excellent EVERNOTE is absurd. Charging $20 for an upgrade when that upgrade only has one new feature, and that creates additional expenses is even more absurd.
Like (5)
Version 4.0
2 answer(s)
x0x0
x0x0
31 January 2015
•••sorry, wrong reply to•••
Like
x0x0
x0x0
31 January 2015
Both apps are not in the same category. Evernote is a Cloud note service, while Yojimbo is more local. And if you read Evernote's privacy policy, they may access your notes if they deem it necessary, to verify and make sure you respect their TOC... and they may serve you adverts from third parties... If it's free, then you are the product.
Like
misterjspencer
16 August 2013
When YJ stopped syncing I tried others, and I see Together syncs with iCloud, Voodoopad syncs with dropbox and Devon think syncs with Dropbox also. As others have said YJ lags behind in its ability to store and sort items The sync path for this app is innovative but too expensive. You will stick with what you know maybe, but at what price?
Like (2)
Version 4.0
Rlevent
16 August 2013
What is particularly outrageous is the fact that the Wasabi Sync website indicates that Wasabi Sync only charges a developer $49.00 per month for 10,000 users. The publisher of this app is charging quite a mark up for not implementing iCloud or Drop Box syncing. The Notebooks app, which is available for (and syncs between) the Mac, for IOS and for Windows does everything Yojimbo does (and more) for much less money.
Like (8)
Version 4.0
1 answer(s)
Jim-Leff
Jim-Leff
22 December 2014
Rlevent,
If you care enough to publicly rant, this software must mean something to you, which means your one-star rating is more of an expression of rage rather than a usefully sober review of the software. I'm guessing that when you, yourself use this site, you'd prefer to see soberly useful reviews. Consider using the resource as you'd like to see it used.
Like (1)
xgerrit
15 August 2013
I sympathize with the developer for the iCloud sync problems, but the reality is: Dropbox or iCloud file syncing would have worked (other apps have made it work) and not cost the user $36 a year. Plus iOS 7 and OS X Mavericks will include Keychain password syncing, seriously devaluing what the paid syncing gets you. This doesn't even address Mac to iPad syncing, which currently only works over Wifi (and only when Yojimbo is running.) I've loved this app since version 1.0, but I'm majorly disappointed.
Like
Version 4.0
1 answer(s)
Blloyd
Blloyd
16 August 2013
iCloud sync did NOT work. They tried for a year (a year!) and had issues they couldn't work around. Core Data sync is a very difficult problem. And Dropbox sync has issues as well. Syncing a database is very hard. It's not at all the same as syncing something like 1Password. I do wish they'd been able to make iCloud sync work and save everyone money, and I REALLY wish they had a functional iPad client (it's nearly useless as-is), but the Bare Bones folks *are* smart developers and I'm certain if they could have made iCloud sync work, they would have. And maybe if Apple addresses the issue, an update will come out that uses iCloud.
Like
Panthera
15 August 2013
This program is a joke and its developers are total failures. What else can one conclude. I regret every penny that I spent on the original application and on the iPad app. I recommend that individuals or organizations that need tenable solutions tended by responsible, talented developers that you look into Evernote (I have 21,000 notes in it) and DEVONthink.
Like (1)
Version 4.0
1 answer(s)
Blloyd
Blloyd
16 August 2013
The problem I have with Evernote is that export is a total pain. It exports things as HTML (or as ENEX files), and not as their native formats. Given much of what I store is text and RTF documents and web archives, Evernote has significant downsides for me. And I can't stomach DEVONthink's UI.
Like
dwp-1
14 August 2013
$20.00 upgrade, for what? You changed to a new syncing format and want to charge $20.00 for this upgrade, because I do not see any major improvements. I am so disappointed in this upgrade, there is absolutely no reason for me to upgrade. BTW: You are so far behind when it comes to features in applications similar to Yojimbo that even a new user would be foolish to purchase Yojimbo over Together, Eaglefiler or Devonthink.
Like (12)
Version 4.0
6 answer(s)
russelladam
russelladam
15 August 2013
This is so frustrating. If it used the Dropbox sync api I might be able to justify the purchase, but I have to pay 3 dollars a month to sync with some service that I've never heard of before and that I would only use with Yojimbo. The other upgrade "features" seem to be bug fixes and full screen mode, which should have come long ago. I'm sad and annoyed that I have to look for another junk drawer app.
Like (2)
Macd
Macd
15 August 2013
And let's not forget there's STILL no iPhone client for this POS :) And none announced AFAIK. These guys coming from parallel universe where neither Dropbox nor iPhones exist, and trying to sell us their stuff are so funny.
Like (3)
dwp-1
dwp-1
15 August 2013
After reading the Yojimbo 4.0 release notes I am even more surprised that Bare Bones is selling this as a major upgrade, full screen and new syncing, that's it folks. http://www.barebones.com/support/yojimbo/arch_yojimbo40.html
Like (2)
Blloyd
Blloyd
15 August 2013
I've used Together, Eaglefiler, and Devonthink. They may have more features, but they have considerably more UI friction than Yojimbo does. Together is slower from a UI perspective, but it keeps documents in the file system and syncs with iCloud so that's great. EagleFiler feels like an open-source product. It is SO SLOW; it takes about 10 seconds to launch on my machine with a nearly empty library. EVERYTHING in the UI is slow and it's awful, and this is with the most recent version. Michael may be great at a technology level, but I've tried EagleFiler many many times and it's just bad. Plus it doesn't really "sync." DEVONthink I used for a number of years but the UI just killed me. It's simply awful; it's about the most terrible UI I've ever come across. Everything is nonstandard and it doesn't sync well, etc. I've used Yojimbo a lot and it is the fastest of the lot, and the UI is simple and clean and its use of tags and smart collections is fantastic. Plus sync works extremely well in this release. I'm not really pleased with the costs given you have to pay for sync and there's an upgrade fee for few new features and the iOS sync still stinks and the product is read-only. But I'm not really worried about it being "far behind" compared to something like DEVONthink or Eaglefiler, because those are like the devil's swiss army knives when it comes to usability. I'd much rather have something that does few things well, if those things (sync and UI) are the things I find most valuable.
Like (3)
russelladam
russelladam
15 August 2013
Thank you Blloyd for your run down of the other apps. I did prefer Yojimbo's simplicity. I've been using the app since 1.0 and am a bit insulted by this update. Especially with full screen mode coming almost 2 OS cycles after the feature was introduced. I don't mind not having iCloud sync, but Dropbox sync should have been an option. 1Password has been using it for a long time for their keychain format and Transmit now uses the Dropbox sync api for their favorites database. I'd prefer not to switch applications, but I don't feel like I'm being done right by this developer for the money I've spent on the desktop and mobile versions of the software. I never expected to get sync for free. Even Omnigroup has a software that allows you to self host a sync if you have access to webdav. That would have been great here and they could have presumably kept a lot of the mobile me syncing code if that was using webdav to sync to the old iDisk. I'm currently trying out Together. It's not as lean as I would like, but it's pretty nice. I wont be using the iCloud sync, but it seems to be well supported with a clean interface. I like having filesystem access to items in Together as well so I can include them in other applications. It gives you the option to symlink files instead of moving or copying them.
Like (1)
Blloyd
Blloyd
15 August 2013
I won't argue that Bare Bones moves slowly. They certainly do. Yojimbo has never been fast to get features, but when they come they're well thought out. That said, they tried to use iCloud for a long time (a year?) and couldn't make it work, so that set them back a lot, time-wise. Dropbox is not a viable sync solution for Yojimbo. Rich Siegel wrote a public article explaining why: A core data database is nothing like the key value pairs in 1Password. Nor is Dropbox viable sync for Omni Group; they wrote a similar article. You don't have to understand WHY, but it's the truth that it's not a viable solution.
Like
misterjspencer
21 June 2013
Hmm, lots of complaining about iCloud from the developers, because this product still doesn't sync across macs, so how come the rival Together syncs via iCloud?
Like (2)
Version 3.0.4
Fish51
04 June 2013
Using this for years, I'd have to say I'm happy with nearly all elements of the app. For my needs, it's been great. It is being used as a "bucket" where I drop information and notes for later access. I'd like a few features added, but for me, it just works. One advantage is it's storage as text docs or PDFs and not a proprietary database. I've had issues in the past elsewhere with that and feel safer this way. I don't use it to store thousands of PDFs or to create a paper free environment, rather, it's value has been as a storage & retrieval system for all the "fluff" - quick notes, serial numbers, critical info and so on. I also often print to PDF with many being printed directly to PDF in Yojimbo where they are stored. In short, it's a very effective tool in my electronic arsenal but isn't all things to all men - haven't found one of those as yet. It does a range of things very well, just not everything.
Like
Version 3.0.4
OliverTerrier
25 February 2013
This WAS a great program. A perfect companion to Office 2011 both in function and style, I bought it only to discover so many faults which the developers seem to have no interest in addressing. It seems the developers have become bogged down in adding a single feature (iCloud sync) that they have publicly stated the next version will not include any meaningful new features, just iCloud sync. I don't really mind so much that it's taken a VERY long time to add iCloud sync. I'm sure there are many technical details to overcome but I do mind that the developers are so smug that they will sell their product and go years and years without modernizing their software with requested features. The most requested feature I've seen is folders. I've seem many, many users request folders (nested) and the developers absolutely refuse to add them. I've also seen many requests for an iPhone app and again the developers refuse to satisfy. They have their own dogmatic way of doing things which the want to shove down their customer's throats and if you don't like it, take a walk. So, the bottom line is stay away. The program is a wonderful foundation for a great program that could compete with Evernote or others but, sadly, the developers are barely working on this dinosaur and still have nothing to show for years of work. I'm an owner of BBedit and Yojimbo but I'm moving on at last and giving up hope for any type of satisfaction from BareBones.
Like (3)
Version 3.0.4
Macmend-com
20 February 2013
This product has gone down in my estimation, so long to create any development and no way to sync properly. Does anyone know of a decent file organiser/bucket that will sync across all my macs?
Like
Version 3.0.4
Penguirl
29 January 2013
I am looking for a document manager to manage the 1,600 or so PDFs and 500 or so text documents that I have but do not utilize because my Documents folder is such a mess. Yojimbo users have lots of good things to say about it so it was my first trial. Here are my findings using Yojimbo: Pros: 1. Multiple ways to get data into Yojimbo: Copy, Drag, Click, Print, Import, AppleScript. 2.Labels are easy to edit and apply, apparently only limited by the number of colors that you can distinguish. 3. Excellent search of comments, content, label, name, tag, or all. 4. Interface is visually pleasing. 5. Can store notes, bookmarks, images, passwords, serial numbers, and web archives. 6. Pairs with iPad (untested). Cons: 1. Cannot edit creation date. 2. Tagging documents is harder than it has to be. 3. Import size limited by the amount of RAM you have free - with 8GB of RAM and 100GB + of swap space I could only import 300 documets at a time. 4. Can only apply one label rather than Paperless' Category and Subcategory. 5. Cannot set external PDF viewer other than Preview. 6. Can view notes in TextEdit but not create or edit notes. Not being able to set a creation date other than the import date and the unintuitive tagging process requiring numerous clicks are deal-breakers for me.
Like (4)
Version 3.0.4
2 answer(s)
r3m1
r3m1
10 February 2013
Can you please tell us what other solutions you are considering? Devon ..?
Like
lemon-kun
lemon-kun
22 May 2013
I've just also read your review of Eagle Filer, good points. I have used Together for about two years, but I had similar problems like you, my library is about 8000 files (mostly PDF). I'd recommend a more advanced document managing solution for you: bibliography citation apps… Even if you don't need the citation features, these usually perform much better at managing documents. Personally I use Sente now (free for small libraries, 50$ for unlimited libraries), but I can also recommend BibDesk (free, open-source, I used it for a few months, great app, but no iPad companion/sync solution). Maybe Papers is also worth a look (costs 80$. Didn't like it much, but your taste and needs may differ).
Like
Macmend-com
13 October 2011
So what happens with this and syncing now that icloud is here
Like (1)
Version 3.0.2
1 answer(s)
-M-S-
-M-S-
13 October 2011
Good question.
Like
arnaud-
08 September 2011
This app stays focused on the essentials. It's not an application where we can put everything in but rather where we can put anything (in a positive way). Ideal for keeping your computer uncluttered. And the syncing works!
Like
Version 3.0.2
Gazman
02 April 2011
Why is this version 7.2 MB and the App Store version only 5.6 MB? Is the App Store version lacking certain features?
Like (1)
Version 3.0.2
1 answer(s)
Gazman
Gazman
19 April 2011
I found out the answer is that the version listed here is a Universal Binary whereas the app store version is Intel only. They are exactly the same in terms of features.
Like (6)
Sgginc
10 January 2011
No nested folders. Developer feels it messes with the simplicity. Obviously they don’t have 100 folders to deal with. I think their just lazy.
Like (8)
Version 3.0.1
9 answer(s)
Pik80
Pik80
15 March 2011
Not having nested folders is the point of using tagging software. Tagging software should be designed well enough you no longer need nested folders. If you have trouble finding your files you probably aren't applying enough tags to the files. I usually apply about 7-10 tags per file.
Like (3)
Sgginc
Sgginc
16 March 2011
I guess tags are easier to use and simpler than nested folders...
Like (4)
Tfindlay
Tfindlay
16 March 2011
I agree that nested folders should be an option. Tagging is extra work when adding items. With nested folders you just drag to the folder. You don't have to perform any addition work to organize your stuff.
Like (2)
Pik80
Pik80
17 March 2011
@Tfindlay Tagging is always less work then relying on folder hierarchy. While tagging a file might take you a few extra seconds it saves several minutes when you go to find a file later. Before I tagged my files I would sometimes spend about 5,10,15 minutes trying to find a single file. The problem with folders is the more you have the more difficult they are to search though. Having more tags doesn't make things more difficult because the more tags that you apply the shorter your results become making even an enormous amount of files very manageable to search though. I have tried programs like Leap that incorporate tags and nested folders and find that it gets to complicated.
Like (1)
Tfindlay
Tfindlay
17 March 2011
I find using nested folders gives me the advantage of being able to see an outline of items related to a topic. Tags, while helpful for finding tagged items, don't show you an organized outline of items. For me, searching for any text string whatsoever is just as quick as searching tags and you don't need to enter anything when adding items to a topic.
Like (3)
Pik80
Pik80
17 March 2011
“Tags, while helpful for finding tagged items, don't show you an organized outline of items.” Sure, there are many ways to have outline of your items. Punakea lets you save favorite combinations of tags. Lightroom lets you nest tags inside of other tags. This works similar to nested folders except that it is much better due to the fact that search results are updated automatically when new tags are applied that fall under the given search criteria. “For me, searching for any text string whatsoever is just as quick as searching tags and you don't need to enter anything when adding items to a topic.” This really depends on how many files and folders a person has. If you have a small amount of folders then this may work ok but the greater the number of folders the more difficulty there will be to navigate your files.
Like (3)
r2xman
r2xman
22 August 2011
Not as lazy as someone who doesn't understand the difference between "their" and "they're" !
Like (4)
Sgginc
Sgginc
23 August 2011
Sorry. My brain hurts from the skull shaping I had while growing up in Africa!
Like (1)
Sgginc
Sgginc
23 August 2011
Does that exclamation belong inside the quotation? And why the extra space? Not as lazy as someone who doesn't understand the difference between "their" and "they're" ! Correct: Not as lazy as someone who doesn't understand the difference between "their" and "they're!" “Question marks and exclamation points: (a) inside if the question or exclamation is part of the quotation, and (b) outside if the question or exclamation is not part of the quotation.“
Like (1)
misterjspencer
09 November 2010
I like Yojimbo and have used it but not alot, I have tried together, eaglefiler and now have been looking at Devonthink Pro They are all so annoying when you come up against issues, Like Yojimbo wont accept iWork documents, devonthink has another application just to sync, whilst yojimbo syncs great with mobile me. as to together and eaglerfiler they have parts that are good...couldn't they all just get togther and produce an application that does it all.
Like (6)
Version 3.0
Makeva
09 November 2010
Hi I thought, I had bought a package of programs ex. parallels and Yojimbo, but I have lost the mail from you with the codes/registration numbers. Could you send that mail again or how do I do. The problem is, that Yojimbo says I have ended my trial period. Kind regards Marianne Kerckhoffs makedk@gmail.com Åmosevej 114, 4440 Mørkøv, Denmark
Like (1)
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
Px9-855
Px9-855
16 November 2010
You'll have much better luck by going to the BareBones (developer) website and contacting them directly through support as I don't think they read the comments here. They're fast and polite but they can't do much until they know you have a problem. Good luck!
Like (3)
Version 3.0.1
OliverTerrier
23 October 2010
I own this app and I regret buying it. It's not that it doesn't work, it does. In fact, it's a nicely designed, modern and extremely competent application from a solid developer but I never use it because it still doesn't have an iPhone companion. The developer seemingly has no interest in providing this often requested feature and this is very frustrating. If they can do an iPad companion why not one for the iPhone? Aside from that, I'd also like to see: -custom fields -auto-backup -a 3 column view such as Evernote or Together have -a center screen, super simple quick entry such as Shovebox -rules for new notes such as in Shovebox a nicer icon I hope someone is listening....
Like (7)
Version 3.0
Px9-855
19 October 2010
Yojimbo 3.0 requires a license code renewal via email. Would've been courteous if that was also mentioned in the description.
Like (3)
Version 3.0
Gary30
17 October 2010
Got this with one of the bundles a couple of years ago and it has quietly turned into a 2 GB resource. It is silly simple to use and helps keep my machine well organized. Lots of these free form database applications want you to rethink how you work. I don't want to rethink how I work. I want software that works in concert with my thinking and stays unobtrusive when not needed. I finally upgraded to version 2 last week and am enjoying Sidekick a lot. I have it as a DropBox folder so I can view content on my iPhone wherever I am. It seems to me that they are going to need to do an iPad app if they are going to stay in the game long term. Also, I would like to see some support for video clips and for iWork documents. But for now it's all good.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.1
Ctshop
07 October 2010
I have being using this everyday for a few years! With 6 GB of datas, the app is still very snappy! Never crashed on me. It is elegant and simple to use. Very stable and reliable. Well thought out. I used it for ALL my archives. I have tested many archiving applications, this is the best! The best is the search function, it returns results as I typed on a library of couple of thousand of documents. I just hope the developer will produce more frequent updates to the program. For a program of such quality, it is a bit underdeveloped.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.1
Macolyte
03 June 2010
I like the design and the functionality of Yojimbo, and my experiences with Barebones has always been great. My concern is this: At some point, my regular computer routine will be centered on Yojimbo, and my entire computer being will be stored inside Yojimbo's DB. Put another way, I will be completely dependent upon Yojimbo, and Barebones's continued support and development of Yojimbo, and I wonder about the wisdom of entering into that relationship with anyone.
Like (3)
Version 2.2
1 answer(s)
Blloyd
Blloyd
06 July 2010
Note that it is _completely_ trivial to export all your documents out of Yojimbo intact. So this isn't something that concerns me from a "future proof" perspective. What I DO really wish is that they'd come up with a good solution for synching some or all documents to the iPhone. The Sidekick implementation isn't doing it for me. I've thought about apps like Chronos Notes for this, but the stability and UI (and history) leave me wanting. DEVONthink will have a solution here soon, but its UI is awful and they don't have the multi-machine MobileMe sync that Yojimbo has which is really quite good.
Like (3)
Version 2.2.1
Lorin-Rivers
03 June 2010
I love Yojimbo, I use it every day, all day. It's one of the very few items on my Mac that I launch on startup (others are LaunchBar and Default Folder). I actually can't say anything more than that in terms of its importance to me. I use it to store receipts, snippets of code, excel formulas I can never remember, quotations, serial numbers, etc., etc. Sure I wish there was an iPhone app, but do I NEED one? Nope. It's a great product from one of the very finest developers for the Mac around.
Like
Version 2.2
Lorin-Rivers
03 June 2010
Hey, it's not because they're stupid that there's no Yojimbo for iPhone/iPad. If they COULD do it, it would be done (based solely on my knowledge of Bare Bones's capabilities from a customer's perspective and from statements they've made in the past). The new version has a tool that lets you serve most of the content in Yojimbo as web pages, that you can then access from your mobile device. Yojimbo is awesome and is one of the few things on my system that I launch at startup.
Like
Version 2.2
Macd
02 June 2010
I won't give any stars, but just want to add a little comment here. It really surprises me they STILL don't have an iPhone client for Yojimbo. I mean.. this version adds an export to some web-friendly format, so users can put everything in iPhone/iPad? Though I guess it is useful, but come to think about it - what a joke. Why not just have an iPhone client, charge for it some extra, and give users mobility? That approach definitely worked for Soho Notes, along with their iPhone client NoteLife. Being paid user of Yojimbo, I abandoned the ship when Soho Notes (and then NoteLife) was released. Paid for both and though they have their own quirks, I'm pretty happy how everything works overall. And Soho Notes have some very useful features like in-app import from scanner etc. Never looked back.. World is becoming mobile, and this happens very fast (if not already happened) thanks to iPhone and iPad etc. BareBones seems to be missing the changes and losing potential customers with position like that. But who am I to tell them :) I mean.. why am I writing this at all, as I'm already other company's customer? Guess its because I really liked Yojimbo during the time I was using it and it just looks weird how priorities in development are set by BareBones.
Like (3)
Version 2.2
Trance
03 December 2009
the 'encryption' feature is fake ......the data is not encrypted at all bit is plainly visible in the database with any text editor ...wow ....just for anyone who was actually using it to store passwords. (version 2.1)
Like (6)
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Fanchee
Fanchee
03 January 2010
I actually opened my library using a texteditor and was unable to view the contents of my encrypted files. Your comment bothered me, as I was about to make a purchase, so I thought I'd test it myself. I just used TextEdit, but again, it was all scrambled up and unreadable to me. I'm no hacker, though. ;)
Like (3)
Version 2.1
Mikilc
13 November 2009
Yojimbo has just got much better, finally catching up with Together in its use of the drop dock. But there are still some improvements to be made. 1. The most important. A feature which all Mac text programmes should have but sadly don't, and that is a Bean-like slider (or equivalent) to enable quick zooming of the text without changing the font size. The fact is, if you work on a 24" screen, then the standard 12pt is often too small to read without squinting. 2. When right-clicking on the item list, the last item is 'View with' but only gives the option of using TextEdit. How can this be changed? One should really be able to choose... 3. The Drop Dock should include 'Quick Entry' (preferably at the top). Would then be the quickest way for mouse-users to do this. 4. It would tremendously useful if the Collections list and the Items list could be made collapsible, independently of each other (as in MacJournal). 5. It would also be useful to provide a better selection of icons to place on the tool bar, (whatever the Mac guidelines are for this).
Like (3)
Version 2.1
Toadling
10 November 2009
I've been using Yojimbo since January 2006 and it's still one of the few apps on my Mac that I truly love. It's simple, polished, and effective. Highly recommended.
Like (3)
Version 2.1
Eodtech
23 October 2009
I have used Yojimbo for 4+ years. The release of v:2.0 is a BIG improvement over previous releases. It's now my choice for a free format database, storing all sorts of tid bits of information that don't seem to fit anywhere else. My favorite trick is to print to a PDF file and then open it in Preview - then using the edit feature in Preview to delete blank or not needed pages then import it in Yojimbo using Path Finder ( right click on the PDF file name and the select Open With Yojimbo). Easy , fast and now your "clippings"are searchable with tags you have assigned to each Yjimbo entry. I have quite a catalog of reviews from MacWorld stored in Yojimbo.
Like (4)
Version 2.0
Iconz113
19 October 2009
I also Just ditched devonthink because I was realizing it was adding steps to my workflow and using up more time, when the reason I started using it was to save time and be more organized. Im now just using hierarchal folder structure inside my idisk, and I just keep my idisk synced so I can drop docs in and not have to sit there and wait for upload, I can just go on with my work while idisk syncs. This is what pushed me over the line to leave devonthink. I tried placing my databases into the idisk, and tried opening them from there, and it worked for a little bit but I was advised by the forum not to do that. SO in the end Im back where I started with folders, Ive tried together, evernote, devonthink. I think I might readopt evernote again , use that for notes and web pages and clippings, and just use the folders structure for my documents, until I find something that will hold all tyes of documents, allow me to export them easily, and allow me to import easily, I dont know though, I think Im going to focus on keeping documents organized in folders, tag my documents, and hope for the best, using default folder x, pathfinder, laucnhbar, and hazel for my folder and file organization.
Like (2)
Version 2.0
Xplicit
15 October 2009
Ok, Yojimbo still lacks a few important features, like better eMail handling for example, but after having compared it to its main competitors I must say it's the best programme for its purpose on the market at the moment. Yojimbo might lack some features, but those features which have been implemented and published actually work really well. It's easy to use and fast too.
Like (4)
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Xplicit
Xplicit
10 December 2009
Sorry, might have been a bit too quick with my review. Bought DEVONthink Pro Office instead. Yojimbo wasn't pro enough for me.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
Ialexmac1
28 September 2009
I've been using Yojimbo for a few months now from 1.5 to 2.0. I am very satisfied. I have tried the competitors (together, SOHO Notes, DEVONnotes etc) and Yojimbo stood out from the rest. Yojimbo's clean interface for displaying the file name and the file itself is very important to me. SOHO Notes did not acomplish this, it cluttered up the viewing area with dates etc in large fonts, also SOHO Notes crashed on numerous occasions. Together had a dated feel to it and lacked a few features i needed. Basically I believe Yojimbo to be the best and i am going to stick by it. The fact that i can add pictures, screenshots, pdf's, rtf's, docs and more is very important. I also love the Archive in Yojimbo bookmark for your browser (no longer demonsrated in the start up video) that is a feature i cannot live without and is soooooo helpful,copying and pasting web addresses takes valuable time. Although I would like sub folders for collections tagging is fine
Like (3)
Version 2.0
2 answer(s)
Iconz113
Iconz113
19 October 2009
your telling me together looks older then yojimbo? I disagree
Like (1)
Version 2.0
Ialexmac1
Ialexmac1
19 October 2009
Oh my mistake. Together looks much better and since I wrote this review I have actually got a refund for Yojimbo and bought Together :D
Like (1)
Version 2.0
Blloyd
26 September 2009
Yojimbo is not the "swiss army knife" of information organizers. Its forte is text. So no video, no audio, no Pages/Keynote/Excel files. There are other apps that do that -- Together, DEVONthink, EagleFiler, etc. What Yojimbo excels at is text. And it EXCELS. It is fast -- LIGHTNING fast. Search is great, tagging is great, and it is outstanding for RTF, plain text, PDFs, Web Archives, bookmarks, serial numbers, and tags. I used DEVONthink for 6 years prior to switching to Yojimbo a month ago. And since I moved all my non-text documents to the Finder and tagged them, I can find them and sort/use them more easily (DEVONthink will export stuff to the Finder but it is impossible to figure out the results without opening them in DEVONthink as it changes their icons in summary). I moved all my RTF documents to Yojimbo, and tagged them. Now browsing and searching are VERY fast, and I get one feature DEVONthink never had -- sync of notes across machines, automatically, via MobileMe. YAY! This is more useful to me than almost anything; given the convoluted workflow that involved DropBox I had before. So, in summary, if you want a kitchen sink, this isn't the app for you. If you want a text-based information scalpel, that's Yojimbo. And after a month, I am happy to open and use it every day. DEVONthink, while powerful, was for the most part drudgery. I still use it when I want to OCR some documents, and that's about it. I don't miss it.
Like (6)
Version 2.0
Darukaru
16 September 2009
A lot of people don't seem to understand what a database is for. Yojimbo is not a replacement for iPhoto, iTunes, or the Finder, nor should it be. What is is good for is storing hunks of textual data and making them easy to locate, search, and organize. I purchased it so that I could make some sense out of the nightmare stew that was my Documents folder--as well as moving pieces of archived information out of Mail.app, where they didn't really belong. So far it has done an excellent job with this. A lot of people also don't seem to understand that if an application works well and does what it's supposed to, it doesnt' *need* to be updated every week. Bare Bones has historically been very good about shipping software that isn't a POS. And heaven knows there are enough unscrupulous developers that make minor x.x.1 changes on a weekly basis to get free advertising on MU, why add more?
Like (6)
Version 2.0
Mario-Gajardo-Tassara
15 September 2009
Like many other fellow Yojimbo Users I feel cheated, how they "update" this app after TWO YEARS and charge for it $20 bucks !!!!!!!!!!!! no thanks, right now i given up with this app and im searching for a replacement.
Like (5)
Version 2.0
Iconz113
04 September 2009
dont get me wrong this app really is a good information organizer, im just worried about buying it and then not getting another update for who knows how long. I might give it a try again
Like (9)
Version 2.0
Galileo14
04 September 2009
Like everyone else, I waited a VERY LONG time for an upgrade. The prior version was an unfinished product, and now they want an upgrade fee? I want my money back...
Like (8)
Version 2.0
Ibsteve
02 September 2009
I must agree with most of you. Too little too late and an upgrade fee to boot. Needs an iPhone mate and a cloud sync. I have liked this app but moved on a long time ago.
Like (11)
Version 2.0
Xplicit
02 September 2009
Is Evernote able to save Webarchives? No! Just saves text and images. That's not so superior I might add.
Like (6)
Version 2.0
2 answer(s)
Iconz113
Iconz113
04 September 2009
evernote has an iphone app, evernote utilizes optical character recognition when items are synced. So text inside of photos is recognized and can be called upon by search. any pictures taken from ur iphone evernote app are synced to ur computers, ability to add selection, or add page from browser context menu to evernote. Dont get me wrong ypjimbo is a good app just saying evernote isnt bad, and gets updated regularly. If yojimbo was updated on a regular basis i wouldn't have such a problem with using it
Like (1)
Version 2.0
Xplicit
Xplicit
05 September 2009
Right. And we all know of Yojimbos handicaps. I just wanted to say that Evernote is a different kind of app than Yojimbo is. Evernote takes notes, Yojimbo is more like a personal information manager (like Together, like DevonThink, etc.)
Like (2)
Version 2.0
JPP-Zoso
02 September 2009
as per the developer's web site..."Store almost anything in Yojimbo - text, images, PDFs, even serial numbers and passwords." apparently "almost anything" is in fact limited to those specific items listed...text, images, pdfs. no license files, no dmgs, no zips, no audio, no video, no nothing beyond text, images, and pdfs. no way to batch import bookmarks. all of the new "features" revolve pretty much around labeling/tagging/organizing. the "fixes" included in v2.0 were already there in v1.5.2. still a monolithic file storage method. so the $20 upgrade cost is pretty much for a new application icon...? no thanks. i like the old icon way better.
Like (15)
Version 2.0
Alexiusca
02 September 2009
Had been waiting this for so long, what an utter disappointment. I give up!
Like (11)
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Alexiusca
Alexiusca
02 September 2009
"everything bucket" that doesn't accept audio or movie files :( That still keeps all files in a .sqlite database... a single file... um, when did Time Machine come out again?
Like (11)
Version 2.0
Machealer
02 September 2009
This Upgrade is really a long overdue Update, certainly not worth $20. Too bad, I genuinely like BareBones products. But I've moved on. Evernote is far superior. Check it out, it's free and has an iPhone app, as well.
Like (12)
Version 2.0
Macd
02 September 2009
Excuse me?!? This is called an "upgrade"? Added a few shortcuts, allowed to rename tags? Tag explorer? AND STILL NO IPHONE CLIENT? and all this took TWO FREAKING YEARS??? AND! Upgrade form doesn't even work! Upgrading was an impulsive decision, but thanks for stopping me, BareBones. This is not an UPGRADE. Call it 1.6, 1.7 or something. And it does NOT worth $20, based on features added, EVEN if you call it an UPGRADE. Really.. what a joke.. upgrade huh.. version 2. in your dreams folks. give me an iPhone client which could probably require Yojimbo 2.0 and we can talk about upgrading the old dead horse and buying a new piece of software from you.
Like (11)
Version 2.0
Memphisbird
01 September 2009
I think they may get new people to buy Yojimbo, but those of us who bought it when it first came out and waited soooo long for any updates have probably moved on and are one to two years into another application. There's no way I would go back to Yojimbo now, even if it does have a lot of new features. Is that list of new features enough to last us another two years? Doubt it. It barely brings it up to current standards. They should have made it a free update so that those of us who put stock into this great new application back in 2006 might be tempted to give it another look. Not for $20, though. I'm not interested.
Like (8)
Version 2.0