Back to AppZapper page
AppZapper free download for Mac

AppZapper Reviews

09 May 2020

Confidently uninstall virtually any application.

ekonishi
07 November 2019
Version: 2.0.2

Most helpful

thx
(1)

How would you rate AppZapper app?

Read 118 AppZapper User Reviews

ekonishi
07 November 2019
Version: 2.0.2
thx
(1)
4
Swo
02 October 2016
Version: 2.0.1
I have licences for both CleanApp and AppZapper, and I just uninstalled CleanApp (with AppZapper, ironically enough).

Reason being, AppZapper does one thing and does it very, very well. CleanApp, by comparison does a lot to things, but many of them not quite well.

As I said, I uninstalled CleanApp, and installed Maintenance (from the makers of OnyX) so that I have an app that focuses ONLY on maintenance, as opposed to focusing on maintenance and uninstalling.

I tend to go back and forth as far as which application I tend to use, but at this point I like the focus of AppZapper and Maintenance, which each do ONE thing really, really well.
(0)
2
BobbyThompsonRocks
30 May 2013
Version: 2.0.1
I've begun to notice AppZapper seems to no longer be showing any preferences or other library files for a number of apps from the AppStore... I've recently taken the liberty to manually search my library folder AFTER using AppZapper, and sure enough after the last couple of app deletes there are still preference and other files to be MANUALLY found after AppZapper completes... It's becoming as effective as hitting cmd-del in many instances...
(1)
1
Cindi168
27 July 2011
Version: 2.0.1
This app is a hot mess and is definitely not worth $13, there's other alternatives out there that are way cheaper (like the free appcleaner and $6 trashmen) and is actually stable. I used this app when SL first came out and it worked really well, however, with each SL update, this app got more and more unstable... and was NEVER UPDATED to address those issues(last update was a year and half ago... wow). Not to mention the search engine is crap, it doesn't find all the files... even the free appcleaner even works better... if you are looking for a better uninstaller, i recommend trashme, it's only $6, is stable, recevies regular updates, and its search engine is even better than appcleaner and appzapper.
(2)
4
Wildfox
21 July 2011
Version: 2.0.1
I hit upon a way to get around AppZapper's glitchy behavior. Delete one app, then close AppZapper. It seems that it does not like to be used repeatedly, and the restart solves that for my system.
(1)
Show comment (1)
1.5
tzoi516
24 June 2011
Version: 2.0.1
Overall Rating: Don't bother. I used to love AppZapper, and 2.0, when first released, was great. I don't know what happened but here's the process that I have to go through to remove an app: 1. Drag-n-drop app icon on AppZapper 2. Finder locks up for a minute with beach ball 3. Click zap 4. System locks up 5. AppZapper closes and a report to Apple appears 6. Click send 7. Rinse and repeat. I've done everything from deleting the app and its associated files to reapplying Mac OS X combo updates and the issue never gets resolved. Now I use the free TrashMe.
(0)
3.5
Tbrizitsky
03 June 2011
Version: 2.0.1
Pros: looks great, very easy to use Cons: crashes too often to ignore it
(1)
4.5
iminlalaland
14 January 2011
Version: 2.0.1
Easy to use(drag and drop) but it freezes sometimes when the size of the app is large or when it contains a lot of files.
(0)
4.5
Orion24
14 January 2011
Version: 2.0.1
the best i ever had...work really fine..
(0)
bwahacker
26 December 2010
Version: 2.0.1
Very bad support from the developer. I bought this app 3 or 4 days ago. I got charged by PayPal and received the receipt for that. However, I haven't received the license code from the developer. I've emailed him twice, no reply. I know it's the holidays, but he has no auto-reply indicating when he might reply later and his 'send me my key' on his web site says it has no idea who I am. So for the time being I am out $12.95. Disappointed. I don't recommend buying this. :-(
(1)
5
Macgruder
24 November 2010
Version: 2.0.1
Great little app. There's a nice feature called 'Hit List' in the view menu that lets you see *apps preferences files etc *you can show apps not used recently. I've had AppZapper for 2 years and I had no idea this feature existed. Then you can just go through apps and zap em.
(1)
Show comment (1)
5
Tdastheday
06 June 2010
Version: 2.0.1
LOVE AppZapper
(3)
5
Utrunn
04 April 2010
Version: 2.0.1
I've never had any problems with AppZapper. It has a much nicer and simpler interface than other app removal apps. I really love the My Apps feature, saves product keys and stops you fro accidentally zapping an important app. Oh, and of course, I love the zapping animation.
(3)
5
f-bek
14 February 2010
Version: 2.0.1
In my opinion this is the best uninstaller application for Mac OS. I have been using this since it came out, and it is amazing. It is light, and finds the files fast.
(2)
1
Pukky
29 January 2010
Version: 2.0.1
I think that CleanMyMac, AppCleaner and AppTrasher are better, because you don't have to drag into AppZapper an application (or search in the list), but you only trash an app or the folder with an app and the program automatically starts to scan. I think that AppCleaner is fast, free and with better interface, and supports the smart delete feature. Do not waste the money in this expensive software, buy CleanMyMac, which has tons of features! Besides AppZapper is updated only for 10.6 and the new application managing feature is useless and AppZapper searchs for files that aren't of the deleted application.
(5)
5
Chas-m
15 January 2010
Version: 2.0.1
I am giving this five stars, in part because its always been a great (and fun) little app, but particularly because the devs have made this major upgrade free to recent buyers. That's how you build loyalty! Thanks!
(4)
5
Xplicit
07 January 2010
Version: 2.0.1
Some complain about not getting the same new fancy version for 10.5, some others say that the new version is overloaded and they're rather using the older version on 10.6. Folks really, I don't get it. Can't you ever be satisfied? Version 2 is a free upgrade so what do you complain about? Maybe you should get your personal problems solved first and don't take it out on developers offering free upgrades, hmm?
(6)
Bigideas
07 January 2010
Version: 2.0.1
This isn't a complaint. The latest version of AppZapper looks very slick but I can't use it because it's 10.6 or higher. I realize that Snow Leopard is the newest from Mac but it still has less than 40% adoption. That means the vast majority of people have to use the older version without the new features. Any chance of a version for the other 60%?
(3)
Show comments (4)
Jimohio628
06 January 2010
Version: 2.0.1
You know, I have been using this application since version 1.3.1, April 2006. This app continues to mature, and, in my opinion, is the best in the class of application removal apps. One more thing: When I purchased this app, I was also given free lifetime upgrades. How refreshing from this software developer. An upgrade comes out, no problem, it'll never cost me to keep using this great piece of software. I like that a lot!
(5)
Tom-E-Gun
06 January 2010
Version: 2.0.1
Nice to see AppZapper back on the road again! I'm still not on Snow Leopard to test this new version out but will do someday. I'm still using v1.8 everyday!
(1)
anonymous-elephant-2404
06 January 2010
Version: 2.0.1
Love the new interface, but it still doesn't have a feature like AppCleaner's SmartDelete that detects an app when you throw it in the trash. AppCleaner's doesn't have the best way of pulling this off, but it's better than not having it at all. If AppZapper includes this feature in one of their new versions, I will definitely be switching!
(1)
Jobby
06 January 2010
Version: 2.0.0
Awesome update! It missed a bit, though: when I zapped the VideoDrive trial, Hazel then popped up and reported that Library/Application Support/Growl/Tickets/VideoDrive.growlTicket was still around.
(0)
4
hmurchison
05 January 2010
Version: 2.0.0
Wow ... The Lazarus of apps just came back to life. Hey I've gotta give credit where it's due here. AppZapper is the program I'd recommend to the neophyte Mac user. I run both AppZapper and CleanApp and I think the former is more easy to "get" just by looking at the user interface. AppZapper though has the magic bullet by deliver that aural delight when zapping files. I would like to see use of Quick Look though so that I can view documents before deletion.
(1)
3
Marching-Pete
05 January 2010
Version: 2.0.0
A unexpected new release. I always used the previously version, and in fact I still use the old version. For several reasons this new versions is not worth it. The new browse window is fancy but doesn't add anything useful. In fact, it is more of a overload. A uninstall application just needs to find as many related files without bells no one is ever going to use anyway. Looks aren't everything. Fanciness is nice but it should be functional. Sorry, I just don't like this new look. 3 star for this and 4.5stars for the previous version.
(3)
Willowmac
05 January 2010
Version: 2.0.0
Love this app, but, this version crashes everytime as soon as it loads. Ideas anyone? OSX 10.6.2
(2)
Show comment (1)
Dcannis
05 January 2010
Version: 2.0.0
An unexpected but great update!
(1)
Goldyn-Chyld
05 January 2010
Version: 2.0.0
Whoa, haha, back from the dead this was! It came out of nowhere...
(1)
Espiridion
05 January 2010
Version: 2.0.0
I'm a bit amazed by the recent reviews. It should be no surprise that there's no upgrade fee. This is what was promised years ago. The only users who will benefit from the free upgrade are those using Snow Leopard, though, since version 2 does not work on previous versions of OS X. I liked AppZapper. IIRC, the previous update came in 2006. I actually stopped using my copy a while ago, used other applications such as Amnesia, Tinker Tool System, etc., and more recently purchased CleanApp which is my current uninstaller. I'm not going to rate this one since I don't have 10.6.
(2)
5
Jeffrey-Harris
05 January 2010
Version: 2.0.0
Excellent upgrade! The new app, preference pane, widget and plug-in browser is brilliant! The new UI is beautiful, too! They obviously worked hard to make it even better than before. I've been using AppZapper for ages. Sure, I've tried all the other uninstall utilities, but AppZapper is thorough, quick and hitting the ZAP button is extremely satisfying! AppZapper is actually an excellent troubleshooting tool, when hunting down and deleting preference files that would be a slog doing through the Finder. It's nice that the upgrade is free!
(2)
5
ultratiem
05 January 2010
Version: 2.0.0
I have been a long time AppZapper 1.x user. I've always trusted the program to uninstall all the junk left over by applications. It missed something because it relied on simple name match algorithms, but that's actually trivial as most things do install files tagged by their respective program or company name. Regardless, I've been a happy AZ user. I heard rumblings about a v2.0. That was some time ago. I thought another case of vaporware and continued to happily zap with 1.8. Today they drop 2.0. Wow. At first glance the program is gorgeous. Simple, refined, and feature rich. The addition of my apps, providing licence info on demand, a new hit list view that organizes and provides additional information about program components that will uninstalled, and an elegant, nay simply mesmerizing interface. Best of all, v2.0 is a free upgrade for all 1.8 users. How can you not love these guys? The new AppZapper is solid, quick, responsive, and just through and through beautiful. So much attention to detail in everything it does. This is now a gold standard program to all other indie developers. THIS is how you do it! On a personal note, I am rarely blown away by a program. However, this is by far the most impressive app I've ever had the pleasure of putting in my Dock.
(3)
Globe-Trotter
05 January 2010
Version: 2.0.0
Great app. that simply does what it says. However, previous versions were localised (my Mac is French) but v. 2.0.0 is not. Maybe with future releases?
(0)
Carol-Parker
05 January 2010
Version: 2.0.0
AppZapper has been a long term useful tool. I updated to v 2.0.0 and now it will not open at all - crashes on launch every single time. I am running OS 10.5.8 - if AppZapper should only be installed on a Snow Leopard system it should so state. Will be reinstalling my old version from backup and waiting a bit longer for AppZapper to get their act together.
(2)
Show comments (3)
Oops!
05 January 2010
Version: 2.0.0
No upgrade fee. Simply download 2.0, register with the license number from 1.8 - and it works.
(1)
Chas-m
05 January 2010
Version: 2.0.0
Does anyone know if this new version is a paid update or not? I have 1.8, which continues to work just fine in Snow Leopard; the new features sound intriguing, sure, but my question is "how much?"
(0)
Thealxndr
05 January 2010
Version: 2.0.0
Great Update. Amazing Design as usual. It was worth the wait :D
(1)
5
Aymen
05 January 2010
Version: 2.0.0
I have to say it's an amazing update !
(0)
5
Mimiton
05 January 2010
Version: 2.0.0
Thank you for update! The Best!
(0)
Aymen
05 January 2010
Version: 2.0.0
say what ? 2.0 ? I thought the app died already :S
(0)
Show comment (1)
GeogProf
06 August 2009
Version: 1.8
I have tried AppZapper, and it's OK. However, when compared with AppCleaner 1.2.2, the difference is STRIKING. AppCleaner does most of the things that all of the reviewers below ask for, it finds ALL of the files associated with the main app you are deleting - EVEN FILES THAT ALL OTHER SUCH APPS OFTEN MISS - it is totally unobtrusive and doesn't impact your CPU or memory AT ALL as far as I can tell, IT WORKS AUTOMATICALLY when you maybe forget to startup AppCleaner and just toss an app into the trash ITS SmartDelete CATCHES IT AND ALSO AUTOMATICALLY CATCHES ALL ITS ASSOCIATED FILES AND OFFERS TO TRASH THEM FOR YOU! And perhaps most amazing is that it is so superior to all other such apps but is FREE, FREE, FREE, FREE, FREE! If you don't believe me, just check out the comments and reviews on AppCleaner's MacUpdate.com (http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/25276) and VersionTracker.com pages (http://www.versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/macosx/32740&mode=feedback). That level of user satisfaction is far, far higher than all other such apps, illustrating that people love it for all its capabilities and performance - not just its price (which, again, is FREE!). When you try AppCleaner, set the preferences to "Protect launched apps," "Protect default apps," and "Enable 3D transitions," don't forget to turn on SmartDelete, then one-by-one select the "Applications," "Widgets" and "Others" icons at the top of AppCleaner's main window, and with each one select the "Options" menu (in the Menubar) then "Select All" to instruct AppCleaner to protect all those apps, widgets and other resources from being accidentally deleted, then you can uncheck one-by-one all the ones that you don't want AppCleaner to protect. Trust me, you'll love this app with it set this way! Enjoy! (Oh, and BTW, I am in no way affiliated with the makers of AppCleaner - I don't even know them. I just LOVE IT when truly great software is made available for FREE, and I feel such magnanimous developers should be promoted whenever possible, even when it's a bit annoying (as this comment is because it's in another app's MacUpdate space).
(4)
Ralphmwhite3
17 April 2008
Version: 1.8
Does anyone know what to do when AppZapper (1.8) sticks in "Processing" when you press the Genie button?
(0)
Easer
14 March 2008
Version: 1.8
I tried this program as well as AppCleaner, AppDelete, and Forklift. I tried all on a program called DiskOrder. Not one of them found the folder in Library/Application support called "LikeMac" which clearly has a folder in it titled "Disk Order." I'll stick to deleting these things manually.
(1)
1
Evolve75
25 January 2008
Version: 1.8
I have the same experience as PumpkinWhite below. I tried uninstalling a program with both AppZapper (got as part of the MH bundle) and Forklift. Forklift consistently finds more application files than AZ. Ended up uninstalling AppZapper (by using Forklift of course).
(2)
1
Pumpkinwhite
09 January 2008
Version: 1.8
I just received appzapper as part of a bundle. The first thing i did is compare it with the 'Delete App' functionality of forklift. In each and every application i tried, forklift caught more files on my system than appzapper. Sometimes appzapper would miss out a file in 'receipts' folder or sometimes in 'caches' folder and sometimes in both. Considering appzapper is a program dedicated to this functionality, I am pretty surprised by this. If all application deleters out there were missing the same files then I wouldn't have been so harsh on appzapper. But the fact that another application catches extra files every time is inexcusable.
(2)
Syharris
21 November 2007
Version: 1.8
AppZapper is not totally reliable. As I have found after using AppZapper for a while, now, it will NOT always remove every last file of all apps. After using AppZapper, I've always rechecked with EasyFind (available here at MacUpdate) to see if all files of my deleted app have, in fact, been removed, and have found that a fair amount of time they have not. But, then, there are no application deleting apps currently available, that I can find, that are totally reliable. Your best bet would be to just use EasyFind to delete your applications and their files. It takes a bit longer than using AppZapper but EasyFind IS about as good as it gets for locating/deleting files. Yes, it's that good....and it's free, too.
(2)
3
anonymous-elephant-2404
27 August 2007
Version: 1.8
It's OK, but it hasn't been updated in almost a year. It seems like its development has stopped, when it needs more features. It does have a great UI though. If you're looking for a better one, go with CleanApp.
(0)
2
Golden
06 August 2007
Version: 1.8
Only ever finds the App itself and the .pkg file. Is oblivious to caches and the other space hogging files that you really want to delete. Pointless.
(0)
2
Tice
26 May 2007
Version: 1.8
Hmm, I paid for the app but appdelete does the job as well (or as bad) as appzapper for free: After installing Dr. DivX and the DivX codecs including two apps (DivX Converter.app, DivX Player.app) Appzapper doesn't find the folder Dr. DivX in the application support, and none (N-O-N-E) of the DivX components (Frameworks, Internet Plug-Ins, Application Support, QuickTime, PreferencePanes)!!! Don't spend money on that, it's not worth it
(0)
2
Olipower
07 February 2007
Version: 1.8
A quite overestimated app. It almost never finds all the files related to an app. Even similarly named files, containing the apps name! And ever since I started using my computers non-admin as a standard-user, AppZapper will ask me to write my admin password once or more for each and every app I delete. So whenever I feel like cleaning up my applications folder, I have to sit there and feel like an idiot typing my admin username and password like a zillion-times. Typing it once for the whole batch should be enough.
(0)
Show comments (2)
1
Espiridion
02 January 2007
Version: 1.8
Are people these days satisfied with such mediocrity? I've tried to use AppZapper a few times, and each time its performance is flawed. 1. It has identified for deletion applications that are unrelated to the application I want to delete. 2. It has only partially identified the files associated with the application I want to delete. 3. The Genie tells me its been 5 years and 6 years since I used two applications when the truth is that I have used them within the past 6-12 months. An application I used today -and I use it daily- is shown as being used one week ago. AppZapper also indicates I have not used a program in 10 years. I did not even have my G5 ten years ago! Although I'm a registered user, I prefer to use Tinker Tool System which provides more information when one wants to uninstall an application, or FileBuddy which identifies associated files more thoroughly than AppZapper. Even doing a Spotlight search would be better than using AppZapper.
(1)
Danielandrews
12 December 2006
Version: 1.8
Great app - sadly, I'm not able to use ZapGenie, though. It crashes every time I try to launch that part of the program.
(0)