Back to AppZapper page
AppZapper free download for Mac

AppZapper Reviews

09 May 2020

Confidently uninstall virtually any application.

How would you rate AppZapper?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Pjcads
Pjcads
Apr 6 2021
2.0.3
1.0
Apr 6 2021
1.0
Version: 2.0.3
ABANDONWARE!
Canadianpj
Canadianpj
Oct 5 2020
2.0.3
2.0
Oct 5 2020
2.0
Version: 2.0.3
It works, but beware the company regularly has abandoned the application for years at a time. A dated interface and software I just am not going to trust again for it not to be abandoned gain.
ekonishi
ekonishi
Nov 7 2019
2.0.2
0.0
Nov 7 2019
0.0
Version: 2.0.2
thx
Swo
Swo
Oct 2 2016
2.0.1
4.0
Oct 2 2016
4.0
Version: 2.0.1
I have licences for both CleanApp and AppZapper, and I just uninstalled CleanApp (with AppZapper, ironically enough).

Reason being, AppZapper does one thing and does it very, very well. CleanApp, by comparison does a lot to things, but many of them not quite well.

As I said, I uninstalled CleanApp, and installed Maintenance (from the makers of OnyX) so that I have an app that focuses ONLY on maintenance, as opposed to focusing on maintenance and uninstalling.

I tend to go back and forth as far as which application I tend to use, but at this point I like the focus of AppZapper and Maintenance, which each do ONE thing really, really well.
BobbyThompsonRocks
BobbyThompsonRocks
May 30 2013
2.0.1
2.0
May 30 2013
2.0
Version: 2.0.1
I've begun to notice AppZapper seems to no longer be showing any preferences or other library files for a number of apps from the AppStore... I've recently taken the liberty to manually search my library folder AFTER using AppZapper, and sure enough after the last couple of app deletes there are still preference and other files to be MANUALLY found after AppZapper completes... It's becoming as effective as hitting cmd-del in many instances...
Cindi168
Cindi168
Jul 27 2011
2.0.1
1.0
Jul 27 2011
1.0
Version: 2.0.1
This app is a hot mess and is definitely not worth $13, there's other alternatives out there that are way cheaper (like the free appcleaner and $6 trashmen) and is actually stable. I used this app when SL first came out and it worked really well, however, with each SL update, this app got more and more unstable... and was NEVER UPDATED to address those issues(last update was a year and half ago... wow). Not to mention the search engine is crap, it doesn't find all the files... even the free appcleaner even works better... if you are looking for a better uninstaller, i recommend trashme, it's only $6, is stable, recevies regular updates, and its search engine is even better than appcleaner and appzapper.
Wildfox
Wildfox
Jul 21 2011
2.0.1
4.0
Jul 21 2011
4.0
Version: 2.0.1
I hit upon a way to get around AppZapper's glitchy behavior. Delete one app, then close AppZapper. It seems that it does not like to be used repeatedly, and the restart solves that for my system.
tzoi516
tzoi516
Jun 24 2011
2.0.1
1.5
Jun 24 2011
1.5
Version: 2.0.1
Overall Rating: Don't bother. I used to love AppZapper, and 2.0, when first released, was great. I don't know what happened but here's the process that I have to go through to remove an app: 1. Drag-n-drop app icon on AppZapper 2. Finder locks up for a minute with beach ball 3. Click zap 4. System locks up 5. AppZapper closes and a report to Apple appears 6. Click send 7. Rinse and repeat. I've done everything from deleting the app and its associated files to reapplying Mac OS X combo updates and the issue never gets resolved. Now I use the free TrashMe.
Tbrizitsky
Tbrizitsky
Jun 3 2011
2.0.1
3.5
Jun 3 2011
3.5
Version: 2.0.1
Pros: looks great, very easy to use Cons: crashes too often to ignore it
iminlalaland
iminlalaland
Jan 14 2011
2.0.1
4.5
Jan 14 2011
4.5
Version: 2.0.1
Easy to use(drag and drop) but it freezes sometimes when the size of the app is large or when it contains a lot of files.
Orion24
Orion24
Jan 14 2011
2.0.1
4.5
Jan 14 2011
4.5
Version: 2.0.1
the best i ever had...work really fine..
bwahacker
bwahacker
Dec 26 2010
2.0.1
0.0
Dec 26 2010
0.0
Version: 2.0.1
Very bad support from the developer. I bought this app 3 or 4 days ago. I got charged by PayPal and received the receipt for that. However, I haven't received the license code from the developer. I've emailed him twice, no reply. I know it's the holidays, but he has no auto-reply indicating when he might reply later and his 'send me my key' on his web site says it has no idea who I am. So for the time being I am out $12.95. Disappointed. I don't recommend buying this. :-(
Macgruder
Macgruder
Nov 24 2010
2.0.1
5.0
Nov 24 2010
5.0
Version: 2.0.1
Great little app. There's a nice feature called 'Hit List' in the view menu that lets you see *apps preferences files etc *you can show apps not used recently. I've had AppZapper for 2 years and I had no idea this feature existed. Then you can just go through apps and zap em.
Tdastheday
Tdastheday
Jun 6 2010
2.0.1
5.0
Jun 6 2010
5.0
Version: 2.0.1
LOVE AppZapper
Utrunn
Utrunn
Apr 4 2010
2.0.1
5.0
Apr 4 2010
5.0
Version: 2.0.1
I've never had any problems with AppZapper. It has a much nicer and simpler interface than other app removal apps. I really love the My Apps feature, saves product keys and stops you fro accidentally zapping an important app. Oh, and of course, I love the zapping animation.
f-bek
f-bek
Feb 14 2010
2.0.1
5.0
Feb 14 2010
5.0
Version: 2.0.1
In my opinion this is the best uninstaller application for Mac OS. I have been using this since it came out, and it is amazing. It is light, and finds the files fast.
Pukky
Pukky
Jan 29 2010
2.0.1
1.0
Jan 29 2010
1.0
Version: 2.0.1
I think that CleanMyMac, AppCleaner and AppTrasher are better, because you don't have to drag into AppZapper an application (or search in the list), but you only trash an app or the folder with an app and the program automatically starts to scan. I think that AppCleaner is fast, free and with better interface, and supports the smart delete feature. Do not waste the money in this expensive software, buy CleanMyMac, which has tons of features! Besides AppZapper is updated only for 10.6 and the new application managing feature is useless and AppZapper searchs for files that aren't of the deleted application.
Chas-m
Chas-m
Jan 15 2010
2.0.1
5.0
Jan 15 2010
5.0
Version: 2.0.1
I am giving this five stars, in part because its always been a great (and fun) little app, but particularly because the devs have made this major upgrade free to recent buyers. That's how you build loyalty! Thanks!
Xplicit
Xplicit
Jan 7 2010
2.0.1
5.0
Jan 7 2010
5.0
Version: 2.0.1
Some complain about not getting the same new fancy version for 10.5, some others say that the new version is overloaded and they're rather using the older version on 10.6. Folks really, I don't get it. Can't you ever be satisfied? Version 2 is a free upgrade so what do you complain about? Maybe you should get your personal problems solved first and don't take it out on developers offering free upgrades, hmm?
Bigideas
Bigideas
Jan 7 2010
2.0.1
0.0
Jan 7 2010
0.0
Version: 2.0.1
This isn't a complaint. The latest version of AppZapper looks very slick but I can't use it because it's 10.6 or higher. I realize that Snow Leopard is the newest from Mac but it still has less than 40% adoption. That means the vast majority of people have to use the older version without the new features. Any chance of a version for the other 60%?
Jimohio628
Jimohio628
Jan 6 2010
2.0.1
0.0
Jan 6 2010
0.0
Version: 2.0.1
You know, I have been using this application since version 1.3.1, April 2006. This app continues to mature, and, in my opinion, is the best in the class of application removal apps. One more thing: When I purchased this app, I was also given free lifetime upgrades. How refreshing from this software developer. An upgrade comes out, no problem, it'll never cost me to keep using this great piece of software. I like that a lot!
Tom-E-Gun
Tom-E-Gun
Jan 6 2010
2.0.1
0.0
Jan 6 2010
0.0
Version: 2.0.1
Nice to see AppZapper back on the road again! I'm still not on Snow Leopard to test this new version out but will do someday. I'm still using v1.8 everyday!
anonymous-elephant-2404
anonymous-elephant-2404
Jan 6 2010
2.0.1
3.0
Jan 6 2010
3.0
Version: 2.0.1
Love the new interface, but it still doesn't have a feature like AppCleaner's SmartDelete that detects an app when you throw it in the trash. AppCleaner's doesn't have the best way of pulling this off, but it's better than not having it at all. If AppZapper includes this feature in one of their new versions, I will definitely be switching!
Jobby
Jobby
Jan 6 2010
2.0.0
0.0
Jan 6 2010
0.0
Version: 2.0.0
Awesome update! It missed a bit, though: when I zapped the VideoDrive trial, Hazel then popped up and reported that Library/Application Support/Growl/Tickets/VideoDrive.growlTicket was still around.
hmurchison
hmurchison
Jan 5 2010
2.0.0
4.0
Jan 5 2010
4.0
Version: 2.0.0
Wow ... The Lazarus of apps just came back to life. Hey I've gotta give credit where it's due here. AppZapper is the program I'd recommend to the neophyte Mac user. I run both AppZapper and CleanApp and I think the former is more easy to "get" just by looking at the user interface. AppZapper though has the magic bullet by deliver that aural delight when zapping files. I would like to see use of Quick Look though so that I can view documents before deletion.
Marching-Pete
Marching-Pete
Jan 5 2010
2.0.0
3.0
Jan 5 2010
3.0
Version: 2.0.0
A unexpected new release. I always used the previously version, and in fact I still use the old version. For several reasons this new versions is not worth it. The new browse window is fancy but doesn't add anything useful. In fact, it is more of a overload. A uninstall application just needs to find as many related files without bells no one is ever going to use anyway. Looks aren't everything. Fanciness is nice but it should be functional. Sorry, I just don't like this new look. 3 star for this and 4.5stars for the previous version.
Willowmac
Willowmac
Jan 5 2010
2.0.0
0.0
Jan 5 2010
0.0
Version: 2.0.0
Love this app, but, this version crashes everytime as soon as it loads. Ideas anyone? OSX 10.6.2
Dcannis
Dcannis
Jan 5 2010
2.0.0
0.0
Jan 5 2010
0.0
Version: 2.0.0
An unexpected but great update!
Goldyn-Chyld
Goldyn-Chyld
Jan 5 2010
2.0.0
0.0
Jan 5 2010
0.0
Version: 2.0.0
Whoa, haha, back from the dead this was! It came out of nowhere...
Espiridion
Espiridion
Jan 5 2010
2.0.0
1.0
Jan 5 2010
1.0
Version: 2.0.0
I'm a bit amazed by the recent reviews. It should be no surprise that there's no upgrade fee. This is what was promised years ago. The only users who will benefit from the free upgrade are those using Snow Leopard, though, since version 2 does not work on previous versions of OS X. I liked AppZapper. IIRC, the previous update came in 2006. I actually stopped using my copy a while ago, used other applications such as Amnesia, Tinker Tool System, etc., and more recently purchased CleanApp which is my current uninstaller. I'm not going to rate this one since I don't have 10.6.
Jeffrey-Harris
Jeffrey-Harris
Jan 5 2010
2.0.0
5.0
Jan 5 2010
5.0
Version: 2.0.0
Excellent upgrade! The new app, preference pane, widget and plug-in browser is brilliant! The new UI is beautiful, too! They obviously worked hard to make it even better than before. I've been using AppZapper for ages. Sure, I've tried all the other uninstall utilities, but AppZapper is thorough, quick and hitting the ZAP button is extremely satisfying! AppZapper is actually an excellent troubleshooting tool, when hunting down and deleting preference files that would be a slog doing through the Finder. It's nice that the upgrade is free!
ultratiem
ultratiem
Jan 5 2010
2.0.0
5.0
Jan 5 2010
5.0
Version: 2.0.0
I have been a long time AppZapper 1.x user. I've always trusted the program to uninstall all the junk left over by applications. It missed something because it relied on simple name match algorithms, but that's actually trivial as most things do install files tagged by their respective program or company name. Regardless, I've been a happy AZ user. I heard rumblings about a v2.0. That was some time ago. I thought another case of vaporware and continued to happily zap with 1.8. Today they drop 2.0. Wow. At first glance the program is gorgeous. Simple, refined, and feature rich. The addition of my apps, providing licence info on demand, a new hit list view that organizes and provides additional information about program components that will uninstalled, and an elegant, nay simply mesmerizing interface. Best of all, v2.0 is a free upgrade for all 1.8 users. How can you not love these guys? The new AppZapper is solid, quick, responsive, and just through and through beautiful. So much attention to detail in everything it does. This is now a gold standard program to all other indie developers. THIS is how you do it! On a personal note, I am rarely blown away by a program. However, this is by far the most impressive app I've ever had the pleasure of putting in my Dock.
Globe-Trotter
Globe-Trotter
Jan 5 2010
2.0.0
0.0
Jan 5 2010
0.0
Version: 2.0.0
Great app. that simply does what it says. However, previous versions were localised (my Mac is French) but v. 2.0.0 is not. Maybe with future releases?
Carol-Parker
Carol-Parker
Jan 5 2010
2.0.0
0.0
Jan 5 2010
0.0
Version: 2.0.0
AppZapper has been a long term useful tool. I updated to v 2.0.0 and now it will not open at all - crashes on launch every single time. I am running OS 10.5.8 - if AppZapper should only be installed on a Snow Leopard system it should so state. Will be reinstalling my old version from backup and waiting a bit longer for AppZapper to get their act together.
Oops!
Oops!
Jan 5 2010
2.0.0
0.0
Jan 5 2010
0.0
Version: 2.0.0
No upgrade fee. Simply download 2.0, register with the license number from 1.8 - and it works.
Chas-m
Chas-m
Jan 5 2010
2.0.0
5.0
Jan 5 2010
5.0
Version: 2.0.0
Does anyone know if this new version is a paid update or not? I have 1.8, which continues to work just fine in Snow Leopard; the new features sound intriguing, sure, but my question is "how much?"
Thealxndr
Thealxndr
Jan 5 2010
2.0.0
0.0
Jan 5 2010
0.0
Version: 2.0.0
Great Update. Amazing Design as usual. It was worth the wait :D
Aymen
Aymen
Jan 5 2010
2.0.0
5.0
Jan 5 2010
5.0
Version: 2.0.0
I have to say it's an amazing update !
Mimiton
Mimiton
Jan 5 2010
2.0.0
5.0
Jan 5 2010
5.0
Version: 2.0.0
Thank you for update! The Best!
Aymen
Aymen
Jan 5 2010
2.0.0
5.0
Jan 5 2010
5.0
Version: 2.0.0
say what ? 2.0 ? I thought the app died already :S
GeogProf
GeogProf
Aug 6 2009
1.8
0.0
Aug 6 2009
0.0
Version: 1.8
I have tried AppZapper, and it's OK. However, when compared with AppCleaner 1.2.2, the difference is STRIKING. AppCleaner does most of the things that all of the reviewers below ask for, it finds ALL of the files associated with the main app you are deleting - EVEN FILES THAT ALL OTHER SUCH APPS OFTEN MISS - it is totally unobtrusive and doesn't impact your CPU or memory AT ALL as far as I can tell, IT WORKS AUTOMATICALLY when you maybe forget to startup AppCleaner and just toss an app into the trash ITS SmartDelete CATCHES IT AND ALSO AUTOMATICALLY CATCHES ALL ITS ASSOCIATED FILES AND OFFERS TO TRASH THEM FOR YOU! And perhaps most amazing is that it is so superior to all other such apps but is FREE, FREE, FREE, FREE, FREE! If you don't believe me, just check out the comments and reviews on AppCleaner's MacUpdate.com (http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/25276) and VersionTracker.com pages (http://www.versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/macosx/32740&mode=feedback). That level of user satisfaction is far, far higher than all other such apps, illustrating that people love it for all its capabilities and performance - not just its price (which, again, is FREE!). When you try AppCleaner, set the preferences to "Protect launched apps," "Protect default apps," and "Enable 3D transitions," don't forget to turn on SmartDelete, then one-by-one select the "Applications," "Widgets" and "Others" icons at the top of AppCleaner's main window, and with each one select the "Options" menu (in the Menubar) then "Select All" to instruct AppCleaner to protect all those apps, widgets and other resources from being accidentally deleted, then you can uncheck one-by-one all the ones that you don't want AppCleaner to protect. Trust me, you'll love this app with it set this way! Enjoy! (Oh, and BTW, I am in no way affiliated with the makers of AppCleaner - I don't even know them. I just LOVE IT when truly great software is made available for FREE, and I feel such magnanimous developers should be promoted whenever possible, even when it's a bit annoying (as this comment is because it's in another app's MacUpdate space).
Ralphmwhite3
Ralphmwhite3
Apr 17 2008
1.8
0.0
Apr 17 2008
0.0
Version: 1.8
Does anyone know what to do when AppZapper (1.8) sticks in "Processing" when you press the Genie button?
Easer
Easer
Mar 14 2008
1.8
0.0
Mar 14 2008
0.0
Version: 1.8
I tried this program as well as AppCleaner, AppDelete, and Forklift. I tried all on a program called DiskOrder. Not one of them found the folder in Library/Application support called "LikeMac" which clearly has a folder in it titled "Disk Order." I'll stick to deleting these things manually.
Evolve75
Evolve75
Jan 25 2008
1.8
1.0
Jan 25 2008
1.0
Version: 1.8
I have the same experience as PumpkinWhite below. I tried uninstalling a program with both AppZapper (got as part of the MH bundle) and Forklift. Forklift consistently finds more application files than AZ. Ended up uninstalling AppZapper (by using Forklift of course).
Pumpkinwhite
Pumpkinwhite
Jan 9 2008
1.8
1.0
Jan 9 2008
1.0
Version: 1.8
I just received appzapper as part of a bundle. The first thing i did is compare it with the 'Delete App' functionality of forklift. In each and every application i tried, forklift caught more files on my system than appzapper. Sometimes appzapper would miss out a file in 'receipts' folder or sometimes in 'caches' folder and sometimes in both. Considering appzapper is a program dedicated to this functionality, I am pretty surprised by this. If all application deleters out there were missing the same files then I wouldn't have been so harsh on appzapper. But the fact that another application catches extra files every time is inexcusable.
Syharris
Syharris
Nov 21 2007
1.8
0.0
Nov 21 2007
0.0
Version: 1.8
AppZapper is not totally reliable. As I have found after using AppZapper for a while, now, it will NOT always remove every last file of all apps. After using AppZapper, I've always rechecked with EasyFind (available here at MacUpdate) to see if all files of my deleted app have, in fact, been removed, and have found that a fair amount of time they have not. But, then, there are no application deleting apps currently available, that I can find, that are totally reliable. Your best bet would be to just use EasyFind to delete your applications and their files. It takes a bit longer than using AppZapper but EasyFind IS about as good as it gets for locating/deleting files. Yes, it's that good....and it's free, too.
Thecause
Thecause
Aug 31 2007
1.8
0.0
Aug 31 2007
0.0
Version: 1.8
Consider giving the application AppCleaner http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/25276 a whirl. Its free dollars and it has a very clean interface.
anonymous-elephant-2404
anonymous-elephant-2404
Aug 27 2007
1.8
3.0
Aug 27 2007
3.0
Version: 1.8
It's OK, but it hasn't been updated in almost a year. It seems like its development has stopped, when it needs more features. It does have a great UI though. If you're looking for a better one, go with CleanApp.
Golden
Golden
Aug 6 2007
1.8
2.0
Aug 6 2007
2.0
Version: 1.8
Only ever finds the App itself and the .pkg file. Is oblivious to caches and the other space hogging files that you really want to delete. Pointless.
Tice
Tice
May 26 2007
1.8
2.0
May 26 2007
2.0
Version: 1.8
Hmm, I paid for the app but appdelete does the job as well (or as bad) as appzapper for free: After installing Dr. DivX and the DivX codecs including two apps (DivX Converter.app, DivX Player.app) Appzapper doesn't find the folder Dr. DivX in the application support, and none (N-O-N-E) of the DivX components (Frameworks, Internet Plug-Ins, Application Support, QuickTime, PreferencePanes)!!! Don't spend money on that, it's not worth it