Back to Elmedia Player page
Elmedia Player free download for Mac

Elmedia Player Reviews7.17

07 December 2020

Multi-format media player, Pro version available.

How would you rate Elmedia Player?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
OhEssex
OhEssex
Feb 15 2021
7.17
3.0
Feb 15 2021
3.0
Version: 7.17
I just downloaded the free version of Elmedia to try it out because I just hate Apple's Music app (which sure is pretty, but just awful/frustrating to use). I wanted to see how Elmedia lets me organize and play my music library etc. but for the life of me I couldn't figure out how to import my library from the Music app. I also have an extensive movie database but I thought I'd start with the music first. A subsequent email to the support line and Etima (the makers of Elmedia) say importing from the Music app is not possible. So I guess this is just like an alternate version of QuickTime Player or VLC - that's fine, but I guess I don't much see the point these days of people using something like this to listen to their music if everything needs to be located in the Finder or an Open dialog box beforehand.
vlad-18
vlad-18
Dec 24 2020
7.17
1.0
Dec 24 2020
1.0
Version: 7.17
The free version allows one download of a Youtube video. But the paid version had no way to download at all. It was advertised as a video downloader, but there was no way to download at all that I could find after going through all the menus. It was basically just another crappy browser. The company refused to issue a refund even though I asked the next day. Do not get this as a downloader.
montypepecongdon
montypepecongdon
Aug 8 2020
7.13
1.0
Aug 8 2020
1.0
Version: 7.13
I can't figure out how to download VALORANT on elmedia player. I just downloaded and bought setapp for elmedia player and it doesnt let me use it, or watch the videos.
psdanmor
psdanmor
Aug 7 2020
7.13
0.0
Aug 7 2020
0.0
Version: 7.13
Hi, I have purchased Elmedia Pro right now. It does not allow me to include subtitles on airplay. I don`t know if I`m doing something wrong. But if it is not possible to do it, for me it' s a bad purchase. Could anyone help me?
psdanmor
psdanmor
Aug 7 2020
7.13
0.0
Aug 7 2020
0.0
Version: 7.13
Hi, I have in this moment purchase Elmedia Pro. And it does not allow me to include subtitles on airplay. I don`t know if I`m doing something wrong. But if it is not possible to do it, for me it' s a bad purchase. Could anyone help me?
boonkiatkoh96
boonkiatkoh96
Jun 8 2020
7.11
5.0
Jun 8 2020
5.0
Version: 7.11
It is a good player
esendirr
esendirr
Mar 20 2020
7.9
5.0
Mar 20 2020
5.0
Version: 7.9
I think it's the best video player
rowen65
rowen65
Mar 19 2020
7.9
3.0
Mar 19 2020
3.0
Version: 7.9
Will not play m4v videos as output by "photos" on the macbook.
vnikola885
vnikola885
Feb 9 2020
7.9
0.0
Feb 9 2020
0.0
Version: 7.9
Is there any trick or tutorial how to activate it?
DragonMaster
DragonMaster
Feb 5 2020
7.9
5.0
Feb 5 2020
5.0
Version: 7.9
This is a gotta have for your Mac!!! It has no rival, no close competitor. For audio or video it is most excellent!!!
Sampler
Sampler
Jan 31 2020
7.9
3.0
Jan 31 2020
3.0
Version: 7.9
All I wanted was to play audio books and the app isn't good at this . There's no bookmark facility (there is for video) so I frequently lost my place if I closed the wrong window. Opening a playlist window placed me at the first item, even though my book chapters were. far down the list. Often a large, mostly black window occupied a good chunk of the screen. On certain window-opening/closings the app produced a screech like the scratching of a vinyl record. Images flashed and then disappeared. I did like the hot-key controls for playback. .
ahmedhatata-ah
ahmedhatata-ah
Jan 20 2020
7.8
5.0
Jan 20 2020
5.0
Version: 7.8
The best ever media player for Mac , very convenient and powerful application that handle almost every video or audio formate with a ton of features like fully customizable appearance for video brightness and contrast , audio equalizer, a-b loop , extensive support for subtitles , take screenshots from videos and create playlist and watch online videos , I replaced my QuickTime player in the dock with it and very happy with the application. It deserves more than 5 stars seriously.
Bento de Espinosa
Bento de Espinosa
Jul 24 2019
7.4
5.0
Jul 24 2019
5.0
Version: 7.4
Very good video player! Lots of features.
ahmedhatata-ah
ahmedhatata-ah
May 13 2019
7.3
5.0
May 13 2019
5.0
Version: 7.3
The best ever media player for mac , I replaced my quick time with it , very powerful and convenient with a stunning design an smooth vedio playing . Handle all formats and the built in killing features , I take screenshots from the vedio , download videos and audio files from the application . Also the upgrade to the pro version for A_B loop feature which allows to play from starting point to ending point . Very convenient media player and deserves 5 star.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Oct 21 2017
6.8
0.5
Oct 21 2017
0.5
Version: 6.8
*Trojan Infection* October 19th, ESET discovered that the direct download version of Elmedia Player was infected with Proton RAT malware. Eltima removed and replaced the infected software later that day. It's unclear exactly when the infected version was hacked onto their servers. This is extremely dangerous malware that must be addressed by victims immediately! Please read the following for details: OSX/Proton spreading again through supply-chain attack https://www.welivesecurity.com/2017/10/20/osx-proton-supply-chain-attack-elmedia/
SALAMA Youssef
SALAMA Youssef
Sep 11 2017
6.8
5.0
Sep 11 2017
5.0
Version: 6.8
Elmedia Player is the first software to be installed in Mac: This software allows to play several versions, extensions and formats of audio and video (FLV, SWF, MP4, AVI, MOV, MP4, DAT, MP3 ...). the reading is done quickly without any break. and like most Eltima software, the Elmedia Player does not require much performance from your Macbook so it works. Elmedia Player is compatible with all other Apple devices - AppleTV support with tvOS 10.2 when streaming via AirPlay. In my experience I give Elmedia Player 5 stars
Funjoy
Funjoy
Aug 3 2017
6.8
2.0
Aug 3 2017
2.0
Version: 6.8
I have this, I use it sometimes, but I often just launch VLC reflexively because I'm used to it. Are there any advantages to Elmedia Player over VLC?
skiabox
skiabox
May 16 2017
6.7.2
5.0
May 16 2017
5.0
Version: 6.7.2
Awesome Player!
annyhill88
annyhill88
Apr 12 2017
6.7.2
4.5
Apr 12 2017
4.5
Version: 6.7.2
I don’t think any player can be compared to Elmedia – it’s just awesome!
ElCriptado
ElCriptado
Mar 12 2017
6.7.1
1.0
Mar 12 2017
1.0
Version: 6.7.1
The latest version of elmedia player pro on Mac OS 10.11.6 does not display Flash videos. It behaves as if it has no flash, on the page "install the flash plugin". If I reinstall version 6.5.1 I view all.
Funjoy
Funjoy
Dec 24 2016
6.6
2.0
Dec 24 2016
2.0
Version: 6.6
Bought this app specifically to stream audio of downloaded, unprotected movies I watch on the Mac to powered speakers connected to an Airport Express.

Apps claims to stream Airplay audio: "Stream audio and video contents with the help of Elmedia on iOS AirPlay devices like iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch and Apple TV to Mac, or from Mac to Apple TV and other AirPlay devices."

I've been using VLC to stream the audio but it's fiddly because Airplay has a lag in it and you need to go deep into the settings when playing a video to tweak the video delay to match the audio. I figured this app would make the problem go away. Nope!

Every other app I own recognized the Airplay speakers, but when I use Elmedia Player it says it can't find any Airplay device.

Otherwise the app seems to work as promised, but I've got other apps that can do what it does.
Turquoise
Turquoise
Oct 18 2016
6.6
0.0
Oct 18 2016
0.0
Version: 6.6
Does not seem to play .swf games downloaded from the Internet. Am I wrong?

EDIT : Sorry, I made a mistake with the video player.
Morlo
Morlo
Oct 10 2016
6.6
4.0
Oct 10 2016
4.0
Version: 6.6
nice. It's only missing trim and export. Setting in and out and exporting that segment. That would make it the best and a real quicktime pro replacement. It has good scrubbing speed, making it useful for pros looking for something in the video.
mpx
mpx
Sep 30 2016
6.6
3.0
Sep 30 2016
3.0
Version: 6.6
Not bad, but some base features (screenshot, preferred subtitle lang, external audio) are PRO only.
It's interesting that Elmedia Player looks VERY similar to mplayerx (which became unusable). And even have the same seeking bugs…
dinabain
dinabain
Sep 20 2016
6.6
4.5
Sep 20 2016
4.5
Version: 6.6
Elmedia Player is a nice player of choice. It offers easily-navigated interface, high-resolution videos playback and many options to enhance it.
MelbornThoropov59
MelbornThoropov59
Jun 17 2016
6.5.2
4.0
Jun 17 2016
4.0
Version: 6.5.2
This player can support so many video and audio formats. It can meet my needs.
parikhneel27
parikhneel27
May 10 2016
6.5.2
5.0
May 10 2016
5.0
Version: 6.5.2
I recommend everyone to use this as a default player...this is best media player available for your Mac. I personally use all other products like Folx & iMazing....etc. ....would like to congratulate developers . Good Job
pedrotaquelim
pedrotaquelim
Apr 18 2016
6.5.1
0.0
Apr 18 2016
0.0
Version: 6.5.1
It would be very important to stream subtitles to airplay too, like Beamer does. I cannot do that with Elmedia Pro, unfortunately. Are you planning to do that? Thanks.
dwp-1
dwp-1
Apr 7 2016
6.5
0.0
Apr 7 2016
0.0
Version: 6.5
Anyone having problems getting the Airplay to work on Elmedia Player Pro? I upgraded and for the life of me can't get Elmedia Pro to play on my AppleTV, even when I select it. It looks like it is trying to send the video to my AppleTV but the screen ALWAYS goes black and I get the spinning cog.To be honest the AppleTV support was the reason I upgraded and now I am disappointed.
torycooper715
torycooper715
Apr 6 2016
6.5
4.5
Apr 6 2016
4.5
Version: 6.5
I just discovered the new update. Airplay support is a pretty good feature to update, especially when you have kids.
Sanchai
Sanchai
Mar 29 2016
6.5
1.5
Mar 29 2016
1.5
Version: 6.5
Version 6.5 stuck at checking available font when the app start on El Capitan 10.11.4. Elmedia Player just freeze at the checking available go nowhere, and cannot be closed. Only force quit is the option, the app is totally useless junk now,. Not to count very annoying activation problem every time I tried new OS or restore my Mac from Time Machine backup, I have to write email to ask the dev for extension of activation, so bad and so disappointed. Same goes forr activation for another app from thesis dev called Airy. If you want easier life do not buy this app. I am so regret to buy lifetime upgrade and have yo beg for activation when I reinstall OS or restore from Time Machine
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
Mar 21 2016
6.1
0.0
Mar 21 2016
0.0
Version: 6.1
Be sure to uncheck "Send anonymous usage statistics to Eltima" in Preferences>General.
CDavid
CDavid
Mar 11 2016
6.1
5.0
Mar 11 2016
5.0
Version: 6.1
Elmedia Player is a good piece of software for those who need a simple and comprehensible alternative to other popular media players. I've been using it for a couple of days now and so far I haven't seen any freezes or crashes. Pros: - Decent player supporting most popular media formats. - Nice design - Embedded browser Cons: - Some features are available only in the Pro version. Botton line: Worth using on everyday basis.
awake-
awake-
Mar 9 2016
6.1
4.5
Mar 9 2016
4.5
Version: 6.1
My goto player for videos with weird extensions that other players on mac do not seem to play properly (wmv, mkv, etc.) You should add it to your repertoire.
debbshwarz
debbshwarz
Jan 28 2016
6.1
4.5
Jan 28 2016
4.5
Version: 6.1
Just downloaded Elmedia Video Player version 6.1 to play .wmv files on Mac … Nice and simple to use.
Macinman
Macinman
Dec 30 2015
6.1
0.0
Dec 30 2015
0.0
Version: 6.1
Overall, I've had a positive experience with this company My main product I use from them is "Airy" a downloader for youtube that can download just about any video and resolution which a lot of free solutions lack at, especially higher resolutions. I upgraded to elmedia player 6 without any issues, was able to provide my former key and got a discount with no issue. I wanted to make a note that I really don't use elmedia player as a media player, mainly as a backup media downloader if one of my main programs has issues. On reason I don't use this app for a media player is, it doesn't seem to have an A-B repeat function like VLC and MplayerX do. It's a small feature but can be really nice at times. The only negative I've had is with the personal license appeartly the way they bind the license key is not to the computer's MAC address or email, but os install ID. Typically a persona license entails that the software can be used on one computer at a time. Which in my situation I would be fully within the license terms for. However, if I have to reinstall the OS, or want to test things in a different version of the OS on the same hardware, my license for elmedia software treats it like it's a different computer when in fact it's not, it's the same physical computer with a different install. The other thing is if this is the way they want to do the license there is no deactivate option in the software , instead I have to update information from the website, and there are only a certain amount of times before you have to email support to reset it. I would like to suggest if being able to pirate license sis a concern, an alternative would be tying all keys to the machine serial number. this will get around the issue i'm having , but also prevent a licensed key from being pirated to another mac as you need special tools to change the serial key that are tightly controlled by apple, which most people don't have. Overall I'm pleased with the products and support I've received just wanted to throw out some suggestions to help the experience. :)
ambergarth8
ambergarth8
Dec 15 2015
6.1
5.0
Dec 15 2015
5.0
Version: 6.1
It's my default player for about year. Couple times tried to test similar softs but I wasn't impressed enough. For me Elmedia is a great solution simply cause it plays every random format and works without bugs.
Penguirl
Penguirl
Dec 7 2015
6.1
0.5
Dec 7 2015
0.5
Version: 6.1
I wouldn’t touch anything from this developer with a 10 foot pole. Past experience with the company combined with the obviously astroturfed reviews and recommendations scream avoid at all cost. VLC, MPlayerX, Kodi, and Plex, among others, are are better alternatives.
quailsummit
quailsummit
Oct 9 2015
6.0
5.0
Oct 9 2015
5.0
Version: 6.0
It's a very good media player, but is it possible to play two different screens at the same time? If i try to open another file, it just replaces the existing window. Maybe, pro has this feature. Thanks for reading my review!
fostersjack47
fostersjack47
Sep 16 2015
6.0
4.0
Sep 16 2015
4.0
Version: 6.0
For me it is quite complicated. It has too many options I don't even need. So, I would like to get something more simple.... I like the app as a tool, but I use it not very often. I don't need the whole of this. I put 4 star because hadn't find any bugs.
dgibiuh
dgibiuh
Sep 14 2015
6.0
5.0
Sep 14 2015
5.0
Version: 6.0
Have been using Elmedia Pro since 2011 and am very satisfied.
nitroxpro
nitroxpro
Sep 12 2015
6.0
5.0
Sep 12 2015
5.0
Version: 6.0
I've been using Elmedia Player Pro for quite a while and find it an easy to use and superbly stable piece of software. It easily wins five stars from me.
GavinL6381
GavinL6381
Sep 9 2015
6.0
4.0
Sep 9 2015
4.0
Version: 6.0
Never had any problems playing any files with this. Purchased the pro version to download videos and does a great job.
tbala
tbala
Sep 7 2015
6.0
4.5
Sep 7 2015
4.5
Version: 6.0
it is close to one year, i have already downloaded 500 GB plus downloads not even onetime any error, now with advanced feature i need to buy additional hard disk now i can use various features, as marketing people use now a days lot of video in their marketing materials and i am sure this software will help in many ways, creativity is left to one to take advantage of! all the best !!
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
Aug 31 2015
6.0
0.0
Aug 31 2015
0.0
Version: 6.0
All of these reviews that are 5 stars are fake. And if you look at some of these people's review history, they ONLY review Eltima products. You would think that someone would be clever enough to throw in a 4-star review to make it not look so fake, but they don't. They're just trolling for a shady company that I won't deal with anymore. Sadly, I've purchased 5 of their products in the past, and have had the misfortunes of having to deal with their tech support, which was rude and condescending when I questioned them on they're ridiculous copy-protection schemes. And for software that's mediocre at best.
Fightingcat
Fightingcat
Aug 30 2015
5.2
5.0
Aug 30 2015
5.0
Version: 5.2
Today I launched Elmedia Pro and noticed, that Elmedia has released now Version 6. Great!
But the big surprise... They want money again for that upgrade. In a regular way, this would be ok, but it's now the third time in 2 years, that they want money from me for a new version.

I bought Version 3 in March 2014, than I pay the upgrade in March 15 and now we have Aug. 2015 and I need to pay again after only 5 month's? Only customers who bought it on 27. Aug. (2015??????) get a free upgrade.

Sorry guys, that's stupid. I trust them in the past, but I know companies like this from the past like Aquafadas (Pulpmotion) or Metakine (DVDRemaster). They also take money again and again around each year and promised some amazing new features and then they drop the support from one to another day.

Oh, and just as a tip... Never.... NEVER bought this software for the full price. I noticed also, that they often drop the price rapidly. After I bought the last upgrade for around 10$ they sold it for 5$ for all interested customers. Near the same I noticed around Folx, a Download-Manager for Mac from this company.

It's sad to say that around this Software, because it's a good and simple one to download really easy videos from the web.

Well... The end of this story... Pls. don't support this company. Spend your money better to small developers, who have more heart around developing. For example... Try Videobox from http://www.tastyapps.com. I have this since 2012. The three dev's deliver all updates for free since I bought it.

Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Aug 28 2015
5.2
0.5
Aug 28 2015
0.5
Version: 5.2
Version 6.0 (710) is now downloading. NOTE: This is a PAID UPGRADE. The previous version before the upgrade was v5.2.
Nynyawk
Nynyawk
Aug 14 2015
5.2
5.0
Aug 14 2015
5.0
Version: 5.2
I thought "the 'free" version was good...Pro is great.
levent-cakmur
levent-cakmur
Aug 5 2015
5.2
5.0
Aug 5 2015
5.0
Version: 5.2
I think there is not a better media player on the market to my taste
Lmoi
Lmoi
Jul 31 2015
5.2
5.0
Jul 31 2015
5.0
Version: 5.2
Great app. Powerful, useful, and easu to use.