Back to Elmedia Player page
Elmedia Player free download for Mac

Elmedia Player Reviews

7.7
31 October 2019

Multi-format media player, Pro version available.

Derekcurrie
01 April 2014

Most helpful

As a veteran in the battle to kill off FAKE and COERCED MacKeeper reviews, let me point this out: How many of the 4 and 5 star reviews here for Elmedia Player are from people who've reviewed here before? Look down the reviews thread. How many of the reviews are from newbies? What does that tell you? It tells ME we have review stuffing going on, again.
Like (16)
Version 4.3.7

Read 170 Elmedia Player User Reviews

Rate this app:

Bento de Espinosa
24 July 2019
Very good video player! Lots of features.
Like
Version 7.4
fungchiyuen
16 May 2019
An easy to use video and audio player on Mac using since version 5. The best I like is the recording of series screen which I can take movie for critical moment then get back the "still photo". Another good feature is easy download video from common browsers. 5 stars!
Like
Version 7.3
ahmedhatata-ah
13 May 2019
The best ever media player for mac , I replaced my quick time with it , very powerful and convenient with a stunning design an smooth vedio playing . Handle all formats and the built in killing features , I take screenshots from the vedio , download videos and audio files from the application . Also the upgrade to the pro version for A_B loop feature which allows to play from starting point to ending point . Very convenient media player and deserves 5 star.
Like
Version 7.3
Derekcurrie
21 October 2017
*Trojan Infection* October 19th, ESET discovered that the direct download version of Elmedia Player was infected with Proton RAT malware. Eltima removed and replaced the infected software later that day. It's unclear exactly when the infected version was hacked onto their servers. This is extremely dangerous malware that must be addressed by victims immediately! Please read the following for details: OSX/Proton spreading again through supply-chain attack https://www.welivesecurity.com/2017/10/20/osx-proton-supply-chain-attack-elmedia/
Like (4)
Version 6.8
2 answer(s)
anonymous-thrush-1121
anonymous-thrush-1121
23 October 2017
Mac OSX Trojan malware spread via compromised software downloads | ZDNet
http://www.zdnet.com/article/trojan-malware-for-mac-osx-spread-via-compromised-media-player-downloads/
Elmedia Player and Folx malware threat Neutralized!
https://www.eltima.com/blog/2017/10/elmedia-player-and-folx-malware-threat-neutralized.html
Like
Eltima-Software
Eltima-Software
23 October 2017
In close cooperation with ESET and Apple representatives, we have applied all necessary measures to prevent further malware spread. Now we officially inform that Folx, Elmedia, as well as other our products are absolutely safe to install and malware-free. More detailed information: https://www.eltima.com/blog/2017/10/elmedia-player-and-folx-malware-threat-neutralized.html
Like (2)
SALAMA Youssef
11 September 2017
Elmedia Player is the first software to be installed in Mac: This software allows to play several versions, extensions and formats of audio and video (FLV, SWF, MP4, AVI, MOV, MP4, DAT, MP3 ...). the reading is done quickly without any break. and like most Eltima software, the Elmedia Player does not require much performance from your Macbook so it works. Elmedia Player is compatible with all other Apple devices - AppleTV support with tvOS 10.2 when streaming via AirPlay. In my experience I give Elmedia Player 5 stars
Like (3)
Version 6.8
Funjoy
03 August 2017
I have this, I use it sometimes, but I often just launch VLC reflexively because I'm used to it. Are there any advantages to Elmedia Player over VLC?
Like
Version 6.8
1 answer(s)
Eltima-Software
Eltima-Software
07 August 2017
Elmedia Player offers:
-more refined and polished without fiddly settings average users will never use;
- a wide range of formats support;
- perfect graphic experience on a big screen;
- less CPU consumption;
-smooth HD playback;
-AirPlay function. Unfortunately, AirVLC has been discontinued.
Like (2)
skiabox
16 May 2017
Awesome Player!
Like (3)
Version 6.7.2
annyhill88
12 April 2017
I don’t think any player can be compared to Elmedia – it’s just awesome!
Like (1)
Version 6.7.2
ElCriptado
12 March 2017
The latest version of elmedia player pro on Mac OS 10.11.6 does not display Flash videos. It behaves as if it has no flash, on the page "install the flash plugin". If I reinstall version 6.5.1 I view all.
Like
Version 6.7.1
1 answer(s)
Eltima-Software
Eltima-Software
29 March 2017
Please send screenshot of the page on support@eltima.com for further investigations.
Like (2)
Funjoy
24 December 2016
Bought this app specifically to stream audio of downloaded, unprotected movies I watch on the Mac to powered speakers connected to an Airport Express.

Apps claims to stream Airplay audio: "Stream audio and video contents with the help of Elmedia on iOS AirPlay devices like iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch and Apple TV to Mac, or from Mac to Apple TV and other AirPlay devices."

I've been using VLC to stream the audio but it's fiddly because Airplay has a lag in it and you need to go deep into the settings when playing a video to tweak the video delay to match the audio. I figured this app would make the problem go away. Nope!

Every other app I own recognized the Airplay speakers, but when I use Elmedia Player it says it can't find any Airplay device.

Otherwise the app seems to work as promised, but I've got other apps that can do what it does.
Like
Version 6.6
1 answer(s)
Eltima-Software
Eltima-Software
06 January 2017
The function to stream audio from Elmedia Player to AirPort Express compatible speakers is not supported. http://www.eltima.com/wiki/user-guides/elmedia-mac/airplay-faq.html
Like
Turquoise
18 October 2016
Does not seem to play .swf games downloaded from the Internet. Am I wrong?

EDIT : Sorry, I made a mistake with the video player.
Like
Version 6.6
1 answer(s)
Eltima-Software
Eltima-Software
24 October 2016
You are right. This feature is available in Elmedia Player PRO version. (via in-app purchase)
Like
Morlo
10 October 2016
nice. It's only missing trim and export. Setting in and out and exporting that segment. That would make it the best and a real quicktime pro replacement. It has good scrubbing speed, making it useful for pros looking for something in the video.
Like (1)
Version 6.6
mpx
30 September 2016
Not bad, but some base features (screenshot, preferred subtitle lang, external audio) are PRO only.
It's interesting that Elmedia Player looks VERY similar to mplayerx (which became unusable). And even have the same seeking bugs…
Like
Version 6.6
dinabain
20 September 2016
Elmedia Player is a nice player of choice. It offers easily-navigated interface, high-resolution videos playback and many options to enhance it.
Like (1)
Version 6.6
MelbornThoropov59
17 June 2016
This player can support so many video and audio formats. It can meet my needs.
Like (8)
Version 6.5.2
parikhneel27
10 May 2016
I recommend everyone to use this as a default player...this is best media player available for your Mac. I personally use all other products like Folx & iMazing....etc. ....would like to congratulate developers . Good Job
Like
Version 6.5.2
1 answer(s)
Raro
Raro
14 June 2016
iMazing? As far as I know, iMazing is developed by DigiDNA. There is no such product called iMazing on the Eltima website.
Like
pedrotaquelim
18 April 2016
It would be very important to stream subtitles to airplay too, like Beamer does. I cannot do that with Elmedia Pro, unfortunately. Are you planning to do that? Thanks.
Like
Version 6.5.1
1 answer(s)
Eltima-Software
Eltima-Software
21 April 2016
We are very thankful for your suggestion concerning the improvement of Elmedia Player. We will consider adding the feature that you mentioned in the future updates of Elmedia Player.
Like (1)
dwp-1
07 April 2016
Anyone having problems getting the Airplay to work on Elmedia Player Pro? I upgraded and for the life of me can't get Elmedia Pro to play on my AppleTV, even when I select it. It looks like it is trying to send the video to my AppleTV but the screen ALWAYS goes black and I get the spinning cog.To be honest the AppleTV support was the reason I upgraded and now I am disappointed.
Like
Version 6.5
1 answer(s)
Eltima-Software
Eltima-Software
11 April 2016
Please, send email directly to our support team and they will help you to fix the problem (support@eltima.com).
Like (2)
torycooper715
06 April 2016
I just discovered the new update. Airplay support is a pretty good feature to update, especially when you have kids.
Like
Version 6.5
Sanchai
29 March 2016
Version 6.5 stuck at checking available font when the app start on El Capitan 10.11.4. Elmedia Player just freeze at the checking available go nowhere, and cannot be closed. Only force quit is the option, the app is totally useless junk now,. Not to count very annoying activation problem every time I tried new OS or restore my Mac from Time Machine backup, I have to write email to ask the dev for extension of activation, so bad and so disappointed. Same goes forr activation for another app from thesis dev called Airy. If you want easier life do not buy this app. I am so regret to buy lifetime upgrade and have yo beg for activation when I reinstall OS or restore from Time Machine
Like (1)
Version 6.5
4 answer(s)
Sanchai
Sanchai
30 March 2016
And the dev do not offer prompt response. It has been more than 24 hours after sending email to Eltima. No response so fa. So bad
Like
Eltima-Software
Eltima-Software
31 March 2016
Hi Sanchai, our support team received your message and have already solved the problem. Right?
Like (1)
thec13
thec13
31 March 2016
@Eltima-Software - great to see there is a fix. Please share the link for the fix. :)
Like
Eltima-Software
Eltima-Software
06 April 2016
For support and any questions please send mail to our support team (support@eltima.com).
Like (1)
Big Johnson
21 March 2016
Be sure to uncheck "Send anonymous usage statistics to Eltima" in Preferences>General.
Like
Version 6.1
CDavid
11 March 2016
Elmedia Player is a good piece of software for those who need a simple and comprehensible alternative to other popular media players. I've been using it for a couple of days now and so far I haven't seen any freezes or crashes. Pros: - Decent player supporting most popular media formats. - Nice design - Embedded browser Cons: - Some features are available only in the Pro version. Botton line: Worth using on everyday basis.
Like (5)
Version 6.1
awake-
09 March 2016
My goto player for videos with weird extensions that other players on mac do not seem to play properly (wmv, mkv, etc.) You should add it to your repertoire.
Like (1)
Version 6.1
debbshwarz
28 January 2016
Just downloaded Elmedia Video Player version 6.1 to play .wmv files on Mac … Nice and simple to use.
Like
Version 6.1
Macinman
30 December 2015
Overall, I've had a positive experience with this company My main product I use from them is "Airy" a downloader for youtube that can download just about any video and resolution which a lot of free solutions lack at, especially higher resolutions. I upgraded to elmedia player 6 without any issues, was able to provide my former key and got a discount with no issue. I wanted to make a note that I really don't use elmedia player as a media player, mainly as a backup media downloader if one of my main programs has issues. On reason I don't use this app for a media player is, it doesn't seem to have an A-B repeat function like VLC and MplayerX do. It's a small feature but can be really nice at times. The only negative I've had is with the personal license appeartly the way they bind the license key is not to the computer's MAC address or email, but os install ID. Typically a persona license entails that the software can be used on one computer at a time. Which in my situation I would be fully within the license terms for. However, if I have to reinstall the OS, or want to test things in a different version of the OS on the same hardware, my license for elmedia software treats it like it's a different computer when in fact it's not, it's the same physical computer with a different install. The other thing is if this is the way they want to do the license there is no deactivate option in the software , instead I have to update information from the website, and there are only a certain amount of times before you have to email support to reset it. I would like to suggest if being able to pirate license sis a concern, an alternative would be tying all keys to the machine serial number. this will get around the issue i'm having , but also prevent a licensed key from being pirated to another mac as you need special tools to change the serial key that are tightly controlled by apple, which most people don't have. Overall I'm pleased with the products and support I've received just wanted to throw out some suggestions to help the experience. :)
Like (2)
Version 6.1
2 answer(s)
Macinman
Macinman
31 December 2015
I wanted to add that i had overlooked A-B repeat option before and just founder, what I haven't found though is keyboard shortcuts to set points and cancel. does anyone know? I'm still googling.
Like
Eltima Software
Eltima Software
06 January 2016
Hi! Thanks for your comment. You can use A-B loop options only from the menu.
Like (1)
ambergarth8
15 December 2015
It's my default player for about year. Couple times tried to test similar softs but I wasn't impressed enough. For me Elmedia is a great solution simply cause it plays every random format and works without bugs.
Like (6)
Version 6.1
Penguirl
07 December 2015
I wouldn’t touch anything from this developer with a 10 foot pole. Past experience with the company combined with the obviously astroturfed reviews and recommendations scream avoid at all cost. VLC, MPlayerX, Kodi, and Plex, among others, are are better alternatives.
Like
Version 6.1
4 answer(s)
Eltima Software
Eltima Software
08 December 2015
We are really sorry that you had negative experience with our company in the past. If you have specific technical problems with the Elmedia Player please contact our supporters and we'll check it immediately.
Like
mandfloo
mandfloo
09 December 2015
It is all about the user. For example, I just don't like VLC and you'll never convince me to buy it. I got used to hate it))

Just for information - I use Elmedia for a couple of years and have some issues with it, but it is all about me - I am too picky)))
Really there is no media player I like fully.
Like (2)
ambergarth8
ambergarth8
09 December 2015
Really, if you ones had some probs with particular appl of this company doesn't mean that all other products are no worthy.
Like (1)
Penguirl
Penguirl
09 December 2015
Astroturfing is a problem with the company. "Similar Software" manipulation is a problem with the company. They have used shady practices in promoting their product and that is a problem that goes to the core of their business model, hence I do not want anything to do with any of their software.
Like (1)
quailsummit
09 October 2015
It's a very good media player, but is it possible to play two different screens at the same time? If i try to open another file, it just replaces the existing window. Maybe, pro has this feature. Thanks for reading my review!
Like (1)
Version 6.0
1 answer(s)
Eltima-Software
Eltima-Software
16 October 2015
Hi! Thanks for your comment. Current version of Elmedia Player can’t play 2 files simultaneously in different screens.
Like
fostersjack47
16 September 2015
For me it is quite complicated. It has too many options I don't even need. So, I would like to get something more simple.... I like the app as a tool, but I use it not very often. I don't need the whole of this. I put 4 star because hadn't find any bugs.
Like (2)
Version 6.0
dgibiuh
14 September 2015
Have been using Elmedia Pro since 2011 and am very satisfied.
Like (2)
Version 6.0
nitroxpro
12 September 2015
I've been using Elmedia Player Pro for quite a while and find it an easy to use and superbly stable piece of software. It easily wins five stars from me.
Like
Version 6.0
GavinL6381
09 September 2015
Never had any problems playing any files with this. Purchased the pro version to download videos and does a great job.
Like
Version 6.0
tbala
07 September 2015
it is close to one year, i have already downloaded 500 GB plus downloads not even onetime any error, now with advanced feature i need to buy additional hard disk now i can use various features, as marketing people use now a days lot of video in their marketing materials and i am sure this software will help in many ways, creativity is left to one to take advantage of! all the best !!
Like (1)
Version 6.0
JamesHarrisPhoto
31 August 2015
All of these reviews that are 5 stars are fake. And if you look at some of these people's review history, they ONLY review Eltima products. You would think that someone would be clever enough to throw in a 4-star review to make it not look so fake, but they don't. They're just trolling for a shady company that I won't deal with anymore. Sadly, I've purchased 5 of their products in the past, and have had the misfortunes of having to deal with their tech support, which was rude and condescending when I questioned them on they're ridiculous copy-protection schemes. And for software that's mediocre at best.
Like (2)
Version 6.0
2 answer(s)
Eltima
Eltima
01 September 2015
JamesHarrisPhoto, we wouldn't be in software business 15 years if we were out to scam customers or deceive them. Kindly give us a chance to make things right. Tell us exactly what happened and provide a detailed description of the problem you encountered. Thank you!
Like (4)
ChristopherAnderton
ChristopherAnderton
20 November 2015
Well, you could metion the use of the Appstatico analytics tool (”Know how your product is used, frequency and duration of usage sessions, what features are used most and what features are not so evident to your users”), breaking serveral License terms of in compontents used, multiple commenters using a pattern in their usernames and reviews and also bought ”reviews” following the same pattern as compani
es like ”Wondershare”, earlier they installed a kext file causing problems. Now they use dynamiclibraries instead as i understand, that i need to analyze.

Being in the software business 15 years don't say anything. Look at booth MacUpdate (fresh news btw), Sourceforge and Download.com adding adware to download installers.
Like (1)
Fightingcat
30 August 2015
Today I launched Elmedia Pro and noticed, that Elmedia has released now Version 6. Great!
But the big surprise... They want money again for that upgrade. In a regular way, this would be ok, but it's now the third time in 2 years, that they want money from me for a new version.

I bought Version 3 in March 2014, than I pay the upgrade in March 15 and now we have Aug. 2015 and I need to pay again after only 5 month's? Only customers who bought it on 27. Aug. (2015??????) get a free upgrade.

Sorry guys, that's stupid. I trust them in the past, but I know companies like this from the past like Aquafadas (Pulpmotion) or Metakine (DVDRemaster). They also take money again and again around each year and promised some amazing new features and then they drop the support from one to another day.

Oh, and just as a tip... Never.... NEVER bought this software for the full price. I noticed also, that they often drop the price rapidly. After I bought the last upgrade for around 10$ they sold it for 5$ for all interested customers. Near the same I noticed around Folx, a Download-Manager for Mac from this company.

It's sad to say that around this Software, because it's a good and simple one to download really easy videos from the web.

Well... The end of this story... Pls. don't support this company. Spend your money better to small developers, who have more heart around developing. For example... Try Videobox from http://www.tastyapps.com. I have this since 2012. The three dev's deliver all updates for free since I bought it.

Like (1)
Version 5.2
4 answer(s)
Eltima
Eltima
31 August 2015
Fightingcat, all minor updates are free, only major upgrades are paid. The upgrade message should have informed you that it's a paid upgrade. Please, email us at support@eltima.com (don't forget to include your license key for Elmedia Player) and we will do our best to help.
Like
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
31 August 2015
Dear Eltima,
IMPORTANT: Offer a download link for the PREVIOUS version for people caught installing major upgrades without realizing they've lost their license.

I scoured your website for a way to obtain v5.2, the previous version. It was impossible. That's not good for your customers. I consider it detrimental to your customers and wonder if it is deliberate. Having to write your support staff to get back a previous version is not acceptable. IOW: Please be friendly to your customers.
Like (1)
Eltima
Eltima
31 August 2015
Derekcurrie, I can see your point however, we encourage all customers to stay current with the latest versions of our software and therefore a product version hosting and support are discontinued right after the release of the new version that succeeds it. Besides, there's no guarantee obsolete versions will work properly after installing Mac OS X upgrades or else.

We will certainly take all your comments into consideration and, please do not hesitate to contact our friendly support team . They will be happy to assist you with all matters relating to our software.
Like (1)
ChristopherAnderton
ChristopherAnderton
20 November 2015
Hey, Eltima, can you please send me the source code of the player or make it available so you are complying to to some of the licenses you are using in the app?
Like (1)
Derekcurrie
28 August 2015
Version 6.0 (710) is now downloading. NOTE: This is a PAID UPGRADE. The previous version before the upgrade was v5.2.
Like
Version 5.2
Nynyawk
14 August 2015
I thought "the 'free" version was good...Pro is great.
Like
Version 5.2
2 answer(s)
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
31 August 2015
You joined MacUpdate the very day you wrote this 5-star review, and it's the only review you've done. Curious, what your job title at Eltima?
Like (1)
Franco-Borgo
Franco-Borgo
28 October 2015
Bell (In Canada) was just fine $1.25-million for inflating its own app scores.
Thanks you To JamesHarrisPhoto to let us know about the False rating and the "Upgrade" policy.
Like
levent-cakmur
05 August 2015
I think there is not a better media player on the market to my taste
Like
Version 5.2
Lmoi
31 July 2015
Great app. Powerful, useful, and easu to use.
Like
Version 5.2
avotoussaint
23 July 2015
I'm using Elmedia Player since 2011 and I can tell you that it's a great software. I have never been disappointed and always received prompt technical support from their team any time when in need.
Like
Version 5.2
Andrew-ZA
21 July 2015
I've used various media players and for my usage requirements the Pro version of Elmedia Player is great. I mostly use the browser view to download media (video, audio and images mostly) from websites and the functionality is second to none.
Like
Version 5.2
fleeger2000
21 July 2015
I travel a lot and needed a way to be able to watch videos offline. Elmedia has preformed extremely well for this. Really impressed by the blazing speeds and quality video results.
Like
Version 5.2
chillersb
16 July 2015
I am using Elmedia Player as my default player on my Mac. It's great. It's flawlessly played everything I've asked it to. Their support is exceptional...at all levels.
Like
Version 5.2
1 answer(s)
ABC123YouAndMe
ABC123YouAndMe
18 July 2015
Another fake "review"? That and no https makes it harder and harder for me to keep using MacUpdate.
Like (2)
dbenji83
23 June 2015
Probably the best video player ever. The Pro version is not just a player but has a lot of cool features, like the possibility of downloading videos from YouTube. Strongly suggested. Dario
Like
Version 5.2
eightlake
19 June 2015
Elmedia Player Pro application is great for downloading video. Have been using it for 4 years now. Especially good for YouTube video's.
Like
Version 5.2
nayacj
19 June 2015
I find Elemedia Pro very useful as I can download videos from Youtube or any other websites free of hassles. I can download my favorite videos at places where wifi works and enjoy viewing them later thus save my data usage of my mobile phone. It's a smart way of saving my phone bill.
Like
Version 5.2
nayacj
19 June 2015
I find Elemedia Pro very useful as I can download videos from Youtube or any other websites free of hassles. I can download my favorite videos at places where wifi works and enjoy viewing them later thus save my data usage of my mobile phone. It's a smart way of saving my phone bill.
Like
Version 5.2
nayacj
19 June 2015
I find Elemedia Pro very useful as I can download videos from Youtube or any other websites free of hassles. I can download my favorite videos at places where wifi works and enjoy viewing them later thus save my data usage of my mobile phone. It's a smart way of saving my phone bill.
Like
Version 5.2
nayacj
19 June 2015
I find Elemedia Pro very useful as I can download videos from Youtube or any other websites free of hassles. I can download my favorite videos at places where wifi works and enjoy viewing them later thus save my data usage of my mobile phone. It's a smart way of saving my phone bill.
Like
Version 5.2
M1che1
16 June 2015
I'am using Elmedia Player PRO since 2011. Great app and premium after sales service! (Michel Martineau)
Like
Version 5.2