Back to MilkyWay page
MilkyWay free download for Mac

MilkyWay Reviews

1.9b
28 January 2008

View image files directly in Finder.

Arrow
29 January 2008

Most helpful

Works great under Tiger![PPC] Saves me quite a bit of time when sorting thru image files.Great little app for us older mac users.
Like (3)
Version 1.9b

Read 13 MilkyWay User Reviews

Rate this app:

Aargl
15 December 2009
A really good alternative to Quicklook for those who need to stay Tiger. Trick: put it in the window toolbar, so it doesn't have to run all the time, if you don't use it permanently. (and compared to the price of Leopard, no competition! ;-D)
Like
Version 1.9b
Dalahast
29 January 2008
I use Quick Look. ^_^ Being at the Leopard premier and standing in line outside the store for two hours was one of the BEST THINGS I'VE EVER DONE.
Like
Version 1.9b
Arrow
29 January 2008
Works great under Tiger![PPC] Saves me quite a bit of time when sorting thru image files.Great little app for us older mac users.
Like (3)
Version 1.9b
Itty
28 January 2008
Leopard makes this obsolete.
Like
Version 1.9b
2 answer(s)
Akrobat
Akrobat
29 January 2008
Yes ITTY... and if you don't have Leopard? What then?
Like (1)
Version 1.9b
pedrotaquelim
pedrotaquelim
29 January 2008
Please, think before posting a comment like that... I don't have Leopard. And I cannot install it on my G4 450Mhz. thank you.
Like (1)
Version 1.9b
Jagooah
17 February 2007
Excellent app!
Like (2)
Version 1.5.6
Mikelite
12 December 2006
great app. really easy to use, nice functionality. And the developer added a trash button. makes sorting through porn so much easier!
Like (1)
Version 1.5.6
Abbott
03 March 2006
Very nice functionality, but it's got some serious problems: 1. After you've viewed a file with MilkyWay, you can't delete it unless you either use a SUDO deletion process, use TrashIt, logout or restart. Apparently MilkyWay doesn't properly release a file after displaying it. 2. There's no way to control the file types MilkyWay displays; it seems to show anything that QuickTime is capable of. I definitely don't want to view PDFs with MilkyWay, for example, but there's no way to stop it. Also, it would be very handy to have an option to not display a file when you click on it. For example: Command-Click to view, or Command-click to just touch the file without viewing it. Good start to a nice thought, though!
Like
Version 1.5.6
1 answer(s)
Magosilvan
Magosilvan
02 April 2007
I too truly like this app, but I've just discovered a little problem: if you try to empty the trash containing an image previewed with MilkyWay, the finder refuses to do this saying there is a file in use. It's a little thing if the file is on the main HD, but not if the file is on an external HD you want to unmount. In this case you must first close MilkyWay, then empty the trash, expell the HD and reopen MilkyWay. This not to criticize, but only to offer a solution to the weird problem.
Like
Version 1.5.6
Katabios
08 February 2006
simply amazing.... also better with a shorcut!
Like
Version 1.5.6
Eye-of-horus
28 January 2006
Users of this app might compare it with QuickImageCM, a very useful 2D viewer. Free and available on MacUpdate. As a CM it operates in background, right mouse click brings popup screen to launch viewer on selected image files. For example, it handles: 1. multiple pdf files, showing 1st page of each. Highlight all or only the files you want to review. 2. can save image files in different formats. I use jpeg to psd frequently 3. has basic image handling and image effects, keyboard shortcuts (eg trash)
Like
Version 1.5.2
Zeus1
23 January 2006
Not only is Milky Way a fast and easy way to review Your photos, but when You click on a multi-page pdf file, it shows the first page of this file in its window, thereby enabling fast recognition of what the pdf is about. Just try this on a folder with 100+ pdf files with cryptic names... Nice work...and free!!!
Like
Version 1.4
Ned-Anderson
22 January 2006
It would be great if this could run in the background or in invisible mode. That way it could be added to the login items and become a permanent feature of the OS without having to start the application.
Like
Version 1.4
2 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
22 January 2006
You might want to try QuickImageCM. It's a Contextual Menu Item and as such it is always available. It's the first software of its kind and likely the best. I've used it since its first release and never had a problem with it and it's free as well.
Like
Version 1.4
Strongmantim
Strongmantim
22 January 2006
In the mean time, there are a couple utilities like you are describing that I have used in the past: PicturePopProCM http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/12326 (Not the most intuitive interface, but works well with Tiger) QuickPlayCM http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/13227 (More user-friendly, but uses old brushed metal. No updates in over a year)
Like
Version 1.4
Patoche2005
22 December 2005
I like this new version 1.1.1 a lot. much faster on my PM bipro 1.42. No more pop-up sound editable in the prefs. Thanks a lot for this very usefull app. Patrick
Like
Version 1.1.1
Jedik
22 December 2005
Interesting... What about a zoom in/out feature using shortcuts and/or the mouse scroll wheel? ;)
Like
Version 1.1.1
2 answer(s)
Jetfiredx
Jetfiredx
22 December 2005
Neat idea. Reacts a little slow, but that could be worked on. Preferences window didn't close when I selected OKAY like I expected it to... just had to press the close button in the corner. One thing I would like to see would be an option for it to run in the menu bar rather than in the dock. (toggle in prefs maybe?) Good work though.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Zavior54
Zavior54
26 December 2008
no .gif animations???
Like
Version 1.9b