Back to Apple Broadband Tuner page
Apple Broadband Tuner free download for Mac

Apple Broadband Tuner Reviews

1.0
29 November 2005

Increases TCP send & receive buffers for faster internet.

Mok-in-touch™
09 June 2006

Most helpful

It works for me. I'm on cable. It increases about 40% of speed. BroadbandOptimizer didn't do the job, but this does. Try it for yourself with this slow website in the world: tagworld.com It used to take up to 165 seconds to load. I am very picky on internet speed, but I'm very, very happy with this Apple Broadband Tuner 1.0
Like (1)
Version 1.0

Read 24 Apple Broadband Tuner User Reviews

Rate this app:

Adguy
27 January 2009
Just installed BroadbandTuner 1.0. It definitely added speed but I have noticed a little quirkiness on my desktop. ICONS disappear for a second and appear again. Running OSX 10.4.11. Anyone notice this? Any advice?
Like
Version 1.0
Mok-in-touch™
09 June 2006
It works for me. I'm on cable. It increases about 40% of speed. BroadbandOptimizer didn't do the job, but this does. Try it for yourself with this slow website in the world: tagworld.com It used to take up to 165 seconds to load. I am very picky on internet speed, but I'm very, very happy with this Apple Broadband Tuner 1.0
Like (1)
Version 1.0
Marc-Opas
30 November 2005
Slowed my cable connection dramatically. Use Xupport to optimize the settings for Cable Modem or DSL. Apple's Broadband Tuner is really for super high speed connections, like Verizon fios, not cable or DSL.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Saggis
Saggis
02 December 2005
Yeah I got the same thing but I'm not gonna complain cause Apple said 5mb/s or up so we can't blame them good on them for providing this :D Shot again Apple
Like
Version 1.0
Airel
30 November 2005
I tried this on my G5 connected to cable modem and got a DECREASE in speed. Fortunately it comes with an uninstaller. Be sure to have a way to clock your upload and download speeds, so you can check this program.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Nanovanman
Nanovanman
15 November 2006
Where did you find the BroadbandTuner uninstall?
Like
Version 1.0
Johnny-Rocket
29 November 2005
to FLASH1296's comment "Obviously, one needs to rerun this installer EVERY time the O S is reinstalled." Well, duh. Everything needs to be reinstalled if you reinstall the OS. Also, I've used Maintain for a long time now. In the current version you can either set the Net Speed Up to: Default, Increase Values [which only doubles, no triple or quadruple], or Pick your own. It is a good program but once you reboot, those values must be set again. Apple Broadband Tuner permanently sets the values. ABT is a 1.0 so I'm sure it's feature set will expand in future releases. [at least I home it does!]
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Shawnyq
Shawnyq
29 November 2005
It's "hope", duh.
Like
Version 1.0
Flash1296
29 November 2005
Obviously, one needs to rerun this installer EVERY time the O S is reinstalled. There are numerous freeware and shareware applications that willl perform this function; with most of them doing a FAR BETTER job. Try freeware "maintain" [available here at MacUpdate.com]. What makes it better, you muse? Try this: Not only does it modify more internet connection parameters, (see below); but it offers you TWO separate options. Either simply double everything or selectively double, triple, quadruple whatever parameters you select; e.g. "sendspace", etc. I STRONGLY suggest trying "maintain" The improvement in your internet connection is but one of many benefits available employing "maintain." net.inet.tcp.mssdflt: 512 net.inet.tcp.newreno: 0 net.inet.tcp.rfc1323: 1 net.inet.tcp.sendspace: 131072 net.inet.tcp.recvspace: 358400 kern.ipc.maxsockbuf: 512000 net.inet.tcp.delayed_ack: 1 net.inet.udp.recvspace: 42080 net.inet.udp.maxdgram: 9216 net.local.stream.recvspace: 8192 net.local.stream.sendspace: 8192 kern.ipc.somaxconn: 128 -> 512 net.inet.tcp.newreno: 0 -> 1 net.inet.tcp.mssdflt: 512 -> 1460 net.inet.tcp.sendspace: 131072 -> 98304 net.inet.tcp.recvspace: 358400 -> 98304 kern.ipc.maxsockbuf: 512000 -> 1048576 net.inet.tcp.delayed_ack: 1 -> 0 net.inet.udp.recvspace: 42080 -> 98304 net.inet.udp.maxdgram: 9216 -> 57344 net.local.stream.recvspace: 8192 -> 98304 net.local.stream.sendspace: 8192 -> 98304 net.inet.tcp.rfc1323: 1 -> 1 net.inet.tcp.rfc1644: 0 -> 1
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Maxruehl
Maxruehl
29 November 2005
Can't find anything called simply "Maintain". Are you talking about maintain1 7.5_PRO?
Like
Version 1.0
Virtualelvis
29 November 2005
definitely feels faster... nice app thanks
Like
Version 1.0
anonymous-gopher-3788
29 November 2005
Works well with my DSL connection. No issues whatsoever.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
29 November 2005
g4 450 OS X 10.4.3 620 KB/s This Software makes my "feeled" surfing faster... Using "BroadbandOptimizer 1.5" for years on 10.3.9 but for Tiger this App is better...
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
29 November 2005
I installed it and have had no problems. Plus I have seen an increase in speed. I am running Tiger and did not have to re-install it from scratch as mentioned above.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
29 November 2005
dear fellow mac users this thing just blew up my brandnew poerbook 17-inch. i had to reinstall tiger from scratch. be cautious to back up your drive or better, clone it before trying out.
Like
Version 1.0
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 November 2005
bollocks
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 November 2005
the politeness man is on strike again. anonymous, what sort of education do you have? oxford, cambridge? i guess it it more the garbage academy of staten island...
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 November 2005
Its technically IMPOSSIBLE for this to have caused you to re-install Tiger from scratch. Are you sure you're not using a Dell?
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
29 November 2005
To uninstall just launch BroadbandTuner.mpkg again and it will uninstall the startup script and revert your system to the default settings. If you want to be sure of this, when you are almost at the end of the installation process, on the "Installation Type" step, click the "Customize" button and you will see that this time the installer will "install" the "Broadband Tuner Uninstaller" package.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
29 November 2005
Poor product description. "...take full advantage" without cofiguration option. Sluggish UnInstall process...
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
29 November 2005
I wasn't expecting much, but it's certainly improved the speed of web browsing in Safari. Haven't done any benchmarking, but I've found the biggest difference is with sites that Safari used to 'pause' for a moment on before loading.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
29 November 2005
Where is the optional uninstaller ?
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
UmarOMC
UmarOMC
29 November 2005
It's the installer/uninstaller. After installation you may have to click "Customize" and select "uninstall"...
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
29 November 2005
Download speed seems the same within a few k but the viewing of pages in safari seems to have been given a boost, seems much faster and more responsive. Nice Job Apple.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
29 November 2005
This can be done on any version of OS X with the commandline, or with various third party applications. Take a look at applications such as onyx, tinkertool etc
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
29 November 2005
Is it possible to use a similar tweak in 10.2?
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
29 November 2005
After installing this Safari is noticeabley faster at loading websites. Whatever it's done I like it! My maximum download speed hasn't been affected though but then I am only using 1Mbit instead of the >5Mbit recommended. Full marks for Apple!
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
29 November 2005
no difference in the netherlands with a planet adsl comfort line (3200 down). i'm being upgraded to 6000, so i might benefit from it then. i did 4 speeddownload test at speedtest.nl for each situation, so a total of 8 tests. no real differences.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
29 November 2005
Where does the uninstaller go?
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
29 November 2005
Seriously, it works. I was skeptical, downloaded it... Check dslreports.com My 3.2Mbit downstream is now a 5.2Mbit down. Web browsing and file sharing are noticeably faster now. Very simple install, no resatrt required. Highly recommend. -9mm (ouT)
Like
Version 1.0
Jay
29 November 2005
I installed this on my panther and wow the results showed taking a speed test in a server across the us. i doubled my speed in uploading and downloading! Note to Panther Users: right click on BroadbandTuner.mpkg and go to Contents -> Packages. Drag those 2 packages to your desktop. Run The installer to install and the uninstaller to remove. seems Apple put a system checker on the Main installer but forgot to on the others
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
29 November 2005
I did a bandwidth test before and I was getting 220k/sec. After the install of this nifty little tool I am getting 277k/sec. Safari seems snappier. Worked great for me. Thanks Apple!
Like
Version 1.0
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 November 2005
Sorry, but that snappier claim could not be any more delusional. Especially the small amount of increase that you have. Most people have received a decrease in speed.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 November 2005
The use of the word "delusional" is somewhat inappropriate and unfair, don't you think? An increase in speed is an increase in speed - that reviewer was just reporting his/her own experience. There's nothing more depressing than people who just use MacUpdate to crap on everything.
Like
Version 1.0
Saints1
Saints1
29 November 2005
I am so glad that you are sitting here with me and can tell exactly what this did to the performance of my computer. Anyway, I was looking at the storage speeds. My actual increase in communications speed went from 1.7MB/sec to 2.3MB/sec.
Like
Version 1.0