Back to Xee³ page
Xee³ free download for Mac

Xee³ Reviews3.5.3

05 October 2017

Image viewer and browser.

How would you rate Xee³?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
pedrwb1
pedrwb1
Oct 5 2020
3.5.3
0.0
Oct 5 2020
0.0
Version: 3.5.3
Very poor. I bought this to help catalogue my pictures but I use Affinity to edit my photos (I'm on a Mac) and Xee cannot recognise any Affinity edited pictures so cannot include them. I have wasted my money. Also I couldn't get it to display pictures in thumbnail form for quick looking.
csajok
csajok
Nov 11 2019
3.5.3
2.0
Nov 11 2019
2.0
Version: 3.5.3
It became very frustrating, almost useless!
Zx81
Zx81
Feb 21 2016
3.5.1
2.0
Feb 21 2016
2.0
Version: 3.5.1
I just purchased V3 of Xee but I am very disappointed ; it is actually very slow to load and read images.
The old free V2 of Xee is much faster.
This issue has been reported for quite a while to the dev. on his Bitbucket project (since 2013) but has not been fixed.
I think I wasted $3.99.
Lusmu
Lusmu
Nov 20 2015
3.5.1
3.0
Nov 20 2015
3.0
Version: 3.5.1
I like the app, but why does it contact Paddle when launching?
kims955
kims955
Mar 10 2015
3.4
3.0
Mar 10 2015
3.0
Version: 3.4
I like this app, it's very good! I would like it much more if there were "folder watch and show newest image" as Eye-fi support., It would be truly great!
Ulyssesric
Ulyssesric
Jan 27 2015
3.4
3.0
Jan 27 2015
3.0
Version: 3.4
The UI design is good, and feature set is sufficient for a image viewer, but the performance is astonishing slow. I've tried all kind of image viewers including ViewIt, JView, LiliView, Photo+ and built-in quick view, and I can say Xee is the slowest among them all.
Kunta-Kinte
Kunta-Kinte
Oct 26 2014
3.4
0.0
Oct 26 2014
0.0
Version: 3.4
I try each new version in hope that it will be what it used to be... Sorry to say, but the old version Xee 2.2 is a way way better app, it's quick, functional, and it does what it's supposed to do, show images. Luckily it still works on Yosemite and it's free. OK, now you can switch off discrete graphics, but Mac OS X full screen animation is really not something you want to see every time you open an image file... Old version has immediate fullscreen, no fuss whatsoever... Who cares about sharing features, OS has them anyway... I would like to see a fullscreen viewer that is fast, efficient, has info on the image file at hand (see FastStone Viewer on windows for that) and parses image files inside the folder (that is working OK so far) so that You can open a single file in a folder in the fullscreen fast and use keyboard to go fdw back, zoom in and out and exit with esc, and that is for international keyboards. Thanks for understanding...
Robk
Robk
Feb 23 2014
3.3
4.0
Feb 23 2014
4.0
Version: 3.3
I really like Xee. It offers all the features I need and want in an image viewer. But I miss the toolbar that exists in the free open source version (ver 2.2). If the toolbar get added back to version 3, I would give it 5 stars.
Globalmouser
Globalmouser
Nov 15 2013
3.3
5.0
Nov 15 2013
5.0
Version: 3.3
Great way to quickly browse a collection of images. Cheap and beautifully simple. Only improvement I can suggest is some form of in app software update.
leoofborg
leoofborg
Nov 14 2013
3.3
5.0
Nov 14 2013
5.0
Version: 3.3
Aw, man... Xee 3.3 non-MAS version doesn't seem to be properly codesigned. "The Application is damaged..." I've had all previous Paddle-bought builds running... just not this one. Hopefully by the time everyone reads this the issue is resolved.
Ianonline
Ianonline
Oct 12 2013
3.1.1
0.0
Oct 12 2013
0.0
Version: 3.1.1
3.1.1 still crashes and won't open. Looks like it might be the license popup that's making it crash. I can't run this on 10.9 GM, only the MAS version will work.
BillJones2623
BillJones2623
Sep 11 2013
3.1
0.0
Sep 11 2013
0.0
Version: 3.1
I have now downloaded this 3 times and it still won't open. What's up?
phecasemanl3850
phecasemanl3850
Aug 6 2013
3.0.6
0.5
Aug 6 2013
0.5
Version: 3.0.6
Useless without the Toolbar. Reuse the free version.
Dougster
Dougster
Jun 10 2013
3.0.4
3.5
Jun 10 2013
3.5
Version: 3.0.4
PLEASE bring back the toolbar! Thank you.
wickedsp1d3r
wickedsp1d3r
Jun 10 2013
3.0.4
0.0
Jun 10 2013
0.0
Version: 3.0.4
Could you add red light closing option? Thank you.
mwab
mwab
Jun 9 2013
3.0.1
0.0
Jun 9 2013
0.0
Version: 3.0.1
I would love to support Xee. But, who is Paddle, and why are they not accepting PayPal. I really don’t like to give my credit card information out to a company that I’m not familiar with. So I guess I’ll have to do without a very good program that I would very much like to buy.
timmerk
timmerk
Jun 9 2013
3.0.1
0.0
Jun 9 2013
0.0
Version: 3.0.1
Is it possible to make Xee not use the dedicated GPA on MacBook Pros? It's killing my battery life.
leoofborg
leoofborg
Jun 8 2013
3.0
5.0
Jun 8 2013
5.0
Version: 3.0
Xee3, one word. WOW. A few more. Magic Mouse or trackpad scrolling. A few more. All with the same feature set you loved with Xee. Support this dev, folks... give up Starbucks for ONE DAY.
Aetnaria
Aetnaria
Jun 1 2013
2.2
5.0
Jun 1 2013
5.0
Version: 2.2
I wanted to examine a large folder of very tiny (8x8) pixel images to compare name and appearance, without having to zoom in every single time I moved to the next image. Within a minute of opening the program I found how and proceeded to do exactly that.
madjeff
madjeff
Feb 10 2013
2.2
5.0
Feb 10 2013
5.0
Version: 2.2
Fabulous...Works perfectly on my new Macbook Pro with Mountain Lion. Can't understand why Apple don't incorporate a simple and obvious feature like this.Many thanks folks!
Portmantoe
Portmantoe
Oct 20 2012
2.2
5.0
Oct 20 2012
5.0
Version: 2.2
This is a fantastic app for previewing images. It's intuitive, fast, and a 100X better than the native Mac application. It should be an essential Mac app along with 1Password, PopClip, Finder, etc. Download and never look back.
Qurious
Qurious
Sep 29 2012
2.2
4.5
Sep 29 2012
4.5
Version: 2.2
Was searching for something to page through a foto folder like on Windows.
Solvseus
Solvseus
Jul 29 2012
2.2
4.0
Jul 29 2012
4.0
Version: 2.2
Love the app. Almost as good as IrfanView on the PC, and free as well. Small problem in Mountain Lion though. When I open an image, with this set as the default app to open images, it brings up the Open window as if you were just opening the app by itself. Never used to do that. Tried uninstalling in AppDelete and reinstalling, but it's still doing the same thing. Weird.
darkan9el
darkan9el
Jun 25 2012
2.2
5.0
Jun 25 2012
5.0
Version: 2.2
Awesome app, been looking for a while for an app that will display images at the correct size i.e. 100% and also shows the dimensions of that image. Things like icons, small images for websites etc. Xee has now replaced preview as my default image viewer.
Guest
Guest
Jun 14 2012
2.2
0.0
Jun 14 2012
0.0
Version: 2.2
if you want to view pixel art correctly (no anti-aliasing, no tone change on the original color palette and no extra pixels when zooming), you need xee.
sutoro
sutoro
Jun 12 2012
2.2
4.0
Jun 12 2012
4.0
Version: 2.2
Good alarm app!
ztheil
ztheil
Jun 12 2012
2.2
5.0
Jun 12 2012
5.0
Version: 2.2
Xee just does what it suppose to do. Why does Xee not available in App Store....cant even understand.
Surfspirit
Surfspirit
May 3 2012
2.2
4.5
May 3 2012
4.5
Version: 2.2
How can a 5 MB app (intel 32 bit only code) can be so much faster and compatible than Apple Aperture and Preview, Apple Aperture can't even read my Fujifilm RAW, I was surprised to see this app flawless open the RAF file!!! I just wish it had pdf support so I can never open Preview again..!!!!
pelemac
pelemac
Apr 8 2012
2.2
5.0
Apr 8 2012
5.0
Version: 2.2
Having a household rapidly filling up with iPhones and iPads, I recently switched from PC to Mac in hopes that I would be better placed to manage all these Apple devices. My expectations have been fulfilled except for one important aspect, photo management. I find iPhoto to be awkward to use and subject to frequent crashes. What I wanted for photo management was something fast and simple, like VuePrint for the PC. With Xee I have found it. Easy to install, intuitive to use, it's what I need to organize my photos into folders and quickly browse through them to decide what to keep, which ones need editing, and what I want to post. It runs on my MacBook Pro with no glitches whatsoever. Highly recommended for the user with uncomplicated needs.
parasitius
parasitius
Jan 24 2012
2.2
2.0
Jan 24 2012
2.0
Version: 2.2
Have had it about an hour -- absolute nightmare. So far one straight up crash, and have had to kill it about 10 times. My use case? Go through one directory of fresh photos from my 10MP camera, nothing special. I randomly rotate and losslessly save and delete along the way. At some point it seems using these two operations causes something horrible to happen and it will start eating all CPU and images will take about 15 seconds to load line-by-line in slow motion. God forbid what will happen if you hit space bar when the rotate-image lossless save operation hasn't yet finished... This software has never been tested in my opinion.
Uniquepito
Uniquepito
Jan 6 2012
2.2
5.0
Jan 6 2012
5.0
Version: 2.2
Amazing 99% replacement for irfanview! Great app. thankx!
f-rol-orange-fr1926
f-rol-orange-fr1926
Nov 3 2011
2.2
4.0
Nov 3 2011
4.0
Version: 2.2
Hi, I like Xee, but the only problem for me is that I cannot print in Xee. I have to open Aperture for easy print. That is the reason i looked for another app. and I found exactly what I was looking for, JUSTLOOKING. And FREE as well. Thank you to the developer of Xee, but now for me, thank you very, very much to the developer of Justlooking. Easy, nice, simple, wonderfull ! Thank you for free ! F Rol (France)
Uncle-zed
Uncle-zed
Oct 27 2011
2.2
3.5
Oct 27 2011
3.5
Version: 2.2
Please add 2 things: 1.thumbnail strip/viewer (sth. simple on the bottom or side with ability to swith off) 2. some kind of "save the image rotation". it is so frustraiting when wathing un-rotated fotos you have to rotate it every tame you go to the same single image.
wickedsp1d3r
wickedsp1d3r
Sep 30 2011
2.2
0.0
Sep 30 2011
0.0
Version: 2.2
I would like to see an option to close the window after clicking the close button. Other than that, fantastic!
Dougster
Dougster
Sep 22 2011
2.2
3.5
Sep 22 2011
3.5
Version: 2.2
Apple's Preview is slow at opening jpegs and tiffs,on my iMac running Lion, so I needed a replacement, and I have found it in Xee. What brilliant software, and so fast at opening images.Bye,Bye Preview.......you won't be missed.
Tristan-Nguyen
Tristan-Nguyen
Aug 2 2011
2.2
5.0
Aug 2 2011
5.0
Version: 2.2
Great App, run Smooth on my Mac
bluez3023
bluez3023
Jul 26 2011
2.2
4.5
Jul 26 2011
4.5
Version: 2.2
Great software and the only image viewer I use, the same as finder sort could be a bit more stable, and a print/edit option would be nice.
friautz
friautz
Jul 24 2011
2.2
5.0
Jul 24 2011
5.0
Version: 2.2
Beats Preview by miles but don't know how to make it my default picture viewer...
EndoLab
EndoLab
Jun 8 2011
2.2
5.0
Jun 8 2011
5.0
Version: 2.2
Wow ! That's very powerful, great software !
EndoLab
EndoLab
Jun 8 2011
2.2
5.0
Jun 8 2011
5.0
Version: 2.2
Wow ! That's very powerful, great software !
mirkosch
mirkosch
May 29 2011
2.2
4.5
May 29 2011
4.5
Version: 2.2
wonderfull app!!! finally scroll in folder function, animated GIF playing, TIFF multilayer support (and exporting)!! interface very customizable! just "Do not resize when using toolbar" function seems not to work.. or I don't get it..
PhilippBerndt
PhilippBerndt
Apr 2 2011
2.1.1
4.5
Apr 2 2011
4.5
Version: 2.1.1
Best application for viewing images on your mac, this beats Apples QuickView and Preview by FAR, however it’s missing some features that if were to be integrated it would be even better, i would love to see PDF support, shortcuts and MacBook gestures.
Doug-Engelbart
Doug-Engelbart
Mar 15 2011
2.1.1
5.0
Mar 15 2011
5.0
Version: 2.1.1
Best, fastest, easiest PicViewer so far. Remembers the favourite window size and position when set in preferences and can crop, play, rename, move, delete etc.pp. Much better than Apple's QuickView. Just one feature request: I'm missing a button/shortcut (e.g. ctr-sft-1 to ctr-sft-8) to choose a pic's Finder label color (1–8) in Xee. Please...^^
xati-ba
xati-ba
Mar 5 2011
2.1.1
5.0
Mar 5 2011
5.0
Version: 2.1.1
Speedy and smooth replacement of the inbuilt Preview.
MaoYL
MaoYL
Jan 14 2011
2.1.1
0.0
Jan 14 2011
0.0
Version: 2.1.1
Very good replacement app for viewing images (compared to the preview/quicklook combination). To make the user experience better, I would suggest toolbar buttons for fullscreen and slideshow, and possibly larger buttons at bottom center (like quicklook, windows image gallery, etc) And maybe even smooth transition between images in a slideshow (crossfade transition).
Tristan-Nguyen
Tristan-Nguyen
Dec 26 2010
2.1.1
5.0
Dec 26 2010
5.0
Version: 2.1.1
Very useful for me, better than Preview on Mac
Sofy
Sofy
Aug 11 2010
2.1.1
0.0
Aug 11 2010
0.0
Version: 2.1.1
i is a good one. i like it but it works only on Mac OS that is not commonly used. i try ( image viewer ) program that works on windows as well and is easy and powerful with all of functions done here.i found it on site: ( FILEJUNCTION.COM )
Guest
Guest
Jun 4 2010
2.1.1
0.0
Jun 4 2010
0.0
Version: 2.1.1
A VERY ANNOYING PROBLEM WITH THE RENAMING FUNCTION For example, if you browse 200 images and got to a photo whose name start with "T" and you give it a new name starting with "A", the application will take you right to the beginning. Then, you will have to go forward by one picture at a time until getting to where you were before.
Chinese-ys
Chinese-ys
Feb 3 2010
2.1.1
0.0
Feb 3 2010
0.0
Version: 2.1.1
Why the print feature is not included? I do not think no one wants to use Xee to print and I would thing print function is pretty much the basic one. I just can not figure out why it is not there. Anyone can help?
Tubo
Tubo
Jan 25 2010
2.1.1
5.0
Jan 25 2010
5.0
Version: 2.1.1
This is a very fast and convenient viewer. Very well done - I don't know if this app does all what you need, but everybody should try it. And - did you look for the capability of 'Losslessy rotate and crop JPEG images. This lets you edit your digital photographs without losing quality by re-compressing them like most other editors do.'?? Yes - it is from the description of this program. And it's FAST. Do this with GraphicConverter. 1000 photos to turn 90 degrees counterclockwise? You'll die before... Thank you VERY much.