Back to Chat Transcript Manager page
Chat Transcript Manager free download for Mac

Chat Transcript Manager Reviews

1.1.3b1
20 April 2009

Indexes all iChat and Adium chat transcripts.

Anonymous
16 November 2005

Most helpful

Hey, I like Unsanity as much as the next guy. It's great to have dedicated and talented OS X developers... but this one leaves me scratching my head. Mainly over the $10 price tag. As a user of Adium I basically have the vast majority of these features built into the program with their log viewer. I can understand iChat users getting some mileage out of this, but it just doesn't seem worth it to me. Anyway, good luck with that Unsanity.
Like
Version 1.0

Read 9 Chat Transcript Manager User Reviews

Rate this app:

Leoofborg
20 April 2009
These reviews just aren't fair. If you chose NOT to 'enhance' Adium or iChat, CTM worked just fine. Maybe a little burp here or there, but it worked fine. To be fair, other 'enhancements' like Textmate input manager stopped working well long ago. This is more about Apple securing the OS and denying such code injection functionality because it's NOT secure. It's good to see Unsanity put some time into CTM. I paid for it long ago and haven't regretted it, having used it in Leopard the whole time.
Like
Version 1.1.3b1
Macd
30 October 2008
It was cool while it worked and Unsanity paid attention to development. Doesn't work in Leopard, and no updated on the horizon it seems...
Like
Version 1.1.1
Cmuviolin
30 April 2007
Adium chats are not showing up anymore... please help.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Chagrins
04 December 2006
Just to let people know, if they didn't already: this version will not update the MacHeist version. If you install this version (1.1.1) over the MacHeist version (1.1), it will revert to the demo.
Like
Version 1.1.1
gryphonent
27 April 2006
Since using VoIP I've found myself chatting through Skype or Gizmo more often. Thing is: Chat Transcript Manager does not list any of the chats conducted through Skype or Gizmo. The app is limited to Adium and iChat. I've been reporting this to the developer when purchasing the application but still, some six months later, haven't received any feedback. CTM is only useful if you're on Adium or iChat... which is unfortunate.
Like
Version 1.0.2
2 answer(s)
Xyzabc
Xyzabc
28 April 2006
from unsanity.org (the unsanity developers' blog): "Meanwhile, Chat Transcript Manager 1.1 is on the horizon, with the support for other IM clients. Right after we're done with the Intel compatible haxies."
Like
Version 1.0.2
Mbhockey
Mbhockey
07 January 2007
Yeah and my refrigerator doesn't fuel my car... Hey idiot, read the description next time.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Reverb
21 December 2005
I ran into two problems when using Chat Transcript Manager for the first time. When I selected chats within the last week, it showed me nothing, even though the chats existed. When I selected "Last 3 Months", CTM locked up with the spinning beachball while it scanned my iChat transcripts. After a force-quit and relaunch, CTM worked fine. The interface is very useable and attractive. You can customize the chat transcript display with its NetNewsWire-like "styles" feature. The "Chat Contains" filter is a neat idea. It makes it easier to find out when you sent a picture or a web link to a friend. If you want a chat log program that looks great and has plenty of features, this is the one. Despite minor glitches, it's a solid program. My own needs are simple so I'm sticking with Logorrhea. It doesn't have as many features, and it only supports iChat, but it's free. It's been around for years and it's very stable.
Like
Version 1.0.1
1 answer(s)
sjk
sjk
22 December 2005
After using both, I preferred ChatMaster to Logorrhea. Now I use neither and instead have iChat logfiles automatically sync into a DEVONthink Pro database, which is a no frills solution that serves my needs.
Like
Version 1.0.1
Anonymous
16 November 2005
Chatalog is better. http://www.freeverse.com/chatalog/
Like
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
Bdlatimer
Bdlatimer
18 January 2006
Actually, Chatalog is much *worse*, if you're interested in not cluttering your email archives with chat transcripts. For simple searching of chats, Chat Transcript Manager, or Logorrhea, fit the bill rather nicely.
Like
Version 1.0.1
Stainboy
Stainboy
11 September 2006
i'd have to agree with bdlatimer. Mail's buggy enough for me as it is...i'd hate to rely on it for my chat transcripts. i'd take a standalone app any day over integration with Apple Mail.
Like
Version 1.0.2
Anonymous
16 November 2005
It's great for those of us who for some strange reason can't seem to stop switching between Adium and iChat. (Adium for coolness and multi-IM support, and iChat for file transfers & A/V). I've paid already.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
16 November 2005
Hey, I like Unsanity as much as the next guy. It's great to have dedicated and talented OS X developers... but this one leaves me scratching my head. Mainly over the $10 price tag. As a user of Adium I basically have the vast majority of these features built into the program with their log viewer. I can understand iChat users getting some mileage out of this, but it just doesn't seem worth it to me. Anyway, good luck with that Unsanity.
Like
Version 1.0