Back to Flock page
Flock free download for Mac

Flock Reviews

3.5.3.4641
02 February 2011

Social Web browser.

Hotfreaks
15 October 2008

Most helpful

Too many designers ruined the soup on this one. Flock is now in the same class as Opera; a good idea gone awry. There are buttons all over the place on this browser, for god knows what. Also, anyone who thinks Flock is faster than Safari is drunk. At this stage of the game, webkit is simply faster than mozilla, end of story. If you are perceiving it otherwise, it is either alcohol or wishful thinking (or both) that is to blame.
Like (5)
Version 2.0b3

Read 71 Flock User Reviews

Rate this app:

Theothertim
13 October 2011
Sad to see Flock go. I liked it a lot and used it quite a bit in the days when it was using the Gecko engine. Then I saw they had switched to WebKit using the Chrome method of separating tabs into their own processes, which I like. But I could never find out if they were sending data to Google or not, so I didn't use it. I didn't need the social networking features, but I loved the interface and the concepts behind Flock, basically a Firefox built on top of Chrome. Hopefully the code gets picked up. The Flock FAQs states that the development team is now working on games for social media and mobile platforms. I wish them well. They obviously have some very skilled developers.
Like
Version 3.5.3.4641
Macmuffin
13 April 2011
By Flock. See you in Internet heaven.
Like
Version 3.5.3.4641
Bruceg
06 December 2010
Version 3.5 is Intel only. Please correct platform information.
Like (1)
Version 3.5.0.4568
Intellect-Inside
17 June 2010
Wow . . . Right as everyone is beginning to transition away from using Flash, the Flock team decide to create user tutorials that require Flash to view. {sarcasm} Really progressive, guys! {/sarcasm}
Like (5)
Version 2.6.0
Xplicit
30 July 2009
Very nice concept indeed. Some shortcomings though. Flock is also a bit slow and the interface could get some improvements. Pity too that there is no adblocking available, so I don't like using many websites. Like Yahoo: their ads are soooo annoying. I mean some advertising is ok. But for instance if the inbox is empty you get a gigantic ad instead. And generally they have 2 like-mad-flickering ads, one directly on top of the other, no space between them. That makes it really difficult to keep your eyes healthy, mine are really hurting now.
Like (2)
Version 2.5.1
Foulger
26 February 2009
So the obvious question now that Safari 4 public beta is out is, are the developers going to change engines? I have used flock loyally since it first came out but the sheer speed of Safari 4, even though it is not visually so inspiring, makes it a no brainer. Hopefully they are revving up the new engine even as we speak!
Like (3)
Version 2.0.3
1 answer(s)
Shock-J
Shock-J
20 May 2009
I can pretty much tell you the answer to that question is no. You don't change rendering engines midstream. If the Flock developers had wanted to use the Webkit engine they would have used it from the beginning. The chose Mozilla's technology for a reason, it's extensibility, something Safari and Webkit lacks.
Like (3)
Version 2.5
Jazzyguy
23 December 2008
Very nice version of this web browser.I have a lot of add ons including AdBlock Plus that does a great job on this browser.In short I like it.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.3
iTruth
15 October 2008
So far the new Flock 2.0 is quite impressive. If you're in to Web 2.0 websites, then Flock is a must have. If you're not, stick with Firefox and save the unnecessary childish remarks. Overall, this browsers feels very much like Firefox 3 most because the two are extensible and use the same gecko rendering engine. Flock's default UI might not before everyone but there are two that I really enjoy that are made especially for Flock; Dublin and MyBlue. Both are available at Flock.com The one thing that needs immediate attention is that for some reason Flock 2.0 appears to be white or faded out in appearance. Leopard apps have a smooth metal look, not white which you saw in Tiger. The MyBlue theme seems to correct this but the default theme seems to have a background look such as when one app appears in front of the other. Other than this, Flock 2.0 is a great addition to the gecko based browsers. :)
Like (2)
Version 2.0
Revco
15 October 2008
What was once a lean clean browser is now a cluttered mess. That's a real shame.
Like (1)
Version 2.0
Hotfreaks
15 October 2008
Too many designers ruined the soup on this one. Flock is now in the same class as Opera; a good idea gone awry. There are buttons all over the place on this browser, for god knows what. Also, anyone who thinks Flock is faster than Safari is drunk. At this stage of the game, webkit is simply faster than mozilla, end of story. If you are perceiving it otherwise, it is either alcohol or wishful thinking (or both) that is to blame.
Like (5)
Version 2.0b3
1 answer(s)
Dp-G4-450guy
Dp-G4-450guy
24 December 2008
I think you meant to say "Gecko" instead of "mozilla." Currently Camino renders pages faster than Safari. On many of the sites I visit, Safari seems to just "freeze" for a while, before eventually and more slowly opening the page. And that ain't wishful thinking, and I don't drink. End of story.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.3
Notrightnow
10 September 2008
Great version - wish picslens/cooliris worked (1password works fine!) - this is a browser should be.
Like
Version 2.0b2
Bolobar
15 May 2008
Flock has potential but is not usable for me without 1password. bolobar
Like (1)
Version 1.1.4
3 answer(s)
Memphisbird
Memphisbird
21 May 2008
But ... but ... but ...Flock DOES work with 1 Password. Flock is my default browser, and 1Password works with it just like it does with Firefox and Safari.
Like (1)
Version 1.2b
Bolobar
Bolobar
21 May 2008
Ooops, you're right. It wasn't checked in Preferences. Your comment got me up to speed. I will still use Camino as my default browser however. bolobar
Like (1)
Version 1.2b
EZ411
EZ411
23 March 2009
Flock works wonderfully with both 1Password and with Firefox extensions.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.3
Groovydave
05 April 2008
Really excellent browser that could be extraordinary down the road. The little things that make this browser unique and that sets it apart from Safari and Firefox are too numerous to mention. I instantly got a feeling of "How did I live without this?" within the first hour of using it. It's blazing fast -- much, much faster than its competitors -- and the personalization (I'm not talking skins and themes) truly makes it feel like this one's mine and only mine. One suggestion: Love the "My World" but I would love options of a static site list of favorites.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Zx81
20 February 2008
Be aware that, as mentioned on the Flock site, "this is a BETA version of Flock 1.1, and will not use your browser profile from any previous version of Flock. This is a clean install. This means that when you install this build, you will not have your previous Flock favorites, feeds, or personal info. This info is not deleted, it's simply not accessed."
Like
Version 1.1b1
1 answer(s)
Web-Jive
Web-Jive
05 March 2008
Thats easy to remedy. When you go into the app support folder on mac, rename the flockbeta dir to something else then rename the old flock dir to flock beta and flock will migrate everything.
Like
Version 1.1
Macintosh-Sauce
26 January 2008
I just downloaded Flock 1.0.8 and tried it on my Mac Pro with Leopard. WOW! I am going to use it all day to get a better feel for it. Initially, I have a very good impression of this new browser. Very impressive Flock!
Like (3)
Version 1.0.8
Tejas
07 December 2007
Really fast browser speed faster Than safari
Like
Version 1.0.3
Garrulous
10 November 2007
Flock is a great browser. The integrated rss reader alone makes this my default browser over Safari or Firefox. Flock is very much a "full screen" browser, and is what I use when looking to spend time surfing, looking for new sites, and of course keeping tabs on my Facebook and YouTube profiles. Also tuna.
Like
Version 1.0.1
Tfindlay
06 November 2007
I'm using Flock on an Intel iMac with Leopard. Absolutely flawless performance. This is the best browser I have yet come across. It has the special social network features but you are not forced to use them. They are just there and can be invoked as desired. Brilliant design!
Like
Version 1.0
Dp-G4-450guy
04 November 2007
BROKEN Read the Flock info about crash-at-startup, deleted everything visible and invisible about Flock, reinstalled, still crashes at startup. Went to fresh/clean 10.3.9 install volume, tried it there, 17 bounces in the dock, and crashed. You have a serious, fatal bug with 1.0. G4 dual-processor 450MHz PPC machine. At this point, have to say thumbs-down.
Like
Version 1.0
Hotfreaks
19 October 2007
Flock has lost its way. This browser is a mess.
Like
Version 1.0rc3
1 answer(s)
Jrob000
Jrob000
24 May 2008
please define the word 'mess'.
Like
Version 1.2b
Matteth
19 October 2007
The 1.0rc3 sure look good: Nice Facebook integration, improved RSS reader,more online services supported, and it looks better. The only complaint I have after one day's use is that Yahoo is the main serach engine. I would like to be able to have live results from Google. (InquisitorX on Safari is still better than Flock's search.)
Like
Version 1.0rc3
2 answer(s)
The-Bearded-Goose
The-Bearded-Goose
19 October 2007
You can change the default Search engine in the preferences, under Searching. Just choose Google there. Easy enough to change.
Like
Version 1.0rc3
Matteth
Matteth
19 October 2007
Thanks. But I can't change search engine for "Live results" to Google though. No big deal, though.
Like
Version 1.0rc3
Fyreflye
17 September 2007
I don't need a browser with this particular set of features byt it sure is fast! My current speed standard is Camino, and there's no comparison. I'm not sure I'll keep Flock (it needs an ad blocking feature like Firefox and Camino) but I'll certainly enjoy playing with it for awhile.
Like
Version 0.9.1
Easer
16 September 2007
Wish I had the same experience as the rest of you. I found Flock to just crawl on my machine, and Firefox was faster. I tend to stick with Safari. Could be something about my machine, but I was not impressed with this.
Like
Version 0.9.1
1 answer(s)
Foulger
Foulger
16 September 2007
Try Running Maintain or Onyx on your machine and run all the routines, especially clearing out caches. Also a new version is available today.
Like
Version 0.9.1
Foulger
14 September 2007
I have been a Firefox user for a very long time now but I now have changed over to Flock as my main web browser. I find it snappier, more responsive and Safari like but quicker. I hope the author(s) will stay the course and keep developing this excellent piece of software.
Like
Version 0.9.0.2
Dan33185
30 May 2007
Cool browser, very much like Firefox except not as sluggish. The only thing preventing me from making this my default browser is the memory usage. It hovers around 120 MB at all times, and Opera runs at about 60 MB. Other than that, great browser.
Like
Version 0.7.13
Joshp
12 May 2007
a nice start, but it needs a lot of support for newer social sites. this program has lots of love for yahoo, but none for google. it has no photo support for picasa web albums, google bookmarks, and blogging via twitter or tumblr. and it really needs spellcheck as you type. the ability to add feeds to google reader by default would be nice too.
Like
Version 0.7.13
Planet
23 March 2007
forgot to rate flock
Like
Version 0.7.12
Planet
22 March 2007
I'm neither a blogger nor I like Flash to view pictures. But I really love Flock not only for it's cool interface, it's IMHO exemplary privacy settings are only topped by iCab. Respect to the developers. But please spend some time making the Mac-version of Flock more Mac-like. We still prefer the keyboard over the mouse. On top of the wishlist: configurable plugin-in settings like iCab, shortcuts for navigation between tabs like iCab, shortcut for the "Home" button. Thank you! And keep on flocking, you're on the right way!
Like
Version 0.7.12
Gaoshan
01 March 2007
Great cutting edge type of browser. Especially good if you are a blogger, what with its integration with various blogging platforms and tools (like flickr).
Like
Version 0.7.11
Jsuplido
01 March 2007
Flock is the all-in-one browsing solution for me. I use it for: -del.icio.us -Flickr -blogging (Wordpress) -RSS Surprisingly, on a MacBook Pro 2.16GHz, Flock has become my fastest browser. All of my browsers (including Flock) load slow at first use. However, Flock's fast caching/loading speed is noticeably faster later on. There are memory leaks but I've experienced this problem too in Safari, Firefox, Camino, and Opera. Flock has replaced other separate apps that, if put together, would have much higher total resource use compared to just Flock running on its own. Flock is not for everyone (as seen in this comments page) but I invite everyone to try it out and see if it, too, fits your needs. I'm staying with Flock and I can't wait to see where it goes as I only see it get better. Props also go to the Flock Team for their phenomenal support!
Like
Version 0.7.11
Jximagineit
23 February 2007
I feel that Flock is on its way to becoming one of the big web browsers. Web browsers such as Camino, Sunrise and FireFox. However, it still needs work. The browser has trouble loading images on sights such as myspace.com and friendorama.com. There seems to be no Search preferences, but this may just be an error on my part. I also found it a bit slow while playing flash content aswell as some small .mov files. On a good note, the popup blocking works well. The web page loading seems to be fast and the app is very responsive. And I definatly like the GUI design. Nothing I like more than some nice eye candy. Though I do prefer a nice brushed steel look. =) I would like to see a bit more work put into this, and some new features. If you really want this to be a top notch browser. Take a look at OmniWeb a web browser made by Omni Software at http://www.omnigroup.com/ It has some great features that would really put Flock over the top. Well good luck, keep doing the good work. And have fun with the project.
Like
Version 0.7.10.2
Widgetman
20 February 2007
The interface is very clunky and slow, it takes longer to load pages, it doesnt follow any standards that mac applications follow, and it looks like crap. Posting on a blog is not that hard to do, a browser isn't needed to make it easier. It's also a big memory hog... It's just so unnecessary, safari is cocoa and lightweight, and will always be faster and easier to use, let alone more integrated with the system.
Like
Version 0.7.10.2
Thomas-brunoli
06 February 2007
I have been using flock for the past year and have been loving it! The only thing i don't like is that it locks up for a few seconds after you open a tab. What would make flock PERFECT would be to make it a cocoa and webkit app. I would never go back to safari or firefox!
Like
Version 0.7.10.1
Zx81
08 November 2006
I have to admit I just love Flock. in my mind, it's the most imaginative browser along with Shiira, which is very much in a beta stage and, of course, not stable enough in its last version. What I love most about Flock : the ability to blog from the browser, to manage my Flickr account (view my photos, my contacts', etc, upload to my photostream...), the way it handles RSS feeds, the GUI which is excellent... All in all, an EXCELLENT browser.
Like
Version 0.7.7
1 answer(s)
Attentionwandered
Attentionwandered
03 February 2007
shiira is pretty damn stable. ive been using it for half a year and its unexpectedly quit like 3 or 4 times. i used safari for 2 or 3 months and it quit like 6. never completely locked up my computer either (ppc though)
Like
Version 0.7.10.1
Mok-in-touch™
01 November 2006
Crash & freezes. Tabs open by themselves. Can't buy my vote.
Like
Version 0.7.7
Blueone
01 October 2006
Fast browser. Only complaint is that it needs a bookmark sidebar like Firefox.
Like
Version 0.7.6
Aellemusic
30 September 2006
I think Flock is a good browser. It crashed sometimes in some webpages but... I think the new update will fix this... The RSS reader is very clean and simple... Camino is still the best, but needs RSS to compete. By the way, Flock is one of the coolest browser you can find.
Like
Version 0.7.6
Thmtrxmn
20 August 2006
Flock is actually kinda the spyware... and I know I know... its a mac we don't have that... well we do now! every time you save something in your favorites manager it phones home and tells flock.com what you are looking at... I went into the terminal and checked it out for myself it phones home every time you put something in your favorites... it my do more but I really don't know how to check
Like
Version 0.7.4
4 answer(s)
Veggiedude
Veggiedude
30 September 2006
From their website, under PRIVACY: Like other browsers, Flock collects limited, non-personally identifying information that your browser makes available whenever you visit a web site (such as your Internet Protocol address, browser type, browser language, the date and time of your query, and build ID). The Flock browser also includes an update feature that checks our servers on a daily basis to ensure that you are running the latest version of our browser. This helps us ensure that you are running the most stable, secure and feature-rich version of the Flock browser. No personally-identifiable information is transmitted to our servers during this process. The auto-update feature can be disabled in our preferences menu. You may enable various online services to be directly integrated into your Flock experience. By directly integrating these services into the browser, we make your online experiences richer, and more personalized. We will ask you to register for or log into the services on the web sites of their respective providers, such as Flickr, PhotoBucket, Delicious, Shadows, etc. These services will then collect information, and inform you about what information they collect, in accordance with their own terms of service. By agreeing to these terms of services, and by enabling them within the Flock browser, you are allowing us to pass this information back to these service providers. The Flock browser does not pass this information to Flock Inc. or our servers.
Like
Version 0.7.6
Mile
Mile
30 September 2006
How can someone confuse a great web browser with spyware...?! You really have no idea what you're talking about...and yet dare to give such a low rating based on your lack of knowledge...!?!
Like
Version 0.7.6
one-1
one-1
01 October 2006
If you want to use a browser and not have info collected from your machine use an anonymizer like JAP or Tor or do not put exact personal info when you archive and install info. so that it does not know the owner of the machine but it knows the kind of machine you have. This is not possible to hide.
Like
Version 0.7.6
Thmtrxmn
Thmtrxmn
02 October 2006
I apologize for my comment... but I DID see it sending out data about my bookmarks... and it does not expressly tell you it is doing that or say so on the main page... if you have to actually go in to their privacy policy to find that stuff out... its not spyware... no... ok I get that... but... it is doing something sending data about what sites you frequent... without expressly telling you so... I would call that pretty darn close to being spyware
Like
Version 0.7.6
Mail21
20 July 2006
It just keeps getting better and better...my favourite browser by now...!!
Like
Version 0.7.3
Garyi
19 July 2006
I won;t rate it as perhaps they are still working on it. But to me it just looks like a prettier firefox, which I assume its based on. However it does not seem to allow for folders in the bar, this is a serious oversite for me and deal breaker, I should not have to multi click to find my sites, and frankly I cannot get to grips with all this deliceous nonsense, why can't I just drag a preferred site to a folder in the bar like EVERY other browser? On the up side, it looks slick, and looks like an OSX app, where as firefox out of the can looks like crap. I really like the integration of flickr which works really well, but part of me just thinks, I keep on using the free one which plugs right into iPhoto where all my pictures actually reside, this is indeed the problem with all these applications which try to do everything but land up just being a pain.
Like
Version 0.7.3
Abalem-^-^
19 July 2006
I found all the added features great and Flock is the only browser to implement so many at once. The development of the software is also amazing and it keeps getting better with every new release. BUT I still found it damn slow compared to Safari for instance. You can't have folder in the Link Bar which is a pain. And please do something with these type boxes (where you type info such as login or password) they are really too ugly ! For these reasons I'm still not using Flock as my main browser, but I keep checking the progress from time to time. Keep up the works, I do believe in it !
Like
Version 0.7.3
Theultimatecaptin
08 July 2006
One word: AWESOME! This app has photo, rss, extension, theme, and blog support... what more can you ask for people!!!???!??!
Like
Version 0.7.1
Mok-in-touch™
22 June 2006
Tried every version since it first came out. No way that I would use it. It's still not compatible with tons of websites. Speed is not the issue. Who would like to lose half of the contents of a sigle webpage? It might improve, but I'll wait and see. This is not for me.
Like
Version 0.7.1
2 answer(s)
Gaoshan
Gaoshan
23 June 2006
"...not compatible with tons of web sites." Some examples?
Like
Version 0.7.1
macupdate-robert-dreamcore
macupdate-robert-dreamcore
03 July 2006
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC Mac OS X Mach-O; en-US; rv:1.8.0.4) Gecko/20060620 Firefox/1.5.0.4 Flock/0.7.1 Flock is a Firefox variant. Flock's page rendering is identical to Firefox. I'm not going to call the original poster a liar or a troll... though I suggest we don't waste much time wondering why anyone would claim to have used every development version of an app they have no use for...
Like
Version 0.7.1
D9
20 June 2006
FYI: Firefoxy will work on Flock to modify the form buttons like in FireFox. You'll receive a warning message when you select Flock but just tell it to use the "1.5" button and it works fine.
Like
Version 0.7.0.17.1
TwisterMc
14 June 2006
Now Universal and amazing. It's almost better than Firefox!
Like
Version 0.7.0.17.1
DPoncy
14 June 2006
This application looked promising to me at one point, so I have been following it, hoping that it would improve. I haven't really seen that happen. At 54MB, it is over twice as big as Safari, and loads about 3 times slower. Because I have a lot of bookmarks, I have to wait forever for them to load. As a blogger, I was initially impressed with the idea of having a blogging function on the browser, but I am not so sure anymore if this is much of an advantage if I have to put up with the slowness. I think I will stick with Safari. Even with its sucky Java problems, it is still the best browser by far.
Like
Version 0.7.0.17.1
1 answer(s)
Apgiuliano
Apgiuliano
15 June 2006
Rendering in a WebKit browser still has a long way to go and a lot to be desired...
Like
Version 0.7.0.17.1
Gabriel-Reimers
14 June 2006
wow this is great. flock has some really revolutionary features. the search function is very smart. you can search your bookmarks and your history. and of course the web, ebay, amazon or what you like and all that just like in spotlight at real-time. i love that. the rss reader is phantastic, too. very intuitive and better than any browser and most stand alone rss readers. i don't need the blog-edit and photo integration but i miss a bookmarks bar. i don't think searchable bookmarks can replace that. anyway i'm really looking forward to the 1.0 release.
Like
Version 0.7.0.17.1
Bedouin
08 June 2006
Interesting. I'll have to keep my eye open for this in the future. The way they're handling RSS with the Gecko engine is how I wish Camino would. Camino should take note of this and implement it -- then maybe I'd move away from Safari.
Like
Version 0.7.0.16.2
TwisterMc
15 March 2006
Any Intel versions yet?
Like
Version 0.5.13
Gmax
15 March 2006
Still too buggy and crashes a lot. Most features don't work as well as it's intended to. Holds promise, but I see no reason to use Flock over Safari/Camino.
Like
Version 0.5.13