Back to GrandPerspective page
GrandPerspective free download for Mac

GrandPerspective Reviews

2.2.3
16 August 2019

Graphically shows disk usage within a file system.

Nicolasd
12 November 2014

Most helpful

Still free. Works flawlessly with Yosemite. Easy to understand and use.
Like (5)
Version 1.5.1

Read 53 GrandPerspective User Reviews

Rate this app:

Citizenvern
01 February 2019
So useful for freeing up space analysing disk usage.
Like
Version 2.1.2
Filou53
02 January 2019
Very good product... but when I start the new version, the messages are in Dutch. I expected to have them either in English or in French (language of my version of Mac OS). And I don't see how to change that.
Like
Version 2.1.2
Noraa
11 December 2018
An absolutely wonderful program that gives you a "birds-eye-view" of everything on your hard drive. The interface can be very intimidating at first, but after some time working with it, I find it extremely easy and intuitive. It's also just fun to scan someone's hard drive, and wow that at my ability to immediately see what is taking up what space :)
Like
Version 2.1.1
Dorkypants
10 December 2018
2.1.0 crashes every time
Like
Version 2.1.0
3 answer(s)
artie505
artie505
10 December 2018
I've submitted a crash report to the dev, and "Thanks for the crash report. I found the problem and will fix it. Expect a Version 2.1.1 release soon."

Also, as per Hal-Itosis, "You could have left a simple comment, instead of a 1-star review.
[this app is still 5-star software.]"
Like (2)
N/a
N/a
10 December 2018
Version 2.1.1 has just been released, which should fix the crash
Like (4)
artie505
artie505
10 December 2018
Got it! Thanks. :) (Still empty "Repeat" pane)
Like
Hal-Itosis
09 December 2018
Version 2.1.0 crashes constantly, whereas version 2.0.0 still works. (running latest Mojave 10.14.2).
Like
Version 2.1.0
3 answer(s)
N/a
N/a
10 December 2018
Version 2.1.1 has just been released, which should fix the crash. If not, let me know.
Like (1)
Hal-Itosis
Hal-Itosis
10 December 2018
It does indeed work beautifully again. Thanks so much!
Like
N/a
N/a
10 December 2018
Thanks for the confirmation. I am happy to hear that. I'm sorry that this slipped through.
Like
daiko
09 December 2018
Good storage visualization app for years, but the latest update (2.1.0) causes it to crash during scanning. A second attempt caused an immediate crash. Running on latest Mac OS 10.14.2; previous version of GP (2.0.0) still works correctly. Fix this bug and you have a 5-star review.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.0
2 answer(s)
Hal-Itosis
Hal-Itosis
09 December 2018
You could have left a simple comment, instead of a 1-star review.
[this app is still 5-star software.]
Like (2)
Hal-Itosis
Hal-Itosis
10 December 2018
Bug is now fixed, so please update your rating.

http://grandperspectiv.sourceforge.net/#download

^^^
Like (2)
artie505
03 December 2018
When I try to scan a single partition of my APFS container, GP shows the entire container, and my preferred partition winds up squashed into a relatively useless small box because it's small in relation to the entire container - 20 GB of 500 GB.
Like
Version 2.0.0
7 answer(s)
N/a
N/a
09 December 2018
From the Display panel you can toggle whether GrandPerspective should show the entire volume or only the folder you scanned. Toggling this setting should hopefully give you the view you want. Note, you can also configure the default for this setting in the preferences.
Like
artie505
artie505
09 December 2018
Thanks! I had tried toggling "Show entire volume", but with no success, but I just tried again, and it now works. Got me beat!

But GP still doesn't remember my recent scans...never has.
Like
N/a
N/a
09 December 2018
Good to hear "Show entire volume" now works as expected. However, I'm not sure why recent scans does not work for you. Which version of the app are you using and on which version of macOS? Recent scans should work from Version 1.7.0 onwards. It tested it on El Capitan (10.11) and Mojave (10.14) and it works for me on both.
Like
artie505
artie505
09 December 2018
Again, thanks!

I was running v 2.0.0 in Mojave 10.14.2 when I posted, and my "Repeat a recent scan" pane was invariably empty, as has been the case since the feature was introduced. Have I missed a setting somewhere?

I just updated to v 2.1.0, and it crashed twice in succession without completing its task, so I've reverted to v 2.0.0.
Like
N/a
N/a
09 December 2018
Recent scans should work just out-of-the-box. Not sure why it does not work for you. Do you see any log messages in the Console that may give a hint?

However, I am more worried about the crashes you experienced with the latest version. Would you mind sharing a crash log? You can submit it as a Bug at https://sourceforge.net/p/grandperspectiv/bugs/. Doing so lets me hopefully resolve it.
Like
artie505
artie505
09 December 2018
I just created ticket #69 v 2.1.0 crash log. Hope it helps.

And I found this in Console:

Dec 9 12:03:05 Artie's-MacBook-Pro-2 GrandPerspective[7168]: DEPRECATED USE in libdispatch client: dispatch source activated with no event handler set; set a breakpoint on _dispatch_bug_deprecated to debug
Dec 9 12:03:41 Artie's-MacBook-Pro-2 com.apple.xpc.launchd[1] (com.apple.xpc.launchd.oneshot.0x10000046.GrandPerspective[7168]): Service exited due to SIGABRT
Like
N/a
N/a
09 December 2018
Thanks for the crash report. I found the problem and will fix it. Expect a Version 2.1.1 release soon.
Like (1)
mzulgis
20 April 2018
Love this product, been using it for years. It's easy to use and reliable. Ever wondered why you only have 5GB free space left on your SSD? Scan your Mac with GrandPerspective and find out in minutes.
Like
Version 2.0.0
Noraa
03 April 2018
An extremely useful app that gives you a birds eye view of everything on your hard drive, organized and color coded. It takes a little bit of getting used to how to read the "map" that GrandPerspective creates, but once you get the hang of it, it is an invaluable tool.
Like
Version 2.0.0
David-Losada-Soler
28 March 2018
Does it support APFS and snapshots?
Like
Version 2.0.0
1 answer(s)
N/a
N/a
09 December 2018
Yes, it does. One thing to note, depending on your preference settings, sparse files in APFS may be shown (much) larger than the actual storage space they require. Version 2.1.0 of the application now warns you when this happens.
Like
DragonMaster
24 February 2018
Curious app. Not terribly useful as I see it. Makes a pretty picture.
Like
Version 2.0.0
1 answer(s)
Noraa
Noraa
03 April 2018
It's extremely useful in that it gives you a birds eye view of everything on your hard drive. I have used it countless times for many people who were running out of space on their Macs and simply didn't know why.
Like
casiopeadistrict
12 February 2018
Useful application for people, who can't check it via terminal with du- command
Like
Version 2.0.0
artie505
09 February 2018
Love the app, but it refuses to remember my recent scans...still running v 1.5.2.
Like
Version 2.0.0
Funjoy
09 September 2017
Good app. Oddly a free download from developer (via SourceForge) or a $1.99 purchase in the Mac App Store.
Like
Version 1.9.1
rayj
06 April 2017
Does the job well and looks good too.
Like
Version 1.9.1
Baarten
23 March 2017
Latest version: 1.9.1
Like
Version 1.9.0
Reegor
01 July 2016
I'm impressed with this. It has a lot of features, such as the ability to color files according to multiple indicators like creation age, age of last access, file type, etc. It also has some kind of filtering, which I have not tried yet. It apparently lets you look inside packages. And so forth. The Macupdate "download" box does not work, but the download file is on the author's web site . I will spend more time fooling with the options and the interface. I have not tried DaisyDisk, but I can't imagine it does much more than this free program.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.0
Freenergy
19 April 2016
19 Apr 2016 GrandPerspective 1.5.2 has been released and is available for download
Like (2)
Version 1.5.1
Nicolasd
12 November 2014
Still free. Works flawlessly with Yosemite. Easy to understand and use.
Like (5)
Version 1.5.1
Tvcnet
11 January 2013
Does the job nicely.
Like (3)
Version 1.5.1
Király
23 June 2012
Excellent app. But it runs with user privileges only, which means that it can't see files in other user accounts or in read-only admin and root areas. Right now I run the app as root to get around this. It should be easy to add an "authenticate" option to the app's file menu to give it the elevated privileges it needs to scan the whole drive.
Like (2)
Version 1.5.0
1 answer(s)
lemonb3519
lemonb3519
06 June 2016
sudo /Applications/GrandPerspective.app/Contents/MacOS/GrandPerspective
Like (1)
Mdewakanton
30 April 2012
Note that version 1.5.0 requires 10.5 or higher according to ReadMe.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.0
escompter-qch
23 August 2011
Sturdy, compact & fast. Still working after all these years on all the versions of Mac. (I've used it since Tiger to Lion.) The only thing that Disk Inventory (also free) does that I prefer is having the folder directory incorporate right into (or rather, "left onto" ;) the main window so that it's easier to navigate between folders without having to rescan. But the simplicity of interface may be what some users prefer. 5 *
Like (2)
Version 1.3.3
Amc3
09 August 2011
Is this version compatible and accurate with Lion ? Worked fine with Snow Leopard.
Like
Version 1.3.3
1 answer(s)
escompter-qch
escompter-qch
23 August 2011
Definitely compatible w/ Lion. Just tried it with a 50G folder on Lion & took only 3 sec to complete scanning. Results surely seems to be pretty accurate!
Like (1)
Bernak
28 July 2010
Very helpful app to see how the harddrive space is being used. I use it every time I am running out of disk space, and as a regular manual maintenance tool, as it let me look at the entire disk from a "grand perspective". Simple, easy and you can't beat the price. Thanks for the good work!
Like (1)
Version 1.3.3
Penguirl
26 April 2010
Attractive interface with seemingly good functionality but for me a text display is more efficient than clicking on an image first just to find out what it is before I can decide if I want to delete it not.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.2
Dremwkr
17 April 2010
This is a "it just works" application. It is intuitive, it easy to use, and does exactly what it it supposted to do. And it is free.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.2
Zhora
07 October 2009
A superb application that does it's job by letting you do yours without getting in the way. (It's there as your 'helper,' not your 'boss.' Use it briefly to grab back some lost space or go all out and clean out all those long forgotten places - you always come away feeling like you got somewhere without being beaten in the process. Leaves you with a feeling of success and joy! The developer continues to make improvements and responds quickly to any problems that may arise. Truly Mac-like in the best sense!
Like (2)
Version 1.1
Drdul
07 July 2009
Nice app, and you can't beat the price. I'd like to see one improvement that (for me, at least) would improve the functionality of GP -- the ability to customize colours. It would be great to be able to create additional, custom colour palettes, and to be able to change the colour of the rectangle that highlights the selected files/folders. My eyes might not be as good as others', because I find it difficult to see the rectangle, and there's no built-in colour palette that provides sufficient contrast in a pleasing combination of colours. If I could create my own colour scheme, GP would be easier for me to use.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Eriban
Eriban
25 September 2009
You cannot edit the color palettes from GrandPerspective. However, the color palettes are stored in the standard Mac color list file format so you can edit the palettes and add new ones using a color list editor that supports that format. An example is the ColorListEditor provided by Modesitt Software. Simply store the new palettes inside the GrandPerspective palettes folder (GrandPerspective.app/Contents/Resources/Palettes) and you can use the palette the next time you start the application.
Like (4)
Version 1.0
Section8
04 May 2009
this program is full of win. A must-have!
Like (3)
Version 1.0
Jdub800
07 January 2009
Excellent program - and has leaped in front of DIX for speed and facilities. Filtering works very well. One missing feature however is there appears to be be no way to delete files/folders directly from the map view. Unless I missed something there?
Like (2)
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Jdub800
Jdub800
08 January 2009
Further to the above, it seems that you CAN delete from the view. Excellent work. A very useful app - 5 stars!
Like
Version 1.0
Jeepee
22 December 2008
Geweldig programma, werkt prima en zeer eenvoudig! Bedankt! Great program, works fine and very easy to use! Thanks!
Like
Version 1.0
Towerworks
27 September 2008
This is really neat and useful. I pulled about 15 gig of unused filed from the hard drive in a few minutes of use. This may be the most useful and simple tool available!
Like (1)
Version 0.9.13.1
Dorkypants
27 August 2008
Crashes immediately after selecting a directory/folder to scan, on my Tiger (10.4.11) MacBook
Like
Version 0.9.13
7 answer(s)
Caslon
Caslon
27 August 2008
Same here.
Like
Version 0.9.13
Eriban
Eriban
27 August 2008
I have hopefully found the cause of the crash, and fixed it in a release candidate that can (temporarily) be found here: http://grandperspectiv.sourceforge.net/ReleaseCandidates/GrandPerspective-0_9_13_1b1.app.zip I cannot reproduce the crash myself, so I would be grateful to hear whether or not this version does not crash anymore. If so, I will make it an official release. If not, I will continue my hunt for the bug.
Like
Version 0.9.13
Caslon
Caslon
27 August 2008
Still crashing.
Like
Version 0.9.13
Syharris
Syharris
28 August 2008
Crashes immediateley here too on my trusty old 17" Powerbook running OS 10.4.11. My Grand Perspective 0.9.13 crash log says it's a Exception: EXC_BAD_ACCESS (0x0001) Codes: KERN_PROTECTION_FAILURE (0x0002) at 0x00000000. I'd send the developer a copy of my Grand Perspective crash log but I can't locate an email address for him.
Like
Version 0.9.13
Eriban
Eriban
28 August 2008
I am pretty confident that I found the bug that caused the crashes (basically, a silly typo). The fixed application can be (temporarily) found here as a release candidate: http://grandperspectiv.sourceforge.net/ReleaseCandidates/GrandPerspective-0_9_13_1b2.app.zip If it doesn't crash anymore on systems where it used to crash (please let me know), then it will be released officially tomorrow.
Like
Version 0.9.13
Syharris
Syharris
28 August 2008
The fixed version works fine now here.
Like
Version 0.9.13
Caslon
Caslon
28 August 2008
Fine here. PPC OS 10.4.11
Like
Version 0.9.13
Ayub
11 June 2008
Great app. Find your enemy out of the puzzle and shoot him :D
Like (1)
Version 0.9.12
freaky1
05 April 2008
Fantastic program for clearing out your hard drive, or finding out what's taking up all of your disk space. Does exactly as described, with no stability issues for me thus far.
Like
Version 0.9.11
Nadeemf
19 March 2008
I find tree maps the absolute best way of representing disk usage, and I think there is no better program to do it on any platform.
Like
Version 0.9.11
Smactron
03 December 2007
I really enjoy this program. Could there please be an option, though, for including the Trash?
Like
Version 0.99
1 answer(s)
Eriban
Eriban
20 December 2007
The next release of GrandPerspective will allow you to directly delete (i.e. move to Trash) files and folders from the application. Not sure though yet when it will be released, but hopefully not too long from now.
Like
Version 0.9.10
Tweakly
16 November 2006
i wish someone would do a disk usage thing like the one we had back in the old days, probably sys 4-6, that had a girl whose bare breasts would change size reflecting the amount of free space avail...the more space avail, the larger they were. OK, maybe not PC, but it was a fun icon to have on the tool bar.
Like (1)
Version 0.97
Allblue
16 November 2006
Yes there are other utilities that fulfil this function, but this is definitely the most psychedlic app on my hard drive! I think it's lots of fun, it's a Mac thing don't ya know! Thanks Mr Developer!
Like
Version 0.97
Attentionwandered
13 August 2006
ha nice, dark tranquility in the screenshot
Like
Version 0.96
1 answer(s)
Eriban
Eriban
13 August 2006
There's even a reason for that, which I will let you figure out. :-)
Like
Version 0.96
Nadeemf
02 October 2005
Nice. Faster than Disk Inventory X, but lacks the ability to 'Reveal in Finder' or 'Move to Trash' selected file(s).
Like
Version 0.91
Anonymous
02 October 2005
Nicely done - certainly makes finding large files and other disk consuming groups of files easy. I think that the labels for zooming would be clearer if they where labeled in/out rather then up/down. Would love to see the option to reveal a selected file in the finder.
Like
Version 0.91
Anonymous
02 October 2005
At first glance, an awsome successor to Derlien's DiskInventoryX. An executable of 80K, comparing with DI-X which is 5+ megabytes, I would say progress has been made. Cursory inspection of results indicates that this software correctly identifies existing files. Interface is easy and intuitive to use, and runs as-is on 10.3.9. And thanks to the developer for opening the source code.
Like
Version 0.91
Anonymous
01 October 2005
Still doesn't run (on 10.39 on Tibook 400mhz). Dozens of ZeroLink error entries in the console.log. Unfortunately, I've no advise zu offer...
Like
Version 0.90
Anonymous
30 September 2005
I just downloaded the new build (0.91) and it opens fine under 10.2.8. Congratulations to the developer. Now I'd like to see an itemized list with true (i.e., burn-size) file and folder diskspace totals, but I'm sure the developer has that already in mind. Even in this first version, a valuable (and fun!) app that helps answer the eternal question, "How many of these files can I burn to my CD/DVD?" It's just getting started, maar en goed begin is't halve werk!
Like
Version 0.90
Anonymous
30 September 2005
Turn off Zero Link in your Target settings.
Like
Version 0.90
Nadeemf
30 September 2005
Won't run - apparently lacks some bundled objects:- % /Applications/Utilities/GrandPerspective.app/Contents/MacOS/GrandPerspective ZeroLink: could not load .o file: /Users/erwin/temp/Xcode-builds/GrandPerspective.build/GrandPerspective.build/Objects-normal/ppc/main.ob ...
Like
Version 0.90
Anonymous
30 September 2005
Thanks guys for your comments. There is obviously something wrong with this build. Before I posted it here, I had received one problem report, but could not determine whether it was an isolated problem or something more problematic. Unfortunately, it's the latter. :-( The app obviously runs on my own system (Mac Mini with 10.3.9), but I'll try to figure out why it doesn't run on others. Once it is fixed, I will release a new version a.s.a.p. (Ideas on what could be the problem are welcome. I am an experienced developer, but a Mac rookie. You can post your thoughts on the GrandPerspective forums on SourceForge)
Like
Version 0.90
1 answer(s)
Robert-klep
Robert-klep
30 September 2005
Your XCode is set up to build the app with ZeroLink, which is for developer versions only, not for final products. In XCode, check out "Project > Set Active Build Style" and set it to Deployment. Btw, Eindhoven de gekste ;)
Like
Version 0.90
Xtremac
30 September 2005
Not run, send to TRASH. IBOOK - G4 1,42 Ghz - 1,5 GB RAM - 60GB HD - with Tiger Xtremac
Like
Version 0.90