Back to UNO page
UNO free download for Mac

UNO Reviews

1.5.2
15 July 2007

Bring a sense of unified design to Mac OS X 10.4.

Jcraig
15 July 2007

Most helpful

Thanks for the update Pedro! UNO does what Apple hasn't, provide a consistent look across the board. Excellent!
Like (2)
Version 1.5.2

Read 211 UNO User Reviews

Rate this app:

Jynto
09 January 2012
I am actually using Snow Leopard 10.6.8, and I got a message saying that UNO detected 10.5 and can't run.
Like
Version 1.5.2
ShawnBoucke
21 January 2008
I just updated my computer with iTunes 7.6 on Mac OS 10.4.11 and UNO will not load saying iTunes is not supported. Please fix/update. This is an application that I love to use.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.2
Bad-Jobs-Good-Jobs
07 November 2007
If you are on design, you should try "Smoothstripes" designed by Max Rudberg, a nice makeover to Aqua, looks better & more mature than Uno or Apples' Original Aqua style. You can download a standalone installer package for Tiger, so no need to pay for the buggy Shapeshifter. See & download the free "Smoothstripes" here: http://www.maxthemes.com/themes/?theme=SmoothStripes After installation have a look at the clear scrollbars and the beautyfull greyscale replacement for Apples' "brushed"-style, - for me it is nearly perfect, especially if you choose the "graphit"-variation
Like
Version 1.5.2
Hippeman
28 October 2007
I've been using Uno on Tiger for months without any problems (except for iTunes a while back). Now we've got Leopard I thought that there's no need for Uno anymore, but I'm wrong: The Leopard theme is much darker than the windows in Uno and is tiring my eyes. So hopefully Uno will come available for Leopard soon!
Like
Version 1.5.2
Zolo
24 October 2007
I think this is the only real solution to the chaotic interface that is aqua.
Like
Version 1.5.2
2 answer(s)
Hippeman
Hippeman
28 October 2007
I've been using Uno on Tiger for months without any problems (except for iTunes a while back). Now we've got Leopard I thought that there's no need for Uno anymore, but I'm wrong: The Leopard theme is much darker than the Finder windows with Uno and is really tiring my eyes. So hopefully Uno will come available for Leopard soon. TIA
Like (1)
Version 1.5.2
Bad-Jobs-Good-Jobs
Bad-Jobs-Good-Jobs
07 November 2007
If you are on design, you should try "Smoothstripes", a nice Aqua Makeover, looks better & more mature than Uno or Apples' Original Aqua style. It uses a standalone installer like uno, no need to pay for the buggy Shapeshifter. Download Smothstripes here: http://www.maxthemes.com/themes/?theme=SmoothStripes
Like
Version 1.5.2
Olduser
14 October 2007
Looks good, works bad. Have it installed on my PB G4 1GHz and now my USB-Logitch-Mouse don't respond anymore, I get lost clicks, no reaction on double-clicks, can't move windows by their titlebar and so on. Am I the only one with these problems? I tried twice, on fresh Tiger-installs, always the same, what's going on, any tips?
Like
Version 1.5.2
Francola
06 October 2007
Nice, but I love my menus striped and the bottom of my windows rounded. Please ad these as options. Thanks!
Like
Version 1.5.2
Handycam
30 August 2007
I can no longer launch UNO since iTunes was updated to 7.3.2. The installer only works on 7.3.1. I don't even want to modify iTunes, I just want to install/uninstall UNO.
Like
Version 1.5.2
Nithilher
20 August 2007
This is really an almost perfect theme for OS X. Finally, everything looks smooth and just gorgeous. However, there is one small thing which bothers me a bit, the menus. The original menus in tiger (OS X 10.4.x) have a very decent transparency and very light stripes. This gives them some structure. Now, in UNO, the menus are still slightly transparent, but have no stripes or other structure at all (e.g. a gradient). Thus, they look very flat and, in my opinion, a bit boring. More importantly, some apps such as Safari have some pretty big menus covering substantial parts of the screen. Without any additional structure, the UNO menus rellay destroy the otherwise nice 3d effect of the UNO theme. Is there a way to add an option to keep the original tiger menus? Or could the menus even be made more customizable? Finally, I would be very interested to see whether I am the only person around here who likes UNO very much but is a bit dissatisfied with the menus.
Like
Version 1.5.2
2 answer(s)
star-affinity
star-affinity
23 August 2007
I don't have any problems with the menus looking the way they do now. I think the look is more clean without the stripes. The menus look "3D" enough to me because of the drop shadow. However I agree that it'd bee cool to be able to customize the looks of the menus. People have different taste and preferences. :)
Like
Version 1.5.2
Tupring
Tupring
08 September 2007
The stripes suck big-time and always will! There are plenty of other similar themes that keep the stripes. Just use one of those. I am looking forward to an update to support iTunes 7.4.x myself…
Like
Version 1.5.2
Mac-Adam
03 August 2007
U could not made a UNO what will support futur iTunes ??? Too Much Changes between versions ??? If you could, you will do no more loose your power for minors change ? And Let u more time for more news in UNO ?? Thanks for your Nice Works One More Time :D
Like
Version 1.5.2
2 answer(s)
Splunk23
Splunk23
05 August 2007
Work great for me with iTunes 7.3.2!
Like
Version 1.5.2
Mac-Adam
Mac-Adam
05 August 2007
No theme change (Original iTunes) and cannot reinstall… Not work for me…
Like
Version 1.5.2
truthhurts
17 July 2007
Excellent program which does almost everything right. It has the right number of options, and most importantly, does everything *safely*. Checksums and integrity checks are performed for every step (unlike certain other programs which tamper with the interface). It appears to be impossible to screw things up. My only issue has to do with locating the various applications. Uno does not seem to search for applications in non-default locations. If like me you have them in other places, the program will pause for several seconds for each application. For half a dozen applications, this gets tiring, and it happens on every launch. My recommendation would be to either search slightly for applications (two levels deep has worked well for most applications, or use Spotlight), or at least eliminate the delay for selecting applications.
Like
Version 1.5.2
2 answer(s)
Interacto-Labs-Inc-
Interacto-Labs-Inc-
18 July 2007
Thank you for your input. In the past UNO did search for the apps but there was a problem if the user had more than one instance of the app (like on a external HD). Next version will make use of User Defaults and we plan to make UNO "remember" apps paths, among other settings... Thank you.
Like
Version 1.5.2
truthhurts
truthhurts
23 July 2007
Thanks. I was suggesting just scanning inside /Applications (or ~/Applications), which would avoid the "second drive" problem, commonly seen with backup drives. [Admittedly, there are a multitude of reasons not to move Apple's applications around, but I do it anyway. I'll have a clean applications folder whether Apple's installers/updaters have any sense or not (I manually move everything back before an update).] One other thing I noticed is when applying the "unified" Uno look to metal windows, the window title text is always in grey, making it look disabled even in the foreground. Only problem I've noticed so far.
Like
Version 1.5.2
Islandmacman
16 July 2007
Great app! thanx, I couldn't look at brushed metal for another day!
Like
Version 1.5.2
Jiajin
15 July 2007
works great! i love it
Like
Version 1.5.2
Pehpsi-3
15 July 2007
Couldn't stand the metal Safari look, and this solved my problem without having to resort to ShapeShifter and all of it's shifty doings... Thanks...
Like
Version 1.5.2
Jcraig
15 July 2007
Thanks for the update Pedro! UNO does what Apple hasn't, provide a consistent look across the board. Excellent!
Like (2)
Version 1.5.2
Xyz043
14 July 2007
It's been almost 4 weeks since the announcement regarding the new version by the developer. Any info as to when the new version is to be released?
Like
Version 1.5.1
1 answer(s)
Interacto-Labs-Inc-
Interacto-Labs-Inc-
15 July 2007
In a minute.. :) Really. We had all tested and uploaded, ready to release when iTunes 7.3.1 was out. Therefor the need to re-do all variations of the skin again.
Like
Version 1.5.2
To be update soon. We are working on UNO 1.6 for some time now. UNO 1.6 is (again) a complete rewrite, and with the release of iTunes 7.2 we felt like "let's wait a bit and release 1.6 instead of updating 1.5. But now with Tiger 10.4.10 update and UNO 1.6 not being at final stage yet, we will just do a small update to 1.5. So, stay tuned for an update. And thank you for your understanding and patience. And thanks a lot for the incredible flow of feedback mails you people sent us!
Like
Version 1.5.1
4 answer(s)
Splunk23
Splunk23
26 June 2007
UNO still works and stays installed if you update from 10.4.9 via Software Update. However for those of you who used the Combo Updater and had UNO break as a result, here is the workaround until the next update. Just navigate to /System/Library/CoreServices/ and open up "SystemVersion.plist" and change the "SystemVersion" string from 10.4.10 to 10.4.9 and save the file. Then open up UNO and install it like before. Now just change the .plist file back to the way it was…
Like
Version 1.5.1
Interacto-Labs-Inc-
Interacto-Labs-Inc-
29 June 2007
Thanks for the heads-up. I've just logged your workaround at gui.interacto.net. ;-)
Like
Version 1.5.1
M2atmac
M2atmac
29 June 2007
I just did that and UNO was installed like a charm. But my iTunes playlist was gone. To fix that up I had to reinstall iTunes, and it's been running fine since.
Like
Version 1.5.1
Splunk23
Splunk23
02 July 2007
After the initial update to 10.4.10 breaking UNO, iTunes shouldn't have been effected. For me, iTunes was still UNO but the OS itself wasn't. So I backed up my iTunes.app first before doing the tip I suggested. Sorry if you didn't do that first, now you know. Anyway, I have been doing this for awhile so it just comes natural for me to archive iTunes and QuickTime Player everytime new versions are released simply because I have always modified them and learned the hard way once… I even have it (mostly) working in iTunes 7.3… Some of the resources were changed/moved around for this version and also the scroll bar looks as if it's now Hard-Coded as well as the LCD EQ and selection colors so that's the only parts that don't work for me right now. Resorcerer is your friend…
Like
Version 1.5.1
Mibrilane
21 June 2007
For the previous commenter: I updated to Mac OS X 10.4.10 using the incremental version updater (instead of the combo updater) and UNO survived the update, so if you're losing UNO when you update, you're probably witnessing the combo updater re-installing the system resources that UNO replaces. UNO does what Apple apparently has decided is the right thing to do in Leopard - makes everything look the same with the "unified" interface. Good job, folks!
Like
Version 1.5.1
Dgeo
20 June 2007
Mac OSX 10.4.10 is not supported.
Like
Version 1.5.1
Ncp
20 June 2007
To fix the iTunes issue, simply go to http://www.apple.com/itunes/download/, download iTunes, and reinstall it. You don't even have to uninstall iTunes first. Just install a fresh copy over it. It doesn't hurt anything or mess with your playlists, and the problem is solved.
Like
Version 1.5.1
Ubuntuking
20 June 2007
With the Itunes 7.2 update I had to uninstall the program although I really liked it. I hope the developer comes up with a new update to solve the issue. Another thing, before I uninstalled it, all the windows had the same aqua look except for the dvd player controller which was still brushed metal. Is that normal or is it an issue ?
Like
Version 1.5.1
Buckieloon1
17 June 2007
B*****s up iTunes - keep clear of this !!!
Like
Version 1.5.1
Jackpot
17 June 2007
Keep your fingers far away from UNO - it totally disturbs itunes - even after guifix in single mode!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Like
Version 1.5.1
Rasterbator
01 June 2007
I had the same issue with iTunes 7.2 and the list windows being empty (I can play music, but can't see what I am selecting). I will try to trash iTunes and reinstall, but I do like the UNO look of iTunes much better. Please fix soon! ;-)
Like
Version 1.5.1
2 answer(s)
Billy-The-Biker
Billy-The-Biker
04 June 2007
Uninstall UNO and reinstall iTunes. Everything will be fine again. I'm sure there will be an update soon.
Like
Version 1.5.1
Celestialwarrior
Celestialwarrior
11 June 2007
Installing UNO, then reinstalling iTunes, then using Aqua4iTunes with the UNO Shade option resolves the problem completely.
Like
Version 1.5.1
Wompedy
30 May 2007
i had problems as well with iTunes 7.2. when i reinstalled Uno to try to make iTunes 7.2 look right, all hell broke loose, and iTunes could no longer see music, like the library would just be a blank window and browsing the iTMS i could see art/reviews/etc, but no track listings. Weird. Anyway, I had to uninstall Uno entirely, then reinstall iTunes to get everything to work again. i love Uno and really hope you can update it soon so my system can look nice again soon! thanks!!
Like
Version 1.5.1
2 answer(s)
Mac-Adam
Mac-Adam
30 May 2007
UNO no work only with iTunes 7.2, to install UNO without iTunes UNO Theme: 1/ Install UNO 2/ Trash iTunes 3/ Install iTunes And work… before the next update ;)
Like
Version 1.5.1
Billy-The-Biker
Billy-The-Biker
03 June 2007
Pretty weird. Just uninstall UNO then reinstall iTunes and it all comes back. Waiting patiently for the fix. {:
Like
Version 1.5.1
Mac-Adam
30 May 2007
So Sorry about, but one time again the new iTunes 7.2 no work with UNO… Could you update please …? Thanks again for this nice App !
Like
Version 1.5.1
Md07
18 May 2007
This application is so good that it hurts. Thank you, thank you, thank you.
Like
Version 1.5.1
Squako
05 May 2007
better than shapeshifter
Like
Version 1.5.1
Corra24
18 April 2007
I'm trying to install UNO 1.5.1, but I get this message: NSReceiverEvaluationScriptError: 4(1) Any hint? Thanks Corrado
Like
Version 1.5.1
1 answer(s)
Interacto-Labs-Inc-
Interacto-Labs-Inc-
19 April 2007
Sorry to ask, but do you have any SIMBL plugin or InputManager?
Like
Version 1.5.1
Foulger
17 April 2007
Such a joy! The cream on the cake. Please please have a Leopard version ready! Thanks for a really excellent visual treat.
Like
Version 1.5.1
Chris-Fam
16 April 2007
Very nice stuff! Somehow feel like using a new version of OS X. Thank you for making it free!
Like
Version 1.5.1
Markoh
16 April 2007
Brliiant! I love UNO but there seems to be a little GUI glicth with NetBarrier: http://img162.imageshack.us/img162/9816/netbarriercy4.png
Like
Version 1.5.1
Mac-Adam
16 April 2007
• I have my Quicktime with false angled bottom. Must I uninstall and resintall ? really a lot of work was did from v1.0 Thank !!
Like
Version 1.5.1
Dana-Sutton
16 April 2007
This is what Shape Shifter and Demetalifizer SHOULD be able to do, give us a unified look across the board and get rid of that metallic look for good. But Unsanity's APE software has never quite managed to deliver the goods in the way users want or need. And UNO is free!
Like
Version 1.5.1
Tice
16 April 2007
I use UNO now since beginning and never wanted to go back to the brushed aqua mess the original GUI is still. Wish Apple would go just to where you guys take it. Thanks for the great cleaning.
Like
Version 1.5.1
Thedowd
15 April 2007
Hahahaha... funny how I noticed the vis. was a bit off compared to the iTunes skin just yesterday... and here's an update fixing just that! Good work, continue! Love it!
Like
Version 1.5.1
Dmcrimson
15 April 2007
While theming Firefox, the installer doesn't pay heed to user-installed themes at all, also, when one has several profiles, the installer will create a folder named "profile 1 folder" which contains "profile 2 folder" which contains... and finalle there's chrome-folder with the files that should make FF unified, which actually don't do a thing, for they aren't in any profile.
Like
Version 1.5.1
Cjj
27 March 2007
Wow. I'ts a preiview of Leapord! __________________________________ Great Job! -CJJ
Like
Version 1.5
Andres-Skl
26 March 2007
Hasn't Apple bought you yet? 'cos they'd need your services!
Like
Version 1.5
anonymous-swan-2391
26 March 2007
Looks like MacOS should look.
Like
Version 1.5
Larsen2k4
25 March 2007
Finally the old QT-Corner-Bug has faded into history ... thank you so much - runs and looks perfectly :D
Like
Version 1.5
Mac-Adam
25 March 2007
Thanx !! Very Very Nice :D
Like
Version 1.5
Freebsd
25 March 2007
Works as advertised, impressively fast turnaround, great program. Looks great. Thanks.
Like
Version 1.5
Doc-Renaud
25 March 2007
Oh YES ! I agree, that would be nice. GREAT idea !
Like
Version 1.5
Afillbrandt
25 March 2007
Now it would be great to see the lightblue background in the finder sidebar as in Mail...
Like
Version 1.5
Kingadrock
25 March 2007
Beautiful. Not much else to say. I wish Apple would stop making every app look different and adopt UNO as the defacto appearance in OS X.
Like
Version 1.5
star-affinity
25 March 2007
This release is wickedly awesome! The corners for windows in QuickTime Player look good and also the selection in the Finder side bar can be nice and gray, just the way I want. :) Makes iTunes look great too. Graphite everywhere makes those important things like pictures, videos and icons stand out from the GUI. Donation coming! :)
Like
Version 1.5
Mac0852
24 March 2007
To Dev: What about the option you were going to add for the Apple icon? (Big or Small). I want to install this new version, but that big Apple is holding me back. It must be small like old(er) UNO. Please help!!!
Like
Version 1.5
2 answer(s)
Interacto-Labs-Inc-
Interacto-Labs-Inc-
24 March 2007
I will make an alt version available with the mini icons.. I didn't forgot the requests to have them back, I just want to make sure that this build is perfectly stable before having two version to update.. Thank you for the feedback. ps: I like the mini icons better, myself. So they will be back for sure.
Like
Version 1.5
Mac0852
Mac0852
25 March 2007
Sweet!!!
Like
Version 1.5
Interacto-Labs-Inc-
24 March 2007
bug fixed. I made a silent update , should read UNO 1.5 (241) in the "About UNO" panel, to fix the problem reported below by COMPUTERNAUT. Thank you.
Like
Version 1.5
1 answer(s)
Interacto-Labs-Inc-
Interacto-Labs-Inc-
24 March 2007
...so you DO NOT need to be logged in as system administrator to run UNO 1.5 anymore...
Like
Version 1.5
Zapp-Brannigan
24 March 2007
Having tried the other 'theme' changers and modifiers, this is without a doubt the most stable theme unifier on the planet. No haxies, APEs, and confusing settings. It's simple to use, no manual is necessary (but help is available), and gives your entire OS X experience a unified look and feel that Apple applies, or rather, doesn't apply to its own apps (just look at iTunes, Aperture, Finder Windows, and the iLife apps to see how willy nilly their appearances have become). Having used this about a year, I can't imagine NOT having it. Since it's not a program, there's no overhead, processor usage (run it once and you're done!), or incompatibilities with other apps. It just works. And it works VERY VERY well. Plus the lack of 'a million themes' you can give your system is actually its greatest feature. Yes, you can customize here and there, but its very simplicity is the true engine behind UNO.
Like
Version 1.5