Back to TV-Browser page
TV-Browser free download for Mac

TV-Browser Reviews

3.0.2-beta1
04 August 2011

Designed to look like paper-based TV guide.

Mikec3k
29 December 2009

Most helpful

Useless for anyone in the US since it doesn't list any US stations.
Like (4)
Version 2.7.4

Read 24 TV-Browser User Reviews

Rate this app:

nobody2011
09 October 2011
A new version is out v3.1RC1 (Beta) - in german and english available http://hilfe.tvbrowser.org/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=14930 what's new TV-Browser 3.1RC1 fixes bug of the beta version and contains some improvements to support better personalization with themes. For easy handling of the Personas the Plugin PersonaHandler is available for installation through TV-Browser. TV-Browser 3.1RC1 is a release candidate and probably contains bugs. A Java JRE since version 6 is needed.
Like
Version 3.0.2-beta1
Wade-Smith
04 August 2011
Beta will not run in Lion. Useless for US TV, by the way. If you're on this side of the Atlantic, don't bother with this. TitanTV.com if you're still watching TV at all.
Like
Version 3.0.2-beta1
1 answer(s)
umaromc
umaromc
04 August 2011
Wow, that is a cool website.
Like
Laos
18 April 2011
Excellent tool for planning TV viewing.
Like
Version 3.0
Whisperquiet
16 April 2011
This is great - it displays all my chosen channels on my desktop. It's like a printed TV guide on my Mac. A good job by the developers. It does not have an Apple UI so it is a bit of a change to use but its easy ... Check their list to see if it will work in your country. The biggest plus - its free; so thanks.
Like
Version 3.0
Jimw
16 April 2011
The US Broadcast Channels are still not supported. Neither is Canada. It would be real nice if the developer would list the major countries that are sternly supported in the description so a user would not have to download and install the program to find out.
Like
Version 3.0
nobody2011
08 February 2011
TV-Browser Releases (Java 6 and higher) http://sourceforge.net/projects/tvbrowser/files/TV-Browser%20Releases%20%28Java%206%20and%20higher%29/3.0-RC2/tvbrowser_3.0-RC2_mac.dmg/download TV-Browser Releases (older Java 5) http://sourceforge.net/projects/tvbrowser/files/TV-Browser%20Releases%20%28older%20Java%205%29/2.7.6/tvbrowser-2.7.6.dmg/download
Like
Version 3.0-RC1
Morbium
29 August 2010
This does'nt run on Mac OSX 10.4.11 It says that it neds a later version of Java installed even though I have all the Java updates for Tiger installed. Ergo it's 10.5 or later to run this version.
Like
Version 3.0-RC1
Chrischram
06 June 2010
The latest version of MacProgramGuide crashes on my 2006 iMac. I have alerted the developer. In the interim I guess I'm stuck with TV-Browser. I hope it's not for very long Where MacProgramGuide offers a clean, uncluttered interface, TV-Browser throws everything at you at once. Where MacProgramGuide makes it easy to enter your SchedulesDirect account information, TV-Browser first downloads about every known European channel, and then you have yo search the cluttered preferences settings to find SchedulesDirect. Then you have to figure out how to actually view that data. TV-Browser offers a little more control over filter settings, but some of my old MacProgramGuide filters are impossible to recreate. If you live in the US, wait until a newer version of MacProgramGuide is released. Or maybe the current version will work for you. I'm just out of luck for now.
Like
Version 3.0-beta2
Cski
08 March 2010
Doesn't even show Canada on the countries list!
Like
Version 3.0-beta2
Mkesx
30 December 2009
To the little Einsteins MIKEC3K and AESCHYLUS - and others, I'm sure - not only is this program Open Source, but it's written in Java, so it runs on absolutely everything (including Mac, Windows, Linux and more). It's a really great concept. If you want US channels, make sure to contribute. Details are on their website. It's not that hard, MIKEC3K, being a developer and all... although after hitting your site, I'm using that term loosely. A LOLCATS app, MIKEC3K, really? 4chan much? Maybe on your 15th birthday someone will explain the concept of contributing to worthwile causes... btw - in Europe (you know - outside the US of A) this program has 5 stars. It works really well. Many many thanks to the developers. TV-Browser and ProjectX are my favorite Java apps - they just work, and they're platform independent. If you don't have a clue about something, be sure to vote anyways. 1 star. USA! That should do it. Gotta go, I think my sarcasm detector just exploded. Morons.
Like (2)
Version 2.7.5
Aeschylus
29 December 2009
This program is not very user friendly for US users. The website does not list more than a handful of (very unpopular) TV channels as being available. A comment below indicates that US users can obtain TV data from Schedules Direct, which appears to charge $20 for the data. So this program is not really freeware in the US. Besides, there are no obvious instructions for how to even use that data if you were to pay for it. An alternative is to use Zap2It TV listings. They ask that you specify your TV source, either over the air, or a cable provider. Then they have a usable web interface, and they don't charge anything for this. This program is for the Mac, not the PC, right? So why is it so hard?? 2 thumbs down for this one
Like (1)
Version 2.7.5
2 answer(s)
Luis-J
Luis-J
01 January 2010
Aeschylus: Yes, there are lots of free sites over the web, like Zap2it. But for dedicated applications that you can consult even when offline, and are not dependent on a hardware solution (like EyeTV), the main US alternatives are MacProgramGuide (Cocoa), MyTelly (Java), TV-Browser (Java), TV Tracker and Couch Potato (Dashboard widgets). ALL of them require a subscription from Schedules Direct. The era of free tv-guide applications is long over, since Zap2it-Labs closed some years back. For me, $20/yr. is a fair price. I was a user when the transition to Schedules Direct took place, and I am more than happy that we could have this alternative, when things didn't look so good for the future of tv-guides apps. Web sites are slow, lack complex print, customization, filter and search features and require you to be online. The apps above all have their strengths, and I use them all. Right now, TV-Browser is my favorite, with a ton of features and options. Hope this helps. If you know of an alternative app whose data is free and you could customize and filter, please let me know.
Like (1)
Version 2.7.5
Aeschylus
Aeschylus
01 January 2010
Thanks for your thoughtful reply. A lot of this information was not clear in the description here of TV Browser. It is one of the only programs I have downloaded all year that seemed too complicated to want to use. Given the reality of the need to subscribe to the TV listing data, I think the author would find it helps a lot of future users to post this information clearly, along with a simple method for accessing the data after subscribing.
Like (1)
Version 2.7.5
Luis-J
29 December 2009
I've been using TV-Browser for about a month now, with data for the US channels provided by Schedules Direct, the same provider for programs like MacProgramGuide and MyTelly (both of which I've used). Although each program has its strengths, TV-Browser is by far the most configurable, customizable and feature-rich of all three. The list of US channels for my provider, numbers more than 800 channels, which you can configure to the ones you really watch :-) Its development is active and the developers answer questions, solve problems and constantly add requests from users (they've added two of mine already). I find myself discovering new features each day and it has become my favorite tv guide application. Best of all, its open source!
Like (1)
Version 2.7.4
Jimw
29 December 2009
Checked out the site for this software. The have a map of the coverage areas. The US is green which indicates that the most important channels are included. Here is the complete channel list provided by this software for the US so far: AFN family TV-Browser Team AFN movie TV-Browser Team AFN news TV-Browser Team AFN prime atlantic TV-Browser Team AFN prime freedom TV-Browser Team AFN prime pacific TV-Browser Team AFN spectrum TV-Browser Team AFN sports TV-Browser Team AFN xtra TV-Browser Team Pentagon Channel TV-Browser Team Go Figure
Like (2)
Version 2.7.4
Knowhowe
29 December 2009
Many thanks for this! A great app that does just what we need. Easy to configure and now lists all of our UK Freeview channels and favourite radio stations. Brilliant, efficient and genuinely useful- a valued addition to the family Mac. Cheers!
Like
Version 2.7.4
Mikec3k
29 December 2009
Useless for anyone in the US since it doesn't list any US stations.
Like (4)
Version 2.7.4
1 answer(s)
Luis-J
Luis-J
29 December 2009
MikeC3K: Please note that TV-Browser does work with US channels, via the data provided by Schedules Direct.
Like (2)
Version 2.7.4
Macprodan
31 January 2008
Love this program, just wish is was written in cocoa and had a more mac feel.
Like
Version 2.6.3
davinder-khabra
11 April 2007
I wanted an offline viewer for UK tv listings. This program does that with the Radio Times plugin. It downloads about 2 weeks of schedules. I filter for films only. Any film I'd like to see I right click and export to iCal. Lovely!
Like
Version 2.5.2
Drhjarntvatt
25 March 2007
Really nice app! Swedish support can be downloaded from www.tvbrowser.org
Like
Version 2.5.2
Bodo3
31 August 2005
Yes, there is a way to help. If you are able to write Java, you can add a DataSource-Plugin that imports other Sources eg.: http://xmltv.radiotimes.com/xmltv/channels.dat and http://xmltv.radiotimes.com/xmltv/92.dat Or you can use our Converters to convert XMLTV and Excel to our Format and put it on a Server http://tvbrowser.org/providetvlistings.php (Sorry, German only at the moment) There is a simple Way in the TV-Browser to add this Data. For some Examples for this see here: http://wiki.tvbrowser.org/index.php/Senderliste If someone wants to help translate the Tutorial/Website, feel free to contact me at bodo@tvbrowser.org And please offer only *legal* sources. We don't want to get into trouble.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
31 August 2005
The Brits may want to consider the following customisable web based listing... http://www.bleb.org/tv/ Possibly not as visualy interesting.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
31 August 2005
Click on "Information", select international on their website. "The document How to provide TV listings for TV-Browser contains information on how to provide TV listings for the TV-Browser project using our software tools for automatically preparing tv data."
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
31 August 2005
Is there anyway we can help to add support for our countries?
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
31 August 2005
great Software make it Cocoa and it will be the best thing on my mac
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
31 August 2005
Please consider doing for the UK, the idea is good and just what I wanted
Like
Version 2.0