Back to SafariBlock page
SafariBlock free download for Mac

SafariBlock Reviews

2.2r1
03 September 2008

Adds ad-blocking capability to Safari.

Thus-spake-z
22 May 2009

Most helpful

Upon launching Safari browser, a Safariblock "welcome" message appears right in your face on top of the just launched Safari page. I find it quite annoying. There's no apparent way to disable it from appearing. True you can easily quit the message but still, is the message really necessary? And in ones face no less? Other than that annoyance, Safariblock is really fine.
Like (6)
Version 2.2r1

Read 141 SafariBlock User Reviews

Rate this app:

Aargl
18 July 2012
The successor of SafariBlock is: http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/32851/safari-adblocker (based on SafariBlock source code)
Like
Version 2.2r1
Aargl
08 September 2011
It's a real pity that this app has been discontinued! I'm still using it in Safari 506 on OS 10.5.8/iMac G5 and it never stopped working perfectly! I can use a standard list and add my specific items. Simply perfect! At the present time, the list I use is: http://easylist-downloads.adblockplus.org/liste_fr+easylist.txt (the standard one is http://easylist-downloads.adblockplus.org/easylist.txt) If you have a problem entering an url for the list, do it without "http://" or "https://".
Like
Version 2.2r1
Tubo
29 May 2011
Works very well on older macs. Is still available via mirror (well-known mainstream computer mag): http://www.chip.de/downloads/SafariBlock_38225335.html
Like
Version 2.2r1
John-Sawyer-CJS
02 November 2010
Can't download this--getting a message when I click on the main download link here on MacUpdate: Forbidden Your client does not have permission to get URL /files/SafariBlock22r1.dmg from this server. You are attempting to perform an activity that you have insufficient permissions for.
Like
Version 2.2r1
Rik10463
09 April 2010
I installed SafariBlock and it works so well that NOTHING LOADS. Safari has become totally useless. There is no uninstall program that comes with this and searching for the files comes up empty. Hopefully if I re-install Safari I can have a functioning browser back.
Like
Version 2.2r1
ehunt123
31 October 2009
Since there exist multiple (I counted 4) options, including doing the XCode 64-bit way, here's a summary: Safari on 64-bit works with this mod from: http://sweetpproductions.com/safariadblocker/ (Also listed here on MacUpdate) The modifications of github are from this persons work: http://burgersoftware.com/en/safariadblock However, he uses the InputManager method. This has been depreciated and is NOT supported on 64-bit Applications. Apple wants the IM method to go away (google for more comprehensive commentary by some of the folks who have worked more with it). There are also four or five forks, which I was unable to get working, looking like it had to do with the problem with IM on SL due to 64-bit. The first mentioned build works because it uses a 64-bit build, using normal SIMBL plugins you can install via ~/Library/SIMBL/Plugins It also takes care of installing SIMBL, using the 0.9.7a (at this time of writing) SIMBL plug. I also assume GlimmerBlocker works, since it is NOT an InputMananger but instead proxies all your traffic as if you were on a corporate LAN and having all traffic filtered via a regular HTTP proxy. It's a great alternative solution, using components from the Mozilla Project, and is available opensource as well. Hopefully this clears up some confusion.
Like (2)
Version 2.2r1
Gurubez
19 October 2009
Grrat Software, since it works on Safari4 64Bit its the best AdBlocker I ve ever had!!! It block also Flash Ads with a simple right click ... I had Pithhelmet before (on 32Bit) but I think it will be really hard for him to beat SafariBlock ;)
Like
Version 2.2r1
1 answer(s)
Atalantia
Atalantia
22 October 2009
It works on Safari 64-Bit? Make a joke, or what? It was last Updated in Oct.2008. And it looks like it is not developed further.
Like (4)
Version 2.2r1
Apple-cakes
15 October 2009
Right Click Flash is no longer working in Safari 4.0.3 after the update to Shockwave Flash 10.0 r32. Lots of annoying flash ads are getting through.
Like (1)
Version 2.2r1
Aargl
13 October 2009
Suddenly, yesterday, I've got an error message meaning "impossible to update the list" (really "too many http redirections"). After various tries, I found out that the address of the list has changed: Now it's https://easylist.adblockplus.org/easylist.txt instead of http://easylist.adblockplus.org/easylist.txt But as the "http://" is added automatically, I think there's no way of changing it to "https://"... :-( Strangely enough, while the auto update gives an error (and so do the "update now" button), if you click the "change..." button and validate without modifying the address, it works! (at less it seems)
Like
Version 2.2r1
Islandmacman
06 September 2009
This appears to not work with Safari 4.02 - Flash 10 ads and others are getting through.
Like (3)
Version 2.2r1
thekidfromtheredbank
31 August 2009
Not working with Snow Leopard. Any info from the developer on this?
Like (5)
Version 2.2r1
1 answer(s)
Iamaswissguy
Iamaswissguy
17 September 2009
Err, sorry. I was excited, because I finally figured out how to have SafariBlock appear. But it doesn't do it's job, unfortunately. My bad!
Like
Version 2.2r1
Jeff7
17 August 2009
its working for me again in safari 4
Like
Version 2.2r1
Jeff7
03 August 2009
Doesn't seem to be working at all in version 3...it used to, but after going back to 3 two days ago and installing fresh no ads are getting blocked. WTF?
Like (1)
Version 2.2r1
1 answer(s)
Walruscp
Walruscp
17 August 2009
Works fine for me. Amazed this simple plugin continues to work well.
Like
Version 2.2r1
Tomp
29 June 2009
In Safari 4.0.1, right-click flash blocking seems to have stopped working, which is unfortunate. I'd love to see that restored. Otherwise it's a very good adblocker.
Like (4)
Version 2.2r1
Thus-spake-z
22 May 2009
Upon launching Safari browser, a Safariblock "welcome" message appears right in your face on top of the just launched Safari page. I find it quite annoying. There's no apparent way to disable it from appearing. True you can easily quit the message but still, is the message really necessary? And in ones face no less? Other than that annoyance, Safariblock is really fine.
Like (6)
Version 2.2r1
1 answer(s)
alas!
alas!
09 June 2009
I agree! The very "in your face" message states, "Safariblock 2 will eliminate the annoying advertisements you see while browsing the internet". Well, what is the message if not an annoying advertisement. And there's way to eliminate that annoying advertisement. Developer, get rid of it; it's totally unnecessary. (I wonder, what was the developer's rationale for including it....makes no sense at all.)
Like (2)
Version 2.2r1
Atalantia
12 May 2009
Works great with Safari 4? Exept the flash block does not apear anymore by control click on a flash content.
Like (3)
Version 2.2r1
Hotscientist
24 March 2009
Excellent - and works fine with Safari 4
Like (2)
Version 2.2r1
Clarusad
28 February 2009
Still not compatible with Safari 4 :(
Like (4)
Version 2.2r1
1 answer(s)
Mbhockey
Mbhockey
02 March 2009
I've been using it on Safari 4 beta since it was publicly released.
Like (2)
Version 2.2r1
Atalantia
31 October 2008
Order by alphabet would be great in the ist of blocked content.
Like (2)
Version 2.2r1
~s
27 September 2008
I didn't know where to ask: how to disable automatic ad-block? I want blocked only my manual filters list!
Like
Version 2.2r1
1 answer(s)
~s
~s
27 September 2008
I forgot to mention: I created manually a ad-block feed with only one entry and SafariBlock still blocks many ads (including, for example, MacUpdate ones), while it wasn't instructed to do so... (?)
Like
Version 2.2r1
Threedee912
04 September 2008
ABP list importing works great, doesn't slow Safari down much, does good job of blocking ads and cleaning up the space left over.
Like (1)
Version 2.2r1
Morpe
18 June 2008
hi! how to esclude a site from the filter ?
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
@timi
@timi
02 September 2008
You can't really exclude an entire website from having the filters applied. You can use your custom filters list to exclude a certain adsite from being blocked though.
Like
Version 2.2
D3athcarb4fatty
15 April 2008
I just uninstalled SafariBlock after using it for a few months, only to finally determine that it was the cause of my computer drastically slowing down! I'm using a Powerbook G4 with Tiger. I am also using WebKit, so not exactly Safari, so I'm not sure if that affected it or how. My browser now runs about 1.5-2x faster after uninstalling. Before there were plenty of long beach ball pauses when opening new sites or switching between tabs. Anyway, if anyone knows how I might be able to run SafariBlock without the slowdown (and without actually running the original Safari because WebKit is awesome) I would really appreciate it.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
Islandmacman
27 February 2008
This works so incredibly well. thanks!
Like
Version 2.1
Discerptor
25 February 2008
I'm very impressed with the update to SafariBlock. I didn't use it before because it required the tedious process of downloading the proper list files and even then didn't block the ads in the right way (like Firefox's AdBlock does). The automatic process employed now works really well, though, and other than some CPU usage inefficiency I'm very pleased overall. All it needs now is the ability to do single-user installs on Leopard and possibly the ability to choose from different adblock lists. And of course, tweaking the CPU usage would be nice. Well done overall.
Like
Version 2.1
Dstearns
31 January 2008
Good. just what I needed, however I don't know what it means by import file. The only real problem is that when I go in the Preferences, and I click on a blocked ad, then click on another blocked ad it changes to the first one i click. Does anyone have the same problem? If you are the developer reading this could you fix this? other than that it's really good software
Like
Version 2.1
Migrant
28 January 2008
Installed 2.1 today and Flash ads -- the most annoying ones of all -- are no longer blocked! I'll be downgrading till this is fixed.
Like
Version 2.1
pintapass
20 January 2008
I'm having the same problem as I was before with SB 2.1. I get the "first run" window, but I can't close it and Safari won't open a new window. The "first run" window also doesn't stop reappearing when I quit and relaunch Safari. Does this have anything to do with having Safari AdBlock installed? Is anyone else having this problem too?
Like
Version 2.1
Sjha
18 January 2008
This new version (2.1) seems to be working very efficiently both on my Intel Macbook and my iMac G4. The automatic ad-block feed feature is impressive
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Fsb-software
Fsb-software
18 January 2008
Thanks!
Like
Version 2.1
Sig1
19 December 2007
Great idea, but flawed. v.2r3 mistakenly blocks some important pages in their entirety that are NOT ads. There needs to be a way to bypass AdBlock in this event, otherwise I have to switch browsers or uninstall.
Like
Version 2.0r3
1 answer(s)
@timi
@timi
18 January 2008
You just need to format your blocked URL strings a little differently. I've never seen this.
Like
Version 2.1
Kaz219
19 December 2007
Still some problems here on 10.4.11 and a G4. On some sites safari starts to eat 100% of the cpu. When I disable SafariBlock everything become normal again. Unfortunately, I couldn't find out which website which caused this. I think this app is a great idea though, and I really hope it will work flaslessly in a near future. As a feature request, I would love to have the possibility of having many subscribtions. Subscribtions for very specific needs, or more localized subscriptions have a nice supplement to the easylist+easyelement subscribtion...
Like
Version 2.0r3
Web-Jive
18 December 2007
Any chance on getting a Per-Site option on this? This would match an important Pithhelmet feature since I really need to turn blocking off all together for testing on client sites.
Like
Version 2.0r3
pintapass
18 December 2007
When I installed SB2r2, on launching Safari I got a "first-run" dialogue window that explained the basics of SB. It included a small checkbox for setting automatic updates. I couldn't close this dialogue box and I could not open a Safari browser window. Restarting the computer, repairing permissions and relaunching Safari yielded the same results. All I could do was force quit Safari and uninstall SB. I really relied on SB when I was running Tiger. But SB2 has been nothing but flaky.
Like
Version 2.0r3
Handycam
15 December 2007
I love this, better than ever. But if you add your own filters, in the "Manual" pane, does that turn off the EasyList filters? The way the dialog currently reads, that's what it seems to do. I'd like to use EasyList but ADD some of my own. Is that how it works?
Like
Version 2.0r2
2 answer(s)
Fsb-software
Fsb-software
15 December 2007
To get both, you have to check "Also use manual filters for blocking." This will be on by default in the next rev, see http://code.google.com/p/safariblock/issues/detail?id=10 "Also use manual filters should be on by default"
Like
Version 2.0r2
Handycam
Handycam
16 December 2007
thanks. the dialog that appears is confusing, though.
Like
Version 2.0r2
Iwedler
15 December 2007
works great on my PB G4 with 10.4.11 !!! Keep up the good work.
Like
Version 2.0r2
Chrischram
15 December 2007
As far as I can ascertain, this plugin blocks ads by not allowing Safari to launch. (Intel iMac; latest Leopard; latest Safari)
Like
Version 2.0r2
1 answer(s)
Fsb-software
Fsb-software
15 December 2007
Please send a crash log to me, or post a bug at http://code.google.com/p/safariblock/issues/list.
Like
Version 2.0r2
dajonel
15 December 2007
PROBLEM: Apple has made it in Leopard so that InputManagers doesn't work, unless a hack is installed. SafariBlock uses InputManagers, so how do people who don't want to make their Mac vulnerable, block ads? If you use the InputManagers hack, you void Leopard's built-in virus protection. Supposedly, InputManagers were removed to close a security hole from Tiger on back. Is the developer going to switch to plug-ins to make it work better and be more secure?
Like
Version 2.0r2
3 answer(s)
Fsb-software
Fsb-software
15 December 2007
Terenovo, I'm afraid you are a bit confused. First, InputManagers in Leopard work identically to in Tiger, only there are some additional permissions restrictions on installing them. They are no more or less a hack than they were in Tiger. Second, Leopard doesn't have built-in virus protection. Third, while it would be nice to switch to a plugin, it would be more work to achieve the same goal, and there would be no security benefit gained.
Like
Version 2.0r2
dajonel
dajonel
15 December 2007
Hmm... I thought that Apple included new security patches -- of course they must have... I called it "virus protection" because Leopard is less likely to get a virus than Tiger was. My brother just tried to install it yesterday on Leopard, and it failed. He probably didn't change his permissions (or whatever you said needed to be done). He has one of the newest MacBooks (a couple months old). I love your product (he does too), but somehow I don't think its going to work. Apple did say on some blog that they were trying to get away from using InputManagers (or something like that). Oh, well. Is it really too hard to convert it to a plug-in? Anyway, like I said, this product is nearly indispensable to him and me, but he can't use it, and once I upgrade, I won't be able to either. Like you said, you probably could do just a few things to make it work, but he doesn't want to risk it. Thanks for developing it! David
Like
Version 2.0r2
Fsb-software
Fsb-software
15 December 2007
Why won't you be able to install it? If you have security concerns that prevent you from installing, please let me know what they are specifically. However, the nice thing about 2.0, is that I've open sourced it. So if you have security concerns, you can read the entire source code. If by virus protection, you meant security patches... installing an InputManagers is not going to disable any security fixes. It's simply an casually used and unsupported way to load code into every application. If you know what you're doing, it's extremely useful. Maybe we should take this discussion to a private email - I'd love to talk to you further about this.
Like
Version 2.0r2
Megamoose
15 December 2007
Downloading this from MacUpdate caused Safari to consistently crash. Went to developer site -- the latest version listed there is v1.3. Installing that version appears to work fine but does not contain the new features listed for v2.0. Has the developer have pulled v2 until the crashes are fixed?
Like
Version 2.0
2 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
15 December 2007
http://fsbsoftware.com/ News: SafariBlock open sourced. Also, version 2.0 was released for download, which gives friendly Leopard compatibility (as opposed to version 1.3, which had unfriendly Leopard compatibility) and adblock-plus style subscriptions. (12/14/07)
Like
Version 2.0
Fsb-software
Fsb-software
15 December 2007
I have one crashlog from 10.4. It appears that there is an incompatibility with Tiger. Please track this at http://code.google.com/p/safariblock/issues/list. You may also file a new bug, if you include the crash log. Thanks, and sorry for the inconvenience.
Like
Version 2.0
Design-Q
14 December 2007
Safari crashed. Possible reason: conflicts with my other InputManager bundles already installed (Chax, inquisitor, LiveDict and 1passwd. Removing SafariBlock from InputManager folder solves the issue. PPC G4 1Ghz 10.4.11
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Fsb-software
Fsb-software
15 December 2007
have one crashlog from 10.4. It appears that there is an incompatibility with Tiger. Please track this at http://code.google.com/p/safariblock/issues/list. You may also file a new bug, if you include the crash log. Thanks, and sorry for the inconvenience.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
14 December 2007
Installed Version 2, relaunched Safari, CRASH. Relaunch again, CRASH. This does not work. Using Safari 3, Tiger 10.4.11
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
14 December 2007
Please see this thread: http://www.macupdate.com/reviews.php?id=19202&pid=203052
Like
Version 2.0
Bill-B
14 December 2007
I downloaded 'version 2.0' using the MacUpdate download link and got SafariBlock2r1.dmg. Curious, I followed the information link where I downloaded 'version 2.0' - it is called SafariBlock2-1.dmg. They're of differing sizes as well as names. So, which is it? Or are neither of these version 2.0?
Like
Version 2.0
3 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
14 December 2007
The version posted here was submitted by the developer. That is all I can tell you.
Like
Version 2.0
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
14 December 2007
The download link submitted to MacUpdate by the developer has been changed to reflect the link posted at the developer's site. Who knows 'what gives' in this situation.
Like
Version 2.0
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
14 December 2007
And, thanks for calling this to our attention.
Like
Version 2.0
Kemo"
14 December 2007
Safari always crash with 2.0 PPC G4 10.4.11
Like
Version 2.0
New-User
01 December 2007
Bummer, doesn't work at all in 10.5, installed in ~/Library/InputManagers , restarted Safari, no go.
Like
Version 1.3
Demoray
11 November 2007
SafariBlock conflicts with iGetter! I've been trying to get SafariBlock to work for several versions now with no luck. When SafariBlock is installed in my InputManagers folder, right-clicking ALWAYS makes my Safari crash! I finally removed the iGetter folder from the InputManagers folder, and now SafariBlock actually works. I really hope this conflict gets fixed, because I LOVE my iGetter!
Like
Version 1.3
Sickybirdneck
09 November 2007
Hey there Steven Jay Cohen, sudo chown -R root:admin /Library/InputManagers I think worked fine, but when I ran; sudo chmod -R go-w /Library/InputManagers It doesn't show up in the menu or preference pane (in Leopard 10.5 of course!) Any suggestions? What was the last line in the terminal supposed to do?
Like
Version 1.3
Joshp
07 November 2007
I would love this if it could automatically download and update Easy List and Easy Element filters from http://easylist.adblockplus.org/
Like
Version 1.3
Splunk23
06 November 2007
I've had SafariBlock on Leopard for a day or so now, and it works well for many ads, but doesn't seem to work for Flash-based ads. When I right click on the ads, Safari just shows the Flash menu, not also a menu with SafariBlock.
Like
Version 1.3
Koobi
05 November 2007
Its not working for me. The SafariBlock folder is in my InputManagers folder. When I restart Safari - nothings different. There's no SafariBlock anything when I right click and there's no SafariBlock tab in preferences. I'm using Safari 3.0.4. I tried using SafariBlock 6 months ago and it didn't work then either. ...Oh well...
Like
Version 1.3
Incubowski
04 November 2007
@Corpsecorps Thanks for the tip. What exactly is that command doing? And if for some reason you needed to, how would you go back to the state you were in before you ran that command?
Like
Version 1.3
Paulumum
03 November 2007
I love the comment from Corpsecorps Yah beloved SafariBlock is actived in Leopard omg it is so cool
Like
Version 1.3