Back to TextExpander page
TextExpander free download for Mac

TextExpander Reviews

5.1.5
27 March 2019

Expand keystrokes into frequently-used text and pictures.

mgus
27 May 2015

Most helpful

I just purchased TextExpander 4.0 six months ago but Smile (the developer) says I'm not eligible to upgrade unless I pay an additional $19.95! Wow- $45 for an app and $20 more to upgrade after only six months? Fortunately, Typinator was included a bundle I purchased a month before TextExpander, and sure enough, no charge to upgrade to the new Typinator 6.5. Result: TextExpander is now removed from my dock and replaced with Typinator.
Like (25)
Version 5.0

Read 137 TextExpander User Reviews

Rate this app:

TJLuoma
26 July 2018
You can find version 5.1.5 at https://cdn.textexpander.com/mac/TextExpander_5.1.5.zip https://smilesoftware.com/textexpander/support?_ga=2.106887685.741852422.1532572220-579130076.1507348544#SystemRequirements ( via https://textexpander.com/entry/where-can-i-download-a-previous-version-of-textexpander-for-mac/ first) Aside: quoting the comment below "Having read a lot of negative user feedback on Twitter about the subscription model, I am convinced, this step towards recurring payment makes perfect sense, because there is one big advantage for customers: constant improvement of the software. " Two years of TextExpander-as-service disproves this theory. I can't think of a single meaningful feature that they have added in the two years since switching to a subscription service. Scroll back through the comments here and you'll see that people had been complaining about weak upgrades back to TextExpander 4's release. Moving to a subscription does _not_ guarantee that the development process will improve. It's a nice theory, and I've seen places that did it well (1Password seems like a good example). But switching back to TextExpander 5 after 2 years with TE6 meant losing almost no features. I can still use the old iOS app and iCloud syncing, which seems to work fine.
Like (2)
Version 5.1.4
John-Hook
05 March 2018
Way overpriced when compared with the $20 TypeIt4Me app AND I am sick and tired of getting this message: "DO NOT CLICK "Install Update" There is a bug (SINCE YOU'RE AWARE OF THE BUG-STOMP IT OUT!) in the TextExpander updater in version 4.0.4. You must download TextExpander 4.1.1 from our website. Our humble apologies. - Smile TextExpander 4 is a paid upgrade and requires OS X 10.7 Lion…" Especially since I paid lots of money for the software! Oh, and did I mention your reference to "10.7 Lion" that has been superseded many years ago? Smile-my butt… You make us frowny-face victims. Please get this crapware fixed! Sincerely…
Like (3)
Version 5.1.4
Creidenouer
19 October 2017
Used to like it. Trouble with pricing plan that got out of hand. It would be nice to find a way that brings it inline with most other software.
Like (2)
Version 5.1.4
mrdhs-1
17 October 2016
I am starting too think that Smile is abandoning those of us that revolted and wanted to stay with version 5. So, Smile, am I wrong????????
Like (6)
Version 6.0.9
Mikael-B
23 August 2016
What's wrong with options Smile? You should have two tracks, the subscription model (which really is just suitable for moneymaking software like media editing or development packages) and yearly upgrades with a fee smaller than the purchase price.

Now, the only option is to turn to the competition.
Like (6)
Version 6.0.7
1 answer(s)
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
11 January 2017
"Now, the only option is to turn to the competition."

Which I've already done. Textexpander had one feature that wasn't in Typinator, but is now. Typinator is SO MUCH FASTER at expansions too. Not looking back.
Like (4)
Ssj152
03 July 2016
The current (July 2 2016) version of TextExpander here and on MacUpdate desktop is 6.05. The actual current version is 6.07. Please fix your process to follow this package closer.
Like
Version 6.0.5
kscmint
17 June 2016
This is a great app! I have saved countless keystrokes using this app and I haven't even used it to its fullest!
Like
Version 6.0.5
Kris-nx
25 May 2016
The two stars isn't directed at the software but instead the new pricing plan! I'm sticking with version 5 until it now longer works.
Like (12)
Version 6.0.5
Steve-Frawley
25 May 2016
Subscription model is not for me ever
Like (11)
Version 6.0.5
Philosopherdog
22 May 2016
I'm done. Crappy product. Rediculous pricing. Moving on.
Like (10)
Version 5.1.4
1 answer(s)
OhEssex
OhEssex
25 May 2016
.
Like
alexander-m
29 April 2016
I am a long-term user of TextExpander and just upgraded to the new subscription-based TextExpander 6. I am thrilled to see the TextExpander-magic on Windows, as I am forced to use Windows for work related tasks. I fully recommend this upgrade for any multi-platform-user (Mac, iOS, Windows). In other reviews I learned that snippets are stored on external servers without encryption. This is no big deal for me, as I do not save confidential information in snippets. Having read a lot of negative user feedback on Twitter about the subscription model, I am convinced, this step towards recurring payment makes perfect sense, because there is one big advantage for customers: constant improvement of the software. Developers usually support old versions (bug fixes) until a new release or big upgrade is ready for sale. Each new version has to include more than one new feature in order to be qualified as "upgrade" and in order to be accepted by customers. Therefore customers have to wait until all new features are developed and are ready for sale. Development time for single features differs and may lead to longer upgrade-cycles. The subscription-based pricing model is fine for me as I do prefer small improvements within months over many new features in yearly upgrades. According to my personal TextExpander statistics, I saved about 56 hours in one year (19,000 snippets - 1,370,000 chars). For me upgrading was a no-brainer.
Like (1)
Version 5.1.4
7 answer(s)
SegN3rd
SegN3rd
02 May 2016
Well I'm glad it works for you, but I don't agree with your position.

You say that the subscription model guarantees constant improvement of the software, but it's already been established that version 6 has essentially no new features over version 5. The developer can still add, or not add, features, just like any other dev. The only guarantee is that you will keep paying whether they add features or not.

Yes, it's true that TextExpander has an iOS version and Typinator doesn't, but even when I used TextExpander, I almost never used the iOS app. Frankly, switching to the keyboard, entering the shortcut, and then switching back is a bigger hassle than just typing it longhand. I hope maybe Apple will make switching between iOS keyboards faster/easier/harder to do by accident, but for now they are not particularly useful.

I didn't even know about the lack of encryption issue before reading your message, but that concerns me too. If you don't use TE for any confidential info, I guess that means you don't use any e-mail addresses, names, or signatures of any kind in your snippets? Even if you don't, someone watching your typing patterns might be able to extrapolate data that you didn't intend to be public.

BTW, something else is troubling me here - MacUpdate is now almost a month behind on version numbers for TE, and I feel like they are getting really lax on other programs too.
Like (6)
OhEssex
OhEssex
25 May 2016
Hi SegN3rd,
I can't figure out how to private message you within this MacUpdate world (do you know if that's possible). I was hoping to communicate with you about managing such a large number of snippets. I have a few thousand myself (in aText) and I think managing this is all about following a good set of snippet rules. Maybe we can compare notes...
Like (1)
SegN3rd
SegN3rd
25 May 2016
@mmueck

I'm happy to provide whatever help I can, but I haven't tried aText, and my snippet collection is probably not as big as yours, so I think you probably already know better than I do. Feel free to post questions and I will try.
Like
OhEssex
OhEssex
25 May 2016
Doh! I meant to be communicating with alexander_m who has 19,000 snippets. Sorry for the hassle (and turning MacUpdate into a discussion forum).
Like (1)
SegN3rd
SegN3rd
25 May 2016
No problem. Thanks for the clarification.
Like
alexander-m
alexander-m
25 May 2016
@Mmueck

I do not have 19,000 different snippets in TextExpander. This figure refers to expanded snippets within one year. I am using about 100 - 200 snippets on a regular basis; some just a few keystrokes, some a few paragraphs long.

Sorry, but I have not figured out a system for the massive amount of 19,000 snippets.
Like
OhEssex
OhEssex
25 May 2016
Alexander_m:
Thanks for clarifying. It's almost embarrassing, but I have over 26,000 actual snippets. I gave up on TextExpander years ago when my library was just a couple thousand because it simply couldn't handle it without mangling many of the expansions. aText can handle the weight, but the developer appears to have abandoned it.
Like (1)
Mhoutman
27 April 2016
TextExpander 6.0.4 is latest but I did not update to 6 as I do not like the new pricing model on subscription base. Sorry, smile, but you should have also listened to your non corporate customers
Like (8)
Version 5.1.4
SegN3rd
21 April 2016
TextExpander is already down to $40/year instead of $60. If they're cutting the price this soon, they must be aware of the tremendous backlash - but they aren't giving up on the subscription model, which is what people are objecting to. There was a recent editorial on MacNN that "you should just get used to subscription software," but it seems to me that this is essentially the same mistake made by music and movie services: If you try to force people to use the purchasing model you like instead of the one the people want, people will find alternatives or just (not condoning this) steal it, rather than conforming to the model they don't like.
Like (6)
Version 5.1.4
putitoverhere
20 April 2016
I was just about to plunk down some relatively major coin on Smile's PDFpen Pro. Their recent raging business model with TextExpander has me running in the other direction. How soon will they find an excuse to move PDFpen to subscription as well? What we have here is a burgeoning Adobe copycat. And workflow tools just don't carry the weight for that kind of arrogance. 'Bye.
Like (5)
Version 5.1.4
1 answer(s)
putitoverhere
putitoverhere
14 May 2016
Smile doesn't quit. My response to their latest nudge to sign on: "No. Thank you for the great tool up to this point. But I think your new business model for this *workflow tool* is… Ill-advised at best and utterly lame at worst. I have left the fold.
Like (4)
Stronachab
09 April 2016
I won't be signing up for the subscription-based model. Even before this news, this company seemed to be more about milking its client base than about the software. If TextExpander had been unique or particularly outstanding at its job, I might have been concerned about leaving. It isn't, so I'm not.
Like (7)
Version 5.1.4
Mcjf
08 April 2016
What TextExpander (v5) does, it does well. But these days so many companies/services want you to subscribe. And those subscriptions add up. So with every new one I need to reconsider which ones are really worth it. Considering for what and how often I've used TextExpander, in my case it's not worth a subscription. I've tried aText and it does pretty much all I need for a fraction of the cost. That being said... I understand why developers are seeking a more constant and reliable flow of revenue. But people are unhappy because advances in development have been smallish for quite some time, so that falls flat when it comes to reasons justifying the move to a subscription based model. And why is the cost of maintaining TextExpander suddenly so much higher than it used to be? Employed too many people who expect to be paid (rightly so)? Are they all working in marketing? Don't get me wrong, I'm not angry. I've decided that a subscription is not for me. But unless you communicate the reasons of this move in great detail (incl. the cost) and well in advance you can't expect people to pay for a product that has seen little development lately.
Like (2)
Version 5.1.4
johnny-thompson
08 April 2016
I'm a long-time (~4 years) user of TextExpander, and I've been unhappy with TextExpander even before the pricing change. I'm leaving this as a lowest-score review for many reasons. Even before the new price gouging, they'd still only have gotten 1 or 2 stars from me.

Here are just some of the reasons TextExpander is awful:
- They charge high upgrade fees for barely any new features.
- The most exciting new feature was support for Javascript in their snippets.
- But TextExpander's expansion of Javascript-based snippets is ridiculously slow (about 5-10 seconds on a non-SSD, about 2-5 seconds on an SSD), which I guess is because it reads/writes some temporary files to disk and then reads the script output from that temp file. Or maybe it's because of how it launches Apple's "osascript" program. Either way, it's sloooow at doing advanced scripting.
- And it only supports AppleScript and Javascript, so forget doing something super advanced (i.e. downloading a webpage, scraping some content and outputting the result).
- And including snippets inside of each other is horribly poor. When I needed several advanced snippets to share advanced code, I ended up with a very ugly, hacked-together system of cross-references that simply looked horrible and slowed TextExpander's expansion to a crawl.
- Furthermore, another annoyance during regular text expansion is that whenever you use their "cursor placement" operation, the text cursor *crawls* to that location one step at a time. It's been annoying me but I assumed there was no other way.

When I found an email in my inbox talking about TextExpander 6 and "subscription model at $5 per month", I nearly puked in my mouth. I wasn't surprised, though. It's *exactly* what I expected from a company adding 1-2 features and gouging users for $20 each year for "upgrades" that frankly are mini-features at best. And now the only new feature in "v6" is that they removed the Dropbox/iCloud syncing features and added their own subscription-based syncing cloud. Allow me to reciprocate the giant "FU" back to TextExpander, since they just spat in the faces of all users.

To thank them for their disgusting behavior, I will now compare them to their two primary competitors and show how TextExpander falls behind both of them. I'd never tried the competitors before, but I am incredibly glad I did. It gave me everything I was lacking in TextExpander and more.

First out was aText.
- Only $5. Woah!
- It supports scripting in ANY shell-language (you just choose "Shell script" as snippet type, and type something like "#!/usr/bin/env php" at the top line to make a PHP script, for example). This feature allows you to do what I described earlier; i.e. you could write a script that downloads a webpage, finds some text on it, and uses that text as part of the expansion.
- Script execution is faster than TextExpander, but still slightly slow (~1 second), because aText takes the script-text and generates a script-file on the fly and executes it. It'd be faster if it stored them statically on disk. But if you don't need the shell scripting features, or use it rarely, you won't care about this minor slowdown. And like I said, it's still much faster than TextExpander's scripting, and supports any language.
- Telling a snippet to place the text cursor in a specific location is as slow as TextExpander; it moves one character at a time, which means it takes a fraction of a second after expansion before the cursor is in the right location. But if your snippets never tell the cursor to move (most people don't), this is not an issue for you.
- It supports EVERY TextExpander feature (including things like fill-in forms with dropdown/text input, and Dropbox syncing).
- For $5 (the cost of a single month of TextExpander's bullsh.t), you get all the same features and a permanent aText license. This is a FANTASTIC replacement for TextExpander for anyone not requiring *fast* shell scripting. I estimate that most regular users will only need aText and will be very, very happy with it. The interface is beautiful, by the way.

Lastly, the winner of the pack. Typinator.
- About $22 with the current 25% discount for TextExpander crossgraders, and that includes a free upgrade to Version 7 in the future.
- Full Dropbox (and others) syncing of your snippets and shell scripts, simply by moving the "Sets" folder location to a cloud-synced location like your Dropbox folder. Any changes to the files are instantly detected by all Typinator apps on all computers, even when it's running at the time. This is a far cry above the unreliable sync that TextExpander had.
- Shell scripts are literally shell scripts. They're stored in a special "Scripts" folder, end in ".sh", and are marked executable. This means you can use your full, syntax-highlighting text editors to write long, advanced scripts that have full access to the web, your filesystem, etc, so that they can do very advanced things.
- Shell scripts execute *instantly*. This is thanks to Typinator just needing to execute the script and capture the output (unlike TextExpander which runs osascript and uses temp files, and aType which must write the script to a file before executing it). I made a PHP shell script that outputs the current date, and Typinator expanded it in about 100ms every time, even on a non-SSD. My jaw dropped. This finally gives me access to super fast scripting in my snippets, allowing me to do things like a web scraper that pulls down prices and outputs the latest up-to-date price.
- You are able to use regular expressions as your snippet type, which means that you could use something like "(ee|rr|nn)name" as your "abbreviation" and a single snippet will react to eename, rrname and nnname, and your snippet itself can be script-based and use the "ee", "rr" or "nn" portions to determine what to output based on how you typed that abbreviation. This is great for snippets where you want tiny variations in output. It's also great for things like currency formatting (make a snippet that reacts to a sequence of numbers followed by some special characters, and make it grab those numbers and format them and output them).
- Shell scripts can receive arguments, i.e. "{Scripts/Test.sh what}" to send "what" to the script. That makes it easy to re-use the same script across multiple snippets and give it an argument that tells the script to slightly adjust the output based on what snippet is executing it. Heck, you can even execute the same script with different arguments via a single snippet by using Typinator's regular-expression text snippets, to capture custom input every time, like "{Scripts/Test.sh $1}" to send it the 1st captured regular expression argument (that you typed) from a regex-based abbreviation.
- Typinator includes built-in functions like regex replacements inside of your snippets which lets you do many advanced things without ever needing to create a shell script at all. For instance, I made a Regular Expression snippet with "([0-9]+(?:\.[0-9]+)?)xx" as the pattern, and set it to Plain Text and wrote the following as the text replacement just to test it: "Please pay me \${/Regex /[0-9]/1//$1/}!". The result is that if I type "293.22xx", it expands to "Please pay me $111.11!". That was just a test of the built-in regex replacement function, which in this case replaces all digits with the number "1". There are many built-in functions and I am very impressed.
- Fill-in forms, dropdown menus, variables etc are fully supported and work better than TextExpander ever did. The popup window is faster, clearer and only asks for the field values (instead of showing all the distracting boilerplate text too).
- The "place text cursor at location" feature is instant. It just jumps directly from expansion to placing the cursor at the correct location. It's a godsend since I use lots of snippets with text cursor placement and it's wonderful to be able to keep typing instantly after expansion, instead of waiting for the cursor to move (like with TextExpander and aType).
- The Typinator language is very easy; all functions are within {} brackets, and you learn them quickly. For instance, {"xxdate"} would include the contents of the "xxdate" snippet, etc. It's therefore super easy to include snippets in each other, etc. Even script-based and input-form based snippet inclusions work perfectly.
- The company has an unbeatable track record of excellent OS support and stability year after year for all of their applications, and friendly customer support.

So... to sum it up:
- Buy aText if you don't need shell scripting and don't care about moving the text cursor fast (most people don't use "move text cursor" features in their text snippets at all so they won't notice or need this). It's just $5 and supports everything that TextExpander supports.
- If you need extremely fast shell scripting, cursor movement, powerful built-in functions (like regex text replacement), and *mindblowing regex pattern matching as your abbreviation triggers*, buy Typinator.
- Never again give a single cent to TextExpander. They've shown their greed and they're not even the best on the market. Typinator is light years ahead in power and speed.
Like (21)
Version 5.1.4
1 answer(s)
ranieistner
ranieistner
10 April 2016
Thanks for this extensive review.
Like (2)
SegN3rd
08 April 2016
I initially just posted a comment because I thought it was still in the "rumor" stage - but even though it is not yet listed on MU, TextExpander 6 has officially been released, and it is officially subscription-based. It costs $60/year (more if you pay monthly), but existing users get a "discount" of $24 for the first year. According to MacNN, the only new "feature" in version 6 is that it removes iCloud/Dropbox syncing and forces you to use the subscription service. Typinator is offering a crossgrade to version 6, which includes a free upgrade to version 7, for about $22, and I jumped at the chance. Maybe Smile is actually a shell company who really just wants to motivate people to buy Typinator (if so, they're doing great) - otherwise, they are just running a clinic on how to incite panic and anger among your user base.
Like (6)
Version 5.1.4
SegN3rd
05 April 2016
double-post
Like
Version 5.1.4
SegN3rd
05 April 2016
I'm hearing that TextExpander is moving to a subscription model. I don't understand what this means for existing users. Can I continue using the software I already paid for? Is signing up for the subscription the only way I can get future updates? Do I get any credit toward the subscription fees for all the money I've already paid for multiple versions? I think if existing users can no longer use the purchasing model we've paid for, we should get the option of at least a partial refund.
Like (3)
Version 5.1.4
4 answer(s)
Bazineta
Bazineta
07 April 2016
They are indeed. From the announcement note sent to customers, seems that they're shifting to an Enterprise focus. I can't believe I just typed that, frankly.
Like (3)
SegN3rd
SegN3rd
07 April 2016
I hope I'm wrong, but I'm concerned that there seems to be a growing trend for seemingly reputable developers to just abruptly take the money and run. LogMeIn, Bento, TextExpander...
Like (2)
Frankns
Frankns
07 April 2016
FWIW

TE is a fine convenience, not a $5/mo value. OSX provides its own basic set of shortcuts and Typinator is around as a "heavier" option.

My hope is that Smile will realize they have put a foot wrong and provide another model. The question will be: "Is there some annual dollar amount greater than zero (the OSX price) and less than $50 that will make sense to the above average user?"

If the answer is that there is no such price point, TE may be done for.
Like (1)
johnny-thompson
johnny-thompson
08 April 2016
@Frankns: TextExpander can never win me back even if they gave me their software for free for life. TextExpander is incredibly weak compared to Typinator's expansion speed and advanced power-user features (scripting, built-in functions, etc). Everything I've ever wanted from TextExpander is in Typinator. Everything that has ever frustrated me about TextExpander's massive weaknesses is solved by Typinator. I have to thank Smile Software for driving me away so that I finally discovered software that's more advanced and powerful than TextExpander ever was.
Like (3)
HockeyGuy-in-Texas
17 February 2016
This is the one app that I use multiple times per day. I have snippets for everything! Once you start using TextExpander, you will wonder how you ever lived without it!
Like
Version 5.1.3
finntastic51
08 January 2016
I can't explain how much I LOVE TextExpander!!! I have been using it for 3 or 4 years now and it saves me so much time not only personally, but in my business as well. If there is anything you type multiple times a day or week, use this to make a shortcut and save yourself the extra typing! We actually use this in our business to reply to customers with anything from short sentences to a very detailed response just by typing a couple of letters. I get sad when I go onto a website that doesn't allow you to use snippets. Their support is fantastic! It did feel a little frustrating that sometimes it took them 12 hours to respond and other times it took 20 minutes or so. Overall, I positively love TextExpander and can't live a day without it :)
Like
Version 5.1.3
SkilletAudio
05 January 2016
I love this software and have been using it for years but also for years it was doing bad things that I finally narrowed down to a preference "Capitalize new sentences" under Options. This will use the delete key so if you have multimedia apps that you type in and select objects like Photoshop, Logic, Media Composer, Pro Tools etc then beware you might press return to do a function and then type two letters and Keyboard Maestro will then use the delete key, yes the delete key and then command+v to paste to correct things. It had deleted so many things over the years and I could never pinpoint what was causing it because it was random after I had pressed return and then pressed two single letters with no keyboard modifiers. Much of the time I saw things delete and just pressed undo but after years of this happening every so often I had to narrow it down. It would be so much nicer if it just shift back selected the text or something and pasted in the correction but delete is just asking for trouble! For whatever reason it takes a very long time for the Correct capitalizations in only these applications to populated for me (maybe because of VMWare Fusion Windows apps showing up) and when they do for me if the app is open and I uncheck it it doesn't stick. Their tech support is pretty much always great and fast and overall I love the product just feel they should have put a warning on checking that box letting people know that it will press the delete key to do this function, it would have saved me hours and a lot of lost work reverting back to previously saved files.
Like
Version 5.1.3
labrat1001
29 August 2015
I use TE for work related purposes. In short, this software is amazing and saves me soooo much time in getting things taken care of. Since its provided to me through work I have to say its a bonus that they take feedback from the users and integrate it into the software. I recently made contact with their team a while back and gave a very detail description of a feature or adjustment that could be made, and they did it. A little guy helping out a little guy! Love it.
Like
Version 5.1
cliveH
18 August 2015
Goodness knows I've been enthusiastic in recommending TextExpander in my user group etc for years. It is, undoubtedly, an excellent product. But having to pay $31.49 AFTER discount for a minor upgrading from v4 is outrageous. Yes, the company can do what it likes -- but I can do what I like, too, and not buy the upgrade.

I'm just so sorry that people to whom I've firmly recommended this product will be expressing their opinion to me before long... :-\
Like (7)
Version 5.1
2 answer(s)
Unseen-Vision
Unseen-Vision
25 August 2015
I'm honestly surprised that people still buy and pay for upgrades for this app when aText is available for much less money and does almost everything TextExpander can.
Like (9)
OneAfter909
OneAfter909
24 October 2015
I agree. I've also recommended TextExpander over the years. It's the best text expander available for Mac. But I did not update and will no longer recommend it because of the price.
Like (2)
Russell-Philip
09 August 2015
My Quickeys 4 began to not work. I emailed Smile and over the next three or four days a real person helped me with veery specific and easy to follow instructions until it was fixed. It is so good to have a real person to help you. Thanks Smile! -- Philip Russell
Like
Version 5.1
stueckemann-1
29 June 2015
TextExpander is absolutely one of the best apps I have purchased for my computer. I only very rarely launch its settings windows and most of the time the app steps in the background and simply works for me. It makes me more productive and if it is not running on another Mac, I notice within only a few minutes. Even though the price may seem steep it is absolutely worth the money. The amount of time this app saves is incredible. Finally, the Smile's support is very helpful. Whenever I contact the company I receive replies very quickly within only a few hours that have so far always been helpful.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.1
macupdate-cc
05 June 2015
You must get this app! I am a staunch Mac guy. But, I love TextExpander so much, I had to get a similar Windows program that reads the sync'd TextExpander abbreviations. This has saved me many, many hours and helped me to present a far more professional image in my documents, email, and online engagements. And Smile Software Support is top notch! ...and to you complainers out there...it's paid software. Get over it. It's an investment in your own productivity. The payback is massive on this one. I use this primarily at work and I am a far more productive and, dare I say it, impressive employee because of it. Just get TextExpander. What are you waiting for?
Like
Version 5.0
david-100
04 June 2015
Must have App for anyone who does even a moderate amount of typing. In 4 months of usage stats show 34 hours saved. That might be overstated because things like an email signature can be done by other means. Regardless though, as someone whose job involves writing long documents, anything that saves me time, translates to making me more profitable. On that score, this App is hands down and without peer the most useful and best value for money software I own. The Version 5 update incorporates some fantastic tweaks which have already significantly increased my efficiency through greater snippet use.
Like (1)
Version 5.0
Oshkar
02 June 2015
TextExpander is by far the most useful application I use in my everyday routines with my computer. It saves me a lot of time, makes me be a lot more accurate in my writings and allows me to give the correct image of coherence and well done job I want for my customers, coworkers, associates and for myself. This piece of software is a must have for any person trying to be as efficient as one can be.
Like
Version 5.0
Tychay
02 June 2015
Looking at my logs I seemed to have purchased 4 upgrades in the last 5 years (My first purchase was in 2011 for $150+ so I must have bought it as a bundle with PDFPen which I never use).. Furthermore, am ineligible for a REQUIRED upgrade. I suppose it's my fault for being a loyal customer, but I'm quite put out because it actually took me about two years to get the hang of the product, and then I was burned twice on the iOS version (useless, do not buy).

Other than that, it's a pretty good product. There is other macro software out there, but this does it better or easier or both. If you can deal with paying $20 every year on the year for basically a macro software expansion, then I recommend it, else, move on to someone who will move paid updates to no more than every couple years or when there's a serious rewrite needed.

BTW the following issues I've experienced with the software amount to the following: annoying beep (default, you can turn it off, but you sort of need it) when it expands stuff, some expansions work strangely with autocorrect (may be fixed in Yosemite version who knows— as in they fight with each other and sometimes make a mess of things, therefore sometimes your expansions are outdated and you'll have to figure out how to manage that. Also in some apps I haven't seen it expand… or rather, maybe it does expand but you have to be typing it all at once (don't switch out of the app?) I'm not sure. In any case, the thing is in the Apps you really, really need macros it works flawlessly, and it may work spotty in some applications, but in those you really don't need it so if it happens to work, it seems like a big win.

I guess I never scratched the real power user aspects of it (except when I was doing e-mails at work), but now I'm glad I didn't because I'm sick of what I feel is an upgrade scheme that amounts to extortion if I were actually dependent on this software.
Like (5)
Version 5.0
claytonchurch1
28 May 2015
Love the "you could have used this snippet" pop-in feature. It tells me of snippets I forgot I ever made! Great upgrade. Love TextExpander, since version one or two! I'm a digitally challenged guy (slow fingers--that kind of "digit"), so it's beyond awesome. Thank you!
Like (1)
Version 5.0
1 answer(s)
culb0743
culb0743
29 May 2015
+1
Like
culb0743
27 May 2015
.
Like
Version 5.0
mgus
27 May 2015
I just purchased TextExpander 4.0 six months ago but Smile (the developer) says I'm not eligible to upgrade unless I pay an additional $19.95! Wow- $45 for an app and $20 more to upgrade after only six months? Fortunately, Typinator was included a bundle I purchased a month before TextExpander, and sure enough, no charge to upgrade to the new Typinator 6.5. Result: TextExpander is now removed from my dock and replaced with Typinator.
Like (25)
Version 5.0
8 answer(s)
culb0743
culb0743
28 May 2015
This is not a review. Please consider changing your contribution to a comment.
Like (2)
Hachepunto
Hachepunto
17 July 2015
Perhaps it is not a review but have valuable information to decide a purchase.
Like (4)
Broz
Broz
22 July 2015
This is not a review, it's a comment. It has value, but not as a review.
Like
iGaucho
iGaucho
28 July 2015
If you bought it on or after January 1, 2015 it's a free upgrade. If that's when you bought it and it's still not giving you the free upgrade I'd suggest contacting Smile On My Mac's customer service.
Like
M-aurizio
M-aurizio
17 August 2015
The upgrade policy is one of the main factors that I consider when buying software . This does not seem a good business card: https://smilesoftware.com/help/TextExpander/readme.html#upgrading
Like (1)
Fakir
Fakir
17 August 2015
This site runs promos. Information about price and upgrading policy is an essential part of a user's review. Just as important as the technical details.
Like (1)
beloved-junkmail
beloved-junkmail
18 December 2015
This is actually a false statement by the poster of the comment. I just upgraded for free. It is a free upgrade if you purchased TextExpander after January 1, 2015. If one had bought TextExpander 4.x 6 months before 5 came out, it would have been a free update. Proof: http://grab.by/MQKO
Like
mgus
mgus
19 December 2015
@beloved.junkmail: did you actually just accuse another MacUpdate member of making a false statement without any proof? I have my November 20, 2014 TextExpander receipt and the Smile Software email which reads "Upgrade by downloading TextExpander 5. It will tell you if your upgrade is free or paid. If it's paid, click "BUY AN UPGRADE LICENSE."

Smile's website also clearly states: "UPGRADES between major version numbers are charged an UPGRADE FEE. For example, a PAID UPGRADE would be from v.4.3.2 to v.5.1" [ See https://smilesoftware.com/textexpander/download_thanks] Please be more careful to check the facts before making false accusations.

And by the way, Ergonis Software just released another free update for Typinator a few days ago. That’s the third free update since I purchased it last year, so I stand by my original comment.
Like
JamesHarrisPhoto
27 May 2015
Unfortunately it forces you to upgrade version 4 to version 5 just to see what the upgrade price is. I couldn't find anything on their site about the upgrade price. And the new features are not something I'd use. Upgrade price is $19.95, and with the new features I won't use, I have to reinstall version 4 again. Hopefully it didn't change the format of my snippets.
Like (5)
Version 5.0
2 answer(s)
Mdognrdog
Mdognrdog
27 May 2015
I got 4.x as part of a bundle deal, rather than paying list, and thought at the time that $40 was crazy for the standard price. $20 for the upgrade seems about equally loco.
Like (1)
wenatuhs
wenatuhs
29 May 2015
In my case the upgrade didn't remove TextExpander version 4, it just renamed the old version from 'TextExpander' to 'TextExpander 4.*'. So I guess you could still locate the old version 4 in your Application folder.
Like
Alvin-H
16 December 2014
i choose text expander only because it have iOS companion, no other have companion. but if other have companion i'll check it again
Like (1)
Version 4.3.4
Adele-Toutant-gahu
25 June 2014
I've been using TextExpander since it was called Textpander (many many years ago...). Extremely useful and it can get quite intricate at times, you can spend a lot of nerdy time diving into some of the features. I can use it for all kinds of things from one-off text replacement to boilerplate emails and forms. Very useful for code snippets, email sigs, you name it. Also some folks have started sharing their snippets so that's another way to jumpstart the app. I use it on my iPhone too, not compatible with native apps but the ones that _do_ support it become extra useful, like Drafts.
Like
Version 4.3.1
I just got an e-mail from Ryan at MacUpdate promoting a sale for TextExpander and suggesting, if I already own it, that I write a review. Well, I don't use TextExpander because I have, ever since Mac OS 7, used Spell Catcher. Spell Catcher has a number of auto-expand features in addition to an excellent dictionary (actually a variety of [free] supplemental dictionaries including those for specialized terms in a number of categories like law, medicine and computer terms - and foreign languages). I also have a license for TypeIt4Me, which I used even before I bought Spell Catcher (TypeIt4Me came to OS X before Spell Catcher so I used it for awhile until SpellCatcher X became available. TypeIt4Me is an excellent snippet expansion utility which also goes back to OS 7 days. I've nothing against TextExpander, except that it was very late to the game. Smile makes some good software but I don't need any of it. So I'm writing to recommend Spell Catcher, which does far more than Text Expander and TypeIt4Me which is a reliable alternative to and costs less than even the sale price of Text Expander.
Like
Version 4.3.1
2 answer(s)
ostrichtom
ostrichtom
27 June 2014
Unfortunately, the developer of Spell Catcher passed away in 2011. The program is no longer available. It's web site isn't even available anymore. I used it, too, until development stopped.
Like
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
27 June 2014
@ Tomstraus: While it's true that Evan Michael Gross is deceased, it's not true that the Rainmaker Web site - http://www.rainmakerinc.com - is down or that the app is no longer available. I had no trouble getting there just now. Spell Catcher X is still listed on and downloadable from MacUpdate - http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/10590/spell-catcher-x - and for sale at the Rainmaker Web site - https://store.kagi.com/cgi-bin/store.cgi?storeID=XYS_LIVE&time=1403878101&lang=en&page=Mac_OS_X. Though Spell Catcher X has not been updated for Mountain Lion and Mavericks, it works just fine on my new iMac with OS X 10.9.3. Of course there's no telling whether it will continue to work on subsequent versions of OS X, yet there's no reason to abandon it if you own a license and have been using it up till now. And if you are still using OS X 10.5 thru 10.7, it is fully qualified on those versions of OS X. It is more expensive than TextExpander but it does a lot more. In particular the dictionary is far superior to the built-in dictionary in OS X and I use it constantly.
Like
I use your competitor (Riccardo Ettore's TypeIt4Me) and have done since 1995, so I'm not about to switch to Text Expander. However, I give this 4 stars (without using it!) because this type of app is not only useful, it is - after you've used it a short while - indispensable.
Like
Version 4.3.1
Harv
29 December 2013
Do you have a Caution sign overlaying the TE icon in either the menu bar or dock? If so… When TextExpander does its thing, it is actually logging your keystrokes, so it knows what to expand. But when entering a password, Apple’s Secure Input (SI) is enabled; preventing anyone, even TE from seeing what you type. After entering your PW, SI is quit & returned to the user (and TE) so life can continue as usual. The problem that sometimes happens, is that SI remains enabled even after entering your PW; ergo TE can’t work as it should. The fix for this is to quit the offending apps & relaunch. Most often these are:  • 1Password • LastPass • Google Chrome • Firefox • Hulu Desktop • iFinance • Quicken Scheduler • Notational Velocity • Chronories • Terminal • loginwindow • Parallels Desktop 9 But sometimes you may need to reboot the OS. This most always solves the problem. Tip: TE’s menu bar icon will show the name of what it thinks is the offending app (under Expansion Disabled or some such). FWIW: I have found the tech support first-rate in every regard. Additional detail available at: http://www.smilesoftware.com/TextExpander/secureinput.html
Like (1)
Version 4.2
SegN3rd
10 December 2013
I have the same problem with the clipboard being posted instead of the expansion. I appreciate the troubleshooting info, but the fact is that this program has been at least partially sherlocked. In Mavericks, you can just go to System Preferences->Keyboard->Text. I understand that this feature is not as versatile as TextExpander, but it is more reliable and and can also work with iOS.
Like (2)
Version 4.2
1 answer(s)
Xenophile
Xenophile
21 August 2014
OS X's text expansion doesn't seem to work for every app, but the iOS syncing is a huge advantage.

Like
Pfackelmann
03 December 2013
Lately (with OS 10.9) it happens frequently: Instead of a TE snippet I get a piece from the clipboard. Mails to support@smilesoftware.com info@smilesoftware.com pr@smilesoftware.com are bounced.
Like
Version 4.1.1
1 answer(s)
Pfackelmann
Pfackelmann
08 December 2013
Ryan (MacUpdate Support) helped. He contacted SmileSoftware; they returned: Try changing the Restore clipboard delay in the TextExpander Preferences. That solved the problem.
Like (2)
JamesHarrisPhoto
25 September 2013
I won't be giving this latest version a star-rating because I won't be updating. The features keep piling on, but with the long increase in my MacBook's startup time being one of the issues with this, and long lag between typing an abbreviation and the actual expansion, I switched back to Typinator. The expansions with Typinator happen instantly.
Like (3)
Version 4.1.1
Satcomer
10 April 2013
It seems to load very slowly now during Mac startup! The old version of 3.5 was much better at startup launching.
Like (4)
Version 4.0.4
Jumbobob
25 November 2012
Good job guys. Just the price looks to me a little high. Else I can recommend it.
Like (6)
Version 4.0.3.1
Monkeyjunkey
22 November 2012
Version 4.0.3.1 is out.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.1
1 answer(s)
Regular-Warren
Regular-Warren
22 November 2012
Thanks! Updated.
Like
4ywmu
09 October 2012
It's a little on the pricey side, but once you start to make use of it, you will never want to use a computer without it again! So useful, one of the few pieces of software that I absolutely can not live without.
Like
Version 4.0.1
MikeArun
05 July 2012
This app makes typing laggy and makes letters jumble. Tried typinator. This is not found in typinator. Go for typinator. Not recommended .
Like (8)
Version 4.0
1 answer(s)
Sigil
Sigil
09 August 2012
I don't know about Typinator, but I agree that Textpander makes typing laggy. I've upgraded twice, but I won't this time. I'm not a heavy user. That said, I read the release notes. What are the complelling features? I would pay five bucks for a 3.5 that was solely a performance enhancement. Hoperfully, Apple will add simple snipet expansion like iOS has. until then, I'm going to give DashExpander a try. (I'm still unhappy about the iOS app.)
Like (4)
ChristopherPrice
21 June 2012
I have no idea if I will use any of the new features, but I am completely comfortable upgrading and paying the reasonable fee to support an indie developer I have come to trust. Regardless of features, I'm confident the value is there -- even if it is only continued polish and refinement. Keep up the good work, Smile!
Like (5)
Version 4.0
Mkay
21 June 2012
How is this a major upgrade I'm supposed to pay 15,- for? pretty bad move for an otherwise decent app.
Like (10)
Version 4.0
1 answer(s)
Roy-Van-Der-Woning
Roy-Van-Der-Woning
21 June 2012
It's not. This should have been released as a minor upgrade as it only extends the features that were already available. I love TextExpander, but I will most certainly not pay for a major upgrade based on what's on offer here.
Like (7)