Back to FolderGlance page
FolderGlance free download for Mac

FolderGlance Reviews

3.0.6
19 April 2016

Contextual menu plugin, view/open folder contents.

Corpsecorps
03 June 2010

Most helpful

Despite ridiculous comments about this or that substitute, or this app being altogether unnecessary, the particular unique feature set of Folderglance (including customizing the contextual menu, and the Open With menu, as well as downplaying the little used Finder contextual items and previewing files at distant points in the file system) can be absolutely invaluable. I download and/or drag a lot of images and information to the desktop which I then need to transfer to far flung locations in several drives. Alternatives have, for me, all proven less convenient, or just slow or unreliable. Though I use this less often than I did in the past, I'm very glad it's still around and getting better with each update!
Like (6)
Version 2.6.9

Read 83 FolderGlance User Reviews

Rate this app:

Eric•Woehler
11 August 2018
Working under High Sierra on MBPro. FinderPop is now offically retired so FolderGlance the only real option for intelligent contextual menu. Shame Apple doesn't offer something like this instead of stupid Dock - not practical on 4k screen to go hunting to the Dock every time I want to do something. Having FG as option by opt-click increases my productivity - no question/no doubt! Recommended by long-time user.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.6
1 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
12 July 2019
Hi Eric, haven't you got any issue with tags?
Here on 10.11.6 FolderGlance inverts label colors: if I select green, it becomes orange and so on... When I uninstall it all comes back to normal.
Like
Alex-Macinsky
12 February 2017
Has the same annoying flaw as FinderPop. First you have to click and select a folder, then you can right-click and view the folder contents. FinderPop is faster however in showing folder contents.
Like
Version 3.0.6
Rjmorita
20 April 2016
I thought it was a bit expensive, but I bought it anyway. I really like what it can do. It does a lot more than just showing folder contents.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.6
Anthony1947
19 April 2016
I can't help but ask - why would you pay $20 for the same functionality that FinderPop provides FREE?
Like
Version 3.0.6
1 answer(s)
Jimw
Jimw
08 June 2016
Because Finder Pop has been discontinued. and will not be updated according to the developers site. FG is the best supported replacement right now in my opinion.
Like (1)
Drdul
05 October 2015
FolderGlance works great on El Capitan (and it's still a 5-star app). The thing is, you have to temporarily disable System Integrity Protection (SIP), move a file and run a Terminal command, then re-enable SIP, which takes a few minutes and several restarts, but it's worth it. Here's what to do (these instructions come from the dev):

1. To disable SIP, restart into Recovery Mode by holding Cmd+R at startup. Go to Utilities > Terminal in the menu. In Terminal, type "csrutil disable" (without the quotes) and press Enter. Restart normally.

2. Move the FolderGlance.osax file from your ~/Library/ScriptingAdditions folder to the /System/Library/ScriptingAdditions folder (creating the folder if it doesn't exist). Make sure there are no other copies of FolderGlance.osax on your Mac (check /Library/ScriptingAdditions, too).

3. Open Terminal, enter "sudo chown -R root:wheel /System/Library/ScriptingAdditions/FolderGlance.osax" (without the quotes) and press Enter. Provide your admin password when prompted.

4. Re-enable SIP by restarting into Recovery Mode as in 1. above, but instead type "csrutil enable" (without the quotes) in Terminal, and then restart normally.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.5
4 answer(s)
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
12 October 2015
hey thanks for the tip - have disabled SIP on El CRAPITAN, moved .osax file, changed owner but FG still doesn't work - restart finder required??
thanks
Like
kar-1
kar-1
21 October 2015
FolderGlance works perfectly on my iMac early 2009. Running El Capitan. Just updated Yosemite to El Capitan. Didn't have to disable SIP. Using FolderGlance 3.0.5.
Like
Brighton-Pete
Brighton-Pete
13 November 2015
Thanks - it's nice to have FG back once again. Pretty much the same routine to get Bartender up & running in El Capitan also.
Like
Dan-D
Dan-D
17 November 2015
Is it not possible to adjust the installer-script to install the related file (FolderGlance.osax) to the correct folder under El Capitan? So one would not have to move any files around, change owner using terminal or disabling SIP at all?

Also, what if I haven't installed FolderGlance before and want to install it now, running El Capitan? Can I install the FolderGlance.osax file by simply moving the resource file from the installer-package to the correct location ("/System/Library/ScriptingAdditions" instead of "~/Library/ScriptingAdditions")?

Thanks,
Dan
Like
Ront
03 October 2015
Not working on El Capitan, sorry to say. That is too bad. It has been a great little utility so I am still giving it 5 stars. Hopefully the developer will see if it can be made to work on El Capitan OS 10.11.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.5
1 answer(s)
Drdul
Drdul
05 October 2015
See my instructions above for how to get FolderGlance working on El Capitan. I am so glad it still works, as I couldn't live without it!
Like
mikokim
20 May 2015
Overall, I found this useful (mostly for quickly moving files to favorite folders), but I had to uninstall it because it messed with the context menu; more specifically, it messed with tagging via the context menu (Yosemite 10.10.3).

Here's what happened: if I assigned a "red" tag via the context menu, it would actually assign the color purple; choose purple, it would assign orange etc.

When I used the Action button in the Finder to assign color tags, everything worked as expected (i.e., red -> red etc). After disabling FolderGlance, everything worked as expected again as well; so it must be a bug in FolderGlance.

Using Dropzone for now to quickly whisk files to specified favorite folders (granted, not as convenient, but as is, FolderGlance is messing with my tagging and I can't use it).
Like
Version 3.0.5
polocanada
04 March 2015
Had to uninstall. Causing hags of contextual menu on Mavericks.
Like
Version 3.0.5
1 answer(s)
polocanada
polocanada
04 March 2015
This can be minor annoyance. I managed to shorten the "hang" to a delay of about 1 second before the contextual menu pops up but still delay. No other addons, haxies or kext installed that would influence the contextual menu. By the way, even when I disabled Folder Glance, I still do get the miniature icon representing "Folder Glance menu" when clicking. Goes to trash unfortunately and I remember it didn't work properly on Snow Leopard either. Perhaps I just happen to have bad luck with this tool.
Like
Manu-V
01 November 2014
As Maclover1.1 says, tis software in like FinderPop on steroïds. Used with Default Folder and Total Finder, it's enormous ! Just one thing : the color tags doesn't work correctly with Yosemite. When you choose the yellow color, the green one is selected ! And so on… Otherwise, this is a perfect soft, very helpful. Anyway, used recently, I could not do without it now ! So, grat app !
Like
Version 3.0.5
Maclover1-1
15 August 2014
This is FinderPop on steroids. It still works flawlessly in Yosemite Preview/Beta. Hope the dev will continue to develop. It' s the best in this category. IMO if the dev would show some "action" it could have become as sort of "front office" DefautlFolder. It actually can inline in the Finder and display previews of files (QuickLook), making it faster to review files than the regular Finder and its bag of tricks (ie. gimmicky CoverFlow). Oh.. and the icon is horrendous.. still.. GREAT APP. Dev: Do not let this one die away.. please. 5 stars when you show some "updating action." :0)
Like
Version 3.0.3
Drdul
19 November 2012
I've been using FolderGlance for a few years, and it's gotten to the point that I can't use a Mac without it (my wife doesn't have it on her machine, and when I have to use her Mac it drives me nuts -- maybe I'll install it for her when she's not looking!). Things I like abut FolderGlance include the ability to move and copy files from the contextual menu, the ability to quickly create aliases in a different location than the source file, and fast access to favourite folders and custom folders (in which I place aliases of frequently-used apps). FolderGlance makes right-clicking (control-clicking) fun!
Like (1)
Version 3.0.3
Fking
14 November 2012
i used this for several years on my previous mac, but never installed it on my new one (running ML)...until last night. forgot how useful, and elegant this is. along with launchpad, makes working on my macbook pro a seamless, and intuitive experience. great app!
Like
Version 3.0.3
Ront
12 October 2012
Essential app. Love it!
Like
Version 3.0.2
Corpsecorps
19 November 2011
Infrequently when I bring up the menu, "Finder" will be the only thing at the bottom, after which I get approximately 2 seconds of pinwheel, and Finder crashes. 8^/ (Mac Pro, 10.6.8)
Like
Version 3.0.2
Eric•Woehler
25 July 2011
Can highly recommend this app. Have been using it for a while and am a happy user. I have identified a couple of minor bugs (predominantly GUI) over the time I have used it and the developer has responded within hours, either offering update or working with me to look at logs to solve the problem. Worth the money in increased productivity and ease of use.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.2
Jo*
20 July 2011
Is version 3 a paid upgrade? I can't find any info on the developers site.
Like
Version 3.0.1
2 answer(s)
Yellow Lemon Software
Yellow Lemon Software
20 July 2011
Version 3 is a free upgrade to registered users of version 2.5 or later.
Like (1)
Jo*
Jo*
21 July 2011
Thanks for the quick heads-up! And thanks for the free upgrade-path :-)
Like
Djefis
23 June 2011
Great App.
Like
Version 3.0.0
zo219
11 June 2011
FolderGlance in 10.6.7 has simply stopped working for me. It sites there. It does nothing. I've owned it for years. Too bad.
Like
Version 3.0.0
2 answer(s)
Djefis
Djefis
23 June 2011
You have to reinstall FG, probably for a problem with the file: loginitems.pls. I hope this help you.
Like (1)
Yellow Lemon Software
Yellow Lemon Software
20 July 2011
Hi, First, apologies for not responding sooner. It sounds like the login item isn't loading anymore. You can fix this by reinstalling, or manually as follows: 1) Open System Preferences, select the Accounts pref pane, click your account and then select the Login Items tab. If you see an item called FolderGlance Loader in the list, remove it. Keep this window open. 2) Open a Finder window, and open your Library folder. In the Library folder, open the folder called PreferencePanes, then right-click the item called FolderGlancePrefs.prefPane. Select Show Package Contents from the context menu, and dig into Contents/Resources. 3) In the Resources folder, you should see an item called FolderGlance Loader. Launch this application, and then drag it to the list of login items. This should resolve your problem; if not, feel free to get in touch either here or via e-mail (you can find the email address in the FolderGlance preference pane, in the Help section).
Like
Hachepunto
08 March 2011
FolderGlance is a "must have" tool for Mac.
Like
Version 3.0.0
Brighton-Pete
07 October 2010
This app is awesome! It is worth the money just to clear out the "Open with..." pop out menu. I have always wanted to clean out the frivolous app's that I would never open a photo or text file with. This has pared down my menu to about a dozen apps. Plus, it opens instantaneously - no more waiting for it any more. As for moving files around, this makes it easy. I did use QuickAccessCM before it died when CM's were banished. Now, I have an easy way to move files around without opening windows, or waiting for them to pop open. I tested it, and had downloaded another app with similar leanings, but this one is now in my stable of must-have apps!
Like (1)
Version 2.6.11
Corpsecorps
03 June 2010
Despite ridiculous comments about this or that substitute, or this app being altogether unnecessary, the particular unique feature set of Folderglance (including customizing the contextual menu, and the Open With menu, as well as downplaying the little used Finder contextual items and previewing files at distant points in the file system) can be absolutely invaluable. I download and/or drag a lot of images and information to the desktop which I then need to transfer to far flung locations in several drives. Alternatives have, for me, all proven less convenient, or just slow or unreliable. Though I use this less often than I did in the past, I'm very glad it's still around and getting better with each update!
Like (6)
Version 2.6.9
Fishscale
02 May 2010
This app is amazing. I have owned it since it's early inception and updates are frequent and well thought out. When I look over and see the "recommend apps" I can't help but laugh. They don't hold a candle to the power and stability of FolderGlance as it is right now. Constant updates will continue to put those "recommend apps" to shame. Just try it, if your not sold, you don't need the quick contextual features.
Like (4)
Version 2.6.7
3 answer(s)
Roaming-Nomad
Roaming-Nomad
15 May 2010
And I can't help but laugh that you were stupid enough to pay $20 for this one trick pony that you can do for free with the column view and the option key. I have some used condoms for sale at half price if you want them. They worked great too!
Like (2)
Version 2.6.9
Corpsecorps
Corpsecorps
03 June 2010
@DoobieXX: Saying this has it all over Default Folder (a suggestion) is ridiculous as that app is far more powerful and useful than this; indispensible really. In fact, they're functions aren't really even very similar, so the suggestion is rather silly. @Roaming Nomad: You must be delirious if you think you can do this for free with column view and option. Only a fraction of what Folderglance does can be accomplished that way. Just moving files to other parts of the hierarchy takes many times the effort. Have to have two windows open and navigate to source and destination; then select items and drag, or one window and dig down through many many levels of file architecture using spring-loaded folders. It can take minutes per transfer. With column view and the option key, how can you navigate quickly to some random folder many layers deep and preview a file there? If one is regularly sending files and folders off to distant parts of the file hierarchy on multiple drives of hundreds or thousands of gigabytes (in my case about 4 TB) YOUR way would eat up hours of time.
Like (2)
Version 2.6.9
Fishscale
Fishscale
01 March 2011
corpseorcs, default folder x is quite a different app than this and when I posted this review default folder x was NOT listed as a suggestion. Obviously they are COMPLETELY different. I own both, if they were the same why would I own both. OpenMenu X and finderpop are the kind of apps I was referring too. don't just jump to conclusions singling one app out that we know should not even be listed as an alternative, they are extremely different. Thanks for your reply, I gained no knowledge but at least we both agree Roaming Noad is a troll w/o much knowledge.
Like
Drdul
19 April 2010
Version 2.6.6 "adds the ability to create new files to the root context menu." Fantabulous!
Like (1)
Version 2.6.6
Killer-Klown-Kar
19 April 2010
$20 and FinderPop is FREE? LOL
Like (3)
Version 2.6.6
2 answer(s)
Corpsecorps
Corpsecorps
20 April 2010
SOME of us don't like FinderPop!
Like (4)
Version 2.6.6
dwp-1
dwp-1
14 May 2010
Not all developers can afford to work for free. And if you don't want to purchase FolderGlance I am sure that you could develop your own application that would replicate the FolderGlance during one of your free afternoons.
Like (4)
Version 2.6.8
Corpsecorps
31 March 2010
Since updating to 2.6.4, i very often get an error 47 or 50 when using this to move files. The files seem to get moved okay, but a dialog pops up anyway to report an error.
Like
Version 2.6.4
Shane-Smith
18 March 2010
This is a very useful application. I have no idea why this is not built into the system.
Like (2)
Version 2.6.4
Andy49
12 January 2010
The developers' e-mail is no longer valid. I love the idea of this program, but when I click and hold the mouse over a folder, "spaces" engages. I do see the little icon, but when I let go it runs "spaces". Also, I needed to turn off "1 finger snap" because this program locks up finder. I'm pretty sure all the settings are right.
Like
Version 2.6.1
1 answer(s)
Fred-M-
Fred-M-
12 January 2010
Just checked on this report about a defunct e-mail for the developer because I am about to purchase FolderGlance and wanted to make sure the program was not abandonware. It is not. See the following: E-mail: daniel@scsc.no New website: http://www.scsc.no/
Like (1)
Version 2.6.1
Fishscale
09 January 2010
This is the best update I have seen. I bought this app when it came out and updates are always bringing something new to the app, not fixing bugs. FG is worth every penny I paid for it. More dev's like this are needed! Thank you for the constant grind of making this app to fit all of our different preferences, completely flexible in every regard.
Like (1)
Version 2.6.0
Corpsecorps
09 January 2010
I love this thing. Quick, simple, and slick.
Like
Version 2.6.0
GeogProf
08 January 2010
Awesome app, awesome developer. I sent him an email bemoaning the fact that the FolderGlance contextual menu forces the Finder's and Services' contextual menus into submenus, and he replied with a full explanation about the forces that conspired to push FolderGlance into that configuration and a promise to keep looking for a solution. Well, it's only been 3 weeks but Mr. Stødle has already figured out how to restore FolderGlance to its usefulness as a means of giving contextual menu access to other folders but now without relegating the Finder and Services contextual menus to submenus! It's now a must-have app again!
Like (1)
Version 2.6.0
Eric•Woehler
17 November 2009
just sent the developer an email and had a response within 15 minutes!! It is a bug and will be fixed in next version. Impressive to see such a prompt response from a very receptive developer.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.8
Eric•Woehler
17 November 2009
Slight GUI bug when you set FG to show files/folders in colour to reflect the label you have assigned to them. The font appears to be different and is definitely larger - I have set mine to 10pt but the coloured font is at least 11pt, possibly 12. While this may appeal to some people - coloured files/folders larger than uncoloured files/folders, I would definitely prefer the font to be the same size throughout.
Like
Version 2.5.8
Billy-The-Biker
17 November 2009
I used FinderPop for years and wish it were back, but it may be awhile. FolderGlance seems like a nice app, but it works very slooooowly for me. I disabled it because it is much faster and more convenient to use Control/click than wait for the CM to pop up with this program.
Like
Version 2.5.8
4 answer(s)
Kuphd
Kuphd
27 November 2009
Finderpop is actually closer than you might think. Keep your eyes peeled...:-)
Like (2)
Version 2.5.9
Hey-Billy!!!
Hey-Billy!!!
11 January 2010
I am still having a slow response time with this app. When I Control/Click on an item and then move over the contextual menu I want, it hangs for awhile. Sometimes 3-4 seconds and sometimes much longer. The beachball spins away and eventually the CM pops open. Does anyone else have this problem? I keep upgrading and then turning it off because of the speed issue.
Like
Version 2.6.1
Hey-Billy!!!
Hey-Billy!!!
20 January 2010
This doesn't work with Leopard.
Like
Version 2.6.1
Stickman67
Stickman67
20 January 2010
No, it doesn't. Sorry 'bout that, chief! But because the FP update postdated the query about it, I thought I'd put it in. My own experience subsequently confirmed that FP is a bust ... for now! Maybe I'll have better luck next time ...
Like
Version 2.6.1
Julian-Krainin
15 November 2009
FolderGlance is so valuable and works so flawlessly, that every time I use it (which is all the time!) I wonder why the Mac Operating System doesn't come with it already built in. This easy to use and seemingly simple application supplements the way I work so profoundly that the Macintosh experience would be noticeably less speedy, less fluid and certainly less fun without it. Moving a file, copying it to some other location, or making an alias of it somewhere, takes significantly less thinking and less time then it did before using FolderGlance. But FolderGlance has lots of other handy and nifty directly related functions as well as customized controls that I continue to discover as the weeks go by. It is thoughtfully and intelligently designed by a developer who is responsive to your questions and your requests for support. I am so dependent on FolderGlance now only a couple of months after purchasing it, that at this point I simple don't know how I'd get along without it. Please don't let my enthusiasm for this product lead you to believe that I am either somehow connected with this product or personally know the developer. Neither is true.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.7
Werty
08 October 2009
I like it and i was thinking to buy it, but I think it would be way better if the menu that it opens with right click was the same as default with the option to see the content of the folder on the bottom. I know that probably what i wrote doesn't make sense, i'm sorry for my bad english, i just want to know if it is possible, instead of hiding the normal menu under the "Finder" option, to still see it but with the folder content explore in the bottom.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.5
Robm52
03 October 2009
Like others, I was quite disappointed that FinderPop doesn't yet work with Snow Leopard... I even uninstalled 10.6 and went back to 10.5, as I'm a contextual menu kind of guy. But with FolderGlance, I'm back in. A very nice alternative, though still looking forward to FinderPop's eventual upgrade... I'd almost gave a 5 star rating due to FolderGlance's need to have a key stoke for copying or alas creation. Prefer FinderPop's window that pops up for these options. Though, really... that's a minor, nitpicky thing. Perhaps it's just that I'm not yet used to the change? As for the $20... Heck, that's cheap for all FolderGlance does. (Still amazed that FinderPop was free!) Rob
Like (2)
Version 2.5.3
Drdul
22 September 2009
When I upgraded to OS X 10.6, I had to abandon a few applications, but none of them were as difficult to say goodbye to as FinderPop. Turly (the developer of FinderPop) may eventually release a 10.6-compatible version, but he's recovering from a bad accident, so it could be a while. I couldn't wait, as I am completely dependent on contextual menus to open files and move them around, so I went looking for an alternative and discovered FolderGlance. What a great app! It offers all the features I need, and I prefer the way it is configured as compared with FinderPop. The developer has been extremely responsive as well, which is always nice to know when making a financial commitment to an application by purchasing a licence. Highly recommended!
Like (1)
Version 2.5.2
Corpsecorps
20 September 2009
EXCELLENT! I was afraid this wasn't going to show up.
Like (1)
Version 2.5
Demoray
18 September 2009
Before Snow Leopard, I was someone who used Contextual Menus constantly. Why Apple trashed such a brilliantly simple and efficient tool is beyond me. FolderGlance 2.5 is the first and only app, (that I've found), to bring proper Contextual Menus back to Snow Leopard. I'm currently testing FolderGlance, and so far I like what I see. The menus are customizable, and they allow you to do some slick things, like move and copy files right from the contextual menu. Without purchasing a license, FolderGlance will be slightly less functional than the registered full version. For example: certain menu functions will work fine, but wont have the ability to dig infinitely deep into folder levels. Some people might have trouble paying $20 for an app that used to be free. But for me, having Contextual Menues in Snow Leopard is definitely worth the price.
Like (1)
Version 2.5
Kuphd
17 September 2009
$20 for this? I'll wait for FinderPop. It's free.
Like (2)
Version 2.5
2 answer(s)
Lookin2it
Lookin2it
03 October 2009
If this is your only input... well it reminds me of what mom always said, "If you don't have anything nice to say, keep your mouth shut" -- except I think it should be: "If you don't have anything useful to say, keep your mouth shut"
Like
Version 2.5.4
Kuphd
Kuphd
27 November 2009
I could say the same thing about you. If you'll notice, what I said was input as a Comment. I didn't rate the software. A Comment is my opinion. If you don't like other people's opinions, maybe your shouldn't read this section. As for my previous Comment...my opinion still stands. $20 is a rip off for what this does. I don't like throwing my money away and I don't believe 99% of other folks do either. Apparently, you're in the 1%.
Like (2)
Version 2.5.9
Corpsecorps
08 September 2009
Gone! Relegating CMM's to the "More" menu was a step backwards, and now with Snow Leopard, they're dead! I use this all the time. )8^(
Like
Version 2.1
Tomem
02 September 2008
It would be a lot better if it didn't make it impossible to rename a file in the Finder. It still renders the cursor and highlighting inoperative when renaming files. I have to close the Finder window and open a new one to get it to work again, and then only briefly. Unacceptable.
Like
Version 2.1
Kuphd
04 January 2008
There has been something I've been wondering for quite a while. When I pull up the contextual menu and browse my OS X System drive, I still see the invisible folders etc, home, net, tmp and var. Those don't show up when I actually open the drive, but they always have in the FolderGlance menu. I've got the "Files to include in menus:" setting set to "Only visible files" and I don't see anything else discussing that. Can someone tell me what (if anything) I'm missing or is this normal? Thanks in advance.
Like
Version 2.1
Billy-The-Biker
15 December 2007
Update. This app comes and goes. Holding down the mouse will sometimes bring up the CM, and when it does it will stick until a restart or log in, then it won't appear for awhile. I haven't quite figured out why it appears.
Like
Version 2.1
Billy-The-Biker
24 November 2007
I can't seem to get this to work on 10.5.1. I miss it. Intel iMac and MacBook.
Like
Version 2.1
Corpsecorps
13 November 2007
Folder Glance sometimes fails to move items. The most recent incident was from my desktop to a folder within my documents folder via an alias. It worked when i made the move directly to the destination folder. (Leopard) .
Like
Version 2.1
sjk
07 November 2007
Even without using other features FolderGlance is a more convenient hierarchical folder browser for me than the folders-in-an-overcrowded-Dock (pre-Leopard) method. Glad I won't be missing the latter when I eventually upgrade to Leopard.
Like
Version 2.1
Heavy-shower
07 November 2007
But it's not showing the contents of my folders. Why?
Like
Version 2.1
Bad-Jobs-Good-Jobs
07 November 2007
Blame his holiness Steve Jobs once more for not integrating this in OS X ...and no windowshade (surprisingly in stickies it is possible) ...and no popup-windows (best comfort and best timesaving-feature in OS- 8-9) ...and no built-in adblocking in the browser ...and the need to restart your Mac to free up your RAM from javascript-garbage - just like like in the nineties... Amen
Like
Version 2.1
Corpsecorps
07 November 2007
Yeah! Been waiting for a Leopard version.
Like
Version 2.1