Back to Photo Desktop page
Photo Desktop free download for Mac

Photo Desktop Reviews

2.4.2
22 September 2014

Create a collage of photos on your desktop.

Werner-Freytag
16 May 2007

Most helpful

This is an absolutely great application! Easy and fun to use and creates very beautiful desktop wallpapers! A must-have!
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1

Read 44 Photo Desktop User Reviews

Rate this app:

Steinar-Helgesen
22 September 2014
Awesome good program, my family love it. Many features.
Like
Version 2.4.2
1 answer(s)
Steinar-Helgesen
Steinar-Helgesen
22 September 2014
Been using it for a while now, sometimes the program just quits without any reason or message.

Taking a star off because of this bug.
Like
Julsa1
03 January 2013
Typical app you enjoy everyday ! Developer is fully entitled to ask some money for this because the app is worth it ! Compliments !
Like
Version 2.4.1
Johnyyyy
22 March 2012
Simply and great made! Enjoy this app, while working on my Mac
Like
Version 2.4
Screentom
15 July 2011
Nice and funny :-) I like it, thanks!
Like
Version 2.4
Alper
25 March 2011
I use photo desktop since 2.0. I always use smart photosets and photos change every 1 minitues. But its has bug. Sometime photodesktop create empty album and my photos gone. I wait for stable version but photo desktop never do this.
Like
Version 2.3.3
Traianescu
15 November 2010
i don't know why install only to dutch language.. i don't found any option to change the language to english(tried even to reinstall).. any help, please?
Like
Version 2.3.3
Steven-Goodheart
13 July 2009
Wow, what a way cool program! Downloaded it, tried it about 5 minutes, and was immediately sold. I never used the previous version, but I have to say that new interface is simply brilliant....didn't need to use help once, just all made sense and worked great. The special effects, relying on Core Image, are really outstanding. The program is just plain *fun* to use, and within minutes I created some marvelous new desktops. (The screensaver is great eye candy, too.) For a desktop image nut like me, this is a must have...and the price is very reasonable for all the ease of use and features. Going to buy it today.
Like
Version 2.3.1
Tankknight
23 May 2009
I used to love showing my friends the various pics on my Mac thanks to PD. Then late last year it went completely unusable. I missed it, but I just turned to Adobe Illustrator and made jpg desktops. Last month an update came out and I thought great that PD is being supported again. Well the short version of the disaster is that it either all 4 cpus on my quad G5 pegged, G5 crashed, PD beach balled and had to force quit or PD just suddenly quit after starting.
Like (1)
Version 2.3
fonsmeesters
05 June 2008
When I try to add a new photo all I see is a spinning beachball..... Can't use it at all. Wish it would work, could be a nice app.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.2
James-Brochin
17 June 2007
I want to delete/remove the Photo Desktop application. It won't let me because it says the program is open, even after I force quit. Help.
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Alcabet
Alcabet
15 September 2007
Even after you quit the editor, Photo Desktop is still running. The only way I have found to quit it is to go to Activity Monitor, find the process called "Photo Desktop," and quit it. Then you should be able to delete/move to trash/do whatever you want with the Photo Desktop app.
Like
Version 2.1.1
Reviewer
02 June 2007
The editor stops immediately after starting it. Could be a nice app. I run Mac OS 10.4.9.
Like
Version 2.0.1
Purdueboiler87
17 May 2007
Does not work. I have a 12.8 MP camera and my picture file sizes are bigger. Every time I try to add a picture, it blows up.
Like
Version 2.0.1
Werner-Freytag
16 May 2007
This is an absolutely great application! Easy and fun to use and creates very beautiful desktop wallpapers! A must-have!
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
Leo-Spill
16 May 2007
An interesting idea but when I am using my Mac it's nearly always covered with app and FInder windows so rarely do I ever see the desktop. Maybe if you have a 30" display and have a single browser window open... It's really just useless eye candy or something to amuse the kids for a few minutes but seems near pointless to have this eating your CPU. Try 'PhotoStickies' which does a lot of what this does and more - yet has been around for a few years and is a couple of dollars less expensive.
Like
Version 2.0.1
mike-evangelist
12 May 2007
What a lovely little utility. Makes it so easy to layout my current favorites photos on the desktop, much like the old days of pinning them to the cork board. I especially love being able to switch sets on a whim using the menu.
Like
Version 2.0.1
Darrinsden
06 May 2007
I love this app, though am waiting till it has support for aperture libraries.
Like
Version 2.0
Flounder
28 April 2007
The original Photo Desktop was great, allowed me to do what I wanted with out a single photo taking up the entire desktop. PD2 is even better with the many new options such as picture type it lets you select from standard, widescreen, portriat, etc. Also the idea behind photosets that allows you change groups of photos on the fly depending on your mood is also great. After being a fan of the original for so long I was excited to see a new version come out. Although the old version was free I feel like the cost is justified for the new version which is why I forked over my cold hard cash within 10 min of trying out the new version. I hope the dev keeps up the good work.
Like
Version 2.0
Countrybabe06
31 January 2007
I have the application. It worked and I loved it! But something happened, my pictures all went black, and then i couldn't add pictures any more. It really upset me because this was such a neat app. I tried re-downloading it, but it didn't work. So if any one could tell me what I could do to fix it that would be great! Or just let me know how I can get a hold of the creator and ask him if no one knows. Thanks
Like
Version 1.5.2
Flounder
18 August 2006
Sweet I love this app... its better than using a picture as the desktop picture. How ever I would just like the ability to either change the borders of the pictures or change the size of the borders while retaining the size of the picture. Over all this is a great app.
Like
Version 1.5.2
anonymous-dingo-832
18 April 2006
This is a fanstastic application! I've been wishing for something like this for years! The visual clues and simplicity of the interface make this program very easy to use. Just drag and drop images from Finder or iPhoto onto an image of your desktop, and you can place and resize and rotate them anyway you like! You can even add captions! It's a like a corkboard, or sticking polaroids around the edges of your mirror. Beautifully done!
Like
Version 1.5.2
Squigles
17 April 2006
Fantastic !! It's a great little app :-)
Like
Version 1.5.2
Mehertel
02 March 2006
I downloaded the program, but i cant get it to work... i click on it and nothing happens...i really really want this, its so cool!! please help!!
Like
Version 1.5.1
Anonymous
03 October 2005
Anybody able to get this to extract with Stufit 10? I would really like to try it.
Like
Version 1.5.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 October 2005
Went back down to Stuffit Expander 9.0.2 and the archive extracted fine. I guess 10.0 is not perfect yet?
Like
Version 1.5.1
Anonymous
01 October 2005
This does have a few bugs. First off, the photo isn't always rectangular--in fact, most of the time, after adjusting and moving and resizing, the photo takes on a peculiar rhomboid shape, sometimes even protruding outside the white frame. That was the bug, now here are a few suggestions: 1. Allow the user to select just how much anti-aliasing is applied onto the photos, for at the moment, it seems that either they are slightly anti-aliased, or there none at all, and the photos turn out horribly jaggy. 2. It would be nice if I could crop or zoom in on any part of the photo I wish, up to and including a 100% zoom. At the moment, I am only able to select a range that either has the entire LENGTH of the photo when maximally zoomed out, or, when zoomed in closest, only the maximum WIDTH--which is silly and doesn't allow me to frame what I want to display most--say, just the subject.
Like
Version 1.5.1
Anonymous
01 October 2005
I like this great software! but I'd like to light a shadow... Or I want to switch a shadow on / off.
Like
Version 1.5.1
Anonymous
01 October 2005
Wonderful application. Although the features is simple, but it take up memory which lesser than a widget in Dashboard do. Thank you very much.
Like
Version 1.5.1
Anonymous
01 October 2005
A great idea and an excellent program! Five *'s all the way...
Like
Version 1.5.1
Anonymous
19 September 2005
How can I contact the author for suggestions? There is no email address on his website
Like
Version 1.5
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
19 September 2005
It's in the ReadMe that is in the download...
Like
Version 1.5
Anonymous
19 September 2005
To the developer, this is a great piece of software, however I would welcome the ability to save some sets of images such as: Family, Friends, Holidays etc. I believe this would be a most welcome feature. Thanks again
Like
Version 1.5
Anonymous
17 September 2005
This program is GREAT! Easy to use and stable. I will definitely be donating to the developer. Now why hasn't Apple thought of something like this???
Like
Version 1.5
Anonymous
17 September 2005
This is super-cool. The only thing I wish they'd change is the colour icon that sits in the tast tray (it clashes with the rest of the B&W icons)
Like
Version 1.5
Fightingcat
17 September 2005
Very cool app and no problems. Thats nice.
Like
Version 1.5
Dime
17 September 2005
Sweet! Works like a dream on Panther 10.3.9! Great idea, and great piece of software, Cheers!
Like
Version 1.5
Anonymous
17 September 2005
Looks pretty neat, are you limited to OSX backgrounds?(i.e. "apple images")
Like
Version 1.5
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 September 2005
The application draws on top of the desktop, it doesn't draw a background itself, so every backtound is possible .
Like
Version 1.5
Vitalis
16 September 2005
How about adding a Zoom-IN function aswell? so that one can capture details of pictures better ^^ Otherwise great little app =3
Like
Version 1.5
Anonymous
24 August 2005
Excellent little program! a prime example of a program doing what it's meant to do with a simple interface and no fuss. a now have cute pictures of all my family while i'm travelling - superb.. One small ask - can i choose not to have a caption and thus avoid the big white strip at the bottom of each photo?
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
18 August 2005
Boy, I wish this worked on Mac OS X 10.3.9 ... Please!!! Pretty please!!!! Thanks!!!
Like
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 August 2005
I guess this is using CoreImage, which was introduced with Tigger - so that would take a major rewrite. If it wasn't for Tigger's abysmally slow Spotlight and oh-so-useless Konfabulator ripoff and the new extra-sluggishness of Safari, I'd say "upgrade!" but no... it's not worth the hassle and the new bugs and the full hard disk due to runaway crash logs and and and Get yourself a copy of Gimp and roll your own.
Like
Version 1.0
Alwin Troost
Alwin Troost
19 August 2005
This application doesn't use Core-Image (yet?), because of the still unknown learning-curve that would require. There are just a few incompatibilities with Panther, which I want to resolve in an updated version, so the next version will be Panther compatible, albeit maybe with a little less functionality.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
17 August 2005
amazing freeware! One of the best small utilities I use.. Simple, brilliant and beatiful.. keep up good work..
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
17 August 2005
GREAT! i love it please add what the guy before me reqested, border control, larger/smaller border or no border at all.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
17 August 2005
Very nice thingy, but slows my powerbook down to a crawl, photo editor crashes on dragging a photo from iview. now my harddisk is accessed constantly. think i'll try a reboot. carry on!
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
17 August 2005
Very very neat. I have two small requests.. 1. A preference to adjust the border. Perhaps a few pre-made borders to choose from. Some photos I'd just like a border and no caption. 2. On the photos I do want captions, I'd like to choose the font. Thanks, and keep up the great work!
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
17 August 2005
Very nice product. I would like to see the option to switch between different photo setups. Like, I'd like to quickly switch between a desktop with pictures of my pets, or my family, friends, or whatever I choose. You could add a drawer in the Photo Desktop Editor where one could add and delete different setups of photos.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
17 August 2005
Eats up 100 percent of my cpu when just having the picture in the background.I hope this isn't how all the ppc and intel "universal binaries" are going to be.
Like
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 August 2005
This might be true while rendering, after that the application will drop to 0% and drop most of its memory until the contents of the Photo Desktop change.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 August 2005
Hey thanks for the reply.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
17 August 2005
Arrrgh! This looks cool--wish I had tiger.
Like
Version 1.0