Back to Hogwasher page
Hogwasher free download for Mac

Hogwasher Reviews

5.24
15 November 2019

Internet news reader.

marcmandy
15 September 2019

Most helpful

I've been looking for a good newsreader for Mac since Agent is not available for Mac and Unison is no longer viable, and I think I've found one! I had technical issues with the version from the Apple Store and got immediate and successful help from, I believe, the developer himself. It seems to do everything I want and I expect to be using it for a long time! It works seamlessly with EasyNews and that's all I could ask for.
Like (1)
Version 5.20

Read 43 Hogwasher User Reviews

Rate this app:

marcmandy
15 September 2019
I've been looking for a good newsreader for Mac since Agent is not available for Mac and Unison is no longer viable, and I think I've found one! I had technical issues with the version from the Apple Store and got immediate and successful help from, I believe, the developer himself. It seems to do everything I want and I expect to be using it for a long time! It works seamlessly with EasyNews and that's all I could ask for.
Like (1)
Version 5.20
1 answer(s)
Hermie
Hermie
21 November 2019
Well, as long as you don't frequent binary news groups that sport file requests and follow-up messages, because finding them still is sheer impossible. It was one button in Unison, so it can be done. Yes, I mentioned this to the dev a couple of times as well, but nothing happened.
Like
Version 5.24
resoccjp
31 August 2017
The last real WORKING usenet client,Hogwasher works, and works better than any other usenet reader on the Mac. After the petty childishness of thoth and the histrionics of Brian, ,most moved to Unison, written by Panic, which worked well as long as they continued support and develop the app. Unfortunately, Panic decided to kill off the program and told it's loyal purchasers of Unison to drop dead. I just stopped using usenet for a while, then tried Mimo from Giganews. Unbelievable. One of the best examples of why Java failed miserably as a programming environment. Slow beyond belief, mimo was as close to totally useless as you could get. Giganew is dropping customers by the thousands, perhaps they should consider a blanket site license for Hogwasher? Mimo is a pointless insult of an app. I truly pity anyone buying giganews for the first time and assuming Mimo is the 'standard' way of interacting with the usenet. ::shudder::
Like (4)
Version 5.16
Sebehk
19 August 2016
Latest version at 5.08: Fixed potential hang at the conclusion of retrieving new headers. Fixed hang displaying message window for message not in the currently shown subscription. Navigation in message window now enabled even when not in the current subscription. Updated message window toolbar icons. Subscription searches are no longer restored if the search term consists entirely of whitespace. Fixed UI glitch with progress indicator while retrieving headers. Fixed problem loading subscriptions containing very large number of newsgroups. Expansion state of threads is now preserved after retrieving new headers. Fixed parsing of date strings using non-English day of week abbreviations. Improved decoding of badly formatted UTF-8 quoted printable subject strings. Improved decoding of Asian charsets. Sorting messages by size now works correctly. New preference to always add nzb files to a user-specified folder. Fixed the incorrect wrapping of long lines of quoted text.
Like
Version 5.06
Diatesseron
26 December 2015
The only alternative to Unison?
Like (1)
Version 5.01
Sebehk
23 September 2015
I checked for update this morning and new version is currently at 5.04. Most important part of the update is big improvement in handling of large header downloads and overall app speed.
Like
Version 5.01
Neal
05 June 2015
Blimey! I thought this was retired years ago. Used to be my favourite NNTP reader (on any platform). I wasn't even certain Usenet was still alive and kicking. Didn't peer2peer render it obsolete? I got totally fed up with all the SPAM and badly encoded/uploaded files. Having said that, if Hogwasher has the same features of yesteryear, with new enhancements, it has got to be one of the best , if not still the best, Newsreaders on the Mac. So, if you're considering peeking down the Usenet cul-de-sac Hogwasher should certainly be heading your list of apps to trial.
Like
Version 5.01
1 answer(s)
Mountabe
Mountabe
07 September 2015
Well, first of all Usenet folks and bit torrent users generally stick to one or the other. Usenet still isn't a household word. You'd be shocked at how many people who are known for their computer literacy and/or piracy have never heard of Usenet. While far safer to use it still costs money to get up and running. Bit torrent does not. So, if you've never used either, which one would you try first. The ubiquitous free one or the more underground, safer, arguably better option that costs money just to even get in the door.

And what you are describing from your BT experiences indicate that you're using public trackers. Public trackers are often a mess and they're public, making the user much more vulnerable to all kinds of not good things, including trouble for stealing IP. Private (invite only) trackers are clean and safe and offer premium versions of everything. Private trackers can be heavy on rules, which weed most of the riffraff out pretty quickly.
Like
elliott-1
27 May 2015
Hogwasher 5 is elegant and most usable for both binaries and text. I've been a long time Thoth (text) and Unison (binaries) user, but as these are moribund, it is a delight to see Hogwasher's re-write. Keyboard navigation is actually quite good if you change the way tab moves focus to text boxes and lists only in sys prefs, keyboard shortcuts. Hogwasher's UTF-8 performance is the best I have seen. I hit a couple of crashes while dining on the free trial. Asar's support was prompt and to the point.
Like
Version 5.0
Cortig
18 May 2015
I wanted to like the update… I really wanted to. Unfortunately, the app is still pretty buggy (rules are highly dysfunctional for instance) and downloading headers for groups is at least 4 times slower than other apps. Using the app only with the keyboard is impossible since the focus of the window changes for no good reason, etc… Considering that version 4 also had nasty issues acknowledged by the authors, yet never fixed, I have very little hope that the issues in the new version will be corrected any time soon. In addition, there is no upgrade price on the website. I doubt I'll fall for a license for the new version any time soon :-(
Like
Version 5.0
tmo1138
16 May 2015
This is a solid upgrade and thankfully there's now once again a supported Usenet reader for the mac. It's fast, efficient and is everything you'd want in a usenet reader. And for the old-school geeks there's even X-Face support now.. Nice work ASAR.
Like (1)
Version 5.0
Hermie
13 May 2015
Hogwasher 5 has been released! For 10.9 and higher, with binary support both up and down. So Usenet lives on on Mac!
Like (2)
Version 4.3
Jazzyguy
05 December 2013
Xnntp is a good choice but it doesn't to pictures too well but it is great for text and it is free!IT WORKS ON MAVERICKS!!!!
Like (1)
Version 4.3
1 answer(s)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
07 December 2013
t does do pictures,but you have to click on the yenc button in the menu bar and download the pictures to your desktop.
Like (1)
Tlance
24 October 2013
What a shame. The most featured NNTP app ever has finally died (no good here either on Mavericks). I have routinely tried all the rest/newcomers, have even fallen in love with one, but nothing could match the feature set for my use.
Like (1)
Version 4.3
1 answer(s)
antoniong
antoniong
24 October 2013
And the bad thing is that the developer does nothing about it just as he did nothing for years when bugs were reported.
Like
antoniong
23 October 2013
Does not work in Maverick.
Like
Version 4.3
Mk-Ultra
07 April 2013
Outdated garbage. Hasn't been updated to work in 10.6, 10.7, or 10.8
Like (1)
Version 4.3
1 answer(s)
Mk-Ultra
Mk-Ultra
01 August 2015
I've tested the latest hogwasher. Works great! And no, it isn't garbage. Back then I could never fully test it without crashing on me.
I'm glad they've updated the app. However, it still isn't as good as unison. I'd update my previous review to 3 stars. But macupdate won't let me.
I can't think of any advantages this reader may have over unison.
Like
antoniong
07 March 2013
It is again a year later and still the same problems with crashing program and the developer gives no solution only a work-around. In all these years no update!
Like
Version 4.3
antoniong
18 March 2012
We are now march 2012 and still no update even though there are numerous errors and hiccups in the app.
Like (2)
Version 4.3
antoniong
24 December 2008
I have now used this product for 2 years. There are many bugs but developer has not updated it for 2 years and (worse) does not react to any email. So better stay away and spent your money elsewhere.
Like (2)
Version 4.3
antoniong
13 June 2008
Several month ago I received an email stating there would soon be an update for 4.3 where the long existing problem of Hogwasher aborting all the time was solved. I have still to see an update and get really fed up with at least 1 abort a month of this pogramm. Most beta versions are more stable than this version 4.3 of Hogwasher!!!!!
Like (1)
Version 4.3
Back-Stabbath
08 December 2006
owned?
Like
Version 4.2.2
Jbreweral2or
28 July 2006
This product should be avoided if you are using the Intel platform, as it crashes *very* frequently. My comments/information request to Asar yielded no result. I'm very disappointed that I plopped down $50 for this piece of, um, software. Unfortunately, I didn't yet know of the existence of Unison.
Like (2)
Version 4.2.2
3 answer(s)
Shawnyq
Shawnyq
07 December 2006
It must be nice to have 50 dollars to just throw away. I mean, I would have tested the software and similar applications before I "plopped down $50". I sure know I wouldn't admit what an ignorant decision I had made to everyone on the internet. But hey, that's just me.
Like
Version 4.2.2
Jbreweral2or
Jbreweral2or
13 December 2006
Thanks for judging me. Actually I had tried the program before and had remnants of the software I couldn't locate in my home folder (I transferred my home folder from my PPC Mac to my Intel Mac). So when I attempted to 'evaluate' Hogwasher on my Intel Mac, it told me I had already done that, and I would have to purchase a license if I wanted to do that anymore. Since I didn't want to track down the stray file, I purchased it, thinking it would be OK. I have to report that subsequent updates to OSX have fixed these issues; however, that does not change the fact that I got 0 reply from Asar.
Like (1)
Version 4.2.2
Shawnyq
Shawnyq
13 December 2006
I'll leave the judging up to God. The rest is open to public humiliation.
Like (1)
Version 4.2.2
Anonymous
16 September 2005
Works flawlessly as ever in Tiger. Best usenet reader around.
Like
Version 4.2.2
Anonymous
30 April 2005
For anyone wondering: it works just fine in Tiger for me.
Like
Version 4.2.2
garbage
30 April 2005
Stony silence about Tiger compatibility
Like
Version 4.2.2
Sigterm
21 February 2005
Hoghwasher is the best Usenet app. If u want to Post on Usenet this is the best app to go. Also Asar inc is a very nice company which also understand that students don't have lot of $ to spend! And they are open for comments. In my opinion this app belongs in everybody's Application folder! Keep up the good work Asar!
Like
Version 4.2.2
1 answer(s)
Macfeller
Macfeller
13 July 2005
What do you mean about them being good to students?
Like
Version 4.2.2
Anonymous
08 January 2005
Hogwasher is simply the best usenet client for the Mac. Yes, Unison, is very good too - and cheaper, but it can't upload binaries (???). If you rely on usenet, Hogwasher is the way to go.
Like
Version 4.2.2
Anonymous
23 December 2004
I've tried almost every newsreader out there for OS X. I was waiting for MacSoup and MTNewswatcher to get ported so I would have something familiar when I found Hogwasher. I can't believe the features and utility of this application! It does everything I want a newsreader to do and does them perfectly. Perhaps my needs are less than others because I don't dl a lot of images or binaries, but I do all my newsgroup reading offline and this app fills the bill perfectly. As I say, I 've tried them all, including Unison, and to me Hogwasher is still way above them all in features and function (and it's not because I don't like Panic's software - I own another of their apps). Yes, $50 may seem high for shareware, but I've paid more for commercial apps that I've found I like less. To me it's worth every penny.
Like
Version 4.2.2
Anonymous
23 December 2004
$50 for this redefines insanity. Check out Unison. Nicer and cheaper in my opinion.
Like
Version 4.2.1
Anonymous
23 December 2004
I've got several newsreaders for the Mac and I love Hogwasher. Unison has its place (I like to get vcd's with it) but for text news and pictures Hogwasher is my favorite. I believe it has a 30+ day demo period. I strongly recommend trying it out.
Like
Version 4.2.1
Anonymous
15 December 2004
I've been using HW since it came out. This news reader just keeps getting better & better. I'm one of the few that still runs on OS 9.2.2, and this software is rock hard stable. It makes posting and downloading a breeze. The set up is easy, and posting is non-stressful. I highly recommend this! Five Stars!!!
Like
Version 4.2
Anonymous
13 August 2004
Another good free option with OSX is Pan. http://pan.rebelbase.com/download/index.html Need to install it with either Fink or Darwinports, but it works fab, has more or less the feature set and look of forte's Agent, and let me add one more time: it's free.
Like
Version 4.1.1
Anonymous
15 July 2004
Almost twice the price of Unison. Uh? Take a look at unison before you buy HW... http://www.panic.com/unison/index.html
Like
Version 4.1.1
garbage
04 July 2004
Very customisable interface can throw new users initially but still the best News Client for OS X. Well worth the price for anything more than casual nntp access.
Like
Version 4.0
Hugh Browton
01 May 2004
I've used HW 3 since I moved to OS X, as a replacement for the peerless NewsHopper. HW 3 was rock solid and the most usable OS X newsreader. HW 4 has crashed on me a few times but the approach is good, and it's the most professionally maintained and presented newsreader for OS X out there at present. Response from the developer (Kurt Spaker) at Asar is very quick usually - I've had two helpful responses from him this week about HW 4. Download it, pay for it, use it. IMHO.
Like
Version 4.0
Anonymous
01 May 2004
I've tried pretty much all the OS X newsreaders out there. I was waiting for MT-Newsreader and MacSoup to make the leap to OS X when I found Hogwasher. The interface isn't as standard as one might like, but it has been rock stable on my system and does everything i need an offline newsreader to do, and do it quickly. I just love this app and have just upgraded to the new version 4 to support the idea of shareware. Wonderful application!
Like
Version 4.0
Anonymous
30 April 2004
Download and install the fink and then either apt-get install pan or fink install pan. yes, you need to use X11 with it and it does not have a Cocoa interface but I still hace yet to find a good newsreader for OSX that touches it. And oh yes, it is free, very fast and handles binaries and bulk downloads with aplomb.
Like
Version 4.0
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
30 April 2004
pan sucks dude. Its full of bugs. I need a rock solid newsreader...
Like
Version 4.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 May 2004
www.tin.org
Like
Version 4.0
garbage
garbage
04 July 2004
Pan is a news client from the FLOSS world & as such is underfeatured & immature. OK on Linux as it's all there is... but surpassed on other platforms by many other applications.
Like
Version 4.0
Anonymous
30 January 2004
Was a great newsreader under MacOS classic, but unfortunately it's gui doesn't fit well into OSX inteface's guidelines. I'm dreaming of a Cocoa version of this newsreader, with just NNTP features... Asar are you still alive? Alllooooooo???!!!
Like
Version 3.1
Anonymous
13 November 2003
Hogwasher is plagued by unexpected crashes which the author has failed to address for over a year. I think Hogwasher could be the best newsreader out there, but the incessant crashing makes it a real drag. I continue to use it because, unfortunately it is the best newsreader I can find... a sad statement indeed.
Like
Version 3.1
Anonymous
16 August 2003
After using MT Newswatcher for years, I was very surprised at the level of sophistication of Hogwasher. I rejected it initially because it's NOT intuitive and you have to read the instructions to figure out basic functions. But after Thoth kept having trouble decoding various binaries, I learned how to use Hogwasher and found it's binary features to be far superior to those offered by Thoth. Plus, it easily decoded the pictures that Thoth was unable to handle. So don't give up on Hog! Learn it and use it for a few days, and you'll quickly see the huge advantages.
Like
Version 3.1
Gravian
23 May 2003
I can't find a better News Reader, I'm using this now and making comparisons to others. This truly is the best and If you want the best, remember better quality comes at a price! Havent crashed, 19th day running!
Like
Version 3.1
Anonymous
16 January 2003
Still missing Quartz in messages...
Like
Version 3.1
Anonymous
30 August 2002
This is a great newsgroup reader, on par with Thoth, with even some more added features. However, it's lack of Applescript support needs to be corrected in a future release. Makes for tedious work of multiple postings. A little pricey as well.
Like
Version 3.1
Anonymous
02 July 2002
Finally...Hogwasher is available for X and it supports yEnc! I've tried all Mac newsreaders and this one is the best. Intuitive and easy to use, it puts Thoth back in second place where it belongs.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
01 November 2001
Without a doubt the best binary newsreader available for mac. I have used this product for many years now and the support of it is excellent. Consistent updates that are all free and personal help from the developer when you are really stuck add to the value. I have tried many others and while some have one nice feature or another, the best package deal is still hogwasher. I got hooked from my first trial period which was still in beta at the time. 2.6.1 is proof that this product grows with you and you likely won't outgrow it. But i do wish the osx version would arrive soon!! (still 2.6.1 runs flawlessly in classic)
Like
Version 2.6.1