Back to PortAuthority page
PortAuthority free download for Mac

PortAuthority Reviews

9.1.0
14 October 2019

GUI for MacPorts package-management system.

Xipper
16 September 2011

Most helpful

I was a frequent user of PortAuthority, but this app is worthless now. I don't understand why developers insist on trying to do things the way this one has. If you can't design a UI window that provides functional feedback of the build process that is going on to install/update a port, then spawn a terminal window with running the commands instead. The app just crashes anytime I try to install anything, I can either wait 1-hour and force quit to try and use this "tool" (that I paid for), or I can simply run the command myself and have it actually complete the install in 5 minutes. This is on Lion, but the developer claims the latest version is compatible.
Like (5)
Version 4.0.0

Read 11 PortAuthority User Reviews

Rate this app:

ylluminate
25 May 2018
This would be quite nice if it were markedly less expensive, or free. For example, a freemium model might include 1 update per day or X installations per day and a paid version could take that limitation off, etc.
Like
Version 7.9.0
Derekcurrie
17 October 2017
After thrashing around with this thing, I found it easier to simply use CLI commands. And I hate CLI commands.
Like
Version 7.7.0
Xipper
16 September 2011
I was a frequent user of PortAuthority, but this app is worthless now. I don't understand why developers insist on trying to do things the way this one has. If you can't design a UI window that provides functional feedback of the build process that is going on to install/update a port, then spawn a terminal window with running the commands instead. The app just crashes anytime I try to install anything, I can either wait 1-hour and force quit to try and use this "tool" (that I paid for), or I can simply run the command myself and have it actually complete the install in 5 minutes. This is on Lion, but the developer claims the latest version is compatible.
Like (5)
Version 4.0.0
1 answer(s)
Codebykevin
Codebykevin
21 September 2011
I'm sorry it's not working for you, but it's also unfortunate that you didn't contact me to discuss these issues and see if we could find a solution--I'm not able to address bug reports in a Macupdate review. PortAuthority is Lion-compatible and works without problem on my system.
Like
Bueller-007
22 July 2011
Use the official GUI: https://trac.macports.org/wiki/MacPortsGUI Don't pay for this crap.
Like (2)
Version 4.0.0
2 answer(s)
Leoofborg
Leoofborg
12 August 2011
Unfortunately, for Lion I'm going to have to agree. Pallet.app (the official GUI) works with some modifications on Lion: http://leoofborg.tumblr.com/post/8790218908/pallet-app-macports-on-lion And PortAuthority, at least for me bombs. I posted a support request to the dev at his forums here: http://www.codebykevin.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=643 To be fair, Kevin *has* tried to be helpful. But on two machines (a Mini & my MBP), the fact is the the official GUI 'just works'.. and PortAuthority requires 'more tweaking' -- something I'd rather not bother with when the offical GUI is there, free, and working. -Leo
Like (2)
Codebykevin
Codebykevin
21 September 2011
@Leo: If you check the reply I posted at the forum link you cited, the fix for your issue was trivial: remove some outdated/stale libraries in /Library/Tcl/teapot. That would solve your problem. It's about the same level of configuration that you cite to get Pallet running (pointing it to a different Tcl installation). @Bueller_007: Pallet is a nice, lightweight GUI for MacPorts, but it's far from perfect. I can crash it quite easily trying to install a port with variants. (PA doesn't attempt this, because I've never figured out an elegant way to present variants to the user--my view is that if the user is advanced enough to want a variant, then he/she can navigate the command-line.)
Like (1)
Codebykevin
08 June 2011
PortAuthority 4.0 is a nice update to the MacPorts GUI. It modernizes the UI into a fully-native one with Cocoa toolbars; it improves the print engine; and it improves the under-the-hood integration with AppleScript commands, which improves speed and stability. It's worth a look.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.0
Trashie
02 January 2011
What is wrong with just using the terminal?
Like (1)
Version 3.1
3 answer(s)
Mondele
Mondele
09 February 2011
Feel free. For others, who want a gui, this is an option.
Like (1)
Zevrix
Zevrix
05 March 2011
Ummm... maybe because it's not user friendly?
Like
Trashie
Trashie
06 March 2011
Na it is easy just go to the mac ports site and read the commands. Grab iterm put the commands in your bookmarks and your done. I am just never sure all this code written up for GUI's is ever necessary when there is a really well done simple shell method. I agree though each to their own. Go for it. Friendly? I am not being funny really some of us old guys use the terminal more than GUI's as we find it friendly. Oh I am so old lol. :( I remember punch cards I hope that puts things in perspective here. ;)
Like (1)
Gaoshan
25 September 2007
In the interest of promoting open source, check out Porticus for a free MacPorts GUI tool. http://www.macupdate.com/search.php?arch=all&keywords=porticus&os=macosx
Like (3)
Version 2.4
1 answer(s)
iGaucho
iGaucho
25 September 2007
That's great and all but Porticus is not open source. Currently it's just betaware and it has not been updated in some time. I've tried both and I must say that PortAuthority is more solid. Porticus always gives me build options that don't even apply to the package that I want to install. Granted it's not a Cocoa application or freeware, but it works very well and has a very responsive developer. Some of my suggestions have already been implemented!
Like (1)
Version 2.4
Zephyris
03 May 2007
The interface is rather ugly looking for $20
Like (2)
Version 2.0
Jedik
16 December 2005
No release notes? What's changed? It takes forever to launch, much more than the previous version (0.8). =\
Like
Version 0.9
Anonymous
04 October 2005
Yes, I agree with the previous post. But I think that it could be avoided with a little more care about the released version or at least with documentation. I was using the previous version with no problem. After upgrade it won't launch (kept boucing in the Dock then nothing) in the first time I run it. It worked the second time.
Like
Version 0.7
Anonymous
04 October 2005
Port Authority has the potential to be very useful. However, it has a number of quirks. For example, downloading it and placing it in Applications will result in it hanging on launch. The application needs to be inside a folder named "Port Authority", inside Applications in order to work properly. Also, sometimes it won't accept your password (as in, you can't physically enter it in the password field). Since it IS still a beta program, none of this should surprise you. If you prefer GUI to the command line, you should give this a try.
Like
Version 0.7