Back to ShakesPeer page
ShakesPeer free download for Mac

ShakesPeer Reviews

0.9.11
02 January 2009

P2P file sharing app for the Direct Connect protocol.

gatovadio
01 July 2010

Most helpful

even tho shakespeer is good, if you're looking for the power of windows native version of dc++, take a look at jucy or eiskaltdc (java and qt multiplatform). despite they're non-native os x apps, they're pretty powerful and shakespeer latest update was in 2009 and other attempts for a native dc++ clone on the mac are in alpha or beta forever. http://code.google.com/p/eiskaltdc/ http://jucy.eu/
Like (1)
Version 0.9.11

Read 30 ShakesPeer User Reviews

Rate this app:

Grhsvo
29 January 2011
Heap of sh*t. Just like most P2P clients I'e test-driven, its user interface is hopeless. Someone out there needs to get a clue and write a good tool. Needed are some buttons to press to make the tool do something! Currently, the ones I've tried are all similar in design. They are al cheating of one another. No one is using any personal initiative and originality to design a utility that will work intuitively. Thy ll stink in a similar way. It's simply pathetic. Developers: don't do it for free. I'm happy to pay. But Judas Priest, give me something that is stable, fully-featured, intuitive, functional and supported!!!!!
Like
Version 0.9.11
1 answer(s)
Grhsvo
Grhsvo
29 January 2011
Sorry about my typos. I shouldn't have been in such a hurry.
Like
gatovadio
01 July 2010
even tho shakespeer is good, if you're looking for the power of windows native version of dc++, take a look at jucy or eiskaltdc (java and qt multiplatform). despite they're non-native os x apps, they're pretty powerful and shakespeer latest update was in 2009 and other attempts for a native dc++ clone on the mac are in alpha or beta forever. http://code.google.com/p/eiskaltdc/ http://jucy.eu/
Like (1)
Version 0.9.11
2 answer(s)
Aikousha
Aikousha
11 March 2011
Thanks for the alternate info, it's too bad I'd have to buy not only a new computer, but a new OS to use them. ^_^ Source code's available, so I'll take a look at that, but if everyone has to use a SL only version of Java, I probably can't futz with it.
Like
gatovadio
gatovadio
16 April 2011
you're right. the 'snow leopard only' and 'latest java only' trend is leaving some users behind. i'll be also left behind when 'lion only' warnings will start to sprout. i don't think i'll be upgrading to "iOS Lion".
Like
Iluv
14 June 2009
Waiting for multiple sources within one downloadable file like in strong dc++.
Like
Version 0.9.11
A-krzyzak
02 January 2009
Does what it says well.
Like
Version 0.9.11
Tak1
14 December 2007
Works perfectly on Leopard. Not sure why others are having trouble.
Like
Version 0.9.5
Abalem-^-^
29 October 2007
Not working under Leopard... :(
Like
Version 0.9.5
Akrobat
02 August 2007
Can't get it to work. Punched holes in the firewall (port 1412), tried to test - it says timed out. Used Passive mode instead - doesn't connect. Seems like it's back to Limewire
Like
Version 0.9.5
Hahahajaja
01 May 2007
Stable, fast, looks good. Handles file names with diacritics.
Like
Version 0.9.5
Mrtn
31 August 2006
OSKARLIN: You should ask de the developer. http://www.stacken.kth.se/~mhe/ /Benet
Like
Version 0.9.2
Martchin
06 May 2006
It doesn`t even open.
Like
Version 0.9.2
Oskarlin
03 May 2006
Does anyone know if there is a universal binary version coming out soon? or if there is another dc app which is univesal?
Like
Version 0.9.2
Hadley
25 April 2006
this is a good link to find older versions of Shakespeer. i had the same problem with panther. you will find 0.8.5 which works well. http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=106156&package_id=151823
Like
Version 0.9.2
Kabwon
16 April 2006
I am soooo happy about this application. For the past year and a hald i have been uding neomodus which i needed to hack in order to work on most hubs without being kicked out. Thank you so much!
Like
Version 0.9.2
Deejay
26 February 2006
does anyone have the download link or actual file of the older version 0.8.5? since i'm still on panther i can't tun the new version, and REALLY need this application for uni. help?
Like
Version 0.9
Anonymous
31 October 2005
ShakesPeer is hands down the best dc client for the mac. With each update it gets better and better.
Like
Version 0.8.3
Anonymous
31 October 2005
It crasher every time for a bug :( It didn't happens with the 0.8.2
Like
Version 0.8.3
Anonymous
29 October 2005
For some reason i cannot connect to any hubs. when i type in a hub address and press the connect button, nothing happens. any suggestions? comments?
Like
Version 0.8.2
Macaddct1984
09 October 2005
Great, I'm glad this is getting attention and being updated, it's definitely the best DirectConnect client out there for the mac. My only complaint is that there is a bug that still persists where when doing a search, some user's first character of their names are cut off, causing all transfers and file listings to fail, because it's searching for ohndoe instead of johndoe.
Like
Version 0.8.2
Anonymous
30 September 2005
this is weird. how come i cant download the file either from here or sounforge site? help
Like
Version 0.8.1
Anonymous
26 August 2005
i need help, it doesntn show anyh servers or hubs or anythign it may be my port number what do i do
Like
Version 0.8.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 August 2005
Go to this page for info and questions.
Like
Version 0.8.1
Tetuejc
14 August 2005
HI Where to get public hubs addresses? Thx
Like
Version 0.8.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
14 August 2005
Try posting this type of thing in the support forum, not the review area of macupdate... also.. google it.
Like
Version 0.8.1
Anonymous
12 August 2005
Some people get this from invalid characters in the file or folder names.Go to the forums and see if anyone else is seeing the same thing.
Like
Version 0.8
Anonymous
12 August 2005
This one and DCX are THE clients for OSX. I am eternally greatful. Thanks dev.
Like
Version 0.8
Anonymous
12 August 2005
looks great. too bad it refuses to hash my folders....
Like
Version 0.8
31 July 2005
I was wondering if anyone else is having trouble downloading albums. I can download individual songs but not folders. If anyone can help me out it would be much appreciated.
Like
Version 0.7.3
Anonymous
26 July 2005
This is great, finally DC on the mac. Only thing missing is bandwidth limiting
Like
Version 0.7.3
Anonymous
26 July 2005
I have been waiting for this a long time now. Shakespeer is a beating every other client by a mile.
Like
Version 0.7.3
Anonymous
26 July 2005
Thanks!!!
Like
Version 0.7.3
qwerasdf
26 July 2005
So far, I like it. Very nice interface with lots of features. Great job!
Like
Version 0.7.3
Anonymous
26 July 2005
the first absolutly working and os-x like looking dc++ agent. high quality product, thank you. easy to use and stable!
Like
Version 0.7.3