Back to Swift Publisher page
Swift Publisher free download for Mac

Swift Publisher Reviews

15 April 2021

Versatile desktop publishing app with many templates.

MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Mar 23 2021
5.5.8
4.0
Mar 23 2021
4.0
Version: 5.5.8
The new version is v5.5.8 (4676). It replaces v5.5.8 (4675). IOW, it's a new build number by one increment. Yes, this makes the update obscure to mere humans. Blame the developers.
Afmac
Afmac
Feb 22 2021
5.5.8
5.0
Feb 22 2021
5.0
Version: 5.5.8
Finally fixed the problem with clip art! but why did it take so long?
zlazkow
zlazkow
Feb 22 2021
5.5.8
5.0
Feb 22 2021
5.0
Version: 5.5.8
For what I do, designing various posters, greeting cards and collages, Swift Publisher is The Best. Nothing comes close.
JonStuck
JonStuck
Feb 6 2021
5.5.7
1.0
Feb 6 2021
1.0
Version: 5.5.7
I owned the suite of individual applications for years and loved them. things just worked. I bought Swift Publisher and now lots and lots of functions are just GONE. The Envelope function is almost unusable compared to Labels and Addresses. I have not been able to print to DVD media since I switched. I NEVER use this application. It just doesn't work like it should.
Mr_Mark
Mr_Mark
Dec 15 2020
5.5.7
1.0
Dec 15 2020
1.0
Version: 5.5.7
still non of the bugs are fixed!
britinokinawa
britinokinawa
Oct 30 2020
5.5.5
5.0
Oct 30 2020
5.0
Version: 5.5.5
Good appropriate. Easy to use and easy to make good looking docs with it.
DanielaPaletti5904
DanielaPaletti5904
Sep 20 2020
5.5.6
5.0
Sep 20 2020
5.0
Version: 5.5.6
Very interesting app, excellent value for money, I have been using it for a long time (from version 2) I have never had problems the developers are very helpful, I recommend it.
Mr_Mark
Mr_Mark
Jul 27 2020
5.5.5
1.0
Jul 27 2020
1.0
Version: 5.5.5
GUI is nice, way to much functions. but if you see on small things, this software has only a very limited use. For example take look on DYMPO Label - non of them works out of the box -> All the labels have switched the width and height in the roll. I have informed the vendor about that - before many month ago and I have ask them 20 times about the progress - alway the same response: Thanks for your feedback - We're still working on this issue... better pay more for professional developer
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Jan 19 2020
5.5.1
4.0
Jan 19 2020
4.0
Version: 5.5.1
v5.5.2 is out. I like it. Release notes: • Swift Publisher can now open documents created in Business Card Composer. • Support for label printers added: DYMO, Zebra, Brother, Seiko, Primera.
Dgerzeeboy
Dgerzeeboy
Nov 27 2019
5.5.1
0.0
Nov 27 2019
0.0
Version: 5.5.1
BeLight Software, the makers of Swift Publisher, were the folks who created the terrific Labels & Addresses, but let it die with its last 32 bit incarnation. But SP is every bit as good if not better. Its even more intuitive, easy to use and completely customizable. If you've been searching for a replacement for Labels & Addresses, this is literally it.
Septic Monkey
Septic Monkey
Sep 5 2019
5.5
1.0
Sep 5 2019
1.0
Version: 5.5
This app needs to SPEED UP. I'm waiting for the spinning wheel to stop for nearly a minute every time I choose something. Why is it taking sooooooo long to do anything? And, although I've used this app on several occasions in the past and assumed I would be familiar with it, I'm finding it extremely difficult to use now. It's not a user-friendly app at all. I'm so confused most of the time why things aren't happening. It's gotta go .... very sorry!
zlazkow
zlazkow
Aug 24 2019
5.5
5.0
Aug 24 2019
5.0
Version: 5.5
The new update version 5.5 contains mostly CD labels, envelopes and business cards. Anybody knows if it's possible install only business cards, without all other stuff ?
jbb2237
jbb2237
Feb 1 2019
5.0.8
1.0
Feb 1 2019
1.0
Version: 5.0.8
Couldn't get the download to open.
ahmedhatata-ah
ahmedhatata-ah
Dec 19 2018
5.0.7
5.0
Dec 19 2018
5.0
Version: 5.0.7
Super awsome software . Do what exactly say and more , if you are looking for a professional prepared designs templets for almost anything then this is the number one app you have to give a shoot . Intuitive, simple UI with edit drag and drop content , every thing is tottaly customizable and under your control. It helped me a lot to improve my designs layout at college and work . Very brilliant app and very convenient and awsome company . Also check out their other apps for mac they have a lot of super great softwares.
NathanJ.
NathanJ.
Dec 2 2017
5.0.6
5.0
Dec 2 2017
5.0
Version: 5.0.6
Brilliant! Does exactly what it should be doing without any problems. Still new to Swift Publisher but so far i'm satisfied. Works really well on my Mac OS X El Caption, which I saw another reviewer also state, guess that helps prove how good this app is! Cheers Swift Publisher!
zlazkow
zlazkow
Sep 23 2017
5.0.3
5.0
Sep 23 2017
5.0
Version: 5.0.3
This is The Best, and this is brilliant. Since I discovered it 5 years ago, I've never not only opened Apple pages, but never bothered to update it. All I can say.
john-333
john-333
Sep 18 2017
5.0.2
0.0
Sep 18 2017
0.0
Version: 5.0.2
Really a question: Will Swift Publishing convert old InDesighn CS3 files? We're using Mac OS10.12.6. This version of InDesign is no longer is available and we need to access and update our work 3-4 times a year. We don't want to support the new InDesign cloud "subscription" option they are offering. What a rip off.
Rmueller
Rmueller
Jun 29 2017
5.0.2
5.0
Jun 29 2017
5.0
Version: 5.0.2
works great for what I need.
tomasz.osmolski
tomasz.osmolski
Jun 24 2017
5.0.2
5.0
Jun 24 2017
5.0
Version: 5.0.2
Jeden z najlepszych programów do "małego DTP" dla systemu macOS
Loehman
Loehman
Jun 20 2017
5.0.2
4.0
Jun 20 2017
4.0
Version: 5.0.2
It's not InDesign, but it does most of what I need and the cost is affordable for almost anyone (especially with the 50% off sale). It's kind of quirky if you are used to InDesign, there are a lot features missing and the text styling works sometimes and not others. I'm on an older MacPro (2008) on MacOS 10.11.6. I don't see any recent reviews, so I just wanted to suggest you give it a try if you need something more desktop-publishing oriented than Word or Pages. I'm still holding out for Affinity Publisher, but every time I look at their website, the release of the beta is pushed further into the future.
Alicekollan
Alicekollan
Jul 8 2016
4.0.4
4.0
Jul 8 2016
4.0
Version: 4.0.4
Works well on my Mac OS X El Caption. It is easy to use and helps me a lot for designing my own newsletter.
kschmeissing
kschmeissing
Feb 26 2016
4.0.4
0.0
Feb 26 2016
0.0
Version: 4.0.4
I have an "old" Mac OS x 10.7.5 Am I able to download a previous version of Swift Publisher? I know I cannot download the most recent version.
Strider72
Strider72
Sep 24 2015
4.0.1
2.5
Sep 24 2015
2.5
Version: 4.0.1
Good at a bare bones level, but increasingly frustrating any time I want to use any real features. For example, the text Styles feature is virtually useless. I can't update a Style at all. You can click all you want and the Style simply won't update. IT renders the Styles function WORSE than useless, as you expect it to do something, and may not notice that the change didn't stick.
Billybob152
Billybob152
Aug 25 2015
4.0
0.0
Aug 25 2015
0.0
Version: 4.0
Crashes every time I try to open version 4.
Mac007
Mac007
Oct 25 2014
3.3.6
0.0
Oct 25 2014
0.0
Version: 3.3.6
Downloaded the new version and when launched it crashes. I just upgraded to Yosemite so that may be part of the problem. Hopefully the developers will fix this soon.
Maxter
Maxter
Apr 13 2014
3.3.5
4.0
Apr 13 2014
4.0
Version: 3.3.5
Desktop publishing for the rest of us. Give it a try!
Frank-O'Connor
Frank-O'Connor
Feb 19 2014
3.3.5
4.0
Feb 19 2014
4.0
Version: 3.3.5
Does what it says .... but how come the App Store version is lagging so far behind on the updates?
anonymous-bandicoot-3081
anonymous-bandicoot-3081
Feb 13 2014
3.3.3
5.0
Feb 13 2014
5.0
Version: 3.3.3
I'm not a professional. So I don't need Adobe. Swift Publisher is a great app with tons of really nice features and still more than I need.
Polkamatic
Polkamatic
Feb 13 2014
3.3.3
3.5
Feb 13 2014
3.5
Version: 3.3.3
For layouts that keep elements on one page at a time, it's great. the feature gap is when working on a booklet with page bleed. It really needs a way to handle page spreads... laying out a magazine with elements that run across the gutter is difficult without it... For example, if you are using page bleed, and want a title to span across two pages so that when the booklet is open, the title rolls across the entire space, it's nearly impossible to line this all up without a lot of registration marks, work, and hassle. If there's a way to do it, I can't figure it out. :-( otherwise, very nice.
Tubo
Tubo
Jan 25 2014
3.3.3
0.0
Jan 25 2014
0.0
Version: 3.3.3
Image is damaged, impossible to use. (3.3.3)
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
Dec 10 2013
3.3.2
4.5
Dec 10 2013
4.5
Version: 3.3.2
Now that Apple has put a bullet to the head of Pages '09 and brought out the cardboard cutout version of Pages 5, there should be an excellent opening for Swift Publisher to step in. I would like for SP to export to a few more formats, such as .docx, rtf and .txt for compatibility backups.
Quantumpanda
Quantumpanda
Oct 25 2013
3.3.2
0.0
Oct 25 2013
0.0
Version: 3.3.2
MacUpdate Desktop cannot install updates to this app properly, even though the dmg has a simple drag install. This problem has persisted through every update since I purchased the app in the December 2012 MU bundle. Trashing the app and doing a clean reinstall of it does not affect this. What could possibly cause MUD to be unable to install this?
Uncoy
Uncoy
Dec 11 2012
3.2
5.0
Dec 11 2012
5.0
Version: 3.2
Does anyone notice any real difference between version two and three apart from all the Mountain Lion and Retina compatibility fixes (neither interest me in the least: I'm staying Snow).
Pummkin
Pummkin
Oct 7 2012
3.2
5.0
Oct 7 2012
5.0
Version: 3.2
Swift 3 is an excellent replacement for MS Publisher for those of you who come from a Windows background. Having used Swift 2, I am convinced that any upgrade from this developer would only enhance the program to give stunning designs as your creativity allows without cracking your head to figure out where all the controls & fixes are. It actually makes me look forward to each assignment! Thank you for letting me create newsletters that stun people each time!
Sun Rocket
Sun Rocket
Oct 6 2012
3.2
0.0
Oct 6 2012
0.0
Version: 3.2
This isn’t a comment on Swift Publisher per se — rather, a question about the various options of purchasing it. The App store has v. 3.1.1 priced at $19.99; MacUpdate has v. 3.2, a trivial difference I assume as at some point, the App store will offer a free update to v. 3.2? I believe there’s a difference between purchasing software directly from the developer or MacUpdate, and purchasing it from the App store. Can anyone elucidate? No matter where I buy the application, it looks like I can download a demo here or from the developer’s site to try it out. And of course I wouldn’t buy a slightly lower version from the App Store for a few more dollars. Are there others differences? Thanks!
Markus-Winter
Markus-Winter
Oct 2 2012
3.2
0.0
Oct 2 2012
0.0
Version: 3.2
To be fair to Andrew: this is listed as Shareware, not Demo. Shareware is try before you buy (unrestricted) and if you like it then pay for it. Demo has more or less severe limitations (time-limited demo, save disabled demo, watermarked demo, etc). So anyone slamming Andrew (who should have left a comment, not a one star review) should also slam the company for mislabeling the product.
Uncoy
Uncoy
Aug 23 2012
3.1.1
5.0
Aug 23 2012
5.0
Version: 3.1.1
I wouldn't normally write a review of Swift Publisher as we don't use it that much (we do mainly online and some of my designers are used to InDesign and cross-training them and have them complain about it for weeks is not the kind of project I need right now), but I have used Swift Publisher myself for some very nice work. Andrew K. who demands thirty free days for his demo (and not demo marks on output) and has one starred BeLight's powerful and lightweight software is the reason for this immediate review.
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
Aug 8 2012
3.1.1
5.0
Aug 8 2012
5.0
Version: 3.1.1
I can't let that 1-star review go unchallenged. I've used shareware for decades (literally), and I've seen MANY graphics and audio programs that put some kind of restriction on a demo. And for good reason. Many people would very much like to take advantage of a full-featured demo in order to do quick projects. Why should the developers be deprived of their income while their “potential” customers profit? All anyone needs in a DEMO is the ability to determine how well the product will work. Is it really, truly, that hard to make a determination about Swift Publisher because it plasters “demo” on the output? Seriously? A reasonable person can pretty well look beyond that to make a purchase decision. Swift Publisher is a well-supported program with good ease of use and many great features. I would give it a 5-star rating regardless of other people’s limited perspectives. A 1-star rating on a program that’s this mature and well supported is little more than a tantrum.
Andrew-K
Andrew-K
Aug 5 2012
3.1
0.5
Aug 5 2012
0.5
Version: 3.1
One star - a program is USELESS to try while ever the developer puts stuff like 'made with trial version' on the print job. I can't try this. I won't buy it. USELESS. SELFISH
Kentr
Kentr
Mar 8 2012
3.0
5.0
Mar 8 2012
5.0
Version: 3.0
Has always allowed me to be creative and productive without complexity. I love this program.
Sjha
Sjha
Mar 3 2012
3.0
5.0
Mar 3 2012
5.0
Version: 3.0
With the long-awaited addition of grouping plus several other new or improved features, an already great programme becomes superb. This must now be the page layout programme of choice.
Fariborz
Fariborz
Mar 3 2012
3.0
0.0
Mar 3 2012
0.0
Version: 3.0
Is there an upgrade fee from version 2 to 3? I haven't found it yet! Thanks.
David-Blum
David-Blum
Feb 1 2012
2.3.8
5.0
Feb 1 2012
5.0
Version: 2.3.8
better than pages for many things. Try it. It can handle more complex situations and runs faster.
Pugwash
Pugwash
Oct 10 2011
2.3.8
0.0
Oct 10 2011
0.0
Version: 2.3.8
Back in July (re: comment below) I received an email from the developers regarding the long awaited 'grouping' ability. "...The program is in active development and we prepare v.3 for release. The structure of Swift Publisher was re-built and there was no sense to concentrate on adding grouping feature before completing these changes. An update should appear on August - September this year." It's now October 10 and still nothing. And this from the developer's own forum: "When will Swift Publisher 3 be out? Any info on upgrading?" and the response: "Hi, I expect the release of the third version in the middle or end of 2010. Nick" To the developer: don't insult your customers by constantly making promises you have no intention of keeping. I for one am sick of waiting and am going to buy another product. More than likely iStudio Publisher, a few dollars more than Swift Publisher but has more features.
Pugwash
Pugwash
Jul 4 2011
2.3.7
0.0
Jul 4 2011
0.0
Version: 2.3.7
Grouping coming in version 3 Like $ir M. and Lvdoc I own Swift Publisher, a really good application I think, but like them was wondering what was happening with the 'grouping' ability promised back in 2008. This afternoon I emailed BeLight Software, the developer, asking when and if 'grouping' was going to be added. Within an hour or so I had a reply saying that they are currently working on version 3 which should be available August - September. Now the really good news - 'grouping' will be available in version 3. This will, I think, take Swift Publisher from being really good to fantastic!!!!
$ir-M-
$ir-M-
Feb 2 2011
2.3.3
0.0
Feb 2 2011
0.0
Version: 2.3.3
I own Swift Pub and Art Text. Both are great for what they do. If, however, Swift Pub ever delivered grouping functionality (as promised back in Apr. 2008), it could have real game-changing potential; note, though, that it has since bumped only from 2.3 to 2.3.3. Lots of time - not much improvement - the natural question arises: how active is this software's development? (Not intended as criticism)
Thinkfilm
Thinkfilm
Jun 3 2010
2.3.3
0.0
Jun 3 2010
0.0
Version: 2.3.3
Swift Publisher used with Art Text 2 is really a great combo. I've had a couple of questions and te developer is probably the most responsive I've ever encountered. Their service alone encouraged me to buy several of their other apps.
Madmegdigitalltd
Madmegdigitalltd
Jan 23 2010
2.3.2
0.0
Jan 23 2010
0.0
Version: 2.3.2
The actual price of this is $50.40. They tack on $5.45 for a non-optional "Registration Backup Service" that keeps your serial number safe for a year.
Marty30
Marty30
Oct 5 2009
2.3.2
0.0
Oct 5 2009
0.0
Version: 2.3.2
I am currently using swift publisher and I think its great nd really simple. Although I am having difficulty in producing quality PDF's. When I create a pdf on my mac, I open it and the colours and gradients look fantastic like the original document but when I open it as a pdf on another PC it looks really bad. Colours dont look the same and the overall feel looks really amateur. Why is this??? Am i doing something wrong?
Sjha
Sjha
Sep 3 2009
2.3.2
5.0
Sep 3 2009
5.0
Version: 2.3.2
I find Swift Publisher 2 to be a superb DTP programme. I have used it for various tasks including production of posters and of greetings cards and it is a joy to use. Its integration with ArtText is an excellent feature. And for me the programme has been rock solid. Highly recommended!