Back to Swift Publisher page
Swift Publisher free download for Mac

Swift Publisher Reviews

5.5.3
27 February 2020

Versatile desktop publishing app with many templates.

zlazkow
24 August 2019

Most helpful

The new update version 5.5 contains mostly CD labels, envelopes and business cards. Anybody knows if it's possible install only business cards, without all other stuff ?
Like (1)
Version 5.5

Read 61 Swift Publisher User Reviews

Rate this app:

Derekcurrie
19 January 2020
v5.5.2 is out. I like it. Release notes: • Swift Publisher can now open documents created in Business Card Composer. • Support for label printers added: DYMO, Zebra, Brother, Seiko, Primera.
Like
Version 5.5.1
Dgerzeeboy
27 November 2019
BeLight Software, the makers of Swift Publisher, were the folks who created the terrific Labels & Addresses, but let it die with its last 32 bit incarnation. But SP is every bit as good if not better. Its even more intuitive, easy to use and completely customizable. If you've been searching for a replacement for Labels & Addresses, this is literally it.
Like
Version 5.5.1
1 answer(s)
Pafka
Pafka
28 February 2020
Yes it is OK, but it nit integrate library from old Labels and Addresses. Hope it will in next upgrade!
Like
Version 5.5.3
Septic Monkey
05 September 2019
This app needs to SPEED UP. I'm waiting for the spinning wheel to stop for nearly a minute every time I choose something. Why is it taking sooooooo long to do anything? And, although I've used this app on several occasions in the past and assumed I would be familiar with it, I'm finding it extremely difficult to use now. It's not a user-friendly app at all. I'm so confused most of the time why things aren't happening. It's gotta go .... very sorry!
Like
Version 5.5
zlazkow
24 August 2019
The new update version 5.5 contains mostly CD labels, envelopes and business cards. Anybody knows if it's possible install only business cards, without all other stuff ?
Like (1)
Version 5.5
jbb2237
01 February 2019
Couldn't get the download to open.
Like
Version 5.0.8
1 answer(s)
zlazkow
zlazkow
01 May 2019
This is not a review, but a comment. You should have contacted the BeLight Software first, before posting your negative comment. SwiftPublisher is the best there is in desktop publishing for Mac.
Like (3)
ahmedhatata-ah
19 December 2018
Super awsome software . Do what exactly say and more , if you are looking for a professional prepared designs templets for almost anything then this is the number one app you have to give a shoot . Intuitive, simple UI with edit drag and drop content , every thing is tottaly customizable and under your control. It helped me a lot to improve my designs layout at college and work . Very brilliant app and very convenient and awsome company . Also check out their other apps for mac they have a lot of super great softwares.
Like (3)
Version 5.0.7
NathanJ.
02 December 2017
Brilliant! Does exactly what it should be doing without any problems. Still new to Swift Publisher but so far i'm satisfied. Works really well on my Mac OS X El Caption, which I saw another reviewer also state, guess that helps prove how good this app is! Cheers Swift Publisher!
Like (2)
Version 5.0.6
lazk
23 September 2017
This is The Best, and this is brilliant. Since I discovered it 5 years ago, I've never not only opened Apple pages, but never bothered to update it. All I can say.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.3
john-333
18 September 2017
Really a question: Will Swift Publishing convert old InDesighn CS3 files? We're using Mac OS10.12.6. This version of InDesign is no longer is available and we need to access and update our work 3-4 times a year. We don't want to support the new InDesign cloud "subscription" option they are offering. What a rip off.
Like
Version 5.0.2
Rmueller
29 June 2017
works great for what I need.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.2
tomasz.osmolski
24 June 2017
Jeden z najlepszych programów do "małego DTP" dla systemu macOS
Like
Version 5.0.2
Loehman
20 June 2017
It's not InDesign, but it does most of what I need and the cost is affordable for almost anyone (especially with the 50% off sale). It's kind of quirky if you are used to InDesign, there are a lot features missing and the text styling works sometimes and not others. I'm on an older MacPro (2008) on MacOS 10.11.6. I don't see any recent reviews, so I just wanted to suggest you give it a try if you need something more desktop-publishing oriented than Word or Pages. I'm still holding out for Affinity Publisher, but every time I look at their website, the release of the beta is pushed further into the future.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.2
Alicekollan
08 July 2016
Works well on my Mac OS X El Caption. It is easy to use and helps me a lot for designing my own newsletter.
Like (12)
Version 4.0.4
kschmeissing
26 February 2016
I have an "old" Mac OS x 10.7.5 Am I able to download a previous version of Swift Publisher? I know I cannot download the most recent version.
Like
Version 4.0.4
Strider72
24 September 2015
Good at a bare bones level, but increasingly frustrating any time I want to use any real features. For example, the text Styles feature is virtually useless. I can't update a Style at all. You can click all you want and the Style simply won't update. IT renders the Styles function WORSE than useless, as you expect it to do something, and may not notice that the change didn't stick.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.1
Billybob152
25 August 2015
Crashes every time I try to open version 4.
Like
Version 4.0
3 answer(s)
Capitalj
Capitalj
26 August 2015
Same for me. I just sent an email to the developer with the line from Console that pops up every time I try to launch.
Like
Billybob152
Billybob152
27 August 2015
Still not fixed. Still crashes. OS 10.9.5, Intel Mac.
Like
Capitalj
Capitalj
27 August 2015
The developer suggested going to System Preferences>Security & Privacy to temporarily allow apps from anywhere, launching the application, then returning to my previous security setting. It worked, but I still get strange Console entries that I sent to the developer
Like
Mac007
25 October 2014
Downloaded the new version and when launched it crashes. I just upgraded to Yosemite so that may be part of the problem. Hopefully the developers will fix this soon.
Like (1)
Version 3.3.6
2 answer(s)
David-Empson
David-Empson
25 October 2014
Same for me on Mavericks, so it appears to be generally broken.
Like (1)
David-Empson
David-Empson
28 October 2014
The publisher has now fixed the problem, without updating the version number. It works for me (now on Yosemite, but it wasn't specific to a particular OS X version). The MacUpdate download link works.
Like (4)
Maxter
13 April 2014
Desktop publishing for the rest of us. Give it a try!
Like (4)
Version 3.3.5
Frank-O'Connor
19 February 2014
Does what it says .... but how come the App Store version is lagging so far behind on the updates?
Like
Version 3.3.5
1 answer(s)
Belight-Team
Belight-Team
24 February 2014
There is a review procedure by Apple team for each program, which usually takes about a week. This review process is causing the lag.
Like (5)
anonymous-bandicoot-3081
13 February 2014
I'm not a professional. So I don't need Adobe. Swift Publisher is a great app with tons of really nice features and still more than I need.
Like (8)
Version 3.3.3
Polkamatic
13 February 2014
For layouts that keep elements on one page at a time, it's great. the feature gap is when working on a booklet with page bleed. It really needs a way to handle page spreads... laying out a magazine with elements that run across the gutter is difficult without it... For example, if you are using page bleed, and want a title to span across two pages so that when the booklet is open, the title rolls across the entire space, it's nearly impossible to line this all up without a lot of registration marks, work, and hassle. If there's a way to do it, I can't figure it out. :-( otherwise, very nice.
Like (3)
Version 3.3.3
1 answer(s)
Polkamatic
Polkamatic
16 February 2014
I realize this makes more sense if I say that this program needs a better way to handle facing pages. Please! Belight! We need facing pages/left-right page set ups! It's so clunky to use master pages for this.
Like (1)
Tubo
25 January 2014
Image is damaged, impossible to use. (3.3.3)
Like
Version 3.3.3
2 answer(s)
Belight-Team
Belight-Team
28 January 2014
try to download it again, probably some error occurred during download process.
Like
Tubo
Tubo
28 January 2014
Image seems now to be a little smaller (.5MB) than before -> now works flawlessly... ...error occurred during upload process ;-)
Like
Rubaiyat
10 December 2013
Now that Apple has put a bullet to the head of Pages '09 and brought out the cardboard cutout version of Pages 5, there should be an excellent opening for Swift Publisher to step in. I would like for SP to export to a few more formats, such as .docx, rtf and .txt for compatibility backups.
Like (2)
Version 3.3.2
Quantumpanda
25 October 2013
MacUpdate Desktop cannot install updates to this app properly, even though the dmg has a simple drag install. This problem has persisted through every update since I purchased the app in the December 2012 MU bundle. Trashing the app and doing a clean reinstall of it does not affect this. What could possibly cause MUD to be unable to install this?
Like
Version 3.3.2
Uncoy
11 December 2012
Does anyone notice any real difference between version two and three apart from all the Mountain Lion and Retina compatibility fixes (neither interest me in the least: I'm staying Snow).
Like
Version 3.2
2 answer(s)
Belight-Team
Belight-Team
11 December 2012
To list just a few: - new and redesigned templates, multiple layers support, calendars, ability to draw free hand shapes, grouping, vertical text tool, improved performance for graphics-intensive documents and more. Complete list of changes available from BeLight Software website.
Like (2)
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
05 February 2013
They have also addressed some of the problems with printing to pdf in OSX, particularly the resolution issue. Just wish Apple would fix this in Pages.
Like (2)
Pummkin
07 October 2012
Swift 3 is an excellent replacement for MS Publisher for those of you who come from a Windows background. Having used Swift 2, I am convinced that any upgrade from this developer would only enhance the program to give stunning designs as your creativity allows without cracking your head to figure out where all the controls & fixes are. It actually makes me look forward to each assignment! Thank you for letting me create newsletters that stun people each time!
Like (1)
Version 3.2
Sun Rocket
06 October 2012
This isn’t a comment on Swift Publisher per se — rather, a question about the various options of purchasing it. The App store has v. 3.1.1 priced at $19.99; MacUpdate has v. 3.2, a trivial difference I assume as at some point, the App store will offer a free update to v. 3.2? I believe there’s a difference between purchasing software directly from the developer or MacUpdate, and purchasing it from the App store. Can anyone elucidate? No matter where I buy the application, it looks like I can download a demo here or from the developer’s site to try it out. And of course I wouldn’t buy a slightly lower version from the App Store for a few more dollars. Are there others differences? Thanks!
Like
Version 3.2
4 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
06 October 2012
Both versions are the same, however according to the developer prices will occasionally vary depending on different specials that they are running. If you haven't used the MAS very often, you'll also find that the version available there can be 1 or even 2 versions behind the version available directly from the developer. This happens because of the lengthy time Apple's review process generally takes (often 3 - 4 weeks!). You can find some more info directly from the developer here http://www.belightsoft.com/support/generalfaq.php
Like (1)
Sun Rocket
Sun Rocket
07 October 2012
Ryan -- thanks for the info, and for pointing me to the developer's FAQ page. It answers all my questions.
Like
Pummkin
Pummkin
07 October 2012
I just bought mine for $17.99! A sale from MacUpdate!
Like (2)
Kentr
Kentr
20 October 2013
What bugs me is that the App store is always behind on updates. So if you buy Swift Publisher through Apple you will have to wait much longer for an update.
Like
Markus-Winter
02 October 2012
To be fair to Andrew: this is listed as Shareware, not Demo. Shareware is try before you buy (unrestricted) and if you like it then pay for it. Demo has more or less severe limitations (time-limited demo, save disabled demo, watermarked demo, etc). So anyone slamming Andrew (who should have left a comment, not a one star review) should also slam the company for mislabeling the product.
Like (1)
Version 3.2
Uncoy
23 August 2012
I wouldn't normally write a review of Swift Publisher as we don't use it that much (we do mainly online and some of my designers are used to InDesign and cross-training them and have them complain about it for weeks is not the kind of project I need right now), but I have used Swift Publisher myself for some very nice work. Andrew K. who demands thirty free days for his demo (and not demo marks on output) and has one starred BeLight's powerful and lightweight software is the reason for this immediate review.
Like (7)
Version 3.1.1
Lvdoc
08 August 2012
I can't let that 1-star review go unchallenged. I've used shareware for decades (literally), and I've seen MANY graphics and audio programs that put some kind of restriction on a demo. And for good reason. Many people would very much like to take advantage of a full-featured demo in order to do quick projects. Why should the developers be deprived of their income while their “potential” customers profit? All anyone needs in a DEMO is the ability to determine how well the product will work. Is it really, truly, that hard to make a determination about Swift Publisher because it plasters “demo” on the output? Seriously? A reasonable person can pretty well look beyond that to make a purchase decision. Swift Publisher is a well-supported program with good ease of use and many great features. I would give it a 5-star rating regardless of other people’s limited perspectives. A 1-star rating on a program that’s this mature and well supported is little more than a tantrum.
Like (9)
Version 3.1.1
2 answer(s)
ylluminate
ylluminate
08 August 2012
It hasn't existed for "decades" (perhaps 1 at most, but as I recall, when I first saw it come out, it certainly wasn't a decade ago). I personally liked what they were doing some time ago, but to be fair I've not tried it again for the last 2 versions. I have wanted to see a good Pages-esque tool that is tuned to DTP and design needs. It seems that these guys have taken that to task and have done a decent job with their implementation. I know back when I first used the app there were some quirks that were not iWork enough in the implementation, but the implementation seemed solid. I'll have to give it another spin around the block to see where they've come with it now.
Like (1)
Billybob152
Billybob152
08 August 2012
I agree, Lvdoc, with you.
Like (2)
Andrew-K
05 August 2012
One star - a program is USELESS to try while ever the developer puts stuff like 'made with trial version' on the print job. I can't try this. I won't buy it. USELESS. SELFISH
Like
Version 3.1
6 answer(s)
Egami
Egami
08 August 2012
Frankly giving the program a 1 star ratting due to the limitations the trial makes is quite unfair. The idea of the trial is for you to try the app itself, not for you to get 30 days of free work from the app without paying a cent. Swift Publisher is a very nice app made by a very good and responsible mac developer who really doesn't deserves to have it's product slandered like this.
Like (9)
Andrew-K
Andrew-K
08 August 2012
Is that the idea? I can't try it out when I can't see printed results without some stupid watermark being plastered all over my work. I haven't slandered it. I have given an honest appraisal of what I can and cannot do. In this case, it is what I cannot do. And that is use the trial.
Like
Uncoy
Uncoy
23 August 2012
Andrew K. you are the kind of dolt who makes small publishers despair and close their doors. It's a DEMO, not a month long freebie.
Like (11)
Andrew-K
Andrew-K
23 August 2012
Thanks for the name calling.
Like
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
06 October 2012
™Andrew USELESS & SELFISH seem to me self descriptors. The publisher is letting you try the product, WHICH YOU HAVE NOT PAID FOR, and if the want to watermark it, that is fine. If you are just trying it out and not wanting a free go, that will not stop you using it to see what it does and how well it does it. Unfortunately there are too many people in this world with an insufferable sense of entitlement.
Like (8)
Inspiredmaac
Inspiredmaac
25 January 2014
Don't buy it. Who gives a crap what you think.
Like
Kentr
08 March 2012
Has always allowed me to be creative and productive without complexity. I love this program.
Like (2)
Version 3.0
Sjha
03 March 2012
With the long-awaited addition of grouping plus several other new or improved features, an already great programme becomes superb. This must now be the page layout programme of choice.
Like (4)
Version 3.0
Fariborz
03 March 2012
Is there an upgrade fee from version 2 to 3? I haven't found it yet! Thanks.
Like
Version 3.0
David-Blum
01 February 2012
better than pages for many things. Try it. It can handle more complex situations and runs faster.
Like
Version 2.3.8
Pugwash
10 October 2011
Back in July (re: comment below) I received an email from the developers regarding the long awaited 'grouping' ability. "...The program is in active development and we prepare v.3 for release. The structure of Swift Publisher was re-built and there was no sense to concentrate on adding grouping feature before completing these changes. An update should appear on August - September this year." It's now October 10 and still nothing. And this from the developer's own forum: "When will Swift Publisher 3 be out? Any info on upgrading?" and the response: "Hi, I expect the release of the third version in the middle or end of 2010. Nick" To the developer: don't insult your customers by constantly making promises you have no intention of keeping. I for one am sick of waiting and am going to buy another product. More than likely iStudio Publisher, a few dollars more than Swift Publisher but has more features.
Like
Version 2.3.8
Pugwash
04 July 2011
Grouping coming in version 3 Like $ir M. and Lvdoc I own Swift Publisher, a really good application I think, but like them was wondering what was happening with the 'grouping' ability promised back in 2008. This afternoon I emailed BeLight Software, the developer, asking when and if 'grouping' was going to be added. Within an hour or so I had a reply saying that they are currently working on version 3 which should be available August - September. Now the really good news - 'grouping' will be available in version 3. This will, I think, take Swift Publisher from being really good to fantastic!!!!
Like (2)
Version 2.3.7
1 answer(s)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
09 September 2011
Was that August-September of 2011? Sorry to be a skeptic, but this September release doesn't look like it's close to the magical "grouping" mark.
Like
$ir-M-
02 February 2011
I own Swift Pub and Art Text. Both are great for what they do. If, however, Swift Pub ever delivered grouping functionality (as promised back in Apr. 2008), it could have real game-changing potential; note, though, that it has since bumped only from 2.3 to 2.3.3. Lots of time - not much improvement - the natural question arises: how active is this software's development? (Not intended as criticism)
Like
Version 2.3.3
1 answer(s)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
09 June 2011
I agree. Although I own a license, I don't use the program any more because of the lack of this feature. I cannot fathom why one would create an otherwise excellent program that lacks what seems to be a standard feature of so many other programs like this. I'm not a programmer, so maybe I shouldn't say this, but how hard could it be to implement a "grouping" feature if you're already capable of programming the rest of this?
Like
Thinkfilm
03 June 2010
Swift Publisher used with Art Text 2 is really a great combo. I've had a couple of questions and te developer is probably the most responsive I've ever encountered. Their service alone encouraged me to buy several of their other apps.
Like (6)
Version 2.3.3
Madmegdigitalltd
23 January 2010
The actual price of this is $50.40. They tack on $5.45 for a non-optional "Registration Backup Service" that keeps your serial number safe for a year.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.2
2 answer(s)
Belight-Team
Belight-Team
25 January 2010
Registration Backup Service is an optional service offered by our online store, which can be removed from basket at checkout. We always restore lost license codes free of charge.
Like (3)
Version 2.3.2
Madmegdigitalltd
Madmegdigitalltd
06 February 2010
I can confirm that the password recovery fee no longer is automatically added to the cart. Thanks for rectifying that.
Like (4)
Version 2.3.2
Marty30
05 October 2009
I am currently using swift publisher and I think its great nd really simple. Although I am having difficulty in producing quality PDF's. When I create a pdf on my mac, I open it and the colours and gradients look fantastic like the original document but when I open it as a pdf on another PC it looks really bad. Colours dont look the same and the overall feel looks really amateur. Why is this??? Am i doing something wrong?
Like (1)
Version 2.3.2
2 answer(s)
Belight-Team
Belight-Team
13 October 2009
Dear Martyn, The problem is in the way Adobe opens this PDF file. The same result occurs when opening your document with Adobe Acrobat Pro 9 on Mac as well. Maybe Adobe renders them into the lower quality to speed up display process, you may check Adobe settings to try to fix this.
Like (2)
Version 2.3.2
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
03 June 2010
ALL OSX created pdfs have problems due to bad settings in the Colorsync filters. Add your voice to those asking Apple to make Colorsync usable. Apple has dropped the Pro Print industry in favor of undiscriminating consumers, despite all the chin music to the contrary.
Like
Version 2.3.3
Sjha
03 September 2009
I find Swift Publisher 2 to be a superb DTP programme. I have used it for various tasks including production of posters and of greetings cards and it is a joy to use. Its integration with ArtText is an excellent feature. And for me the programme has been rock solid. Highly recommended!
Like (6)
Version 2.3.2
Allan-Griffiths
19 August 2009
I'M JUST USING THE TRIAL VERSION, AND FIND THAT EXPORTING TO A PDF FILE CAN RESULT IN A MASSIVE INCREASE IN THE SIZE OF THE FILE. (FROM
Like
Version 2.3.1
Wserbia
29 December 2008
This application is super buggy. It crashes sporadically when: -new pictures are added to a document - fonts are changed - saving a document I just purchased the software today and it has already crashed twelve times within a six hour period. The last crash caused my iMac to completely freeze requiring a manual restart. This is too bad since it has everything my wife has been looking for in an affordable application for simple booklet layouts. I'm running this app on an late 2007, 24" iMac with a 2.8Ghz CoreDuo and 4GB of RAM.
Like (2)
Version 2.3.1
2 answer(s)
Savo
Savo
21 February 2009
Have been useing it in trial to produce catologue of jewellery photographs, and had the experience of everything freezing and not saving, which was dissappointing as I felt this was a great product for someone with little knowledge like me and Pages was not able to do what I wanted. I contacted them useing ichat and had immediate response explaining in simple english which I could understand to reduce the percentage size of the pictures by 50% using image tricks and this took no time at all. This I did and all problems solved, and the quality difference in the picures seems very small. I have bought this product as I am very pleased with it. It is a little slow but I assume they are big files and for the price thats not a problem.
Like (4)
Version 2.3.1
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
11 June 2009
There must be something else going on in your set-up. It has never, ever crashed for me, in fact it is so solid that it never occurred to me to be an issue. There were a few other issues, but never stability.
Like (2)
Version 2.3.1
Rubaiyat
21 July 2008
Quite a nice simple DTP program with some surprising features (and some omissions). I turned to Swift because of frustrations with Pages' inability to produce spot colors and bought the clipart as well. The ClipArt is pretty cheesy and looks just like the wmf stuff you get with PCs. I don't think I would have bothered if I'd known. The templates are fairly ordinary as well, but some like that. It is built around Cocoa so appears familiar to most modern Mac users, but it is not as refined in design and polish as iWorks. Still the price is about right for what it does.
Like (9)
Version 2.3
Easer
14 April 2008
I do love this program. But I wish they would allow me to group objects. Yes, I can select multiple objects and move them as a group, but that's not the same as creating one large, grouped object which I can maneuver at will. I wrote them awhile back and asked for this feature, and they said it would be in the next release. I do not see it. Bummer.
Like
Version 2.3
1 answer(s)
Belight-Team
Belight-Team
15 April 2008
Hello EASER, This is rather technical update that is aimed at improving program stability and fixing some quirks. Grouping functionality will be added as promised in the next major update. Which currently is being in development.
Like (3)
Version 2.3
Henryaz
20 December 2007
This a continued review. In my previous review, I covered some quirks and how SP was too slow on my eMac when dealing with large images. I've used SP on another project on my MacBook 2.2 GHz, 1 GB RAM, OS 10.5.1. SP is much more responsive on this machine. Typing with large images is responsive, causing me to wonder if the problem with my past machine was related to the configuration of the machine or actually was a problem with SP. SP still displays many of the same quirks mentioned in my earlier review, including the faulty text wrap which causes text to disappear out of the text box until the text box is resized overly large. The extended clip art collection is WORTH EVERY DOLLAR. The photos included are hi-res, and quite stunning. I used many clips from the clip art collection to come up with a very nice postcard for a direct mailing. Wife said it was the best looking postcard I'd done yet -- and it is largely due to the quality of the clip art. Alas, there are many things that are still annoying in the product. Text Styles does not behave as you would expect. I took the trouble to set up some styles for the texts I was using. When I decided to update the font within a style, two problems showed up: a) Using the font panel to edit a style did not always generate the expected results, seemingly especially when dealing with small font sizes. Multiple times, I tried to set a style to a font size of 3, and it instead changed from 4 pt (what it was set to previously) to 9 pt. (b) If that weren't annoying enough, when I did successfully update a style, none of the text on which that style had previously been applied actually updated to the new style! I had to go and manually reapply the style to the paragraphs to get them to reflect the new fonts. It seems that styles are merely a place to store font information which can be applied with a simple pull down menu, but the text remains independent of the style and does not update when the style is changed. Generating a PDF did not behave as expected. In my postcard, the printer asked for .125" bleed. I'd set up the page to the expected postcard size (5.6x4.25). Swift Pub has the ability to generate a PDF with the bleed showing. However, if I asked SP to generate a PDF with the extra bleed, more often than not, the resulting PDF was still 5.6x4.25, instead of 5.85x4.5. Even worse, the bleed showed up in the left and top sides of the page, and the bottom and right sides were clipped by the bleed amount. Here are the PDF generating methods that failed to produce a proper bleed: Print->Preview, Print->Print Panel->Preview, Export PDF + PDFX filter. The only way I could get a PDF with the proper bleed was to export the PDF with NO filters applied. UNDO sometimes did not immediately show up in what I was doing. When I was changing colors on some words in the text, I decided to undo the change. When nothing showed up, I instinctively did apple-Z several times. When I finally clicked outside the image area, I discovered that I'd done several undos. Undoing a font color change does not draw on the screen correctly until I clicked outside of any object. Some other things I liked: I like the master templates, and the foreground/background tabs for each page. To insure I was following the proper margins for my postcard, I downloaded a PNG from the postcard site and pasted into the background of a page. With the PNG resized appropriately, I could then set the opacity of the PNG to very light. This gave me a nice guide when I edited the postcard in the foreground. When I was ready to print (or generate a PDF), I went into the background and changed the opacity of the PNG to zero. This effectively hid the reference image yet left it there for me to reveal again if I needed it. SP never crashed on me - this is a GOOD sign. Frequently, shareware crashes on me while I experiment with it. Summary: I find Pages much easier to use and more intuitive. Pages does not seem to have some of the features of SP, like editable master templates. I really like the clip art you can get with SP. One thing that makes SP really shine is the Link Back feature, which allows me to edit material in the original app that generated the material. However, the quirkiness of the UI to SP is an obstacle to me wanting to use it all the time. I imagine that I will lean towards Pages for my general use of DTP.
Like
Version 2.2
Henryaz
13 December 2007
Many folks have written about the nice aspects of this program. One under-reported feature I like is the support for LinkBack, which would allow me to use programs like Intaglio to edit the graphic objects that are embedded in SP docs. But, for this mini-review, I will focus on the problems that prevent me from using SP. VERY SLOW on an eMac G4 800MHz 512MB 10.4.11, even when all other apps have been quit. Incidentally, OS was reinstalled from scratch - erasing the whole disk - 4 days before, so the machine is fairly clean. After initially being impressed by its feature set in the trial version, decided to purchase and try to create a layout of a calendar page with 7 6MP photos on it. Images are all on a local hard disk. Loaded the 7 images onto a page. Clicking and dragging them had a very noticeable delay. If I moved the mouse immediately after clicking, the image would not be under the mouse cursor once the image started moving. Adding a text box and typing into it was painful. I counted 4 seconds between each letter rendering. During the typing, the CPU is pegged at 100%. There is also periodic reading from the disk (presumably paging in). Clearly SP is busy doing something for every letter I type. LAYOUT BUGGY. Telling an object to have text wrap around it would completely make the text disappear from its rectangle. I realized that if I resized the text box quite large, the text would show up at different places within the text box (say, at the bottom, or later at the top of the box), depending upon its size. I could find a sizing where the text would show up in the appropriate place, but then I was left with a text box 5 times larger than the text warranted. SAVING SLOW. Making a minor change in layout and then resaving the file meant having to wait close to a minute for the file to finish saving. Perhaps the program is completely resaving every time I click save, instead of saving only the layout change. QUIRKY INTERFACE. Features are nice, but I found the object rotation interface quite quirky and buggy. You can not grab a corner in any manner and rotate an object. You must use a slider, but the slider is so small that the resolution of a step is too many degrees (jumping from 0 degrees to 7 degrees). Using the up/down arrows didn't seem to update the rotation. A few times, the up/down arrow seemed to get stuck going up or down, even after I'd released the mouse button. As an aside, it strikes me that SP is not using standard OS X controls or event management, but rather attempting to read the status of the mouse/keyboard on the fly - a risky behavior in any program, particularly in older machines which may not respond as quickly as the faster, newer machines. A new mac is on order, so perhaps I will like SP on my new MacBook when it arrives. But for my eMac, I find SP too unusable.
Like
Version 2.2
svoop
26 June 2007
Great application, both intuitive and powerful. Others (like those in Redmond) should watch and learn - also what the pricing is concerned.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.2
Nw-Nuance
28 May 2007
I love this program. Ever since PageMaker 5 would no longer work on the newer Macs I have been looking for an inexpensive program to do desktop publishing for my local garden club. I tried using Micro Soft Word and that was disastrous for me. Swift Publisher gives me so much more control and is a familiar format so that I can zip along with my work. Thank you...Thank you!
Like
Version 2.1