Back to Vienna page
Vienna free download for Mac

Vienna Reviews

3.5.5 :817110fe:
26 December 2019

RSS and Atom newsreader.

Aargl
22 March 2019

Most helpful

I've just discovered a new use of RSS: it can be used to track updates for all your applications hosted at Github! Just create a new subscription with the release page (for example https://github.com/ViennaRSS/vienna-rss/releases). :-)
Like (1)
Version 3.5.4 :8b11d92d:

Read 116 Vienna User Reviews

Rate this app:

Aargl
22 March 2019
I've just discovered a new use of RSS: it can be used to track updates for all your applications hosted at Github! Just create a new subscription with the release page (for example https://github.com/ViennaRSS/vienna-rss/releases). :-)
Like (1)
Version 3.5.4 :8b11d92d:
Aargl
15 December 2018
Still a small visual glitch (checked in 10.11 this time ;-) )
A blue line appears under the ninth article in the list.
(in 10.9.5 it looked like a scroll bar)
Like
Version 3.5.2 :624fb17e:
2 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
14 January 2019
In 3.5.3, the visual glitch has moved after the fourteenth article...
Like
Aargl
Aargl
10 February 2019
3.5.4: the blue line has now moved before the first article.
Trip, trip, trip, trip, trip... :-D
Like
Aargl
06 November 2018
Some glitches in 10.9.5.
Like
Version 3.5.0 :c42d4483:
Jb4
25 July 2018
RSS is still the best way to read a lot of news sources and Vienna is the best one I've tried. Fast to load new messages and fast to clear old ones, even though I have hundreds of feeds. With the browser add ons highlighting those sites that have feeds, it's so easy to load a new site... It's great the developer is so active in fixing the bugs.... "Long Live Vienna!"
Like
Version 3.4.2 :7bc20f57:
Aargl
14 July 2018
v3.4.0 crashes on launch, here on OS 10.9.5.
Tried even on a fresh Guest user account.
I see in their forum that someone has the same issue on 10.10: http://forums.cocoaforge.com/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=27085&sid=c617817e90d7532fdda731afcc55b014
Like
Version 3.4.0 :54689303:
1 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
25 July 2018
v3.4.2 seems ok.
Like
axl23
26 April 2018
It's Awesome! I've try'ed many news readers before and this one is the first that exactly does what it should. It just works!
Like (1)
Version 3.3.0 :7f06bb62:
Aargl
15 February 2018
I never needed RSS feeds but tried a few RSS readers, years ago, and Vienna was the best free one — I couldn't find anything really worth paying for NetNewsWire... Now, while I was searching for a podcast player/manager, I tried gPodder and found that subscriptions were done through RSS. As gPodder hasn't got an integrated player (it relies on Quicktime for external playing), I thought of using Vienna for that purpose and it works great (and it has a nicer GUI than gPodder). The only improvement I'd like to see is indeed an integrated player, but I suppose it won't happen as it's not its main purpose.
Like
Version 3.2.1 :8e8c75b3:
Prlab
07 February 2018
Been my reader for many years. Never fails. Just wish it would be developed for iOS. The forums say they are looking at it but that was over a year ago. I'd pay for that.
Like
Version 3.2.1 :8e8c75b3:
zlazkow
19 January 2018
Amazing! Before updating Vienna, it was using 600 MB memory. After updating today to the current version, memory usage dropped to just 65MB ! It's 10 times less.
Like
Version 3.1.16 :891d05ea:
MichaelHaeusler
18 September 2017
Memory management has gotten much better over the last two years, and I'm not getting any runtime error reports anymore from macOS. Especially the current update seems snappier than the version before. As for the software itself: no-nonsense orthodox RSS reader, the best on the market in my opinion. If you only have a handful of RSS feeds, you can use one of those "fancy" show-off RSS apps, but hundreds? Only with Vienna.
Like
Version 3.1.15 :9729aef5:
lazk
05 September 2017
unfortunately it uses a lot of memory and cpu. LuckNews is lightweight and neat.
Like (1)
Version 3.1.12 :627f6323:
1 answer(s)
mono38
mono38
28 November 2017
Yes, on El Capitan the same.
Like
Ward
19 March 2017
The "Open Community" link to the developers' site fails to open <vienna-rss.org>, instead displaying a GoDaddy page with this error: "NOTICE: This domain name expired on 2/24/2017 and is pending renewal or deletion."
Like
Version 3.1.8 :1bc6bc3:
1 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
23 March 2017
"Change the website to vienna-rss.com as the old domain name (vienna-rss.org) could not be renewed"
Like (1)
Darmok
27 September 2016
Looks nice, but the import dialog is very badly broken on Sierra.
Like
Version 3.1.5 :e14f77e:
四点
15 June 2016
Great open-source software.
Like (1)
Version 3.1.4 :6ea6f87:
Robert-Poland
01 June 2016
Last week this would be a 5 star app. Now with the Next Unread broken AND NOT FIXED I'm looking for a new functional app. It's a shame that the gods choose to delete my comments instead of repairing the BUG.
Like
Version 3.1.4 :6ea6f87:
pacocap
30 May 2016
This rating only applies to Vienna3.1.4, which finally got it right. Previous versions: I've been using this app for a few years now and I have to say, up until this latest version, it has been the buggiest, most unresponsive app I have ever used. The only reason I stuck with it is that there is nothing else that even comes close to its (poorly implemented) functionality. That said, previous versions were impossible to navigate with just the keyboard because the app refreshed the display of every feed as you went up/down the list, even though the content itself was not refreshed. It took ages to get from one feed to a target feed so I was forced to use the track pad, something I try to avoid. Much to my disbelief, this behavior has been eliminated in the new version! Thank you! Another thing was the unresponsiveness in general. First it took many minutes for the app to start up and stabilize. Then manually refreshing all feeds took many more minutes. Next, I caught the app hogging 100% of one CPU while it idled, even though I had settings to manually refresh feeds! If it quit at all, using the normal Quit mechanism, it would take many more minutes to finally quit. Oftentimes I had to force quit it because it became unresponsive during the quit cycle! Another really annoying thing was that, if I left the app idle for any period of time, and then tried to go back to it, it was unresponsive and I had no choice but to force quit it. Force quitting an app is not something you want to do ever, but especially not on a regular basis. 3.1.4: I just started using 3.1.4. It started up very swiftly and refreshing all feeds was much faster. I can navigate the side panel with the up/down cursor keys very quickly, without any lag. I can quit the app instantly now and restart it instantly. It is using practically no CPU cycles during idle times. This is the first version that works as I always hoped it would work. That's great news to me. There are still some quirks with the UI that need to be changed, but that's another version…
Like
Version 3.1.4 :6ea6f87:
Big Map Idea
30 March 2016
Dear UI, get with the times.
Like (2)
Version 3.1.2 :86bfc3d:
Jlock
07 January 2016
I love this app and I use it everyday.
Like
Version 3.0.9 :22b3ce2:
1 answer(s)
Zx81
Zx81
25 May 2016
So, MU editors can write reviews and give 5 stars...
Could this raise an ethic question?
I guess the life expectancy of my comment is rather short.
Like
MichaelHaeusler
17 November 2015
New Vienna update crashes every couple of minutes, sometimes even right after launch. Same with the current beta. (10.11.1). Avoid!
Like
Version 3.0.9 :22b3ce2:
J-Marten
16 November 2015
Vienna is a awesome, reliable, old school and crap free RSS reader. Does one thing exceptionally well without the inconveniences caused by cloud services, user tracking, ads, DRM, forced updates and other benedictions of the modern app store economy. I wish there was more software like this.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.9 :22b3ce2:
Michael Haeusler
16 October 2015
Seriously the best RSS reader, even though shutting down takes forever, and it's a bit of a memory hog, which hopefully a future upgrade will address. Love the old-school GUI approach, like previously in NetNewsWire 3, which used to be my reader of choice. Not anymore since version 4. Why? I just skim over the headlines, just a couple of seconds max per feed, and if I find something interesting, I will read it. If I miss something, it doesn't matter. Apps like Reeder and NNW4 look neat, of course, but their GUI is obnoxious, not made for speed and power users with 300 feeds, just for shiny appeal. So I'll stick with Vienna, even though it's not perfect. What it needs: better memory management, new coding for snappier behavior (e.g. shutdown), per-feed preferences (refresh rate, keep old feed entries etc.). Just take a look at what you could do with your feeds in NNW3, apply that to Vienna, and I won't complain anymore. ;) One big issue, though: on older MacBookPro models Vienna will force the machine to switch to the discrete NVIDIA graphics card. That's a no-no, if users like me decide to use the integrated Intel graphics card, for reasons of battery-life, system stability etc. You can't manually switch to the integrated graphics card, if Vienna is already running. You need to quit Vienna, then switch from discrete to integrated, then launch Vienna again. Not cool.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.8 :074a131:
demyson-and
24 September 2015
My favorite RSS client. It's simple and shows all I want to see in a very organized way.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.8 :074a131:
Jazzyguy
09 February 2015
MacUpdate failed to put Vienna on my account.I clicked the window that says download without Desktop App. and nothing happened at all. I went to the web site and downloaded from the web site. The app is great as it usually is.
Like
Version 3.0.3 :dfab247:
Oak
22 January 2015
3.0.1 crashes on takeoff. First time I have ever had a problem with Vienna.
Like
Version 3.0.1 :0ed11f6:
Kotos0513
17 November 2014
Keeps re-downloading the same app over again on startup. Driving me crazy. A GOOD APP..
Like
Version 3.0.0 :306e70e:
Gary-box
15 November 2014
Best RRS client. Never fails to work. One thing that should be addressed is the old looking user interface. Not complaining though, it is free after all.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.0 :306e70e:
Jazzyguy
09 October 2014
I can't agree with Tryme more.This is a great app and it loads all of my RSS completely.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.0 RC 6 :52f5428:
1 answer(s)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
09 February 2015
That should be any more because this is a great app.
Like (1)
Tryme
26 August 2014
This has been my RSS app for some time, I do enjoy using it and I gladly recommend it. In general use, about the only negative I have to say is that switching between feeds can be quite cumbersome - especially with busy feeds, the delay can be quite frustrating. It is the same situation with refreshes, the app chokes and takes a bit before it resumes. These issues have been long standing niggles which I hope will be addressed one day - but they don't make the app unusable. I do however strongly advise against using Vienna with the Yosemite beta - it is an exercise in sheer frustration. The app constantly crashes and upon relaunch will often repeat processes it has already completed. I have fed back the issues through Apples feedback for 3rd party apps - but I don't expect anything to come of that. Better to wait until the dev certifies it for 10.10. As a side note - the RSS implementation in Yosemite is half baked rubbish, anyone hoping for a return to what we had in Snow Leopard will be disappointed. Like everything else about Mac OS as we move to parity with iOS, it has been dumbed down and made unusable. But this is not the place for that discussion.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.0 RC 5 :074fec8:
1 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
21 October 2014
That's odd, I didn't have any crashes in Yosemite. I was running the Vienna betas too.

I just got into RSS when Apple removed it from Safari. So I found Vienna. But I think Vienna is much better than how RSS was in Safari.

Yosemite and Vienna beat Snow Leopard hands down.
Like
Bytes
30 May 2014
I still thoroughly enjoy this program after many years. Multiple times a day I might start this up to see all the latest articles from websites I enjoy reading. It's a real time saver (or waster) depending on your point of view (currently have 58 feeds I check daily). I even customized one of the css style sheets to get the looks and my font preferences *just right* for my screen. My thanks go out to all the people that maintain this excellent freeware reader.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.0 RC 1 :6ccabc5:
1 answer(s)
Filp
Filp
19 June 2014
Agree completely. Also, a very mild tap across the head with a 2x4 for many who complain that a good — and free — app does not work absolutely the way they want it to. Or who fail to take time to understand that, in fact, it WILL do what they want, if they'll spend a minute or two considering it.
Like
iTonyD
19 January 2014
My everyday news reader despite the weird user interface.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.0 Beta 19 :40267c3:
MacUpdate-Lon
03 September 2013
I have to say it. This is a case of version numbering gone mad.
Like (3)
Version 3.0.0 Beta 16 :1888d7e:
Multimedia-Pimp
22 July 2013
Love this app! It has been my RSS reader for quite sometime now since adding the "View As Web Page" option. However, beta 12 & 13 have an annoying issue. I have my view layout set to "Condensed". In these last 2 betas the Headlines list for any particular feed is off. It's hard to explain but the headline for unread articles usually has a blue dot beside it, but the headline does no longer sit beside the blue dot, but rather above it slightly. So the top headline is halfway hidden by the top "Headlines" menubar. Have reverted back to Beta 11 for now. Will check back to see if Beta 14 will fix this issue. However, this program is solid and gets 5 stars.
Like (5)
Version 3.0.0 Beta 13 :20d15fc:
2 answer(s)
Multimedia-Pimp
Multimedia-Pimp
04 September 2013
What is called "Condensed" is now called "Vertical". Behaviour is still present in this beta. Have trashed preferences and installed fresh, no change. Seems to only do it in the vertical layout though.
Like
Multimedia-Pimp
Multimedia-Pimp
15 February 2014
This issue has been fixed with the release of Beta 20.
Like
Exceptional. Finally someone knows how to program for the real world instead of just the Apple world. Easy and fast maniplution and (re)organization via mouse and keyboard without memorization yet another endless set of shortcut keys, and yet the s.k.s are still there. Inline and tab based viewing, though I question how secure the internal browser really is. Even the betas have given me almost now problems at all. Keep at it! And I'll keep following!
Like (3)
Version 3.0.0 Beta 13 :20d15fc:
dizhiren
17 May 2013
I cannot display the RSS host site on the left-side menu. The application tells me I have a certain number of unread items, but I have no way to access to them. Since I recently got the app, is there something important I forgot to do? I have explored and tried all the scroll menus but nothing work. If someone can give me a hand on that, please. Thanks
Like (2)
Version 3.0.0 Beta 11 :9
4 answer(s)
Barijaona
Barijaona
13 July 2013
Try : - the Reindex database command (in Beta 12's Vienna menu) - if you access feeds through Google Reader/Open Reader, the "Force Refresh selected feeds..." command
Like (4)
anonymous-dingo-653
anonymous-dingo-653
21 July 2013
Don't down-rate an app until you have able to fulling test it. It is unnecessary in order to post a call for help. That is what "comments" vs. "reviews" are for.
Like (4)
Xenophile
Xenophile
22 June 2014
Let me be sure I have this right: You can't figure out how to use an app (despite all the other reviewers having no trouble understanding it), so you ask for help by nailing the developer with a half-star review? It's like walking up to a person in meatspace and saying "F-you! Now please tell me how to use this!" MacUpdate needs a way to scrub such asinine reviews. It's a disservices to MacUpdate users and to the hard working developers.
Like (1)
dizhiren
dizhiren
23 June 2014
Hey Xenophile, your are not behind my computer and you cannot tell me what I should write. I had this issue due to the app itself because when I upgraded the version, it suddently worked. In addition, there is no other way to post a comment if you don't rate the app. Now, I really use the app as I a great tool but it is impossible to change the rating, should I complain about how the website is done? no, of course. So fault is shared, I should say.
Like
antoniong
24 March 2013
The v2 was a great version but v3 has a different unproach to marking articles read which makes the usage unnatural. So for the time being I am sticking with v2.x
Like (1)
Version 3.0.0 Beta 11 :9
5 answer(s)
Barijaona
Barijaona
18 April 2013
Can you elaborate ? As far as I remember, nothing changed regarding this for the Report and Condensed layouts. The Unified layout was buggy in v2, and is still considered a work in progress.
Like (2)
Cgc
Cgc
13 July 2013
What is an "unproach".
Like
antoniong
antoniong
13 July 2013
@Barijona: It's not about layouts. It is the way keys work. With "space" the articles used to scroll until fully down then another "space" all articles in that group were marked as "read" and an automatic skip into the next group would result. Now one has to use an additional/special key to mark "read' which makes going through a large number of messages/groups a tedious process. @Cgc: Never heard op a typo?
Like
Barijaona
Barijaona
13 July 2013
@Antoniong : in v3, the space key works the way you described for the Horizontal (Report) and Vertical (Condensed) layout. I'll try to make Unified layout behave the same in the future. By the way, your opinion would be appreciated here : http://forums.cocoaforge.com/viewtopic.php?t=26269&p=137020
Like
antoniong
antoniong
13 July 2013
@barijaona: Thanks for the explanation. I did not not expect the different layouts to react different. I will checkout the UL you gave me.
Like (1)
Abuosman
15 March 2013
The unread count disappeared from the dock icon (despite being chosen in preferences) in beta 10. Or it's only my problem?
Like
Version 3.0.0 Beta 10 :d81b45f:
2 answer(s)
Theguy
Theguy
15 March 2013
Just you. Badge remained for me. It doesn't appear to hold the text size (when adjusted in the View menu) between 'reboots', but I'm not sure if that's a new issue. Also, it sends a notice to Notification Center when there are new articles downloaded, but no way to disable that. I might downgrade for that reason alone.
Like
sjk
sjk
17 March 2013
"Also, it sends a notice to Notification Center when there are new articles downloaded, but no way to disable that." Should be possible under Systems Preferences > Notifications, like with other apps.
Like (2)
Kotos0513
28 January 2013
Double clicking an article in the top RH window does absolute shit - nothing happens. Mac 10.8.2
Like
Version 3.0.0 Beta 9 :b47bfca:
1 answer(s)
Dirt-Farmer
Dirt-Farmer
29 January 2013
Ummm.... sure it does. It works here just fine! And it seems to work fine for all who subscribe to the vienna forums. Something must be wrong with your d/l (or 'puter). Trash the whole lot and try another d/l.
Like (1)
Madmacmad
01 January 2013
superb' RSS Reader!!! highly recommend RSS Reader!!!! same features as many commercial readers but free !!! thxx to the Dev's Respect Version 3 looks very Good!!! for me the best free RSS Reader.
Like (4)
Version 3.0.0 Beta 8 :aef2261:
silverhand31
30 December 2012
Love the unified layout. But I have many rss to read. about 1000 a day. So when I scroll too much rss. It cause huge ram problem. If it auto release ram after we minimize the app, it would be great
Like (1)
Version 3.0.0 Beta 7 :74
Jazzyguy
29 September 2012
The new Beta is EXCELLENT! It is so good I have made it my default RSS browser. It is once again on top in 10.8.1.
Like (4)
Version 3.0b.2819
Patoche
18 September 2012
After having problem of some freeze with Caffeinated, Mochaccino and NetNewsWire on Mountain Lion, I tried this beta of Vienna...and...cool no more freeze of the app. I have a LOT of RSS feeds. Vienna is quick and works very well...maybe a bit of an old school interface...but I like it...as it displays the news. Good work and free. Thanks
Like (1)
Version 3.0b.2819
S/ash
16 September 2012
I am using this since Apple announced Mountain Lion, which removed support for RSS in Mail and Safari. I was not a serious RSS guy then and had just 4-5 feeds in my list. But now I have dozens of RSS feeds and it is a delight to read them with Vienna. I was earlier using the latest builds from their Github page, but yes there were a few stability and other little issues with it. But I rolled back to their last stable version (v2.6.0.2601) and I am facing almost no issues with it, in Mountain Lion (10.8.1).
Like (1)
Version 3.0b.2819
Jazzyguy
16 September 2012
Usually good in other Mac Os like Snow Leopard but in Mountain Lion it is constantly trying to update Itried the beta and it is the same as the stabile version.
Like (1)
Version 3.0b.2819
Kotos0513
16 September 2012
Won't connect up with shit when double clicking an article. ML 10.8.1
Like
Version 3.0b.2819
Jolyjumper
15 September 2012
Rate a beta ? Ok. But it's a beta. I use Vienna since the end of Safari RSS. A good alternative. All my feeds are quickly imported from Safari. For me, this version works fine in 10.7.4 and 10.8.1.
Like
Version 3.0b.2819
Prlab
15 September 2012
HAve used this for years without problem. This latest version didn't load any of my feeds. Reverted to previous without problem.
Like (1)
Version 3.0b.2819
Aargl
06 August 2012
Not PPC any more!!!
Like
Version 2.6.0.2601
1 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
06 August 2012
Wow, how fast MU corrected it! ;-)
Like
ivanovitch
30 March 2012
Appears to be broken with the latest webkit: no view of articles makes the reader totally useless.
Like (1)
Version 2.6.0.2601
Mikaelf
19 December 2011
Nothing beats the Googler Reader & Feedly Combo.
Like (1)
Version 2.6.0.2601
1 answer(s)
Mikaelf
Mikaelf
19 December 2011
Google Reader....
Like
Chris-Walken
17 September 2011
Good app, but slow and occasionally unstable. I haven't found any alternatives that I prefer.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.1.2502