Back to Phoenix Slides page
Phoenix Slides free download for Mac

Phoenix Slides Reviews

1.4.4
13 December 2018

Image browsing/slideshow application.

lcymudion
15 April 2016

Most helpful

Developer here. DO NOT download the app from this page, MacUpdate has started bundling adware into a weird custom installer. Just download it directly from the official Phoenix Slides web page.
Like (3)
Version 1.4

Read 33 Phoenix Slides User Reviews

Rate this app:

Josh-C-
18 July 2018
Still works great even though it hasn't been updated lately.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.2
Tim27
21 January 2017
Is that screenshot from Mac OS 10.5?
Like
Version 1.4.2
1 answer(s)
lcymudion
lcymudion
27 October 2018
actually I think that's from MacOS 10.4, in 2005...
Like
Robio
01 December 2016
Near-perfect app. Intuitive, has quite a few features for its size, and gets the job done without bloat. I'm in Phoenix Slides 50 times for every one time I launch the native Photos. The only problem: In El Capitan, the preference to always launch showing the same folder isn't working. No matter what I do, upon launch I'm taken to the most recent folder I visited, not the folder I chose in Preferences.
Like
Version 1.4.2
Ugeorge
24 May 2016
This is by far the best image browser - slideshow viewer for mac, and it's free. I have used it for years, never found a better tool, even among commercial software. Thanks to the developer. for its continued effort.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.1
lcymudion
15 April 2016
Developer here. DO NOT download the app from this page, MacUpdate has started bundling adware into a weird custom installer. Just download it directly from the official Phoenix Slides web page.
Like (3)
Version 1.4
Dualist
17 March 2015
Finally a slide show player that actually does a great slide show without some gotcha. Works properly with multiple monitors in Yosemite. Loops the slide show properly AND loops GIFs for a designated period of time. I have tried MANY apps, even commercial ones that call themselves shareware, and none that I have found so far actually do a decent job of handling GIFs in a slide show. PHOENIX SLIDES does. And it's light weight and free. Interpolation of small images could possibly be improved, but I'm not complaining.
Like
Version 1.4
Ahawkes
10 December 2014
Phoenix Slides lets you create a full screen slide show on the app's current display while still using another display for active work. So I can write this review while a full screen slide show plays on another monitor. Phoenix Slides lets you drag and drop a folder onto the dock icon to set it up for a slide show. It does not, however, seem to be able to remember the delay you set for auto-advance.
Like
Version 1.4
1 answer(s)
lcymudion
lcymudion
28 June 2015
If you set the auto-advance time in the Preferences window it should stick...
Like
Marba
21 August 2014
I have used this for many years. Of all simple browsers, this is the best. It is very quick, very easy, very simple conceptually.The best feature is the hierarchical directory/folders display. Developer is also responsive. Wish that Apple will buy this and make it available to all. Thank you.
Like
Version 1.4
1 answer(s)
Zx81
Zx81
26 November 2014
"Wish that Apple will buy this"
NO, please, don't do it Apple...This is a good program that should be left alive.
Like (1)
Robio
11 January 2014
MU is out of date on this app. As of 2014-01-11 there's an update at http://blyt.net/phxslides/. I'm excited to see that too — I thought this was abandonware, and an update to my favorite photo viewer/navigator makes me sooo happy. Now that I know it's still alive, I'm off to make a donation.
Like
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
Robio
Robio
11 January 2014
Looks like I spoke too soon. A couple hours later, and MU has the update.
Like
Quantumpanda
12 February 2013
The download and developer site links are not working. Lookup for "blyt.net" on my local DNS server returns no records. Cache lookup at OpenDNS returns 72.52.194.210, but reverse lookup on that IP address returns "titanium.tritoncore.com". Google's last cache of blyt.net was Feb 2, 2013. I was able to find an active download link for the current version (1.2.8) at http://mac.softpedia.com/progDownload/Phoenix-Slides-Download-8284.html. Choose the "Softpedia Secure Download" link, as the regular link tries to get it from blyt.net. I hope that this is a temporary outage and not a permanent disappearance, since this last version was released only four months ago. The developer had said that they were halting development, but their comment on this page implies that they were not planning to leave this program to become abandonware.
Like
Version 1.2.8
ac-doctor
27 October 2012
I have been a longtime mac for more than three years, and it makes me sad that i did not discover this AMAZING LIFE CHANGING software earlier. I am doctor and i study and review my study material with the help of images and slides. I used to use picasa syncing, web syncing so much more just for the use of using the slideshow function. In one masterstroke Pheonix Slides has won over all of them. I was most amazed when i saw that you can use slideshow even with the accuracy of decimal points. Thank you so much, my friend, for helping me with such a wonderful software. It has changed my life and my studies. Excellent!
Like
Version 1.2.8
Dr-Girlfriend
15 October 2012
Sad news: apparently this will be the last version of Phoenix Slides. From the developer's website: "What happened to the "donations" button? I am grateful to everyone who has contributed over the years: localizers, icon designers, bug reporters, and all those who made donations. Unfortunately, circumstances prevent me from actively continuing development of Phoenix Slides in the foreseeable future, and I think it is appropriate to retire the donation button. If you like Phoenix Slides, and you appreciate the fact this incredible piece of software is available to you for free (I am being very modest here, of course), I encourage you to pay-it-forward, as appropriate to your means and your talents. You are still welcome to contact me for whatever reason, of course." Thanks for all your hard work over the years, Dominic. Best wishes to you.
Like
Version 1.2.8
2 answer(s)
lcymudion
lcymudion
16 October 2012
Thanks for the well wishes! Basically I just got a "real" job, and though I would like to continue updating Phoenix Slides (and I will try to arrange it such that I can!) I don't like to make promises I can't keep. At any rate soliciting donations will probably be seen as some sort of conflict of interest anyway, so it was time for that button to go...
Like
Dr-Girlfriend
Dr-Girlfriend
26 October 2012
This is exactly why I feel it is so important for regular users to chip in -- no matter how small or large the amount -- to developers who provide a really good product. We all take advantage of "free" software, but please remember that there's a real person (or persons) on the other end who have bills to pay just like we do. Just because something is labelled "freeware", that doesn't mean you should keep using it forever without showing your appreciation for a truly killer app that makes your life easier. Donate whatever you can, when you can, so that awesome developers like Dominic can make developing killer apps their "real job". I can easily skip going out to eat every once in a while to show my appreciation for some of the excellent freeware developers who make my workday so much easier. I hope you can too. Peace!
Like
Jazzyguy
28 July 2012
Very fast and very useful browser.
Like
Version 1.2.7
friautz
24 July 2011
Agree with many here, still the best! Even fast when i browse through 100s of pictures.
Like
Version 1.2.6
yaniyani2011
04 April 2011
Phoenix is the fastest image viewer around. Not even the best free image viewer, but the fastest image viewer overall. And believe me, I've tried them all! Bridge, Lightroom, Aperture, Bibble Pro, Photo Mechanic. Most of the free one. Phoenix is defenitely a classic, that I keep coming back to. If you like the clear and fast working of Phoenix, you'll love Easyfind. The fastest file browser on the Mac. It's free and finds more files than Spotlight. Also works on a powerPC.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.6
guran
20 February 2011
It's the only photo viewer for mac that has the ability to easily brovse through directories and preview the images. It's the best I've used.
Like
Version 1.2.6
Dedwarmo
26 September 2009
This program is only 824 kb! I love compact programs. But when Phoenix Slides scales up small images during the slideshow the scaling is low quality. There is no smoothing to the scaling so you see aliasing. Lacks some features that more expensive slideshow programs have, but otherwise works well.
Like
Version 1.2.6
Elmarco
19 September 2009
Simple and efficient as said below. Works very well. Lacks : sub-folders settings, an option for file info not showing, and a simple transition effect.
Like
Version 1.2.6
Ang
31 August 2009
Good bye Iphoto ! This software ROCKS ! Absolutely perfect.
Like
Version 1.2.6
Magosilvan
24 March 2009
Still the fastest, the simpler yet powerful: the best!
Like
Version 1.2.5
Roro01
20 October 2007
THE BEST ONE Very fast, efficient & useful.
Like
Version 1.2.4
Onlyone-Jc
02 August 2007
Absolutely fantastic image browser. It's fast, and hasn't crashed once (10.4.10)! My only suggestion is for larger thumbnail support, of sizes up to the actual size of the images being browsed. It would be great to be able to use the thumbnail size slider to fully preview an image, or series of images, without actually opening it/them in Preview. Keep up the good work! You've done a great job! Thanks!
Like
Version 1.2.4
Jstrait
17 May 2007
Can't beat the price. Good well written app. Missing basic transition options though. Just a simple 'cross-fade' would be nice.
Like
Version 1.2.4
Planet
22 March 2007
Phoenix Slides is amazing fast, the handling by shortcuts is very Mac-like and ergonomic. It offers lossless JPEG rotation, excellent slide shows even with exif-tags - and no annoying, growing cache like iPhoto- in short: The best image viewer for the Mac around. Dot.
Like
Version 1.2.2
Nadamac
15 December 2006
I've used them all but Phoenix Slides is probably (one of) the best free image viewers. Thanx a lot!
Like
Version 1.2.2
Sjj-public
28 November 2006
Phoenix Slides is fast and fantastic, but it is a tad complex for basic users. I wish it had a toolbar for slideshow navigation and zooming, rather than depending on keyboard commands (of course, keeping the keyboard commands too) and I'd like to see an option for it to automatically jump in the browser to a loaded CD when a CD is loaded, preferably seeking out the first folder on it with photos in it. That would be uber great. Also I'd like see it change the default behavior to be to *not* show the EXIF info Window. For my Mom and Sister, that's information they don't need and that just makes the program seem more complicated. Still, this is a fantastic program as-is and the price is definitely right. Much better than using Preview, especially when viewing pictures on a CD!
Like
Version 1.2.2
Kevin-Mckenna
26 October 2006
Everyone is saying it, but I'll say it too: this thing is fast. Amazingly fast. Need a quick look into your iPhoto library? This is the way to go. The browser's mix of column view and icon view is just perfect. In less than 20 seconds I found photos I'd forgotten about from months ago. Free? You're kidding me! Definitely a must-have app for anyone's Mac.
Like
Version 1.2.2
Ironman
07 September 2006
UPDATE !! some weird bug with my Intel Mac: in fullscreen mode, it freezes and there is no way to force-quit. So I am making a 2nd review to lower my previous rating.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Ironman
06 August 2006
I was looking for a shareware slideshow app then I reached this page by chance. It does exactly what I need. Excellent, for a freeware picture-oriented app. Many paying softs in this genre are not so good.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Castle
06 June 2006
Best and fastest image viewer for OSX. My only gripe with it is that you can't do an automated slideshow, and can't set how long each slide should play for. I can get it to do that, anyway :P
Like
Version 1.2.1
1 answer(s)
Castle
Castle
09 September 2006
Turns out you can make it show slides with a 1 to 9 second interval by pressing the number keys!
Like
Version 1.2.1
Jojoman
06 January 2006
Will, nothing is perfect.... This app uses quite a bit of memory, maybe that is why it is fast. I used app called MemoryStick to show my current memory status, and while using PS it is consuming every possible memory on my system. For me this is ok, because when I browse photo, I like to see it quickly.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Jojoman
06 January 2006
The fastest image viewer on Mac. Compared to FFView, Comicbooklover, Preview, JView. This is perfect for people who keeps pictures in simple directory structure and want to move within a large set of photo quickly. If PS provide the feature to show only one thumbnail instead of the whole directory, it will be even faster. Speed of displaying photos on my USB connected HD is just as fast as the ACDSee version on my PC. Good Work
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
18 September 2005
This thing is fast, I am quite impressed with it, tried most of the image browsers (xsee, ImageBrowser, imagebrowser, cocoviewx) and this one just impressed me on speed, it loads the thumbnails fast for imaging, you can change the thumbnail size, get exif data. But it was the speed that did for me, quick and responsive to view many directories for that one picture.
Like
Version 1.2