Back to NightShift page
NightShift free download for Mac

NightShift Reviews

1.6
30 June 2007

Auto-download Safari WebKit engine updates.

Anonymous
03 July 2005

Most helpful

Seems to work fine. Much easier and faster than downloading source via CVS and building it locally. The nightly builds of WebKit don't seem to render the Acid2 test perfectly (compared to the reference) but they do get it much better than the OEM WebKit v412. I assume other websites are rendered more accurately as well.
Like
Version 1.0

Read 17 NightShift User Reviews

Rate this app:

Desterwallaboo
31 August 2009
There is a an issue with 10.6 Snow Leopard and NightShift.... it will download Webkit builds fine, but it is unable to overwrite the old version of Webkit. It keeps getting Applescript errors.
Like
Version 1.6
Thajeztah
04 February 2009
Now that recent webkit builds have an update-feature built-in, I will no longer be using Nightshift. However, having used this program for the last couple of years I decided to post a 5 star rating to thank the developer of this small, handy application. Much appreciated!
Like
Version 1.6
Brentrn
22 April 2008
The Webkit URL preference within NightShift needs to be changed to: http://nightly.webkit.org/builds/latest/mac It works great after making this change
Like
Version 1.6
Satcomer
18 March 2008
Application works great at getting the latest WebKit.
Like
Version 1.6
Lactoso
12 June 2007
Anyone know where I can get a copy of this? The developer's website has exceeded their alloted bandwidth. :-(
Like
Version 1.5
Koodough
08 January 2007
Umm? Is NightShift not suppose to have any windows at all. On start up the application doesn't do anything. I don't get a window and the read me from the help menu won't work. I download another NightShift 1.5 and I still get the same results. I'm running a Powerbook Ti 1 Ghz OS X 10.4.8 I went though the read me that was with the app and I still can't get the window I see from the screenshots. NOTE: I can get the window File>About NightShift to work.
Like
Version 1.5
Anonymous
01 November 2005
Installed and works without a problem even though it's stated that it requires OS 10.4 or greater and my OS is 10.3.9
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
17 October 2005
Tried to run 1.2.1, but it stalled on the last step (installing the nightly build) with an applescript error "Volumes://.app not found." Located a copy of 1.2.0 on the dev's website, and it seems to run fine. I'll stick with that till the problem's resolved. I'm using latest everything (OS, equipment, etc). As for the product itself, I can't really tell that much difference from the stock Safari but the pages do seem to load a bit speedier, which is nice. For those who don't mind being on the bleeding edge (and taking a chance that a bad nightly could cause browsing issues), this is really quite handy.
Like
Version 1.2.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 October 2005
This error pops up if the text fields for disk and application names in the preferences panel are empty. Click on Get URL and select the WebKit version you want. This will also fill in the proper disk and app names.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
17 October 2005
webkit won't launch for me. it bounces in the dock and never gets launched. Anybody know why???
Like
Version 1.2.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 October 2005
I've had the same problem for a while now - I have some 'extras' on my Safari like Saft and SafariStand which *may* be the problem, if WebKit is trying to load them - haven't disabed them to test that theory yet though. Please post if you figure something out on your end.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
04 September 2005
So far, so good. These nightly builds actually render pages better and seem to make Safari run better. Kudos to the Nightshift team.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
03 September 2005
er...what changes does this make then? i mean, does it alter safari or will i only see changes if i use the webkit browser as that just seems to crash when opened. and are widgets affected?
Like
Version 1.1
4 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 September 2005
The answers to your questions are in the ReadMe. In a nutshell, your Safari application remains completely untouched. When you launch WebKit, you are actually just launching a little script that tells your original Safari to use the new WebKit rendering engine rather than the default one that is located in your system frameworks.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 September 2005
i read the readme a few times over but i must have missed something. if i launch webkit it bounces for a bit then dissapears without the arrow in the dock being shown. then it tells me that safari has crashed. is this normal behaviour? thanks for the help
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 September 2005
No, that is not normal. It indicates that you might have a conflict with either some of the Safari add-ons (maybe saft or PithHelmet, etc.) or a conflict with Unsanity haxies...
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
06 September 2005
yeah that could be it. im running saft at the moment with the windowshade, slider and fruitmenu haxies. shame they all can't be used at the same time :(
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
30 July 2005
Whenever NightShift downloads a new version of WebKit.app the icon is missing (it's the default app icon)! I have to get info on the app, click the icon and then cut, past and cut again to get the proper gold rimmed icon. Weird.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
15 July 2005
no funktion. if I start Nightshift, nothing happens. I can see the Icon of the application also I can see the menu, but they don't have any funktion. I can't change the settings because the settings window is invisible. what's wrong? do somebody have any idea???
Like
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
16 July 2005
This sounds very much like the dreaded Quark Express Scripting Additions problem. Remove that scripting addition and you should see the window again.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
12 July 2005
Quality Software. Thank you.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
07 July 2005
I don't know if this is a feature or a bug. When you set the WebKit application as your default web browser, whenever you click on a link in another program, new icon of WebKit is shown in the Dock, even though there is one copy running... If this has some special reason, please, tell me. Thanks
Like
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
07 July 2005
I had that as well. Solution was simple. Just keep Safari as your browser of choice. Then open a file in WebKit. All html-requests will be routed to the opened WebKit now.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
04 July 2005
works nice, makes a file called webkit.app in your applications folder and it uses the new webkit. renders acid 2 test fine.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
03 July 2005
Seems to work fine. Much easier and faster than downloading source via CVS and building it locally. The nightly builds of WebKit don't seem to render the Acid2 test perfectly (compared to the reference) but they do get it much better than the OEM WebKit v412. I assume other websites are rendered more accurately as well.
Like
Version 1.0