Back to Luxor page
Luxor free download for Mac

Luxor Reviews

1.0.5.35
10 February 2011

Addictive puzzle game.

Anonymous
21 June 2005

Most helpful

Uh...how about a DMG that's in OSX format?
Like
Version 1.0.5.35

Read 11 Luxor User Reviews

Rate this app:

Adamvangaalen
20 December 2006
If you want proof that 'it can be done', then leave your email-address and I will email you some screendumps of level 13-10 up to the end of the game.
Like
Version 1.0.5.35
Anonymous
03 November 2005
Love this game! I have made it through all 88 levels twice, where's Luxor II! A level editor would be nice, like some of the breakout games have. Also I would like to save multiple current games, so you don't drop back a whole level. Tips: 1. Ctrl-click (or right-click on a two-button mouse) to switch balls. You can also throw balls away to force new colors (sometimes). 2. Use spacebar to pause and get a good look at your options. 3. Catch those power eggs, some levels can't be won without them. 4. On some levels, it is more important to make pairs early in the game then clearing balls.
Like
Version 1.0.5.35
1 answer(s)
Determined
Determined
05 December 2005
Yes Luxor is a very difficult and adicting game. It can be beat however and does have its secrets in doing so. The key to the more difficult levels is not missing a match and catching all the power spheres, think carefully turn down the volume perhaps so the music doesnt cause panic when you are near the underground tunnel.. levels like 9-4 and 11-4 proved to be the worst. you must keep trying because the order of balls is different every time and you will eventually get the right ones for you to play correctly. Reverse eggs must be caught and color eggs must be caught. sloppy and careless play will yeild no results of victory. It is possible..
Like
Version 1.0.5.35
Anonymous
24 October 2005
I think that the developers have played a dirty trick on people who purchase this game by making it impossible to advance to higher stages. Reviewers who say this game is too difficult are right on! I and some friends have played this game a lot and we, too, agree. It would be a fine game if would only allow players more of a chance to succeed in advancing to higher stages. I hope the developers take heed and make appropriate modifications to Luxor. As it stands now, you will feel before long that you are Sysyphus vainly attempting to roll the rock to the top of the hill over and over again throughout eternity (remember that classical Greek myth?). I, too, would like some proof that players of Luxor have been able to even come close to mastering this game. I'll only believe it when I see it done!
Like
Version 1.0.5.35
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 November 2005
Huh? Too hard? You've got to be kidding. Both myself and my wife have completed all levels serveral times. Where's Luxor 2!
Like
Version 1.0.5.35
Anonymous
Anonymous
12 November 2005
I routinely get to level 12-6 but lose there almost everytime. I have been to 12-7 three times. Once within a dozen balls of beating it. One must master right clicking to change colored balls quickly. At first I paid so much attention to the front of the line close to the pyrimid that I was playing many levels right there in desperation. I have found for me that when the going gets tough, instead of focusing in the front of the line, I look back constantly to see if I can cause the line to retreat from there. Also, catching the falling eggs are more important at that hectic moment than catching coins. I'd like to hear more from others about tip and techniques.
Like
Version 1.0.5.35
Anonymous
10 October 2005
This game IS too difficult. The previous reviewer is right, one has to play the same games over and over and over again, repeatedly going back to the beginning of a stage. I, and several friends, have played this game a lot and we all concur on this. I say, anyone who claims to have made it through all 88 levels, or even come close to doing so is a liar! You'd have to prove to me that it can be done!
Like
Version 1.0.5.35
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 November 2005
I'll send you a screenshot next time I do it. I'm on the final phase righ now for the third time. Geez I can't believe you think this game is that hard. Hit the spacebar and pause the game, look over your options then restart. And catch the eggs, that's the key.
Like
Version 1.0.5.35
Janen
Janen
11 October 2009
I totally agree. A game should be entertaining. I have been on level 8-4 for weeks. I beat it once only to lose on 8-6 which sends me back to 8-1. I find that if it is this difficult, then the enjoyment is almost gone for me. I am going to stop playing it and I am sorry I bought it. I have been playing snood for a very long time. It has difficulty levels and it is fun. This is not fun .. I think the makers of this game should modify it. If you beat a level you should not have to replay it. And if you lose you should not have to go back. many levels. Its just too hard. NO FUN!!!
Like
Version 1.0.5.35
Anonymous
02 October 2005
It's a fun game, up to a point, but extremely frustrating. If you like to have a game repeatedly spit in your face and kick you in the gonads, this one's for you! There are many stages, each stage made up of a number of levels. Many of the of the levels are so difficult, if not impossible, to win that you may well be playing the same one over and over and over again, possibly a hundred or more times. There's no provision made for replaying a particular level for as many times at it takes to beat it. After failing 2 to 4 times, you are returned to the beginning of a stage, and then have to replay the levels over again. I think the developers have made the game much too difficult to beat. A good game should be challenging, yes, but not so difficult to win that the fun of playing it is eventually lost. I did purchase Luxor, but now have mixed feelings about doing so. This is a game, I think, best left to masochists. It was obviously created by sadists, or at least by developers with a sick sense of humor.
Like
Version 1.0.5.35
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
02 October 2005
If the game had different levels of difficulty to choose from, all would be be fine. But, as of now, it's just too too friggin' difficult,
Like
Version 1.0.5.35
Anonymous
30 August 2005
Okay. Is my face red. There ARE 88 levels and they are grouped in 13 sections. Shortly after writing my previous comments, I made it through the 88th level. This is a fun game. I highly recommend it.
Like
Version 1.0.5.35
1 answer(s)
Janen
Janen
11 October 2009
Whats the trick to 8-4?
Like
Version 1.0.5.35
Anonymous
24 August 2005
"Left click" to switch orbs? This is a Mac port, there is no such thing as "left click," even on Kensignton product- we need a key equivalent.
Like
Version 1.0.5.35
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 November 2005
Ctrl-Click or get a two-button mouse, it works. Great game on a joystick too.
Like
Version 1.0.5.35
Anonymous
23 August 2005
Well, I've spent more time with this game than I should have. You know how it is. You get a game you like and hours evaporate too quickly. I like this game. Looks great sfx are great. Interface is good. Here's the rub. MacWorld says there are 88 levels. I wonder about that. After so many hours of trying to get through level 13, I doubt very much that there are more than 13 levels. The game is set to beat the player EVERY time. You can't succeed through level 13. Level 13-1 will take many attempts before it finally will allow you to go to the next level. You might make it to 13-10 but forget about making it through here. I don't know why developers create games like this. It's as though the game "calls home" if someone passes a certain level and the developer has to refund some of his paycheck. Challenging...yes. Impossible...boring. Why not make a screen saver of the game continually failing to make it through a level and save us the trouble of countless mouse clicks.
Like
Version 1.0.5.35
Anonymous
04 August 2005
This is an incredibly addictive game. Help!
Like
Version 1.0.5.35
Anonymous
23 June 2005
What do you mean? The download is a dmg. This is a great game. Very addictive. Works smooth also on older machines, like my G3 700mhz. Beautiful graphics, good soundeffects. I like it a lot.
Like
Version 1.0.5.35
1 answer(s)
Drtyrell969
Drtyrell969
25 June 2005
My download is a dmg.exe and won't expland.
Like
Version 1.0.5.35
Anonymous
21 June 2005
Uh...how about a DMG that's in OSX format?
Like
Version 1.0.5.35
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
09 July 2005
As far as I know, dmg's only work with OS X.
Like
Version 1.0.5.35