Back to Hugin page
Hugin free download for Mac

Hugin Reviews

2019.2.0
30 December 2019

Panorama image tools.

RogerKatz
07 April 2019

Most helpful

Latest version on the developer's site is Hugin 2019.0.0 released! 2019-04-06
Like (2)
Version 2018.0.0

Read 34 Hugin User Reviews

Rate this app:

RogerKatz
07 April 2019
Latest version on the developer's site is Hugin 2019.0.0 released! 2019-04-06
Like (2)
Version 2018.0.0
droscar
23 March 2018
Latest version on developer's site is 2018.0.0.
Like (2)
Version 2014.0.0
RogerKatz
20 January 2018
MacUpdate hasn't updated the version in a long, long, time. The current version is 2017.0.0. There have also been updates in 2015 and 2016 that MacUpdate has apparently missed, The developers site gives the following:
"2017.0.0 released July 2017
2016.2.0 released September 2016
2016.0.0 released March 2016
2015.0.0 released August 2015"
Like (2)
Version 2014.0.0
Beamy
11 August 2017
Newest version (Hugin 2017) can be found on the project website: https://sourceforge.net/projects/hugin :)
Like (1)
Version 2014.0.0
2 answer(s)
shanna-bell
shanna-bell
26 October 2017
is that a real website i don't want to get a virus
Like
Beamy
Beamy
29 November 2017
Reply to shanna-bell:
Yes that is a real website, but even from a real website you can get a malware or virus (e.g. malware injected into ads or hacked servers which spread tampered software, that happened to Transmission).

If you want to find out, if "sourceforge.net" is a real website, then you can go to "wikipedia.org" and search for "sourceforge.net" and read about it there. Then you may search on "sourceforge.net" for "hugin", one of the results is for the panorama tool. That way you dont have to use the direct link, but you can still find "Hugin".
.
Like (1)
weldonbag
04 August 2016
I like open source software. Hugin is a good app to create your own photo collages. The usage is pretty easy and advanced features are just great. Like it.
Like
Version 2014.0.0
albertop9
19 April 2016
▲ Hugin 2016.0.0 released! 2016-03-20 ▲ http://hugin.sourceforge.net
Like
Version 2014.0.0
2 answer(s)
luis-7
luis-7
03 May 2016
At sourceforge, they offer a 2014 binary (or I cant find the '16 mac binary). I want the 2016 version but would rather not have to compile it.
Like
Arvidtp
Arvidtp
28 August 2016
There's now a Mac release candidate for 2016.2 here: https://sourceforge.net/projects/hugin/files/hugin/hugin-2016.2/
Download the file Hugin-2016.2.0-rc1-r1.dmg
seems to work for me so far!
Like (2)
Paul Dorman
07 September 2015
This is great software, and free! I used Hugin previously several years ago, and that wasn't very simple, but at least as of the 2014 release, it's very straightforward: Press button 1 to load your pictures, press button 2 to have Hugin automatically detect how they overlap, and press button 3 to have it export the resulting panorama. I got a few warning messages, but just pressed cancel to ignore them and it worked perfectly.
Like (1)
Version 2014.0.0
RogerKatz
12 October 2014
Hugin 2014 has been released
Like
Version 2013.0.0
Radiorhaeem
14 September 2012
You can download a new beta that works with 10.7 and 10.8 at http://panorama.dyndns.org/download.php?id=477 (hugin-mac-2012.0.0_beta1) Works great!
Like
Version 2011.2.0
Phoney-Baloney
30 June 2012
I realize that this is open source software, but I have to be honest. This is the kind of app that makes you work for the software instead of the other way around. I was unable to get this to work properly at all, and there are a number of alternatives that do not cost a great deal of money.
Like (2)
Version 2011.2.0
3 answer(s)
anonymous-dingo-653
anonymous-dingo-653
15 September 2012
Agreed. Nice idea. Admirable especially as open source. But I'll stick with Moom for a paltry $10, which for some reason isn't popping up on searches around here. http://manytricks.com/moom/
Like (1)
Stormchild
Stormchild
05 January 2013
JCH2: What does Moom have to do with panorama photo stitching software? Perhaps you posted your comment on the wrong page?
Like (2)
anonymous-dingo-653
anonymous-dingo-653
06 January 2013
Stormchild: OOPS! You're probably right.
Like
Cowicide
25 October 2011
Why does Hugin use a package installer? I'd much rather just drag and drop the app(s) into my Applications folder.
Like
Version 2011.2.0
Roro01
15 January 2011
Doesn't stitch - error message during stitching. OS 10.6.6
Like
Version 2010.4.0
Stormchild
08 December 2010
Just ran into a weird issue with Hugin 2010.2. It turns out if you're loading images that have a single quote anywhere in their path, control point detection will always fail, no matter which detector or what settings. Something is not being escaped properly. E.g., if you're loading images stored in: /Users/you/Desktop/Friend's Birthday/… When you click (Align), you'll get errors in the little console window that pops up while control point detection is happening. Unhelpfully, this window appears and disappears so quickly, you can't even read the details. It would be nice if those errors could be written to a log file or something. Very frustrating having the console window immediately vanish when you're trying to see WHAT the damn problem is. Anyway, just make sure you don't have any single quotes in the path of any images you're loading.
Like
Version 2010.2.0
Stormchild
08 December 2010
To repeat some good advice given in the release notes, if you've upgraded from a previous version of Hugin and anything isn't working, try clicking the (Load Defaults) button in the preferences window. This resets all settings to the defaults *for the current version*.
Like (1)
Version 2010.2.0
1 answer(s)
Stormchild
Stormchild
08 December 2010
I've also just confirmed: the (Load Defaults) button only resets the settings of the current tab. You have to switch to each tab and click the button to reset that group of settings. The most important one you're likely to trip up on is the Control Point Detectors settings. If you run into errors when attempting to align some images, try resetting those settings in particular.
Like (1)
Thanar
14 March 2010
A few things before you give up on this application, as I almost did: This is work in project. That said, you shouldn't expect everything to work as it should. There is a learning curve for this app, but once you've mastered even a small (say, around 25%) percentage of the app, then you'll come to realize that this is a professional project after all. A couple of things to get you started: You'll have to download a couple of external libraries to make control point detection work, read the manual for more information on the matter. Even mid-way on the process of stitching, you'll have to make sure all control points are detected correctly, even manually add a few on your own; I had a couple of control points that were detected wrongly in the first place and I was wondering what was wrong for a couple of hours... Although Hugin gets the work done, it still needs to be greatly updated. The workflow is a bit strange, especially when the images are difficult for the CP detectors and you have to do manual corrections.
Like (1)
Version 2009.4.0
1 answer(s)
Thanar
Thanar
14 March 2010
ahem... "work in progress" is what I meant to write...
Like
Version 2009.4.0
Roro01
20 February 2010
MANY, MANY THANKS!!! ... for all the improvements. This is a perfect panorama stitcher which does the job quickly and efficiently.
Like
Version 2009.4.0
Stormchild
29 December 2009
The last two public versions of Hugin I've tried (2009.2 and 2009.4) are broken and completely unusable. They both crash immediately after clicking "Align Images" (the 2nd step after loading images), 100% of the time. Still sticking with Hugin 0.8.0, the last working version. If anyone has managed to get the newer versions to work at all, please share what you did to get it working.
Like
Version 2009.4.0
1 answer(s)
Stormchild
Stormchild
31 December 2009
For anyone else having the same problem, a bug has been filed for this problem on the official bug tracker at SourceForge. No resolution yet, but you can get email notifications when new comments are posted if you monitor the bug. https://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=detail&aid=2922846&group_id=77506&atid=550441
Like
Version 2009.4.0
Roro01
26 July 2009
PTBatcherGUI How can run the batch processor from Hugin?
Like
Version 0.8
Roro01
18 July 2009
I'm so disappointed. This version is not compiled.
Like (1)
Version 0.8
2 answer(s)
Stormchild
Stormchild
25 July 2009
Yeah, the standalone build option was not yet working; it's been fixed, and now the download link leads to a precompiled binary.
Like
Version 0.8
Roro01
Roro01
26 July 2009
Many thanks for letting me know and even more thanks to the developer for precompiling it.
Like
Version 0.8
Stormchild
08 July 2009
Takes a bit of time to figure it out, but once you've got it down, Hugin is a powerful front-end for some of the best image alignment/blending tools around. There are much easier and quicker ways to stitch or blend photos, but the results are usually not as good. For the most part, you can let Hugin figure things out for you. I usually check all the control points between each pair of images, and add a few more if there are any large overlapping sections of image that don't have any (as these areas will tend to have alignment problems). A tripod is ideal, but not necessary, and whatever you do, don't use a *cheap* tripod. Having owned a couple cheap ones myself, I find they don't sit perfectly level, so you end up with an arc after the images are are all blended, and then you have to crop a lot of it out (or distort the image -- usually not desirable). Use exposure lock if your camera has it. Hugin can blend different exposures (and does a pretty good job of it, usually), but it's better if it doesn't need to. I just did this panorama with Hugin this morning: http://www.flickr.com/photos/stormchild/3697663473/
Like
Version 0.8rc5
Roro01
07 December 2008
To view panoramic pictures created using Hugin go to: http://s74.photobucket.com/albums/i264/roroefesachad/Panoramic%20Pictures/
Like
Version 0.7
Roro01
09 October 2008
Many, Many Thanks!!! I'm very grateful to the developers of this wonderful application. It is a must have if you like traveling and have a digital camera. Also, many thanks for creating a perfect Help documentation.
Like (2)
Version 0.7
Isgoed
15 September 2008
Typical OpenSource: 0.7b1. Too confusing and not maclike at all. Crashes when aligning or runs forever
Like (1)
Version 0.7RC6
Threedee912
07 September 2008
This software makes great panoramas, but it's a bit confusing to setup use, even with the new "Panorama Helper" thing, and the UI is also a bit confusing. The price can't be beat, however.
Like
Version 0.7RC5+
Roro01
15 July 2008
Panorama preview window - Version: 0.6.1 The buttons "show all images", "show none of the images" and the numbered buttons are not working. iMac Intel 10.4.11
Like
Version 0.7b4
1 answer(s)
Roro01
Roro01
07 September 2008
Sorry, they work if the button "Auto update" is on.
Like
Version 0.7RC5+
New-User
02 June 2008
The Download links to the 0.7b4 source code, you will need the Apple developer tools to compile it. The last MacOS X binary (ie, built application) was version 0.7b1, you can download it at http://downloads.sourceforge.net/hugin/HuginOSX-v07b1.zip
Like
Version 0.7b4
Draw
22 December 2007
Something for freaky software developers. I found not one application to start in the all the files. That is windows like....
Like (1)
Version 0.7b4
Roro01
08 January 2007
A VERY USEFUL APPLICATION BUT CAN'T CALL AUTOPANO-SIFT. I have installed mono framework and autopano-sift onto my Intel iMac (running OS 10.4.8) and HuginOSX works perfectly. I have chosen "use alternative autopano-sift programme" from the preferences of Hugin OSX and directed it to autopano-sift-2.4/bin/autopano-complete.sh. When I click on "create ctrl points" in Hugin I get a panel headed "running autopano" which says "please wait while autopano searches control points ..." After a short while I then get an error message headed "autopano failure -Could not open autopano_results_tempfile.pto for reading. This is an indicator that the autopano call failed, or wrong command line parameter have been used." I ran the script autopano-complete.sh independently via ScriptGUI and it returned the result: fork: Resource temporarily unavailable csh: No more processes. I have been trying this for the last month to no avail and have emailed the autopano-sift developer but haven't received a reply.
Like
Version 0.7b1
Threedee912
22 August 2006
This app is great for making beautiful panoramic images, but is klunky and confusing at times, and seems to crash alot (for me, anyway).
Like
Version 0.6.1
Brettd
22 August 2006
Universal Binary in all its glory- bravo! In a few hours use on one panorama, it has yet to crash on a MBP. It looks like all the kinks in the old unoffical 0.5 binary build are gone. Many thanks to those who made the UB possible- hopefully the build dependencies have been straightened out as well so that the average unix sysadmin can compile it!
Like
Version 0.6.1
Brettd
26 July 2006
Given that intel macs have been out for over 6 months, and the heavy CPU requirements of processing large panoramas...it'd be really nice if Hugin developers produced an intel-native build and made it available for download. It's clear it is possible- numerous people on the mailing list have done so. I've tried, but the documentation on how to do so is an utter mess of out-of-date kludgery.
Like
Version 0.6
Panoplanet
19 June 2006
Altough the automatic control point generation still doesn't work and some bugs still are existing, Hugin 0.5 is my one and only reason to start this bloated, moronic MAC OS 10.39. If you need automatic control point generation search the web for Sift-Helper. (At macupdate you wont find it) Drag the folder with your images that you want to stitch onto Sift-Helpers window and it generates a shell script. (.sh) Then you drag the images on an terminal window hit enter, drag the shell script on the same window, hit enter again. If Mono framework is present, after a while a a hugin project file with the corresponding points is generated. Start Hugin, load the images and save the project as a second project file. Quit Hugin. Open both project files in an text editor like BBEdit lite and copy the part with the control points in the project file Hugin saved. Save. Now you can open the file in Hugin and have your control points. Sounds complicated but works. I hope I have not betrayed one of the best kepts secrets of Hugin.
Like
Version 0.5
1 answer(s)
Gex
Gex
26 July 2006
Since when does your opinion of the OS have anything to do with reviewing this piece of software? What are you are reviewing? Hugin or OS X? Not helpful.
Like
Version 0.6
Draw
26 February 2006
Have a look at Calico. Its most easy to use...
Like
Version 0.5
Mark-Lohrey
31 December 2005
I really respect the people that gang together and make this kind of open source software so the masses get the benefits. As with previous release of HuginOSX 0.5 I have found that the 'optmise' process consistently causes the application to crash, even though the release notes state that this bug had been fixed. I have tried re-installs and deleting preferences but can make the application reliably 'optimise'. If this bug could be fixed it would be an outstanding piece of software.
Like
Version 0.5