Back to DEVONthink Pro page
DEVONthink Pro free download for Mac

DEVONthink Pro Reviews

3.0.1
03 October 2019

Knowledge base, information manager, and much more.

Mdognrdog
11 July 2013

Most helpful

Once again, Devon Technologies has put out a minor release that many, many vendors would have tagged as "major" and charged for an upgrade -- this time, adding a new note type, Markdown capability, and Mavericks tagging. I bought this package shortly before 2.0 came out, when the developer was offering a 2.0 upgrade for any buyers of 1.x after that date. That was five years ago; the 2.0 release was in 2008. And several times now, the Devon people have put out some pretty big new features (especially on the Pro Office package, which I don't have), without upping the major release number. If you're going to spend anything more than $10 or $20 on a piece of organizational/research software, it's nice to know that that "planned obsolescence" is not the developer's strategy. Aside from that, it's just really good software. I tried a bunch of these products that make information capture and organization easy. Yojimbo's capture is probably easier, but not by very much if you use DevonThink's Sorter. DevonThink can also capture from a lot of different places in your workflow -- browser extension, print-to-PDF dialogue, global Inbox in your Finder, all mean you can capture any time the thought comes to you. But none of the other information managers out there provide you with anything like the kinds of tools you get from DevonThink for whipping your information into shape once you've captured it. Seriously, there's just no contest. There's an AI for suggesting cross-references and filing/tagging locations, you can auto-file all the stuff in your inbox if you've learned to trust that AI, you can annotate and edit PDFs, HTML, and Rich Text... It's just flat sick, is what it is. And, since it's basically morally wrong to keep a guy's stuff in a proprietary database with no way out (and there are information managers that do this), you can export to plain old files-and-folders that mimic your groups/tags, and navigate them through the Finder.
Like (20)
Version 2.6

Read 114 DEVONthink Pro User Reviews

Rate this app:

Tim27
13 September 2019
Looks like they did a good job cleaning up the interface of the desktop app. Unfortunately, their website is confusing. They need to hire a marketing person to tell them what needs to be on their site so that it isn't confusing for customers (and people who potentially want to upgrade) to figure out. A good comparison chart of ALL versions would be a start along with the price for each. It looks like the upgrade from DEVONThink Pro 2 to DEVONThink Pro 3 to get some of the same features that I had in 2 is pretty steep compared to the about $50 I paid last time.
Like (1)
Version 3.0
Filou53
12 September 2019
I have been using DevonThink (pro) for a few years now. And I am very satisfied with it. I am now considering moving to version 3 but I continue to find the distinction between the different versions rather confusing! More precisely, I don't like their 'Comparison Edition' page! (on https://www.devontechnologies.com/apps/devonthink/editions ) Rather than see 'The standard edition offers all features portrayed on the DEVONthink product page except those listed above', I would have preferred a simple presentation of all the main features with 3 columns. 'DEVONthink - DEVONthink Pro - DEVONthink Server' IMHO it would have been much clearer.
Like (1)
Version 3.0
MacMec
01 August 2019
I really love it! DEVONthink Pro is one of my favourite pieces of software.
Like (1)
Version 3.0beta5
xcoxco
30 July 2019
Is DEVONthink Pro beta 5 - it is "beta" after all - suitable for practical use?? We have been waiting for the final release ... need the software asap for a project that includes OCRing 1500 pages of pdf documents. Comments, thanks.
Like (2)
Version 3.0beta5
1 answer(s)
Dr-Sparks
Dr-Sparks
01 August 2019
See my recent comments elsewhere on this page. I cannot find any way to download. a demo of DEVONthink Pro 3 beta. Maybe if you buy a license?

https://www.devontechnologies.com/blog
https://www.devontechnologies.com/apps/devonthink
https://www.devontechnologies.com/apps/devonthink/editions
https://www.devontechnologies.com/apps/devonthink/upgrade
https://www.devontechnologies.com/products/devonthink/devonthink-pro-office.html
Like
Dr-Sparks
19 July 2019
What downloads is not DEVONthink Pro Version 3.0beta4. It's DEVONthink Standard Version 3.0beta4. Same as the download here:
https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/61372/devonthink-standard
Like
Version 3.0beta4
1 answer(s)
Dr-Sparks
Dr-Sparks
31 July 2019
What I wrote above is also valid for DEVONthink Pro Version 3.0beta5.
Like
Derekcurrie
12 June 2019
The transition to DEVONThink versions 3.0 is going to be confusing. Therefore, this page was created to assist users:

Upgrader's Guide
https://www.devontechnologies.com/apps/devonthink/upgrade

"With DEVONthink 3.0 we have cleaned up the editions lineup. We retired DEVONnote and DEVONthink Personal, and rearranged the feature sets of the new editions in a way that we feel makes more sense to more of you...."

The resulting versions for 3.0 will be:
• DEVONThink Pro --> DEVONThink 3.0
• DEVONThink Office --> DEVONThink Pro 3.0
- OR --> DEVONThink Server 3.0

This page lists the features of both the NEW 3.0 Pro version and Server version:
DEVONthink Editions
https://www.devontechnologies.com/apps/devonthink/editions

AND here is the what's New in DEVONthink 3 page:
https://www.devontechnologies.com/apps/devonthink/new
Like (2)
Version 3.0beta3
2 answer(s)
Dba
Dba
12 June 2019
I'm a long time customer and own DevonThink Pro 2. I'm bummed that in order to keep using the Concordance feature, I have to upgrade to Pro 3 for $149, instead of v3 for $49. Concordance is the only additional feature I'd use in Pro v3, and I'll lose that if I just do the $49 upgrade to DT v3.
Like (1)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
12 June 2019
Dba: The beta testing isn’t over yet! I’d write DEVON about the situation and ask them to consider adding back Concordance.
Like (1)
Maddogiam66
24 May 2019
I agree it's a relatively powerful piece of software but I tried this vs. Paperless and Neat and found both those two apps on par and at 1/3 the price. I might be old school but I don't think shareware, as this product is listed as, should cost $200.
Like
Version 3.0beta2
BasiIFawlty
23 May 2019
Best app I have ever used. Almost replaces Finder. Go paperless, organizes etc etc. Mac, iPhone and iPad all via iCloud AND IT WORKS!
Like (2)
Version 3.0beta1
Maclover1-1
28 April 2019
Been using DTP since its early days, am very glad they finally modernized and streamlined it (it's always been very stable and highly professional). It's a complex and very powerful app I could not live without, and that is hard to describe as it can be and do so many things. It's central in my Mac-Life. I can only say I'm psyched about this "rebirth".
Like (2)
Version 3.0beta1
Rlevent
28 April 2019
This is a powerful update to one of my favorite software packages.
Like
Version 3.0beta1
Derekcurrie
26 April 2019
v2.11.3 is the current version. Be sure you’ve updated from within the program. Regarding v3.0beta1, it downloads as just “DEVONthink”, no Pro. I verified on their website that this is as intended. There are no other beta versions. Have at it. There is a blog discussion of v3.0beta1 here: https://www.devontechnologies.com/blog/devonthink-30b1 “We have sent DEVONthink Personal and DEVONnote into well-deserved retirement.“ “Updates for the Take Control of DEVONthink and Arbeitsbuch DEVONthink ebooks are in the works and will become available in due course. In addition, the Take Control ebook will be FREE for all customers. The documentation for DEVONthink 3 will be downloadable as PDF and ebook with one of the next public beta updates.“ No pricing has yet been published for v3.
Like (3)
Version 3.0beta1
stoltenberg
17 April 2019
my most used application (after the finder :-)
Like (2)
Version 2.11.2
iMacWare
25 March 2019
The best of its kind
Like (2)
Version 2.11.2
Navigare-necesse-est-
08 December 2018
Extraordinary software and developer!
Like (5)
Version 2.10.2
Derekcurrie
25 October 2018
DevonThink Pro has been updated to v2.10.2 today, along with all the other versions of DevonThink. Here's the What's New: WHAT'S NEW IN DEVONTHINK PRO 2.10.2 This release brings some fixes for macOS Mojave, as well as improvements in performance and reliability. We updated the HUDs (like the group selector and Take Note panel), as well as fixing visual artifacts in some menus and the scanning interface. Evernote checkboxes and EPUB metadata are now better supported. NEW Added Preferences > Web > Images > Scale images to fit for scaling (large) images to fit. Improved Go > Next/Previous Highlight only uses search hits or highlighted text, but not both; this makes it easier to jump to search hits in rich text documents containing highlighted text. Checkboxes in imported Evernote notes are now preserved. Improved support for EPUB metadata. Improved handling of temporary files; speeds up importing from Yojimbo. Improved support for drag-and-drop from third-party apps like Tinderbox. Much faster updating of Finder comments of files and folders (macOS El Capitan and later). Improved overall reliability and stability. Improved (Sync) Remote databases can now be imported in Preferences > Sync by double-clicking them. Improved performance when handling indexed files, especially those on unmounted volumes. Improved the progress indication and logging while and after verifying and cleaning databases of sync stores. Improved reliability of Bonjour connections. Improved reliability, stability, and performance. Fixed Fixed visual artifacts in some panels, e.g. Clip to DEVONthink and Take Note, and menus (macOS Mojave). Fixed visual artifacts in the scanning interface (macOS Mojave). Fixed visual artifacts when handling PDF link annotations (macOS Mojave). Fixed an issue where the "score" AppleScript property always returned 0. Fixed an issue where scanning with Epson scanners didn't always work. Fixed an issue where the left arrow key didn't work as expected in list and outline views. Fixed a rare crash related to PDF documents. Fixed a rare crash on quitting the application while the Support Assistant was visible. Fixed a rare crash possibly related to memory management. Fixed (Sync) Fixed an issue where generating the list of available databases could consume too many resources. Fixed an issue related to iCloud Drive not being available or enabled. Fixed a crash related to no disk space available on the startup disk. Removed (Sync) Removed sync location templates for MagentaCLOUD (unreliable) and Box.com (will drop WebDAV support on January 1st 2019). This doesn't affect existing sync stores but migrating to other services soon is highly recommended.
Like (2)
Version 2.10.1
Derekcurrie
01 June 2018
The link to v2.10 is incorrect. What you get instead is the previous version from January! Try this link instead: https://s3.amazonaws.com/DTWebsiteSupport/download/devonthink/2.10/DEVONthink_Pro.dmg.zip The link will drop you at their thank you page as well as start the download of v2.10. OR of course you can update from within DevonThink Pro.
Like
Version 2.10
1 answer(s)
Bryan
Bryan
01 June 2018
I've updated that link. Thanks, Derek.
Like
hmurchison
25 May 2018
iCloud support across the Mac OS and iOS apps has made setting up db much easier. Kudos DT team.
Like (2)
Version 2.10
Ervins Strauhmanis
06 July 2017
This is a really bad-ass tool to organize and access information. How bad-ass is it? Its free frequent revision level releases (i.e. major . minor . revision) a way more comprehensive then the paid major yearly PDFpen's unveilings! And, the last DEVONthink's paid upgrade was released 7 years ago. This just cannot get any cooler! And (a not not untrue fact!), did you know that Chuck Norris said that if he would not have been already using his DNA to store and instantly access fully indexed information about EVERYTHING, then he would have used DEVONthink! How bad-ass is that!? Seriously, go buy DEVONthink for both your Mac and iPad!
Like (5)
Version 2.9.13
Philosopherdog
03 June 2017
The best Evernote replacement.Helpful community. Brilliant mobile companion app. Very inexpensive. Regular updates. Extremely powerful app.
Like (2)
Version 2.9.12
1 answer(s)
Psychiatry
Psychiatry
17 March 2018
I gave up on DEVONThink Pro Office in favor of Evernote because:
1. DEVONThink got slower and slower the more documents I stored in it. It became unacceptably slow in opening up document collections.
2. DEVONThink Pro is not cross-platform, multi-device. I use Evernote on every PC, Mac, iPhone, iPad and Browser that I have.
Like
Levelbest
18 May 2017
This company has terrible customer service. They offer great software but it is also highly complex. You are going to spend a lot of time in the manuals and asking dumb questions on their forums. But beware, the forums allow far too much “RTFM” type commentaries, “what’s wrong with you”, etc. And that’s from the moderators and the forum experts. I have some genuine learning disabilities as the result of injuries suffered in service to my country (disabled vet). I was really hoping that many of Devon’s products would be very helpful for those of us who struggle to organize information on a daily basis. Unfortunately, Devon people do not suffer fools gladly and I have been suddenly and permanently banned from their forums. Why? No explanation was given after I asked repeatedly. Apparently it was for complaining to Devon customer service about how I was getting treated in the forums. To add insult to injury, Devons web site boasts about how they won’t bury problems by closing tickets before they are through and how much they value fairness. Don't you believe it. None of these are values that I have seen. My ticket on this issue was closed prematurely and their head guy refused to provide any justification for their actions. Apparently asking too many questions about good netiquette on their forums will get you banned. I can't see using such a complex and important piece of software (it’s about managing all the files on your Mac), and not being able to ask questions about it on an active user forum. Devon makes great software. I have no argument with that. I have a license for DevonThink Professional Office, DevonAgent, and some others. But learning something with such complex capabilities, having learning challenges of my own, and having such a non user friendly forum, just got to be too much. I have been trying to use Devon products for a couple of years now. Sadly, I probably will not continue with this company barring a sharp reversal in their way of treating customers. Why pay for abuse? Your mileage may vary. I have rated this software as low as it can go, not because it isn't really smart software but because if you can't get help using it or worse, you are ridiculed and then banned, then why recommend this brand to others? Without ongoing access to good customer service through the user base (forums), my licenses are now pretty much useless. And these software titles from Devon, are not cheap.
Like (8)
Version 2.9.11
2 answer(s)
Philosopherdog
Philosopherdog
03 June 2017
I've found the opposite. Very helpful forums. Excellent documentation. Judging by your rant here I can see why you were banned. It's not really their job to help someone who is learning disabled! Be reasonable.
Like (6)
Chocky
Chocky
25 May 2018
I concur with Philosopherdog. The few support issues I've raised have been answered quickly and resolved the issues.
As for the volume of RTFM responses, I can't say I noticed that there were more than in any other forum I frequent. It's always prudent to RTFM before posting a question to an open forum. Questions that are answered in the documentation add to the noise level.
Like (2)
john-david-miller
07 March 2017
I'm frustrated by DT's built-in editors. With options for RTF, HTML, Markdown, etc., I'm surprised that I can't really do basic outlining without a lot of work. Little things like indent/outdent, make list / make not-a-list, and simple Headline-type styles. It seems like a lot of people use DT just to organize files, which is great, but a simple editor, one even as simple as OneNote's would be great - and, in 2017, not unexpected. Or, configure it to use an external editor (or several) to quickly create pages, like DP does, but with the power of a "real" editor. I'd be happy to learn that all this is there and I'm just using it wrong and/or don't know about certain features...
Like
Version 2.9.10
Tim27
15 January 2017
This app reminds me of Corel Painter... there is a lot of power in the app, but it is hidden behind a poor and confusing user interface. It is in serious need of a redesign and simplification, while still keeping the search and organization power. It seems like they haven't really released a major update to the app in a while, and if so it's all been backend stuff without thinking about how that backend stuff is interacted with on the front end. DEVON, you've got good software here. Please REthink it.
Like (4)
Version 2.9.8
6 answer(s)
DEVONtech-Jim
DEVONtech-Jim
28 January 2017
"Simplification" and "power" are not necessarily compatible concepts. Imagine trying to fly a Boeing 777 with the controls of a radio controlled plane. Which one is simple, and which one has power?
That being said, we are ALWAYS improving our applications. Don't doubt it.
:^)
Like
Tim27
Tim27
29 January 2017
An airplane is not a software app. I would invite you to take a look at Pixelmator. Its interface is simpler than Photoshop, yet it can do many of the same things Photoshop can do. In some cases, much faster than Photoshop can do them. Why has Wunderlist become so popular for a todo app even though it is so simple to use?
Many other commenters have said that your UI feels old and cluttered. You need to take this to heart.
Like (2)
DEVONtech-Jim
DEVONtech-Jim
29 January 2017
Tbanks for your input.
Like (1)
WetNet
WetNet
31 March 2017
Tim27 < You are such a petulant nazi inbred moron. . .go take your soapbox somewhere else. This is not your app. Works for 100's or thousands . . . not for a moron like you. . .pathetic nazi moron like you. . .
Like
Tim27
Tim27
31 March 2017
@WetNet - You are very odd.
Like (1)
WetNet
WetNet
01 April 2017
Tim27 < And you are just an inbred moron. . .
Like
Somnus
09 January 2017
Uh...I'm not sure how I feel about this app... No doubt it's powerful and very classic. But it also very "old" in many ways. I planned to import a lot of files into it. Then I tried to use a rename tool to do some batch rename works, the files were renamed but devonthink couldn't locate them...it just reported the files are missing, but it won't show the files which are still in the library just with a different name!
Like
Version 2.9.8
1 answer(s)
DEVONtech-Jim
DEVONtech-Jim
28 January 2017
This is not a problem in the application. What you attempted is unsupported behavior and inconsistent with how a database works. Check out our Forums for more information. Thanks!
Like
kscmint
10 August 2016
This is absolutely best document management app around. It has a lot of features that are not immediately apparent but provide very powerful search and research capabilities.
Like (2)
Version 2.9.1
RolandHammond6247
17 April 2016
I have been trying to purchase Devonthink pro for days without success. There is alway this error message: "ERROR 13 parser error SyntaxError: JSON Parse error: Unrecognized token" Does anybody know anything about this problem?
Like
Version 2.8.10
5 answer(s)
SteveDorman
SteveDorman
18 April 2016
I had the same problem. Try using Chrome, worked for me.
Like
RolandHammond6247
RolandHammond6247
18 April 2016
In Chrome does not even work the purchase button
Like
SteveDorman
SteveDorman
18 April 2016
It did for me. Perhaps try Firefox or another browser?
Like
RolandHammond6247
RolandHammond6247
18 April 2016
Of course I tried different browsers (Safari and Firefox) and computers but always the same "error"
and google chrome does not work at all from the beginning of the buying process (purchase button)
I hope the support will answer.
Like
SteveDorman
SteveDorman
18 April 2016
Sorry Roland. I just know I got the same error code as you in Safari, so I tried Chrome and that worked. Other than a restart, I don't know what else you could try.
Perhaps send MacUpdate an email that you're having trouble and they may honour the discount later, when they get back to you. Good luck!
Like
fukurokujo
09 November 2015
The UI shows how much the developers really care about their app - not much! Basically they have a nice neuronal network algorithm that lets them classify things. All their apps are built upon that feature (which is nice) but lack in other aspects. Wish they would spend some money on fixing their software (not just the UI/UX) especially sync, iOS app, fixing broken things...
Like (6)
Version 2.8.7
1 answer(s)
Gazman
Gazman
01 December 2016
I agree. I'm hoping that version 3 will have a more modern, user-friendly UI. The iOS version is much nicer to use than the Mac version.
Like (1)
mikekerr2
22 July 2015
I use DEVONthink Pro Office. Have done for years in combination with a Fujitsu ScanSnap S510M. All still running well on my new iMac5K. An amazingly fast way to manage huge quantities of post and pdf's images into sorted databases using its included OCR. Just a phenomenally useful piece of software. My advice is buy it and a compatible scanner and get the upgrade and become paperless. Mind boggling powerful app. Hats off to the developers I say.
Like (1)
Version 2.8.6
Essadee
30 April 2015
A bargain at twice the price, and now it's deeply discounted! My only complaints about DEVONthink in general are the mobile app sucks and the interface could benefit from a refresh. The engine that powers this software is fantastic and while it can easily overwhelm you with options, that's the sort of flexibility you benefit from later. Great support, which has been very responsive and hands-on with the half-dozen cases I've opened with them over the years.
Like (4)
Version 2.8.4
RonaldGlind1878
02 January 2015
It's a perfect app. I am using DT Pro 2.8.2 evaluation version, i an going to purchase the app.
Like (2)
Version 2.8.2
Pugwash
05 November 2014
A great app, I just wish they'd do something with the UI. It's been the same for years and is starting to look dated and a bit uninspiring.
Like (9)
Version 2.8.1
3 answer(s)
Orytek
Orytek
21 November 2014
Adding a choice of a few themes would be nice.
For now the only way to get a different look is to choose alternating row views.
Like (1)
Xenophile
Xenophile
16 December 2014
Looks like Snow Leopard - the greatest version of OS X to date. Since then Apple has waged an inexplicable war on contrast and color that degrades usability.

Like (4)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
27 April 2015
Ditto on that @Xenophile
Like
Christo777
07 October 2014
This app is one of my favorites. Had it also at a good price in a bundle. Doing a mastership and have a lot of reading to do, in mixed formats (web pages, Word, pdf,...) and documents to create. Can view (almost all of) them all in one single app, saves a lot of time. I have a few questions or feature requests. For example, when a bring a document in a db, it makes a copy of it so I have to care if I edit the original document or the copy in the db. So I will often delete the original so I don't mess with versions. Is it possible to bring only alias in the db ? or replace original with an alias to the db version ? Love also being able to outline words in a scanned pdf. Some Word documents don't show and some do. Will you add more file formats support (FileMaker for example)? Thank you.
Like (1)
Version 2.7.7
Aaron-T
05 October 2014
I have created 120 databases related to my research fields, teaching activities and personal files. One of the best apps I have ever used. Since Windows does not have DEVON family of apps - just to use this app would the only reason to use MacOS. Robust, reliable, very flexible. 10 stars easily
Like (2)
Version 2.7.7
psroy
16 September 2014
Excellent software that is a boon for academics with lots of reference documents. Very easy to import documents, but (and this is key) NO PROPRIETARY DATABASE that locks your data in. Exports to finder very easily. The program, especially the current version, is very stable. Mac to mac syncing is robust and I have had no problems syncing databases with hundreds of pdf's. Tons of other features under the hood, including importing from Evernote, Bookends etc, robust Applescript support and very easy to use browser extensions to clip content from the web. The developers are very responsive and have consistently added features without charging for each new version. I am not an ipad user (I need the extra functionality of a laptop) so I cannot comment on the companion ipad app. All in all, one of the best programs I own, and one that I use every day.
Like (3)
Version 2.7.7
D-J
29 March 2014
Simply the most useful software out there, regardless of your area of interest or professional need. For the challenged who give it half a star, that's just bitter childishness, or trolling, or a competitive agenda. Or it's just that software is smarter than the reviewer.
Like (4)
Version 2.7.4
1 answer(s)
burkanov
burkanov
31 March 2014
Please, tell me then, what is so great about this software? The classify feature - yes, it's fine. But what else is causing you to burst such a love for DevonThink? I'm trying this software every year in hope it changed or I will finally see the light - but regretfully, I still see the same meaningless mess of interface components. I'm not trolling, my friend, I'm wondering. I read the documentation. I read the forum. I have written my own scripts to bring this software any closer to a useable form, but I still see no difference with just saving a bunch of files into dropbox folder and working with DevonThink. Except for the facts, that the prior is much cheaper, syncs reliably and has better interface.
Like (3)
burkanov
18 March 2014
I really hate this program. I believe it I would ever teach creating software, I would use DevonThink as an example of how not to do. I'm following development of DevonThink since years and the biggest question I have is why there is nobody yet to write a normal alternative to this monster? There are hundreds of features, that are barely useable due to the terrible interface, others barely work due to the terrible implementation. Yes, there are users, that find it OK to suffer in order to see this ugly bear dancing. The software is so bad, it's hard to tell what could it be used for. Note taking? There are zillion other note taking apps which offer useable interface, from Evernote to Onenote and so on. Sorting? The functionality is very limited, inconsistent and unpredictable. Searching? The internal structure of even newly created "data base" is stupid organised, that, multiplied to the awful UI you can't find even the data you've imported a second ago. Syncing is a joke - it "syncs" to Dropbox by simply copy-paste everything you have. Each time. Editing, marking, managing data is done by using hundred of different, inconsistent, poorly designed and poorly implemented forms and scripts. Generally, working with DevonThink - it's like working with multiple SAP forms, thrown together by a bunch of teenagers in computer club. The only good thing DevonThink has - auto classification and auto suggestion. As in my opinion, DevonThink belongs to the one and only place: trash can.
Like (6)
Version 2.7.3
4 answer(s)
Odysseus
Odysseus
27 March 2014
Yeah, I'm not really sure what it's good for anymore, particularly since the cloud syncing is so weak.
Like (2)
D-J
D-J
29 March 2014
Complete disagree. This is a thinking person's kit of software, exceedingly powerful if one bothers to take the time to learn it. Every update is a careful suite of improvements and once you've brought DEVONThink into your workflow, it simplifies and organises like nothing else out there. You say that you can't find the data you just imported? Duh, it's in the Inbox, the folder choice at the very top of the sidebar. If you missed that simple effort, I can understand your challenges in understanding DEVONThink overall. DEVONThink and DEVONAgent used together are the most powerful utilities for data gathering and organising on any platform. Bar none. Yes, the UI design is getting long in the tooth and looks a bit dusty. But it's not that bad yet. Seems to me you downloaded a copy, played around with it for half an hour, and wrote up your half-star review, burkanov. That low score alone suggests a chip on your shoulder or another agenda, not a measured analysis of a phenomenally crafted software utility.
Like (1)
Mar6473
Mar6473
01 April 2014
@burkanov — You have a point that if you don't have a consistent filing system Devonthink can turn into a mess because it has so many options. It's also true that if I personally tried to keep everything in Devonthink it wouldn't be as useful. I used Devonthink as my primary information manager through an MA degree and it was incredibly helpful. Your claim of "unpredictability" is simply not true through. It does precisely what you tell it to do. The reason why DT is a valuable tool is because it manages information from a wide variety of sources. It lets you browse the contents of filed information sources and compare them against others. For example, my database is full of academic papers. I can highlight citations and then later find one important sentence when I don't recall which PDF it's in or if I want to support a point I'm writing about but I don't recall all the citations I have collected. The Finder can't do this and other info managers can't do it with so many types of sources. It is not helpful—for me anyway—for active documents I'm working on like Word; for this I use Dropbox with cloud support and I can usually recall something based on the doc type and the file name. Having cloud access to every single file on your computer is not productive—it's trendy. I don't want to work with large amounts of information on my iPhone. I do need mobile access to a lot of my files so I use a laptop. The interface isn't eye candy like Evernote; but I don't expect this from a tool like this. If you've ever used Bento, DT looks great. It might not fit your personal workflow, but saying it belongs in the trash is misleading and not very fair.
Like (6)
Kihoalu
Kihoalu
19 April 2014
The first question I would ask: Do you believe you have a need for what DevonThink does? You haven’t in all these years found an alternative you find acceptable? Maybe you like working from a junk drawer? Or don’t have a lot of files that are keepers. Certainly you have a strong opinion about this product. It is tempting to comment on a piece of software at first glance, based upon whether you grasp the concept readily, or not. I’ve backpedaled a time or two myself, once I realized there is a lot of value in a tool that I was originally lukewarm about. The videos give you a good idea of what DT can do as a database or selective data manager. How that applies to your junk drawer, is purely up to you. One has to put in some effort to use DevonThink - and pull chaos into organization & that’s true of any organizational tool. If you have a need to be organized at all. All the tools are there in DT to handle a miss-mash of files to keep & they’ve been great about free updates. You can always launch items with another tool, such as the note-takers you allude to above, if your other synced devices have them. Syncing files is not a big deal. Having said that, I don’t use it often enough, or very well - because it means spending time organizing the mess I already had & I never quite get the old stuff together. Wish I had it on a brand new computer. The interface could be prettier, but it does what it claims.
Like (3)
Cocoanut
15 February 2014
It's a good app and I use it but it's lacking one important feature and has one annoying UI element which I can't stand. The feature I want is simple password security, a timed lockout of the app when I get up to eat dinner and forget to hide it from my family's prying eyes. I don't need encryption just a simple cover for my work I can set to a timer such as 3 minutes. The UI element I really don't like is the Take Note window which is transparent black. This is horribly difficult to read and type in and serves no actual purpose except to look ugly. Please, Mr. Developer redesign the Take Note window to be a nice looking, well formatted standard grey window. Thanks!
Like (4)
Version 2.7.3
08 February 2014
I've used DevonThink Pro for some years now. I used to use it as a general chaos-information bucket. Really, for me, it was a bit unwieldy. Also the slow and not-useful iOS app discouraged me. In fact, I stopped using DTP altogether for a while. But I was just assessing various solutions for a very specific information wrangling scenario. I'm a fine art photographer, and I needed a way to deal with the relationship between image -> file instances -> print instances. It was a complicated thing to try to set up in a relational database (it's a complex set of relationships). It turns out it was relatively easy to do in DTP, and I'm so far extremely happy with the result. I think this is why academic researchers like it so much -- it is potentially extremely wonderful and flexible for focused large scale tasks. I'm back in the Devonthink Pro camp, and I might even start using it for other things again. But definitely not for the big general information dump or anything that needs to sync to iOS.
Like
Version 2.7.3
Jimblue
11 July 2013
excellent review of an excellent product made by an excellent software company. i enjoyed reading your well-worded review. very nice, thanks.
Like (2)
Version 2.6
Mdognrdog
11 July 2013
Once again, Devon Technologies has put out a minor release that many, many vendors would have tagged as "major" and charged for an upgrade -- this time, adding a new note type, Markdown capability, and Mavericks tagging. I bought this package shortly before 2.0 came out, when the developer was offering a 2.0 upgrade for any buyers of 1.x after that date. That was five years ago; the 2.0 release was in 2008. And several times now, the Devon people have put out some pretty big new features (especially on the Pro Office package, which I don't have), without upping the major release number. If you're going to spend anything more than $10 or $20 on a piece of organizational/research software, it's nice to know that that "planned obsolescence" is not the developer's strategy. Aside from that, it's just really good software. I tried a bunch of these products that make information capture and organization easy. Yojimbo's capture is probably easier, but not by very much if you use DevonThink's Sorter. DevonThink can also capture from a lot of different places in your workflow -- browser extension, print-to-PDF dialogue, global Inbox in your Finder, all mean you can capture any time the thought comes to you. But none of the other information managers out there provide you with anything like the kinds of tools you get from DevonThink for whipping your information into shape once you've captured it. Seriously, there's just no contest. There's an AI for suggesting cross-references and filing/tagging locations, you can auto-file all the stuff in your inbox if you've learned to trust that AI, you can annotate and edit PDFs, HTML, and Rich Text... It's just flat sick, is what it is. And, since it's basically morally wrong to keep a guy's stuff in a proprietary database with no way out (and there are information managers that do this), you can export to plain old files-and-folders that mimic your groups/tags, and navigate them through the Finder.
Like (20)
Version 2.6
1 answer(s)
Oldmiller
Oldmiller
17 July 2013
Sir, this is a great review. As this also and fully applies to the “Office” version of DEVONthink Pro, please consider publishing it as a review on MacUpdate's listing for the Office-version too.
Like (3)
Devadog
28 March 2013
Stable, Fully featured, well thought out, VERY powerful,well supported. Probably the best file/ document organisation tool available for the Mac. I wavered for a very long time before purchasing this app (and have tried most of its competitors). It seems that you do get what you pay for. There are many cheaper products out there but none can match DevonThink in features and performance in my opinion.
Like (8)
Version 2.5.1
Phaleron
11 March 2013
As an organizational and archival tool, DevonThink Pro would be a fantastic application, if it would work right. But, several problems prevent it from being that. Capturing a page from a web-browser (whether as Text, Webarchive, or PDF) is useless, because, except for tags and folders designated as favorite, not all paths in the database are available from the save panel. The same issue is encountered when saving a page via the scripts from the script folder. Equally frustrating is it's inability to make hyperlinks in a page, because, again, not all paths are available. This was true in Leopard, and it continues to be true in Snow Leopard. I have for a long time refrained from rating DTP because I really like what DTP does, waiting update after update to see this resolved, but time is up. I will revise my rating as the developer corrects the problem.
Like (4)
Version 2.5.1
1 answer(s)
Lev
Lev
23 January 2014
Not quite, in my experience. You can capture material from a browser into any nested folder using the Clip extension. But you're quite right that that's NOT the case when making links within a DevonThink database, which I agree is a strange and severe shortcoming. (You can only make a link to a top-level folder)
Like (2)
Kihoalu
07 March 2013
Clicked the wrong button & lost a longer review. I've tried some of the other suggestions here, but the other apps mentioned don't all do what DevonThink does. DevonThink is a very good piece of software if you have a little dedication in the beginning of re-organizing your sock drawer or chaos bin. That's the hardest part of getting organized. DevonThink can help with that. Start tagging data & categorizing & it only gets easier to rearrange as the databas(es) grow. To make this work best, you need to stay with organizing your data until some structure becomes evident that works for you. If you have that capacity, this is a slick application.
Like (4)
Version 2.5.1
If you seriously want to go paperless or as much paperless as possible, you need a software of that kind! DEVONthink Pro Office is the most feature rich of it's kind. There are no bugs what's or ever only improvements from time to time. So I guess it's one thing to be on top, but another to stay there! I'm happy to know that the future will bring me lots of satisfaction with this software and my money was well spend on this (four years ago!!). Thank you for the great work on this software that I can rely on.
Like
Version 2.5
BamaDawgs
04 November 2012
A good program but I fine a bit confusing to use. Will try Paperless instead.
Like (1)
Version 2.4.3
Vinkri
03 November 2012
A long time ago, I did a review of DT Personal... which I tried to use for taking notes on the fly, manage all my documents with tags and lots of things that I thought were what the app was supposed to do. I didn't like it and found the app to be too heavy, ugly and awful. A bundle allowed me to upgrade to DevonThink Pro. I gave it a try, again. And used it for what is is for: putting information in a database. But information related to my projects (not everything on my hard drive like I was doing before): research results, leads, ideas... To long to describe everything you can do with this app. Just a piece of advice: don't try to use it to replace the finder. Use it as a tool that can gather all your data in a structured database. The longer you use it, the more it will contain information and the more it becomes useful. If you're searching the web a lot, just use DTPro with Devon Agent. It's a bomb. Some stuff I miss, though: the feature to record audio notes directly from Devonthink. And a writing interface that wouldn't ashame me when I show it to other people. Powerful app. But to handle with reason and focus.
Like (3)
Version 2.4.3
Russed
03 November 2012
Lev: quite a good retentive comment. The main point is why pay for something if you already have it. As to people spelling and grammar, with 1 in 3 people suffering from some form of dyslexia it dose not bother me as long as I am able to understand the gist of whats been said. To highlight such things as poor spelling and grammar just shows poor up bring and bad manners. Which is why when you look at the comments on your profile they are main bad. Maybe a little less time on your computer and a bit more time with people would teach you some basic interpersonal skills which you seem to be sadly lacking.
Like
Version 2.4.3
burkanov
19 October 2012
This software is a user interface nightmare. It really should be considered to be show to the IT students as an example of awful usability. Just an example: if you want to run a paperless office and want to sort a couple of scanned PDFs, you need to (at least): 1) be able to sort by the "source" or author 2) sort by date the docs were issued 3) have docs tagged Adding or editing all this things requires manipulations in 3 different menus, calling in one case a pop-up window, in other a layer and a some kind of panel in third. Not mentioning that first you have to spend some hours researching the forums, because editing data requires some special script to be placed into a special folder. The scan functionality is something I simply failed to understand. I use computers since 1989, being a programmer myself - but I haven't figured out how I could scan a doc even after 3 evenings spent trying all thinkable combinations of the buttons. Many of the scripts (like import from Evernote) simply don't work at all. Others have to be tuned or fixed using AppleScript. Sync doesn't exist at all. Overall stability is Okey, but... It's what Cooper calls "Bearware" - lot of power + no intelligence at all + ugly.
Like (4)
Version 2.4.2
misterjspencer
23 September 2012
Great app but where is the folder or even database encryption ( no not the work around to make a dmg etc) just plain security. They advertise this and office pro to lawyers surely they would want to secure files. You can do it in yojimbo. So once again we have these 3 or 4 excellent apps all aiming at the same market all unable to do one important thing ...nested folders in yojimbo....syncing and encryption in devonthink, no iPad app in eagle filer...
Like (4)
Version 2.4.2
Russed
17 September 2012
Nothing your mac cant already do..
Like (2)
Version 2.4.2
1 answer(s)
Lev
Lev
31 October 2012
I get SO tired of these ultra-rational, over-argued, pseudo-scholarly reviews where every single assertion has to be backed up with evidence. Sometimes I long for an actual moron to come along and just make a dumb assertion, preferably with a spelling error and lousy syntax, just to relax things round here. And then comes this one, and everything is briefly happy. It could only have been better if Russed had written "you're mac". Then it would have been perfect. As it is: 95%.
Like (9)
OliverTerrier
29 June 2012
I basically like the program save two things: -there is no margin control which makes text jam up against the window which looks sloppy and is hard to read - the quick entry window is transparent black which is difficult to read and adds lots of clutter Otherwise perfect
Like (7)
Version 2.3.5