Back to Gas page
Gas free download for Mac

Gas Reviews

3.2
26 March 2009

Widget displays lowest gas prices in your area in the USA.

Larry670
16 April 2009

Most helpful

I was able to find the developer's website and the reason that no one is receiving gas updates any longer is that gaspricewatch.com has blocked the widget from receiving updates from their server. They have offered the developer a new contract to continue to receive updates, but it, at this time, is much too expensive for him to pay.
Like (1)
Version 3.2

Read 38 Gas User Reviews

Rate this app:

Libertyforall1776
03 April 2011
This widget no longer works due to the sources wanting to charge -- too bad, it's the only integrated widget that does this at the moment...
Like (1)
Version 3.2
Thxalot
25 April 2009
thx for the gas widget update. had been wondering if i needed to update safari. glad i didn't go down that road. and thxalot to gaspricewatch. hey folks, guess who is feeding you the info? and for free!
Like
Version 3.2
Larry670
16 April 2009
I was able to find the developer's website and the reason that no one is receiving gas updates any longer is that gaspricewatch.com has blocked the widget from receiving updates from their server. They have offered the developer a new contract to continue to receive updates, but it, at this time, is much too expensive for him to pay.
Like (1)
Version 3.2
1 answer(s)
Thxalot
Thxalot
25 April 2009
thx for the gas widget update. had been wondering if i needed to update safari. glad i didn't go down that road. and thxalot to gaspricewatch. hey folks, guess who is feeding you the info? and for free!
Like (1)
Version 3.2
Larry670
16 April 2009
I was able to find the developer's website and the reason that no one is receiving gas updates any longer is that gaspricewatch.com has blocked the widget from receiving updates from their server. They have offered the developer a new contract to continue to receive updates, but it, at this time, is much too expensive for him to pay.
Like
Version 3.2
agg-1
27 March 2009
While none of the versions of the Gas widget now work (3/27/09), it's interesting to see that Google Maps has a feature (that works) to show gas prices with info coming from the same GasPriceWatch.com. maps.google.com click on 'My Maps' click on 'Gas Prices from 'GasBuddy.com'
Like
Version 3.2
Andrej
29 April 2008
Version 3.1 Mac OS X 10.5.2 This widget, all of a sudden, failed to retrieve gas prices about a month ago. Failures every day since then have been experienced.
Like
Version 3.1
Dshillis
08 November 2007
This widget is totally broken in Mac OS X Leopard...can somebody fix???
Like
Version 3.0
Tupring
04 September 2007
This version 3.0 doesn't work at all. The price just spins and spins forever and never stops. On the rare occasion that it does stop, it just says N/A. I have a feeling that something has changed with gaspricewatch.com because if you go to that website, you can't get a price unless you type in a Gas Station's pyhsical address, or zoom in on a Google map and click on one. Does anybody still have the old version or know where to get it. The developer has no contact info either apparently.
Like
Version 3.0
Vegas-Man!
17 June 2007
What about E85? its not an option
Like
Version 3.0
Rameeti
11 March 2007
Everyone who whines about how Gas did not find the cheapest gas in their area or how it did not find the brand of gas that they believe should be shown should ask themselves when was the last time that they contributed gas price information? Gas relies on its users to provide gas price data and about gas stations. If you find a lower price, update it. If you find your favorite gas station is not listed, have it added. But please don't whine about how it is not accurate if you haven't offered a price update for your favorites.
Like
Version 3.0
Koodough
28 February 2007
I love this program but when I moved to St.Louis I wasn't able to find my gas station on gravouis rd with the area code of 63128.
Like
Version 3.0
Definepatism
15 April 2006
The widget does what it does, but I'm rather disappointed that there are no third-party gas stations or even ARCO. But I think that's more of a site issue.
Like
Version 2.99
Blutoniumboy
07 March 2006
absolutely amazing. excellent job. I have no issues with it. It works as it says' it does. I love the fact that when you click the gas price, it takes' you to a map showing the exact location of the station. EXCELLENT WORK!!!
Like
Version 2.99
Ingenious1
02 March 2006
I just wanted to point out that this widget has failed to locate the lowest gas prices in my area, even if I go to the farthest amount of miles that Is allowed in the search it still dose not find the lowest gas prices and I wonder if the developer has something going on with certain gas companies and then only shows them. Yesterday I used the gas widget for regular gas price search in my area, 14613. It started out at 2.37 a gal and went up from there no matter how far I increased the search distance. I did not believe it because in my area is a mini gas-store chain that is known for being vary completive. I drove out there which is about 5 miles one way and I found the price per gal was 2.28 and now I see that I should not rely on the gas widget. I would hope you keep this in mind when you use this app too.
Like
Version 2.99
Sixtyk
27 February 2006
Don't know if it can be done... I would like to see an option that would let you restrict your results to a specific city or even state. I live in Nebraska, but my home is less than 4 miles from Iowa where gas taxes are cheaper. When I get the results, even for as small as a 5 mile radius, I get a list of Iowa gas stations and never the prices at the stations closest to me. It would help me out if there were a way to filter my results to Omaha, NE or even just Nebraska. Its the downside to living on a state line I guess. Great widget otherwise.
Like
Version 2.99
Anonymous
26 September 2005
Needs a refresh button on the front. The only way I've found to refresh the prices is to change an option. Other than that it's great!
Like
Version 2.1.1
Anonymous
06 August 2005
One of the better widgets out there. Works as advertised, good graphics and effects. Appreciate the constant attention this app gets from its developer, and the steady list of improvements as it matures. Great job and thanks.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
05 August 2005
Will this widget need a completely new version every week to keep up with changing prices? Seems that building something into the code to fetch updated information would be the easier way to go, but then again, I haven't written a program since BASIC back in college....
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
05 August 2005
Download here and at the Developer's site is version 2.0.2 and not 2.1.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
05 August 2005
Does it support Canadian cities?
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
05 August 2005
works fine for me very usefull and the developers very quick to respond if you have a problem
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
02 August 2005
Will this widget soon be updated to show Canadian gas prices?
Like
Version 2.0.2
1 answer(s)
Imawebhog
Imawebhog
04 August 2005
Probably not. The website that this iwdget gets its info from (gaspricewatch.com) only support US gas prices. I'll do some research and see if there are any websites that have prices around the world.
Like
Version 2.0.2
Lorin-Rivers
02 August 2005
Instead of complaining about how it doesn't work, I sent an email to the developer, who replied within an hour with a fix. Not only is it good looking, it's useful!
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
02 August 2005
Yup, the new version posted today works great.
Like
Version 2.0.2
Anonymous
02 August 2005
Same problem. Just spinning numbers.
Like
Version 2.0
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
02 August 2005
Hey guys. We did the best we could to avoid that, but must have missed some cases. It would be a help to everyone if you could post the settings you used in searching so I can reproduce the problem. We'll get it working flawlessly yet. Thanks. - Eben
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
02 August 2005
Here too. I just typed in my zip code, no extra settings. It found nearby stations just fine, but the numbers just spin.
Like
Version 2.0
Sig1
01 August 2005
Useless. I never get a price, just spinning numbers. Consequently the up/down arrows do nothing.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
10 July 2005
I love the concept, and I've become a spotter. But there really DOES need to be an option to only select prices updated within the last 24/48/72/96 hours or some such. I see some $1.98s listed, and no one's been below $2.10 here for a while.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
19 June 2005
until this shows the date prices were update it is USELESS everything i've looked at is so out of date it is not funny.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
19 June 2005
Make sure your next version conforms to Apple's Human Interface Guidlines. They have some great suggestions for improving your UI, as well as examples and code samples.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
02 August 2005
"Make sure your widget conforms to the UI guidelines?" Ha. The one thing I noticed about widgets is that they destroy all previous UI precedents set by Apple. No right-click support, no title bars, hidden close buttons, hardly any resizable windows, no access to Dock, little or support for standard window management shortcuts...talk about user interface inconsistency. Now users have to be aware of Apple user interface styles and behaviors for OS 9, OS X, and Dashboard. That's more user interface inconsistency in Mac OS than you see in Windows! Also, Dashboard wastes an entire Apple Cinema Display by shoving all a widget's information into a PDA-sized window. Working with Dashboard is sometimes quite frustrating.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
19 June 2005
Hey Tim... you get your mental capacity from having graduated from Junior high School and The Discourses, Comic Book edition? Don't try to alienate Americans who think differently... that's what makes this country great... unless you're cool with the KKK and Nazis...? In fact, you SHOULD read 'The Discourses' and 'The Dialogue in Hell Between Machiavelli and Montesquieu: Humanitarian Despotism and the Conditions of Modern Tyranny'- that last one's a real test of your ability to think... but you could always stick to Marvel™ Comics...
Like
Version 1.0
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
19 June 2005
Boy umaromc must have gonr to college.... get a life
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
19 June 2005
Ohhhhh, dip... made me swallow my pride! Oh man... I need to get a... oh, oh... already got a life- loser! :) Sorry my commentary was too much for your mental capacity...
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
20 June 2005
If you say it's alright for Americans to "think differently" wouldn't that make *you* cool with the KKK and Nazis then? I'd say the KKK is pretty different... Food for thought...
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
19 June 2005
I agree, what's missing is a "Last Updated: ..." thing at the bottom! Feature for 1.1, please!
Like
Version 1.0
TwisterMc
19 June 2005
I have had no issues with this widget. Does exactly what it says and looks good. A little large for me though. I'd rather see it all half the size.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
19 June 2005
My info was outdated as well... oh well, too bad.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
16 June 2005
it needs to at least have when the info was last updated-- for my area the info is uselesses out-of-date.
Like
Version 1.0pr
Anonymous
16 June 2005
Worked for me, but there was no way to reset; the "i" button did nothing; when I clicked on the various grades, nothing happened; The map took me right to the internet and the google map. So, it needs work, but it'll be handy when it is up to speed.
Like
Version 1.0pr
Anonymous
15 June 2005
I put in my zip code and nothing happens.
Like
Version 1.0pr
Anonymous
15 June 2005
the other problem is it seems to use gaspricewatch.com -- which is run by volunteers meaning the info could be wrong (by having either incomplete or out of date info)-- for instance my area's info was last updated 4/25/05 --clearly not helpful.
Like
Version 1.0pr
Anonymous
15 June 2005
like the other reviewer said, this has promise BUT it has too many bugs... i mean it's neat, but it needs lots of work still -- it just seems *very* sloppy at this point. i hope for the developer's sake that an update comes quickly.
Like
Version 1.0pr
Anonymous
15 June 2005
This has promise. I like the fact that the name and address of the station are included, as well as different grades. I won't comment on the bugs, since the developer said in his release notes that there are lots of 'em. So I'll also reserve rating it until it's ready for prime time.
Like
Version 1.0pr