Back to Jaikoz page
Jaikoz free download for Mac

Jaikoz Reviews

10.0
01 February 2019

Powerful MP4 and MP3 tag editor.

Madmacmad
17 July 2008

Most helpful

Well i had a Problem: i got more than 300 MP3 wrong Tagged... befor every ID3 Song Name was a Numer like 01 - and the Year for the Album Name. So i tried all ID3 Tools availible by Macupdate like: Dukko, Musorg, ID3 Editor, ID3Mod, a better Finder rename; iTunify, MPFreaker and Jaikoz. Jaikoz was the ONLY tool who did the Job in Batch Modus!!!! forget all other Tools ....waste of Time This is the only one you need for all Actions I#m shure afetr a few test !!!!! Don't waste your time !!! Try it i highly recommend this Tool !!!! Thank you Developer it's really worth the 30$ for this compared to the other Tools.
Like (5)
Version 2.5

Read 64 Jaikoz User Reviews

Rate this app:

mikewysocki
30 August 2018
Wav support was talked about on the forums in 2014 yet in August 2018 still not implemented. Went with Amvidia Tag Editor for the primary auto tagging and Nightbirdsevolve Meta 1.8.6 mainly for album artwork. If NB Meta adds auto tagging through MusicBrainz or other I believe that would serve my needs quite well. ADD WAV support Jaikoz
Like
Version 9.3.0
Patrick-Linehan
08 February 2017
Messed up the metadata on a bunch of albums, one or two songs on the albums would be tagged differently from the rest so that each album would be split up. I had to go back and re-tag them by hand to fix it. Probably due to bad data in the MusicBrainz database. Also couldn't identify a bunch of classical albums, even though I could find them on the web in the Discogs database.
Like
Version 9.1.0
Termi
16 December 2016
I use Jaikoz for years and it's the most complete MP3 Tagger I've ever used. I had to write a specific MP3 version to have my car's radio show all information and Jaikoz was able to do it. Its interface is not the most beautiful but its features are great. There have been no paid updates ever since so the value for buying it is really great compared to other tools which require upgrade fees for major releases (which always is in the hands of the developer to determine).
Like
Version 9.1.0
Aaron-T
06 August 2015
One of the best iTune's tamers. Fast, easy to use, accurate. Definitely 5 stars...
Like
Version 8.3.1
bzx
11 July 2015
Maybe the UI is not the most beautiful you could imagine but the app itself is always reliable. It is being updated on a regular basis and one can always count on quick and professional user support.
Like
Version 8.2.5
dts-2
10 July 2015
As a musician, I'm often sending out MP3 files of our original songs. While I can set some ID3 tag fields from Pro Tools or other audio engineering software, it does not permit me to set all of the fields I need. So I use Jaikoz, which gives me access especially to ISRC, so I can tag all demo and special request audio files, increasing the odds our song plays will be credited to us. As a creator of media, this tool is invaluable, efficient and simple to use.
Like (1)
Version 8.2.5
Lagerfeldt
23 March 2015
Use it for professional work. Constantly updated over the years, excellent personal support for buyers. Highly recommended.
Like
Version 8.2.1
tbernis
28 January 2014
Doesn't start on ML...
Like
Version 6.1.0
JayB5308
17 January 2014
Like a number of people who have left reviews, I tried a number of tagging solutions to sort through my 1TB of music that I've collected over the years, and Jaikoz is by far the very best. I'm very anal about having consistent naming for all of files, and for years applied very consistent formatting in naming/organizing my zillions of photographs. A few years ago I finally decided to apply this to my disastrous music collection before moving it into iTunes, and like I said, this app beat out all the others (and in fact was the only one that could do every single thing with the music that I wanted to). There is a bit of a learning curve with this software, but for me it was worth it because it meant I could customize ANYTHING I wanted to, and was able to name my files in a way that perfectly satisfied my severe OCD! =0) One other thing to mention is that the few times I have needed to contact Paul (the developer) with questions, he has almost always replied the same day, sometimes within the hour. Today I had a new question and he replied within 5 minutes (which prompted me to leave this review, which I had been meaning to do for a long time anyway since I love this program so much)! I highly recommend this software for anyone who like me can't stand to have a messy music collection! I realized early on this program is also amazingly useful for people who like to make music compilations (kind of like making mix tapes back in the days of cassettes for all you old-timers like me out there), as you can fully customize the tagging in the compilation and add album covers to all of the files and give your compilation a very professional feel. Very nice!
Like (1)
Version 6.1.0
Carreiro
26 December 2013
Unfortunately for me Jaikoz now is GARBAGE! There's a problem with Brazilian Portuguese and DOENS'T WORKS!!! Don't spend your money with trash!
Like
Version 6.0.7
2 answer(s)
Paul-Taylor
Paul-Taylor
07 January 2014
Sorry, what do you mean, if there is a problem let me know what it is and Im sure it can be resolved.
Like (3)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
31 August 2014
So because it "doens't works" for you, NO ONE should buy it?
I don't speak Portuguese so I don't care.

Jaikoz doesn't claim to support all languages, so that's YOUR fault for not reading the description prior to purchase. It says "Jaikoz is internationalized, currently supports English, German, Greek, Italian, and Spanish."

NO PORTUGUESE!


BTW, your spellchecker DOENS'T WORKS!!!
Like (3)
Scalvin
23 October 2013
I've downloaded music since before the golden days of Napster. I've got Mpeg 1 stuff hanging around and over 15K tracks. The high one gets in seeing each track methodically handled and nurtured by Jaikoz is out of this world. This is an awesome application. In a world where shit just doesn't work, it is so satisfying to use something that completes very complicated tasks so well and reliably. It's like a software orgasm. I don't know what else to say. Jaikoz should get some kind of award for superior function, it restores one's hope in the idea that technology can improve your life and mental health. Buy it once and then buy it twice.
Like
Version 5.6.0
I've tested most of the taggers for Mac and the one doing it all is Jaikoz. It's a complex application, so the ease of use is not that good. It took me some days testing with different settings to get the best results. The more you work with it, the more you realize how powerful Jaikoz is.
Like (1)
Version 5.4.0
1 answer(s)
Stevey-G
Stevey-G
28 August 2015
hi there. thanks for your review. could you provide me with a typical setup that you find works best for this app please? I'd find that really helpful as I am about to buy this myself or if anyone else has any recommendations for a general setup or pointers on some of the parameters?
Thanks :)
Like
KNOBO
11 July 2013
What the app can do is great (5 stars), but the app itself is not so great (3 stars). Be very careful and do things step-by-step.
Like (2)
Version 5.4.0
David29
18 January 2013
Does this allow you to edit tags & metadata for videos as well (i.e. m4v, etc.)?
Like
Version 5.0.0
1 answer(s)
Paul-Taylor
Paul-Taylor
20 January 2013
HI, no its just for audio. The reason being the tagged used in movies are very differenate, and trying to incorporate video into the same application will make an already complex piece of software even more complex.
Like (1)
oklair1
18 December 2011
When you think your iTunes library is clean... There's always a lot of ID3 junk somewhere you don't see in iTunes, until you need to import your songs into another software. Jaikoz is the tool you need if you want to clean up tags you don't need anymore and keep the good ones! Not really easy to use at first, but the more you explore it, the more you realize it can do everything you really need. Highly recommendable.
Like (2)
Version 4.5.2 N
Twisted
05 November 2011
I adopted Jaikoz many years ago and dragging files in it it’s a necessary step to maintain my iTunes. It works very well and recognize quite every MP3. Sadly it has a Java GUI so it is ugly and slow :-) It is also not easy to use: every time you need something more then press CMD+1 or CMD+5 you have to navigate in preferences or menus hard to understand. An easier way to update would be also welcomed since the fast releases cycle.
Like (1)
Version 4.5.0 N
3 answer(s)
Paul-Taylor
Paul-Taylor
09 November 2011
Thanks for your comments, you are correct that I do not have a comprehensive shortcut key mapping , this together with a fully customizable toolbar are high on the priority list. I would take issue with it being Java and therefore slow. I have finally given up using both Aperture and iTunes because of their slowness, both are native Mac applications. Jaikoz is doing alot of work behind the scenes and there are terms of service limiting the rate queries are sent to Musicbraiznz/Discogs that limits speed, but the idea is you can run Jaikoz unattended.
Like (5)
Twisted
Twisted
15 November 2011
Yes, you are right about the slowness. Maybe the experience is conditioned by the ugliness of a Java App: you know, Mac users pretend a balance between beauty and functionality :-) In an attempt to satisfy every possible user, you have sacrificed the app’s usability and ease-of-use. I’ve still to find a good alternative, but as soon a better and native App will come out, i will be the first to switch. Anyway, I like the developer is here to answer! Thank you.
Like (2)
Paul-Taylor
Paul-Taylor
15 November 2011
Hi, if you have any other particular usability issues please post them to http://www.jthink.com/jaikozforum/forums/list.page , unless I know what they are its difficult for me to address them :)
Like (3)
Corpsecorps
17 October 2011
$32?! Does it make breakfast?
Like (2)
Version 4.4.0 N
4 answer(s)
Paul-Taylor
Paul-Taylor
02 November 2011
No, but if you are trying to sort out your music collection the time Jaikoz saves you give you plenty of time to make some really nice breakfasts.
Like (7)
oklair1
oklair1
18 December 2011
Totally agree with Jthink! It saves me a lot of time!
Like (1)
FreakyTJ
FreakyTJ
17 October 2012
Complaining of the asking price shows that you have no experience programming, therefore having a lack of knowledge of the TIME it takes to create software. I encourage you to learn to program then gain a little in depth understanding what these developers have to know and deal with to bring us useful apps. Time is money and that's precisely what developing is TIME... lots of it!
Like (2)
Corpsecorps
Corpsecorps
13 November 2012
On the contrary. I have coded apps on and off since 8-bit systems were around. I still think $30 is exorbitant for a music tagger. However, I admit that THIS tagger might be worth it because it's horrendously complex... and not in a good way.
Like (1)
Acricketer1
14 September 2011
My license stopped working with the latest update. The developer couldn't have been more helpful and delivered a solution immediately. Very impressed.
Like (1)
Version 4.3.0 N
Acricketer1
09 September 2011
Paid for it about 2 years ago. Very hit and miss. Only corrects 60% of stuff. Very slow and the GUI is clumsy. Now they want more money for an improved version when the rest of us paid for below average.
Like
Version 4.3.0 N
5 answer(s)
Paul-Taylor
Paul-Taylor
13 September 2011
A Pro version has been added that contains some new features, but 99% of features are in the standard version and even if you bought Jaikoz 5 years ago you can still freely update to the latest version of Jaikoz Standard at no cost, I don't think that is a bad deal.
Like
Acricketer1
Acricketer1
13 September 2011
Sadly, I updated to the pay version merrily thinking it was a normal update. Now I am lumbered with a demo version of something I have to once again pay for.
Like (1)
Paul-Taylor
Paul-Taylor
13 September 2011
No thats incorrect, if you already have a license then you can use the latest version of Jaikoz at no extra cost. If you are having a problem with your license please email me support@jthink.net to resolve it.
Like
Acricketer1
Acricketer1
13 September 2011
I have a license and am told that I am in Demo mode for the new version Jaikoz 4.3.1 NGS and that my existing license is invalid. I wish I had kept the old version now.
Like
Paul-Taylor
Paul-Taylor
13 September 2011
Then that is a problem with the extra licensing controls brought it with 4.2.0 to combat piracy, it is nothing to do with the Pro version. But because I do not know your email address I cannot resolve this until you email me.
Like
gstephen70
22 August 2011
Great app for managing a massive music library. Still using the demo version though as $32 is a bit steep for me right now. Like anything though, you get out of it what you put into it. It's somewhat overwhelming at first, but if you take it slow, it's easy to understand and implement. Keep up the great work. And yes, the CDDB is improving regularly. Thanks, Don.
Like (2)
Version 4.2.0 N
Big Johnson
01 July 2011
This thin is wayyyy too complicated! I don't have the patience to read the entire manual and go through all the settings. I did give it a short test, but I see a big problem right from the start: There's no way to view the files side-by-side in a before/after mode. After the running the AutoCorrect function on one iTunes music folder, the Console showed there was lots of data to be edited, but since I couldn't see WHAT was going to be added or changed, I canceled and quit the app before it made a bunch of unwanted changes. I'm not about to just let it change tags on more than a thousand files without approving them file by file. Yes, that's very slow, but at least I could feel comfortable in knowing the changes were positive. Hard to believe that with the ton of features this has, there's no preview pane.
Like (1)
Version 4.1.0 N
1 answer(s)
Paul-Taylor
Paul-Taylor
01 July 2011
Hi, there is preview, just select View/Show View Pane and the screen is split horizontally with the original info at the top. Then you can easily scan the differences for multiple songs as you wish. And Jaikoz doesnt automatically save any changes until you ask it for the reasons you give. There are lots of options in Jaikoz to help customers with their particular way of doing things. But 90% of customers just click Autcorrect, Review Changes, Save Changes.
Like (1)
Pantone
28 February 2011
This app is awesome for doing bulk id3 changes and corrections. The only complaint I have is that the database for music titles, names, etc. is not consistent; but, thankfully this is getting better over time. It is much more accurate labeling songs than it was 6 months ago. Definitely worth the money imo.
Like
Version 3.9.1
jpl373
15 January 2011
Free lifetime updates. Responsive developer. The best for getting into the guts of the music tagging system, including lyrics and album covers. One caveat: understanding the tagging system is not difficult, but if you want something with a simplified user interface, where you don't have to understand what's happening with the tagging system, then this is probably not for you. but try it anyway.
Like
Version 3.8.3
1 answer(s)
Acricketer1
Acricketer1
09 September 2011
Free lifetime updates?
Like
Trashie
15 January 2011
Slow as all Java apps are that are this size (oh how I hate Java but there is no other way to be platform this easily). As the author wants multiplatform so be it Java. That is the bad bit about this app it is S....L....O....W.... You should have seen it earlier in it's life cycle LOL compared then it is like a rocket now. I agree interface sucks but this is because of Java and the framework in use. Good bits are it's the BEST auto tagger on OSX I have used. So all the above SO WHAT you just load up a directory packed with tracks and let it do it's magic. It is not 100% but it is way above 95% in my experience. So all you do it clean the 5% by hand. So you dave 95% of tagging time with this app. Just run it when you going out or sleeping. If you want a hand tagger don;t bother with this it is way to slow for that and lacks a lot of "hand" features. But if you want auto tagging then go for this for sure. I have tagged thousands of tracks with it. Great app but it will never be your only tagging app.
Like (1)
Version 3.8.3
jmwbowen
01 January 2011
Here's my take: I own a license to SongGenie and I thought I'd give Jaikoz a try to compare the two programs. I listen to mostly mainstream type music that should be easily identified by programs like these, and SongGenie was more accurate and filled in more missing metadata than Jaikoz. Not to say that Jaikoz is bad at it, but it's nothing to write home about. But the BIGGEST downfall of Jaikoz compared to more polished programs like SongGenie is the interface: ITS HORRIBLE. It follows NONE of Apple's User Experience guidelines, is slow to start up and quit, and is generally unappealing. You could have the most powerful program in the world, but it doesn't do much good if its too complicated for the average person to use. In contrast, SongGenie is beautiful, with a well-thought-out interface, and easy to learn.
Like
Version 3.8.3
Frank-van-Son
20 November 2010
In 3.8.2 the editing of album art is broken: when changing it shows correctly in the list of MP3's, but the illustration on the track info in the lower half of the screen shows a broken image. In iTunes, no album art is shown. I have gone back to 3.7.1 and there it works like a charm. For the rest a good app ... using it for some years already.
Like
Version 3.8.2
2 answer(s)
Paul-Taylor
Paul-Taylor
25 November 2010
Hi, artwork problems have been resolved in version 3.8.3
Like
Version 3.8.3
Frank-van-Son
Frank-van-Son
15 January 2011
In 3.8.3 I keep on having issues with adding album art to tracks, everytime generating a CD with yellow exclamation mark in the preview pane at the bottom. In iTunes it works flawless, but that is not the reason why I brought this software ;) Shall I e-mail you an example of mp3 and album art to check?
Like
Lee123
28 October 2010
FYI, the check for updates feature on 3.8 (1083) is not catching this update. Maybe it is still in the pipeline.
Like
Version 3.8.1
1 answer(s)
Paul-Taylor
Paul-Taylor
29 October 2010
Yes, there was a delay in turning on this switch, its now been done.
Like
Version 3.8.1
Smitty078
05 October 2010
Definitely finds the most accurate tag information out of all the apps that I could find, but without iTunes library information it is fairly useless to me.
Like
Version 3.8.0
5 answer(s)
Paul-Taylor
Paul-Taylor
05 October 2010
Hi, what do you mean 'iTunes Library Information' , Jaikoz can inform iTunes of songs that have been modified, added or deleted from the iTunes library.
Like
Version 3.8.0
Smitty078
Smitty078
05 October 2010
I mean that I want it to display my itunes library in the app for purposes of editing. The only way I could figure out to edit info would be to locate the song files in the finder and drag them into Jaikoz for editing. I tried to use the "add playlist" feature but it does not accept the .txt files that itunes generates when using "export playlist."
Like
Version 3.8.0
Paul-Taylor
Paul-Taylor
05 October 2010
Hi you can actually drag files direct from iTunes to Jaikoz (although unfortunately it is a little slow because of a bug in iTunes). But you are right that only m3u playlists are supported at the moment, although there are tools to convert iTunes playlist to m3u such as http://www.ericdaugherty.com/dev/itunesexport/
Like
Version 3.8.0
Smitty078
Smitty078
05 October 2010
I wasn't able to drag files directly from iTunes to Jaikoz when I first tried. I have tried again and it does work. I think perhaps I expected it to be faster the first time around. Good to know. Thank you! That being said I would still like to see closer iTunes integration (specifically songs and playlists listed right in Jaikoz), but this is a very good alternative for now.
Like
Version 3.8.0
Paul-Taylor
Paul-Taylor
11 October 2010
Update, iTunes 10 now includes support for saving playlist as m3u playlists s they can be loaded into Jaikoz http://jaikoz.blogspot.com/2010/10/itunes-can-now-export-m3u-playlists.html
Like
Version 3.8.0
Schwarz
09 September 2010
FLAMINBANANA is wrong, their free trial does have limitations. There's no README with the app that tells you so, nor any other indications (warnings on launch or even anything in the EULA that I can find), but it will bite you in the end. The trial will let you add and manipulate thousands of files to your heart's content (I waited 6 hours for it to run the "Auto Correct" feature on my library, not to mention a few hundred by-hand corrections), but then once you're done it will suddenly inform you it will only save all that data for 20 of the files. What a massive waste of my time. If you want to restrict the trial to 20 files at a time, that's no problem. Just do it like all the other apps do: only allow people to add 20 files. This seemed like a great app up until it decided to spring that BS on me from out of nowhere.
Like
Version 3.7.1
3 answer(s)
Paul-Taylor
Paul-Taylor
09 September 2010
Hi Schwarz You're not quite right here but you have a valid point. The Jaikoz download page does clearly state the 20 file limit http://www.jthink.net/jaikoz/jsp/download/start.jsp but it didn't occur to be that you probably wouldn't see if finding Jaikoz directly from macupdate, I shall add a warning to the program itself. The reason I let you fix as many files as you like, but only save changes to twenty files is because I don't think a potential customer can get a feel for the power & functionality of Jaikoz if they only correct a handful of files, but if I let you save all your changes there would be less incentive to actually make a purchase. Of course if after doing the correction you were pleased with the results, you could have made a purchase, installed the license and saved your remaining changes without restarting Jaikoz.
Like
Version 3.7.1
Schwarz
Schwarz
10 September 2010
"Of course if after doing the correction you were pleased with the results, you could have made a purchase, installed the license and saved your remaining changes without restarting Jaikoz." Unfortunately, this was not true. Because it's not obvious you have to "save" after editing (ie. iTunes just commits the changes immediately), when I was done I simply quit Jaikoz. At that point, a dialog popped up to say I should save. Not a problem, except that when I hit the box's "save" button, it starts saving, then suddenly when it hits 20 informs me of the limit and promptly finishes quitting (really there's barely even time to read that final message). I appreciate your quick response though.
Like
Version 3.7.1
Paul-Taylor
Paul-Taylor
10 September 2010
Ah that's unfortunate, I'll get that sorted. BTW Jaikoz doesn't save changes automatically simply because I feel you should stay in control of your music and have the chance to review potential changes
Like
Version 3.7.1
Flaminbanana
26 August 2010
My music library has grown quite large so having accurate ID3 tags is critical. I have tried several products with varying success. MediaMonkey, MusicMatch, iTunes all have their areas of strength, however, Jaikoz is simply the best ID3 tagger/editor on the market. The app is as simple to use as you want it to be with several automated functions, however you can also drill down and customize your tagging to the finest detail. I have been a customer for over a year and have received several free updates as promised by the developer and each one introduces more features and an even stronger product. Don't just take my word for it, try their free trial with no limitations for yourself. You won't be disappointed!
Like
Version 3.7.1
Johnas34
31 July 2010
This is the best audio tagger I have used on any platform. I used this to tag my huge music collection quickly and with great results. Since I bought this a few months ago the developer has already added some very good new features.
Like
Version 3.7.0
Caiuspetronius
31 July 2010
Jaikoz 3.7.0 doesn't launch. (3.6.0 does). Tried to trash prefs folder, but it didn't help. (OS X 10.5.6)
Like
Version 3.7.0
1 answer(s)
Paul-Taylor
Paul-Taylor
31 July 2010
Please post a question on the forum at http://www.jthink.net/jaikozforum so I can resolve this issue for you
Like
Version 3.7.0
Ozzy85
30 April 2010
If you're at all looking for a music ID3 editor/tagger please look no further. I seriously was in search for the longest time for this application, and wish it was around when I was first started to tag my library. I got extremely feed up, and simply thought I'd try this application out. I got exactly what I wanted!!!! Automatic tagging. Very quick updating. 1000x quicker than using iTune's mass update. Updates come a dime a dozen, adding more and more features. Paul the developer is extremely committed in making it the best app around, all what you have to do is tell him what you want. I can't think of any cons, besides the fact that it's not popular enough. A must have for those importing massive amounts of music on a regular basis with need of them being tag clean! -OzZY
Like
Version 3.5.1
KatNova
14 April 2010
Crashes on startup: "4/13/10 8:21:25 PM [0x0-0x62062].com.jthink.jaikoz[1075] Caused by: ERROR 42X05: Table/View 'ARTWORK' does not exist."
Like (1)
Version 3.5.1
2 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
14 April 2010
You should contact the developer directly: support AT jthink DOT net
Like
Version 3.5.1
Paul-Taylor
Paul-Taylor
14 April 2010
This can occasionally happen upon upgrade, solution is Issue 1 at http://www.jaikoz.net/jaikozforum/posts/list/1246.page
Like
Version 3.5.1
Seth-Price
01 April 2010
I'll be upfront; I have 149,648 music tracks in iTunes at the moment. (I'm one of *those* people.) I don't have the time or energy to go through one track at a time, or even an album at a time, and manage my music. Finding a program I can load my collection into is even a bit epic. So I use Jaikoz to do it for me. I can think of new features that I would like, and the interface isn't the best, but it is the best program I've found for managing my music. With one click, it is set up to label unlabeled tracks, delete any duplicates, add missing information, hunt down lyrics & album art, and generally make my collection shine. I use the log files to root out any corrupted music files for me to delete. With so many music files from so many sources, you can guess it's like a minefield for a program to process. I'm pleased to report that Jaikoz handles most of my files fine, and when it chokes I've worked with the developer to fix the bug. And Paul makes new releases regularly. So, in summary, Jaikoz isn't a perfect program, but it's best-in-class.
Like (2)
Version 3.5.0
rosgr63
01 April 2010
Great application, I've been using it for sometime now and I am really pleased with it.
Like
Version 3.5.0
nanoamp
31 March 2010
Over the years I've ripped my CD collection into a 15,000 track MP3/FLAC music library with the usual mix of tagging quality you get from iTunes/CDDB (i.e. an awful lot of rubbish). I bought Jaikoz as it offered tag management tools which seemed to have no equal. There are more 'Mac-like' apps with slicker front-ends, but with that, they hide the complexity. And it's the complexity that you need to access if you want to do tagging justice. It takes time and effort but Jaikoz has a wide range of automation actions, library tools to help, enormous customisation, and a straightforwardly utilitarian user interface. Good value, regular developer updates, and a free trial to give you a chance to test its power. Try it on a couple of badly tagged albums. You may find that some things don't suit your personal preferences 'out of the box', but you should see the difference, and can be confident that Jaikoz has the power.
Like (2)
Version 3.5.0
DrCsirke
30 March 2010
I was in the market for this class of app, and was going to buy Song Genie 2, but some of the reviews dinging Equinux as a company made me buy this product instead. I was very dissatisfied with Jaikoz-- it tagged a lot of things incorrectly, and the interface was painful to look at and use. In the end, I decided to go with my gut and get Song Genie 2, like I had originally intended, and despite having to purchase them both, I am now happy because SG2 did a fantastic job tagging, and the interface made it much easier/more pleasant to fine tune the things it didn't get perfectly.
Like (1)
Version 3.5.0
Slyooney
26 March 2010
I bought It on January with the project to reorganize a +100000 files Music Library. I decided to use a "musicbrainz' based audio tagger as the database is far more accurate than CDDB. My work is 60%/70% done so far by now so I pretend to be an active user. The app is working great and is nearly perfect to me. The minor points : Here are 2 features that should realy be implemented in a futur version : - Horizontal scrolling with the mouse to easily navigate on large edit views - The "file and folder" correct filters should be placed on the main window (a shortcut?) and It misses few features like a correct tag from 'artist' field (for exemple) using specific filters Option (%title% - %artist% for exemple... I hope you understand what I mean... On the same way, I have problems with the rename tag from file function : It doesnt work with specific signs entries (like a simple ' - ') Nota - These simple functions can be found on the main competitors under windows so benchmarking is easy to achieve. Cheers and thanks again for this really useful piece of cake!
Like (1)
Version 3.5.0
Kiwibri
04 February 2010
I purchased this a while back and have been happy with it. Initially I thought the price was pricey as it converted to around $CAD30 - but the author has provided updates over the past couple years very often and the application does save me some time. I use it mainly to add the CoverArt embedded to my mp3 files and to rename my mp3 files based on what my tags have in them. Yes, it does not look the best front end (Especially on the Mac) when you are used to rich looking applications, but it seems to do its job well.
Like
Version 3.4.4
Theswede
26 January 2010
Truly a great app. It helped my extremely large collection of Apple Lossless files in perfect condition.
Like
Version 3.4.2
Elvis-p
06 January 2010
I bought Jaikoz with the hope of having a on-in-all program for tagging & renaming music. Unfortunately, the software turned out to be quite a disappointment. Starting wih the least important complaints, it's ulgy and painfully slow. But first and foremost: the musicbrainz query often does not work at all. What I mean by this is that many CDs are being perfectly recognized & tagged by iTunes within seconds while at the same time Jaikoz nearly hangs the computer for 2 minutes and comes out with nothing. And if it even does from time to time, the tracks from a single album are being treated separately and often one ends up in a total tag-hell.
Like
Version 3.4.2
1 answer(s)
Paul-Taylor
Paul-Taylor
11 January 2010
I'm very suprised you are having such problems, if you post some examples on the Jaikoz support forums or post your Jaioz logs we should be able to work out the problem. Jaikoz can be slow at time, but it designed so that you can leave it unattended and run it at a suitable time. But comparing a CD lookup when burning a physical CD with looking up tracks that have already been encoded is unfair because with a CD the program can lookup Disc Ids, iTunes cannot lookup song details at all without the original CD. Jaikoz helps when trying to tag songs without requring the original CD, it also gets information for many more fields than is retrieved from a Cd lookup.
Like
Version 3.4.2
Lounge-Deluxe
20 December 2009
I tried Jaikoz and had it look for missing tag info of a compilation cd containing 13 songs. My iTunes lib was empty but for this cd. I looked up the correct album title on Discogs first and entered this in the Album field for these songs, and then let Jaikoz try to add the missing tag info (titles, artists and track numbers). Besides Jaikoz only iTunes ran and Safari with just a gmail tab. The search made the temperature of my MBP rise to 90C(!) and all fans started to run at max rpm. The search took more than 5 minutes, and the result was nothing could be found (despite the Album title matching the one in Discogs). YMMV of course, but I was pretty disappointed and moved on. BTW I also tried using Media Rage for adding missing tag info for this and other cd's but had no luck there either (the info that did got found made no sense at all).
Like
Version 3.4.2
1 answer(s)
Paul-Taylor
Paul-Taylor
21 December 2009
Hmm, never had problem like this reported before I think if you could send me your support files (Advancd/Create SUpport Files) I could take a look because this is definently not normal behaviour for Jaikoz.
Like
Version 3.4.2
Ilfanciulloardito
28 November 2009
Essential app to tag your music on Mac. You need it.
Like
Version 3.3.4
Justin-Bracken
14 November 2009
I really wanted a piece of software to properly label the songs I had ripped awhile ago. My first mp3 players did not read the meta tags so when I ripped them there was not much point to label the song more than a quick label on the folder the file was in. Now with itunes and the iphone having album art and proper meta tags makes a big difference. I tried tuneup, song genie, and song sergeant. Song sergeant from what I can tell does not do anything with identifying a song from acoustic fingerprint or acoustic id. tuneup and song genie look like good programs except they are ~$10 more per license. As far as licensing jaikoz goes it was a snap. Even when you include the fact that I had a paypal account but had never used it purchasing anything in the mix licensing the software was a simple and quick. Yeah for instant gratification. You don't need to license it as the software will do 20 corrections per launch so going beyond that requires only a restart of the software but for $25 or what ever it cost the software is well worth the price. Heck breakfast was more than this, this morning! Plus this includes all updates if I remember correctly so thats a plus I do not think the others included that. As far as features go this program has more than you probably know about, need, or want to use. It has automagic mode for those less picky about their audio collection and just want a proper label put on them with album art. To detailed mode where you can mess with the algorithms parameters used to choose the id3 tag. You can set it so that it chooses id3 tags which result in fewer separate albums. For instance if you have a song that was released on multiple albums like a hit album and the original album and also have other songs that are in a similar situation it can be set to tag the songs such that they are from the hit album so instead of 10 songs on 10 albums you have 10 songs on one album. It will even tell you what songs you are missing from the album. It does the duplicate search thing to althought I haven't messed with that. The software was simple to use. Just add files from your disk and then tell it to automatically scan and correct. However the ui is not what I expect on a mac. Not to say that its bad but a user who is used to mainstream software will find it slightly less usable until they use it and get used to it. I think you will like the choices made once you are use to it. The user manual: http://www.jthink.net/jaikoz/jsp/help/osx/frames.html is great except the author either has english as second language or used a software translator so there are some word order problems. As far as value, its cheaper than the competition I looked at, arguably has more features, and includes all updates. Plus free support by email. Enough said! Stability, has not crashed yet. My recommendation, buy it or at least review the manual before you buy something else.
Like (1)
Version 3.3.4
Thunder82
04 September 2009
Jaikoz is the best tag editor out there. I have tried many others including SongGenie/Coverscout, and Jaikoz is still the software that I find myself using the most. It has been 100% stable for me, even when i throw a few hundred songs at it. Those mentioning that SongGenie & Coverscout are better obviously don't need their software to do much. Sure these other programs have a nice interface (honestly, much nicer than Jaikoz) but their functionality is SO limited. Given the price tag (especially compared to the Equinux equivalents) Jaikoz is awesome. The only improvements I'd like to see, would be a more "fluid" interface for OSX users and better handling of song lyrics. Pulling lyrics from the web is awesome, but I don't feel I'm able to properly manipulate the lyrics field. Being able to create paragraphs and separate the chorus from the rest of the song is important to me. Also, it would be amazing if there were an option to automatically delete the web link that gets added to the beginning of the lyrics added to each track. Overall, Jaikoz is extremely feature rich and very stable. I'm very happy with my purchase.
Like (1)
Version 3.2.2
1 answer(s)
Paul-Taylor
Paul-Taylor
06 September 2009
If you have specific ideas about making the interface more fluid please post them to the Jaikoz forums at http://www.jthink.net/jaikozforum/forums/list.page. The web link will be in its own seperate field in the next release.
Like
Version 3.2.2
Sunchaser21
19 August 2009
Great app, except that on leopard 10,5.8 it seems that when i add or drop 30 files plus, MP3 files on the desktop icon, it ALWAYS CRASHES.. every single time.. then one problem bigger when I am editing about 20 files in one window and I do search and replace the name.. for example. Mike, with the name MIKEY.. it will replace most of the text but everytime i try it, it will always miss 1 -4 songs and leave them blank.. Would love for the dev. TO try to help me with this problem. have emailed them 2 times with no answer.. Hum bad support. i SURE HOPE NOT.. i would love for this app to work great.. ANYONE LOOKING FOR SOMETHING DIFFERENT.. try ..COVERSCOUT.. and IGENIE.. the best. but cost $$ And i already paid of this. but be sure to check them out. they are great.. as in perfect.. hope this helps someone.
Like
Version 3.2.2
2 answer(s)
Paul-Taylor
Paul-Taylor
20 August 2009
Hey Sunchaser21 What email address are you sending your support request to, because I haven't received any emails about these problems. You should post to support at jthink dot net , and you should include your logs using the Advanced/Create Support Files option. You can also post questions to the forum http://www.jthink.net/jaikozforum/forums/list.page. Have a browse and you'll find many customers very happy with my support
Like
Version 3.2.2
Greg-middleton-gmail-com
Greg-middleton-gmail-com
25 August 2009
I've been running Jaikoz on several versions and haven't experienced this. I've also seen good support for problems I did report, often being fixed quickly in the next iteration. I encourage you to follow up with Paul's reply if you haven't already.
Like
Version 3.2.2
Aikousha
18 August 2009
Looks impressive. Unfortuately doesn't fit my needs. I need software that will properly fill Catalog Numbers (since ALL my music is from CDs I own, and need to reference if the track is used), as well as allowing at least two custom fields which are not represented in the massive collection of tags in the prefs. And, why, on a Dual 2.5Ghz, does it take nearly a minute to start the program?
Like
Version 3.2.1
2 answer(s)
Paul-Taylor
Paul-Taylor
19 August 2009
Hi, what do you mean 'Properly fill in catalog nos', catalogs numbers are entered when song matched to Musicbrainz and catalogno available in Musicbrainz. You are correct there is not an option for custom fields, this should be added, although some other customers take advantage of existing fields for storing additional info. The slow startup time will be addressed when java 6 becomes the default on the Mac.
Like
Version 3.2.1
Koibito-San
Koibito-San
31 August 2009
Great to hear on the speed issue. I guess the catalog number issue is that somebody has to add them to MusicBrainz... but I'm getting a 100% failure rate. I'm guessing most people don't care, as they are just downloading (or uploading) illegally and never get the catalog numbers anyway. Thanks... and cheers!
Like
Version 3.2.2
Blaine-J-Marsh
21 July 2009
This is a terrific program - and the price! Originally, I was looking to get tag info from the filenames of about 700 flac files. What I found was a program that had features that I hadn't even considered. I was able to make short work of tagging hundreds of files that had only the song title in the filename. I was able get the song titles into the tags, easily add artist, album title, artwork, download lyrics, identify songs with Musicbrainz - all on a batch of files. Editing includes copy, paste, search and replace, strip wide spaces, strip spaces, correct spelling, capitalization - just way too many things to list. I suggest that you download a trial copy for free that allows tagging up to 20 files in one session. I used it once and was convinced that it was a bargain at 15 British Pounds.
Like
Version 3.1
1charmedlife
19 January 2009
This is a great tool for managing large collections and their associated metadata. We have over 26,000 songs in our library and this did a great job allowing us to manage the tags. The only drawback I've had with it is that it seems to embed multiple versions of album artwork with the files. It would also be really helpful to be able to tell the software to *not* fetch artwork under a certain size. (It stinks to have an awesome interface up on a big flat screen, and it's scaling 112x112 images up to fill a 50" screen... and weeding those all out by hand takes forever). End to end though, this a great software and I highly recommend buying it if you have a large collection to manage. (One other note, with really large collections, you have to process them in chunks unless you have tons of RAM. We have 4gb on the machine we used for this, and we could still only process around 10,000 songs in one batch... )
Like (2)
Version 2.8.1
4 answer(s)
Paul-Taylor
Paul-Taylor
19 January 2009
Hi, thanks for the review. Wrt to batch updating if you have plenty of physical memory you can change the memory allocation as described in the help manual in order to process the files. By default is Jaikoz is only allocated 400mb which can limit how many files can be processed but you can increase this.
Like
Version 2.8.1
1charmedlife
1charmedlife
21 January 2009
Hi Paul - did that, upped it to 2gb of memory. Still not enough to really handle that many songs:) Doesn't stop it from being *great* software! Thanks!
Like
Version 2.8.1
Paul-Taylor
Paul-Taylor
06 February 2009
Hi, you maybe hitting this problem with permanent memory: http://www.jthink.net/jaikozforum/posts/list/776.page I am looking at a number of ways of reducing memory usage.
Like
Version 2.8.1
Ladyships
Ladyships
16 July 2009
RE: multiple album art & filesize of images fetched— Did you set your album art preferences (Preferences » Local Correct » Artwork Correct)? You can designate “1” as the maximum number of images to add automatically to a file, & specify the max size of images to be added from MusicBrainz... ...or are you describing a bug that ignores whatever you set in that preference tab...?
Like
Version 3.1