Back to Sudoku Susser page
Sudoku Susser free download for Mac

Sudoku Susser Reviews

2.5.8
29 March 2008

Helps solve Sudoku puzzles.

Anonymous
05 June 2005

Most helpful

It just so great a tool!
Like
Version 0.9.1beta

Read 19 Sudoku Susser User Reviews

Rate this app:

Dee4
07 February 2015
This is a really great program and I am surprised at how well it still performs even on OS X 10.10. It is an excellent tutorial with visual examples of each kind of strategy. In addition, it has a guide for children. I highly recommend it.
Like
Version 2.5.8
Corpsecorps
08 June 2009
While i'm solving fewer sudokus these days, i'm really glad the application is still kept up to date.
Like
Version 2.5.8
I am an early adopter, and donator. This program is stunning.
Like
Version 2.5.8
Corpsecorps
13 February 2006
Was great, but the new 2.5.x UI and additional features are a huge improvement, nevertheless!
Like
Version 2.5.2
Corpsecorps
26 January 2006
Not only the greatest example of RealBasic programming i've seen, Sudoku Susser is one of the best pieces of software PERIOD! The range of hints, helps, and learning aids would make it a great sudoku puzzle package alone. The addition of its vast array of keyboard shortcuts, clever UI elements; its puzzle import/export features from websites and files, and most AMAZING, it's OCR and web graphical puzzle IMPORT features make it REALLY exceptional! Being able to drop a screenshot or scan of a puzzle from almost anywhere onto the window and in minutes (even on my slow 733 MHz G4) have a completely entered and validity checked puzzle ready to play and save is the type of feature thats far beyond the usual scope of this sort of software and makes it absolutely top-notch! While a cocoa interface would be cool, it's easy to overlook, especially at THIS bargain price! The word here is: SUPERIOR
Like
Version 2.1.3
Sjha
31 December 2005
The developer deserves a medal as well as five stars for creating this superb programme - it is a must-have for all Sudoku enthusiasts
Like
Version 2.1.1
Chase Colman
29 November 2005
Absolutely the best RealBasic application I have ever seen :) Thanks for creating this wonderful program, it really does come in handy.
Like
Version 2.0.8
Anonymous
12 November 2005
This is what it claims (and not what many of the detractors seem to think)- a tool to solve the puzzles. It has tools to do the same reductions you probably have been doing yourself. I like it because most other programs don't let me make all the notes I'd scratch on paper, whereas this one draws them- without the mess of having to erase on them on paper. It also takes the tedium out of solving. While I enjoy the real headwork of working out the puzzles (if I didn't, I wouldn't do them), I'd rather hit 'M' a few times and save me the bother of doing something that automatic manually. While I have had a lot of trouble with the program hanging while importing puzzles, the sheer omnivorous nature of its importer is nothing short of jawdropping. It'll OCR a screen grab, for pete's sake! (The window is also scalable, which is nice for my super hi-res screen here. Too many programs are tiny little specks on this thing.) If you're looking for a tool (and a manual) to really improve your solving abilities and understanding, look no further, you're home.
Like
Version 2.0.6
Abby
20 October 2005
You should make more books of suduko puzzle books more often Email me at cooollley@hotmail.com From abby
Like
Version 2.0.3
Anonymous
18 July 2005
Seems to be the best of the five Mac Sudoku programs I've found. It is useful even if you consider computer aid in solving the puzzle "cheating" - it has very nice features for fetching puzzles from the web, printing out a nice copy for you to work on, and add you notes, and posting or saving your solutions as text and graphics. It also has an extensive explanation of ten types of common pattern to look for in solving puzzles, and will illustrate them for you, so it is a good tool to teach you how to solve puzzles on your own. The niftiest feature is that you can drag and drop graphical Suduko diagrams (from the web, generally) and it will actually recognize the numbers and read them in! When you are on the web, you can just tell the program what difficulty puzzle you want, and it will automatically download as many as you want from a puzzle server. Highly recommended. Limitations: it will not create Suduko puzzles on its own. MacSudoku is the only one I found that would.
Like
Version 1.1.8
Richard Burt
03 July 2005
Great little program but why can't I go into the 'preferences' settings?
Like
Version 1.1.5
1 answer(s)
Robert Woodhead, Inc.
Robert Woodhead, Inc.
03 August 2005
There are no "preferences" to go into. If you make changes to your settings (in the various menus and pulldowns) they get recorded when you quit and everything will restore to that state when you restart. No need for a seperate preferences menu!
Like
Version 1.2.4
Anonymous
16 June 2005
Amazing tool! Unbelievable!
Like
Version 1.0.3
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
07 November 2005
Is it insanely great?
Like
Version 2.0.6
Anonymous
13 June 2005
1) I always enjoy a lively debate. 2) I still don't think it defeats the purpose of the puzzles or of solving them 'on your own', per say. In it's simplest form, it is a tool, which aids in the solving of the puzzles. It does not simply solve them for you (while that is an option). And this is not some sort of 'weak' excuse. 3) There are levels of difficulty inherent to most any logic puzzle of this sort: the less information revealed, the harder the puzzle can be to solve. It is nonetheless solvable, but may require more leaps of the imagination or the use of brute force logic. So, if you can do it all in your head, I commend you. I, personally can't. Yet, I have always loved logic puzzles and Sudoku, by far, fits the bill. And, to me, being able to work out the puzzle on a computer, in the same manner I would on a piece of paper, is a very nice alternative. Now, that' s just me & maybe I spend too much time with my iBook, but simply because I solve the thing on a computer vs. a piece of paper hardly amounts to defeating the purpose of solving the puzzle via my own mind via the use of logic. I'm still doing all the work, trust me. I'm not one to cheat and would much rather leave a puzzle unfinished, then 'forcefully' solved. 4) Yes, I am relatively new to Sudoku and, possibly, as I continue to solve them I will find such software as this pointless or come to agree that it is a means by which I am 'defeating the purpose' of the puzzle. But, until then, I will support it.
Like
Version 0.9.9
Anonymous
13 June 2005
why does this app try to phone home? i can't find any prefs where it says "Automatically check for updates" ?
Like
Version 0.9.9
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 June 2005
I think a better question is "Why are people so paranoid about this?"
Like
Version 1.0.4
Anonymous
Anonymous
07 July 2005
I disagree. People *Should* worry about apps phoning home. Privacy is a key concern, nobody wants their usage of software to be tracked.
Like
Version 1.1.6
Robert Woodhead
Robert Woodhead
03 August 2005
The app phones home on launch to determine if a new version is available, and display info about it if so. Given the fact that I'm releasing several new versions a week, that's usually a good thing. It doesn't send any user info, just fetches a "macpad" file (the standard application definition file that sites like MacUpdate query to find out about new versions. What it does is fully disclosed in the manual, and you can hold down a key to disable the check if you want to.
Like
Version 1.2.4
Anonymous
12 June 2005
Looks like someone overstepped their bandwidth limit... Seeing as I can't download it, I'll just comment that yes, it *does* defeat the purpose. That's the whole point. Trying to claim that it's an aid to solving the puzzles or that it saves paper is weak. Come on: if you're struggling with sudoku, maybe you should try something simpler, like seppuko. Why does this program exist then? Perhaps because it takes longer than ten minutes to solve...
Like
Version 0.9.8
Anonymous
09 June 2005
It does not defeat the purpose. I use it for the daily daily mail sudoku by dragging and dropping the image on the application window. After-which, I do a one step deduce that eliminates all the 'only 1 option for this cell', after-which I use my own logic (tends to be 'only only position for this number in this row' or this column, or this box). Dale
Like
Version 0.9.6
Anonymous
06 June 2005
While I haven't used the program yet, (via it's description) I'd have to day it doesn't "defeat the purpose". At the very least, it saves paper by providing a virtual means by which to attempt possible solutions. Now, the use of 'brute force' to solve a puzzle does defeat the purpose, but that's up to the individual user. That said, I think this is a great idea and something that the Mac environment needed.
Like
Version 0.9.4
Anonymous
06 June 2005
Doesn't it kind of defeat the purpose, though? ;-)
Like
Version 0.9.1beta
Anonymous
05 June 2005
It just so great a tool!
Like
Version 0.9.1beta