Back to SIMBL page
SIMBL free download for Mac

SIMBL Reviews

0.9.9
29 January 2011

Enabler for apps like PithHelmet.

Thmghtd
11 September 2009

Most helpful

I've been actively using SIMBL for years and consider it completely indispensable. After reading SHK747's one-star drive-by, though, I realize I've been taking it for granted. Big time. So here's my stupid opinion. I love SIMBL. I love it so much I probably love the developer, Mike Solomon, too, in some kind of cool, appreciative way. Honestly. As you wade through the catalog of system hacks out there, each trying to improve your computer life one way or another, it's not long before you realize: The difference between a hack and a solution is staggering. Some hacks out there are worth considering, for sure, even when their side effects create a whole new monster (I'm looking at you, APE -- don't act shocked). But over the years, as the OS overhauls have come and gone and we've seen even minor updates give developers major problems, SIMBL has become more useful. Not less. That's not some small thing. What SIMBL does for developers and end-users alike is simply awesome. So maybe now's a good time for a little rallying behind the (depressingly few) developers like Mike who make our stupid worlds go 'round. Or at the very least, how about a little perspective. To SHK747: You're frustrated or hitting a wall somewhere or something. I get it, guy. But with a whopping 11 posts/reviews/comments prior to yours -- that's 11, total, over 4 years -- and with only 2 of those having ratings (really. two.), it seems like maybe there's a large enough appreciation/acknowledgment deficit without casually driving the stats down. Don't get me wrong: I love the democratic process. And the loyal opposition will always be instrumental in figuring out the kinks. But being a curmudgeon just doesn't seem quite so... productive. I don't know. Maybe you really hate SIMBL now. I'm just thinking... maybe it's Big Picture time. Maybe yours will be the star heard 'round the world, and everyone who makes use of software like SIMBL -- all the people getting by with the help of other people -- will band together and represent, truly, the opinions of the majority. The grateful, satisfied majority. Anyway. I love SIMBL. Thanks Mike. A lot. Note: Even though I mention SHK747's comment, I feel like it's largely a review of SIMBL (and maybe an allegory for freedom, I'm not sure), so I'm posting it as its own thing.
Like (8)
Version 0.9.4b

Read 46 SIMBL User Reviews

Rate this app:

Niku1000
27 November 2017
I couldn't open cDock. When I typed "carutil disable" into Terminal in accordance with the instructions, I was told that that code couldn't be found, or something to that effect.
Like
Version 0.9.9
1 answer(s)
Niku1000
Niku1000
27 November 2017
I'd delete this if I could. I WAS able to open it when I used the right code: csrutil disable.
Like
Leesa
10 May 2016
Something New. Haven't tested it yet. https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/56755/mysimbl
Like
Version 0.9.9
2 answer(s)
MacFangio
MacFangio
06 December 2016
mySIMBL works like a charm in Sierra & El Capitan.
Like
Leesa
Leesa
20 June 2017
Works great in Sierra!
Like
Big Johnson
04 July 2015
I hope you read this, Mike. I used the link on the SIMBL page to get your address emailed to me. When I replied it was returned as a delivery failure. Ever wonder why you don't get any SIMBL email? So here's my message: Just a tip: You should include a text file with downloads detailing where to install the plugin. And put that in the description on MacUpdate. Not everyone has a SIMBL folder to start with. I do but couldn't remember where it was (Spotlight's too stupid to find it, but EasyFind could have). Although I'd read something about placing it in the root library for sandboxed apps, I don't have a SIMBL folder there, mine is only in the user library. I was hesitant to install it on my fresh install of Yosemite, but haven't encountered any issues yet from running cDock. I just placed SafariStand in there, so I'll see how it goes.
Like
Version 0.9.9
2 answer(s)
Leesa
Leesa
10 May 2016
How'd it go?

Something New. Haven't tested it yet.

https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/56755/mysimbl
Like
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
11 May 2016
It's been working fine - no issues.

I'm now running cDock 0.11.2 on El Capitan (10.11.4).
Like
Albabe
03 July 2015
If your EasySIMBL or SIMBL died after the latest Apple Security Update, check out the EasySIMBL page here at MacUpdate for Instructions on how to get it all back up!
Like (1)
Version 0.9.9
Albabe
30 June 2015
Doesn't seem to be working with today's Security Update!
Like
Version 0.9.9
F451
13 July 2012
If you want to use SIMBL in Lion you can use EasySIMBL: https://github.com/norio-nomura/EasySIMBL/downloads
Like (4)
Version 0.9.9
3 answer(s)
Tipp-Flo
Tipp-Flo
16 July 2012
Great! Looks like this is the solution for some problems I had with SIMBL. No more crash-on-startup log files in console. Simply drag the app into the Applications Folder, move your SIMBL folder from within »/Library/Application Support« to the one in your user account, start the app. You can then delete SIMBL.osax in »/Library/ScriptingAdditions«. It does not work though here, if you log-out and in again. You have to erstarrt. - EasySIMBL 1.1.1 You get the read-me file only if you download the source if you press the button »Download as zip«.
Like (1)
sjk
sjk
01 August 2012
Removing the original SIMBL with its uninstaller app is more thorough, handling the LaunchAgent that might be overlooked doing a manual uninstall.
Like (3)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
03 May 2013
I was using SIMBL with SL, and continued using it when I upgraded to Lion 1½ years ago, and am unaware of any problems related to SIMBL on my computer. I just upgraded to 0.9.9 from 0.9.7. Don't remember which app I installed it for, and not sure if I still need it, but pretty sure I don't. I may have used it for TotalFinder, which no longer requires SIMBL.
Like
Gex2501
11 May 2012
It's sad to see such a great program/utility die. Been hoping for Lion support forever. I'd pick it up if I was any good with programming. Someone should re-invigorate it.
Like
Version 0.9.9
1 answer(s)
Neil-M
Neil-M
15 May 2012
http://www.osx86.net/view/2372-simbl-0.9.9b-lionpatched.zip.html Seems to be patched for Lion.
Like
GeogProf
26 November 2011
SIMBL is not compatible with Lion, no matter what anyone says. It was installed on 7 of my family's and 11 of my colleagues' Lion Macs plus mine, and all 19 suffered multiple SIMBL crashes every single day until we were forced to trash it in the last couple of weeks. Since he hasn't updated it in nearly a year nor responded to ANY of the panicked queries here or anywhere else, clearly Mike Solomon has abandoned SIMBL — and his implicit promise to all the developers whose apps rely on it. Oh, and millions of us users, too.
Like (5)
Version 0.9.9
5 answer(s)
WordWeaver
WordWeaver
01 December 2011
I can confirm that SIMBL does not appear to be working with Mac OS X Lion 10.7.2. I just updated to the latest version -- 0.9.9 -- and installed the ColorfulSidebar plugin. Even though I logged out, and back in again several times, my sidebar has not changed in appearance. I imagine that it could be the ColorfulSidebar plugin, and not SIMBL itself. Not being a developer, I honestly don't know for certain. However, given the number of other reports regarding incompatibility with Lion, I suspect that it is SIMBL itself. Can anyone else comment regarding this? Thanks!
Like (1)
sjk
sjk
01 December 2011
SafariStand and Keystone plugins work fine with SIMBL 0.9.9 on my MBA running 10.7.2. Just spits out a nuisance console message like this whenever it's accessed: Performance: Please update this scripting addition to supply a value for ThreadSafe for each event handler: "/Library/ScriptingAdditions/SIMBL.osax"
Like (1)
WordWeaver
WordWeaver
01 December 2011
Just a quick update. I actually got the ColorfulSidebar plugin to work by going to someone's WP blog and downloading a special plist file to place in my LaunchAgents folder. I now have colored icons in my sidebar. Go to the ColorfulSidebar plugin page here on MU to get the link, if interested.
Like
sjk
sjk
01 December 2011
And I got rid of the console noise using the tip here: http://superuser.com/questions/328719/what-does-this-mean-osascript-please-update-this-scripting-addition-to-supply
Like (1)
Grouver
Grouver
27 January 2012
Absolutely agree! DO NOT use on Lion. It will not crash straight away and the crashes are actually caused by memory leaks and the fact that SIMBL has no proper threading implemented. What you will see from the user perspective is after a day or so of usage (heavy usage or if light then it might happen later) you get random behaviour of the OS. Things like Finder and Dock start freezing up. Sometimes you get various programs loosing UI responsiveness, the keyboard visual indicators like volume up and down, brightness up and down don't always show up, etc. You get the picture it's all random. I though I was going crazy until I took a look at the logs. SIMBL is actually working as an exploit to the OS (i.e. a rootkit of sorts. The OS can recover most of the time from the problems that SIMBL causes but the problem is that once you terminate a faulty process and reload it SIMBL comes back online and sooner or later you are back where you started. Save yourselves the trouble and wait until a lion compatible version is released. And yes the main problem is with the code not being thread safe!
Like
PorkPieHat
16 November 2011
I've been using SIMBL on my Lion (10.7.2) iMac and MacBook since June and in Snow Leopard for a long time before that, and it was stable at first. But now SIMBL crashes several times every day, and I can't figure out what the trigger is — sometimes it crashes when a SIMBL-reliant app is running, but more often it happens when I startup a nonSIMBL-reliant app or use one that's been running for a while. I don't think the cause is a conflict with other software because my Macs are set up very differently, are used for different purposes, and have very different apps installed. I hope the dev figures it out and releases a fix soon because I'm on the verge of dumping SIMBL and all the lovely apps that rely on it, which would be a shame.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.9
Macmuffin
16 August 2011
I'm thinking of sending the developer money for a down load if that is the problem as he earlier stated.
Like
Version 0.9.9
Steven-Goodheart
06 June 2011
Does anyone know if SIMBL will be compatible with the upcoming Lion OS?
Like (1)
Version 0.9.9
6 answer(s)
Hauntingthebetter
Hauntingthebetter
10 June 2011
I was wondering the same; so I emailed the developer. He responded within an hour or so, but simply with "I don't know. I don't have lion". So perhaps once OS 10.7 is officiously released we'll eventually see an update. As of now it appears SIMBL does not work with Lion and/or Safari 5.1. However, I'm not an experienced dev and very well could be mistaken.
Like (2)
Steven-Goodheart
Steven-Goodheart
10 June 2011
Hauntingthebetter -- thank you! Even that information, in itself, is helpful! The idea of using Safari without the verticle/side tabs of SafariStand, which uses SIMBL, is practically a deal killer, but maybe the new Lion version of Safari, with the gestures, will make navigating tabs easier in some ways. Still, since I typically have two or three windows open with 30 or 40 tabs in a window, the idea of losing SafariStand and using the standard horizontal tabs is a bummer. Again thanks for taking the initiative on this. Since Lion is only $30, and it comes out this July, maybe it won't be a long wait -- IF SIMBL will in fact work with Lion.
Like (2)
Steven-Goodheart
Steven-Goodheart
07 July 2011
The upgrade of OmniWeb (5.11) to the same Webkit as Safari 5.0 makes my question about SIMBL far less urgent, since the main reason I use SIMBL is so I can run SafariStand and get vertical tabs. OmniWeb 5.11, with the Webkit upgrade, seems much snappier than Safari 5, and of course, there are those amazing Omniweb Workspaces....
Like
Myka
Myka
21 July 2011
There's a discussion that might be relevant at the simbl project home. Link to issue: http://code.google.com/p/simbl/issues/detail?id=53&colspec=Status%20Summary I don't have Lion installed, so I can't testify whether simbl works or not.
Like (2)
Mitch-de
Mitch-de
21 July 2011
For me it seem NOT to work - my AdBlocker stopped working which uses SIMBL. I don't think its an problem of the App Blocker itself. Hope they can do an LION SIMBL.
Like (1)
Holypoly
Holypoly
21 August 2011
Here's a thread on SIMBL running under Lion that may be interesting to follow: http://code.google.com/p/simbl/issues/list?can=1&q=lion&colspec=Status+Summary&cells=tiles
Like (2)
Moocan
02 February 2011
Why I never can't access developer site ? Is there any mirror ?
Like
Version 0.9.9
Libertyforall1776
29 January 2011
For those wondering, SIMBL stands for: SIMple Bundle Loader
Like (3)
Version 0.9.9
1 answer(s)
Thyx
Thyx
01 March 2011
Btw, is it 128-bit already?
Like (1)
Grayson-Manley
05 January 2011
Although a "hack" its still quite stable. If you have instability issues then talk to the developer of the extensions you are using not complain about this. Without this I wouldn't have things like GreaseKit and Totalfinder, key parts of my daily use of my mac.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.8
Smactron
13 October 2010
Has anyone noticed that with this SIMBL update, PithHelmet (3.0b6) seems to interfere with The Daily Show and The Colbert Report's streaming episodes? I have to "Reload Unfiltered" to get the videos to load/play. With SIMBL 0.9.7a this wasn't the case.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.8
Fyreflye
12 October 2010
Though I use (and regularly update) both Safari Cookies and AdBlock I've never had a crash. In fact I've never had a crash when adding *any* Safari plugin or extension. I don't know what the problem is for the rest of you but I doubt it's SIMBL.
Like (2)
Version 0.9.8
Mitch-de
12 October 2010
No problems here using it with Safari Plugins Adblocker and Coockies. I dont know if both install have newest SIMBL - i updated SIMBL by the newest SIMBL update 0.9.8. PS: Even its an hack, it makes much, much much less trouble than Application Enhancer hack.
Like (2)
Version 0.9.8
Ronl
23 June 2010
WARNING: MacFixIt has an article on this today (6-23-10) that this can cause Safari 5 to crash.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.7a
1 answer(s)
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
30 June 2010
Duh. SIMBL can cause anything to crash.
Like (2)
Version 0.9.7a
Stickman67
11 June 2010
I can only say that for me, on my particular system, Safari 4 and Safari 5 both have found SIMBL a problem. In both versions, SIMBL caused very, very long startup times for Safari - I'm talking minutes, not seconds. And in Safari 5 it seemed to kill the CSS file I used to remove link underlines (although why Apple doesn't build this into its preferences ...). Uninstalling SIMBL solved both problems straight away. I have nothing against SIMBL per se. I used PithHelmet for years, and would still like to use it or AdBlocker. But it seems to cause trouble for me at this stage, so I feel it only fair to comment on it at that level. TotalFinder managed to remove its dependance on SIMBL. Would it not, therefore, be possible for other developers to do the same? (Unless, of course, the developers of SIMBL - who, to be fair, I will contact directly on this issue - manage to fix the problems.)
Like (3)
Version 0.9.7a
SickTeddyBear
08 June 2010
Now that Safari 5 has been released, SIMBL's days are numbered.
Like (4)
Version 0.9.7a
Itty
12 April 2010
Rule #1 avoid any kind of hack to your core system Rule #2 never install a version zero beta of anything on a system you need. SIMBL violates these rules as well as Apple's. It's a hack that conflicts with core services like SMC, Clamav, Webkit etc. and messes with your permissions. It may work perfectly on a system that has no other 3rd party software installed. But in the real world it can wreck your system.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.7a
Gagarin101
20 November 2009
I installed 0.9.7 and the installer said it was successful. But there is no SIMBL folder in Library/Application Support. I am running OSX 10.6.2 I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling, restarting the macbook with no help.
Like
Version 0.9.7a
liang-case
16 October 2009
Hi, I have launching upper right menubar in OS 10.6.1 w/ SIMBL 0.9.7a. 1.) Booting in 64-bit Kernel mode. Open fast user switching menu. 2.) Do not logout current account but switching to another account immediately via fast use switching menu. While OS X loading the upper right menubar at the beginning, it takes serious delay and results in a blank upper right menubar. Only spotlight icon shows up w/o response. Any idea? Thanks.
Like
Version 0.9.7a
Borlox
08 October 2009
Afraid not. Changing the owner of the link has no effect. For your approach to work, you'd have to change the permissions of the user Library folder so that it couldn't be written by the user. That would of course create a lot of problems. There's no easy workaround for the security hole created by this software. The developer could fix it, but he seems not to want to.
Like
Version 0.9.7a
Moocan
06 October 2009
Hi, Seems to be usefull ... but impossible to download ... always same roor message (The server at culater.net is taking too long to respond). Is there any other download links ?
Like
Version 0.9.7a
2 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
06 October 2009
Try downloading again now, the file is now being hosted on our servers.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.7a
Moocan
Moocan
06 October 2009
Many thanks (5 days that I try to reach culater.net) Could you host too lastest version for Leopard 10.5 ?
Like
Version 0.9.7a
Weaselboy
06 October 2009
9.7a fixed the installer issue for me on 10.6.1.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.7a
Khannibal
05 October 2009
Install failed. Don't know why. I am on 10.6.1. 0.9.6c worked well until now, but 0.9.7 install fails at the end of the process.
Like (3)
Version 0.9.7
10 answer(s)
Droopysignal
Droopysignal
05 October 2009
Same here. Installation fails as well!
Like (1)
Version 0.9.7
Adrianspiegel
Adrianspiegel
05 October 2009
Installation fails here too (10.6.1)
Like (1)
Version 0.9.7
Weaselboy
Weaselboy
05 October 2009
Same here on 10.6.1.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.7
Spectral7
Spectral7
05 October 2009
Install failed with installer. installed with Pacifist works ok
Like
Version 0.9.7
Steven-Goodheart
Steven-Goodheart
05 October 2009
Ditto on 10.6.1.
Like
Version 0.9.7
Velgor242
Velgor242
05 October 2009
Installation error appears to be erroneous. Installed fine on my system.
Like
Version 0.9.7
anonymous-magpie-3853
anonymous-magpie-3853
05 October 2009
I get the same thing, Install failed...... OS X 10.6.1
Like
Version 0.9.7
anonymous-magpie-3853
anonymous-magpie-3853
05 October 2009
theres an update 0.9.7a posted on the devs website. http://culater.net/software/SIMBL/SIMBL.php
Like
Version 0.9.7
Steven-Goodheart
Steven-Goodheart
05 October 2009
Thanks, Bollywood! The .9.7a did a successful install, and SIMBL is working great.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.7
Devilsthing
Devilsthing
06 October 2009
After problems with the installer in 0.9.7 again problems with 0.9.7.a but a little bit different: After entering password the installer cannot go further and showing always "Preparing installation" It's not a freeze but the installation process does not continue. Any idea?
Like (1)
Version 0.9.7a
Borlox
27 September 2009
There's a serious security issue with this software that users should be aware of before they decide whether to install it. From the developer's site: --- Once you've installed SIMBL, you need to drop some bundles into the Plugins folder. (/Library/Application Support/SIMBL/Plugins) SIMBL scans this folder for bundles each time an application launches. It will check both the Local and User domain for this special folder. This means that it will check ~/Library/Application Support/SIMBL/Plugins before looking in /Library/Application Support/SIMBL/Plugins. --- One of the few trojans to successfully exploit Mac OS X in the wild was called "Oompa-Loompa." It worked by installing an input manager in the home directory of any user who ran it. As a result, user-domain input managers were disabled in Leopard, and the permissions of the local Input Managers folder were changed so that root privileges were required to install anything into it. SIMBL appears to re-open the security hole that was closed in Leopard. A trojan, only slightly different from the one described above, can install a SIMBL plugin in the user's home directory. Any application can then effectively be replaced by the trojan, even if the user is not a member of the admin group and doesn't have permission to modify the applications directly. You might think that because you're not running as an admin, applications such as Safari or Keychain Access are safe from unintended modification, but with SIMBL installed, you'd be wrong. If you're going to use SIMBL, you should take steps to ensure that plugins can't be installed without your knowledge. How you do that is up to you, but if you don't have a strategy, you shouldn't be using it. The developer should, in my opinion, change the way SIMBL works so that it doesn't load plugins from the user domain. That would mitigate the danger.
Like (6)
Version 0.9.6c
1 answer(s)
Borlox
Borlox
07 October 2009
"That way, if any user-privileged script/app tries to write to the local domain it will fail as it really points to the system domain, requiring system install privs." Unless the script simply deletes your link and replaces it with a folder.
Like
Version 0.9.7a
Dokter-mac
21 September 2009
Version 0.9.6c seems to work just fine under Leopard (10.5.8) & my G5 PM. Everything is Universal & the installer works perfect. I don't understand why they say this version is only for Snow Leopard & Intel? Anyone who knows more about this? Regards
Like (1)
Version 0.9.6c
1 answer(s)
Kris-Jones
Kris-Jones
21 September 2009
@DOKTER MAC. This is a beta version intended to work in both 32 and 64-bit mode. If you are using Leopard or earlier there is a stable release available that works just in 32-bit (64-bit being unnecessary unless one has Snow Leopard).
Like (1)
Version 0.9.6c
Pirx
20 September 2009
"The download could not start because you do not have sufficient access privileges..." Please make the download folder accessible, thank you.
Like
Version 0.9.6b
Programhappy
19 September 2009
To get it to work, I have to reinstall from SIMBL-0.9.6b.pkg every time my computer restarts. Why is SIMBL not starting-up with my machine? Leopard 10.6.1 on a 2.66 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon (6 GB memory)
Like
Version 0.9.6b
zx
18 September 2009
How come SIMBL Agent is called up on any application lunch?
Like (1)
Version 0.9.6b
Hal0thane
12 September 2009
I was one of the users who reported the bug listed as fixed in version 0.95b. I reported it on 0.93b, and within hours it was fixed. I've found, in general, independent Mac developers to be much more responsive and engaged in the care of their products than any other type of developer I've interacted with (and I used to be a full-time programmer), few have been as quick to provide new builds to tackle major problems as Mike Solomon. Who would have even _considered_ changing SIMBL from an Input Manager to a Scripting Addition in order to keep it working under 10.6? Yet that's what he did, and within no more than a handful of days. And he has added 64-bit support just as quickly. I've been using SIMBL for almost as long as I've been using Mac. I imagine a silent majority (or sizable minority) of SIMBL users do not even know they are: I've installed apps more than once without realizing they depended on SIMBL. Like the apps and add-ons that get all the glory -- Quicksilver, Growl, MacFUSE, and the others -- SIMBL is completely indispensable.
Like (6)
Version 0.9.5b
Thmghtd
11 September 2009
I've been actively using SIMBL for years and consider it completely indispensable. After reading SHK747's one-star drive-by, though, I realize I've been taking it for granted. Big time. So here's my stupid opinion. I love SIMBL. I love it so much I probably love the developer, Mike Solomon, too, in some kind of cool, appreciative way. Honestly. As you wade through the catalog of system hacks out there, each trying to improve your computer life one way or another, it's not long before you realize: The difference between a hack and a solution is staggering. Some hacks out there are worth considering, for sure, even when their side effects create a whole new monster (I'm looking at you, APE -- don't act shocked). But over the years, as the OS overhauls have come and gone and we've seen even minor updates give developers major problems, SIMBL has become more useful. Not less. That's not some small thing. What SIMBL does for developers and end-users alike is simply awesome. So maybe now's a good time for a little rallying behind the (depressingly few) developers like Mike who make our stupid worlds go 'round. Or at the very least, how about a little perspective. To SHK747: You're frustrated or hitting a wall somewhere or something. I get it, guy. But with a whopping 11 posts/reviews/comments prior to yours -- that's 11, total, over 4 years -- and with only 2 of those having ratings (really. two.), it seems like maybe there's a large enough appreciation/acknowledgment deficit without casually driving the stats down. Don't get me wrong: I love the democratic process. And the loyal opposition will always be instrumental in figuring out the kinks. But being a curmudgeon just doesn't seem quite so... productive. I don't know. Maybe you really hate SIMBL now. I'm just thinking... maybe it's Big Picture time. Maybe yours will be the star heard 'round the world, and everyone who makes use of software like SIMBL -- all the people getting by with the help of other people -- will band together and represent, truly, the opinions of the majority. The grateful, satisfied majority. Anyway. I love SIMBL. Thanks Mike. A lot. Note: Even though I mention SHK747's comment, I feel like it's largely a review of SIMBL (and maybe an allegory for freedom, I'm not sure), so I'm posting it as its own thing.
Like (8)
Version 0.9.4b
2 answer(s)
Shk747
Shk747
11 September 2009
hi please look at my pithhelmet review, it was 5 stars. simbl had driving me nuts as always a window "choose application" opened and it took me several hours to get the reason. so if something is beta and works i love to use it, but not everyday another problem .. (beside this i payed for pithhelmet and it's not the first time that we (i) have to wait for a version that works; beside my own changes in the .plist)
Like
Version 0.9.5b
Steven-Goodheart
Steven-Goodheart
11 September 2009
Right on! SIMBL is a labor of love and over the years I've felt grateful for it every time I have an add-on or plug-in that works -- because SIMBL works. Many thanks to the developer, Mike -- I hope you feel the love, man!
Like (1)
Version 0.9.5b
Grdloizaga
08 September 2009
Many users have reported that installing this in Snow Leopard causes a buggy window to appear every time you open an application. http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=2148682&tstart=0
Like (1)
Version 0.9.3b
Shk747
08 September 2009
what goes on ? every time safari 4.0.3 dissables simbl/pithhelmet !
Like (1)
Version 0.9.3b
1 answer(s)
F451
F451
09 September 2009
What is there one star for what is clearly stated as a beta? If you have followed the history of SIMBL you would know whom you are dealing with, and how Mike has been very generous to the Mac community albeit SIMBL and PithHelmet are not his source of income (I dare you to find out what he does). Please follow Mike's web site to learn where the betas are heading.
Like (6)
Version 0.9.4b
zx
06 September 2009
Thank You. But what happened to /Library/Application Support/SIMBL? It looks like this version installed in /Library/ScriptingAdditions/SIMBL.osax ?
Like (1)
Version 0.9.1
2 answer(s)
sjk
sjk
07 September 2009
That's because SIMBL now uses an OSAX scripting extension, described here: http://code.google.com/p/simbl/wiki/NewDevelopments Presumably its plugins will still be installed in /Library/Application Support/SIMBL/Plugins but I'm not running SL yet to confirm it.
Like
Version 0.9.2b
Droopysignal
Droopysignal
08 September 2009
SHK747 you are supposed to rate the developer's product and not how Apple is handling third-party extensions/plugins. Thanks!
Like
Version 0.9.3b
RogerKatz
09 August 2009
Whether I try to download it here, or via Version Tracker, or from the developers' website, all I get is: "Warning: Unknown(/home/phpweb/system/suspended/pastdue/index.php): failed to open stream: Permission denied in Unknown on line 0 Warning: (null)() [function.include]: Failed opening '/home/phpweb/system/suspended/pastdue/index.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/local/share/pear:/usr/local/lib/php') in Unknown on line 0"
Like
Version 0.8.2
2 answer(s)
Easer
Easer
06 September 2009
Maybe it's just me, but if I'm reading that correctly, they should contact the FBI.
Like
Version 0.9.1
Fishscale
Fishscale
06 September 2009
That can't be serious? Also what does that have to do with simbl... sorry if I am shortsighted here. I agree, ridiculous conversation so much so that if it wasn't fake I would be quite concerend but from what I said it was one idiot, spewing non-sense on Mr. Solomon. Damn, weird, would like to know why that is there. Back on with this plugin but I install like the user above and nothing of simbl is uploaded expected it's scriptingadditions in the main library... Can someone fill me in a bit please? On of these topics lol. Thank you.
Like
Version 0.9.1
YEEZUS
14 July 2009
Still the best for Safari plugins. I tried PlugSuit which was impressive but couldn't reliably load and use my favorite plugin PithHelmet. I use some Safari plugins with this and they always load immediately. I never have had a crash because of SIMBL either, only some buggy plugins.
Like
Version 0.8.2
rspeed
26 October 2007
Wait, I thought there was no way SIMBL would be compatible with Leopard. My understanding was that SIMBL uses input managers, a feature which was removed in 10.5. Can anyone clear this up for me?
Like
Version 0.8.2
3 answer(s)
Darukaru
Darukaru
26 October 2007
Input Managers still work, with some restrictions: "The requirements (from the AppKit release notes, which aren't yet posted on developer.apple.com): * /Library/InputManagers only * Must be owned by root user and admin group, with no write permissions for group or other (755/644). * Processes running as root user or with wheel group won't load them. * Processes can't change user/group id * No 64-bit processes"
Like
Version 0.8.2
rspeed
rspeed
26 October 2007
Oh wow, that's great! Those changes are really reasonable and shouldn't interfere with reasonable uses of Input Managers (at least, reasonable in regards to how they're generally used), but at the same time fixes most of the security issues. Well done, Apple.
Like
Version 0.8.2
Smactron
Smactron
28 November 2007
So plugins MUST apply to ALL users on the computer? What's the security risk of allowing users to install plugins in their home directory?
Like (2)
Version 0.8.2
Everyday-Software
09 July 2007
I've seen countless crash reports with people running this with 'less than high quality' plugins. Most of the time users don't even know what it is or how it was installed. This leads to a support nightmare for developers who get blamed for unstable applications when it's actually Input Managers or Haxies causing problems. If you like a stable system; I'd suggest staying clear of this.
Like
Version 0.8.1
schmelding
12 June 2007
Does not work with Safari 3 beta.
Like
Version 0.8.1
Heavy-shower
24 March 2006
so there's no need to upgrade unless an intel.mac is involved?
Like
Version 0.8.1
Anonymous
06 November 2005
Current version does not work with the latest version of Safari (2.0.2 (416.12)). It says the plugin hasn't been tested & therefore wont be loaded. Nothing crashes, you just get an annoying alert when launching Safari.
Like
Version 0.8
5 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
14 November 2005
I'm mortally sick of that alert. I hope it gets fixed soon.
Like
Version 0.8
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 November 2005
Part of me is just irritated with Apple. Who cares if it hasn't been tested, at least let me disable the stinkin alert every time I launch Safari.
Like
Version 0.8
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 November 2005
As someone reported in the PithHelmet entry http://macupdate.com/info.php/id/10752 removing all of PithHelmet and reinstalling seems to make the problem go away. I suspect it's something in the PithHelmet.plist file, located in Application Support/PithHelmet. If you try this first make a copy of the file "PHRuleSet.ka" (in Application Support/PithHelmet/com.apple.Safari). After the reinstall replace the new "PHRuleSet.ka" with the original and you should have all your rules back. What a relief.
Like
Version 0.8
Cpruitt
Cpruitt
27 December 2005
Cant be a problem with Pith Helmet's Plist files cause I dont use Pith Helmet. SIMBL is used with other things as well, in my case its Safari Source that requires it.
Like
Version 0.8
Cpruitt
Cpruitt
27 December 2005
OK on my case it turns out there was a second Safari Add-On that I completely forgot was ever installed. it was in my ~/Library/ rather than in my /Library/. Removing that fixed the issue in my case.
Like
Version 0.8
Anonymous
19 August 2005
I updated to OS 10.3.9 and had to update all input manager plugins inlcuding SIMBL. Now Safari crashes every time. Please look into this. Never had a problem with previous versions.
Like
Version 0.8
Anonymous
04 June 2005
As usual everything Mr. Solomon does is done well. Now Pith Helmet with Safari is snappier.
Like
Version 0.8