Back to Cog page
Cog free download for Mac

Cog Reviews

0.08
04 May 2013

Multi-format audio player (beta).

Jazzyguy
11 January 2011

Most helpful

Excellent Music Player. I like its simplicity. It reminds me of what iTunes used to be. Too bad they evolved into what they are today.
Like (4)
Version 0.07

Read 65 Cog User Reviews

Rate this app:

Music-06
27 April 2015
I love the application but have one issue. When dragging a list of pre-sorted files onto the playlist (unwanted) Cog auto-sorts these files in alphabetical order :( . Maybe this issue can be fixed by the developer?
Like
Version 0.08
DeathAngel
26 March 2014
more recent and active developed fork: https://bitbucket.org/kode54/cog
Like (3)
Version 0.08
1 answer(s)
Seedy
Seedy
14 November 2014
FYI to other 10.6 holdouts, the builds above are for 10.7 and up.
Like (1)
Seedy
20 November 2013
Simple. Works. I keep my music arranged in folders and don't care to edit metadata. The left column shows me the list of folders, I double-click on one and it loads everything in that folder to the main playlist and starts playing it, including subfolders. So far it plays everything I've thrown at it. Much easier to use than Clementine.
Like
Version 0.08
1 answer(s)
Seedy
Seedy
20 November 2013
Also, the MU link to the dev website is for the abandoned version, the URL for the fork is... http://mamburu.net/cog/
Like (1)
neuwelt
01 November 2013
Light weight, pure music.
Like
Version 0.08
SawtoothRising
08 August 2013
love it a lot, can we have hotkeys for adjusting the volume please?
Like
Version 0.08
kingofleon86
25 December 2012
Cog 0.08 Nightly Build, excellent http://cogx.org/development.php
Like (2)
Version 0.07
Aargl
11 August 2012
I'm using Cog since years now and it's my preferred player for mp3 because of its simplicity, with just the essentials, but there is something strange about all those "little nice players" (including Play and Vox): while they play aac (.m4a) apparently correctly, they misunderstand tunes'durations (displaying something like 1:13:24 instead of 04:35). It might be boring if you have to go to a precise location in the song, when checking a converted song, for example. The only app displaying durations correctly (except for iTunes or Quicktime Player, of course) is VLC! P.S.: note than I have only checked on PPC :-)
Like (1)
Version 0.07
gatovadio
08 December 2011
i can't seem to play radio streams (pls, m3u) anymore on lion.
Like (1)
Version 0.07
kingjj
02 November 2011
A nice, light, no nonsense player that works with Last.fm, yet bypasses the bloat (and bugs) of iTunes and Songbird.
Like
Version 0.07
Arghwhymustiregister
11 October 2011
Version 0.08 is already out.. Look at the "Development" part of the homepage. Love this app for is simplicity - just listening to your music.. PLUS you can scrobble (last.fm) your tracks with it ;)
Like
Version 0.07
Philosopherdog
31 August 2011
Solid, minimal player. I've always loved players that open a file browser to navigate on the left panel. The only thing I noticed is when the player is in its minimal state the shortcut keys don't work. I'll try downloading the nightly to see if that helps. Thanx to the developer.
Like
Version 0.07
nattkrigare
19 August 2011
A nice and great player for those of us who don't believe that their music is iTunes ;-) I find it so feature complete and smoothly working that I do not see any reason to ask for any updates of this piece of software.
Like
Version 0.07
nazeema-aslam
24 May 2011
sound quality is good
Like (1)
Version 0.07
Bigboysdad
27 February 2011
Just another thumbs up for this great product. The nightly build updates are appreciated. And, as with Vox, the quality of the sound coming from this is better than iTunes which my iPhone unfortunately locks me into. It's great having an application which just focuses on my music collection and respects my own folder structure. Very much enjoying the Spotlight integration for finding any music file on my HD & compiling playlists. Thank you developer.
Like
Version 0.07
driveparty
17 January 2011
COG uses fixed point high quality MAD (Mpeg Audio Decoder) library to play mp3 files, so the sound quality is much higher than played in iTunes and QT. Go to developer's site and download last 0.8x beta.
Like (1)
Version 0.07
Jazzyguy
11 January 2011
Excellent Music Player. I like its simplicity. It reminds me of what iTunes used to be. Too bad they evolved into what they are today.
Like (4)
Version 0.07
Easer
26 December 2010
For me, the primary advantage of Cog is that it allows system-wide hot keys. As far as I can tell, all of the other players can only be changed if I first select the player program itself. I like the freedom to change a track while I'm in Safari and such.
Like
Version 0.07
gatovadio
17 December 2010
vox, cog and play are the most audiophile solutions for audio on a mac. because i like testing new software i just wanna add 2 cross platform suggestions: http://www.clementine-player.org/ http://banshee.fm/ personally, i'm stuck with vox.
Like
Version 0.07
Aargl
13 December 2010
At this point, it seems quite clear that developpement is stopped (nearly 3 years now from the last 'news' on the site...). I use and really like it to check an album without importing it in iTunes. I've just noticed a little lack: it does not read m4a (aac) tags.
Like
Version 0.07
Yoshinatsu
30 May 2010
I just checked the latest Cog nightly, and it's getting better. The last stable release is really old though. Still not better than Vox, but it's definitely getting better.
Like (1)
Version 0.07
2 answer(s)
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
13 November 2010
Yep, the latest version is 0.08 (r1937). You need to go under Preferences -> Updates and change the Update Feed to Nightly. Then an auto or manual update from within the program will download and install that version.
Like
Version 0.07
Easer
Easer
26 December 2010
Negritude: Thanks for that! I was also wondering why it had seemed to be so long without any changes. Version .08 is much nicer.
Like
Stiltman
23 May 2010
Great little no nonsense player for FLAC lossless files amongst others. The best sound quality of all the players I tested.
Like (2)
Version 0.07
Uncoy
09 November 2009
Cog is great. Just stopped working on me though (won't add songs to the playlist). Tried Vox, Taply and Play. Vox and Taply had very high CPU usage in background when not running. Play is a bit ugly to look at but uses .1% CPU in the background and plays the music very well. So if you have trouble with Cog, give Play a shot.
Like
Version 0.07
3 answer(s)
Tutor
Tutor
12 November 2009
Try the latest build available under development: http://cogx.org/development.php The play list bug is documented in the cog forums.
Like (2)
Version 0.07
Uncoy
Uncoy
12 November 2009
Thanks Tutor. Will do.
Like
Version 0.07
Uncoy
Uncoy
19 January 2010
This did work for me. Thanks! Cog gets 5 stars from me then.
Like
Version 0.07
Mrgando
11 March 2009
I remember when iTunes first arrived, the problem with iTunes is that it's trying to do it all. That has never worked, that's also the microsoft approach :P. Take a look at the good old UNIX, one app that performs specific functions well defined, and in a very easy and productive way. iTunes has grown to become a beast, for large collections it's REALLY bad, it get's really choppy , and RAM usage goes to the roof. There's nothing close to foobar2k for mac ( I think it's one of the best windows only apps out there ). But Cog, oh dear, Cog is amazing, very fast, can play FLAC flawlessly. This is the ways applications should be designed. It needs work, but it's an amazing piece of software. Keep the good work!
Like (1)
Version 0.07
Ironman
31 July 2008
Nice little app. Very useful for me because iTunes takes too much power on my old G4. One comment though: when I click on equalizer, nothing happens.
Like
Version 0.07
Decavolt
10 July 2008
kknopp: if by "brillant" you mean "massive, clunky, unintuitive and irritating as hell", then you are correct. Cog does not have that sort of interface, and that's why it's nowhere near the p.o.s. that iTunes has become. I don't care about the stupid iTunes Store, I don't care about iPhone syncing, I don't care about sharing playlist over the network... so I don't need any of that extra junk. Cog does what it does very well without all the extra b.s. many of us don't need or want.
Like (1)
Version 0.07
Decavolt
05 March 2008
I've been looking for years, literally, for a small, low resource music player for OSX. Al the rest are either unstable, bulky, over complicated or all of the above. This little app is *perfect*. I can just drag and drop a folder full of 1000 songs and lots of subfolders and Cog plays it easily and quickly. No importing or forcing me to create playlists. If I don't want to do that, it still knows where my Music folder is without me having to tell it. It's CPU and RAM usage is tiny compared to that beast iTunes. Cog even knows to listen to my MacBook Pro's remote, and the music player keys on the new mac keyboards. This rocks. Bye bye iTunes, I don't need your fat @$$ anymore, and I won't miss you at all.
Like (1)
Version 0.07
2 answer(s)
Easer
Easer
26 May 2008
You can also add hotkey support to the list of praises. Cog responds to hotkeys for play, previous track, etc. regardless of what other program is currently frontmost. This developer really knows his stuff.
Like
Version 0.07
Easer
Easer
10 July 2008
What the f@#% is a "shiller?" Of course it doesn't have iTunes interface. But it still has a very functional interface. I also prefer Cog because it automatically updates my playlists when I add, remove, or rename files. iTunes does not do this. Hey, it's simply an alternative. It's free, and it's decently made. Why knock it?
Like
Version 0.07
Jcraig
23 December 2007
Indispensable little player, love the fact that no conversion is necessary to play open-source file formats commonly found on torrent sites. Cog and Max are the dynamic duo of open file formats, keep up the great work!
Like (3)
Version 0.07
Hermie
23 December 2007
MP3 player? No way! I want my music lossless but compressed if possible like for instance FLAC or Monkey's Audio (APE). And this little gem plays them straight from the files without conversions. Great stuff! Thank you very much and please keep up the good work.
Like
Version 0.07
Artwilson22
18 December 2007
Sweet little mp3 player that is much more lightweight and usable than iTunes. Try it.
Like (2)
Version 0.06
O5220803
22 September 2007
An excellent MP3 player! I'm currently listening to the Cog Player which is handling an excellent job with my iTunes play lists, without any problems.
Like
Version 0.06
1 answer(s)
O5220803
O5220803
22 September 2007
Sorry for the typo, my review should read: "I'm currently listening to the 'Cog Player' which is handling my iTunes play lists, without any problems."
Like
Version 0.06
Easer
13 July 2007
Might we add to the praise the fact that it provides system-wide hot keys? I haven't seen that in any iTunes alternatives. This is a very nice program. I would like to see the addition of an equalizer of the ability to use VST effects. But on the whole, this program gets the job done and doesn't eat up all of my resources when I try to listen to music.
Like
Version 0.06
svoop
05 April 2007
Forgot to vote :-)
Like
Version 0.05
svoop
05 April 2007
Gapless playback is a bliss, love it! And you will, too, if you give it a shot. Take it one step further and add crossfade playback to increase the happiness factor even more. I use Cog to play files off my Linux server via MacFUSE/SSHFS and WLAN - no hickups, no gaps at all.
Like
Version 0.05
Kurosan
01 January 2007
I really want to like this player, but it has some real annoyances. Pro: + Very simple. + Fast to use. + Stays out of your way. + Low CPU utilization. Con: - *Still* doesn't play AAC encoded with QuickTime/iTunes. - Could be about half the size it is (even and 1600x1200 it's absolutely HUGE). - Doesn't remember shuffle/loop settings between launches. How about a pref's pane to manage UI size, playlist font/size, buttons vs. text, etc.
Like
Version 0.05
Plupp
29 November 2006
Works just fine in 10.3.9 The window is too big for me though. I like tiny apps.
Like
Version 0.05
Micha-Werner
22 July 2006
Cog is a very tiny and fast music-file player. For the fact, that's a free player, the user-interface is very simple and intuitively. My recommendation. But nevertheless I'm missing the comment-field in the ID3-tag of a mp3-file.
Like
Version 0.05
Heathermason
18 July 2006
I agree with DOM21. I can understand not supporting an older OS, but come on! 10.3 is not that old. Almost all the mac users I know are still on Panther. It makes me wonder if these developers aren't getting some kind of payoff from apple.
Like
Version 0.05
Otranvex
15 July 2006
very nice!!! gapless with flac is awesome!!! thanks for the app!
Like
Version 0.05
Ninjaboy
05 May 2006
Great app! Easy to use and plays/exports so many different audio formats... and freeware too! Would be nice if Panther users could use this as many still haven't upgraded to Tiger yet because of all the OS bugs.
Like
Version 0.05
1 answer(s)
Leoncahun
Leoncahun
12 May 2006
"all the OS bugs" - sure ...
Like
Version 0.05
Yams
03 May 2006
Great, plays my FLACs gaplessly, with low CPU usage. Be nice to see gapless MP3 playback, I know this is harder to do. One problem, when using my external sound card, the sound disappears when seeking through files, but comes back when I play a track from the beginning.
Like
Version 0.05
Dom21
02 May 2006
Didn't this used to work under OSX3.9? Why stop supporting that? Not everybody has moved to Tiger. In fact I suspect most have stuck with Panther.
Like
Version 0.05
2 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
02 May 2006
All polls I've seen, including several here on MU, show that about 20 percent of people are still using Panther at this very late date.
Like
Version 0.05
Dom21
Dom21
02 May 2006
I suspected; you had the facts. I stand corrected.
Like
Version 0.05
Anonymous
25 October 2005
Obviously the reviewer below has no clue when it comes to why people develop different audio codecs. Cog is a great player for use with higher quality codecs compared with mp3.
Like
Version 0.0.4b
Anonymous
16 October 2005
I think it's going to be a lovely day when PC people stop creating stupid codecs all the time. Producing result most of the time you can't even differenciate with others. Please just use MP3... Cog crashes when attempting to input files.
Like
Version 0.0.4b
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
02 November 2005
Your comments are quite stupid. Please refrain from making them.
Like
Version 0.0.4c
Anonymous
Anonymous
11 November 2005
MP3 is a highly lossy codec. FLAC & APE are lossless codecs. Most codecs are open-sourced, it is Apple who should support these in QuickTime straight out of the box.
Like
Version 0.0.4c
Anonymous
05 October 2005
Great application! There is one quirk with 10.3.9, and that is when the window is shrunk to the smallest, the up/down scroll arrows disappear. It would also be nice if the window could be shrunk to just the control buttons and volume. thanks for the app!
Like
Version 0.0.4b
Anonymous
19 September 2005
Oooh, at last I can play my flac folders! Many thanks
Like
Version 0.0.4b
Anonymous
17 July 2005
Im liking it so far. Just transferred over to mac after 11 years on pc, and there is a distinct lack of decent mp3 players out (i blame itunes) Only thing it needs now is stream support and ill be happy :)
Like
Version 0.0.4b
Anonymous
10 July 2005
flacs work great, thanks
Like
Version 0.0.4b
Anonymous
04 July 2005
Very impressed with this so far. It's nice to have one player that can handle all these formats iTunes can't. I'm really hoping you can get the gapless worked out in time as that's one thing I could really use. I know it's probably a bit early for feature requests, but I have two small ones: 1) m3u playlist support. Would be nice to be able to open these as they're pretty common and I always use them in Windows. 2) If you ever get round to implementing album art, could you display jpg files that reside in the same folder as the mp3s? For example, in Windows I have the album cover as a folder.jpg file and when I play any mp3 from the folder it's displayed in WMP. Much neater than embedding art in id3 tags. Keep up the good work. Maybe one day I can get rid of that useless iTunes!
Like
Version 0.0.4b
Anonymous
03 July 2005
The gapless playback claim is unfounded. It doesn't work with ANY of the supported file types--not even WAV or AIFF. It's rather close, but close isn't "gapless." However, playback support for FLAC, Musepack, etc. make this application worth having.
Like
Version 0.0.4b
1 answer(s)
Vincent Spader
Vincent Spader
03 July 2005
I apologize, I had received feedback about the gapless playback not being totally gapless, and I had thought I removed that from the description.
Like
Version 0.0.4b
Anonymous
01 July 2005
seems to crash when I try to play anything. Deleting prefs doesn't help. (iMac G5, 10.3.9)
Like
Version 0.0.4b
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 July 2005
found the problem. It only crashes when I use the output of my Firewire soundcard
Like
Version 0.0.4b
Vincent Spader
Vincent Spader
02 July 2005
Yeah, theres currently problems with external audio devices. I'm making a test build for a couple others with the same problem, so I can collect some debugging info. If you could email me (vspader (at) users.sf.net), I could send you the link.
Like
Version 0.0.4b