Back to Journler page
Journler free download for Mac

Journler Reviews

2.6b4
04 August 2011

Notebook and entry based information manager.

macupdate-290
10 January 2009

Most helpful

Is this app dead? I read somewhere that the dev doesn't work on it anymore and it doesn't seem to have been updated in a while... I'm not an update freak, but since I'm investigating which app to chose from all the options out there, I don't want to start with an app that's not actively developed anymore... Any idea? Thanks!
Like (10)
Version 2.5.5

Read 75 Journler User Reviews

Rate this app:

vid3oh
19 November 2019
How can I transform it to Numbers? Export and reimport?
Like
Version 2.6b4
Zx81
17 February 2019
Still running fine with Mojave.
Like
Version 2.6b4
erikv2
20 November 2015
I upgraded from os x 10.7 to 10.8 and journler is not working flawlessly anymore. Unexpected quits every now and then.

But i have the data on a network drive. So that might be the source of errors.
But this setup worked without any hickup for years under 10.7.

Indeed: Philip come back. I'am willing to pay a yearly fee.
Like
Version 2.6b4
Zx81
14 October 2015
Still up and running under El Capitan after all this time! What a great app. Come back, Philip, please.
Like (1)
Version 2.6b4
2 answer(s)
erikv2
erikv2
20 November 2015
data on a network drive or on the mac itself?
Like
Zx81
Zx81
21 November 2015
@erikv2 On the Mac itself.
Like
jf-1
01 October 2015
Journler 2.6b4 crashes solved after upgrade from 10.6.8 – works with Mac OS X, 10.10.5 now!
After crashing more or less instantly after a Mac system upgrade I finally solved the problem by doing this:
Locate the "Journler" folder. (Mine was in the hidden directory ~Library.) I moved the Journler folder to the personal "Document" folder.
Rename the folder as a backup i.e. "Journler-original".
A. Duplicate the Journler-original.
Rename the copy to a new name (i.e. "Journler-test-01").
Go to the "Journler Entries" folder.
Trash some or half of the Entry folders there.
Launch your Journler application.
It should ask you to locate the new Journler test folder due to the name change.
Test run.
If it still crashes within minutes – jump to A and remove more Entries in the Journler Entries folder until you have caught the troublesome.
My problem appeared to be a bad file name inside Entry 64 - Resources - a picture file name with two periods.
I´m so glad I managed to get the Journler working again!
Good luck!
Johan

Like
Version 2.6b4
Xenos
05 October 2014
today's link (as of 5. oct 2014) is: https://s3.amazonaws.com/sprouted/journler/download/Journler2.6Beta.dmg
Like
Version 2.6b4
apzl
06 April 2013
please please please help I need HELP :( I just downloaded this the 2.6 beta 4 version believing this could be the completely free journal app without any limitations. I had downloaded Vijournal... was so happy with it... until it suddenly told me I could no longer write any more entries unless I purchase the 20 something dollar license version. 30 entries was the limit... so it told me... I don't want this to happen again. I was hoping this could be my app. WHAT I NEED TO KNOW: In preferences > licensing it says 'registration will remain non-compulsory until version 2.6 is released' does this mean once Journler version 2.6 is released I would be unable to continue using 2.6 beta 4?? also if anyone could recommend me free unlimited journal or diary apps... just simple to use. Anything worth trying out. It would be much appreciated! Anything would be much appreciated! Thank you so much!
Like (1)
Version 2.6b4
1 answer(s)
Mikoi
Mikoi
07 June 2013
HI. Journler has been opensourced so I guess there is no need to buy a license and you can enjoy this amazing software gem for free.
Like (1)
Prince-Isaac
14 April 2012
Journler is now open source at GitHub. As a result, developer Philip Dow is no longer actively supporting Journler. The latest version, 2.6.4b, is stable on my Mini under OSX 10.7.3. OTOH Dow has been working on a smaller daily diary app called Per Se that works pretty well. It just has fewer features than Journler. Go to his site for explanations and FAQs and downloads.
Like (4)
Version 2.6b4
1 answer(s)
Prince-Isaac
Prince-Isaac
14 April 2012
I might add that if you do download this and you like it, you might consider paying for it as "donationware" as a thank you to the developer.
Like (1)
Huck54
26 December 2011
I did my last update to V 10.5.8 and Journler was unsupported. Which one should i use as the 2.6 update won't load
Like
Version 2.6b4
Skyhorse
23 July 2011
To update some of the comments below, I thought I should make some new ones. I'm using OSX 10.6.8 now after using 10.6.7 and all versions back to early 2006 when I converted to Journler. I have encountered no difficulties, and there are multiple export opportunities in Journler (many outputs in many formats). They do work well to my own experience. I converted to Journler after starting a journal in Daily Journal for Windows on May 5, 1994, and have made entries just about daily ever since. I converted to MacJournal (importing my Daily Journal entries in RTF) in about 2001 while it was still free, but exported everything out to Journler in RTF after MacJournal sold out because I could see it heading for the expensive bloatware it's become. As of today, I have 7,371 entries in 18 annual folders in Journler, including a number of links and some pictures, and it continues to work like a charm. In fact, it works so well, is so easy to search, and is so important to me that I am delaying installing Lion on my MacBook Pro (or even buying a new Mac) until I know that Journler works well on Lion. I don't like to mess with success, and Journler has definitely been that for me. This is the last and longest lived of my critical softwares to update--and to me it is absolutely worth the wait. I too have tried all the journaling apps, and this is the best when you get into the kind of volume I deal with. Anything can do 200 entries. A lot fewer are reliable with 5,000 or more.
Like (5)
Version 2.6b3
1 answer(s)
Jon-Stovell
Jon-Stovell
05 August 2011
I haven't run into any problems using it on Lion.
Like (1)
zo219
02 July 2011
Development stopped. More's the pity. But read the comments.
Like (2)
Version 2.5.5
The-Big-K
20 April 2011
Unfortunately, Journler now crashes immediately on launch ever since I installed the 10.6.7 Mac upgrade. I assume this is a problem others are having as well, but I can’t find any answers on the web no matter what I do. The Journler forum is so overrun with spam, I can't tell if anyone ever answered my complaint. An email to the developer Phil Dow is still unanswered. This is one of the best journaling apps ever made (and I've tried them all), but it now is supposed to be open-source, but really appears to becoming abandonware. The thought of losing my 569 irreplaceable entries in frightening. The data files are in a quirky .jrtfd format, and apparently can't be exported to any other journaling app. I’ve already been through this when having to previously abandon MacJournal and maybe even one other diary app before that! For this reason, I have to rate its stability as .05.
Like (4)
Version 2.5.5
2 answer(s)
Nomad11
Nomad11
20 May 2011
No problems on my machine. Regarding export: control-click the jrtd-file and click "Show package content" - and voila here is a rtf-file that can be opened by any word processor
Like (5)
centermost
centermost
30 August 2011
I just installed that Mac upgrade and encountered this problem - did you figure out how to get around it? If you haven't gleaned from the other comments yet, the data can be retrieved by right-clicking the .jrtfd file and telling it to "show package contents," so it's not lost - just really inconvenient to get at.
Like (1)
Macmaria
16 February 2011
On Feb. 9th Philip Dow, the developer of Journler, made the following statement on his blog: "I’ve finally decide to open source Journler 100%. Some of Journler has already been open sourced but the aim over the next few months is to release all of the code into the public domain. If you’re interested in helping with this effort, see the Sprouted Developers page." In: http://www.journler.com/blog/2011/02/09/restarting-sprouted-open-sourcing-journler-and-per-se-new-journaling-software-for-your-mac/ There's, finally, some hope that Journler will continue to be developed, although I wouldn't put all my hopes up since the last few cases of open sourcing nice apps (like QuickSilver or VisualHub) weren't that successful.
Like (2)
Version 2.5.5
SickTeddyBear
28 November 2010
As previously noted, Journler was and is a free application. It's development stopped BEFORE it's license changed to shareware. The MU admins should change this listing back to it's proper free license category, so that people coming across it do not get the wrong impression. Once again, Journler 2.5.5 is a FREE application. It is NOT shareware.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.5
Steve K
18 February 2010
I'm so, so bummed the developer was forced to cease all work on this excellent app. (http://www.journler.com/blog/2009/09/23/journler-development-ends-sprouted-shutting-down/) I wish there was something we could do to change his mind. Perhaps if he charged a nominal fee for personal use? I'm sure he's already added up all the numbers and there's nothing we could do to keep him going. I just hope he realizes how much we loved and appreciated his work.
Like (5)
Version 2.5.5
Archaeogeek
19 December 2009
It was a nice app, beautifully done, but make sure to note that the prices were for the 2.6 prebuy; 2.6 will never come, and I'll use it until it hits a snag with OS updates, with my 10$ personal use donation, but I'm sorry I don't see why people would have to pay the price of something that will not be. It's a bit like buying some land on the moon for now.
Like (4)
Version 2.5.5
zo219
29 August 2009
The one thing noone seems to mention is that Journler is a beautiful interface, and the rest are, to coin a phrase, hideous. MacJournal is a workhorse-good looking it is not. I hope Phil finds someone to carry this great notebook on, and wish him well.
Like (6)
Version 2.5.5
Nigel2112
27 July 2009
Quote: "Journler will always be free". Statement on MU: "Journler is still free for non-commercial use." The fact that the developer said these things and then reneged on the promise is reason enough to look elsewhere. There are any number of avenues he could have taken, but to say one thing and do another like that is just bad form. We expect stuff like this from a company like Micros**t, not a Mac developer.
Like (5)
Version 2.5.5
Zx81
10 April 2009
I hope Phil does not sell Journler to Apokalypse Software (The guy who bought Mori...)
Like (4)
Version 2.5.5
macupdate-290
10 January 2009
Is this app dead? I read somewhere that the dev doesn't work on it anymore and it doesn't seem to have been updated in a while... I'm not an update freak, but since I'm investigating which app to chose from all the options out there, I don't want to start with an app that's not actively developed anymore... Any idea? Thanks!
Like (10)
Version 2.5.5
6 answer(s)
Xenophile
Xenophile
17 January 2009
You could try checking out the official Journler site, which has extensive info on the upcoming 2.6 update. Or you could spread rumors about having read that Journler is abandonware. Do you perhaps develop a competing shareware title?
Like (3)
Version 2.5.5
Jqmusicman
Jqmusicman
19 January 2009
I think Minimal asks a legitimate question. The dev for Journler has stated that he's considering selling this software. That scenario should be concerning to both newcomers and invested users like myself. I've (pre)paid for the 2.6 update only to find out that this update may never come.
Like (11)
Version 2.5.5
Quickben
Quickben
19 January 2009
Thanks for the info. I've been test driving Journler and MacJournal and so far, Journler comes out on top. I think I'll hold off on purchasing either one until the clouds clear a little.
Like (4)
Version 2.5.5
Jqmusicman
Jqmusicman
19 January 2009
I should've mentioned in my previous comment that, for me, Journler is a fantastic piece of software (5 stars). It's super-stable, powerful, well-designed, etc. And it's because of this that I'm so disappointed with this news of a sell-out. I've been eagerly awaiting the 2.6 update for months only to find out the dev may be giving up. If this were mediocre software, I wouldn't care one way or the other.
Like (7)
Version 2.5.5
Lev
Lev
31 January 2009
Phil Dow, developer of Journler, has said he will continue some sort of work with the app for 1- 2 years but then that's it for him. He's happy to hand it off to other developers, though. His full - and remarkably honest & straight-talking - post on the matter is here: http://www.journler.com/community/forums/viewtopic.php?t=3925
Like (6)
Version 2.5.5
Zx81
Zx81
20 February 2009
Having pre-paid too for V. 2.6 a long time ago, I am worried too. This place is not only for praise and admiration, but for real questioning too.
Like (11)
Version 2.5.5
Onthescreen Name
25 December 2008
You may want to just type (dated) notes, have a place to store research material, articles, files, web archives, links, or keep track of activities. Well, you can do that quite well with Journler. You just may need to get used to how and why you're using it. It's easy enough to use (you'll have to edit the existing database), and make use of the Services Menu Quick/Append Entry feature, while using Journler with other applications you are using for your research or project. The title is free for personal use, however, there will be a newer version where you must pay a fee to be able to use properly. It very well, maybe worth it. For now, enjoy this useful note/date/journal/PIM/research nicely Mac OS X application.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.5
dabcca
29 November 2008
This program has so much potential as a file organizer, information manager and note taking/journaling software. It is functions like a hybrid between MacJournal(http://www.marinersoftware.com/) and Together (http://reinventedsoftware.com/together/) and in many ways is superior to both. It has much nicer interface than either, you can embed files with in each other (unlike together), and handles links,images and other file types better than Macjournal. Having said all that it does not offer synchronization (which MacJounal does well and Together doesn't do well) and it could improve it's file structure. Currently it store it files in obscurely numbered folders in your Documents folder. Unfortunately because of these 2 short comings I still rely on the other programs mentioned for journal and information management. However, as mentioned in my opening sentence this program has a great potential and look forward to seeing it evolve.
Like (3)
Version 2.5.5
wrk24wheel-2
11 September 2008
I have tried MacJournal as well as all of the others. I still come back to Journaler. This is the BEST journal and note system I have found out there.
Like (4)
Version 2.5.5
Mar6473
28 August 2008
Of all the journal type, info collecting style apps I really like the feel of Journler. It can do a couple of things that MacJournal can't. Namely, the way that Journler attaches files, contacts, exported emails and pictures to a single entry is really handy. The issue is that Journler is kind of quirky. Sometimes, it won't open switch between entries and sometimes it won't delete a note I tell it to delete. MacJournal is incredibly stable and always does exactly what it says. I wonder if my issues with Journler are just a glitch on my Mac but it seems like others say that it is a bit quirky too. It's a good app that does a lot but I'm sticking with MacJournal for now.
Like (3)
Version 2.5.5
Joi
27 April 2008
looks like after macjournal 5 i'll be comming over to journler.
Like
Version 2.5.4
Samrhall
13 April 2008
Journler is one of those apps that can do just about anything you ask it to do. It's a research notebook, a pdf organizer, a journal and a project manager. Journler 2.5.4 has a lot of good updates. I've been using this program since just after it was first released, and each time it gets better. Two of the best things the program has going for it is the responsiveness of the developer and the active community of users in the Journler forums.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.4
Astrobruce
12 April 2008
oops, forgot to rate it
Like
Version 2.5.4
Astrobruce
11 April 2008
I love this thing. It has a few glitches - i can't find how to get text to wrap around images, and auto fill for tags doesn't predict upper/lower case as it does for categories. BUT - it is just the thing i wished i had a couple of years back when on hols and trying to get ical to give me a tavelogue. have found it much more writer friendly than the excellent mellel, which is great for turning finished words into a document, but not good for me as a writing app. Journler helps me write!
Like
Version 2.5.4
Moogan
21 March 2008
Having tried most of the alternatives I keep coming back to Journler, huge amount of features and very flexible with a lot of depth. In my experience Phil Dow (developer) is extremely helpful and will provide quick support if needed. Quite happy it's turned to a paid for regular shareware model as it's definitely worth the money. I use it as mainly a digital scrapbook and it excels at this. Although I was disappointed that the full encryption feature was dropped in the more recent versions, there are ways around this. A key decider for me was the good export options and the fact the Journler files are basically rtf. This prevents the app. becoming a data island and a liability in the future. Highly recommended - give it a try.
Like
Version 2.5.4
Birdy2
21 September 2007
I'd love to give this 5 stars but due to performance issues I just can't. In theory Journler has everything I want BUT its really wonky and unstable for me. I wanted to use it to be able to insert pictures into a single entry and put notes next to them- but when I did so it kept switching the inline images that were in the entry with other images from the same post. When I'd click on an image it would bring up a larger version of a different image altogether- seems it was losing the link information. I didn't want to create a separate "entry" for every image I imported into the program... though that seemed to work fine when I did do that. Also, when I tried to select multiple images in the Finder and drag them into an entry it could not maintain the links to the original images, clicking them in the entry brought up a blank window. Another thing I didn't like was that the preferences and help file seemed to suggest that media (images) would be left in place on my harddrive and merely linked to, when in actuality they were being copied into the Application Support folder for Journler. I'd hoped they'd be left where the were on my harddrive and linked to, not copied. What bloat! Overall the app was unstable, freezing, quiting and also needing to be restarted to reflect my preferences changes. I love the concept of this program and I'll download a new version once these kinks have been worked out.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.3
Aljuk
18 July 2007
This is an absolutely stunning app. Don't get it confused with GTD, that's not what this is. Think of it as a multiple-topic cross-referenced diary and notebook, which can include any kind of link or reference (like webpages, other documents, audio files, movie clips), for organising your information and ideas. For pure GTD, there are dedicated apps, such as the brilliant iGTD, which can go hand in hand with this. Once again, this app is stunning, very straightforward, and extremely clever.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.3
John-F-
10 June 2007
Very good app for GTD. Easy to set it all up with smart folders. Now I have an overview of everything I want and have to work on. Thanks! Right now, I'm a little broke, but I won't forget donating in the near future. I hope this app can help me to get some extra work done. :)
Like
Version 2.5.2
Steve K
23 April 2007
The only reason I'm sticking with Yojimbo for the moment is because that app takes advantage of automatic .Mac syncing. It works flawlessly. Once Journler supports automatic .Mac syncing of its data between Macs (not backup to .Mac, not export to .Mac, but fully automatic syncing) I'm making the switch to Journler. You have an fantastic app here, guys. Keep up the great work!
Like
Version 2.5.2
Skyhorse
18 April 2007
This is a superb application that keeps getting better and better, and 2.5.1 continues the major improvements of version 2x. I have fourteen years of entries, 5080 total, in this app so far--and replaced MacJournal with this one for reasons of quality, not price. It is now quite fast to open even with this many entries, less than four seconds (was 17 seconds with 1x versions). I haven't lost anything yet in about three years of use. Search is extremely fast and relevancy based--excellent! There's a lot of additional information pertaining to entries now that is available to the user. I've also always found Phil Dow to be extremely responsive and user-oriented. In short, I'd rate it as best of its class, just as he intended it to be.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.1
hmurchison
24 March 2007
I'm totally new to Journaling myself but this application has made my babysteps easy. I like the fact that rather than bookmarking pages to retain information I can just use the Services menu to save a page or selected text into my Journal and then add other links or pieces of media later. All with the ability to search and find this data later via Spotlight. The media handling is nice with the iMediabrowser and the UI is solid. Phil Dow has an eye for what looks good as well as what is functional. He has totally busted his arse on version and it shows. I haven't even used %50 of what this app can do yet I'm very impressed with what I've seen. I will be donating the $25 and I'll probably donate again to help Dow get Journler up to speed with Leopard. He listens to users and fixes stuff like a madman. Clearly he has no wife or gf ;) I noticed that Journler 2.5 is Apple's "Featured Download of the week" looks like others are beginning to notice this app and what makes it special.
Like
Version 2.5
Syharris
23 March 2007
Absolutely outstanding......a beautiful piece of work! As good as any journal software out there and better than many. It's still free for personal use although a donation is suggested, but for non-personal use the price is $24.95....a very fair policy. A big thank you to the developer for creating this gem, and for constantly improving it!
Like
Version 2.5
Slob
23 March 2007
This is one of those great programs that makes the Mac what it is. I know how pompous that sounds but too bad - it ranks with VoodooPad, OmniOutliner, Scrivener, Devonthink, Textmate - all of which I've registered with no regrets at all and am happy to do the same now with Journler. In fact relieved - I was actually feeling guilty using such a fine piece of software for free - it's way beyond that in value. Problem solved. And a lovely program.
Like (1)
Version 2.5
Lectrohowie
23 March 2007
After having owned and tried virtually every notebook and journal available to OSX, Journler has become my everyday virtual assistant. 2.5 has really taken it to new heights and the developer is a remarkably talented coder who really listens to user input. It's one of a few "donationware" programs I've been compelled to send a donation to. Try it - you obviously have nothing to lose!
Like
Version 2.5
Asdfasd
23 March 2007
Just great! It does everything you want from a notebook and more! Complete integration with the iLife suit... Its the notebook that Apple forgot to make! Thanks Phi! Details on the License here: http://www.journler.com/blog/2007/03/20/understanding-the-journler-license-v25-podcast/
Like
Version 2.5
Billwest
09 March 2007
Journler ----Free as a beta --Accepts all kinds if files --and exports most of these. Unique interface that has everything. Entry window left, listings and many other features right. The Gold Standard of note pads, journals. And it's still free. I put all my keeper formatted, HMTL, pics on Journler. Search/Find results do not hilite the search string --so doesn't seem to move --jump --to other page occurrences at all. But does list all notes with the search word. So we manually select each listed note --what I do anyway. Email via toolbar button uses my Mail.app. All Services work including the pearCalc launch. Will do Services/Mail/Send Selection only if Mail.app is already open. Has own Services --Make entry of selection. Because the Search/Find does not hilite string word and jump to next occurrence note --I don't rank Journler's Search/Find --that is vital to finding your notes --even among the 20 Best Search Finds of the 46 note pads I've demo-ed. But Journler has listed every note containing my search string entry --very complete Search/find results. Journler is of the 'style' that is very dependent on it's Search/Find feature --less so than the date of entry, a folder and note organization, or hard drive independent note files. But see what the database is below for us. Datasbase --notes --location ---/Users/billwest/Library/Application Support/Journler/Journler Entries/0.jobj this Journler file is one of 64 I currently have. Each file icon here opens one of your Journler entries. The original OS7-9 Note Pad idea was reliance on the great mac dragndrop and Copy/Paste to Clipboard. No other write out provisions --Mac SaveAs or Export. But many OSX note pads offer much more --like the editors and word processors ---Journler offers Import --Comm-O --almost any kind of file. Export Shift-Comm-S entry as appropriate file. Export Journal --your entire Journal database, I guess. :) Of the 46 OSX note pads I've evaluated --I include Journler as one of the most used top four --with Notational Velocity, VoodooPad Lite, and MacJournal. I've got hundreds of big and little notes on Journler --which I wont put onto short lived or crippled demos. So many good note pads have no chance of becoming my most used favorite.
Like
Version 2.0.2
Igg-Software
21 February 2007
I agree with the last post, bring .mac syncing to it please! Otherwise, I'm sticking with Yojimbo (whose name I don't really like).
Like
Version 2.0.2
Steve K
09 January 2007
I like this app a lot, but I just can't justify switching from Yojimbo because Journler doesn't support .Mac or any kind of syncing between multiple macs. Unfortunately, that's the deal breaker for me. Incorporate sync and I'm in. Otherwise, great job.
Like
Version 2.0.2
Juki
03 October 2006
Journler is every bit as good as any other journal software out there, and certainly better than many, with some costing $35 and more. I still can't believe that the developer is offering this beautiful piece of work for free. Journler absolutely rocks! eeehaaa!!!
Like
Version 2.0.2
Tuner-Equalizer
28 August 2006
This is great and can only get better. I've already emailed the author with a couple minor suggestions. I don't keep a lot of apps in the dock, but this one is for keeps.
Like
Version 2.0.2
Zx81
05 August 2006
Dans la profusion des logiciels de gestion de notes personnelles, d'informations, capables de gérer les fichiers les plus divers et de les retrouver (!), Journler me semble avoir un statut à part. D'abord, pour deux raisons égoistes : il est gratuit (ou plutôt, c'est un "donationware") et il est francisé, ce qui n'est pas si fréquent. Ce qu'on peut faire avec : Tenir un journal personnel et retrouver ses notes par sujet, date, contenu,etc. Créer des "dossiers intelligents" (smart folders) comme dans Mori ou Process Importer des documents de différents formats (soit par glisser/déposer), soit en PDF, via un plugin, par le menu imprimer (Formats : text, rich text, pdf, word, html, archive web, jpeg) Il possède des fonctions avancées d'éditeur de texte, d'export vers iPod Pour les accros des applications Apple, il intègre les logiciels iLife (iWeb, iPhoto, iTunes, iMovie, Mail, Carnet d'adresses) et supporte Applescript. Dommage qu'on ne puisse pas configurer cette fonction et choisir les applications auxiliaires. En résumé, c'est un logiciel remarquable, croisé de Macjournal et des gestionnaires de données personnelles tels que Yojimbo et ceux que j'ai mentionnés plus haut. Extrêmement recommandable.
Like
Version 2.0.2
3 answer(s)
Ca
Ca
09 August 2006
Journler pousse plus loin la notion de dossiers intelligents avec les « familles intelligentes ». Remarquable !
Like
Version 2.0.2
Gaoshan
Gaoshan
23 September 2006
Dui. Zhe ge app zhende hao. Bi vijournal hao.
Like
Version 2.0.2
Ca
Ca
04 December 2006
Bu cuo!
Like
Version 2.0.2
Lomovogt
01 August 2006
Best journaling application I know. I use it for GTD purposes and can recommend it to anyone. The management of smart folders is even better than in Apple's iApps.
Like
Version 2.0.2
Jazzaddict
29 July 2006
I love Journler! It's packed with great features. Is has a very tastefully selected combination of features - some inspired from other .apps, some Mac OS X standards, and some which are very unique. My favorite original feature is the method of resource managment. Resource management can be one of the biggest pains with Journal/PIM .apps. Journler has an original approach. It has a clean and elegant way of displaying all the files linked to or embedded in a paticular entry. It takes some getting use to at first, but that is not so much a fault of the program, but more of what comes with switching to an .app with a different way of doing things. It is much more intuitive than Devonthink. (Not to knock Devonthink; it is an excellent .app.) As mentioned in other reviews, the developer is a really benevelent guy, who is very open and responsive to feedback and support inquiries. The forum for this .app is very active, and willing to help newbies. The program is still a little bit buggy, and has some stability issues, but the developer is very passionate about his program, and with every release it gets better and and better. Don't let the current price fool you! This .app is a worthy competitor to other .apps of the same category, though I must say, defining what exactly that category is can be diffcult. Journal has all the features of a great "Journaling" application, yet the some of the goodness of Personal Info Managers, and Word Processors. I look forward to future releases!
Like
Version 2.0.1
Damian Weiss
20 July 2006
When I first discovered this application (version 1.1.6), I did not find it very usefull. This because I used MacJournal for years and was accustomed to it. But when version 2.0.1 came up, it was a great pleasure to see that Journler grew up. In fact I was enthusiastic so that I decided to write the german localization of the project. The developer is very responsive and is putting a lot of work and energy in this project. Please support Journler and/or the developer. It would be a pity if this great piece of software or all of its features would not stay free.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
Ares
05 July 2006
Journler is the best notebook / data organizer / blog editor. It is elegant, stable and free. It deserves the best rating: 5/5.
Like
Version 2.0.1
Tfindlay
04 July 2006
I own copies of StickyBrian, DevonThink, Mori, Curio, Dossier, and Formation. I have used them all but for one reason or another have kept looking for a program with just the right combination of features. I have just started using Journler but I think I may have found it at last. Journler is the most powerful data organizer I have ever used. It is fast, clean, efficient and intuitive. The support is excellent and the price (free) is incredible for such a sophisticated application.
Like
Version 2.0.1