Back to MacUpdate Widget page
MacUpdate Widget free download for Mac

MacUpdate Widget Reviews

2.0
27 July 2005

Live software updates feed widget (official).

Mac-Cognoscenti
16 November 2006

Most helpful

When will a Intel only or universal binary version of this widget be made available?
Like (1)
Version 2.0

Read 40 MacUpdate Widget User Reviews

Rate this app:

Miocinq
26 May 2013
Still doesn´t work even on ppc.
Like
Version 2.0
Romain-DAUBEC
19 June 2012
-
Like
Version 2.0
Soderberg
26 October 2011
Is there a newer version of this? The version here is PPC and from 2005; please update the description, e.g. to indicate that this widget is for pre-Intel users only, as an alternative to MacUpdate Desktop, etc. ... thanks!
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Alex808
Alex808
25 May 2012
It's broken even on PowerPC. It keeps on cycling until it eventually stops trying to load. I think it's been this way for the past year or so... I can't remember the last time I used it because of that.
Like
javier-jacobsen
23 May 2011
It doesn't work...
Like
Version 2.0
ferben
10 December 2010
Unable download. Is it discontinued?
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Ociciornie
Ociciornie
01 February 2011
Just downloaded. Nevertheless it doesn't work (macbookpro 15" intel core 2 duo). If I don't understand quickly if it can work, I'll remove it.
Like
Mac-Cognoscenti
16 November 2006
When will a Intel only or universal binary version of this widget be made available?
Like (1)
Version 2.0
2 answer(s)
Steve K
Steve K
27 November 2006
Do we have to worry about Intel/PPC with widgets? I thought they were just glorified web pages?
Like
Version 2.0
Mac-Cognoscenti
Mac-Cognoscenti
27 November 2006
That may be, but why put it down as Platform : PPC if indeed it is not?
Like
Version 2.0
Iamaswissguy
12 November 2006
It's pretty well done. One suggestion is that there be a "popular" view so I can see what's being downloaded by other people.
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Pseudoprometheus
Pseudoprometheus
14 September 2008
I second this comment about adding a "popular" view! The popular page is the page I visit the most, so if this feature were to be put into the widget, I'd use it a lot more. Even without it, though, it's still a good widget. :)
Like
Version 2.0
Applecrypt-Mods
27 March 2006
this not being updated anymore???? Also needs updating with a couple of features i'd like: for one, perhaps only being able to view "free" programs rather tha shareware/etc/etc. I'd also like to increase the window size to my own prefered size. And what about just displaying the program name, with the description appearing when u hover the mouse over the name? :) Good widget tho - thanks MU :)
Like
Version 2.0
Nadeemf
06 November 2005
Fails to work if you don't have a ~/Library/Widgets
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
20 October 2005
Can you possibly make the text smaller? It's hard to see now, but I think I can squint down to 20/30!
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
15 October 2005
Slick. A bit buggy, but I'm sure that will get worked out. Excellent interface design.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
31 August 2005
Yes, this has gotten very buggy lately from endless scanning to an uncontrolable scroll bar. Still I love the overall UI and preferences
Like
Version 2.0
Jeff
22 August 2005
Worked fine at first, very usfull. Now it does nothing but search endlessly with no results. Tried reinstalling it. No dice, just an endlessly rotating icon, no listings. I wonder if something's wrong with the websight...
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
04 August 2005
I'd love this if the window content would stop sliding up into the searchbar area... I can't get it to slide back down to see the actual content.
Like
Version 2.0
2 answer(s)
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
04 August 2005
Click on another widget, then click on the MacUpdate widget. It needs to be in the front to be active and showing.
Like
Version 2.0
06 October 2005
doesnt work here...dont know why
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
01 August 2005
Yow, that is one poorly designed UI. I find myself having to actually wait for it to do really, really simple things. I'm not even talkin' about loading info. I'm talkin' like, click a button. And that scroll thumb... I'm supposed to be able to click that? You're kidding me. And I can't believe the window doesn't resize. It's like they were thinkin' "Jeez, users have it too easy these days. Let's jump back fifteen years, and design things like they did back then." Shocking.
Like
Version 2.0
4 answer(s)
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
02 August 2005
You might want to know that resizing windows in Dashboard have some big bugs right now. So much of your harsh review has to do with limitations to Dashboard's development abilities.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 August 2005
May I ask why you rated value and stability with 2 stars? Seems like not much thought was put into your 'review'. ;)
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
23 September 2005
got a chuckle out of your review. thanks.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
30 September 2005
I agree... a little hard on the eyes
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
29 July 2005
I take it back. I removed this widget from the dashboard and restarted it, and now it works fine (still, there must be some minor glitch). But it's still going to be matter of taste whether to use this or MUMenu, which is fine and has the advantage of signalling the user whenever new stuff is posted.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
28 July 2005
There are some problems with the scroll bar in this widget. Frequently it goes into automatic mode and just keeps scrolling up or down. Quit and Restart of widget usually fixes problem. Clicking in scroll bar has very odd behavior jumping to odd places.
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
29 July 2005
I believe it's a known bug in custom scrollbars in Dashboard altogether.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
28 July 2005
Great, but might be nicerr if it's default was set at compact. I have only a little bit of screen real estate and would rather click it to expand it every time I needed it, rather than have it taking up space constantly on the dash.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
27 July 2005
Been waiting for this Widget for awhile, thanks! Now I can remove that blasted VersionTracker RSS feed from my bookmarks bar. Suggestions for future updates: Would be nice to have the License be a selectable option in the prefs, show: updates shareware demo freeware etc.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
27 July 2005
It would be better if this widget opened each new item in a safari tab instead of a new window as with the MUmenu. Other than that its very useful and compact.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
27 July 2005
I have experienced the repeating of titles again - this time when I switched on the computer this morning. I used Dashboard OnOff to...do just that and on starting up the Dashboard again the problem didn't repeat.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
27 July 2005
Neat widget and quite useful!
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
26 July 2005
I like it a lot, it looks like a good quick way to check on updates without having to drag out a web browser. My only issue is that I would like a way to manually compact the widget. Sometimes when I activate Dashboard the MacUpdate widget thinks its the active widget even when I haven't clicked on it and displays its list. Being able to prevent this would be a nice addition.
Like
Version 2.0
Great update, much of an improvement from the previous version. Well done, MacUpdate.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
26 July 2005
Excellent. My only request would be to be able to enable/disable the display of freeware, shareware and commercial software.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
26 July 2005
Wow, great new version!
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
26 July 2005
In some circumstances, which I am finding hard to replicate: 1.) the software titles duplicate themselves; 2.) the list of software titles suddenly 'folds up';
Like
Version 2.0
2 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
26 July 2005
I am seeing the "list rollup" issue you mention, it has been noted and is being investigated...
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 July 2005
The list rolls up when you bring another widget to the front.
Like
Version 2.0
JohnnyBender
25 May 2005
Doesn't allow extended characters in the search box, like é or ä, etc. Please contact me if you can fix this.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
26 July 2005
None of these characters are even found in the MacUpdate database, so if you use them, no results will be found.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
25 May 2005
Not as useful for me as MUMenu, this Widget is functional but could be improved by allowing for a quicker view of new updates, rather than requiring scrolling. One option I can think of is removing descriptions to allow more things to show up in a window of the same size. Making the window resizable is another. Finally, allowing an option for displaying only the "red" (popular? Critical?) MacUpdate-designated items is yet another. All three would be best. There's definitely an issue with slow update displaying as well.
Like
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 May 2005
i think red is whatever joel downloaded that day and didn't trash immediately ;)
Like
Version 1.0
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
26 July 2005
Version 2.0 meets all of these recommendations.
Like
Version 2.0
Jesus De Meyer
25 May 2005
The "Loading..." issue some of you are having is a server side issue and not the fault of the widget. Try again at a later time or hit command r to force the widget to reload. Also, the widget updates itself automatically when the dashboard is activated (ie when the widget becomes visible).
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Steve Day
Steve Day
26 May 2005
Could you maybe use Javascript to hide the additional information by default, and have rollover, roll_out jscript to show the additional information? This would be my way to combat the scrollbar, without losing the information that is necessary, if you're curious... Just a thought...
Like
Version 1.0
mousee
24 May 2005
Looks promising but needs work. The list is not loaded everytime the widget is called (in All mode only so far). Maybe a connection problem. I second the request for a longer delay. And could we see more than the last 20 items?
Like
Version 1.0
Chipster
24 May 2005
Handy widget. One suggestion. You may want to distribute the widget with a one-hour refresh time as the default. Refreshing every five minutes is too frequent, in my opinion.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
24 May 2005
nothing comes up when the all category is selected
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
24 May 2005
That's odd, as the All category is the one that is selected by default. I just verified it here and it certainly works.
Like
Version 1.0
Gjbeum
23 May 2005
Good and usefull feature. A pitty of the small typo ("Yesteday" instead of "Yesterday"
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
23 May 2005
Nice idea with the widget, but needs work. So sorry to say that i prefer the menubar app eqivilant. It's much easier to see what's new with that. :p
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
23 May 2005
Nice thing for sure, but as other has said, it should really be resizable.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
23 May 2005
Good work but definitely needs a resize feature... :)
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
23 May 2005
We've heard reports that the resize feature is very unstable in Dashboard at this time, so it wasn't added.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
23 May 2005
Very nice an useful... Thank you!
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
23 May 2005
is this the 'official' widget? i'd guess yes, due to its redness.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
23 May 2005
Yes, it's considered the official MacUpdate widget.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
23 May 2005
SWEET! I love useful widgets. A+++ Keep it up
Like
Version 1.0